Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • MouseDaddy

      Registered: April 2008
      Location: Darien, Il
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Sat May 30, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Variety of foods; tapas sized servings
      Cons: none

      My wife & I experienced the F&W fest on our first trip to Disney back in '99. We've been lucky enough to get back a few times since and it seems this event just gets better & better. The food and wine, the music, the presentations. Something for everyone.
      Now we're back with our 14 yr old twins and the family loves the idea of purchasing smaller plates that we can all share. If we find something one of us really enjoys, we grab another little taste.
      We were in Epcot on 4/3/15 and we came with some friends who now live in the area with their two daughters. We had carne asada tacos from the Mexico booth. We always go to the China booth to get those candied strawberries. We loved the chicken buns and spring rolls they had this year. I think we went back to get 2 extra orders of those buns. Delish! Manicotti from the Italy booth, burnt ends hash from one of the bbq booths. Everything was excellent.
      Food, wine, music, family & Disney. Does life get any better? I only wish we could go every year.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2015
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Tue April 28, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 4 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros):

      Re-posted on behalf of Fitzboyzmom

      I attended this for the first time in September with my son. We had planned to hangout here for a couple days, but never came back after the first day. Some of the food was good and it was fun to try some new things. It was not fun eating on top of garbage cans or trying to beat someone to a table. At one location, my son sat at a high table while I was in line and some woman went and stood in front of it because I guess she thought he was invisible or didn't count. She left as soon as I arrived....but weird.

      There were so many people drinking so much, that it really wasn't place for children of any age. I get it and like to indulge, but it was not a place for families at all. I was really disappointed and don't plan to attend again.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: October 2006
      Location: New Jersey
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Fri November 7, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Amazing Choices
      Cons: Getting Pricey

      15 festivals later and the food just keeps getting better. Something for everyone. Prices are starting to creep into the "Are you kidding me" zone. Someone needs to pay attention to this. Had some amazing food and to get seconds on some!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Tue November 4, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Lots of options

      Food & Wine festival is one of my favorite events to visit for! There are so many different options to choose from. Not only having the extra food choices to try but also having the seminars and concerts are a great experience. My boyfriend & I visited in 2012 for food & wine, we had the deluxe dining plan which was one of the best things we could have had for this event! Since you are able to use snacks for the event we did not end up paying out of pocket & we tried so may foods & drinks. It is a busy time of year but so worth it. We got a passport at the begining of the trip & got a stamp from almost every country. One of the best things the we tried was the chicken roll from japan- I think I got that 3 times that trip- its that good! It is nice to have the oppertunity to sample foods from different countries without having to purchase a whole meal.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: October 2014
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Sun October 12, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, beer, wine
      Cons: very busy on weekend

      Grand time last week. Went for two and a half days. Friday night was very busy. Monday was better. Lines on Friday night and Sunday were very long, but we persevered. Some wonderful foods. A few, Italy and Poland not so good. Beer flights very popular with our party. Canada and France were our party's favorites.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: October 2005
      Posts: 66
      Review Date: Sun October 5, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Chance to sample foods from all over the world
      Cons: Some items a bit pricey, or small portions

      I found the foods at the 2014 International Marketplaces to be of overall very good quality. Some of my favorites: the Berliner (donut) at the Germany marketplace; the Grilled Lamb Chop in Australia; the Gratin de crozet de savoie in France, along with the Sea Salt Caramel Creme Brulee. My least favorites were at the Italian booth -- both the ravioli and chicken were overpriced and rather blah. I would definitely recommend trying everything, though. You never know what you're going to like until to try it! See what others have rated the foods in our annual survey here: https://www.surveymonkey.com/results/SM-MGP8GTJL/

      Or rate for yourself here: https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/ZKZV6MK
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  

      Registered: October 2010
      Location: boston
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Wed October 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The BEST event at WDW!
      Cons: The diet I have to go on after

      Another amazing and impressive year at the Epcot Food & Wine Fest! Thought I would share my fav's this year...a must try for foodies!
      Brazil - The Crispy Pork Belly with black beans, onion, avocado, cilantro - incredible!
      Australia- The Lamb chop with the Penfolds 8 Cab/Shiraz - just amazing.
      South Korea - Lettuce wrap!!!
      Africa - Berbere Style Beef with Wolftrap Red or Porcupine Syrah - I went back for seconds...so good.
      Cheese - Almond crusted Blue Cheese souffle and the Cheese selection are incredible - I want to move to the land of cheese!
      Try the big bad red....really perfect with the souffle!
      Japan - spicy hand roll...way easier to eat on the go...and great!
      New Zealand - Venison sausage was so good - would have liked a different red with this but all the wines are good!
      France - I love the escargot...per usual.
      Canada - The filet never dissapoints! Great with the Syrah.
      Hawaii - Pork slider....so good!
      Dessert&Champ - GREAT..all great but loved the Morello Cherry Pistacio Mousse!
      Scotland - great new addition! Banoffee tart if you want something sweet or the salmon was good as well! Scotch flight is a GREAT DEAL.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: October 2006
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Mon October 21, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very tasty; melt in your melt
      Cons: Too small of a portion for the price

      The lobster tail was very tender and tasty. Unfortunately, the size is too small; more like a langostino than a lobster tail. But I'm glad I tried it!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: March 2006
      Location: Celebration, FL
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Fri September 27, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious and fun!
      Cons: None at this time!

      So just a quick general review - I was at the Cast preview last night (open to the public, too) and had just a few things.

      At the Cheese booth - the Almond-Crusted Blue Cheese Souffle with Fig Jam was fabulous - especially paired with the suggested Once Upon a Vine's The Big Bad Red Blend!

      At Florida Local - I also loved the Florida Grass Fed Beef Slider with Monterey Jack and Sweet & Hot Pickles, which I enjoyed with the remainder of the wine from the Cheese booth in the shade and breeze at the America Gardens Theater across the way.

      For dessert at Scotland - have to say I'm not going to be a fan of the Scottish Banoffee Tart with Bananas, Scotch Whiskey Toffee, Walkers Shortbread Crumbles and Sweet Cream. The description sounded awesome - in reality it seemed rather bland, and none of those flavors, except banana, was discernable.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: July 2009
      Location: Mesquite, TX
      Posts: 24
      Review Date: Sun December 2, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): trying different foods & beers, snacks from DDDP
      Cons: 3-4 kiosks were slow in getting people through their lines no organization

      Went to the F&WF on 11/11/2012. We were on the Deluxe Dining Plan so it was great for me & my DH to eat our way around Epcot using the snacks from DDDP. They were put to great use. Will be doing this again.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: June 2011
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Wed November 14, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good mix of new items and old favorites

      My family and I loved everythings we tried this year! The stand out food items we hope to see again are: New sushi handrolls at Japan (great value too!) Mongolian beef on steamed bun in China, Sausage in a pretzel roll at Germany (always a favorite of ours) and the new Schinken Nudel pasta gratin also at Germany. Eventhough prices seem a little high to most, if you plan ahead, share food items, and do your Allears research, it can be a fun and affordable way to eat around "The World!"
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: March 2009
      Location: Carmel, IN
      Posts: 20
      Review Date: Fri November 2, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food
      Cons: Crowds

      This was our first experience at the F&W fest. I would start by warning people (especially families) to go during the week! There were very few lines and manageable crowds. Once the weekend hit, it turned into a Drunk Fest. Groups of people getting loud and definitely not setting the "family" tone.

      The food offerings were great. There was a diverse sampling that would fit any taste. I was thrilled to find out that the food booth samples count as snacks on the dining plan. We always have tons of snacks left over, so this was a treat.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: November 2011
      Location: Groveland
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Mon October 29, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Selection of Foods, Wines, Beers getting better

      This was easily my 8th year attending this event. I love the Food and Wine Fest, as I have several friends and family that attends with me. BUT, once again, or should I say STILL, Disney is living up too their reputation when it comes to the price of things.

      Many of the people in my group, which included 13 people, all found that food [was again] over priced, small portioned and in some cases lacking flavor. The Escargot in France is usually a favorite of mine, however, this year it was very dry and extremely salty. The Sausage dish and Cheese Soup in Canada are always great, but still cost too much. It was nice to see that Japan was now giving hand rolls of sushi as apposed to the previous years with just 3 pieces. Most of the foods seemed to be the same as in previous years, so I did not spend the money on them. The Wine and Beer selection has certainly gotten better. The Florida Beer was great, The Grapefruit Beer was a pleasant surprise, and a few of the Wines we outstanding.

      As for the crowds, my group purposely went on a Thursday in order to avoid the crowds. The lines weren't bad during the week, and the longest we waited was 5 minutes. I also saw less of the DRUNKS walking around compared to last year, but again, we were there on a weekday this year as apposed to a weekend day last year. But thats not to say there weren't any of the totally out of line people walking around.

      All in all, I will continue to recommend to everyone that The Food and Wine Fest in a MUST SEE and EXPERIENCE event. But I will certainly suggest going during the week to avoid the long and crowed lines and also to avoid the drunks. I will also suggest that they have plenty of money on hand, as walking away from there spending at least $150 is an easy thing to do.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2006
      Location: Saint Petersburg, Florida
      Posts: 91
      Review Date: Fri October 26, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Different tastings this year then last
      Cons: So crowded

      I love this fest and we hit it almost every year. This year we went on a Wednesday to avoid the weekend madness. It was still crowded but manageable.

      Our favs were the Arepa with pork and corn salsa at the Florida stand, the Ropa Vieja at the Carribbean, and the grapefruit beer at germany beer garden.

      SOme misses were the scandanavian meatballs, which we enjoyed prior years but not this one.The escargot could have had some sauce , it was rather dry.

      It's a really good time to be had but I wish they would have adult day now and then. It would make it much nicer on those of us that are in just for the fest, as many are.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: June 2010
      Location: New Orleans, LA
      Posts: 36
      Review Date: Sun October 21, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Lamb chops & chocolate bock
      Cons: Mung bean pancakes & Korean fruit slushie

      My husband & I purposely planned our Food & Wine Festival days on a Tuesday and Thursday, and I was very glad that we did. The crowds were manageable, the booth lines weren't long, the Disney workers were very friendly and didn't look rushed or overwhelmed, and that all enhanced our overall experience. We especially liked the 2 beer flights offered at the "Brewer's Collection" booth (especially the fizzy grapefruit beer); the chocolate bock beer lobster roll, and pumpkin mousse at the "Hops and Barley" booth; the melt-in-your-mouth lamb chop with mint pesto and potato crunchies at New Zealand; the escargot, coq au vin, and sparkling pomegranate kir at France; and the Key Limen and Hurricane 5 sangria at Florida's booth. We didn't like the blandness and lack of textures from South Korea's mung bean pancake (it really would have been better with some crunch from a kimchi slaw instead of just a sauce) or their overly syrupy soju fruity slushy.

      With proper planning, I would highly recommend this Food & Wine festival to anyone that wishes to experience Epcot in a different way and to those that enjoy trying a variety of unique and delicious foods from across the world. I would also suggest that tourists stay far away from Epcot Friday-Sunday because those are very popular days for locals and can be quite overcrowded. Happy festing!
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.