Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • mzznlink

      Registered: August 2006
      Location: Central Virginia
      Posts: 46
      Review Date: Sun July 27, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Selection
      Cons:

       
      The only reason we tried Hollywood & Vine for breakfast is because we were there with our 1 year old granddaughter who loves Disney Junior.


      She had fun dancing with the characters and bouncing and waving her hands during the songs.


      Crystal Palace used to be our favorite breakfast, but Hollywood & Vine may just beat it out with its selection. I think the chocolate sauce was the clincher.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      StacyLovesDisney

      Registered: September 2012
      Location: Virginia
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Sat July 19, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food--dancing with characters
      Cons: wait!! lack of character interaction

       
      This is a favorite of my two kids, girl 8, boy 5 and me too!
      We love the character dancing and singing. My kids love the Mickey Waffles and Tater Tots.


      This year, perhaps due to the new characters, the wait time was massive. We arrived in time for our ADR. We had to wait on the front porch to be called. We were taken to our seats where it took another 10-15 minutes to be greeted by our waitress. (My kids were really starving by now) Chef came out to take care of my son's food allergies---stellar job, Chef. Waitress was unfriendly (the first time I have ever had this experience at Disney and I've been going for years) and I actually had to yell out to her," May I please have more tea." as she went sailing by. No stopping at our table to ask if everything was ok. The characters took long to come around. (The last time we ate at H&V we saw each character 3 times during the hour we were there.) Finally, the moment my daughter was waiting for--Doc was coming to the table. My 8 year old daughter was wearing a Doc outfit, I had put her short hair in Doc pigtails, had the Doc headband, she was wearing a Doc bracelet, and had her talking Doc doll with her. I'll have to say this was disappointing.....Doc came stood for a photo and left. No pointing at my daughter's outfit or a hug for the baby doll. No clapping for the outfit and knowing that Doc is a favorite. (We've had this happen with Handy Manny for my son, Donald when he saw my daughter's Donald Duck dress, etc.) In fact, Doc started walking away before my son could get a photo in with her. I had to ask her to wait. (We do not do autographs, so we're quickies as it is with the photos.) We were ready to leave after being in there for an hour and 15 minutes. We kept waiting to see Sophia. We were actually giving up and walking out-- because we had a fast pass--when she finally arrived. We got our photo, but we were frustrated with the money we spent on this event. We will try it again to see if this was just a one-time occurrence.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      maze4

      Registered: March 2013
      Location: Pennsylvania
      Posts: 40
      Review Date: Wed July 2, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): new characters, fresh food
      Cons: none

       
      When I received the email that Sophia & Doc was going to be at HV I got online & scheduled the first date available. I got an 8:05 ressie. We arrived at HS early since it was extra magic hrs and was met with a large line. We made our way to check in to dining and waited some more. In MK they would let you in prior to your ressie and you were able to take pics etc. Not here at rope drope it was a mad dash to get to the restaurant.
      We checked in and within 5 minutes was seated. I thought the place would be packed but it wasn't. There was a lot of seats available. Our waitress got our drinks and told us it would be about 10 minutes before the characters would be to our table and she explained all the food options and the flow of the characters. We took this time to go get our food and start to eat. Everything was fresh, hot, and good variety. Your typical buffet but did offer a yogurt station and several other items. My dd5 wore her Sophia dress and was surprised by this character breakfast. (it was a surprise). The characters were Jake, Sophia, Doc, Handy. they spent time and each table and then a times throughout our meal they would gather and dance, do sing a longs, and parade around the restaurant. My family enjoyed themselves. We were on the dining plan but paid OOP for this meal which was one of the cheapest, great value for the quality of food. A lot of people didn't know that they had Doc & Sophia, I think Allears need to update their site with the addition of the new characters
      Click here to see this users profile  
      disneyprincess1014

      Registered: May 2006
      Location: USA
      Posts: 36
      Review Date: Sun June 29, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great breakfast, amazing characters and service
      Cons:

       
      This was the best character meal we had all week and by far the best breakfast. It rivals Crystal Palace for sure and the characters are better here. Jake and Sofia danced with my kids during the character dance times, and it seemed that there was more character interaction here than at other places. Jake, Doc, Manny, and Sofia all spent lots of time with the kids, signing autographs and posing for lots of pics. They really fussed over the kids and made them feel super special. Our server was attentive and efficient. But the best part was the food. Everything was fresh and delicious. There was a make-your-own breakfast burrito section, puffed French Toast with Chocolate Kahlua sauce (soooo good), cheesy breakfast potato casserole, pancakes, eggs, bacon, Mickey waffles, bread pudding with vanilla sauce, an omelet station, breakfast meats, and a make-your-own Greek Yogurt sundae bar. The food was very good. Definitely worth doing again, especially if you have little ones.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      clyde0523

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Mon May 26, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      This was fantastic! The absolute best meal we had a Disney with the most fun atmosphere! The character were great, they really took up time with our kiddos. The kids got to dance and play with the characters and the service was wonderful! Highly recommend!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lizzie1974

      Registered: March 2011
      Location: Rhode Island
      Posts: 34
      Review Date: Wed February 5, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food & new characters!
      Cons:

       
      We made reservations for this on the first day that Sofia & Doc were joining the cast.
      The food was very good. We've eaten here for breakfast, lunch and dinner in the past. But the last time was a few years ago.
      They've upgraded all the food on the buffet.
      The lobster mac & cheese was loaded with lobster. My husband came back with heaping piles of claw meat with each plate.
      The kids buffet had tater tots! Yum.
      The dessert bar was also very good. Quite a selection and all delicious.
      The character experience is fun. The cast members are very energetic when it comes time to do their songs/dances.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      hbk

      Registered: August 2010
      Location: Indiana
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Mon January 13, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): characters, food, easy to get into
      Cons: tables/room to maneuver could have been more spacious

       
      We have 3 year twin boys and this was a huge hit! Lots of music/dancing, character visits were at a good pace, and besides a dullsville Handy Manny at first, which got tremendously better with the 2nd Handy Manny visit (it was clearly a different person) this was well worth the stop. We didn't have reservations so we put our name in at lunch and it was an hour. Feel safe in that estimate and go do something else and come back. The food was really good as well (Lobster Mac n Cheese - yummm!). Will be doing this again in the fall. If your kids are Handy Manny fans, I believe this might be all there is for pictures. Enjoy!
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      Mirner77

      Registered: January 2014
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Thu January 9, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food & characters
      Cons: Waiting area is outside

       
      We had lunch here on January 4th. It was such a cold day that this was a nice warm spot, however, the wait outside was rough in the cold. it would have been nice to have a spot indoors to wait. The food here was much better than I expected! Everyone loved the salmon and there was a ton of variety! The character interaction again was fabulous! Oso insisted that my mother take a picture with her iPad as she had it out to send a message to a family member, and even helped show her how with his 3 simple steps! It was hilarious! He even peeked around the corner! My youngest daughter loves Handy Manny and he made a big deal to take a picture with her and my father who is an engineer. Jake was also great. It was great fun to see them all dance and parade around the restaurant. Our family had a wonderful time here and I wouldn't hesitate in returning here or recommending it to anyone. The kids buffet had all of the regular staples and the ice cream bar was great as was the chocolate dipped fruit. Fun place and full bellies for all!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      StacyLovesDisney

      Registered: September 2012
      Location: Virginia
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Mon September 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): breakfast foods, interactive experience for younger set
      Cons: None

       
      We really enjoyed this experience. The kids are invited to come to the front of the restaurant to dance and sing with their favorite Disney Jr. friends. Each friend visits the table. Our Handy Manny was very friendly. My son wore his tool belt and H.M. took his hammer and wrench to "use." My son loved that! The food is yummy. Try the bread pudding with vanilla sauce.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      vickie1016

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: Yonkers, New York
      Posts: 35
      Review Date: Wed July 31, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): characters
      Cons: Sofia not there yet

       
      Family & I had lunch here in early July 2013. We have eaten here on our previous trips as well. Checked in at podium & had no wait at all. Place was half empty upon entering & was like that most of the time we were there (had 1:00 reservation time).


      Friendly CM took us to our table & we were greeted by our server. She took our drink order & explained how the characters came to the table. (Again, just like our server at Tusker house we were told the table rotation so we were prepared with cameras & book). Our server was great, never had an empty glass or a dirty dish on the table.


      The buffet food was a nice selection, but we have had better in past years. Nothing was wrong with the selection, everything was tasty, but in years past there was more of a variety. We had roasted chicken, pot roast (which was very tasty), roasted pork. There were several fish choices which we did not taste due to allergies. Basic salad choices & soup was tomato something or a spicy corn soup. DD (7) ate off both adult & kids buffets. The kids choices were roasted chicken, sweet meatballs (did not like) or basic kid staples (chicken nuggets, corn, etc.) She really liked the roasted chicken from the adult buffet better than the kids. She did eat some vegies off the kids buffet.


      Dessert was great, loads of choices & soft serve ice cream. Also had a chocolate fountain that a CM was dipping fresh fruit.


      Now the characters - Jake, Oso, Handy Manny & June. They were all great, took their time, did not feel rushed. DD was dressed like Izzy & got so much attention from Jake - it made her feel special. I also like the dances that the kids get to join in doing. Makes it a fun place.


      We will eat here again on our next trip. We are patiently awaiting Sofia's arrival & hoping maybe Doc will join as well.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      momof3inMadisonAL

      Registered: December 2009
      Location: Niceville, FL
      Posts: 80
      Review Date: Fri July 5, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): characters
      Cons: food

       
      We tried this character lunch 2 years ago when my kids still appreciated most of the Disney Junior characters. Not so much anymore that they are 7, 8, 9 (and a baby that hates every character). BUT when I booked it 6 months ago, I was really hoping that Sophia would be there. Obviously, she is not yet.


      Anyway, we were in HS for 3 full days of SWW and there are only 5 TS in HS so we decided to eat here anyway. Remembered not liking the food in 2011, and really still didn't like it. Unfortunately, it looks like we will have to try it again in the fall when Sophia is scheduled to appear.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      brittos

      Registered: July 2013
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Fri July 5, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): characters, quick service,
      Cons:

       
      Ate here on 6/11. Characters were very interactive with the kiddos. At at 8:00 a.m. dining reservation. Service was great and quick. Asked for our ticket quick shortly after we sat down, so we could quickly pay to go get in line for Jedi Training Academy. Waiteress assured us she would get all characters over for us to meet before we left. Loved all the food offered on the buffet. It was fresh. One of our favorite character dinings and one many often forget about.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dvcmember1983

      Registered: November 2011
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Wed June 12, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): characters, waiter, food
      Cons:

       
      This character meal has improved drastically since we have last eaten here. The characters were fun and attentive. Our waiter was the nicest and most attentive that we had our entire trip. He really went above and beyond. The corn bread pudding is to die for. I have to find a recipe for it. I went for seconds and thirds!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wendybarrie

      Registered: May 2013
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Wed May 22, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): So much more!
      Cons:

       
      I am very pleased to write a review for this restaurant. Not only did we see Handy Manny, Agent OSO, Jake and June at our table but there were multiple opportunities for dance parties during our stay. We did strive to enhance our interactions by bringing pirate patches, rockets, a tool kit etc. but the dancing in addition to the photo op is fabulous. My daughter was VERY pleased that June was there from the Einsteins, judging on the signage I would have to assume she will be replaced by Dr McStuffins or Sofia in the near future. As a side note, I didn't pay to much attention to the food, I remember I ate lunch and had no complaints
      Click here to see this users profile  
      santino

      Registered: December 2010
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Wed May 1, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): great place
      Cons:

       
      We eat here every trip and this year we actually went 3 times twice for breakfast and once for lunch. We were late for our reservations that is how we ended up going for lunch and I was a little nervous because I have heard bad reviews about their lunch but my family and I felt the lunch was very good they had a chocolate fountain with marshmallows and strawberries everyone loved it also their was some kind of breaded chicken that was very good also. I would highly recommened this restarant for the fun atmosphere and good food
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.