Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • dcdeb

      Registered: October 2005
      Posts: 66
      Review Date: Sun October 5, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good value for money; terrific pastries
      Cons: None

      Returning to the Epcot International Food and Wine Festival this year is the Parisian Breakfast, a program designed to showcase the goodies produced by the France pavilion's beloved bakery, Les Halles Boulangerie Patisserie. I reviewed this special ticketed offering last year, and I'm happy to report that nothing much has changed! It's still a delightful and delicious way to start your day in Epcot, with an abundance of fantastic French pastries, strong French coffee, rich hot chocolate, and -- I must not forget to mention -- unlimited orange juice and champagne Mimosas! You can read my review of this year's Parisian Breakfast here: http://allears.net/tp/ep/fw14/2014-epcot-food-and-wine-festival-parisian-breakfast.htm
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  

      Registered: July 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun July 27, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food was yummy
      Cons: Seating if you did not purchase preffered

      I attended the 3D Desert Party last October with my S.O. We arrived early and checked in, the process was easy and staff friendly. We were at the front of the roped off area and chatting about the pleasant music and atmosphere with another couple. The attendant said are you guys up front ready to run. I thought he must be joking but no sadly he was not.

      As the curtain was pulled many people mad a mad dash for the tables. I however do not move that fast, ever! A few people had to be separated from their parties but really a lot of time was stood chatting anyway so not a huge issue. There were nice maps to point out the location of all the offerings.

      I do not drink but my S.O. does and they kept the drinks flowing as well as sodas, coffee, and tea. We had not really eaten much that afternoon and were very happy to see some food beyond the sweets.

      If I did this again I would splurge on the sweet seats to avoid the stampede at the start, but I would do it again. Honestly the event was nice and worth the cost, just a little overwhelming.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2009
      Location: Texas
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Fri November 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Special Event and exceptional service
      Cons: Menu

      My DD24 and I attended the Italian Regional lunch on Oct 23, 2013. It was held at Tutto Gusto Wine Cellar in Tutto Italia Restaurant. I will list the five course menu- a charred octopus with a bean spread and matchstick celery hearts paired with a Pinot Grigio, a Zucchini and mint pesto risotto paired with a Juti Lison Classico, poached snapper in white wine and herb broth paired with a Sauvignon, a cheese course a LaTur paired with a Merlot, and for dessert an almond cake with vanilla gelato paired with a Verduzzo dessert wine.

      It is my understanding that the menu and wine pairings change frequently during the event which was given 3 times a week. I do not think there is a way to find out the menu before you book it. That being said although I enjoyed the venue and my tablemates, I was disappointed in the nearly all white wine pairings.

      I went for the experience and it was overall a good one. The char on the octopus was overpowering to the other delicate flavors. The risotto was really good as was the dessert. I personally liked the cheese which was strongly flavored but many of my tablemates did not. Our table voted the merlot the best wine. The worst course was the snapper, the broth was very fishy.

      Our presenter was great but he was very hard to hear because of the venue. They had the place packed with tables. Service was exceptional. A few less chairs in there would have made it better imho. You had to ask someone to get up and let you out to use the bathroom. That's packing us in too tightly.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: October 2008
      Location: Baltimore, MD
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sat November 2, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food and ambiance
      Cons: A little tight with the wine servings

      This event was held in the new Tutto Gusto Wine Cellar. We all agreed that it is the best venue in WDW - perhaps only a bit less than V&A. The five course lunch represented different regions of Italy. The risotto with pumpkin and shrimp was different and delicious. Unlike the French Regional lunches they were not anxious to refill the glasses. This was a surprise because we had attended the Italian Wine Pairing two days early with several of the same wines, and they were very generous. Downside of the pairing was Via Napoli. It is a very noisy place - fun with pizza, but not great when trying to hear about the food and wines. Perhaps next year they will have both events in the Wine Cellar.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: October 2008
      Location: Baltimore, MD
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sat November 2, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quality and Quantity of food.
      Cons: None

      We (six very senior citizens) were lucky to be able to attend two French Regional lunches during our one week visit. The Cotes du Rhone and Bordeaux regionals were well represented. Every course provided a new taste treat. A Celery Zephyr with Black Truffles was served with an light mousse topping. Different and delicious. The Bordeaux were from the Rothschild Domaines, and lived up to their reputation.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: October 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu October 31, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 2 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons: Not worth it

      "3D Dessert Discovery"

      Attended 10/25, Sweet Seats

      Offerings on hand -
      # of Individual Dessert Areas: 4
      # of Individual Dessert Items: 10

      Sweet Seats had 3 additional dessert items.

      One additional item was delivered to each of the Sweet Seats that I was not able to taste. Luckily I was warned that it included cheese before I tried it (allergies). No real description was given of the item. My wife, who did try it, didn't seem impressed.

      All the rest was questionable in it's presence (cold cuts, fruit, cheese, etc.). It's debatable if these should be called "desserts" but that is really up to personal preference.

      Most of the fruit were not above the level of items that can be bought at an average supermarket. No special preparation was done to the fruit, seemed like items that were either dumped into a bowl.

      Some of the items, like the popcorn, were a complete throw away in effort. They were nice, in theory, but by no means should be considered a "top billed" item. I'm sorry but popcorn is popcorn, flavoring it with different glazes really doesn't raise it's profile enough to justify the entrance price.

      The same about the "charcuterie" and "cheese" items. Nothing there struck me as anything special and seemed to be haphazardly dumped into serving containers.

      And, at an even more subjective personal opinion, of the desserts only three were worth a second visit: Teeny Weeny Hot Dog Cart, 1 item from the Bites of Cake, and 1 item from the Sweet Seats. All the rest were less than impressive.

      All the rest of the items varied between tasteless (almost all the items from "Bites of Cake") and tooth achingly sweet (the chocolate "cone" in the Sweet Seats).

      The placement of the "Sweet Seats" was also a considerable disappointment. Our table was literally up against the stage, right in front of one of the speakers. It was uncomfortable both physically and socially.

      On a whole, certainly not worth the price of admission.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2009
      Location: Buffalo, NY
      Posts: 20
      Review Date: Wed October 31, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 3 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Not much
      Cons: too costly, too much, too little

      My two teen daughters (14 and 16) and I attended the 3D Dessert event and were very disappointed - first of all, not at all family or youth friendly - more like an adult event - though the reservation person assured me the girls would be fine - and they had the place packed - it was supposed to be "cool" looking (the 3D thing was a big flop - a few ceiling lights and that's it) but it seemed like something between teen awkward and adult silly - just not the right atmosphere for Disney - food was OK - emphasis was on the alcohol I think.
      Overall, I find the trend toward serving alcohol at Disney a very disturbing one - and I drink!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: October 2012
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sat October 13, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Once in a lifetime experience, time with Chef Jens
      Cons: More tables would have been good

      My wife and I were fortunate enough to do the
      Marketplace VIP Access Chef Tour this past week (Oct 10) and to say that we loved it would be an understatement. The tour was very similar to the review posted by Ms. Koma except they added a surprise menu item for us from Greece. All of the other food and drinks chosen (the same as described in Ms. Koma's review) were outstanding and the high point was clearly time spent talking to Chef Jens. He could not have been any more gracious with his time and he was wonderful about taking questions and sharing his insights into the dishes. Our tour was different in that the Passport books we received were stamped ahead of time with all of our stops and they were always offering us bottled water. My only suggestion would be to add some more tables for when we stopped to sample food as sometimes we still had drinks and so that got a little tricky but that is very very minor when compared to the overall experience. Definitely would do it again!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: May 2008
      Location: Ruston, LA
      Posts: 24
      Review Date: Mon January 16, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros):

      My family and I were in WDW for the Food and Wine Festival 10/28 to 11/5/11. We did the wine tasting with the MacMurray Ranch. Really nice hope its offered next year.
      Click here to see this users profile  

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.