Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • sandyl

      Registered: December 2007
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Fri October 14, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very Informative
      Cons: none

       
      On December 18th we took a tour of "behind the seeds' at the land in epcot - we had been talking about this your for years and finally got around to it. Our tour guide was "Eddie" - Eddie was very knowledgable, witty and everyone in the group enjoyed the tour very much (including the teenagers that were part of the group). Interesting and important to see how food can be grown in various eco-structures. Since we returned home, we have mentioned to a friends that will be going to WDW to take the time for this fun and informative tour and ask about having Eddie as their guide. The tour is a must.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      KarissaB1

      Registered: December 2012
      Location: United States
      Posts: 31
      Review Date: Fri September 16, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Educational possibilities
      Cons: Heat

       
      This tour was not only reasonable, it was very informative. It is roughly 1-1.25 hours long. Our guide was Chelsea. She was very informative throughout the tour. I highly recommend this tour for anyone who is into gardening, has a thirst for knowledge, or for anyone wanting to have your child encounter something educational while on the trip. You learn and see so many neat things. My daughter loved feeding the tilapia.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      maze4

      Registered: March 2013
      Location: Pennsylvania
      Posts: 62
      Review Date: Sat June 18, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): gained more knowledge
      Cons: issues with reservations

       
      I had booked this tour 180 days in advance along with carriage ride. I checked again at the 90 day mark no issues. I had coupon for discount which was noted. We arrived after eating at Garden Grill for breakfast as we wanted the first tour. My dh went to check us in and they couldn't find our ressies. I forgot to bring confirmation # with us so lesson learned. I do have to say the castmembers tried everything to locate this. My concern was that I had reserved it with a credit card so I didn't want it billed twice. I had to keep checking my bank account to make sure this didn't happen. Missed the first tour because of this which messed up our fast passes. We were able to get on the next tour and was very nice but since it was at noon it was very hot. You tour the greenhouses. I have read earlier posts where children are allowed to release butterflies. My dd7 was the only child so they didn't do this. She was able to feed the fish and taste cucumbers. Everyone enjoyed this tour and glad we did it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ars0525

      Registered: July 2010
      Location: only 130 miles from WDW now
      Posts: 30
      Review Date: Mon January 11, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): feeding fish, seeing plants up close
      Cons:

       
      Sean was a great guide! He kept it fun & informative. We could ask anything. We had a blast! So glad we did it. It's like the ride, but in reverse order. Getting to see the plants up close & hear more details was fun. They also give info if you want to do your own growing/farming. I am not a gardener or biology person, but I really enjoyed it. And our tour lasted over an hour so it was well worth it!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dreams

      Registered: May 2010
      Location: Guilford, CT
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Tue May 19, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): educational
      Cons: none

       
      We have always enjoyed the Living with the Land boat ride and have always wanted to take the tour. We have taken other Disney tours in the past and this trip we got to take the Greenhouse tour. Neither of us are gardeners but we enjoyed the tour very much. Our guide was Mel and she was very informative and pleasant. We did not get to release any ladybugs or feed the fish but we did get to taste the cucumbers. It was nice being able to take our time looking around the greenhouses. I find how they grow the plants fascinating. I don't know how interesting young children would find the tour, our tour consisted only of adults. Wish we received a tour pin at the end like other tours we have taken. I would recommend this tour to others.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      beilfamily

      Registered: January 2012
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Sun January 11, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): small group interaction
      Cons: not for little ones

       
      We did this tour on 12/07/2014. Our guide was Kim and she was awesome. It was a great behind the scenes tour and very fun. If you are interested in gardening I highly recommend it. Little ones may be bored. Our kids are 14 & 11 and even though they would rather be riding rides I honestly think they got a kick out of this tour. Lots of interesting information.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      featheredbuddy

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Tue September 2, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Lots of information
      Cons: none

       
      Our guide was very informative throughout the tour and answered lots questions people had even small children. I have wanted to do the tour the last 5 times we were here. I am so glad I finally went.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      thetony45

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 67
      Review Date: Sat January 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Closer look at the greenhouses
      Cons: Only lasts an hour

       
      I love the Living With The Land attractions, especially going through the greenhouses. I finally had some extra time in my schedule so I signed up for the Behind The Seeds tour.


      The group I was in was only 6 people so he had plenty of interaction with our guide, Kyle.


      The tour started in the pest control lab where we learned about garden pests and how to control them without pesticides and were given ladybugs to release later on.


      After that we saw the lab where they grow plants without seeds. You can't go into it since the environment needs to stay sterile but you can look in the windows.


      After that you go into the greenhouses. Everything in the tour from here on out you can see from the boats on Living With The land but here you can take your time to appreciate the plants.


      We released our ladybugs, got to touch one of the plants to watch it curls up to save water, got to eat some fresh grown cucumbers, saw now they get the plants to grow into the shape on Mickey and even without soil when needed, got to need the Tilapa in the tank, and got to smell some spices.


      Kyle was quick to answer any and all question we had.


      All in all I loved the tour and want to do it again on my next trip.


      Regular price is $20 per person but I'm a Visa cardholder so I got $3 off.


      My only complaint is that since the tour is only an hour long it does feel rushed at times as your guide tries to squeeze in all the information.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      LoriC

      Registered: July 2012
      Location: Michigan
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Fri August 2, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Up Close and Personal Tour
      Cons: More to Taste

       
      My 11 year old son asked to go on this tour and I was so pleasantly surprised by how much fun we had. The tour lasted about an hour, and was very educational. My boys got to carry around ladybugs and release them in the greenhouse. We were able to touch, smell and taste the different vegetation growing. The tour guide did a great job and was very friendly. I wish I could buy a mold to grow Mickey cucumbers at home!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      vickie1016

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: Yonkers, New York
      Posts: 37
      Review Date: Tue July 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): educational
      Cons:

       
      DH, DD (7) & I took this tour last week. Within our group were two other families with children all about the same age. This was very educational & DD loved it. Tour was about 1 hour long, the kids got to release ladybugs, taste cucumbers & guess different types of spices by smelling them. Loved that you can get up close to the plants & see how they grow, especially the tomato "tree".
      Click here to see this users profile  
      klp1015

      Registered: September 2008
      Location: Connecticut
      Posts: 22
      Review Date: Wed March 13, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      My husband and I took this tour on Feb. 28. I had done it many years ago, but it was his first time. Our guide was Mark, a recent grad of Ohio State. His enthusiasm was obvious and contagious. We learned some really interesting things about pest control as well as the gardening methods used by WDW. The tour was supposed to last about an hour, but we ran longer because Mark took the time to thoroughly answer questions from the group.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      melmac82

      Registered: January 2013
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Mon January 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): price, length, information
      Cons:

       
      Did this tour back in October with my mom and sisters (yes we're all adults). I had wanted to check it out for a while but would always forget until going on the Living With The Land ride. Then our day would usually already be full and we wouldn't have time for it. Not this time! I remembered and made reservations ahead of time. I'll say I always really love the boat ride and this tour goes along with it really well. You get to walk through all of the greenhouses, see more of the plants that are in the back that can't be seen from the boat very well, feed the tilapia in the fish section, and get a better idea of everything that they do in those EPCOT greenhouses.


      I knocked down the rating a point just because it would be nice to see some newer technology on the tour. It's still the same stuff that I remember them discussing on the boat ride for years.


      The price is great and the length of the tour is also a big plus. You can do the tour and learn a lot of new things in less time than it takes to wait in line for Soarin! I highly recommend this tour to anyone whether you are a gardener (I'm not), someone who thinks plants are cool and tasty (I guess I fall into this category), or just someone who has to unwillingly accompany their family/friends. It's informative for those who love it and short enough for those who hate it.
      Click here to see this users profile  

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.