Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • Imjustababyduck

      Registered: May 2007
      Posts: 58
      Review Date: Fri October 10, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): All of it
      Cons: Nothing

       
      My husband and I bought the premium package for the late night food and wine street party (or whatever it's called). Our package included the following for each of us -- a bottle of Chianti, a wine glass, a insulated gift bag, a box made of chocolate that held 4 truffles, a premium package lanyard and badge. I like the wine glasses better than the ones you could buy in the Festival Shop. The chocolates were pretty and tasty.


      The premium lanyard and badge gave us roped off seating and "cut in line access" to several booths and were located throughout the festival. These areas were kind of hard to locate, but they were never busy and were well staffed.


      The Thursday Night Street Party was really a lot of fun. You had to get your food/beverage lanyard for your free items from guest services. During the Thursday Night Party these lanyards allow you to get 6 free items from the booths that remained opened. You can use them for food or alcohol. If you use them wisely, you can recoup upwards of $75.00 of your money paid for the package back. For those who bought the $99.00 package, it makes it a really good deal.


      The lines weren't long, and the staff was very friendly. There was great entertainment and different areas. There was a techno/dance area; a singer/songwriter area, and a bar type area.


      We went for the first party and things went very smoothly, especially for the first night. I loved this and would definitely do it again. I think it was worth the money.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Imjustababyduck

      Registered: May 2007
      Posts: 58
      Review Date: Wed October 8, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quick and inexpensive
      Cons: None, really

       
      During our weeklong stay at WDW, my husband and I did several culinary demonstrations and mixology classes. We found the culinary demonstrations to be a very nice way to try some nice food that was cost effective, and didn't take up 4 hours of your day. (We also did a lot of food and wine pairings which take hours out of your day). I think if you enjoy the food booths, then the culinary demonstrations (which take about 45 minutes and give you a tapas sized plate) are a great way to maximize your time at food and wine. With the demonstrations, you are not stuffed full at the end, and you have the time (and room) to try the food at the booths. The mixology seminars were fun and informative, but I did prefer the culinary demonstrations over the mixology.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dcdeb

      Registered: October 2005
      Posts: 68
      Review Date: Sun October 5, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fun atmosphere, chance to try 3 cocktails and learn tips from a mixologist
      Cons: Interferes with dinner hour a bit

       
      I went to the Mixology session, which is held in the Vineyard area of Epcot's Festival Center, on Saturday, September 20, the second day the session on gin was offered. The format for these Mixology sessions hasn't changed since the program's inception three years ago -- and that's not a complaint. As they say, if it ain't broke, don't fix it! And this format works. The presenter tells you a little bit about the background of the spirit, in this case gin, and of course about his/her particular company. Interpersed with the history lessons, the Mixologist shows the audience how to prepare three different cocktails using the spirit, while sharing "insider" tips and tricks for preparing the best cocktails possible. And then of course there is what is arguably the "best" portion of the event: the audience is treated to samples of the mixed drinks themselves. You can read the rest of my review of this Mixology session here:
      http://allears.net/tp/ep/fw14/2014-epcot-food-and-wine-festival-mixology-gin.htm
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      MM from Connecticut

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Thu October 2, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Different cuisines/wines
      Cons: expensive

       
      It wasn't anything special ... some of the foods were appetizing, but quite expensive for a tiny bite. The wines were delicious, but again, expensive for a small glass. I would enjoy seeing more countries represented.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DaninNH

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Thu September 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): I am still trying to think of one...
      Cons: Too many to count...crowds, drunks, spills, trash, rudeness....

       
      The F&W festival may pull in $$$$ for Disney, but we will, from now on, vacation well around this event. We were there the week of 9/18 (soft opening day) to 9/24. We were at EPCOT three of those days. By nightfall, drunken rude people were everywhere. Lines for everything were ridiculous. We tried to eat as we walked and were bumped so many times, we spilled stuff on ourselves. We stopped to pick up our mess and were trampled. Had to watch where you stepped from others messes. Wall to wall people and all this to sample a few food items from the norm...totally not worth it. Was NOT a place I would want to take my family. Or friends. If this was our first experience with EPCOT, we might never return. Thankfully, we know the difference. 53 days of stumbling drunkeness...so we really need to have it be that long ? Go find a bar somewhere and settle in folks.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wattage

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: Richmond Virginia
      Posts: 83
      Review Date: Wed November 20, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food
      Cons: Drunken fools

       
      This was our third time attending the F&W Festival. We were there on 11/3/13 form 11am until 4pm. We really enjoyed the Canadian, French and US booths. The real stand out was the French beef bourguignon, and the US lobster tails and clam chowder. The only negatives I’ll mentions are the crowds (but I expected that on a Sunday), and the number of drunks. I think Disney needs to do a better job of limiting the number of drinks a person can have in a day. The Escargot we had at the French booth was way over cooked which made them chew like little rubber bands – not very pleasant.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      SharW

      Registered: November 2007
      Posts: 28
      Review Date: Thu November 14, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good Food
      Cons: Can be very crowded on Saturday

       
      All the food we tasted was excellent. Noticed the visible presence of much more security this year which may have cut down on the excessive drinking and drunk behavior that has occurred in prior years.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      solaya062007

      Registered: October 2006
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Tue October 29, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Entertainment
      Cons: Shows not long enough

       
      I was at Epcot's Food & Wine Festival on October 14th. Eat to the Beat Concert Series was featuring Wilson Phillips that day. They were fantastic; after all these years. Had never seen them in concert before but always liked their music. Very inspiring and strong performers!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      hstuck

      Registered: October 2010
      Location: boston
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Wed October 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Amazing Event!
      Cons:

       
      Attended the Food & Wine Fest 10/18-10/21. Great as usual! I think unless you are in the food bizz, you can't truly imagine how hard this type of event is to pull off. I am impressed every year..truly, how hard everyone works to make this a truly incredible event. The food booths churn out this massive amount of food that is PERFECT...my white wines are cold, my reds are even perfect temp...and the food is just amazing. The crowds are handled very well on the weekends...yes, it's crowded but the lines move. There will always be drunk folks but I didn't think it was any worse this year. You can't control that. I will say, bringing more beer in is a great idea to get the beer drinkers involved and spirits for those that like liquor, but that drunk factor is going to rise now. We'll see if that causes some changes in the years to come. I still love this though and the special events are extraordinary!!! The festival shops are great and LOVE the paintings by Heather French - visit her Whiskers and Wine paintings while at the F&W fest....she is one GREAT artist! Looking forward to next October!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      John

      Registered: December 2010
      Location: Louisiana
      Posts: 63
      Review Date: Sun January 6, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Food, short lines
      Cons: F&W Center a long walk from everything, lack of seating in the World Showcase.

       
      We attended the F&W Festival on 10/22 and 10/25 and found the food at the various countries to be very good. The lines were very short, but there was a lack of seating in many places.


      We also found the F&W Center to be a very long way from everything and unless you were attending a demonstration there wasn't a whole lot to see of do there.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ars0525

      Registered: July 2010
      Location: only 130 miles from WDW now
      Posts: 25
      Review Date: Mon November 26, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): lots of countries, different foods
      Cons: drunk people

       
      We (3 adults) were there 11-4 (Sun) & 11-7 (Wed) for our 4th F&W. I knew Sunday would be crowded, but it was our arrival day & we knew we were coming back so it was nice to have 2 days to break up the food booths. We started on the Canada side & made it to Italy where we took the boat back across rather fight the crowds walking. The crowds were a lot to handle (people were quite rude, drunk, oblivious, loud). It actually even smelled of alcohol in so many areas & I am by no means anti-drinking or sensitive to it. We came back on Wednesday & got to experience a much nicer setting. Started on the Mexico side & walked our whole way around. Easier crowds, less hard core drinkers, minimal booth lines.


      Went to the Festival Center at the old Horizons. Bought a bottle of wine, got a free sample of chocolate, stopped in the Chase Visa lounge for a soda. It was a nice side thing to do & I enjoyed it.


      Since it was near the end of the Festival, I also got a shirt for 1/2 price so a nice deal.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      goofy10

      Registered: December 2010
      Location: New York
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Sun November 18, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Taste from all over the world
      Cons: Too many drunk people

       
      Was there the week of 10/21. The nights were very crowded and a lot of drunk people. I do not mind people drinking but the profanity and couples arguing was more than I could take. This is not what I expected. My kids where a little shocked as well. This was my first F and W and most likely my last.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      chrisfam4

      Registered: June 2011
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Wed November 14, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Variety of Food choices
      Cons: Crowds, some prices

       
      DH and I attended our second F&WF on the last weekend of the event. We LOVED it just as much this year as last. The crowds were very heavy, much like summertime levels. We attributed it to the excellent weather, Wine and Dine half marathon, and the fact that it was the last weekend. We visited during the evening on Friday, midday on Saturday, and evening hours again on Sunday. By far the lowest crowds were on Friday evening which surprised us. Saturday and Sunday were very heavy but not unmanagable. Despite the crowds the lines for the booths moved quickly, the food was hot and totally yummy!!


      Many of the previous posts have indicated that there were MANY loud and drunk guests during their visit. For my family, this did not seem to be the case. Yes, there were groups in attendance with 'team' t-shirts traveling in packs but everyone we encountered was friendly and polite. I will agree this is not the typical family-style atmosphere that is provided at the other parks. However, Epcot, especially World Showcase, is geared more to adults anyway. Most children under 10 don't appreciate the architecture, history or beauty of the pavilions. We look forward to taking in the F&WF because it is the only time our kids want to go, for the food.


      In summary, I just wanted to offer a positive review to contrast all the negatives I have seen this year. Each visit for each family is different but we love the F&WF. If you want the opportunity to try new foods in one easy venue, then this is the place for you!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      SharW

      Registered: November 2007
      Posts: 28
      Review Date: Fri November 9, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): great food
      Cons: very crowded and excessive drinking

       
      Variety and taste of food was very good. Enjoyed tasting different foods from different countries. Only con is too much drinking going on. Drinking starts very early - encountered 2 fairly intoxicated people before 12 noon. Saturday is the worst for the excessive drinking. If you go, go early in the day and you should be able to miss most of rude drunks.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Caseyka

      Registered: January 2011
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Tue November 6, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons: crowded and a lot of intoxicated people

       
      My family and I were visiting during the food and wine festival and had reservations in some of the restuarants in World Showcase a couple of nights. I enjoy having a good time as much as anyone but I do not do this in the presence of my children. I was very surprised that Disney hosts an event where people are walking around drunk and acting as if they are at a football game. We had to push through the crowds of people carrying their beer and wine and they were loud and intoxicated. My daughter (11 years old) actually got somewhat nervous at one point. I fully believe that Disney needs to review the way that this even is held and make some changes so that families can still go to Epcot and enjoy themselves.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.