Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • allec999

      Registered: October 2007
      Posts: 61
      Review Date: Fri November 3, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): theming
      Cons: towels, bus to DHS

       
      My home resort. Always a good place to stay. Two issues this time: 1) Friends stayed in a separate studio, and their bathroom floor would flood a bit, so they used their towels to deal with it. When they called for extra towels, they were told it would be for a fee. I understand that towel service is a pre-set schedule and otherwise costs a fee, but they should have at least asked why towels were requested. Had I known I would have dealt with it, but my friends did not say anything until their last day. Still, a little disappointing. Also - twice the bus for DHS was well over a half-hour wait.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      spunkyfunk

      Registered: November 2017
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Fri November 3, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Geyser Point Grill / Quiet Atmosphere / Lots to do
      Cons: Buses to all theme parks

       
      We stayed at Boulder Creek in a dedicated 2 bedroom villa (room 5537) for 6 nights in August 2017 as a prelude to our cruise on the Disney Dream.


      We were DVC members staying on points and this was our first time staying at BCV. We have stayed at other DVC resorts and typically make AKL - Kidani Village our choice but we decided to switch it up and give the Wilderness Lodge a try.


      Our group consisted of my husband and I our two boys (14 and 12) and 75 yr old Mother.


      I'm so glad we did. Here are the things we loved about it.


      1. Atmosphere/Layout
      Our villa faced the lake and the Boulder Creek pool and it was pretty quiet there. If you wanted to join in on pool activities you could go over to the CC pool which was a very short walk away. I felt like there were plenty of spaces to explore but none were too far away to be inconvenient.


      2. Activities
      We rented bikes and rode to Fort Wilderness stables and around the camping loops. The ride was so nice and we had a good time exploring. We also rented searays (small boats) and that was highlight of the trip for my 12 yr old who was old enough to drive his own. The pool areas were very nice and well maintained. Several shady cabana type areas available. We also took advantage of roasting marshmallows at the fire pit on a few occasions as well as hung out waiting for the Geyser to erupt on the hour.


      3. Geyser Point Grill and Territory Lounge
      We made use of both the Geyser Point Grill and the Territory Lounge several times during our trip. Cast members were friendly and the menu was good. GPG had a very relaxing respite from the sun. I loved the décor of the Territory Lounge and they had good local beers to try. We also made our way to the raucously wonderful Whispering Canyon Café and our server did not disappoint.


      4. Common area in the Boulder Ridge Section
      There were fun little places to gather and play board games or wait for others to meet up.


      We did not make a lot of use of the buses since we had a rental car that made travel to parks/Disney Springs or other resorts easy. We did take the bus to the Magic Kingdom and it was a quick short ride. WL is so close to the Magic Kingdom it made sense to use the bus.


      My husband and I both agreed that we found a new favorite place to stay. Hope this helps anyone doing future planning. Boulder Creek was a big thumbs up for us.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      amitch91

      Registered: September 2017
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Mon September 25, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere, location, kitchen
      Cons: Buses

       
      I have to preface this that WL is our favorite resort. I love the closeness to MK, as well as multiple modes of transportation. This was our first stay at BR - rented points. We will definitely do it again, and hope to buy into DVC.


      We had 5 adults (myself, my husband, and 2 adult children, one future DIL). The plan was for the two girls to share the bedroom, our son to have the pullout couch. Let me just say, the couch was extremely uncomfortable. So, I let my son stay in the bedroom with his sister and fiance' (separate beds - sorry I'm still old school). The couch was even uncomfortable to sit on, in my opinion - so if you plan on using the pull out, I'd only recommend for a small child. I understand that the couch is easier to keep clean, but if you plan on spending any time on it, I'd go to GP or the lobby for more comfortable seating.


      We loved having the kitchen - I ordered Garden Grocer delivery, and made breakfast every morning - saved money and calories. Smile Also loved having laundry facilities right in the room. It was a walk from the bus stop, or from the boat (Rm 3553), however, we felt it was an easier walk than at Pop from the 80's to the bus stop or food court.


      Another plus was having 3 tv's! Smile For our afternoon nap/relax time, there were 3 different shows on in 3 different rooms!


      This was the worst time we had with buses - we waited 40 minutes on two separate occasions for buses to HS and to EP. At AK departure, we had to wait 45 minutes for a bus to arrive, completely fill up to standing room only, then change out drivers, with an inspection mixed in. If we had had reservations, we would NOT have made the reservation - over an hour wait with all. We love the boats to MK, however, we even had one evening headed back to MK that we had to wait through 2 boats loading because there was no enough room on the boats for all that were standing in line waiting. One night there were people in rented pontoons that were blocking the way for the boats to even get to MK - we had to back up to let another MK boat through, and then coast because 3 pontoons were blocking the path for the boats. I was surprised that they let rented vessels out after dark.


      We still love it - would go back today. But thankfully we can return, and do often, so we aren't as worried about getting everything in as others.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fishfamily

      Registered: February 2012
      Location: Massachusetts
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Tue August 29, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, theming, pools
      Cons: None

       
      We are DVC members, but renting the points was in the $1700 range. Boy is this place worth it! First you start with the theming, which is everything it's cracked up to be. The lobby is spectacular. Now it is true that being in Boulder Ridge you're a little disconnected from the main building, but it's a short walk over.


      We ate breakfast at Whispering Canyon, that was a blast. We ate lunch at both Roaring Fork (good food, very pleasant dining area) and Geyser Point. Geyser Point is right on the water and it's spectacular, I wish I'd gone back for drinks at night but we were there in August and the heat was oppressive.


      Having two pool options is great, the smaller pool was almost deserted and the showers are sparkling new.


      The thing I underestimated about the Wilderness Lodge is proximity to the parks. I knew we would have the boat option to Magic Kingdom, and that was great, but they go to the Contemporary as well. And the bus rides to Epcot, Animal Kingdom and Hollywood studios were 15 minutes or less! That is a huge deal in the morning when you have excited kids or at night when everyone is tired. Pile on top of that that this is a deluxe hotel and there are fewer people at the bus stop (1st bus is yours and you get a seat) and the premium is easily justified.


      One night we stayed outside for the movie and you could see the fireworks from MK and in true Disney style, they piped in the music. It was really special.


      We've stayed at All Star movies, Port Orleans French Quarter, Animal Kingdom, Saratoga Springs and Boardwalk and the only one that comes close is AK. But the transport times for WL put it a cut above AK which has the long bus rides. This is a fantastic hotel. I can't wait to go again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lauri

      Registered: October 2016
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Mon June 26, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful and Roomy
      Cons: Main pool is a little blah

       
      We just returned from a week stay in a two bedroom villa. The villa was roomy, comfortable, and beautiful. We were very close to the bus stops, and not far from the main lobby. Unfortunately Roaring Forks was not open, so our main quick service option was Geyser Point. It was okay, but a fairly limited menu. The main pool was not terribly interesting, and I guess I expected it to be better. The newest pool opened the last night we were there, so we did not get to check it out. We had no problems with transportation, and had great experiences with the cast members there.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      annat856

      Registered: September 2006
      Posts: 137
      Review Date: Fri February 17, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Lots of space and pretty decor
      Cons: construction

       
      My family of 6 stayed here December 11th through 16th last year. We rented points. We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa. It was recently refurbished and we loved the rustic wilderness theme. Now that our kids are becoming young adults this was a great place that we could spread out and feel relaxed. We did get woken up a couple of mornings from construction around 8:30 am. But for the most part we were not disturbed by the construction going on. The walk from the elevators was pretty long. The villa lobby was very cozy and a great place to hang out and play games or sit by the fire. The Wilderness Lodge itself is one of our favorite resorts and getting to see it all decorated for Christmas was wonderful! Overall one of the best disney vacations ever! Can't wait to go back!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Michelle Norris 67

      Registered: June 2014
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Wed September 7, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet, proximity to MK
      Cons:

       
      Stayed in 2 deluxe studios first week of August. Absolutely loved it. Nice quiet place to get away from the bustle of the parks. The seating for the quick service has been expanded. Even though we were in close proximity to the construction, we were never bothered by the noise. Will definitely stay here again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      John

      Registered: December 2010
      Location: Louisiana
      Posts: 93
      Review Date: Sat December 5, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Ambiance and excellent Staff
      Cons: Bus service

       
      We love the Villas at the Wilderness Lodge. I always find the staff to be very courteous and helpful with any questions of problems that I might have. We have always found the rooms to be very clean and even though we normally arrive about 10:30AM we are able to get into our room right away. The only downside is that sometimes the bus service is a little slow.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tinkiebell

      Registered: December 2006
      Location: Alexandria, VA
      Posts: 20
      Review Date: Tue November 10, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy trip to MK, quiet and relaxing
      Cons: It's a long walk to your car; bus service is slow

       
      We love the ambiance of the WL and were happy to be able to stay here again. This really is our favorite DVC property at WDW. I can spend hours walking the grounds or hanging out in the lobby. Our 1-bedroom villa was comfortable, clean, and well-stocked. We only ate at Roaring Fork and it was fine. The grounds were always clean and well-maintained. If you drive as we do be prepared to use the bell services or spend several trips hauling your bags a long way as there does not seem to be any close parking here as there are with other DVC properties. Also, be aware that the tub, while luxurious, is part of the master bedroom and not completely private. I was disappointed that one cast member at the concierge desk seem to argue with me, in a courteous manner, about my request (I was pursuing the request based upon another cast member's instructions). I think he just wanted to be "right" but it was very aggravating.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lrd907

      Registered: February 2015
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue February 24, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very attractive loby and like ease of boat transportation.
      Cons: The Villa we stayed is showing it's age!!

       
      Needless to say we were shocked at the condition of the villa we stayed in January 4 & 5, 2015. While clean it really looked old and showed it wear. This was our second time staying at the WLV's and were less than impressed. We are DVC members and are thankful we have the opportunity to stay in various locations from time to time. Certainly Not Worth The Points Cost!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      slapps

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 32
      Review Date: Tue January 7, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): wonderfully decorated for the holidays and loved the studio
      Cons: none

       
      We stayed at a wilderness lodge studio on December 26th and 27th. We requested a room close to thenbus stop and first floor. We received both and we loved the decor. We are DVC members and our home resort is Old Key West, which has very large studios. We had a family of four and we had plenty of room. We loved it. We had great bus service and we did not ever have to wait long. I loved Wilderness and will stay there again. Beautiful resort and theme.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      WarEagleAuburn

      Registered: January 2014
      Posts: 22
      Review Date: Thu January 2, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful lodge!
      Cons: None

       
      The Wilderness Lodge is our home resort and we are so happy it is. The lodge is absolutely stunning. We usually reserve a two bedroom villa and it is quite comfortable for a week long stay. I especially like two bathrooms for our family. We love the convenience of having both boats and buses for our transportation. If you aren't able to stay at this resort you should at least try to visit just to see the lobby.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      RoccoS

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue November 12, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere, activities, dining
      Cons: Access to transportation

       
      We just got back from a 3 day stay at the Villas. Very pleased. Our first time staying at the Villas (had stayed at the main Lodge before). No major complaints. Easy to get back and forth to Magic Kingdom in the boats but everywhere else needed to use the buses which were hit or miss.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      gener222

      Registered: August 2013
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sat August 24, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautifully themed, quiet and ideally located
      Cons: Studio rooms a little on the small side

       
      Our party of 11 across 3 families stayed here from Sun 8/18 to Fri 8/23. My sister is a DVC member and made all the arrangements. Our rooms were studios which for us - 2 adults and 2 children - was just fine. For 4 adults I think it might be tight, with the one bed and the sofa sleeper. We stayed at the hotel section 5 years ago and we absolutely love this resort. As much as I'd like to try other resorts, I'd find this one tough to beat. The theming and landscaping are stunning, and except for the heat you really don't feel like you're in Florida. We even saw deer feeding in the woods. The boat to Magic Kingdom is a huge plus. The staff was very friendly and helpful. At night after all the craziness of the crowds at the parks, the resort was quiet and very peaceful and relaxing. I highly recommend this resort and can't wait until my next visit.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dgagnon519

      Registered: May 2007
      Location: Rhode Island
      Posts: 28
      Review Date: Wed July 3, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): quiet, pool, theme, staff
      Cons: bus transportation

       
      This is now our favorite resort. We stayed for 2 nights on 06/24 to try it. The staff was great. The resort had a great feel to it. The pools were both nice. The resort does not feel to big. The bus waits for us were not good. The ferry was nice. The beach was relaxing and a nice view for the water pageant. The resort was clean.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.