Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • thetony45

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 67
      Review Date: Sat January 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Closer look at the greenhouses
      Cons: Only lasts an hour

       
      I love the Living With The Land attractions, especially going through the greenhouses. I finally had some extra time in my schedule so I signed up for the Behind The Seeds tour.


      The group I was in was only 6 people so he had plenty of interaction with our guide, Kyle.


      The tour started in the pest control lab where we learned about garden pests and how to control them without pesticides and were given ladybugs to release later on.


      After that we saw the lab where they grow plants without seeds. You can't go into it since the environment needs to stay sterile but you can look in the windows.


      After that you go into the greenhouses. Everything in the tour from here on out you can see from the boats on Living With The land but here you can take your time to appreciate the plants.


      We released our ladybugs, got to touch one of the plants to watch it curls up to save water, got to eat some fresh grown cucumbers, saw now they get the plants to grow into the shape on Mickey and even without soil when needed, got to need the Tilapa in the tank, and got to smell some spices.


      Kyle was quick to answer any and all question we had.


      All in all I loved the tour and want to do it again on my next trip.


      Regular price is $20 per person but I'm a Visa cardholder so I got $3 off.


      My only complaint is that since the tour is only an hour long it does feel rushed at times as your guide tries to squeeze in all the information.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      LoriC

      Registered: July 2012
      Location: Michigan
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Fri August 2, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Up Close and Personal Tour
      Cons: More to Taste

       
      My 11 year old son asked to go on this tour and I was so pleasantly surprised by how much fun we had. The tour lasted about an hour, and was very educational. My boys got to carry around ladybugs and release them in the greenhouse. We were able to touch, smell and taste the different vegetation growing. The tour guide did a great job and was very friendly. I wish I could buy a mold to grow Mickey cucumbers at home!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      vickie1016

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: Yonkers, New York
      Posts: 35
      Review Date: Tue July 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): educational
      Cons:

       
      DH, DD (7) & I took this tour last week. Within our group were two other families with children all about the same age. This was very educational & DD loved it. Tour was about 1 hour long, the kids got to release ladybugs, taste cucumbers & guess different types of spices by smelling them. Loved that you can get up close to the plants & see how they grow, especially the tomato "tree".
      Click here to see this users profile  
      klp1015

      Registered: September 2008
      Location: Connecticut
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Wed March 13, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      My husband and I took this tour on Feb. 28. I had done it many years ago, but it was his first time. Our guide was Mark, a recent grad of Ohio State. His enthusiasm was obvious and contagious. We learned some really interesting things about pest control as well as the gardening methods used by WDW. The tour was supposed to last about an hour, but we ran longer because Mark took the time to thoroughly answer questions from the group.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      melmac82

      Registered: January 2013
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Mon January 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): price, length, information
      Cons:

       
      Did this tour back in October with my mom and sisters (yes we're all adults). I had wanted to check it out for a while but would always forget until going on the Living With The Land ride. Then our day would usually already be full and we wouldn't have time for it. Not this time! I remembered and made reservations ahead of time. I'll say I always really love the boat ride and this tour goes along with it really well. You get to walk through all of the greenhouses, see more of the plants that are in the back that can't be seen from the boat very well, feed the tilapia in the fish section, and get a better idea of everything that they do in those EPCOT greenhouses.


      I knocked down the rating a point just because it would be nice to see some newer technology on the tour. It's still the same stuff that I remember them discussing on the boat ride for years.


      The price is great and the length of the tour is also a big plus. You can do the tour and learn a lot of new things in less time than it takes to wait in line for Soarin! I highly recommend this tour to anyone whether you are a gardener (I'm not), someone who thinks plants are cool and tasty (I guess I fall into this category), or just someone who has to unwillingly accompany their family/friends. It's informative for those who love it and short enough for those who hate it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Sheriff

      Registered: December 2012
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Sat December 15, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tour Guide, Informative, Tasty Cucumber
      Cons: Tour ran somewhat long

       
      We did this tour on Friday 12/14. Our tour guide Nichole was really great Her being a UGA Bulldog was a plus. The tour was very interesting and informative.
      We had a few chatty people that made the tour longer, but their questions were relevant to the tour. The only problem was that when it was over the fast passes for Soarin were gone for the day. Nichole saved the day though with that one.
      A cucumber slice was provided about half way thru the tour. Me and my son do not eat them so my wife was lucky to get three of them. She loved them.
      I would recommend this tour for anyone who is interested in farming.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Chrim

      Registered: March 2008
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Sat July 14, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): many start times, lower cost than other tours, lots of time for questions
      Cons: not much real "backstage" time

       
      I thought this tour was fairly good, but not excellent. The fact that I am not a gardener, perhaps means I enjoyed this tour less than others.


      I had a friendly guide who was happy to answer all sorts of questions and really seemed not interested in ending the tour. She started asking the participants if anyone had any scheduled activities (like dinner) right after the tour and she seemed to want to fill all the time until we absolutely had to leave. This was nice, and the tour was a leisurely event, and included a break at the water cooler (free water in cups or to refill your own bottles with).


      All participants (of all ages) were given a cucumber sample, ladybugs to release, food to feed the fish, an instructions for building a home hydroponics setup out of a fish aquarium.


      Evidently the research assistants / college interns / tour guides are divided up into different specialties and your tour may be slightly different depending on the guide you have. For example, there are multiple possible ladybug release areas, and your guide will have you release them in "their" area of the greenhouse. I had a guide who worked in the aeroponics area. My favorite area was the fish and alligator area. I don't know if you can ask the day of the tour to book a slot with a guide who shares your primary interest. Unfortunately I didn't think of that possibility until after I had left.


      Parts of the tour is in air conditioned comfort, some is in a slightly cooled greenhouse, and a slight bit is outside. The areas we saw were mostly the same as you see from the boat tour, but with more time to look around and at different angles, and some things were available to touch and hold as well.


      I took the tour on July 3, 2012, arriving in the Land at around 11am, was able to book a same day tour at either 3pm or 3:45. The cost, per adult, when paying with a Disney Visa card was $15.30. It appears that children in strollers may remain in their strollers during the tour. Although, guests that age might find the tour a bit dull.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      crafts715

      Registered: December 2011
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Thu April 5, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): informative, interesting
      Cons: nothing

       
      I really enjoyed this tour. For someone who is not into gardening, I found this very interesting and very informative. I really liked seeing how Disney grows their gardens and their own food. I would highly suggest this tour. I would consider taking this tour again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Mousekatourist

      Registered: December 2011
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Fri December 9, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Pleasant diversion
      Cons: Limited amount to be learned

       
      My husband and I both enjoy educational experiences, and so looked forward to this tour after enjoying the associated ride. However, we were disappointed to find that the information is no longer particularly cutting edge (being restricted to the limited work that's being done here) and that the tour guide appeared to have the knowledge level of a typical college intern, which left her unable to answer less superficial questions. This is likely due to the fact that it's the backstage area of a theme park, not a major botanical garden. It's pleasant, but not a serious educational experience.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DanDVC92

      Registered: October 2006
      Location: Michigan
      Posts: 50
      Review Date: Sun October 30, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fun, informative, nice host
      Cons: none

       
      Hi, my wife Dolores and I always try and do something we have not done in past on our annual trip from Michigan to WDW, and this was this year's choice. It was a very nice tour especially as we are both into gardening, our host Rachel was very informative and very much into her work, so it made for a very interesting and enjoyable hour+ long event. Would definitely recommend it especially for plant lovers.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lvt

      Registered: September 2009
      Posts: 35
      Review Date: Thu August 18, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Interesting garden tour.
      Cons:

       
      We enjoyed the tour and guide. Our leader was capable and expanded on topics if questioned. She worked in the area and seemed to enjoy it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Sharkfam

      Registered: February 2011
      Location: Crivitz, WI
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Mon August 1, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great tour if you like or are involved in horticulture
      Cons: None

       
      We own 4 greenhouses and raise about 250,000 plants a year so we have been wanting to take this tour at WDW. It is fascinating to see what an open budget greenhouse looks like. We learned a lot and enjoyed the tour. Our kids loved it too.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      renee1965

      Registered: June 2011
      Location: new orleans
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Mon June 20, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): very informative
      Cons: not a one!

       
      Living With The Land is is one of our family's absolute favorite rides. I was thrilled when my girls were finally old enough to take the tour. Our guide, Jenna, was patient with my 8 yr old's bazillion questions. She let both my girls participate in the tour by letting them hold photos of plants. They were so enchanted by Jenna that they asked for her autograph and took a photo with her at tour's end. My husband and I both were itching to get some hydroponic gardening tips and we were not disappointed. Jenna was very, very informative. I'd even take this tour again, just for another chance to walk behind the scenes of one of my fave rides.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Hilary Scuffell

      Registered: June 2011
      Location: Montreal, QC Canada
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sun June 19, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): small group, very nice tour guide
      Cons:

       
      We took this tour on Monday, February 28th. I was in an ECV for the 1st time and they accommodated me very nicely. The only problem I had was that some of the other guests would stand in front of me making it difficult to see some things but for the most part it was wonderful. Our 12 year old daughter loved the tour and is still talking about it! We would do this again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      illini33

      Registered: June 2011
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sat June 18, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): interesting and informative, great value
      Cons: none

       
      After riding and enjoying the Land boat ride during our last stay, my boyfriend and I decided to try the Behind the Seeds Tour this time. There were about ten people on our tour, all adults. We are in our mid-twenties and were some of the youngest people there. Our guide, Katie, was great. She was friendly and very informative about all of the unique techniques used in the Disney greenhouses. She was knowledgeable and able to answer all of the questions that we and the other tour participants asked along the way. Some highlights of the tour were releasing ladybugs in the greenhouses, tasting cucumbers grown there, and feeding the Tilapia in the aquaculture section. Throughout, we loved being able to see everything up close, and being able to ask questions and hear more details about how each growing system works. Katie did a great job giving us ideas for how to use some of the techniques used at WDW at home. We can't wait to try them! I was thinking about my mom the entire time - she loves to garden and would have loved this tour. I definitely recommend this tour for anyone interested in gardening, farming, or science. Small children probably wouldn't find it very engaging, but older kids/teens who are interested in the topic definitely would! This tour was one of our favorite parts of our whole vacation, especially because it was a very affordable way to do something extra special and memorable. A great value for a wonderful experience!
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.