Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • Fitzboyzmom

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 132
      Review Date: Sun July 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      My husband and son both did the drive along experience. They both loved it! I was concerned since they were not driving, I thought they would think it was boring (they got a gift card for their birthdays). This was so not the case. They both raved about it. I know they want to go back someday.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      fey2k

      Registered: February 2013
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Mon February 4, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): get to drive fast
      Cons: expensive

       
      Tues, Jan 29, 2013 - Rookie Experience. Loved this experience, but very expensive. The experience has changed based on reviews I read. The track has a speed limit of 145mph now. You drive with an instructor, not following a pace car. I like having the instructor - he gave tips the entire time on how to get faster, when to accelerate, etc. I was only (grin) able to manage a top speed of 124mph - awesome!


      Details - you check in and then get a race suit that pulls on over your street clothes. Only clothing requirement is to wear closed-toe shoes. Class time is pretty basic - our instructor added a lot of humor. Family can sit with you in the class, which was nice. The track has markers all the way around, noting the fastest line on the track. That was nice to have for someone not familiar with racing! The cars are manual transmission, but you only have to shift when starting out. Once you get to 4th gear (by turn 2), you stay in that until the end. Rookie experience is a fast 8 laps. You get a print out of lap speeds and a certificate.


      Bring your own camera. You are free to take lots of photos/videos. They have a photo car (#43) behind the wall so you can pose for photos.


      Tickets - Undercover Tourist has discounts, but Richard Petty people were not familiar with them, and they would have to exchange emails to arrange it all. Undercover Tourist person was not very familiar with the process, nor the days of the program offering. I was not comfortable with that lack of info and the email requirement. I got a similar discount through Tickets-at-Work. They provide a voucher, then you call Richard Petty to book an actual date. That worked great. I even changed the date as rain was forecast for my original date. That was not a problem.


      Richard Petty people are very upfront about everything is available, for a price. But, I did not get any upsell like others have posted. I paid the $17 for a single photo. $99 for the video was too much to pay.


      On the plus side, you have a year to ride again at any Petty site and get a $200 discount as a past participant.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      janellob

      Registered: April 2012
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Sun April 29, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): the thrill
      Cons:

       
      My husband (32 yrs old) and my dad (65 yrs old) signed up for the Kings Experience months ago. We were scheduled to race on 4/22/12 but in the days leading up to it, the weather did not look favorable (90% chance of rain) so 2 days prior, we called to see if we could re-book for another day and they allowed it no problem. Good thing we did. They ended up racing on 4/24/12. My mom and I were able to sit through class with them and could follow them anywhere except into the car. During their classroom instruction they were "upsold" on doing the 3 lap ride along to "get a feel for the track and the lines." This added another $160 to the already high price of 18 laps behind the wheel. Both of them enjoyed the ride along though - the professional driver went a lot faster than they were about to go so it was a thrill... their faces showed it So after the ride along, they got their own cars. There is outdoor seating (covered) for spectators but I wanted to be as close as possible so I ran all they way down the infield to the corner to get pictures of them coming into the turn, through the turn and around the back straightaway. The pics turned out great! Once they completed their 18 laps, they were "upsold" on 12 more laps ("since you're already in the car") but after asking how much that cost ($299), we passed and peeled them out of the cars. They were like 2 little kids - especially after reviewing their lap times and average speeds (127 miles per hour). It was a great retirement present for my dad and great experience for my racing obsessed husband. Once back inside, you were offered the chance to buy your in car video (not worth the $) and your in car pictures ($17.50 each). This experience has the potential to rack up quite a bill if you're not mindful. HOWEVER, it was one of the most memorable experiences of their lives.


      NOTE: While we were waiting, we got talking to a construction worker. They're apparently building a large pavilion which will make the experience for the spectators even better. Trust me though, you don't get bored. There's plenty of shade (or sun if you prefer), a gift shop, snacks, drinks, bathrooms, etc.
      Click here to see this users profile  

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.