Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • mayers

      Registered: February 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun February 9, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great beds, nice service, good location and perfect food
      Cons: None

       
      We stayed there from 04.02.2014 to 07.02.2014 and I'm pretty satisfied with what the hotel offered. This time we spent the time without our kids. The queen bed was one of the things I liked the most. Some people said before that they got the feeling of an upscale resort, which also applies to us. One of the best things is definitely the pool area, with the bar and especially the good service. Minimal waiting times and nice food. We're definitely going to visit it again.
      The only reason I'll rate it with 8 are the prices. I checked some sites for cheap offers and found one, maybe I didn't notice the fact they didn't include tax, so we had a couple of unpleasant minutes when we arrived. In the end they made a small discount for us, since we were planning to stay only until the weekend, maybe they were expecting less people in that period. However, I would definitely recommend it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Coachgirl0324

      Registered: January 2008
      Location: Ormond Beach, FL
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Sun April 15, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): good service, comfortable, close to Hollywood Studios, Epcot
      Cons: none

       
      We love the Swan! We stay here every year for a long weekend to celebrate my birthday (March 24th). We always receive exemplary service! We opted for a room without a balcony this time, to save a little cash. Well, we were upgraded for free to a room with a balcony and a beautiful view, in honor of my birthday. Thanks to Van at the front desk for her kindness and positive attitude. And by the way, if ordering room service, try the margarita pizza! So good!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jbdisney

      Registered: August 2011
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Tue August 23, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Resort, service, and location
      Cons: None

       
      August 3-8, 2011 We have stayed at the Beach Club many times but I just couldn't afford it this time. I had a free night at the Swan with my Starpoints and the remaining 4 nights were $149. My kids are 16 and 22 and I was not charged for an extra adult like Disney does. Great deal! The rooms have 2 queen beds. The service was terrific. The rooms are very comfortable with and in the bathroom sink and an outside the bathroom sink- great with 4 people. We really felt like it was more of an upscale resort than the Beach Club. The pool area is really nice with a REAL bar with great bar food and beers on tap! Every afternoon there were pool games being organized for the kids. Transportation was great. We never had to stand on the boats or the buses. We never waited more than 10 minutes for a boat or bus. The only bus that did the whole loop (Dolphin, YC, BC Boardwalk) was the bus to Animal Kingdom. MK bus stopped at only the Dolphin and then on to MK. We really enjoyed our stay here. I would stay here next time.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Mindy

      Registered: May 2010
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Sun July 31, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nice beds
      Cons: rooms

       
      Just returned from a 2 night stay at the Swan, it was our first stay outside the Disney brand, and while I don't regret staying there for the price per night we got, we will not return.


      It's not a terrible hotel, but we kinda felt it pales next to Disney deluxes. The beds were heavenly as advertised, but the rooms were kind of worn, and very loud, we could hear everything from the hallway, and noisy pipes from other guest rooms.
      We had 2 rooms for our party of 4, one of the rooms smelled horrible and was musty, it had definitely been smoked in by a previous occupant, and the smell was still very strong. The toilet in the other room ran every hour on the hour and had a very high pitched whine that was annoying. Thermostat in one room was fine, it was consistently cold, the other room, it was all over the place, if it wasn't freezing, it was hot.
      We are fairly easygoing travelers, and the hotel was completely booked for a convention, so we did not complain about these or ask to be moved, so I do not know how the staff would have accomodated anything. Also, this is not a "bad" thing, but I would have liked to know beforehand that the coffeemakers in the rooms are the pod style, so if you are java junkies that bring your own coffee with you like we do, this could be an issue.


      The good- Bell Services was very efficient. The beds are very comfortable, the towels in the bathroom are great, best I've seen in a hotel, huge and heavy. Lighting was adequate in all the room, comfortable for reading, and the room was perfectly dark for sleeping late with the shades drawn. Liked the extra channels & HD the TV offered (Love Disney folks, but there's only so much Stacey a person can take) Also the proximity to Boardwalk and the rest of the Epcot resorts was very convenient.
      All in all, We thought we'd like this for a child-less more adult trip, but found ourselves missing Beach Club and spent a lot of time talking about other hotels.
      Oh, and we didn't care for the pool bar. . .which, fair or unfair. . .dealbreaker.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fleur-de-lis

      Registered: November 2008
      Posts: 30
      Review Date: Wed June 15, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): beautiful grounds, comfortable beds, great location
      Cons:

       
      I've just returned from a wonderful stay at the Walt Disney World Swan (from June 2-12, 2011). We thoroughly enjoyed our accommodations, a grand suite. This type of suite is made up of a regular hotel room with two queen beds attached to a large "parlor" room with a living room area, dining area, wet bar area, plus an additional bathroom and closet.


      Our suite was spotlessly clean. The bathroom off the parlor area had been recently re-tiled, and the fixtures were very modern and sleek. The housekeeping service was quite good throughout my stay. One of the housekeepers even left me a nice note one day!


      The service at the resort was exceptional. One day I called guest services to report that the light in one of the bathrooms was flickering. The problem was fixed within an hour, and someone even called to follow up with me.


      The beds at the resort are incredibly comfortable, and the Swan side of the resort is very quiet. We really did not notice any noise at nighttime; we did hear some guests (and housekeepers!) during the day, but the room was quiet for the most part, and we got very good sleep. I am allergic to down, so I had requested feather-free bedding; that request was honored. The white linens are lovely, and the rooms have heavy curtains that can be pulled to create optimal sleeping conditions.


      Each room (the bedroom and the parlor) had a small refrigerator, so we made a grocery stop and kept water, juice, and milk in the suite.


      From our balconies, we enjoyed a lovely view of the resort itself. We could see the pool areas especially well, and we enjoyed seeing the beautiful palm trees on the grounds. We could also see Expedition Everest at Animal Kingdom in the distance!


      The grounds of the resort are beautiful. The tropical flowers and the palm trees really create a lovely setting for a Florida resort vacation. The landscaping is gorgeous!


      We enjoyed both the quiet pool at the Swan and the grotto pool at the Dolphin. While we didn't participate in the activities, I did notice some games in progress for children near the grotto pool, and we saw posters advertising "dive-in" movie nights at the pool as well.


      One of the major advantages of staying at the Swan and Dolphin is the location. I love being able to walk to Epcot and to Disney's Hollywood Studios. (Boat transportation is also available.) Bus transportation takes guests to Magic Kingdom and Animal Kingdom. It is also nice to be able to walk over to the BoardWalk Resort as well as the Yacht and Beach Club, since there are good restaurants at those hotels.


      We dined at Kimonos one night, picked up take-out at Picabu, and enjoyed ice cream from the Fountain a couple of times. (We have eaten at Il Mulino and bluezoo before, but we didn't do so on this trip.) I have found the restaurants at the Swan and Dolphin to be very good, and I was delighted to learn that many of them now accept Disney's Tables in Wonderland card.


      The Swan and Dolphin Resort is a Starwood property, not a Disney hotel. The resort is lovely, and it can offer very competitive rates--especially for government employees, teachers, and nurses. If you want to stay at a beautiful, luxurious resort with a tropical theme--a hotel complex in the middle of the magic--then this is a good place for you. However, because it is not owned by Disney, the resort cannot offer some of the Disney amenities: Magical Express transportation from the airport, package delivery to the room, Disney's Dining Plan. (You will also not find hidden Mickeys in the wallpaper or the carpet, and you will not find towel animals in your room.) In my experience, these factors have been a non-issue. My family has never used the dining plan. As annual passholders, we purchase the Tables in Wonderland card for dining discounts, and the S/D table service restaurants honor that discount. The package delivery is not an important perk to me, and I tend to prefer having a vehicle to drive while at WDW, so the lack of Magical Express service is not a deal-breaker. We love being able to stay in deluxe accommodations for a reasonable rate and highly recommend the Swan.


      Some reviewers complain about the resort services fee (about $10 per day) for Internet service, bottled water delivery, and access to the health clubs. I must point out that, when I've stayed at Disney-owned hotels, I've paid $9.95 per day for Internet usage alone, so I think that this charge is fairly standard in the area.


      All in all, I enjoyed another great stay at the Walt Disney World Swan and am looking forward to returning in the future!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bjtrax

      Registered: July 2006
      Location: Wisconsin
      Posts: 60
      Review Date: Wed May 18, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): housekeeping, friendly staff, location, pools
      Cons:

       
      Stayed at the Swan from April 2-12. The Boardwalk area, plus being able to walk to Epcot & the Studios make it a great location! Housekeeping was excellent & we found all of the staff to be very friendly. We used the Swan pool & hammocks often--and went to the grotto pool only once-lovely but the water was kind of chilly for our taste. The room amenities were nice. Enjoyed the balcony, comfy bed, and Starbucks for the individual coffee maker! Would happily return to the Swan!
      Click here to see this users profile  

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.