Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Home » TOURS at WDW (WILD AFRICA TREK, KEYS TO THE KINGDOM....)

    paul.jpg


    paul.jpg
    supersize









    • Pin It


    • Backstage Safari - Animal Kingdom

      • Reviews Views
        5 49243
      • Recommended By Average Rating
        80% of reviewers 8.0
      • Description: Behind-the-scenes at Animal Kingdom -- an insider's look in areas such as conservation, animal nutrition and medicine, animal care and behavioral studies. Visit: backstage animal housing areas; Animal Nutrition Center, and the state-of-the-art Veterinary Hospital. This program takes place entirely behind the scenes.


  • Author
    • mcmouse

      Registered: December 2007
      Posts: 75
      Review Date: Wed March 20, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): lots of inside info
      Cons:

       
      Hubby and I took the early tour (8:30AM). We enjoyed all the fun facts our tour guide provided. We were lucky because when we visited the white rhino buildings, there were several rhinos in the pens, usually I guess there's only 1 or 2. Also, as we peeked into the elephant buildings, we were invited in and got to see 2 adults and 1 young one up close and personal. This isn't usually part of the tour, as our guide told us that was the 1st time this happened on one of her tours. They even got one of the larger ones to "trumpet" for us. Neat! We had granola bars for a snack and received a plastic mug as a souvenier. The private safari is a nice touch as you go a little slower than the normal one. We had giraffe right up close to our safari vehicle.This was a nice tour and I would reccomend it to animal lovers. It is short enough not to take up your entire day with just enough time to get the idea of conservation.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      pooh2001

      Registered: August 2006
      Location: USA
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sun July 8, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): We learned about how the animals are cared for
      Cons: The van was not comfortable transportation on a rainy day

       
      Driven around in a large white van – good tour guide, we got the seats in the back, not very comfortable. 2 women took the middle seats and a father and his 2 kids took the front. Very rainy day. The other families got into the bus before us and we stood in the rain waiting to climb, yes climb and scrunch, into the back seats. Did not see any animals – but did ride the Safari with our tour and had private backstage info told to us. We saw where animals were kept and we told that the lions sat by their door to come in at night.
      Small snack - granola bars and water in backstage safari mugs (we could take home).
      No pin handed out.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      there7777

      Registered: January 2012
      Location: Sulphur Springs, Texas
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Sat February 11, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): very informational, up close view of animals
      Cons: none

       
      Barbara our tour guide was wonderful. My daughters loved going to the hippo night barn to see very up close feeding of a hippo. You are really able to get a sense of how huge these animals are!! Tour was very informational and gave everyone a good understanding of what it takes to feed, house, and keep up with the challenges involved with different animals. We were treated to our own special tour of the safari in our own safari truck! Barbara was wonderful in describing each animal and the many challenges each one offers on a daily basis. We were given a snack mid tour and a water bottle. Tour worth every penny! Loved it!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      buzz2400

      Registered: July 2011
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed July 13, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons: not very informative

       
      We did this tour in May 2011. Although I knew it stated no animals, I still was hopeful. We did get to see two young giraffes up close. However the tour guide was not very informative. A lot of empty air (you wear an earpiece). She did keep asking us if we had any questions and it seemed that my son and I were the only ones asking but the answers were not that good. If you have been in a horse barn and a feed store, then you have already experienced this tour. The other thing that really bothered me was that we had to stand in the same line as everyone else to go on the safari (we did use the fast pass line). I would think that given the money we spent on the tour that we would have gotten our own vehicle. Since you ride the safari with all other guests at animal kingdom, it is not much of a "ride". They do give you snacks and water midway through the tour and also a water bottle to keep.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kca1988

      Registered: January 2011
      Location: Wisconsin
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Fri January 14, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Access to backstage facilities, conversation with trainers
      Cons: Not guaranteed to see animals

       
      We arrived at AK around 8:00 and met Barbara and our group. We had about a dozen folks, mostly from the Northeast and Midwest. The descriptions make it quite clear that you will not see animals, rather this is a facilities tour. We, however, were very lucky. We first traveled to the nightbarns and saw a white rhino and talked to the trainers. We then swung by the elephant barn where we also saw Willy getting ready to be "onstage." Other highlights were the food preparation area and vet clinic. We also went on the Kilimanjaro Safari as a group where Barbara described some behind the scenes elements we would not have known about.


      If you love animals and their care, you will find this fascinating. The love and care that the staff exhibit made me very comfortable, even though I am a bit ambivalent about zoos. We were encouraged to ask tons of questions, and the staff answered them patiently and eagerly. I would highly recommend this tour.
      Click here to see this users profile  

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.