Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Home » WATER PARKS at WDW








    • Pin It

    • Typhoon Lagoon

      • Reviews Views
        11 82704
      • Recommended By Average Rating
        82% of reviewers 8.1
      • Description: Typhoon Lagoon (TL) is Disney's untypical version of a typical water park themed in a tropical island setting. The park contains all of the types of activities you would expect to find at a water park--slides, pools, a slow river--plus others you will find nowhere else, including a surf pool and a saltwater artificial coral reef pool chock full of tropical fish that you can snorkel through.


  • Author
    • hlmclem722

      Registered: September 2016
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun September 11, 2016 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Visited 8/22/2016
      Cons: Bees, Wave Pool, Family Restrooms

      TL, was a one and done for us! (Blizzard, however, gets a 10) First, typhoon has a huge bee problem at/near all food areas. All drink areas were out of ice. Eating was stressful. My kids were so scared of the bees it really took from the enjoyment of our day. Read about the wave pool before we went. My kids 15, 14 and 6 knew it had a rough surface and needed to be careful. The first wave, 14 year old got knocked over flat and I had to watch her get tossed to shore. She looked liked she was in a cat fight, all scratched up. Wasn't even that far out in the pool. Someone lost their shorts. I felt so bad for them. Needed family bathroom for my son(6) never found it. Slides were just ok. If deciding between Typhoon and Blizzard Beach, choose Blizzard!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: June 2011
      Location: NC
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Thu September 3, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Crush and Gusher
      Cons: Wait times

      Disney's Typhoon Lagoon is a must stop if you've never done the waterparks. Our family had one of our favorite days of our trip at TL...and we highly recommend. There are plenty of chairs available, you just have to keep looking. They have tucked chairs throughout the park and we were able to grab some lovely chairs on the "beach". My kids absolutely LOVED the wave pool. Now, we have a beach house, but with all of the shark attacks this summer they couldn't just enjoy the waves like in summers past, so they were thrilled to be able to play in the waves. Crush and Gusher is a super fun time! We went three times so we could do all 3 runs. The line moves way faster than you think it will. The family raft ride is also a lot of fun! My complaint is that the wait times are manually updated, so they are always wrong. I know we're trying to stay rustic...but waiting 40 minutes for a simple body waterslide in a line that said 15 minutes is simply a little annoying, we would have made other choices.
      The music is lively, and the lifeguards are absolutely amazing, and always on high alert. You really feel like you're on a Caribbean island while you're there.
      The downside is really the food. Terrible food options at this park. We wished we had taken our own food in a cooler. Snacks were good though!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Tue September 1, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): well set up, wave pool
      Cons: none

      Awesome water park with an awesome wave pool. You can literally be "carried away" by the waves.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 258
      Review Date: Fri August 22, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Less crowded in late afternoon, great theming

      I visited Typhoon Lagoon twice on my most recent trip. On 8/13, I arrived around 2pm. My first stop was to get some lunch. The park was very crowded at this time. I was able to find a chair under a shelter in the back of park by Shark Reef. The lines for everything were very long, and all I did were the wave pool and the lazy river. Castaway Creek was uncomfortably crowded, wall to wall people. I did get some nice Photopass pictures and was able to meet Stitch before I left around 4pm.

      My next visit was on 8/17. I had good luck visiting Blizzard Beach later in the day, so I tried the same with TL. I arrived around 3pm and left around 5 (the park closed at 6). In that time I was able to accomplish Shark Reef, the single rider slide on Crush n Gusher, Keelhaul and Mayday Falls, one of the Storm Slides, the wave pool, and the lazy river.

      I enjoy TL quite a lot, but my recommendation would be to get there first thing in the morning or in the last three hours before closing.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sat May 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean, great theme, fun rides
      Cons: Not open long enough

      My family of 6 adults went to Typhoon Lagoon on our arrival day (May 11, 2014). The crowds were slightly high but we didn't wait in line for more than 30 minutes for any ride. Because we were not able to get to the park at opening, we pre-reserved the lounge chairs in the private seating area. I thought the guarantee of having a place to sit was worth the $50 it cost to rent 2 lounge chairs and the area we were placed in was quiet and convenient to the lazy river and food options. I thought the entire park was pretty clean and my family had a blast. We only wished we could have stayed longer but the park closed at 5 p.m.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: September 2010
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Mon March 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): wave pool is amazing
      Cons: concrete rough in lazy river

      We visited Typhoon Lagoon on March 18 when the high temp for the day was only in the 70's but the water is heated so it didn't bother us. It felt like we almost had the park to ourselves! The wave pool is huge and a lot of fun for our 14 year old daughter and 10 year old son. The staff at Typhoon lagoon was very friendly and told us that the water parks can vary in attendance but it is generally low when the high temp is below 80 or the morning is cool. We definitely recommend visiting the water parks at Disney as these are a couple of our sons favorite places to visit.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: November 2012
      Location: NJ
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Fri January 10, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wave pool
      Cons: water rides are spread out and not easily accessible

      The wave pool is fun, but you do have to make your way out far to really enjoy it.
      The water rides are spread out, unlike Blizzard Beach which are all close to each other as you enter park. Plus BB has mini golf course if you want a break from the water park.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2011
      Location: Boston, MA
      Posts: 54
      Review Date: Thu August 29, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wave pool
      Cons: Lounge chairs

      The wave pool is awesome but can be dangerous if your not careful. They are powerful enough to wipe you off your feet. The waterslides are great too, just wish there were more of them and that they were a bit longer. Lounge chairs can be hard to find if your not there first thing in the morning.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: July 2013
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue July 16, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wave Pool, Cabana Service
      Cons: NO TIPPING

      OK first and foremost, I have to say that I had a great time the day I went here. We had a private cabana and don't think I would have liked it otherwise. It really is worth it. The refillable mugs, the towels, the food and drinks brought right to us, the cooler of water, the covered area with chairs and the locker right there.

      I didn't like that we were NOT allowed to give our attendant, Nancy, a tip. I was so annoyed that I complained to her manager. I mean the Magical Express guy had a tip me sign, the bell hop you can tip, the housekeepers, the good and bad waitresses, etc. BUT the one person who waited on me hand and foot I couldn't tip.... Step up your game TL.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: December 2006
      Location: Spartanburg, SC
      Posts: 30
      Review Date: Sat June 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wave Pool
      Cons: Not enough water slides

      I just got back from a week of Walt Disney World and took in both water parks on property. My favorite thing about this park is the wave pool. With 6 foot waves every 90 seconds me and my boys ages 11 and 14 had a blast. All of us also enjoyed the swimming with the sharks experience and did this three times. The sharks and fish are in salt water that is kept at 68 degrees so it is cool!

      The only con we had is we wish the park was a little bigger with more waterslide attractions offered. This park is great for younger guests and I think they would like it better then Blizzard Beach.

      Overall we opened and closed with the park and had a very good time. When asked the tween and teen boys did prefer the faster passed Blizzard Beach.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: April 2007
      Location: Calhoun, GA
      Posts: 26
      Review Date: Mon June 3, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wave Pool
      Cons: Nothing

      Love the wave pool it is so much fun. Went twice on my week long trip 05/26/13 - 05/31/13.
      Click here to see this users profile  

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.