Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 220
      Review Date: Thu August 21, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Prompt monorails when running
      Cons: Monorail reboots and limited service

       
      As I had a rental car this trip, my use of Disney transportation was limited. On my first morning at Magic Kingdom, I was given the option of bus or ferryboat; I chose the boat, though the bus probably would have been faster.


      When the monorail was running, which it was every other time I used it, I never waited more than a couple of minutes, and I typically used the resort track. Most times, the monorail was there when I walked up.


      The monorail is subject to reboots during it's conversion to driver-less operations. This takes about two minutes but the entire electrical system shuts down-including the A/C. As one mom pointed out, maybe January would be a better time to do this conversion, not August when it's ridiculously hot and humid!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 220
      Review Date: Tue April 1, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good monorail and boat service, some good buses
      Cons: Some not so good buses

       
      I stayed at All Star Movies for five days so mostly relied on bus transportation, which was good for the most part. I took the boat from Magic Kingdom to both Ft. Wilderness (arrived very quickly and went directly, no stop at Wilderness Lodge) and Grand Floridian (had to wait a while, boat filled up and people behind us had to wait for the next one). Monorail service was very efficient; went from GF to MK, and it was there right away. Went from Epcot to TTC and then to MK, and had very short waits for both of those trips.


      Buses were not as simple, unfortunately. On our first day going to Epcot the bus pulled up almost as soon as we got to the stop, coming back to the resort in the afternoon we waited about 5 minutes. Going to MK that evening, again the bus came very quickly. After Hoop dee Doo, buses were provided by zones. Our bus stopped at Coronado Springs, All Star Sports, All Star Music, then All Star Movies, finally continuing onto Animal Kingdom Lodge.


      Day 2 I took a bus back from Downtown Disney Marketplace. Waited about 20 minutes, then the bus stopped at Pleasure Island, Typhoon Lagoon, and Sports and Music before Movies.


      Day 3 I went to DTD again around 1:30pm and did not have a long wait. I think I was the only person to get on at Movies. That evening we went to Hollywood Studios and I don't recall the wait being particularly long getting there. Coming back after the late Fantasmic (10:45pm), the three All Stars each had their own stop. Of course, the bus pulled away seconds before we got there, but another one came within five minutes.


      Day 4 took a bus back from DTD again. Waited about 30 minutes at the Marketplace (after a disastrous trip on the local Lynx bus), then stopped at PI, Sports and Music before Movies. That evening I went to Epcot and waited about 10 minutes; coming back towards the end of Extra Magic Hours the bus was at the stop and went directly to Movies.


      Last day I went to Epcot around 11am. There was a bit of a wait, and then three buses came on top of each other. The one I was on picked up at Movies first, then went to Music and Sports to get some of the overflow. Came back from Magic Kingdom in the late afternoon, wait was short, and went directly to Movies.


      I didn't have to stand on many occasions and most of the few times when I did, it was voluntary. I didn't like always being dropped off last, and among other reasons, I would probably stay at Art of Animation or Pop Century before All Star Movies again in part due to their dedicated buses.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mmc55

      Registered: October 2008
      Location: North Reston VA
      Posts: 33
      Review Date: Mon March 3, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Convenient/Free/Clean
      Cons: Instances of long waits

       
      When parks close buses can be very crowded with long waiting lines - always difficult. Especially after Iluminations or Fantasmic - but they had a lot of buses at EPCOT. Always love the boats - sometimes I think they are my favorite WDW "rides". It is frustrating when you see your bus leave seconds before you get to the stop.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      thetony45

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 67
      Review Date: Sun January 26, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Free
      Cons: Buses can get crowded, no resort to resort buses.

       
      I always use Disney Transportation and love it. Especially zipping high above everything in the Monorail (I love the Monorail so much I have "Please stand clear of the doors. Por favor manténganse alejado de las puertas." as my text message ringtone on my phone)


      Buses can get very crowded if you are on a line that shares them but this time I was staying at pop century. The buses were not all that crowded and only one was I not able to sit. Even that time I voluntarily gave up my seat.


      The only issue I had was getting from resort to resort. It is a bit of a hassle taking a bus to Downtown Disney then to the resort you want to go to or back to your resort


      The Disney transportation isn't perfect, but it is free. That counts for something.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 220
      Review Date: Sat January 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Monorails are consistent
      Cons:

       
      We had a rental car this trip so didn't use the Disney transportation too often. However, on 1/9 and 1/10 we used the resort monorails from/to TTC to MK, and from/to Poly to MK. We never waited more than five minutes for a monorail. With a scooter in our party, the monorail cast was very helpful about loading us and phoning ahead to our destination to let them know we'd be getting off.


      We did use the bus to get to/from Art of Animation from Magic Kingdom on 1/9. We left MK around 2:20pm and came back around 4:45. Both times the wait for a bus was about 10 minutes. While I was glad to see the Magic Kingdom bus loop expansion is complete, of course the values are farthest away, with AoA being the absolute last queue, #34.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Irishrabbit

      Registered: June 2011
      Location: New Jersey
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Fri January 3, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Boats from WL to MK and Contempory are great!
      Cons: Long waits and overcrowded buses

       
      First of all, we've stayed at moderates and deluxe resorts at WDW. This past Dec we stayed at the Wilderness Lodge. We especially liked the boat service to the MK and Contemporary resort. As usual, the bus service to get everywhere else was difficult most times.
      There were many occasions while waiting for a bus to Downtown Disney, 2 or 3 buses from Epcot or Animal Kingdom would come, and have only a handful of people on them. Even though 20 minutes is the average waiting time, we found 30-35 minutes was the average waiting time at WL. Overcrowded buses are still an issue. I can't believe there hasn't been anybody hurt, especially at night when the buses are packed in so tightly, and buses stopping short because of traffic issues or being cut off. I still believe that each resort should have a direct bus to the Boardwalk after 6 pm to help with people going there for dining reservations. Getting a bus from Boardwalk back to DD to connect back to your resort is now taking up to 2 hours. Come to Disney, enjoy waiting for and riding our buses 3-4 hours a day is what it has turned into. I also believe there should be a para-transit bus with the increased amount of guests using scooters. I am glad that the parks and DD have made lining up for buses more organized than in the past, and it is no longer a free-for-all getting on buses from those locations. Especially for people patiently waiting, then groups cut in and jump on the buses first. WL shared a few lines with the Grand Floridian, which seemed silly to me. Why not share with the Poly or Contemporary which are much closer and have much less traffic. Getting from your resort to a dinner reservation at another resort, or theme park is becoming a major hassle, not to mention time consuming. Having to allow 2 hours now to get to your desired dining location in time is totally ridiculous!
      I know there are many resorts now, but there has to be a better way to better organize the buses to get people to and from their desired destinations quicker than they are now.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Elaine Hammond

      Registered: January 2007
      Location: Voorhees, NJ
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Sun December 15, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Able to get to almost everywhere
      Cons: Wait times, overcrowded buses

       
      With all the capabilities of Disney, I would think they could improve a lot on the bus service. To see, time and time again buses stop at locations where there was NO ONE waiting and others that had lines 4 & 5 rows deep waiting and no bus arriving is unacceptable. And I believe Disney is courting disaster with the way they overcrowd the buses. Better scheduling and communication is needed here.


      While I was there December 6-13 I see that they have added Cast Members at the bus stops in what I assume is an attempt to better coordinate services. While waiting at the Springs stop at Saratoga the Cast Member announced that the Epcot bus would be arriving in 7 minutes. The bus was literally coming up behind him when he said that.


      I have been coming to Disneyworld over 20 years and the bus service used to be much better. Add more buses - coordinate with your dispatches better and STOP the severe overcrowding. It is dangerous.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tinyallison

      Registered: December 2013
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Wed December 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Not having to rent a car
      Cons: Busses!

       
      The Monorail and Boats are the best way to get around. But the busses are always over packed! they really need to get that under control
      Click here to see this users profile  
      SharW

      Registered: November 2007
      Posts: 28
      Review Date: Thu November 14, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to use
      Cons: can wait a long time and can be overcrowded

       
      While easy to use, you can wait a long time and buses can be very overcrowded. Needs to be better coordination of buses going to early opening parks. Waiting for bus at the Beach Club to go to Animal Kingdom on early opening day. Saw 4 Magic Kingdom buses (for a park that wasn't even open yet) come and go. Waited for over 30 minutes for bus. Employee at bus stop logging arriving and leaving times said that if the bus leaving the Yacht Club was full, they would have to bypass the Beach Club and the people at the Beach Club would just have to wait and hope the next bus wasn't full. When the bus finally arrives, they tried to pile everyone on that have been waiting (by the time the bus arrived, there must have been 25-30 people waiting) - bus was packed. Husband, grandson and I had to stand (which I don't mind). Bus driver was going extremely fast and had to slam on brakes for a stop light. Needless to say, everyone was sent flying. Luckily the couple sitting in front of my grandson caught him and kept him from falling. Everyone that was standing was pushed forward creating a very dangerous situation.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DisneyJunkie

      Registered: August 2010
      Location: Salisbury, NC
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Fri November 1, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Monorail and boat/ferry info are good.
      Cons: Bus transportation, having enough of them is a big issue.

       
      On the whole Disney transportation is good. The monorail has the distinction of being both transportation and a ride in and of itself. The boats and ferries are also good means of getting around from place to place, in part because they run with some regularity. The problem area, however, is with the buses, in particular with how they run to/from the resorts. I stay at the Wilderness Lodge fairly often, and the bus transportation there is pretty bad....in terms of the timing of when the bus you need actually arrives. In most instances, you'll have to sit through multiple buses coming and going to other destinations before the one you want arrives. It's ridiculous.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DeanMoriarity

      Registered: August 2013
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Sun September 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): monorail is good
      Cons: bus transportation

       
      This review is painful; but it needs to be done. First the good news. The monorail is still quick, efficient and a lot of fun to ride. I enjoy the monorail just as much as I did when I was a kid in the early 80's. As a resort guest, the lines are never long and you get from here to there quickly with little to no wait. I wish the monorail could be expanded to include more than just the MK, Epcot, and a couple of hotels. The monorail gets three out of the 4 points I give WDW transportation.

      Bus Transportation. What happened Disney? It used to be a great choice. Back in the 80's, I never had an issue. But as time went on, I saw the bus service deteriorate with each succeeding trip to WDW. I stayed at the Port Orleans Riverside the last week of August in 2013. That said, bus transportation was my only choice. More often than not, there was an issue. Disney has the POR bus service paired with the POR French Quarter. Why? Being these are two very popular hotels, it is understandable that the lines for the buses would be the longest. Time and time again, no matter what park I was at, the lines for POR and PORFQ were the longest. I'd say the solution would be to separate the routes and give each hotel their own bus. Sounds like an easy solution. However, i noticed that this problem is not unique to the POR. At one point, I took a bus from the Contemporary only to find that it was paired with the Polynesian. I've seen that the value resorts pair up too. So it looks like the high end hotels also have to deal with this issue along with the low end and moderate resorts.

      The bus service to and from Downtown Disney is horrendous. They really need to add buses to this route. On the afternoon of 8/27, it actually took me 1 hour and 15 minutes to get from Downtown Disney back to the POR. 75 minutes for a ride that's a little over a mile. You'd think they'd make transportation to and from the largest shopping district WDW has a bit easier.

      Another problem that I encountered daily was watching multiple buses for another park come and go before the one I was waiting for would arrive. It was common to see two buses for another park go by. One day I actually saw three Epcot buses come back to back to back. That's three buses, all going to Epcot come in less than a minute. At what point does the third bus in line call dispatch for reassignment? Is bad management the reason?

      What does this add up to? Overcrowded buses, that's what. More often than not, I didn't get a seat. We were just packed on like a bunch of cattle. My heart goes out to those traveling with young children. They had it twice as bad as I did. And leads me to my next point;safety. Just how safe is it for a bus to be overloaded like that on a daily basis. Is this just an accident waiting to happen? I think it's kind of ironic to think the most dangerous ride in all of WDW is the bus ride back to the hotel.

      My last point for the WDW transportation system is how they handle handicapped passengers. My concern is that putting a handicapped person on an overcrowded bus with too many tired and irritable passengers is a dangerous situation. In a real emergency with passengers in a panic, a handicapped passenger would be in great peril. The solution here would be for WDW to have their own para-transit service. This is done in cities all across the USA. I like the fact that WDW has always been accessible to the handicapped and the elderly but i think it would behoove them to improve upon this service.

      None of this is a matter of money. Disney has already put a lot of money behind the bus service. Read other reviews. Often we here of empty buses going to places no one wants to go to. This issue is a matter of poor management. Disney needs to reorganize and hire the right people to make the bus service world class. It can be done.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Mich97

      Registered: January 2011
      Location: Boston, MA
      Posts: 54
      Review Date: Thu August 29, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 0 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): convenient
      Cons:

       
      We always use the WDW transportation system. Love the convenience. But sometimes when leaving a park waits can be long waiting for the bus, and then you can end up standing.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 220
      Review Date: Wed July 31, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to use
      Cons: No bus to TTC from MK

       
      I have been an advocate of Disney transportation for many years. This trip we rented a car, and it was the best decision I ever made. It was easy to find our way around the property, convenient to just leave when we wanted to, and so nice not to be stuffed in a bus with a crazy amount of other people at the end of the night.


      However, we did use the transportation options a couple of times while staying at Art of Animation. On a Saturday night, a friend went to Downtown Disney (we dropped her off). She took the bus back around 12:30am and said she only waited about 10 minutes.


      On Sunday, we took the monorail from the TTC to MK, as well as from MK to and from the Polynesian. Each time, there was less than a 1 minute wait and it wasn't too crowded, which was wonderful.


      We also took the bus from and to MK that same day around 7:15pm and 9:15pm. The wait was 10 minutes or less.


      At the end of the night, when Extra Magic Hours were over at 1am, we needed to get back to the TTC to pick up the car. The monorails had stopped running at midnight, and there was no bus; they were forcing everyone to take the ferry boat. While the wait wasn't long, they do make you sit for quite a while before departing, and the trip was filled with mosquitoes and other bugs. I was very disappointed that this was our only option.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Aquila163

      Registered: April 2013
      Location: Pennsylvania
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Wed July 31, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Bus stop are closer than parking lots
      Cons: Electric convenience vehicles

       
      I get what 20 minute average wait means. Sometimes 10 minutes, sometime 30 minutes. I have arthritis and walk with a cane so I also get and appreciate handicap access. I think it's time Disney consider dedicated ECV transportation vehicles. I waited with my wife with my cane 1 1/2 hours while 4, yes FOUR, consecutive buses loaded 2 ECV's each with their families and the buses were then full. One family loaded an ECV and 12 family members. It seems the only qualification to get these things is enough money as it was obvious many users had no experience with them. One woman with about an 8 year old girl sitting on here lap driving the ECV crashed into my wife. When you wait a long time at a big resort like Riverside or Caribbean there may have been several buses filled by EVC's that simply never came around the resort. I understand and appreciate Disney's requirement to provide handicap access for those of us that need it. The explosion of ECV use is costing people a lot of park time and I'm sure that translates into less money spent in parks and I know it makes some people who need handicap access choose not to go again and endure the looks from people waiting for buses.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MM from Connecticut

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Sun June 2, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Convenient, and Disney is continually improving system
      Cons: long lines at closing time at parks

       
      In 4 years, this was the first time we saw Cast Members with clipboards keeping tracking of bus schedules at the hotel during peak times. We even got a free Fast Pass of choice to park we were visiting because we waited more than 20 minutes for a bus. In the evening, especially after fireworks at Epcot and Magic Kingdom, it would be great if extra buses from parks that are closed (Animal Kingdom, Water Parks) could be sent to help. Lines are extremely long and buses are not as frequent as they should be during peak times at night when park closes.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.