Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • jayro

      Registered: October 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu October 30, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): beautiful theming, convenient location, staff
      Cons: extensive construction, food quality in lounge

       
      Husband and I visited from 10/26-10/28. We have stayed here many times over the years, but were disappointed at the extent of the construction (about which WDW was far from full disclosure, IMO); it was not only disruptive, but very unsightly despite all of the screening. Most of the lobby (Great Ceremonial House) was closed off due to remodeling--as were the water features at the front entrance. The entire area around Volcano Pool also was closed off, which meant you couldn't walk along the beach from the concierge building to the launch, had to walk through a couple of other buildings (or go way around) to get from the concierge building to the lobby, etc. As for the accommodations...the remodeled bathrooms are great, but the beds and bedding (comfort) are a step down, and the food offerings in the lounge (early evening service, especially) have really gone downhill (mini corn dogs? two nights in a row?! REALLY??!?), as have the quick service offerings at Captain Cooks compared to years past (although this seems to be the case for the quick service venues in other resorts, as well, based on this and a previous trip this year). We still love the resort and will return--but not until the construction is completed.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Rosebud

      Registered: October 2014
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Wed October 15, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, view of castle, lounge, concierge
      Cons: None

       
      We visited the Polynesian in later August. It is a beautiful property - stayed there before. We had two adjoining rooms (party of 9), 3rd floor, view of MK. This was a first visit for my son-in-law and my 4 grandchildren (ages 4-9). Despite the construction and pool closure, we were more than happy with the quality of our stay. Lounge food (and drinks) very good, staff very accommodating. The concierge was cooperative and informative. Housekeeping spot on, everyone very friendly. Finally, Kona and Ohana better than ever!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      EleanorofAquitaine

      Registered: June 2007
      Location: Georgia
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Sat July 6, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): convenience, spacious rooms, nice remodeling
      Cons: families running wild in lounge

       
      We stayed at the Poly on June 6 through 9th. We got a tremendous surprise when we arrived-- we had been upgraded to club level! As many times as I have stayed at the Poly (about a dozen over the last 5 years), that has never happened before, although we did stay at club level once before and paid dearly for the privilege. This time was much nicer, especially because I wasn't paying concierge level prices. I was grinning from ear to ear as they drove us in one of those little carts from valet parking back to the Hawaii building. How comfy! I felt special right off the bat. That's how Disney does it.


      The newly remodeled rooms are lovely They updated them without losing the Polynesian feel. The bathroom is gorgeous, although I could live without the mirrors going all the way across the one wall, which meant not only did I have plenty of mirror when i was getting ready in the morning, which is great, but that I was staring at myself when I sat on the toilet, which was not great. Also, the towel rack is directly under the sink, so it poked my hubby as he was brushing his teeth. There isn't a towel hook next to the gorgeous shower. Still, the room was great, and we were right next door to the lounge, which meant we could go by and pour ourselves some lovely cordials in the evening and take them back to our room to view the fireworks. And the view is amazing. We had the perfect castle view. Wish there was a balcony, but we were on the second floor. Sad


      Service was excellent. Mercy was particularly nice in the lounge, as well as one of the young men whose name has escaped me. The snacks were nice, but not as abundant or as special as last time we stayed at club level. I have to wonder if that may be because some people just pounced on every plate of food that came out. Kids would appear out of nowhere, elbow me out of the way, and fill entire plates with all the pigs in blankets or skewers of beef or whatever they could fit on there. It was like watching locust descend. And it wasn't just children, although they were the most frequent offenders. Grownups too rushed to snap up mass quantities of food and were not friendly or polite to their fellow guests.


      The club level was lovely and I am extremely grateful for the upgrade. But I do not think I would spend the money to stay there again any time soon. As nice as it was, it is still very expensive, even by Polynesian standards, and I don't want to have to pay that much just to have fruit trays and beer close at hand, since we had to battle our fellow guests to get our share.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Trishadono

      Registered: August 2011
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Wed June 5, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Newly remodeled lounge and rooms
      Cons: some construction going on

       
      Took my daughter for mom and me trip for her 18th bday. So fun to be met outside and walked to the Hawaii building to check in. Our request for 3rd floor balcony was met too!


      We loved the new rooms. Fresh looking! The new brown sheers on the sliders are a nice relaxing touch. The new bathrooms have lots of counter space.


      The lounge was just so beautiful I would sit there and just look out the windows at that fantastic view of the castle and seven seas lagoon area. The staff was great, the food tasty and there was always plenty of seating.


      I made a special request which was honored too Smile


      All in all, the birthday was so special in such a great place!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dsnymom14

      Registered: April 2008
      Location: Kennesaw, GA
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Thu May 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Newly refurbished rooms; location and views
      Cons: undisciplined children in the lounge area

       
      We visited May 4-11 2013 in celebration of our anniversary. We found the cast members to be very welcoming and hospitable, always greeting us when we entered or exited the building. When cast member Holli discovered we had not been given real flower leis for our anniversary, she had two custom-made for us and personally delivered them.


      The new room decor is lighter and more contemporary. The beds are very comfortable! The bathroom has been reconfigured and now has two sinks and illuminated mirrors. The bath tile is beige(no more dark green)and the soap does not stick to it (definite improvement!)


      Our mousekeeper kept us well stocked with towels and amenities. We received four different towel animals during our stay. Nightly turn-down service always included plenty of chocolates.


      Continental breakfast offerings were very similar each morning as were the afternoon snacks. Evening appetizers changed daily and there was a nice variety of beers, wine and cordials.


      The two-story lounge has stellar views of the beach, Magic Kingdom, fireworks and Electrical Water Pageant.


      Our club level experience would have been a perfect 10 if not for the behavior of unsupervised or undisciplined children running and yelling in the halls and on the stairs; touching the food with their hands and taking more than they could possibly eat; intentionally messing up the tables; and being rude to the food servers. I had read similar complaints before of unruly children in the Poly lounge, but didn't believe it until we experienced it.


      Since we are WDW vets and do our own trip planning, we did not utilize the concierge services available to us. The upcharge for staying club level is worth it for a special occasion, but we will go back to being "regular" Poly guests.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dancemom

      Registered: January 2012
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Wed February 13, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful view
      Cons: Staff, food selection

       
      The best aspect of Polynesian club is the location. The lounge has a fabulous view of water and the castle. We enjoyed watching the MK fireworks from the comfort of the lounge. Unfortunately the staff was not that friendly and seemed annoyed by questions/requests. The food was ok--very standard breakfast choices and snacks. Some evening food options were pretty good. Desserts weren't that exciting. The rooms in the club building need some desperate remodeling and aren't as nice as rooms in some of the other buildings.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tink1970

      Registered: October 2012
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Sat October 20, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): location, ambience, helpful staff
      Cons: chaotic lounge

       
      We stayed at the Poly CL in June 2012 for 4 days. During most of the time, it rained some or most of the days; however the staff was very helpful in lending movies, assisting with last minute dining reservation changes and providing a welcoming smile after a long day in the parks.


      The only significant down sides were having to walk through torrential rain at check in due to the golf cart "being out" and the utter chaos in the lounge during what was used as "meal time" by some with small children.


      Overall, a pleasant experience and would return.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Waltsmyhero

      Registered: March 2012
      Location: PA
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun March 25, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Convenience, special services
      Cons: cost during peak season

       
      We stayed the Polynesian Concierge level for the second time In early Feb. 2012. Our first Concierge experience at the Polynesian was in May 2011. Twice in 10 months speaks volumes considering the price.
      But we went off season and took advantage of the special rates offered at the time. We found the staff to be very friendly! We really enjoyed them, and found them to be helpful and cheerful. We all hugged goodbye on our last day there!
      We found we saved more staying concierge when we added up breakfast, snacks and beverages consumed during our stay. We especially appreciate the Clean tasting beverages -pure water!!!
      The location of the Hawaii building is very convenient to both pools and the Great Ceremonial house, beach etc. We loved watching the fireworks from the lounge with the music piped in because it was cold outside several nights. We drank hot cocoa and had wonderful desserts provided.... And comfortable seating too. The views from both sides are great. We have stayed in regular rooms for many years -Concierge is well worth the extra money if you have kids to feed,visit Disney frequently and just want to relax more at the resort rather than spend most of the time in the parks. But only during off season in my opinion.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Poppingupdaisies

      Registered: February 2012
      Location: Florida
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed February 29, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Housekeeping was very nice
      Cons: Cm disregard for service

       
      Completely non Disney experience. Keys that didn't work, tv's that didn't work, a lack of snacks in the concierge, snobby staff and just a terrible experience altogether. I am a true Disney fan and cannot believe how this visit went. Transferring tomorrow to another resort. Truly terrible. Save your money and stay at the wilderness lodge or the grand Floridian. Too many issues to list, but there were a few very helpful people: chef Robert and Kathy. Both wonderful in their positions. But the rest, shame on you.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ebemis

      Registered: February 2012
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Thu February 9, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): location
      Cons: dark rooms, coffee maker

       
      We found the location of our room both on the resort and in relation to parks to be just great. The Hawaii building is very central to both pools and a short walk to both monorail systems. My family of 5 were very happy with the refreshments offered in the lounge, although the offerings do not vary much from day to day.


      The room was a typical hotel room and nothing to get too excited about although it wasn't an issue for our family as we didn't spend much time in the room. I found the room to be very dark even with all the lights on. The bathroom was especially dark. The other drawback is the lack of "real" coffee. I realize this is an issue anywhere in Disney, but I was hoping that we would have access to good coffee. The coffee offered in the lounge was instant. The coffee maker in our room was a small machine that allowed you to make one cup at a time. I found it to be fair at best and wasn't very hot.


      One of the best aspects for our family was the ability to have all children, (age 10, 8,and 5) ready for bed, in p.j.'s and teeth brushed prior to the start of the Wishes fireworks show over the castle. We would get them ready and then bring everyone down to the lounge. It allowed the parents to enjoy an evening cocktail while the children watched the show. It was a short walk back to bed after the show. Much better alternative to fighting the crowds in the park or missing the fireworks. Families with older children might not see this as an asset.


      The service by CM was exceptional and always ready to serve. It was nice to arrive and not have to wait in line to register. A CM brought us right to the Hawaii building. If you stay, you must try the Pog juice, rave reviews from all of our family. I would certainly return.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      HENorlund

      Registered: October 2011
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Mon October 10, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, view, food, pool
      Cons: Dark rooms. Need more lighting.

       
      Loved this resort. We were in the Hawaii area for just 3 days during a split stay. We had the opportunity to not only watch the Electric Water Pageant, but we viewed Hallowishes as well as the regular fireworks from the comfort of the Concierge Lounge. Wonderful. Loved the ability to have a light breakfast before hitting the parks and taking a small snack with us, usually a banana or an apple. Pog juice as well as the adult mixed cocktail each evening was wonderful. The shrimp and tropical fruit salad with mixed greens could have been a meal all in itself. The only drawback we found, which was really minimal, was the lack of good lighting in the rooms. Will definitely stay here again
      Click here to see this users profile  
      davismousers

      Registered: July 2011
      Location: Slatington, PA
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sat July 30, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Ambiance, location, views, amenities, food and beverage options and Monorai!l
      Cons: expensive for the holiday

       
      We checked in on Christmas Eve with 4 adults and one child (9) for 4 nights; switched over after 4 nights at the Pop Century. This was our 5th stay at Poly, 3rd @ Poly Concierge. Other WDW stays include Pop, CBR, WL, OKW, POFQ, AS Music, Swan, POR, plus 5 trips off property in the 70's/80's. Although we enjoy them all, the Polynesian is our all-time favorite resort!


      In the lobby of the Great Ceremonial House, cm's were serving complimentary sugar cookies and beverages, and the whole resort was tastefully decked out for the holidays. We loved the music, smell, and ambiance of the incredible lobby, and the cm's greeting guests at the door with "Aloha!" really made us feel welcome. I think all resorts had special displays of their cm's own gingerbread houses, which was a really fun touch. Guests could vote on their favorites.


      Our room was ready immediately, and we breathed a collective "aaah" when we dropped our luggage and checked out the room. I had been concerned that we'd be cramped with all five of us in the room, but it wasn't at all. The beds are comfy (even the sofa bed), and we were well supplied with toiletries, towels, and coffee, as well as darling little towel animals, throughout the stay. Mousekeeping did a wonderful job, and the turn-down service was such a nice touch. The staff arranged our toys and stuffed animals, and it was fun to see how they were set up when we returned each day!


      Although it was too cold to use the theme pool after the first day, we thoroughly enjoyed the volcano theme and slide. (Couldn't pry our DS out!). Lifeguards here are right on top of things, and children's personal floatation devices, toys, and towels are available at no cost.


      Ah, the lounge... We opted to sleep in most mornings, so we largely lost out on their breakfast selections, which included pastries, oatmeal with fruit options, bagels, and the like. The coffee choices are in a dispensing machine; my favorite was the mocha java. Yum.
      The lounge had a beautiful Christmas Tree on display, and the decorations were cheerful.
      The afternoon service consisted of snacks for kids (goldfish cheese crackers, gummy candies, cookies, mixed nuts, lemonade, a tropical juice blend, Perriere bottled water, and I believe the fresh whole fruit and sodas were available all day. (One night we came in for a soda and found a group of 3 older teens lugging bags of soda cans out of the lounge frig. Very uncool!)


      The lounge staff were helpful and friendly (especially David and Bailey!), but some cm's seemed to become a bit overwhelmed during the evening service. Some families or groups would come through and wipe out everything offered on the counter, juggling several plates full of food. A number of guests made special requests for items beyond that which was displayed, and they appeared to be readily accommodated (beer types, a certain kind of milk, etc). Some guests were rather rude if they didn't like the current choices, which we found to be varied and delightful!


      In the evenings, there were about a dozen different alcohol choices, and about 10 different dessert options. They varied each evening; all were delicious. The chef was on hand to describe the contents and manner of preparation for each. It's this level of attention which made the added expense of staying 'club level' worthwhile!
      On Christmas Eve as well as Christmas night we enjoyed the unexpected bonus of guests spontaneously breaking into Christmas Carols, with almost everyone greeting each other with "Merry Christmas!" or "Happy Holidays!"; amazing.
      I was impressed that while more atypical and adventurous foods were offered, the more standard fare of pb and j sandwiches, popcorn, cookies, and fresh veggies with dips were offered for the picky set. Naughtier rich foods were balanced with plenty of healthier choices. Oh, the mixed berry mousse, crab rangoons, spinach turnovers, Asian bbq, bacon wrapped scallops, and canapes were divine!


      In addition to the culinary aspects, we enjoyed the security of staying in a locked building. Only once did a rather intoxicated gentleman wander into the lounge and begin grazing, commenting on how much 'you people' pay to stay in such a great resort. He was hilarious and harmless, and was apparently assisted back to his resort/room after a short while.


      We had a garden view room, but really enjoyed watching the MK fireworks and Electrical Water Parade (?) from the toasty warm lounge.
      If you can swing the extra cash, this is definitely worth the convenience and added luxury. You just won't beat having your morning coffee looking out over the lake to MK castle and Space Mountain, the ability to hop on the monorail for the MK from the GCH, the quick 5 minute walk to the Epcot monorail at the TTC, and sipping a cordial while watching the fireworks at night.


      This was an incredible, memorable Christmas!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      City of Lukington

      Registered: June 2011
      Location: Chelsea, London
      Posts: 25
      Review Date: Mon June 13, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): 24-hour service, speedy registration
      Cons: None

       
      One of Disney's best concierge levels, the Polynesian has two concierge longhouses - Hawaii and Aotearoa - each with exclusive check-in desks and 24-hour lounges. The lounges offer drinks - hot and cold - as well as light snacks, light lunches or dinners, television (usually with ESPN on), and 2 floors of lounge and sofa space. I don't know about Aotearoa as I've never stayed there, but I have stayed in Hawaii, and it has breathtaking views over the white beaches and lagoon to the Magic Kingdom and check-in doesn't involve standing in a queue for 40 minutes (leave that to the parks!). All in all, Polynesian's concierge has been - and always will be - a fantastic one among Disney resort concierges.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      travisanti

      Registered: February 2011
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sat February 5, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great view of the fireworks
      Cons: Poor concierge choices, aloof staff

       
      I was so excited to finally have a concierge room at the Poly. We were given a first floor room at the end of a very long hall. The concierge services are on the second floor at the opposite end of the long hall. The food choices except the appetizer were poor. They had very basic stuff and none of it seemed "home made" just bought at the local grocery store. I was so disappointed. I just couldn't see spending that type of money for "that" food. So, in the morning we requested to change to a regular room. However, we had our room on a discount code and now have a "regular" room and lost the discount code. I found out that if you order a package once you check in you can change your room but you now pay the "rack rate". So, we get a small refund but not nearly what I paid for this concierge level room. I will never get a package again as she told me if I had a "room only" they could have still given me the rate I booked at. Our new room is in the Rarotonga bldg on the 3rd floor and we overlook the monorail. It is much nicer. I wish I could say something better about this but I can't..... I am going now to see if we can go to the Wilderness Lodge tomorrow.
      Click here to see this users profile  

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.