Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • CinCin

      Registered: October 2010
      Location: Texas
      Posts: 49
      Review Date: Mon November 17, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Butterfinger cupcake, terrific turkey sandwiches
      Cons: too little seating, crowded

       
      The turkey sandwiches are delicious! It is made on a artisan bread and then cut into large wedges so they are pre made and you can't make special requests. It had a type of viniagrette dressing on the bottom that had a mix of red and other mild light green peppers and and Italian type flavor to it. I scraped that part off since I am not a fan of peppers but it otherwise added a nice flavor overall to the entree. The turkey was shaved and piled up so it was a hearty portion size and the bread was soft and tasty. This reminded me in a way of a muffaletta with the type bread used and the dressing. It was very very good. I also had the Butterfinger cupcake which was huge. I only ate half because of the size and tossed the rest. It was delicious but I simply didn't want to have to carry it around with me. I had had the cupcake before so I already knew I was going to like it, but the sandwich surprised me as I didn't think of this as a "meal place". The only downside to my experience here was the limited seating. I had to circle a few times to look for a spot that might be opening up but after not finding anything, in frustration and hunger, I finally asked a couple if I they minded if I joined them. They were already finished eating. We ended up having a nice conversation and I made some new friends. Then after they left, and I was seated alone, I saw a couple looking for a spot and I invited them to join my table. So I made more new friends! I would definitely go back and order the same meal. I only wish they would do something about the seating as there was space to add a few more tables. I didn't mind sharing but for a family of 4 my arrangement would not have worked out.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Krissi890

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Sun September 21, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Amazing Food!
      Cons: Not enough seating

       
      This little place was tucked next to Hollywood Brown Derby and I never knew it was there! But once I found it, it was a little addicting! The cupcakes were amazing! I've tried most of them and they were all delicious and light (though huge) Smile The seating was limited since it is always busy. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a delicious cupcake!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nick6300

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Thu September 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great dessert and drink options
      Cons: limited hours, confusing lines, limited seating

       
      We visited twice during last week's vacation, and it was one of our favorite quick service places to use the dining plan. You can get sushi rolls, or deli turkey or ham on focaccia plus a banana or apple or small bag of lays chips. We split the ham one day and the turkey on the other. I tend to prefer turkey over ham, and thought it tasted better. Neither of us loved the dressing on the ham (not sure what it was, sorry). For drink options, they had a cooler full of teas, juices, milks, plus you could get sodas, you specialty coffees (hot or cold). The bakery is what sets this place a part. They have a large selection of bagels and pastries that rival what you'd find at EPCOT. The butterfinger cupcake was our favorite dessert option. It's served chilled with a chocolate filling, hard chocolate and butterfinger pieces on the outside, and huge! You can't really cut it in half easily because of the hard exterior, but it's definitely for splitting (i.e. 1000+ calories). We favored this over the ice creams at the MK's Parlor, which we ordered 4 times, and choices at places such as Kringla La Bakeri (spelling)?.


      The main knock on this place is that it's mainly open from breakfast through 4, and it was changed to until 2pm starting Labor Day. So our window was 11-2pm. There are only about 10-15 tables outside, so it's best to come early or late. We weren't able to find a table on the occasion we arrived at 1230 but found a few empty ones when arriving at 1130.


      A lot of people consider the ordering system to be a mess. It's simple once you do it. Upon entering near the drink frig entrance, grab a tray and cold drink (if that's your choice for drink), then as you approach the sandwich/sushi/coffee counter, ask for your sandwich or sushi, coffee, and some of the pastries. Then at the checkout counter, you can ask for a specialty cupcake (Olaf or Elsa, red velvet, PB, butterfinger, etc.) and check out. People complain when they don't order their drink before the check out counter and have to go back, and there is a line formed at that point. It's poorly organized because it's such a tight space. You just have to see what's offered at each station before moving on to the next one. The sandwiches were ok, but this is still my favorite HS quick service for it's desserts and coffees.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      snovak

      Registered: November 2011
      Location: wisconsin
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Sun March 23, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): great desserts
      Cons: very small inside, confusing checkout

       
      Every yearly visit it's a must for us to stop here for the wonderful red velvet cupcakes. They are huge! This time when we went it was a rainy day at the Studios so it was very crowded inside Starring Rolls. The way the inside is set up, with ordering on one side and paying on the other was very confusing...no one seemed to know what direction they should be going in and unfortunately there was only one check out register so there were people standing all over and no one knew where the line was. That being said, a little inconvenience will not stop us for coming again for the great cupcakes.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      xtandt

      Registered: December 2008
      Location: FL
      Posts: 26
      Review Date: Tue February 4, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Awesome desserts
      Cons: can get very crowd

       
      Has great desserts. But it does get very crowded inside. Limited seating outside. But still go, grab something and eat it while walking.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      thetony45

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 67
      Review Date: Sun January 26, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Amazing cupcakes!
      Cons: No indoor seating

       
      I was at Disney's Hollywood Studios and was getting hungry so I stopped off at Starring Rolls for a legendary Butterfinger Cupcake.


      I was surprised at first to learn it was a cold treat, but I quickly found out why.


      Under the crushed Butterfinger topping was a layer of amazing butter-cream icings surrounding a super moist chocolate cake. In the center of the cake was very rich chocolate fudge.


      All totaled it made this HUGE cupcake the best thing ever to use a snack credit on. I want another one right now!


      Starring Rolls also offers sandwiches, but they are known for the cupcakes. Why mess with what works?
      Click here to see this users profile  
      districtdisneygirl

      Registered: December 2013
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Thu January 9, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great sandwiches, huge portions, delicious desserts
      Cons: Limited seating, crowded inside

       
      The food at Starring Rolls is so amazing - the sandwiches are huge and a great value if you're on the meal plan. We also loved the dessert options here - the eclairs were insane. There is only outdoor seating and the lines inside can get crowded but this is a great lunch option.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      vickie1016

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: Yonkers, New York
      Posts: 35
      Review Date: Wed July 31, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food
      Cons: flow of line, no napkins

       
      Had a quick breakfast break here in early July 2013. Ordered a chocolate muffin & cinnamon roll for DH, DD(7) & I to share. YUMMY!! Loved each one. Wish we had time to stop back before leaving HS that day, would have liked to try a cupcake.


      Only negative - it was very crowded at that time & there was no proper line formation, just a big crowd of people. Also, no napkins?? Might be because they were busy.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      brittos

      Registered: July 2013
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Fri July 5, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food
      Cons:

       
      One of our favorite breakfast spots during the week! Wished we had time to go back. LOVED the Food! Ate here on 6/8 during Star War Weekends, and it wasn't overly crowded. Hidden gem in my opinion.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Dsnygrl

      Registered: September 2006
      Location: Aiken, SC
      Posts: 37
      Review Date: Fri June 14, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): cost
      Cons: food was slightly stale

       
      We ate here May 16, 2013. We wanted a quick, light snack to tide us over before our dinner at Ohana. When we went in, we were surprised to see a good variety of pastries and bagels with cream cheese. They also offered a limited sandwich menu. I opted for the chocolate croissant while my husband got the plain bagel in cream cheese. we split a large soda. Our total bill was around $10. Even if our son had come with us and we'd each gotten a bagel and a soda, our bill would have been less than $20. The pastry was slightly stale. I think they probably bring them out at the beginning of the day (we went at around 3:00 PM). The bagel was fresh. They toasted it perfectly and gave us plenty of cream cheese. My only other complaint was that you have to sit outdoors and the birds pestered us terribly. Still there was ample shade and at that time of day, plenty of tables. We will return there on our next trip for sure.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nicole0992

      Registered: June 2009
      Location: Los Angeles
      Posts: 44
      Review Date: Tue May 7, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): So many delicious pastries, cupcakes
      Cons: Very small, crowded shop

       
      I recently grabbed a quick lunch here. I tried the Black forest ham sandwich and a peanut butter cupcake. The sandwich was huge! I had to take half of the meat out to fit it in my mouth. Definitely a great value. The desserts here all look amazing. My cupcake was great but very sweet.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      beccab

      Registered: December 2010
      Location: Champaign, IL
      Posts: 24
      Review Date: Tue April 16, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The Napoleon
      Cons: The ordering system is chaos, not enough space inside, not enough tables outside

       
      This place has really good sandwiches and excellent pastries. I know you've all heard it before but the napoleon is particularly delicious. Given the chaotic, cramped space in which you have to order and the lack of tables outside, the place could be rated lower but the product they deliver is quite satisfactory.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      pseudosquid

      Registered: April 2013
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Thu April 4, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Peanut butter chocolate heaven!
      Cons:

       
      Chocolate Peanut Butter Cupcake was no disappointment!! It was excellent - definitely a fork and knife cupcake! Enough to feed 2 (but I admit I ate mine by myself!) Even though I used a snack credit from the dining plan, I definitely would have paid for it!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fitzboyzmom

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 142
      Review Date: Thu March 7, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      We stopped here one morning for a quick breakfast. We both had cinnamon rolls and they were delicious. Looking forward to coming back and trying a cupcake!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cnrwilliams

      Registered: July 2007
      Location: Northern Virginia
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Mon February 18, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good food
      Cons: Confusing ordering

       
      We ate here on January 25, 2013. We had read the reviews here and really wanted to try the desserts. I would suggest that Disney place instructions for ordering up somewhere in the very small store. There are 2 counter service areas and there is confusion over where to go first.


      My daughter and I used our DDP to order Turkey sandwiches--which were very good, but there is no way to customize your order (hold the mayo!). Everything is already prepared ahead of time. We got our desserts and drinks, and then were told to go back and get our chips/fruit which were included on the plan--this was our first day using the DDP so we weren't sure yet what was included.


      The dining area is outside under covered tables. Food was very good. Turkey was very fresh. My PB cupcake was huge and delicious. Daughter had a chocolate eclair, which she really enjoyed.


      Overall a great place to eat, but there was no menu posted anywhere and the selection of lunch items was limited.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.