Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • LLSS

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Tue September 29, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Free trips to and from the hotel
      Cons: Baggage

      This is a great idea, and for just transporting you to and from the airport, it works great. However, the baggage service with this is not good (to put it nicely). We got in and got checked into our hotel before 10:00. Our bags (which was only a stroller) were supposed to be delivered in 3 hours (have heard it could take 5). We needed the stroller as we were headed to MNSSH that night. By 3:15, I was getting concerned so I went and asked the bellhop. He told me he had a record of it being loaded onto the truck at 2:55, and it should be about an hour to be delivered. By 4, my wife and daughter headed to the park as she was getting antsy and I waited at the delivery spot so I could just grab it and go. By 4:45, I had enough (was missing out on my park ticket at this point), and just left. We ended up needing to rent a stroller for $15 (not much, but our child will sleep in her stroller, not a rented one). When we got back at around midnight, the stroller was there. But, it was AT LEAST 7 hours before it was delivered, and it gave us an extra expense which I was not ready for/happy about. Word of advice, make sure you need absolutely nothing from your checked bags not just for a few hours, but for the entire day.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: May 2011
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sat April 11, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): relaxing, convenient, no luggage worries, well orchestrated
      Cons: odd hotel routing

      Had 3 recent trips using this service. Oct (business w/ family) trip in was made interesting by a tire blow-out. Figured we were stuck (just outside the Welcome gateway) for an extended period, but replacement bus was on-site and passengers / luggage transferred and on the road again within 15 minutes - i was most impressed. Dec (family only) we experienced a rather long wait to leave the airport - were first boarders - so sat for about 20 minutes while bus filled up. Contrast that with March (Business, no family) where i walked on bus and almost immediately we hit the road. We were able to catch earlier than scheduled departure buses on the last two trips with no problem, just asked the driver if we could board. All in all, removes the stress and cost of arranging other transportation and lets someone else deal with the traffic and the route. Our next trip we may be looking at a one way use case - just found (on this site) that this was an option.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 252
      Review Date: Fri April 10, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Convenient, don't have to handle luggage, free
      Cons: Odd choice of return pick-up hotels, new airport policies

      It had been about a year since I used Magical Express because I rented a car the last two trips I took.

      The DVC owner I rented points from was nice enough to call and ask them to send me extra yellow tags because this was an extra long trip with multiple destinations and I simply needed more than one bag! They did so in plenty of time.

      We tagged our luggage at the Buffalo airport and off we went. Found the ME location with no trouble (so much closer coming from the JetBlue gates than the Southwest gates!) and they waved us into the line. We did wait for about 10 minutes before boarding the bus and then sat on it for another 10 minutes before we were on our way!

      I enjoyed that they played the tilt shift park videos on the ride, as I adore them. It took us about 45 minutes to arrive at our resort, Saratoga Springs, because first we stopped at both Port Orleans French Quarter and Riverside, then Old Key West, and finally SSR. Still arrived at our room right before 2pm.

      When we checked out, we had no problems with the airline check in. The bus was scheduled to pick us up at 2:50pm, I think, and our flight was at 5:45. Plenty of time. There were people on the bus already and it was a few minutes late...but then it made the very odd trek to Coronado Springs, totally on the other side of the property so that definitely added a lot of time.

      When we arrived at the airport there were some new policies that I am still confused about. They no longer drop off at terminals A & B, but B only. Then, they won't let you off the bus until the driver has unloaded all the luggage for "safety purposes". That makes no sense to me and has never been a thing in the eight years I've been using this service!

      There was a rather irate group of adults who were all up in the CMs face (she boarded the bus to tell us where we were and what was going on while the driver was unloading). They were outraged because their flight was going to begin boarding in 45 minutes and the bus took so long and they almost rushed the driver before she closed the door so they could not get off (as they were supposed to be waiting).

      I don't even know if that's coherent but they were rude. Disney schedules your pickup for about 3 hours before your flight. For them to be leaving in 1 hour (boarding in 45 minutes) that means they had to be on the bus for over two hours and I find that very difficult to believe. It was crazy.

      Thankfully the CM handled them very well and my friend and I apologized for this group's behavior and said it was certainly not her fault. So just be aware of these new changes to airport return policies.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: December 2007
      Posts: 84
      Review Date: Tue March 31, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): not having to rent a car

      We love magical express and the convenience it brings to our WDW vacations. This year we had a late arriving flight. Since we weren't sure it would be on time, we chose not to use the yellow tags, and pick up our own luggage instead of risking it not arriving to our resort room on the evening we arrived. It was really no hassle going to the luggage belt and retrieving our own bags. When we arrived to Magical Express area, we just used our Magic Bands to go right to our resort line to board the bus. It was quite dead at 9:30 PM, so we thought we would get right on the bus and leave for our resort in good time. We waited about 10 min. before they put us on our bus. Then we waited and waited. No one else was riding our bus as there were hardly any other people arriving at that time...kind of surprising. I'm sure they didn't want to send a bus out with just 2 passengers so we waited and waited and waited. After over 1/2 an hour they finally decided to send us on our way. Not very magical for 2 people who were dying to get to their resort and start their magical vacation. This is the first problem we have ever had with the Express....been coming to WDW for over 10 years.
      Our return trip to the airport went without any glitches. Got our boarding passes at the resort and our bus was right on time to take us back.
      Both drivers were courteous and friendly. Of course we'll use this service again, but hopefully we won't have to travel in the evening again.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: August 2014
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Wed August 20, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Friendly staff, comfortable, timely
      Cons: Mears yellow bus, boring show

      DME is one of our favorite parts of the trip! Well..when arriving, at least. We love that we don't have to keep track of our luggage, and it's exciting to be welcomed by the first cast members of the trip at the airport! I was very disappointed though, as I have been in years past, when our bus pulled up and it was just a plain yellow Mears bus. I understand that Mears is the company that provides this wonderful experience to Disney resort guests, but I just think that it detracts from the magic when you cannot ride a DME bus that is decked out in Disney glory! Other than that, I have no complaints. One member of our party did have an issue with the show that is played on the bus and has been updated since our last trip - she found it less pleasant than the shows in previous years, although we all loved the clips of the Disney Parks Blog that were put on for us on the trip home.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: April 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu April 17, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): convenience
      Cons: luggage delay

      We arrived at Orlando Airport at 4:45pm. We watched our luggage get removed from the plane out the window. Went through the line to get to our resort, a little long but ok all in all. Arrived and checked in at our room approximately 6:30pm. Naively expected our luggage to precede us. We called the front desk to inquire about our luggage at the 3 hour mark from our landing and were told it takes between 2 to 4 hours for the luggage to arrive. First we had heard of this. Ended up getting our luggage at 9:15 pm...planned to hit Magical Kingdom to watch the parade & fireworks the first night there....complete wash! Once over that little snafu we had the time of our lives for the next few days. We post this only to inform you that you will need to be prepared, as we were not, for a delay in your luggage. The next time we go the one thing that will change is that we will pick up our luggage at baggage claim and shlep it down to the buses ourselves...problem solved!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 252
      Review Date: Mon March 31, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Free, easy to adjust travelers, luggage arrived as it should
      Cons: Many stops, unable to adjust pickup time for delayed flights

      I've used Magical Express many, many times. I called a few days before arriving in Orlando to add two travelers to my hotel reservation. We did not receive their yellow tags before arriving, which I expected. Thankfully their bags showed up very quickly at baggage claim and we made our way over to B side.

      They did not show up on the reservation but the agent was able to add them quickly. My Magic Band worked at ME, which was great! Our bus was pretty full, and it stopped at Coronado Springs, All Star Sports and Music, before continuing to All Star Movies.

      I used Resort Airline Check In on Saturday morning with no problem. Then I discovered my flight had been seriously delayed. Magical Express said they wouldn't change pick up times due to delayed flights since "the flight could go back to it's original time at any moment". A friend agreed to take me to the airport instead so I wouldn't have to sit there for hours. As it turned out, I ended up changing my flight to the next day. ME gave me a new pick up time at another resort with no problem, 9:45am. Of course, at 9:40 I received a text that my flight was delayed again, and I ended up sitting at MCO for six hours anyway.

      I will use ME in the future for sure!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: October 2008
      Location: North Reston VA
      Posts: 33
      Review Date: Mon March 3, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Free/Fast/Convenient/Comfortable/Immediate Disney
      Cons: None

      Arrived MCO 9a. Arrive CBR 9:45. Luggage at our room noon. The DME baggage people at CBR were efficient and very helpful - check-in luggage at CBR and they printed boarding pass. New modern bus with large screen video and very clean. Nice CM driver. And not a one cent (well, we did give $7 in tips).
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 67
      Review Date: Sat January 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Free, Air Conditioned Bus, Luggage Delivery
      Cons: Multiple stops, Luggage takes around 4 hours to get to your room, Couldn't hear video

      I love the DME! Use it every time I'm at Disney. It's free and saves you the hassle of baggage claim.

      Once you land at the airport you can take it easy. Provided you tag your luggage with the tags they send, you can skip baggage claim and go right to the DME on B side level 1 (they send you a map and there is plenty of signage and people to help you).

      Be sure to bring the booklet they send or that you are wearing your Magic Band because you'll need one of those two to board the bus.

      When you get to the DME desk you are sorted into lines depending on what resort you are going to.

      After that you board the bus and you are off. A welcome video plays but the volume was turned so low I couldn't hear it. As you reach the gates to Disney Property the driver has everyone give a cheer.

      One issue is the time factor. The bus stops at more than one resort so if you are unlucky enough to be last in line it will delay you about an hour.

      Also if you partake in the baggage delivery don't expect your suitcase in your room before you. It will take around 4 hours after your plane lands to get there.

      The day before your trip ends you will have a packet either on your resort door or left on your bed with the time to meet the bus the next day. Plan on 3 hours prior to your flight.

      You can check in for your flight at your resort so checked bags are not an issue. If you have some park time and don't want to lug your carry on around you can leave it with bell services.

      Heading home you hand the driver the letter they give you with your time to meet the bus and hop on board. Again multiple stops are made but even if you are the first on you will get to the airport with time to spare.

      A video plays wishing you a safe trip, information on the Orlando International Airport, and about other Disney destination but again the volume was so low i couldn't hear it.

      The DME will save you a lot of money and is one of the best perks of staying at a Disney Resort.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: June 2011
      Location: New Jersey
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Fri January 3, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Makes getting to WDW a breeze!
      Cons: multiple stops

      The Magical Express works well for us. Very convenient to not have to wait for bags, then deal with rental car agencies. Check in is super easy, and we never wait more than 30 minutes to get on board and be on our way to our resort. This year, we stayed at the Wilderness Lodge, and luckily it was the first stop. In past years, we've stayed at POFQ, and it was the last stop. The Cast members are always courteous, and the trip to and from the airport is pleasant. They've changed the tv program that is shown during the ride which was quite informative.
      I hope Disney keeps the Magical Express, and it makes getting to and from WDW stress free!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2008
      Location: Canada
      Posts: 73
      Review Date: Thu December 12, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Awesome convenience
      Cons: Rude CM

      We used this service on 11/30 and 12/9. As always, the service itself was very convenient and removed the extra cost of a car rental or cabs/shuttles.

      The CMs dealing directly with us were polite and courteous. However, we were appalled to overhear a CM (who was directing the bus arrivals/departures) behind the desk constantly being rude to and back-stabbing her fellow CMs. She had to be aware that she was within earshot of dozens of guests. In all our years going to WDW, we have never heard such behavior. Not a great first impression of Disney for any 1st timers!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: December 2013
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Wed December 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Relaxing
      Cons: Slow

      I loved using the Magical Express. We just got off our plane and hopped right on the bus. When we left our resort it was depressing but the bus was clean, never loud with the other passengers. I will use this every time I fly to WDW.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: September 2012
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Sun November 10, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Convenient and Free!
      Cons: Multiple Stops - Indirect Trip to Hotel

      It took us over an hour to get from MCO to AKL because of multiple stops made at other Disney hotels. We were the only family going to AKL placed on the bus I think because they wanted to fill it to the max. If the bus would have gone directly to AKL, I would have rated this service higher. I didn't appreciate the extra time required for multiple stops which delayed our start at the parks. I will consider renting a car next time because I think it may be faster. On a positive note, our luggage arrived safely and completely without issue.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: August 2013
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Sun September 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): quick & easy
      Cons: none

      Mears does this service right. I was off my plane and on a bus very quickly. They are well organized and they got their system perfected to get you on a bus and to your resort in a timely manner. For those who are traveling with children the Magical Express will save you much time and will eliminate many headaches. This, along with the airport check-in available at the hotel makes the return trip much easier and faster.

      Save the money you would have spent on a rental car or a taxi and take the Magical Express.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2011
      Location: Boston, MA
      Posts: 54
      Review Date: Thu August 29, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): hassle free transportation
      Cons: none

      We always use Magical Express. It's wonderful not having to stop to pick up our luggage, knowing that it will be delivered to your room.
      And it works great with airline check-in from your resort when returning to the airport.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.