Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • wattage

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: Richmond Virginia
      Posts: 70
      Review Date: Wed November 20, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food
      Cons: Drunken fools

       
      This was our third time attending the F&W Festival. We were there on 11/3/13 form 11am until 4pm. We really enjoyed the Canadian, French and US booths. The real stand out was the French beef bourguignon, and the US lobster tails and clam chowder. The only negatives I’ll mentions are the crowds (but I expected that on a Sunday), and the number of drunks. I think Disney needs to do a better job of limiting the number of drinks a person can have in a day. The Escargot we had at the French booth was way over cooked which made them chew like little rubber bands – not very pleasant.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      SharW

      Registered: November 2007
      Posts: 26
      Review Date: Thu November 14, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good Food
      Cons: Can be very crowded on Saturday

       
      All the food we tasted was excellent. Noticed the visible presence of much more security this year which may have cut down on the excessive drinking and drunk behavior that has occurred in prior years.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      solaya062007

      Registered: October 2006
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Tue October 29, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Entertainment
      Cons: Shows not long enough

       
      I was at Epcot's Food & Wine Festival on October 14th. Eat to the Beat Concert Series was featuring Wilson Phillips that day. They were fantastic; after all these years. Had never seen them in concert before but always liked their music. Very inspiring and strong performers!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      hstuck

      Registered: October 2010
      Location: boston
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Wed October 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Amazing Event!
      Cons:

       
      Attended the Food & Wine Fest 10/18-10/21. Great as usual! I think unless you are in the food bizz, you can't truly imagine how hard this type of event is to pull off. I am impressed every year..truly, how hard everyone works to make this a truly incredible event. The food booths churn out this massive amount of food that is PERFECT...my white wines are cold, my reds are even perfect temp...and the food is just amazing. The crowds are handled very well on the weekends...yes, it's crowded but the lines move. There will always be drunk folks but I didn't think it was any worse this year. You can't control that. I will say, bringing more beer in is a great idea to get the beer drinkers involved and spirits for those that like liquor, but that drunk factor is going to rise now. We'll see if that causes some changes in the years to come. I still love this though and the special events are extraordinary!!! The festival shops are great and LOVE the paintings by Heather French - visit her Whiskers and Wine paintings while at the F&W fest....she is one GREAT artist! Looking forward to next October!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      John

      Registered: December 2010
      Location: Louisiana
      Posts: 63
      Review Date: Sun January 6, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Food, short lines
      Cons: F&W Center a long walk from everything, lack of seating in the World Showcase.

       
      We attended the F&W Festival on 10/22 and 10/25 and found the food at the various countries to be very good. The lines were very short, but there was a lack of seating in many places.


      We also found the F&W Center to be a very long way from everything and unless you were attending a demonstration there wasn't a whole lot to see of do there.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ars0525

      Registered: July 2010
      Location: only 130 miles from WDW now
      Posts: 25
      Review Date: Mon November 26, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): lots of countries, different foods
      Cons: drunk people

       
      We (3 adults) were there 11-4 (Sun) & 11-7 (Wed) for our 4th F&W. I knew Sunday would be crowded, but it was our arrival day & we knew we were coming back so it was nice to have 2 days to break up the food booths. We started on the Canada side & made it to Italy where we took the boat back across rather fight the crowds walking. The crowds were a lot to handle (people were quite rude, drunk, oblivious, loud). It actually even smelled of alcohol in so many areas & I am by no means anti-drinking or sensitive to it. We came back on Wednesday & got to experience a much nicer setting. Started on the Mexico side & walked our whole way around. Easier crowds, less hard core drinkers, minimal booth lines.


      Went to the Festival Center at the old Horizons. Bought a bottle of wine, got a free sample of chocolate, stopped in the Chase Visa lounge for a soda. It was a nice side thing to do & I enjoyed it.


      Since it was near the end of the Festival, I also got a shirt for 1/2 price so a nice deal.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      goofy10

      Registered: December 2010
      Location: New York
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Sun November 18, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Taste from all over the world
      Cons: Too many drunk people

       
      Was there the week of 10/21. The nights were very crowded and a lot of drunk people. I do not mind people drinking but the profanity and couples arguing was more than I could take. This is not what I expected. My kids where a little shocked as well. This was my first F and W and most likely my last.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      chrisfam4

      Registered: June 2011
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Wed November 14, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Variety of Food choices
      Cons: Crowds, some prices

       
      DH and I attended our second F&WF on the last weekend of the event. We LOVED it just as much this year as last. The crowds were very heavy, much like summertime levels. We attributed it to the excellent weather, Wine and Dine half marathon, and the fact that it was the last weekend. We visited during the evening on Friday, midday on Saturday, and evening hours again on Sunday. By far the lowest crowds were on Friday evening which surprised us. Saturday and Sunday were very heavy but not unmanagable. Despite the crowds the lines for the booths moved quickly, the food was hot and totally yummy!!


      Many of the previous posts have indicated that there were MANY loud and drunk guests during their visit. For my family, this did not seem to be the case. Yes, there were groups in attendance with 'team' t-shirts traveling in packs but everyone we encountered was friendly and polite. I will agree this is not the typical family-style atmosphere that is provided at the other parks. However, Epcot, especially World Showcase, is geared more to adults anyway. Most children under 10 don't appreciate the architecture, history or beauty of the pavilions. We look forward to taking in the F&WF because it is the only time our kids want to go, for the food.


      In summary, I just wanted to offer a positive review to contrast all the negatives I have seen this year. Each visit for each family is different but we love the F&WF. If you want the opportunity to try new foods in one easy venue, then this is the place for you!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      SharW

      Registered: November 2007
      Posts: 26
      Review Date: Fri November 9, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): great food
      Cons: very crowded and excessive drinking

       
      Variety and taste of food was very good. Enjoyed tasting different foods from different countries. Only con is too much drinking going on. Drinking starts very early - encountered 2 fairly intoxicated people before 12 noon. Saturday is the worst for the excessive drinking. If you go, go early in the day and you should be able to miss most of rude drunks.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Caseyka

      Registered: January 2011
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Tue November 6, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons: crowded and a lot of intoxicated people

       
      My family and I were visiting during the food and wine festival and had reservations in some of the restuarants in World Showcase a couple of nights. I enjoy having a good time as much as anyone but I do not do this in the presence of my children. I was very surprised that Disney hosts an event where people are walking around drunk and acting as if they are at a football game. We had to push through the crowds of people carrying their beer and wine and they were loud and intoxicated. My daughter (11 years old) actually got somewhat nervous at one point. I fully believe that Disney needs to review the way that this even is held and make some changes so that families can still go to Epcot and enjoy themselves.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      alllie1

      Registered: October 2007
      Location: West Palm Beach, FL
      Posts: 43
      Review Date: Tue November 6, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good variety
      Cons: Crowds, inappropriate intoxicated people, long lines

       
      Let me start by saying this: we went on a Saturday (11/3/12), so the experience was already decided before our arrival. Nevertheless, we made the best of our day.


      We attend every year, at least once, so we did know that the weekend crowds would be heavy. We normally arrive at 11am and enter through the World Showcase park entrance, which enables us to head right into the Showcase and begin sampling long before it gets busy. This year, due to work obligations, we did not get to the park until about 3pm. We got off our resort bus to find a huge amount of cars parking on the lawns- never a good sign!


      We headed straight to the Festival Welcome Center to buy a giftcard and sample the Ghiradelli drinking chocolate everyone has been buzzing about- it was definitely delicious. We also visited the Chase lounge briefly before heading over to the Showcase. Lines were crazy but we waited for the things we most wanted to have and they did move relatively quickly. The biggest problem seemed to be the people who were either drunk or not paying attention or on their phones who failed to hear the cashiers calling them to come order.


      Some food highlights: my husband (a huge carnivore) was actually very impressed with the Terra booth's meatless chili.We enjoyed the ropa vieja (Caribbean), shrimp on the barbie (Australia), potstickers (China), all three kinds of sushi/hand rolls (Japan),Belgian waffles (Belgium), coq au vin and creme brulee (France), and the white Sangria (Florida).


      The filet mignon from Canada was tasty but definitely not worth $6.50. It was very thin and tough and a VERY small portion. We also wish it was served with the mushroom risotto from Le Cellier! The arepa from the Florida booth was greasy and very small.


      Overall, our day was very nice. We managed the crowds and lines well. I know it is a food and wine festival and I appreciate that but having people out in the hot sun, drinking for potentially 11 hours is a recipe for disaster. We witnessed people falling over, dropping entire trays of drinks, being rowdy wearing handmade "hats" topped with plastic wine and champagne glasses, etc. One guy walking past bumped another guy, spilling his drinks and they almost got into a physical fight (despite the fact that one man was there with a stroller). It definitely was a bad situation, we were happy we had left our baby home with her grandparents, and we ended up leaving before 9pm.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Jim2772

      Registered: November 2012
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Mon November 5, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food and wonderful atmosphere
      Cons: size of some offerings for price

       
      I have been going to Food and Wine for about 8 years now and my wife and I love the experience. We plan a weekend for this every year. A kid free weekend for adults who love Disney. It really amazes me that so many people (and for multiple years for some) dont understand what Food and Wine means? Especially the wine part- this would denote alcohol and if you are uncomfortable around alcohol then please refrain from attending during this festival. Also save your self some grief and stress and leave the children at home with a sitter, at Disney child services or simply go to another park. It is a food and wine festival. No amount of complaining is going to make Disney reconsider the event, just look at the increasing lines and you will see it is a major source of additional revenue. So understand what this event is all about and enjoy it or avoid it.


      That part said I do think that some of the samples this year have gotten smaller and arent quite worth the cost. The filet Mignon from Canada for one. There were some really interesting new additions like the mung bean pancake.


      This is a fantastic event and WE LOVE IT!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kelly68

      Registered: November 2012
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sat November 3, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): awsome concerts
      Cons: none

       
      Attended Billy Ocean concert. He was awesome, so much fun. Bring him back for another year. Less people week day. Easier to get around the park.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Joermsy

      Registered: November 2012
      Location: Manteno, IL
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu November 1, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food Samples
      Cons: Extra Large Crowd & Drunkiness

       
      I was really surprised by the amount of drunk people at the event. I have never seen anything like this at Disney World. Not even when Pleasure Island was up and running. I would like to come back with Adults only. Kids really don't belong there. I was also surprised by the amount of people drinking while driving their scooters.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      LynnM

      Registered: October 2008
      Location: Massachusetts
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Wed October 31, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Lots of fun
      Cons: too much beer, not enought wine samples

       
      We have been coming to the F&W Festival for 15 years. We love it, it is so much fun. But, at times crowds can be large and too many people are intoxicated.


      This year I did find that the portions are smaller and quality was split between pretty good and just okay.


      I also was disappointed in the fact that it is more of a Food and BEER festival rather than wine. I miss the wine walkabouts, and the booths don't have the variety of wines to sample as they did in the past. I hope they bring back the wine to the Food and Wine festival!
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.