Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • KarissaB1

      Registered: December 2012
      Location: United States
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Sun November 30, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food was excellent
      Cons: None

       
      This was our first time trying breakfast at Hollywood and Vine and it will be a must do on our next trip. We went in only with the expectations of meeting the characters and having breakfast, but the food was outstanding. Everyone should be able to find something at this buffet to eat. I did not have one item that was not excellent. The deep fried cinnamon french toast with chocolate sauce was to die for. I know it was super bad for you, but it tasted wonderful. Similar to a funnel cake with chocolate sauce. Everything we tried was tasty. I would recommend this breakfast to anyone.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      njdc5

      Registered: June 2011
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Tue October 28, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Character time, the food
      Cons: The noise

       
      We always make it to this restaurant on our trips with the kids, for both the character interaction, as well as the food. The characters are a lot of fun, they take the time to come to each table, and even have a few dance sessions during the meal. The food is always above-average for a Disney buffet, with their short ribs being very good. The salmon was good, and their choices for salads and desserts is also large.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jluck

      Registered: October 2014
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sat October 4, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): the characters
      Cons: a bit crowded

       
      Went here for the character breakfast end of September 2014. Got an 8 am reservation so we could have a chance to sign up for Jedi Academy. You check in at the gate and wait in line until they lead you (and everyone else in that line) through the park to the restaurant, then you again wait in a long line to check in again.
      The food was good, maybe not quite as good as Crystal Palace. The server made sure we knew the route the characters take so we could be sure they weren't on the way before we went up to the buffet.
      The line was a bit chaotic.
      Cast members start singing and dancing in the restaurant at various times through your meal and this clogs the way to the buffet... You are trying to make it through the line before a character comes and you have to wade through singing cast members and toddlers to get there.
      Not my favorite character meal, but the kids got to see Jake and pals, so it was worth it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      LLSS

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Tue September 30, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food, characters
      Cons: Complete Chaos

       
      Let me start with the food, which was delicious. The lobster mac and cheese was great. Also, there were lots of chances to interact with the characters which was great.


      However, this also lead to a lot of chaos. First, reservations don't exactly get you in on time. We had 11:10 reservations, and were seated probably around 11:40. It feels like the restaurant was a bit to big for just the two lines. When my wife went for food while I sat with the little one, she missed Jake coming to the table (lines for food were around 5 minutes plus). When I went, I missed Sophia (which is the little ones favorite), as well as Handy Manny. There were people running around everywhere as well. We actually didn't even get to see Doc as we had the Frozen show to get to at 12:30 and since it took so long to get seated, we had to bolt. Overall it's great for the little ones, but make sure you block a good amount of time for it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cjane65

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Sun September 21, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): characters, food,
      Cons: service

       
      We had an early lunch here Sept 15. A res of 11:15am got us seated right away. For the first 15 minutes, to my husbands delight, breakfast was still out on half the buffet. The lunch options were varied and yummy. Everything was fresh and well prepared. Only the lobster mac and cheese let us down, only I think, because it was just out and was not as thick and creamy as sitting would have done. The characters were great circulating around and around. Only Sophia was elusive, passing us on the left and right and again! DGD and DGS were both pleased tho. We would do it again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      PrincessDaisyDuck

      Registered: August 2014
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Wed August 27, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Characters, Food
      Cons: Noise, Service

       
      We ate lunch as a party of 7 on August 19th. Our reservation time was 12:15 so the restaurant was packed. It was a little overwhelming because it was so loud and crowded. There was a line for the ladies' room that stretched down the hallway.


      The characters were great, we met Doc McStuffins, Jake, Handy Manny and Sofia. We were really happy to see Manny as he is DS's favorite. We liked how the server explained the character rotation so we knew when to expect the characters. They were also well spaced out. The dance parties with the kids were great too.


      The food was really good and it had a great variety. There were also good dessert options. Everything was fresh and tasty.


      Our server sat us, brought us drinks and never came back, never refilled our drinks or took away plates. We were long done and looking for her when she finally came with the bill. It was probably an hour between when she dropped our drinks off and when she reappeared, we never saw her in between. She then went on and on about the tip - since we were a party over 6 there is a mandatory tip of 18%. I think this is unfair for a buffet, especially with poor service, but we knew that going in and had the cash ready. She kept asking us how we were going to pay it, we told her we had cash and she kept asking if it was cash for the whole table or were my parents paying separately - she just kept asking if we were sure the tip was being paid, it was really uncomfortable.


      When we left it was about 2:00 and it was really quiet, so I think in the future a slower time of day would be less chaotic.


      I would recommend this place because the food and characters were good.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mzznlink

      Registered: August 2006
      Location: Central Virginia
      Posts: 46
      Review Date: Sun July 27, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Selection
      Cons:

       
      The only reason we tried Hollywood & Vine for breakfast is because we were there with our 1 year old granddaughter who loves Disney Junior.


      She had fun dancing with the characters and bouncing and waving her hands during the songs.


      Crystal Palace used to be our favorite breakfast, but Hollywood & Vine may just beat it out with its selection. I think the chocolate sauce was the clincher.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      StacyLovesDisney

      Registered: September 2012
      Location: Virginia
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Sat July 19, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food--dancing with characters
      Cons: wait!! lack of character interaction

       
      This is a favorite of my two kids, girl 8, boy 5 and me too!
      We love the character dancing and singing. My kids love the Mickey Waffles and Tater Tots.


      This year, perhaps due to the new characters, the wait time was massive. We arrived in time for our ADR. We had to wait on the front porch to be called. We were taken to our seats where it took another 10-15 minutes to be greeted by our waitress. (My kids were really starving by now) Chef came out to take care of my son's food allergies---stellar job, Chef. Waitress was unfriendly (the first time I have ever had this experience at Disney and I've been going for years) and I actually had to yell out to her," May I please have more tea." as she went sailing by. No stopping at our table to ask if everything was ok. The characters took long to come around. (The last time we ate at H&V we saw each character 3 times during the hour we were there.) Finally, the moment my daughter was waiting for--Doc was coming to the table. My 8 year old daughter was wearing a Doc outfit, I had put her short hair in Doc pigtails, had the Doc headband, she was wearing a Doc bracelet, and had her talking Doc doll with her. I'll have to say this was disappointing.....Doc came stood for a photo and left. No pointing at my daughter's outfit or a hug for the baby doll. No clapping for the outfit and knowing that Doc is a favorite. (We've had this happen with Handy Manny for my son, Donald when he saw my daughter's Donald Duck dress, etc.) In fact, Doc started walking away before my son could get a photo in with her. I had to ask her to wait. (We do not do autographs, so we're quickies as it is with the photos.) We were ready to leave after being in there for an hour and 15 minutes. We kept waiting to see Sophia. We were actually giving up and walking out-- because we had a fast pass--when she finally arrived. We got our photo, but we were frustrated with the money we spent on this event. We will try it again to see if this was just a one-time occurrence.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      maze4

      Registered: March 2013
      Location: Pennsylvania
      Posts: 40
      Review Date: Wed July 2, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): new characters, fresh food
      Cons: none

       
      When I received the email that Sophia & Doc was going to be at HV I got online & scheduled the first date available. I got an 8:05 ressie. We arrived at HS early since it was extra magic hrs and was met with a large line. We made our way to check in to dining and waited some more. In MK they would let you in prior to your ressie and you were able to take pics etc. Not here at rope drope it was a mad dash to get to the restaurant.
      We checked in and within 5 minutes was seated. I thought the place would be packed but it wasn't. There was a lot of seats available. Our waitress got our drinks and told us it would be about 10 minutes before the characters would be to our table and she explained all the food options and the flow of the characters. We took this time to go get our food and start to eat. Everything was fresh, hot, and good variety. Your typical buffet but did offer a yogurt station and several other items. My dd5 wore her Sophia dress and was surprised by this character breakfast. (it was a surprise). The characters were Jake, Sophia, Doc, Handy. they spent time and each table and then a times throughout our meal they would gather and dance, do sing a longs, and parade around the restaurant. My family enjoyed themselves. We were on the dining plan but paid OOP for this meal which was one of the cheapest, great value for the quality of food. A lot of people didn't know that they had Doc & Sophia, I think Allears need to update their site with the addition of the new characters
      Click here to see this users profile  
      disneyprincess1014

      Registered: May 2006
      Location: USA
      Posts: 36
      Review Date: Sun June 29, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great breakfast, amazing characters and service
      Cons:

       
      This was the best character meal we had all week and by far the best breakfast. It rivals Crystal Palace for sure and the characters are better here. Jake and Sofia danced with my kids during the character dance times, and it seemed that there was more character interaction here than at other places. Jake, Doc, Manny, and Sofia all spent lots of time with the kids, signing autographs and posing for lots of pics. They really fussed over the kids and made them feel super special. Our server was attentive and efficient. But the best part was the food. Everything was fresh and delicious. There was a make-your-own breakfast burrito section, puffed French Toast with Chocolate Kahlua sauce (soooo good), cheesy breakfast potato casserole, pancakes, eggs, bacon, Mickey waffles, bread pudding with vanilla sauce, an omelet station, breakfast meats, and a make-your-own Greek Yogurt sundae bar. The food was very good. Definitely worth doing again, especially if you have little ones.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      clyde0523

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Mon May 26, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      This was fantastic! The absolute best meal we had a Disney with the most fun atmosphere! The character were great, they really took up time with our kiddos. The kids got to dance and play with the characters and the service was wonderful! Highly recommend!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lizzie1974

      Registered: March 2011
      Location: Rhode Island
      Posts: 34
      Review Date: Wed February 5, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food & new characters!
      Cons:

       
      We made reservations for this on the first day that Sofia & Doc were joining the cast.
      The food was very good. We've eaten here for breakfast, lunch and dinner in the past. But the last time was a few years ago.
      They've upgraded all the food on the buffet.
      The lobster mac & cheese was loaded with lobster. My husband came back with heaping piles of claw meat with each plate.
      The kids buffet had tater tots! Yum.
      The dessert bar was also very good. Quite a selection and all delicious.
      The character experience is fun. The cast members are very energetic when it comes time to do their songs/dances.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      hbk

      Registered: August 2010
      Location: Indiana
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Mon January 13, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): characters, food, easy to get into
      Cons: tables/room to maneuver could have been more spacious

       
      We have 3 year twin boys and this was a huge hit! Lots of music/dancing, character visits were at a good pace, and besides a dullsville Handy Manny at first, which got tremendously better with the 2nd Handy Manny visit (it was clearly a different person) this was well worth the stop. We didn't have reservations so we put our name in at lunch and it was an hour. Feel safe in that estimate and go do something else and come back. The food was really good as well (Lobster Mac n Cheese - yummm!). Will be doing this again in the fall. If your kids are Handy Manny fans, I believe this might be all there is for pictures. Enjoy!
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      Mirner77

      Registered: January 2014
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Thu January 9, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food & characters
      Cons: Waiting area is outside

       
      We had lunch here on January 4th. It was such a cold day that this was a nice warm spot, however, the wait outside was rough in the cold. it would have been nice to have a spot indoors to wait. The food here was much better than I expected! Everyone loved the salmon and there was a ton of variety! The character interaction again was fabulous! Oso insisted that my mother take a picture with her iPad as she had it out to send a message to a family member, and even helped show her how with his 3 simple steps! It was hilarious! He even peeked around the corner! My youngest daughter loves Handy Manny and he made a big deal to take a picture with her and my father who is an engineer. Jake was also great. It was great fun to see them all dance and parade around the restaurant. Our family had a wonderful time here and I wouldn't hesitate in returning here or recommending it to anyone. The kids buffet had all of the regular staples and the ice cream bar was great as was the chocolate dipped fruit. Fun place and full bellies for all!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      StacyLovesDisney

      Registered: September 2012
      Location: Virginia
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Mon September 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): breakfast foods, interactive experience for younger set
      Cons: None

       
      We really enjoyed this experience. The kids are invited to come to the front of the restaurant to dance and sing with their favorite Disney Jr. friends. Each friend visits the table. Our Handy Manny was very friendly. My son wore his tool belt and H.M. took his hammer and wrench to "use." My son loved that! The food is yummy. Try the bread pudding with vanilla sauce.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.