Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • slapps

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 30
      Review Date: Tue January 7, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): wonderfully decorated for the holidays and loved the studio
      Cons: none

       
      We stayed at a wilderness lodge studio on December 26th and 27th. We requested a room close to thenbus stop and first floor. We received both and we loved the decor. We are DVC members and our home resort is Old Key West, which has very large studios. We had a family of four and we had plenty of room. We loved it. We had great bus service and we did not ever have to wait long. I loved Wilderness and will stay there again. Beautiful resort and theme.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      WarEagleAuburn

      Registered: January 2014
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Thu January 2, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful lodge!
      Cons: None

       
      The Wilderness Lodge is our home resort and we are so happy it is. The lodge is absolutely stunning. We usually reserve a two bedroom villa and it is quite comfortable for a week long stay. I especially like two bathrooms for our family. We love the convenience of having both boats and buses for our transportation. If you aren't able to stay at this resort you should at least try to visit just to see the lobby.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      RoccoS

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue November 12, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere, activities, dining
      Cons: Access to transportation

       
      We just got back from a 3 day stay at the Villas. Very pleased. Our first time staying at the Villas (had stayed at the main Lodge before). No major complaints. Easy to get back and forth to Magic Kingdom in the boats but everywhere else needed to use the buses which were hit or miss.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      gener222

      Registered: August 2013
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sat August 24, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautifully themed, quiet and ideally located
      Cons: Studio rooms a little on the small side

       
      Our party of 11 across 3 families stayed here from Sun 8/18 to Fri 8/23. My sister is a DVC member and made all the arrangements. Our rooms were studios which for us - 2 adults and 2 children - was just fine. For 4 adults I think it might be tight, with the one bed and the sofa sleeper. We stayed at the hotel section 5 years ago and we absolutely love this resort. As much as I'd like to try other resorts, I'd find this one tough to beat. The theming and landscaping are stunning, and except for the heat you really don't feel like you're in Florida. We even saw deer feeding in the woods. The boat to Magic Kingdom is a huge plus. The staff was very friendly and helpful. At night after all the craziness of the crowds at the parks, the resort was quiet and very peaceful and relaxing. I highly recommend this resort and can't wait until my next visit.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dgagnon519

      Registered: May 2007
      Location: Rhode Island
      Posts: 28
      Review Date: Wed July 3, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): quiet, pool, theme, staff
      Cons: bus transportation

       
      This is now our favorite resort. We stayed for 2 nights on 06/24 to try it. The staff was great. The resort had a great feel to it. The pools were both nice. The resort does not feel to big. The bus waits for us were not good. The ferry was nice. The beach was relaxing and a nice view for the water pageant. The resort was clean.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      John

      Registered: December 2010
      Location: Louisiana
      Posts: 62
      Review Date: Wed June 19, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Boat to Magic Kingdom, Artist Point
      Cons: None

       
      We stayed at the Villas and again it was a great experience. The cast members at WL are very friendly and helpful. We had done on-line check in and so when we arrived a young lady brought us our packet and even though we arrived at 11AM our two bedroom was ready.


      The Theming at the Lodge is one of the best at WDW and we love the "North Woods" feel.


      The proximity to the Magic Kingdom is great with just a short boat ride and the bus service to the other parks was very good.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      PrBrandy

      Registered: April 2009
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Sat May 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Boat to Magic Kingdom and Decor of the Lodge
      Cons: Long walk to transportation and self parking

       
      We are Vacation Club Members and Old Key West is our home resort. This our second time staying at the Villas at Wilderness Lodge. We had a two bedroom on the second floor. There were a few minor Mousekeeping issues but these were taken care of fast and friendly by the cast members when they were told about them. One minor maintenance issue also taking care of fast and friendly. The Wilderness Lodge is beautiful and has good food places that Old Key West does not have. The Boat to the Magic Kingdom is much better then the Bus. Bus service in general was good this trip as well.
      The room it self is well landed out with lots of room for 4 which we had. I suspect it would a little tight with 8 which the room sleeps. The Villas are quiet and good for sleeping. We had a room facing the lake so not bus noisy.
      I would stay here again for sure.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MrsH42608

      Registered: May 2012
      Location: NY
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sun April 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): theming, location, amenities, service
      Cons: noise in the rooms

       
      We had a wonderful stay at the Villas at Wilderness Lodge. We stayed in a studio, which was clean and spacious. The balcony overlooked the woods which was nice and peaceful. The lobby is wonderul and welcoming. We enjoyed a good amount of time in the pool and hot tub. We also rented sea raycers and cruised around on Bay Lake for a while which was SO fun. Every cast member we saw or spoke to was helpful and friendly. I really cannot say enough good things about this resort. It is just beautiful, relaxing, fun and welcoming all at the same time.
      The only issue we had was the noise level in the rooms. I think we travel enough to be able to tell the difference between just very loud neighbors and when the walls are just too thin- or whatever the reason, but we could hear our neighbors on BOTH sides, VERY well- too well. Luckily they weren't up too late or too early for it to really disturb us but at one point while we were decompessing one afternoon the noise just got to be too much we actually had to leave the room.
      That one negative aspect however, will not keep us from coming back. Wilderness lodge is SO SO SO nice and relxing, we'll defintely be back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      arielwatcher

      Registered: April 2007
      Posts: 90
      Review Date: Fri March 29, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): relaxing boats available to the MK
      Cons: Circuitous, LONG bus rides

       
      Made our DVC reservations so late we had to split between here and the BW.


      We arrived on the Magical Express around 10am and our 1BR room was ready!


      The cast member was a bit too chatty about Disney Labor policies and I had to ask 2x for a receipt for the $500 cash I put down with my Credit card.


      The walk to the Villas was short and close to the Bus stop.


      Our room, 3314 overlooked the bus stop. Everything was fresh and clean.


      We awaited other members of our party at Downtown Disney with some shopping. Imagine my shock at my room card being rejected for my charge! The store cast member made a call to the front desk and it was discovered I could not 'tap and pay', which was just fine, the card could be used when the cast member ran the card through their reader.


      We rode the boat to MK and then took the monorail to EPCOT, using the Bus as little as possible because they insist on resorts sharing buses.


      We'll happily return to the WLV.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Andybren01

      Registered: January 2006
      Location: Illinois
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Sun January 6, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): boat transportation
      Cons: dirty room, rude staff

       
      We stayed here on 12-8-12 for two nights following our cruise. I have always wanted to stay here, so I was really looking forward to it. What a major let down. We had to wait forever for our villa to be ready, it was missing several of the kitchen items, I couldn't tell you when it was cleaned last....the dust had layers. Socks from the previous party were on the floor, furniture was all scratched up. This needed a major over hall, since we only had two nights we made do, I told the front desk when we checked out and the girl didn't even seem to care. Can't say we would ever stay here again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      BuckeyeBarb

      Registered: June 2012
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Fri January 4, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Gorgeous theming
      Cons: None

       
      Stayed there 12/26-1/1. We are vacation club members and this is our home base. We usually rent a two bedroom villa. They had taken a previous suggestion to improve the lighting in the bathrooms and I was pleasantly surprised. They had computer problems when we checked in, but they bent over backwards trying to make it as painless as possible and apologized all over the place. The rooms were clean and we loved the new microwave and washer/dryer.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ReaderReviews

      Registered: November 2006
      Posts: 102
      Review Date: Sun October 28, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful, great theming, great transportation
      Cons: Horrible in dealing with allergy concerns, poor management

       
      Review submitted by cats_love_me:


      I stayed at the Wilderness lodge 10/9/2012 - 10/13/2012 for a quick stay and experience MNSSHP. I stayed at the villas studio.


      I have special health problems which require special cleaning of the resort room. The resort was notified by calling the day before and the day of check-in. The information was also noted on my reservation. Again at check-in inquired if the room was cleaned appropriately.


      Day 1
      Check-in, assigned room. Room not cleaned appropriately. I then was exposed to chemicals which cause breathing problems for myself. 3 hours after notifying the front desk and speaking to a housekeeping manager I was in a safe room breathing wise.


      Day 2 Sick from exposure to chemicals..see doc...still try to enjoy vacation.


      Day 3 Going to take nap. Drilling and hammering in room above me. Day of MNSSHP. Call front desk.. given run around they don't know anything about work in the room. Later talk to manager - there was work on the room.


      Voice mail in room when return from MNSSHP informing alarm testing on day 4 all afternoon. So after being out late in the party and planning to get up and hit the parks and then come back in nap in the afternoon. Plan busted again.


      Day4 Went to park. Come back 9pm.
      Housekeeping was in the room. Sprayed chemicals for cleaning that I was allergic, which were noted to not be used in my room. Towels replaced were not cleaned accordingly either.


      Management's response on the night of day 4, was that nothing was sprayed and I was given appropriate towels. After a long discussion, management finally gave me appropriate towels, and didn't seem to care about the offending chemicals in room.


      Management at this hotel does not understand the point of special cleaning. There is a problem somewhere.


      Not a relaxing resort, not a quiet resort. Quiet pool was great. The theme of the lobby and pool are wonderful and grand.


      Had great luck with the boat and bus transportation.


      Did not like the smoking area location. When you go from the main building outside to get to the villas, you have to walk past the designated smoking section, which is in a walkway off to the right. However the smoke of course just floats right in the walkway. Florida is hot humid and smoke just sits in the air, and every time you go from the main building to the villas, it's rough on the breathing impaired.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      OneLtlSpark

      Registered: March 2007
      Location: Chicago
      Posts: 49
      Review Date: Tue October 9, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Theme, lobby, pool area
      Cons: Dark, small bed, room in need of updating

       
      We are not DVC members, but booked a studio villa at the Wilderness Lodge to enjoy a bit of extra room space and a kitchenette.


      The Wilderness Lodge itself is a gorgeous, sprawling resort with truly wonderful themeing. There are countless details that really make the surroundings spectacular, from the totem poles, fireplaces and bridge in the main lobby to the flawless grounds of the entire resort.


      We checked in at 3 p.m. and were happy to find our studio villa ready. The DVC villas have their own building and lobby area, complete with rocking chairs and fireplace. Our room was located on the second floor at the far end of the building - the view wasn't terrific (partially overlooking a maintenance entrance in one direction), but we're always happy to have a private balcony regardless.


      Mousekeeping did an excellent job the entire trip - the kitchen area was spotless, and always stocked with plates, cups, and soap. Our trash was always removed, and the room was well dusted and vacuumed.


      I do have to say that I was not entirely thrilled with the room itself. The bed appeared to be more full size than queen and did not have any sort of mattress pad or topper on it, just the standard fitted sheet. Not a huge deal, but I had hoped for a bit more luxury than that.


      The furniture was the standard Disney sleeper couch, table & chair set, and dresser with flat screen tv. While it all tied into the theme of the resort, it still looked a bit outdated. All functional and comfortable, but it might not be a bad idea for Disney to give it a bit of a facelift.


      The bathroom was also functional, although the sink and mirror area was very dark.


      Having stayed at the Poly, Floridian, Contemporary and Boardwalk in years past, I have to say that this room was definitely our least favorite of them all.


      However, the resort itself was absolutely gorgeous, fun, and lively. We loved the pool and beach area, enjoyed cocktails in the Territory Lounge, and were thrilled at how quickly the bus and boat transportation worked.


      So, while there were a few minor room detail issues, the fabulous amenities truly outweigh them.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      Firegerry

      Registered: October 2012
      Location: United States
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Mon October 8, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Proximity to main lobby
      Cons: No food at the poolside bar

       
      We really enjoyed our first stay at Wilderness Lodge. The room we had was right at the side entrance of the villa building by the walkway to the main lobby of the resort.


      I used the health club twice and found it to be excellent.


      Food selections in Roaring Forks were great. I only wish they served food at the poolside bar. We did not try Artist Point. Food at Whispering Canyon Cafe was also quite good.


      Looking forward to staying there again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      John

      Registered: December 2010
      Location: Louisiana
      Posts: 62
      Review Date: Sun July 29, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Room close to the elevator
      Cons: Problems with Coffee Maker.

       
      We had another great experience at the Wilderness Lodge Villas. We had a Two Bedroom (4528) near the elevator which was very nice since my wife has bad knees and problems walking long distances.


      The only problem we had was with the coffee maker, but called Housekeeping and they sent another one up right away. Unfortunately someone had left the basket out and it didn't work either. So we called again and they sent a brand new one, which did work.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.