Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • nlg0517

      Registered: September 2011
      Location: Oklahoma City
      Posts: 45
      Review Date: Fri December 18, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food!!
      Cons: Crowds!!

       
      I have long dreamed of spending my 40th birthday at the EPCOT Food & Wine Festival. My husband felt that a year early would be better! We went the 1st week of November. I did not realize that this was the week leading up to the marathon. I believe it was more crowded because runners were arriving. However, this didn't ruin my experience at all. We did a mixology seminar as well as a culinary demo, both of which were great! I didn't get to try all the booths that I wanted to try but the ones we got to were very good. I really enjoyed every item I tried. The bacon mac'n'cheese was the best! I also liked the beer flight from the Florida booth & I don't drink beer. The only problems were the night time crowds. It was crazy! We had no interest in the musical act that week but everyone else in Orlando did. The lines were very long making it very difficult to navigate the World Showcase. I hope to go back some day but will definitely avoid EPCOT at night.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fitzboyzmom

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 170
      Review Date: Sat April 25, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      I attended this for the first time in September with my son. We had planned to hangout here for a couple days, but never came back after the first day. Some of the food was good and it was fun to try some new things. It was not fun eating on top of garbage cans or trying to beat someone to a table. At one location, my son sat at a high table while I was in line and some woman went and stood in front of it because I guess she thought he was invisible or didn't count. She left as soon as I arrived....but weird.


      There were so many people drinking so much, that it really wasn't place for children of any age. I get it and like to indulge, but it was not a place for families at all. I was really disappointed and don't plan to attend again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Imjustababyduck

      Registered: May 2007
      Posts: 58
      Review Date: Fri October 10, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): All of it
      Cons: Nothing

       
      My husband and I bought the premium package for the late night food and wine street party (or whatever it's called). Our package included the following for each of us -- a bottle of Chianti, a wine glass, a insulated gift bag, a box made of chocolate that held 4 truffles, a premium package lanyard and badge. I like the wine glasses better than the ones you could buy in the Festival Shop. The chocolates were pretty and tasty.


      The premium lanyard and badge gave us roped off seating and "cut in line access" to several booths and were located throughout the festival. These areas were kind of hard to locate, but they were never busy and were well staffed.


      The Thursday Night Street Party was really a lot of fun. You had to get your food/beverage lanyard for your free items from guest services. During the Thursday Night Party these lanyards allow you to get 6 free items from the booths that remained opened. You can use them for food or alcohol. If you use them wisely, you can recoup upwards of $75.00 of your money paid for the package back. For those who bought the $99.00 package, it makes it a really good deal.


      The lines weren't long, and the staff was very friendly. There was great entertainment and different areas. There was a techno/dance area; a singer/songwriter area, and a bar type area.


      We went for the first party and things went very smoothly, especially for the first night. I loved this and would definitely do it again. I think it was worth the money.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Imjustababyduck

      Registered: May 2007
      Posts: 58
      Review Date: Wed October 8, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quick and inexpensive
      Cons: None, really

       
      During our weeklong stay at WDW, my husband and I did several culinary demonstrations and mixology classes. We found the culinary demonstrations to be a very nice way to try some nice food that was cost effective, and didn't take up 4 hours of your day. (We also did a lot of food and wine pairings which take hours out of your day). I think if you enjoy the food booths, then the culinary demonstrations (which take about 45 minutes and give you a tapas sized plate) are a great way to maximize your time at food and wine. With the demonstrations, you are not stuffed full at the end, and you have the time (and room) to try the food at the booths. The mixology seminars were fun and informative, but I did prefer the culinary demonstrations over the mixology.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dcdeb

      Registered: October 2005
      Posts: 67
      Review Date: Sun October 5, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fun atmosphere, chance to try 3 cocktails and learn tips from a mixologist
      Cons: Interferes with dinner hour a bit

       
      I went to the Mixology session, which is held in the Vineyard area of Epcot's Festival Center, on Saturday, September 20, the second day the session on gin was offered. The format for these Mixology sessions hasn't changed since the program's inception three years ago -- and that's not a complaint. As they say, if it ain't broke, don't fix it! And this format works. The presenter tells you a little bit about the background of the spirit, in this case gin, and of course about his/her particular company. Interpersed with the history lessons, the Mixologist shows the audience how to prepare three different cocktails using the spirit, while sharing "insider" tips and tricks for preparing the best cocktails possible. And then of course there is what is arguably the "best" portion of the event: the audience is treated to samples of the mixed drinks themselves. You can read the rest of my review of this Mixology session here:
      http://allears.net/tp/ep/fw14/2014-epcot-food-and-wine-festival-mixology-gin.htm
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      MM from Connecticut

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Thu October 2, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Different cuisines/wines
      Cons: expensive

       
      It wasn't anything special ... some of the foods were appetizing, but quite expensive for a tiny bite. The wines were delicious, but again, expensive for a small glass. I would enjoy seeing more countries represented.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DaninNH

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Thu September 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): I am still trying to think of one...
      Cons: Too many to count...crowds, drunks, spills, trash, rudeness....

       
      The F&W festival may pull in $$$$ for Disney, but we will, from now on, vacation well around this event. We were there the week of 9/18 (soft opening day) to 9/24. We were at EPCOT three of those days. By nightfall, drunken rude people were everywhere. Lines for everything were ridiculous. We tried to eat as we walked and were bumped so many times, we spilled stuff on ourselves. We stopped to pick up our mess and were trampled. Had to watch where you stepped from others messes. Wall to wall people and all this to sample a few food items from the norm...totally not worth it. Was NOT a place I would want to take my family. Or friends. If this was our first experience with EPCOT, we might never return. Thankfully, we know the difference. 53 days of stumbling drunkeness...so we really need to have it be that long ? Go find a bar somewhere and settle in folks.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wattage

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: Richmond Virginia
      Posts: 91
      Review Date: Wed November 20, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food
      Cons: Drunken fools

       
      This was our third time attending the F&W Festival. We were there on 11/3/13 form 11am until 4pm. We really enjoyed the Canadian, French and US booths. The real stand out was the French beef bourguignon, and the US lobster tails and clam chowder. The only negatives I’ll mentions are the crowds (but I expected that on a Sunday), and the number of drunks. I think Disney needs to do a better job of limiting the number of drinks a person can have in a day. The Escargot we had at the French booth was way over cooked which made them chew like little rubber bands – not very pleasant.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      SharW

      Registered: November 2007
      Posts: 28
      Review Date: Thu November 14, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good Food
      Cons: Can be very crowded on Saturday

       
      All the food we tasted was excellent. Noticed the visible presence of much more security this year which may have cut down on the excessive drinking and drunk behavior that has occurred in prior years.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      solaya062007

      Registered: October 2006
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Tue October 29, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Entertainment
      Cons: Shows not long enough

       
      I was at Epcot's Food & Wine Festival on October 14th. Eat to the Beat Concert Series was featuring Wilson Phillips that day. They were fantastic; after all these years. Had never seen them in concert before but always liked their music. Very inspiring and strong performers!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      hstuck

      Registered: October 2010
      Location: boston
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Wed October 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Amazing Event!
      Cons:

       
      Attended the Food & Wine Fest 10/18-10/21. Great as usual! I think unless you are in the food bizz, you can't truly imagine how hard this type of event is to pull off. I am impressed every year..truly, how hard everyone works to make this a truly incredible event. The food booths churn out this massive amount of food that is PERFECT...my white wines are cold, my reds are even perfect temp...and the food is just amazing. The crowds are handled very well on the weekends...yes, it's crowded but the lines move. There will always be drunk folks but I didn't think it was any worse this year. You can't control that. I will say, bringing more beer in is a great idea to get the beer drinkers involved and spirits for those that like liquor, but that drunk factor is going to rise now. We'll see if that causes some changes in the years to come. I still love this though and the special events are extraordinary!!! The festival shops are great and LOVE the paintings by Heather French - visit her Whiskers and Wine paintings while at the F&W fest....she is one GREAT artist! Looking forward to next October!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      John

      Registered: December 2010
      Location: Louisiana
      Posts: 86
      Review Date: Sun January 6, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Food, short lines
      Cons: F&W Center a long walk from everything, lack of seating in the World Showcase.

       
      We attended the F&W Festival on 10/22 and 10/25 and found the food at the various countries to be very good. The lines were very short, but there was a lack of seating in many places.


      We also found the F&W Center to be a very long way from everything and unless you were attending a demonstration there wasn't a whole lot to see of do there.
      Click here to see this users profile  

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.