Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • D1sneyg1rl

      Registered: September 2013
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Mon September 2, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Unique experience, fun for kids, meeting Peter Pan!
      Cons: Pre-party felt a little rushed

       
      Our family of 4 (including two boys, ages 2 and 5) did the Pirates and Pals Fireworks Voyage on 8/23/13. This was our first experience doing a special tour / cruise with Disney. We loved it!


      The boys were greeted by friendly staff who gave us pirate bandanas and offered to take our picture with several pirate statues!


      TIP: Arrive early...they have coloring and sticker stations set up outside the ballroom at the Contemporary. The kids can take part in these activities before the actual event begins.


      At the starting time, you are ushered into a ballroom where you can eat (all you want) from a selection of desserts, coffee, juice, and other snacks (popcorn, cotton candy, chocolate coins). You can enjoy treats before or after meeting Captain Hook and Mr. Smee. Both were friendly and posed for pics. This part was a little rushed for us....you only get about 30 mins in the ballroom total and the line is long to wait (depending on where you are -- we were toward the back). We waited to meet the characters first and then only had a few minutes to eat. Our little ones couldn't even finish a Mickey ice cream / popsicle in that time, let alone try anything else. We didn't feel like we were able to fully enjoy ourselves at this portion because we were rushed. Also there are no sit down tables....only chairs along the edges of the room. With a 2 and 5 year old, balancing their plates and drinks was a challenge. I think next time we would eat and let the line go down, then pop up to meet Captain Hook / Mr. Smee at the end. Still, we didn't let this overshadow our experience!


      Afterward, you get instructions from your pirate crew on how / where to board the fireworks cruise.


      The cruise itself is excellent. You are able to see the Electrical Water Pageant up close before the fireworks begin. The crew is very funny and they engage everyone on board in singing, jokes, dancing, and recognition of birthdays, anniversaries, etc.


      Our oldest is afraid of fireworks and loved watching them from a distance without hearing the big booms! It is great that they pipe in the music....very magical! It was a wonderful way to really enjoy how the fireworks are organized and displayed around the castle and with the music.


      When we left the ship, our boys were each given a sword.


      And the very end of the cruise, well, I won't spoil it but that is the most magical part of all!!!!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mawdryn

      Registered: August 2007
      Location: Oswego, Il
      Posts: 114
      Review Date: Tue July 9, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): EVERYTHING!
      Cons: NOTHING!

       
      My family of 6 took the Wishes Cruise for the second time on July 2nd. I cannot say enough about this experience. It was absolutely amazing!
      Chris, our captain was the best! He was friendly and told us a lot of interesting facts about different things on Disney property.
      Our boat was decorated with balloons and a "Happy Anniversary" banner. There were Coke products, bottled water and an assortment of crunchy snacks available to us. We were able to take anything that was leftover back to our resort.
      We were lucky enough to see the 4th of July fireworks, for they shot them off all week instead of the usual "Wishes." It was a 15 minute show that lit up the sky set to music about our country. Again, amazing!!!
      I know this is expensive, but let me assure you, worth every penny. It's a private cruise, and we all had tears in our eyes when it was over...
      Click here to see this users profile  
      shageek

      Registered: October 2012
      Location: kentucky
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Thu December 27, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great fun for the whole family!
      Cons: Price

       
      This is for the Pirates and Pals Cruise.


      We reserved this "cruise" on our first night at the resort. So glad we did. It was a great way to kick off our trip.


      The "before" party had nice little snacks and Captain hook and Mr Smee. They were fun. Everyone was very friendly!


      The pirate ship captains were a lot of fun and made everyone feel special and they included everyone! It is a great view of the Kingdom and the fireworks. They have the audio of the fireworks streamed into the boat so you can hear everything (except the big bangs of the fireworks which was good.


      I would recommend this to everyone especially if it is your first trip!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      melissa12

      Registered: April 2012
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Wed April 25, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): beautiful view of fireworks
      Cons: nothing

       
      We went on the Pirates and Pals cruise and had a great time. The dessert party was really fun-cake, coffee, music, picture taking and limbo - what more could you want. The view from the boat was great, our pirate host was funny played trivia with the kids, everyone got a prize. My advice after you dock is take a cab back to hotel-we did 15 bucks well spent after long day late night.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      slniven

      Registered: March 2012
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Sat March 17, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 0 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): fun
      Cons: a little corny, a little pricey, exit after

       
      Well, the experience is exactly what they describe on WDW's website. "Patch" the pirate entertains you on the boat ride out & back, which I found corny, but my kids loved it.


      The food before you board was laid out nice & nice selection of treats (including coffee). made me feel a little better about the price


      The fireworks were great from the boat.


      Here is my big problem - after you get off the boat & meet Peter Pan... then that's it... now you are left at the Contemporary & stuck to find a way "home" to your resort. Which for us meant a walk to Magic Kingdom, then an extremely long wait at the bus stop. we did not get back to our resort till 11:30!! Our two oldest children fell asleep, which was fun for me & my husband to juggle 2 big sleeping kids, one baby, a standard stroller, a double stroller & multiple bags & pirate swords Smile ha! Kids loved it though.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jilljaymc

      Registered: December 2011
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Mon December 12, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): private, informative, special, no crowds
      Cons: none

       
      We took the Wishes Cruise on Friday Dec 2, 2011. I hesitated booking this because of the time of year. I was worried about the weather and watching wishes from outside of the park. The weather was cool, but blankets were provided so that was a non-issue. Our cruise started at the wilderness lodge and headed to the Grand Floridian for a front row seat for the electrical water pageant. Then we moved in front of the Magic Kingdom. As for watching wishes out side of the park... OMG - the view was amazing. Even better than inside the park. You only see tinkerbell as a tiny light floating down but the rest of the show makes up for it. The music is loud and clear on the boat. The castle is very visible. I've seen wishes dozens of times and this cruise was beyond excellent. When watching on Main street you don't see the magnitude of the fireworks or how they are shot from all parts of the park. Our captain Sean was also amazing. Very knowledgeable and fun. We had 10 people on the boat ages 4 to 70 and each one says this was the highlight of their trip. We were very comfortable. Coke products and snacks were provided. We even got to keep the leftovers. I did book this as a birthday celebration but did not pay extra for the balloons and banner. I was very surprised and happy that boat showed up fully decorated. As with all things Disney the boat was super clean. I feel this cruise was worth every penny and I would do it again no questions asked. My only regret is I don't feel I tipped the captain enough. I didn't consider the tip before we boarded but as soon as Sean started talking I knew he deserved something. I ended up giving him 15% but feel he was worth so much more. He was awesome and after being at Disney around 25 times, he told us things we never knew. We all learned so much. Great for all ages. I was hesitant on booking this cruise because there is not a lot of information out there - Its not cheap and definitely a splurge but If you have the extra time and money to do this - I 100% recommend it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mroteksand

      Registered: December 2011
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Sat December 3, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Best way to see Wishes, pilot
      Cons: Noise from Pirate/Pal cruise

       
      Took Wishes cruise on 11/28 with my wife, mother, mother-in-law and three children (DD8, DD4, DS2). Weather was chilly and rainy - but guess you can't fault Disney for that. Was nice that cast members and pilot gave us option to cancel without penalty if we wanted. But we choose to go as apparently did 4 of the other 5 Wishes cruises that night.


      We were very glad we did it. Our pilot Christine was excellent and had lots of interesting facts and stories. She even had some entertaining conversations with DS2 Smile Snacks were standard (soda/water and various chips) but we had just had Trail's End buffet. So they were sufficient and we were able to take what we didn't eat/drink on the cruise. Blankets were provided. Canopy back by driver helped keep two grandma's dry.


      As we were getting positioned for the fireworks the Pirates/Pal cruise was a bit noisy - guess this should be expected from pirates. They were quiet/considerate during the fireworks though.


      View of Wishes was AMAZING and it was neat to have the music piped into our boat.


      At $300 plus tip, it was a bit expensive. We only had 7 and boat can fit 10. So at ~$35/person for ~2hrs of fun, I would recommend it. We plan to do it again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Willbegone

      Registered: August 2009
      Location: South Carolina
      Posts: 27
      Review Date: Tue November 15, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): View of fireworks and Electrical water pageant
      Cons: Cost

       
      The only reason I did not rate this a 10 is the cost. You can not beat the view of Wishes and the water pageant but for $370 (with birthday decorations) plus tip to driver it is a little expensive. We have done the Illuminations and Wishes and preferred the Wishes cruise more due to getting the water pageant also. However, we felt more special at Illuminations as there were fewer boats allowed. If you have a special occaision to celebrate this is a great way to make it unique. My daughter was shocked and thrilled that we surprised her with this for her 11th birthday. This is something she will never forget!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dvcgirl

      Registered: March 2010
      Location: Birmingham, Alabama
      Posts: 27
      Review Date: Wed September 28, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): everything
      Cons: nothing

       
      We did the Pirates and Pals fireworks cruise on Saturday Sept 17th. It was wonderful!! So much more than I expected from the initial sign in to meeting Peter Pan when we returned. It was a wonderful time to get pictures with Captain Hook and Mr. Smee! And the view of the fireworks was wonderful - watching it from the water, listening to the music and surrounded by my family made it even more magical than usual. I highly recommend!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      momof3inMadisonAL

      Registered: December 2009
      Location: Niceville, FL
      Posts: 80
      Review Date: Sun September 25, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Disney magic
      Cons: cost

       
      LOVED THIS! Completely made us feel special. Met Hook and Mr. Smee while being offered "free" snacks, before boarding. Our pirate tour guide was hillarious. Nice view of the fireworks (without the crowds). Then Peter Pan greeted us on our return.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mg0914
      squirrel

      Registered: January 2009
      Posts: 39
      Review Date: Thu March 3, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): no crowds!
      Cons: none

       
      We did the Wishes Cruise on Saturday, February 20, 2011 and we really enjoyed it. We were instructed to meet our captain one hour before Wishes that night at the Contemporary dock. There might be other activity at the dock so you may need to ask around but within a minute or two a helpful cast member had directed us to our captain.
      He was very pleasant and certainly knowledgable of all things Disney. There were eight in our party and the boat would have probably fit a couple more - so we were very comfortable. We listened to Disney music while we drove around the Seven Seas Lagoon and our captain pointed out several landmarks.
      Approximately 10 minutes before the fireworks he looked for a spot for us to park. There were a few other boats out there as well but our spot was perfect. The captain even mentioned that when the Imagineers are considering changes to any fireworks show they often watch from the lagoon as they feel this is the best view.
      Jiminy Cricket is piped in and the show begins! It really is a great spot to watch the fireworks from. All in our party agreed - it was well worth the money (approx $350).
      It helped too that it was a beautiful night, not chilly at all. We did the Illuminations Cruise a few years ago (also recommend) but it was an extremely cold night which took away from the experience.
      Click here to see this users profile  

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.