Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • Akiceman

      Registered: April 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu April 17, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): convenience
      Cons: luggage delay

       
      We arrived at Orlando Airport at 4:45pm. We watched our luggage get removed from the plane out the window. Went through the line to get to our resort, a little long but ok all in all. Arrived and checked in at our room approximately 6:30pm. Naively expected our luggage to precede us. We called the front desk to inquire about our luggage at the 3 hour mark from our landing and were told it takes between 2 to 4 hours for the luggage to arrive. First we had heard of this. Ended up getting our luggage at 9:15 pm...planned to hit Magical Kingdom to watch the parade & fireworks the first night there....complete wash! Once over that little snafu we had the time of our lives for the next few days. We post this only to inform you that you will need to be prepared, as we were not, for a delay in your luggage. The next time we go the one thing that will change is that we will pick up our luggage at baggage claim and shlep it down to the buses ourselves...problem solved!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 194
      Review Date: Mon March 31, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Free, easy to adjust travelers, luggage arrived as it should
      Cons: Many stops, unable to adjust pickup time for delayed flights

       
      I've used Magical Express many, many times. I called a few days before arriving in Orlando to add two travelers to my hotel reservation. We did not receive their yellow tags before arriving, which I expected. Thankfully their bags showed up very quickly at baggage claim and we made our way over to B side.


      They did not show up on the reservation but the agent was able to add them quickly. My Magic Band worked at ME, which was great! Our bus was pretty full, and it stopped at Coronado Springs, All Star Sports and Music, before continuing to All Star Movies.


      I used Resort Airline Check In on Saturday morning with no problem. Then I discovered my flight had been seriously delayed. Magical Express said they wouldn't change pick up times due to delayed flights since "the flight could go back to it's original time at any moment". A friend agreed to take me to the airport instead so I wouldn't have to sit there for hours. As it turned out, I ended up changing my flight to the next day. ME gave me a new pick up time at another resort with no problem, 9:45am. Of course, at 9:40 I received a text that my flight was delayed again, and I ended up sitting at MCO for six hours anyway.


      I will use ME in the future for sure!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mmc55

      Registered: October 2008
      Location: North Reston VA
      Posts: 33
      Review Date: Mon March 3, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Free/Fast/Convenient/Comfortable/Immediate Disney
      Cons: None

       
      Arrived MCO 9a. Arrive CBR 9:45. Luggage at our room noon. The DME baggage people at CBR were efficient and very helpful - check-in luggage at CBR and they printed boarding pass. New modern bus with large screen video and very clean. Nice CM driver. And not a one cent (well, we did give $7 in tips).
      Click here to see this users profile  
      thetony45

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 67
      Review Date: Sat January 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Free, Air Conditioned Bus, Luggage Delivery
      Cons: Multiple stops, Luggage takes around 4 hours to get to your room, Couldn't hear video

       
      I love the DME! Use it every time I'm at Disney. It's free and saves you the hassle of baggage claim.


      Once you land at the airport you can take it easy. Provided you tag your luggage with the tags they send, you can skip baggage claim and go right to the DME on B side level 1 (they send you a map and there is plenty of signage and people to help you).


      Be sure to bring the booklet they send or that you are wearing your Magic Band because you'll need one of those two to board the bus.


      When you get to the DME desk you are sorted into lines depending on what resort you are going to.


      After that you board the bus and you are off. A welcome video plays but the volume was turned so low I couldn't hear it. As you reach the gates to Disney Property the driver has everyone give a cheer.


      One issue is the time factor. The bus stops at more than one resort so if you are unlucky enough to be last in line it will delay you about an hour.


      Also if you partake in the baggage delivery don't expect your suitcase in your room before you. It will take around 4 hours after your plane lands to get there.


      The day before your trip ends you will have a packet either on your resort door or left on your bed with the time to meet the bus the next day. Plan on 3 hours prior to your flight.


      You can check in for your flight at your resort so checked bags are not an issue. If you have some park time and don't want to lug your carry on around you can leave it with bell services.


      Heading home you hand the driver the letter they give you with your time to meet the bus and hop on board. Again multiple stops are made but even if you are the first on you will get to the airport with time to spare.


      A video plays wishing you a safe trip, information on the Orlando International Airport, and about other Disney destination but again the volume was so low i couldn't hear it.


      The DME will save you a lot of money and is one of the best perks of staying at a Disney Resort.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Irishrabbit

      Registered: June 2011
      Location: New Jersey
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Fri January 3, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Makes getting to WDW a breeze!
      Cons: multiple stops

       
      The Magical Express works well for us. Very convenient to not have to wait for bags, then deal with rental car agencies. Check in is super easy, and we never wait more than 30 minutes to get on board and be on our way to our resort. This year, we stayed at the Wilderness Lodge, and luckily it was the first stop. In past years, we've stayed at POFQ, and it was the last stop. The Cast members are always courteous, and the trip to and from the airport is pleasant. They've changed the tv program that is shown during the ride which was quite informative.
      I hope Disney keeps the Magical Express, and it makes getting to and from WDW stress free!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Motherhen

      Registered: January 2008
      Location: Canada
      Posts: 73
      Review Date: Thu December 12, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Awesome convenience
      Cons: Rude CM

       
      We used this service on 11/30 and 12/9. As always, the service itself was very convenient and removed the extra cost of a car rental or cabs/shuttles.


      The CMs dealing directly with us were polite and courteous. However, we were appalled to overhear a CM (who was directing the bus arrivals/departures) behind the desk constantly being rude to and back-stabbing her fellow CMs. She had to be aware that she was within earshot of dozens of guests. In all our years going to WDW, we have never heard such behavior. Not a great first impression of Disney for any 1st timers!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tinyallison

      Registered: December 2013
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Wed December 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Relaxing
      Cons: Slow

       
      I loved using the Magical Express. We just got off our plane and hopped right on the bus. When we left our resort it was depressing but the bus was clean, never loud with the other passengers. I will use this every time I fly to WDW.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      NJDzneMom

      Registered: September 2012
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Sun November 10, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Convenient and Free!
      Cons: Multiple Stops - Indirect Trip to Hotel

       
      It took us over an hour to get from MCO to AKL because of multiple stops made at other Disney hotels. We were the only family going to AKL placed on the bus I think because they wanted to fill it to the max. If the bus would have gone directly to AKL, I would have rated this service higher. I didn't appreciate the extra time required for multiple stops which delayed our start at the parks. I will consider renting a car next time because I think it may be faster. On a positive note, our luggage arrived safely and completely without issue.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DeanMoriarity

      Registered: August 2013
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Sun September 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): quick & easy
      Cons: none

       
      Mears does this service right. I was off my plane and on a bus very quickly. They are well organized and they got their system perfected to get you on a bus and to your resort in a timely manner. For those who are traveling with children the Magical Express will save you much time and will eliminate many headaches. This, along with the airport check-in available at the hotel makes the return trip much easier and faster.

      Save the money you would have spent on a rental car or a taxi and take the Magical Express.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Mich97

      Registered: January 2011
      Location: Boston, MA
      Posts: 54
      Review Date: Thu August 29, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): hassle free transportation
      Cons: none

       
      We always use Magical Express. It's wonderful not having to stop to pick up our luggage, knowing that it will be delivered to your room.
      And it works great with airline check-in from your resort when returning to the airport.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      elkhunter1

      Registered: May 2013
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Sun August 18, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): ease,comfort
      Cons:

       
      We have used the WDW Magical Express twice{2011&2013} and we enjoy the ease of use and the comfort of an air-conditioned bus.In 2011 we got our luggage within 3 hours-this year our bags were in our room at POP in less than an hour!Baggage check-in at POP for our return home both years was very quick and staff was very nice and personable-worth the tips we gave them both times{other vacation destinations have not given half of the personal service we've gotten at POP.}Warning though-when they tell you what time to be there for your return to MCO-be there 10-15 minutes early-our buses have left right at time given and looking back this year we saw 2 large groups running out of lobby waving arms but our bus was already almost full and the driver said he didn't have room for all of them and their luggage too{driver's defense-we were waiting from 12:40 to 12:45[depature time!] with no one else in sight until we were out of the circle.}.Be EARLY!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      KTSabie

      Registered: August 2008
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sun July 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Hassle free transportation
      Cons: Slow baggage delivery

       
      We used magical express in June 2013. Generally it was hassle free and a great way to get to and from the airport. The only trouble we had was with the delivery of our bags upon our arrival. We checked into the resort about 6pm and it was after 10pm when we finally received the bags. We had been told they would be delivered within 3 hours and it was more than 4 hours for us. It didn't greatly affect our trip, but it did slow down the settling in on our first night.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      1283alex

      Registered: May 2013
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Tue May 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): timely - well organized
      Cons: n/a

       
      As vacation club members, we have taken this bus numerous times. Considering the high volume of guests they transport, I think they do a fantastic job & you don't pay extra for it. Key reason for staying on Disney property. More people need to tip these drivers - they work for surprisingly lower wages, under a lot of stress, not to mention have to put up with a lot of "cranky" travelers.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 194
      Review Date: Sun May 12, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      I arrived at the welcome center around 9am on 5/7. The queue was empty, as it usually is. I had a brief, maybe three minute, wait to be put on a bus; unfortunately, it was an ugly yellow Mears bus, not a real ME one. There were only 5 people on board: three of us were going to Pop Century and the other two were going to Animal Kingdom Lodge. We left the airport after a short time and were at Pop by 9:30am. I had tagged my luggage and it arrived right around 11:30am, an exceptional 2 hour turn around!


      On 5/10, my boarding pass was left on my door overnight. I checked my bag in the AM with the Resort Airline Check In desk. My pick up time was 2:55pm for a 5:40 flight, the bus arrived a few minutes late but Pop was the last stop before the airport. The bus was completely full. Thanks to RAC I was able to skip the Southwest counter completely and head straight for security, with plenty of time to get to my gate.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dbfromcincy

      Registered: August 2008
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Wed May 1, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons: Return Luggage

       
      Fourth time using this service. Overall it is superb. I did run into a new glitch this time around. Purchased my round trip ticket via Southwest. The flight down on their new acquisition was Airtran. No problems there, bags came to room pronto, etc.
      However, on return leg which was a Southwest flight I could not check bags or even get boarding passes printed out. Instead had to haul everything to MCO airport and wait in lines. I was told that if your ticket is with multiple airlines (even those that are now one like Southwest/Airtran) they can not accomodate check-in and baggage at the hotel for your return trip.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.