Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Home » TOURS at WDW (WILD AFRICA TREK, KEYS TO THE KINGDOM....)

    mk_mainstreet.jpg


    mk_mainstreet.jpg
    supersize









    • Pin It


    • Keys to the Kingdom - Magic Kingdom

      • Reviews Views
        27 111186
      • Recommended By Average Rating
        100% of reviewers 9.1
      • Description: This four-and-a-half hour tour celebrates Disney Magic! Learn about the Magic Kingdom's history and backstage secrets. Hear stories of Walt Disney, his visions, his philosophies, and his accomplishments.


  • Author
    • Nsunukji

      Registered: August 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sat August 30, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Was as advertised
      Cons: A bit too long

       
      We took the keys to the kingdom tour (8:30am) and were very pleased with it. We left our DD(16) and DS(15) on their own for the morning and they had their own fun. Haylee our tour guide was vey eager to snow us all the hidden secrets that are right out in plain site in MK. YEs, we eventually went "underground", but as others have posted, that's not as exciting as it might seem. We learned a lot more about Walt and Roy and our kids got a kick out of some of the things we learned when we later hooked up,with them. Lunch was nice in the American Pavilion. It was a really hot day and there is ALOT of walking I really thing the tour could be cut short about 1/2 hour or 45 min and still be as enjoyable. You really have to be interested in Disney to enjoy it, which we are. Definitely well worth the price.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ruthann

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Mon March 31, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): fun! great tour guide, lots of info
      Cons: just the amount of walking on a very hot day!

       
      My husband and I are seniors, age 63 and 66, when we took the Keys to the Kingdom tour. We have never gone a tour before, but wanted to try something different. The 5 hours long tour was broken up in some rest areas not listed, but still a lot of walking. It was worth it though. Our tour guide made the tour for us. He was enthusiastic, entertaining, and seemed like this was his first time giving the tour, that is, he was as awestruck as the rest of us. The info and behind the scenes tours were great. The food was really good too, and the special gift at the end was a nice surprise! I would recommend this tour to anyone who can keep up, but if you are at WDW you do a lot of walking every day. One of my favorite parts of the tour was not on the tour! Before the 8:30am tour, we were able to walk about the empty park (main street area only and the castle area) before the tour and before the park opened. It was a real treat to walk about practically alone and to actually see the store window displays all spruced up for Christmas. It was awesome! Would we do it again? Probably not but only because we have done it once. It is well worth the money and the experience is unforgettable. If you have health, walking issues you should probably take a shorter, easier tour. One older couple had a difficult time with the walking, heat, etc. I would recommend this tour to anyone, and would definitely take another WDW tour!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jeconk

      Registered: August 2013
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Tue March 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Incredible amunt of information is shared and all very interesting.
      Cons: Food at meal was cold by the time we sat down because it was pre-served.

       
      Great tour. Even though you walk around for nearly 5 hours, it doesn't seem that long. So much information and "side stories" are told that time flies. Left wanting for more. (how about a part 2 to Fantasyland & Tommarrowland.) Lunch was cold by the time we got sat down because they set it up before you get there....maybe they could serve it after you arrive so the food is hot. This is a great tour to also learn about "Walt's Vision" and some of the many things that were incorporated into the Magic Kingdom.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      momof3inMadisonAL

      Registered: December 2009
      Location: Niceville, FL
      Posts: 80
      Review Date: Sun January 12, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): great information
      Cons: left wanting MORE

       
      My husband and I took this tour October 4 (8:30). I realized that I didn't review it, now that I have taken the backstage magic tour (separate review). We have 4 kids, all too young to take this tour, but had a chance to visit WDW for a weekend by ourselves. This tour was a must do!


      Our tour guide was Rachel. I only remember that because it is my daughter's name. She was super friendly and personable. She told us about her history with the company and it really felt like we knew her. She was very knowledgable and answered all of our questions (as able).


      She first took us to the side street off of Main Street and we sat at the tables and chairs. (To counter someone else's review, our tour guide had us sit frequently.) It was so fun to see the park open and all the guests go by. She pointed out the windows and things that in all our visits to MK, we have missed.


      We went to Adventureland and sat at the little tables across from Swiss Family Robinson. She gave us the history of Walt, disneyland etc. We rode Jungle Cruise and honestly I enjoyed this boat ride of fun facts more than the actual cruise.


      Rachel was full of fun facts, pointing out things from Frontierland to Liberty Square. We ate lunch at Columbia Harbor House.


      Then we did STAND near the Liberty boat while getting the history of Haunted Mansion, supposidly Rachel's favorite ride. She had so many facts about HM, that we couldn't remember a fraction of them as we rode through.


      We were excited to see the utilidoor, but it was really uneventful as others have said, and we did have to STAND. We were hoping to see more than the coridor under Main Street. Rachel was great talking about the pictures that were on the wall though.


      I definitely recommend this tour. Wish they had more tours like this one!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tinyallison

      Registered: December 2013
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Wed December 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very informative
      Cons: RAIN

       
      It was pouring rain at all parts of our tour. But I really enjoyed it. Our tour guide was nice and knowledgeable. I would do it again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      love2gals

      Registered: December 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Mon December 2, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): for the most part, very interesting
      Cons: utilidor segment was boring and a lot of standing

       
      My family of 5 went on the Keys to the Kingdom tour this past Saturday, November 30, 2013. I should begin by saying my husband and I took this tour 14 years ago when our children were too young to join us. They have heard us talk about the tour many times on our visits to WDW and were anxious for the time when they could join us. They were finally old enough and got to join us this time.


      I can't say enough about our tour guide, Jessica, she was wonderful! She was very knowledgeable and extremely friendly. She would have made Walt very proud!


      Most of our tour was very interesting. Jessica pointed out many facts and even some Hidden Mickeys. She also revealed various other hidden characters, including a Hidden Walt! We really enjoyed all of the facts that she taught us.


      Now for the not-so-positive aspects of the tour. I think most people, and Jessica mentioned this herself, probably take this tour because you get to go into the Utilidor. Sadly, it was a real letdown. When we took this tour 14 years ago, a major part of the tour was in the Utilidor, and in various locations of it. We got to see where they styled the wigs, applied make-up, we were shown their laundry service and told about their costumes and how each and every one had a bar code sewn inside to keep track of them all. We were told interesting facts from "down under". One of which I remember them telling us was about the amount of dryer lint they produce each day. I don't remember details but it was staggering.


      During this tour we only went into the Utilidor for about 40 minutes at the very end of the tour. It was only under the Main Street section were I would assume you see less "action" in the form of characters. It was pretty much standing around looking at a few historic pictures and displays that were hung on the walls. Not only was this very disappointing compared to what we recall from our previous tour, it was also very uncomfortable to stand still for 40 minutes after you had already been touring for over four hours.


      All in all I would recommend this tour but not if you are taking it to see the Utilidor, you really don't see much of it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jim61vik

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Fri November 22, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): very informative
      Cons: not what I really expected

       
      A tour is a tour.


      This is a 4+ hours of walking around the park with someone talking about it non-stop.


      They give you a massive amount of information, and a great deal of insight on how the parks were laid out and designed. It's amazing all the things they take into consideration and the level of detail is impressive.


      I would have like to see more of the mechanical side of the attractions how they move all the water for the water for water attractions, how they maintain the coasters and moving rides. Safety is a huge concern with Disney and their guests so I would have expected a bit more insight on all of the checks and things they have in place to insure safe operations.


      Visiting the underground was interesting although "underwhelming". If you didn't realize before the tour it existed, it might be different but most people taking a tour like this already know about it even if they don't know the details.


      I think it was worth the cost and for anyone who has thirst for more insight into how the Disney people bring this to fruition will enjoy it. I was left wanting more but in some ways I don't know what "more" was I guess I felt a bit unfulfilled.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dvcnut

      Registered: July 2010
      Posts: 51
      Review Date: Thu August 1, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Info learned
      Cons: Standing for five hours

       
      This is a great tour for the money. You learn so much and begin to appreciate what sets Disney apart from other theme parks. The only downside, if there is one, to the tour is that you are literally standing for five hours. The jungle ride, lunch, and haunted mansion are nice breaks but don't give your feet much of a break.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      grumpy1

      Registered: October 2006
      Posts: 20
      Review Date: Fri May 24, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): all of it
      Cons: none

       
      My wife and I did this on 5/22/13. Lots of walking but a lunch break was great. Jessica from Golden Co. was the best. Knows her history and adds great side stories. Worth the effort to learn some secrets and see the "show"
      Click here to see this users profile  
      fey2k

      Registered: February 2013
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Mon February 4, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Lots of info, special pin
      Cons: None

       
      Tour date Sat, Jan 26, 2013. We had Landon as the tour guide. I think he has learned a LOT since the time of another reviewer in April 2012. We really enjoyed his passion for Disney.


      The details others have posted recently have not changed. Enjoyed getting our own boat on Jungle Cruise and hearing some stories of the molds of animals and characters. Really enjoyed the use of the headsets on Haunted Mansion, getting the behind the scenes info as we rode through the attraction!


      We are not Disney history experts, so all of the information we heard was new and interesting. Would love to take similar tours in other parks.


      As other have posted, get there early for check in and then wander main street for photos before the crowds let in.


      Tour lasted a good five hours, including the stop for lunch.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Lanmon

      Registered: January 2007
      Posts: 31
      Review Date: Thu December 27, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Learning Disney's 4 philosophies
      Cons: Facts depend on the guide's knowledge

       
      Having been on the fantastic tour two years ago I was looking forward to learning more Disney facts. The tour was not as phenomenal, rather a bit disappointing. James, our guide, was quite knowledgeable with Disney and Magic Kingdom facts. James was very professional and requested everyone to ask as many questions as possible. At times I asked questions or pointed out attractions so James could explain further. At times we felt rushed and quickly moved to the next stop. Some answers were not factual as learned on previous tours or found on a Disney website. The tour consisted of Main Street, Liberty Square, Frontierland, Adventureland, and the infamous utiladors. Lunch at Columbia House was good.
      Best learned fact: Disney has 4 worldwide work philosophies...SAFETY, SHOW, EFFICIENCY, AND COURTESY. I visited Disneyland in California the following week and was quite surprised hearing those philosophies from 2 cast members!
      I highly recommend this tour. There is so much to learn about Disney World and the best way is to take a behind the scene tour.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      k5xs

      Registered: January 2008
      Location: Arkansas
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Wed November 14, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wowsers
      Cons: Absolutely none

       
      My wife and I have been visiting WDW for over 20 years, most recenty several times a year, so we regard ourselves as pretty savvy on WDW. But his tour taught us SO much we did not know.


      I generally do NOT like tours. I feel like I am shackled to someone I may or may not like spending time with. I do not care for show-offs that seem to want to ask questions of the guide to show how much they already know. And I usually feel like they d-r-a-g on and on. Wow. This was anything but that.


      The time flew by (~5 hrs) and every minute was a blast.


      Our guide (Matt) was cool, friendly, and knowledgeable.


      I won't repeat all that we saw (most is detailed below in other posts), other than to say it was all terrific.


      One thing I haven't seen mentioned is the cool gold pin we were given at lunch--very nice.


      Definitively a must do. Even for someone who hates tours.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      aurora3000

      Registered: March 2009
      Location: Fort Worth, TX
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Sat October 20, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Awesome Tour Guide, Very Informative
      Cons: none

       
      We arrived for our tour about a half hour early where we were able to select our lunch for later in the day at Columbia Harbor House. We were also able to pick up a coffee or water prior to the tour.
      Our tour guide was Rae, and I could not have been happier to have her as our guide. Rae had passion and experience with Disney that made me want to run right out to Casting that day. Rae was very knowledgeable and organized, which was key as the park became busy and congested. It was helpful to have the headsets, as well.
      I felt as though there were plenty of breaks where we could rest in the shade as Rae shared history on the Disney company. Our lunch at Columbia Harbor House was in a quiet, private spot in the restaurant.
      The tour took us through the Magic Kingdom on a private boat on the Jungle Cruise, on the Haunted Mansion, and backstage areas including the Utilidor. It was a lot of walking over a period of about 5 hours. I do not recommend it if you are looking to preserve the Magic or if it is your first visit. However, it is perfect for those who have been coming to WDW for years and want that behind the scenes view of the Magic Kingdom. Overall a terrific experience.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      disneyhardin

      Registered: June 2010
      Posts: 46
      Review Date: Thu October 11, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tour Guide, Information Presented
      Cons: Lots of Walking/Standing

       
      We went on the Keys to the Kingdom Tour Oct 6th with tour guide Robert. It was fantastic.


      Robert had a true love of Disney that he shared with us. The information he presented was very interesting even to someone like me who has read lots of Disney books already.


      The provided lunch was very good and was all spread out and waiting for us when we arrived at Columbia Harbor House.


      The "behind the scenes" parts were great, especially the utilidors and being able to see what goes on down there.


      The only negative is just the long amount of time you are on your feet. Robert did try to find places with benches/ledges for us to stop and have a place to sit while he talked/took questions.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      pooh2001

      Registered: August 2006
      Location: USA
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sun July 8, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Most informative tour we have taken in WDW
      Cons: You must like to walk - we walked over 2 miles on the tour

       
      Keys to the Kingdom Tour at 8:30 am June 2012
      Best Tour Ever - highly recommended
      Included a ride on Jungle Cruise & Haunted Mansion


      Lunch with tour @ Columbia Harbor House – Tuna, salad & chicken fingers were on the table with our KTTK pins, Food was fresh.


      So much info from Claire, great tour guide. Saw the Splash Mt. water system, learned about the hidden CM doors, names on the buildings, info about Haunted Mansion, Pirates and Jungle cruise. Saw the utilidors, she explained how CM get around. We also went back stage and viewed the floats, Tinker Bell ‘flys’ on a guide wire @ 27 MPH – ‘lands’ in a net held by 2 large men. Tinker Bell has to be 5’ or less and less than 100 pounds.


      We even had our groups picture taken by a PhotoPass photographer in front of the MK castle. Everyone got a copy of the picture on their PhotoPass cards.


      Ye, we have read about Walt & Roy Disney and their history and parks, but this tour is still #1 for us. Loved all the information we were told.


      Highly recommend the tour - even on a rainy day (Tropical Storm Debby) like we did!
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.