Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • DisneyFamily

      Registered: October 2009
      Location: CT
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Mon June 20, 2016 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Characters for little ones
      Cons: food was incredibly salty, no longer worth the price

       
      This used to be one of our favorites, but I have to report that due to our most recent visit in April, we will select a different character meal until the menu changes. We used to love the food here and the kids loved the character interaction. The food was literally so salty, that I could not eat it. We had been here in December and food was great. When I asked the CM if something had changed since then, she was a bit snippy. We'll stick with 50's Prime Time when in Hollywood Studios now.


      P.S. The increase in price at this location for "dinner" at lunch time put me over the edge on this one.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bosslady79

      Registered: September 2012
      Location: Wisconsin
      Posts: 60
      Review Date: Fri March 11, 2016 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good selection on buffet
      Cons: Poor dessert choices for Gluten allergies

       
      The chef came out and walked the buffet. We were in the first seating of lunch, so everything was fresh/ The only choice for dessert was a GF brownie. The brownies were good, but only option.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mishawnam

      Registered: September 2010
      Location: Dansville, NY
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Thu February 18, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, atmosphere, service
      Cons: Singers

       
      This was our second time dining here for lunch. My 4 year old loved it here on our last visit the year before that she asked to dine here again. After checking in we only waited about 5 minutes before being seated. The food was just as good as we remembered. Nice salad and fruit selection. The buffet has a nice variety. I personally loved the bbq meatballs and corn casserole. Everything we tried was delicious. You can't beat the dessert buffet. Loved watching the chocolate fountain. The chocolate covered strawberries are amazing. Tip: my little is a big fruit eater, you can ask for any of the fruit at the dessert station. We had a plate of apples and strawberries.


      The characters were great and my daughter loved the singing and dancing. However the singer, Anthony, was less than enthusiastic. He didn't really dance and he kept forgetting the words. Compared to our last visit we were underwhelmed. My daughter still had a great time.


      Our server, Patrick, was amazing. We never had to ask for refills and we never had dirty plates on our table. He made the meal even more enjoyable. Overall the staff here was fantastic. Everyone was very friendly and helpful.


      If your child/children are into DISNEY Junior then they will love it. It is great too if they love to sing and dance. My daughter just loved dancing with Doc and Jake. We enjoyed our meal here and will be back in the future.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      OTEYS

      Registered: January 2006
      Location: Vinton, VA
      Posts: 20
      Review Date: Tue October 27, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere, Food Selection
      Cons:

       
      My daughter is 8 years old and still loves the Disney Jr. characters although she is "aging out" of those shows. We had breakfast here on the first day of our trip, 10/17 and it was wonderful. The buffet selections were delicious and the character interactions were timed perfectly and they each spent an adequate time at each table. We especially enjoyed meeting Doc McStuffins for the first time. Our party of 6 enjoyed our meal and made some memories.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mommom

      Registered: January 2008
      Location: Refton PA
      Posts: 48
      Review Date: Fri October 9, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): kid friendly
      Cons:

       
      great selection of food and my great granddaughter loved the characters. we were a party of 11 and they seated us at 3 tables but next to one another. it was easy getting out of our seats to get our food.


      Had to wait a while for our tables and it was pouring outside. waitress was good and took our dishes in a timely manner. a yes for a family with small children
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sandc

      Registered: October 2006
      Posts: 66
      Review Date: Fri September 18, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      We have dined at Hollywood & Vine before but it has been quite a few years until we finally decided to go back. I've read some bad reviews for here, but I must say this is our new favorite breakfast buffet. My son who is extremely picky found so many different foods here that he loved. I don't think I have ever seen him eat so much. This is a must do for our next trip. The characters were great as well. The kids are not into Disney Junior anymore as they are 8 and 12 years old but still had a lot of fun with them.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      miket75

      Registered: September 2015
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed September 9, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Characters came around a lot!
      Cons: Bathrooms need better cleaning/renvoation

       
      Had a 9am breakfast on August 27th and this was the highlight of our week-long trip. Our son LOOOOOOVES Jake! He dressed as Captain Jake for the character breakfast and the real Jake spent lots of one-on-one time with him, dancing around the restaurant hand-in-hand! Honestly, I hesitate to add that the characters came around so often that we barely had time to eat as a con because that's really what you want to happen at a character breakfast like this. Comparatively, at the Crystal Palace, the characters came around twice each. At the Disney Junior Character Breakfast, we saw them each three times - at least! - and they did dancing for the kids to come up and interact with the characters. I cannot say enough good things about this character breakfast, but wish the venue's bathrooms were taken better care of. (I'm told its because it shares bathrooms with 50's Prime Time, the bathrooms are small, and the nearest alternative bathrooms are very far away.)
      Click here to see this users profile  
      KarissaB1

      Registered: December 2012
      Location: United States
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Sun November 30, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food was excellent
      Cons: None

       
      This was our first time trying breakfast at Hollywood and Vine and it will be a must do on our next trip. We went in only with the expectations of meeting the characters and having breakfast, but the food was outstanding. Everyone should be able to find something at this buffet to eat. I did not have one item that was not excellent. The deep fried cinnamon french toast with chocolate sauce was to die for. I know it was super bad for you, but it tasted wonderful. Similar to a funnel cake with chocolate sauce. Everything we tried was tasty. I would recommend this breakfast to anyone.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      njdc5

      Registered: June 2011
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Tue October 28, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Character time, the food
      Cons: The noise

       
      We always make it to this restaurant on our trips with the kids, for both the character interaction, as well as the food. The characters are a lot of fun, they take the time to come to each table, and even have a few dance sessions during the meal. The food is always above-average for a Disney buffet, with their short ribs being very good. The salmon was good, and their choices for salads and desserts is also large.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jluck

      Registered: October 2014
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sat October 4, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): the characters
      Cons: a bit crowded

       
      Went here for the character breakfast end of September 2014. Got an 8 am reservation so we could have a chance to sign up for Jedi Academy. You check in at the gate and wait in line until they lead you (and everyone else in that line) through the park to the restaurant, then you again wait in a long line to check in again.
      The food was good, maybe not quite as good as Crystal Palace. The server made sure we knew the route the characters take so we could be sure they weren't on the way before we went up to the buffet.
      The line was a bit chaotic.
      Cast members start singing and dancing in the restaurant at various times through your meal and this clogs the way to the buffet... You are trying to make it through the line before a character comes and you have to wade through singing cast members and toddlers to get there.
      Not my favorite character meal, but the kids got to see Jake and pals, so it was worth it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      LLSS

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Tue September 30, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food, characters
      Cons: Complete Chaos

       
      Let me start with the food, which was delicious. The lobster mac and cheese was great. Also, there were lots of chances to interact with the characters which was great.


      However, this also lead to a lot of chaos. First, reservations don't exactly get you in on time. We had 11:10 reservations, and were seated probably around 11:40. It feels like the restaurant was a bit to big for just the two lines. When my wife went for food while I sat with the little one, she missed Jake coming to the table (lines for food were around 5 minutes plus). When I went, I missed Sophia (which is the little ones favorite), as well as Handy Manny. There were people running around everywhere as well. We actually didn't even get to see Doc as we had the Frozen show to get to at 12:30 and since it took so long to get seated, we had to bolt. Overall it's great for the little ones, but make sure you block a good amount of time for it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cjane65

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Sun September 21, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): characters, food,
      Cons: service

       
      We had an early lunch here Sept 15. A res of 11:15am got us seated right away. For the first 15 minutes, to my husbands delight, breakfast was still out on half the buffet. The lunch options were varied and yummy. Everything was fresh and well prepared. Only the lobster mac and cheese let us down, only I think, because it was just out and was not as thick and creamy as sitting would have done. The characters were great circulating around and around. Only Sophia was elusive, passing us on the left and right and again! DGD and DGS were both pleased tho. We would do it again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      PrincessDaisyDuck

      Registered: August 2014
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Wed August 27, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Characters, Food
      Cons: Noise, Service

       
      We ate lunch as a party of 7 on August 19th. Our reservation time was 12:15 so the restaurant was packed. It was a little overwhelming because it was so loud and crowded. There was a line for the ladies' room that stretched down the hallway.


      The characters were great, we met Doc McStuffins, Jake, Handy Manny and Sofia. We were really happy to see Manny as he is DS's favorite. We liked how the server explained the character rotation so we knew when to expect the characters. They were also well spaced out. The dance parties with the kids were great too.


      The food was really good and it had a great variety. There were also good dessert options. Everything was fresh and tasty.


      Our server sat us, brought us drinks and never came back, never refilled our drinks or took away plates. We were long done and looking for her when she finally came with the bill. It was probably an hour between when she dropped our drinks off and when she reappeared, we never saw her in between. She then went on and on about the tip - since we were a party over 6 there is a mandatory tip of 18%. I think this is unfair for a buffet, especially with poor service, but we knew that going in and had the cash ready. She kept asking us how we were going to pay it, we told her we had cash and she kept asking if it was cash for the whole table or were my parents paying separately - she just kept asking if we were sure the tip was being paid, it was really uncomfortable.


      When we left it was about 2:00 and it was really quiet, so I think in the future a slower time of day would be less chaotic.


      I would recommend this place because the food and characters were good.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mzznlink

      Registered: August 2006
      Location: Central Virginia
      Posts: 46
      Review Date: Sun July 27, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Selection
      Cons:

       
      The only reason we tried Hollywood & Vine for breakfast is because we were there with our 1 year old granddaughter who loves Disney Junior.


      She had fun dancing with the characters and bouncing and waving her hands during the songs.


      Crystal Palace used to be our favorite breakfast, but Hollywood & Vine may just beat it out with its selection. I think the chocolate sauce was the clincher.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      StacyLovesDisney

      Registered: September 2012
      Location: Virginia
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Sat July 19, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food--dancing with characters
      Cons: wait!! lack of character interaction

       
      This is a favorite of my two kids, girl 8, boy 5 and me too!
      We love the character dancing and singing. My kids love the Mickey Waffles and Tater Tots.


      This year, perhaps due to the new characters, the wait time was massive. We arrived in time for our ADR. We had to wait on the front porch to be called. We were taken to our seats where it took another 10-15 minutes to be greeted by our waitress. (My kids were really starving by now) Chef came out to take care of my son's food allergies---stellar job, Chef. Waitress was unfriendly (the first time I have ever had this experience at Disney and I've been going for years) and I actually had to yell out to her," May I please have more tea." as she went sailing by. No stopping at our table to ask if everything was ok. The characters took long to come around. (The last time we ate at H&V we saw each character 3 times during the hour we were there.) Finally, the moment my daughter was waiting for--Doc was coming to the table. My 8 year old daughter was wearing a Doc outfit, I had put her short hair in Doc pigtails, had the Doc headband, she was wearing a Doc bracelet, and had her talking Doc doll with her. I'll have to say this was disappointing.....Doc came stood for a photo and left. No pointing at my daughter's outfit or a hug for the baby doll. No clapping for the outfit and knowing that Doc is a favorite. (We've had this happen with Handy Manny for my son, Donald when he saw my daughter's Donald Duck dress, etc.) In fact, Doc started walking away before my son could get a photo in with her. I had to ask her to wait. (We do not do autographs, so we're quickies as it is with the photos.) We were ready to leave after being in there for an hour and 15 minutes. We kept waiting to see Sophia. We were actually giving up and walking out-- because we had a fast pass--when she finally arrived. We got our photo, but we were frustrated with the money we spent on this event. We will try it again to see if this was just a one-time occurrence.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.