Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • Tinkerbelllove23

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Mon April 7, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Theming, on course entertainment, pre and post race
      Cons: Tinkerbell half marathon being moved to mothers day weekend

       
      I ran my first RunDisney event last February which was the Princess Half marathon, also my first half marathon. It was an absolutley unbeleivable experiance! Even with waking up at 2:15am on race day to get ready, it was worth every second! My boyfriend and I drove to the start rather than taking transportation, it was a piece of cake to get in, I was quite suprised. When we got there we met up with my mom who was also running, I said goodbye to my boyfriend and off we went! It took about 15 minutes to walk to the start line, but it went by quick. My mom and I started in corral B, we watched the first set of fireworks go off and Corral A started, we then had a 5 minute wait before we started, when the fireworks went off we started our 13.1 mile run through magic kingdom and epcot. There were so many characters, a high school band, a ferrari by the speedway to keep us distracted the whole race, I made sure I had my headphones and Ipod with me but never ended up using them because of all of the distractions. I would have to say the most magical part of the race was running through Cinderellas castle and down mainstreet USA with people lined up on both sides, it was unreal! Right before crossing the finish line I saw my boyfriend standing there with a rose waiting for me. I would absolutley reccomend a RunDisney race to anyone! I have since completed 2 more half marathons, both being RunDisney. I got my coast to coast for 2014 with the Tinkerbell and Princess Half marathons this year as well as the Glass Slipper Challenge. All events have been outstanding!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wendybarrie

      Registered: May 2013
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Wed May 22, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fun and good for you
      Cons: to long for beginners

       
      I did the Expedition Everest Challenge as a solo participant while my friend and husband were entered as a team. Despite registering at different times we were all assigned the same gate. My husband and I are not fitness gurus however we did do exercise in preparation for the 5k, which ended up being a 4.8mile run for us rather then 3.1. Let me explain, the 5k portion which included leaping over hay bails, strattling through tires and crawling under a cargo net was 3.1 miles, however it is followed by a scavenger hunt and since we din't receive a lot of info on how the timing would occur we felt pressured to run and complete that portion quickly as well and that was almost an additional 2.0 miles. The event was fun, and we were glad we did it, however to do it again we would have accepted out 5k run time and just paced ourselves through the scavenger hunt. The after party was a dud for us, while we did ride Dinosaur with no wait the booze selections for purchase were only Bud products and a premixed margarita, in hind sight we could have gotten back to the lodge and had a better time at the hotel bar. As a side note, transportation form the Lodge was a train wreck, we were told we had to be there at 9:15 for 10:00 start but the Mears drivers seemed to think they had until 10:00 to get everyone there. Good News some Managers and Cast Members stepped in and started using Disney trasportation to get the masses to the starting line.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mmfan

      Registered: February 2007
      Posts: 82
      Review Date: Fri April 5, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): great fun - well organized event
      Cons: crowds!

       
      My DD ran the Princess Half Marathon for the second year, and as was our previous experience, it was great fun! We stayed at a host hotel, which makes getting around so much easier. Yes, the expo was much more crowded and logistically more difficult to get to this year, but I guess we were lucky that we did not hit huge crowds in the early afternoon on Friday. We picked up our race bibs, T shirts and bags (we as parents did the 5K) and were out in about half an hour.


      I am amazed when I read that participants are put off by the crowds. If you do research, you realize this is a very busy event. This year was not the day to be trying for personal bests anyway, it was warm and humid. Many folks train to do walk/run to prevent injury, and saying no one should be allowed to walk is not only impossible, it can be dangerous. Participants should use better race etiquette for sure. Though the numbers are huge, I doubt Disney will back off on the number of entrants.


      This race is intended to be fun AND challenging, as the number of people in costumes demonstrates. Yes, as spectators we were shoved and cut in front of as we waited for her to run by, but that is what can happen in large crowds, we take it in stride and stand our ground. Being in the MK to see her run toward the castle is a truly neat experience.


      The bottom line is that you must start early to get where you are going, enjoy the day and be proud of the work you have accomplished to be able to run the race, and bask in the wonderful WDW experience. We found ourselves laughing often, and making friends along the way as we stood for what seemed forever to see her pass. Patience is important.


      The parks were not overly crowded for us, but we are seasoned WDW veterans and so know how to plan. She loved wearing her medal in the parks afterward, and congratulating fellow runners.


      My DD is taking a break from running, but I would go with her again in a heart beat if she runs this race again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      candycakes

      Registered: December 2009
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Thu March 14, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Finishing a half marathon!
      Cons: TOO CROWDED!!

       
      I love the idea of the princess half marathon. I started running a year ago, turned 40 this year, & wanted to celebrate with this race. From the beginning, it was an enormous headache. Rundisney advertises discounted packages. However, when I tried to book thought them, it was $1000 then booking on line myself. They didn't seem to care. They told me to book on my own then. We go to WDW at least once a year, so I knew what I was doing.
      Once we got to WDW, all was good. Then the expo. Poorly operated, over crowded, no on directing you which giant line to wait in.
      The parks were also overly crowded. We didn't get to a lot of rides, & only rode some once. Very disappointed.
      The race itself was frustrating. I had trained hard for 6 months. I can run 10 min miles for the whole distance. However, there was no room to run. Too many people walk/run, and have poor race etiquette. Walking should not be allowed, period. I only ran 12 minute miles. Every photo op people literally jumped in front of me. Ever pic is ruined by some moron in a costume.
      I would like to try again, but only in coral a or b. and next time I wouldn't be as nice if people jumped in front of me at photo ops;)
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tjm6515

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: Jax, FL
      Posts: 41
      Review Date: Sat March 2, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Finisher Medals, Race Transportation
      Cons: Oversold, course to narrow, too many walkers

       
      This review is for the Princess Half Marathon weekend....


      First event was the Runners Expo, usually the Expos are held in two large facilities at the WWoS. This event was held at the Coronado Springs convention hall which was waaaaay to small!! The lines to pick up your race info, shirts, and merchandise were very chaotic, not near as smooth as the Wine in Dine expo last November. As comparison the PHM expo took us nearly 4 hours from the time we got there until we left, the W&D last year only took us an hour!


      Saturday Morning I did the Royal Family 5K. Thanks to proof of time, early registration, and prior runDisney runner I got in Corral A. I found myself at the very front of the corral almost right under the starting line. I had a good run, course was empty, Epcot was great to run through, this was a great race.


      Sunday Morning my wife ran the Princess Half, it was way oversold for the course size. Imagine 26,000 people on only a one lane wide course... My wife usually runs a 14:00/min a mile pace. Thanks to the mobs of walker, she manged only a 16:10 per pace, glad she was in an early corral or she may have been swept! She imagined running through the castle, but sadly it was not a run through the castle, but a large mob barley walking!


      We will never participate in a PHM weekend again unless they limit the number of runners or make the course wider! There are too many walkers as well and rookies/walkers with no race etiquette!
      Click here to see this users profile  

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.