Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Home » WATER PARKS at WDW

    tylag10a1.jpg


    tylag10a1.jpg
    supersize

    tylag10a6.jpg
    supersize

    tylag10a7.jpg
    supersize

    tylag10a20.jpg
    supersize

    tylag10a27.jpg
    supersize

    tylag10a28.jpg
    supersize




    • Pin It


    • Typhoon Lagoon

      • Reviews Views
        26 76062
      • Recommended By Average Rating
        96% of reviewers 8.8
      • Description: Typhoon Lagoon (TL) is Disney's untypical version of a typical water park themed in a tropical island setting. The park contains all of the types of activities you would expect to find at a water park--slides, pools, a slow river--plus others you will find nowhere else, including a surf pool and a saltwater artificial coral reef pool chock full of tropical fish that you can snorkel through.


        http://allears.net/btp/faq_tl.htm


  • Author
    • bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 220
      Review Date: Fri August 22, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Less crowded in late afternoon, great theming
      Cons:

       
      I visited Typhoon Lagoon twice on my most recent trip. On 8/13, I arrived around 2pm. My first stop was to get some lunch. The park was very crowded at this time. I was able to find a chair under a shelter in the back of park by Shark Reef. The lines for everything were very long, and all I did were the wave pool and the lazy river. Castaway Creek was uncomfortably crowded, wall to wall people. I did get some nice Photopass pictures and was able to meet Stitch before I left around 4pm.


      My next visit was on 8/17. I had good luck visiting Blizzard Beach later in the day, so I tried the same with TL. I arrived around 3pm and left around 5 (the park closed at 6). In that time I was able to accomplish Shark Reef, the single rider slide on Crush n Gusher, Keelhaul and Mayday Falls, one of the Storm Slides, the wave pool, and the lazy river.


      I enjoy TL quite a lot, but my recommendation would be to get there first thing in the morning or in the last three hours before closing.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sstotts

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sat May 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean, great theme, fun rides
      Cons: Not open long enough

       
      My family of 6 adults went to Typhoon Lagoon on our arrival day (May 11, 2014). The crowds were slightly high but we didn't wait in line for more than 30 minutes for any ride. Because we were not able to get to the park at opening, we pre-reserved the lounge chairs in the private seating area. I thought the guarantee of having a place to sit was worth the $50 it cost to rent 2 lounge chairs and the area we were placed in was quiet and convenient to the lazy river and food options. I thought the entire park was pretty clean and my family had a blast. We only wished we could have stayed longer but the park closed at 5 p.m.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      roneeh

      Registered: September 2010
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Mon March 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): wave pool is amazing
      Cons: concrete rough in lazy river

       
      We visited Typhoon Lagoon on March 18 when the high temp for the day was only in the 70's but the water is heated so it didn't bother us. It felt like we almost had the park to ourselves! The wave pool is huge and a lot of fun for our 14 year old daughter and 10 year old son. The staff at Typhoon lagoon was very friendly and told us that the water parks can vary in attendance but it is generally low when the high temp is below 80 or the morning is cool. We definitely recommend visiting the water parks at Disney as these are a couple of our sons favorite places to visit.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      JerseyShoregirl13

      Registered: November 2012
      Location: NJ
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Fri January 10, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wave pool
      Cons: water rides are spread out and not easily accessible

       
      The wave pool is fun, but you do have to make your way out far to really enjoy it.
      The water rides are spread out, unlike Blizzard Beach which are all close to each other as you enter park. Plus BB has mini golf course if you want a break from the water park.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Mich97

      Registered: January 2011
      Location: Boston, MA
      Posts: 54
      Review Date: Thu August 29, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wave pool
      Cons: Lounge chairs

       
      The wave pool is awesome but can be dangerous if your not careful. They are powerful enough to wipe you off your feet. The waterslides are great too, just wish there were more of them and that they were a bit longer. Lounge chairs can be hard to find if your not there first thing in the morning.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jdalby

      Registered: July 2013
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue July 16, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wave Pool, Cabana Service
      Cons: NO TIPPING

       
      OK first and foremost, I have to say that I had a great time the day I went here. We had a private cabana and don't think I would have liked it otherwise. It really is worth it. The refillable mugs, the towels, the food and drinks brought right to us, the cooler of water, the covered area with chairs and the locker right there.


      I didn't like that we were NOT allowed to give our attendant, Nancy, a tip. I was so annoyed that I complained to her manager. I mean the Magical Express guy had a tip me sign, the bell hop you can tip, the housekeepers, the good and bad waitresses, etc. BUT the one person who waited on me hand and foot I couldn't tip.... Step up your game TL.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cop447

      Registered: December 2006
      Location: Spartanburg, SC
      Posts: 30
      Review Date: Sat June 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wave Pool
      Cons: Not enough water slides

       
      I just got back from a week of Walt Disney World and took in both water parks on property. My favorite thing about this park is the wave pool. With 6 foot waves every 90 seconds me and my boys ages 11 and 14 had a blast. All of us also enjoyed the swimming with the sharks experience and did this three times. The sharks and fish are in salt water that is kept at 68 degrees so it is cool!


      The only con we had is we wish the park was a little bigger with more waterslide attractions offered. This park is great for younger guests and I think they would like it better then Blizzard Beach.


      Overall we opened and closed with the park and had a very good time. When asked the tween and teen boys did prefer the faster passed Blizzard Beach.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      beck9497

      Registered: April 2007
      Location: Calhoun, GA
      Posts: 26
      Review Date: Mon June 3, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wave Pool
      Cons: Nothing

       
      Love the wave pool it is so much fun. Went twice on my week long trip 05/26/13 - 05/31/13.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      JerseyShoregirl13

      Registered: November 2012
      Location: NJ
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Sun November 25, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wave pool, music in background, ambience
      Cons: less variety of water slides, wave pool can be dangerous if crowded.

       
      The wave pool is very cool. But be careful, can be dangerous if too many people in one area, especially if near where wave breaks. Everyone will likely tumble on top of each other. But the wave pool is fun. Planning to go back 2013 and try out the new water roller coaster. My niece also wants to take surf lesson so we will get there early enough to get a primo lounge spot. Cannot wait.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jesster64

      Registered: November 2006
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Tue October 2, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Huge water park
      Cons: price

       
      My wife and I went Sept 29 to relax before 10 mile marathon. First time I was ever there. The park is huge. We spent most of our time on the lazy river. It was about 88 degrees out and not crowded at all. We loved the wave pool. We didn't go on any rides, just felt like relaxing. I would absolutely go again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      caramonty31

      Registered: September 2012
      Location: GA
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Wed September 26, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Crush-N-Gusher, Wave Pool
      Cons: None

       
      Enjoyed our last trip to Typhoon Lagoon, I went when I was 14 and hadn't been for 10 years, but it was just as much fun with the DH along for the trip! We got there shortly after opening and found a shady spot to lounge to the left of the big wave pool. We immediately rode the raft slides with very little wait. Then we hopped into the lazy river and floated around to the Crush-N-Gusher. I have to say that slide was my favorite by far. We rode the 3 slides 8 times in a row with little or no wait each time! By this time it was about 11:00 and the lines were forming. We rode one of the storm slides and then headed to the Leaning Palms for lunch. Then we lazed around in the lazy river and finally hit the wave pool for some body surfing. We left at about 2:00 when crowds were at their peak. We used the shower facilities (brought shampoo from the hotel) so we would be clean for our flight. It was quite nice and I felt quite refreshed following a long day in the sun.


      Overall had a great time, I would say to bring your own towels as the ones you rent for $2 each are quite small.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nkey719

      Registered: June 2009
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Sat August 18, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): EVERYTHING
      Cons: NONE

       
      Been a Disney freak for years but stayed away from TL because I HATE water parks. Well, NO MORE! This place and BB are absolutely FANTASTIC. So incredibly clean! Plenty of chairs (as long as you get there early)! The shark swim was amazing for me and my 8 year old! Disney allows full size coolers so bring your lunch and save a few bucks! Disney even sprays the sidewalks to keep your feet cool but our family found that water shoes were a must!
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      hello12345

      Registered: June 2010
      Posts: 70
      Review Date: Sun August 5, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      Visited on Tuesday July 31. Park opened at 9am and gates were opened at 8:30 so you could rent chairs and lockers. Rope dropped at 9am, but the park was not busy first thing. We rented 2 chairs and an umbrella in a private area. The rental cost $53 and came with a towel for everyone in our party (up to 4 people). You can reserve these spaces by calling ahead, but you should have no problem getting one if you get to the park early. We were a family of 4 and we purchased 2 refillable drink mugs for $10.75 each. The chairs and umbrella were worth the price to be away from the common seating areas along the wave pool which reminded me of a refugee camp. However, I would not pay $325 for a private cabana. Just not worth the money.


      We went on Keelhaul Falls, Mayday Falls, Gangplank Falls, Humunga Kowabunga, and Storm Slides with no wait. By the time we got to Crush n' Gusher at 9:45-10:00 we had to wait about 15-20 minutes. All of the slides require long uphill walks to get to the top. The surf/wave pool always appeared to be busy. The wave was big and hit with a lot of force. Small kids should not venture out too far. By 11am the lazy river was crowded and by 12-1pm it was hard to get a tube.


      We decided to have lunch late to avoid crowds. Had lunch at 1:30 with no line. At about 4pm I noticed the crowds started to thin and by 5pm the slides were wide open again with no wait. We went back around and rode every slide again with no wait. Still had to wait about 20 min for Crush n' Gusher and that was about 6pm. Park closed at 8pm.


      We found it is not busy even during peak periods during the first 2 hours and last 2 hours the park is open. The chair/umbrella area is worth the $53. The refill drink mugs depend on how big of a soda drinker you are.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Digrins

      Registered: May 2009
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Sun June 24, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): fun for everyone!
      Cons: scraped knees!

       
      I will be the first to admit that going to a water park was NOT on my to-do list, but it was my DD11's only request, so I added it to our itinerary. My family of 3 had a BLAST! We are not thrill seekers, but enjoyed the wave pool, snorkling, a few of the slides, the lazy river, and the family raft ride, which was fun but way too short!! Be prepared to hold onto little ones in the wave pool and as others have said, the bottom is very rough/sharp and it seemed that many folks left that day with scraped knees/elbows! I thought that I would be out of my comfort zone, but after a few minutes I was loving it! It definitely made the to-do list for our next trip!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      casino_bandit

      Registered: September 2010
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Mon June 11, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Shark Reef
      Cons: Rough floor on wave pool can cause minor scrape injury

       
      We visited here in late May. This is a great park, with some thrill slides, and many less thrilling attractions that are in the middle of the thrill scale. One of our favorites was Shark Reef, where you get to snorkel with the fish in a salt water tank. Definitely suggested, and there are life jackets for those who are not strong swimmers (10' deep). Crush'n Gusher was a great attraction, where jets actually push you up in some areas. was a neat slide. We arrived at opening, and worked our way around the park, riding everything at least once by noon. By noon, the lines get much longer, so would definitely suggest getting to the park at opening and riding your favorites in the morning, then rest on the lazy river later in the day. The wave pool is nothing like we have ever experienced. It shoots out waves several feet high. The fun thing to do for us was to swim out as far as we could, and swim with the waves, trying to ride them as far as we can.


      ***WAVE POOL TIP*** The waves are strong, and can knock you down, even in the shallow areas. The floor is roughed up, and if you are knocked down, can cause some bad scrapes. If you feel yourself falling in the shallow area, try to fall on your behind to keep from scrapes.


      We plan on returning in the future, perhaps as a "Rest day" activity.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.