Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • newtloot

      Registered: September 2011
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Mon December 15, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The story of the birth of Christ, beautifully told, along with a wonderful orchestra, accompanied by a very talented choir.
      Cons: Purchasing the dining pkg. for reserved seating definitely not worth the price/wait in line.

       
      We attended on Dec. 2--Neil Patrick Harris did a great job narrating, and we loved the show. The choir was wonderful, and the orchestra was great--can't say enough good things about this experience, except.....
      We ate at the Biergarten under the processional dining pkg., and to my surprise when we checked in at the hostess station, this was costing us 2 credits ea. from our dining plan. I may have missed this info somewhere, but it should be made more plain when making the reservation.
      I have to say, looking back, I wished we had passed on the pkg. and just taken a place in the stand by line. We waited in our line for 2hr for the 8:15 show, and our 'reserved' section didn't seem all that much bigger than the seats for the stand bys, and their line was shorter when we first walked up.
      All in all, the show is a must see. I just wouldn't purchase the pkg. again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jdetrick

      Registered: February 2013
      Location: Mechanicsburg PA
      Posts: 30
      Review Date: Sat December 13, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      Amazing! We saw Levar Burton, who was the best narrator I've ever seen. The choir and orchestra were as exceptional as always. One of the gems of the World.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Disney Ranlin

      Registered: December 2014
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sat December 6, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The music and Christmas Story.
      Cons: None

       
      We went to the 12/4/14 show. We had a dining package, so we were able to get some good seats. The singing was incredible and the narrator did an amazing job. We will definitely see this again and it was well worth the cost of the dining package and the long wait to get in. I recommend everyone see this show.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fitzboyzmom

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 142
      Review Date: Wed January 8, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      This is our third year attending the processional. James Denton was our narrator and he was really good, but the star of the show if the music. It is just so beautiful and moving. Waiting to get my tickets for next year!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dandnmom

      Registered: February 2013
      Location: Cincinnati OH
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Thu December 26, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): wonderful focus on the real meaning of Christmas
      Cons: those who were standby got just as good if not better seats

       
      The program is lovely - singers are talented, Trace Adkins did a nice job, gives good meaning to the real purpose of Christmas. Had a rather loooong line to get in but moved quickly (as part of the paid meal package). Paid package was a real time saver - saw others in stand by line waiting over 2hrs to get in... we only waited a short time. Only frustration was Disney split the theater- standby on one side and meal package on others... would have "felt better" if they had given the best seats to the meal packages up front (for what was $$ paid). Good to do if you have the $ and want to eat at one of the restaurants anyway but if watching money, just sit outside the pavilion and listen - that's the best part (You go for the music and reading -the singers and orchestra don't "do" anything - no dancing, etc)
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fitzboyzmom

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 142
      Review Date: Mon December 31, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      This is the second time attending. The first it was just my son and I. We loved it and wanted to take the whole family this year. It was freezing cold, but just a beautiful experience. It is a wonderful Christmas event to share with your family. The only drawback is doing the meal package...it is just so darned expensive. There were people being let in without the meal package, but just did not want to take the chance we could not get in or have to wait in line for hours. So, I would recommend it, but know that it is pricey with a big family.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 232
      Review Date: Sat December 22, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      We purchased the dinner package for the 5pm show on 12/20. Well, we had a scooter and medical issue and didn't make it. Thankfully the cast members were extremely accommodating and allowed us to attend the 8:15pm show instead. We were seated in one of the wheelchair areas with a good view of the stage. The whole show was phenomenal: the conductor, the orchestra, the trumpeters, the choirs, the ASL translator, and Trace Adkins, our narrator for the evening. In our opinion, he had the perfect voice for it and did an excellent reading. We didn't join the masses in the reserved area for IllumiNations, watching from Germany instead.


      The only complaint, through no fault of Disney, was the family sitting next to us. Their four year old daughter was cold, tired, hungry, and wanted to leave, whining loudly, kicking, etc., through at least 35 minutes of the show.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      the4Ds

      Registered: December 2012
      Location: Aurora, CO
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Thu December 20, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything
      Cons: Nothing

       
      This was our 3rd Candlelight Processional. We have done the dining package twice. This trip, we ate at Via Napoli at 12:45 for the 5:00 pm show on December 10th.


      We enjoyed our lunch and then had another hour before we needed to get in line (we got in line at 4:20). After lunch, we got stickers to put on our shirts with "5:00 pm" on them and then stood in line. There were a lot of cast members monitoring the lines to make sure people were in the right one. When we got in line, we were all the way past the Japanese Pavilion, yet when we got into the theater, we were able to sit right in the center, in first row that is the walkway (plenty of leg room). Any closer would have been overwhelming to the kids in our party. After the show, we had 3 more hours to enjoy the World Showcase (though it started pouring down rain).


      The show is always a treat. We had Jodi Benson (Ariel) as our narrator. She did a great job but the draw for our family has always been the music anyway and not the narrator. It was pretty hot and humid on the day we went and we noticed that during the show, there were about 10 people who had to come out, including one who fell face first off the choir stand. That was kind of distracting and my sister joked that it was good we saw the first show since there would only be a handful of choir members left by the last one! Having been in a few choirs ourselves, we can vouch for the heat that those polyester robes trap in.


      If you have a chance to see the CP, you should do it. The dining package is a good option to cut your wait time. The standby line was forming at 2 pm for the 5 pm show and there are a lot of better ways to spend your time at EPCOT than standing in line for 3 hours.


      It's also nice to see a Christmas show that focuses on the story of Jesus. We noticed there was a Muslim girl in the choir who was singing songs about Jesus' birth and it reaffirmed for me that America is a unique country that offers freedoms that are unimaginable in most parts of the world.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mmc55

      Registered: October 2008
      Location: North Reston VA
      Posts: 33
      Review Date: Tue December 18, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Music/Narration/Christmas Spirit
      Cons: Inconsistent Seating Availability

       
      Attended 12/3 8:15p show. Ate at the German Octoberfest restaurant - $50/buffett exc. drinks and tip. Received adhesive a patch to designate that we were Dinner/show attendees. Got to end of very long line at about 8:00 - this was the line for the dinner package (left side of stage area) - joked with CM, "Is this the line for tomorrows show?" - she said the American Stage seats 700 - people behind us complained they had done the Dinner package and could see no real benefit. We were seated several rows from the stage and although I did not make a full survey it looked like my $50 was not well spent. Andy garcia did a great job and the real star of the show was the translator for the deaf. Overall the show was spectacular (as with nearly all Disney productins and as with all Disney productions - the crowds can greatly impact your overall enjoyment. Generally, the crowds seemed heavy for December 3rd. Never heard any announcement about a designated area set aside for Dinner package people for Illuminations - guess I better pay more attention.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      thorntda

      Registered: October 2012
      Location: Brandon, FL
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Tue December 11, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): show, music, atmosphere,
      Cons: none

       
      Our family visited 12/8/12, we did the Candelight dinner package ate at the Rose and Crown 5:30 pm reservation, food was great. We picked the 8:15 pm Candelight show. After dinner we went on a new Test Track ride then made it over the show right at 8:15, the usher sat us about 4 rows back. The seats were awesome. The music was beautiful, the orchestra is awesome, Blair Underwood reading made much of the crowd emotional. After the show we headed over to the designated Fireworks area, showed up and had a perfect spot. We are going to make this a yearly tradition, totally worth the money!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      KarissaB1

      Registered: December 2012
      Location: United States
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Mon December 10, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The show
      Cons: Waiting in line

       
      We attended the 11/30/12 show with Whoopi Goldberg as the celebrity narrator. She did a wonderful job. The show itself is very nice. It was nice to see, however, based on waiting in line for an hour, I cannot say I would want to do it each time unless someone I really wanted to see was narrator. The orchestra and choirs did a great job. It is worth seeing at least once. Just a long wait time.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tiger_mom

      Registered: October 2010
      Location: South Carolina
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Tue January 3, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): everything
      Cons: nothing

       
      This was our first time at WDW at Christmas and this show was number one on my list after reading past reviews and it did not disappoint! Went to the 5 pm show on 12/28/11 after lunch at Le Cellier - people were already in line at 3:30. We got great seats in the middle and Marlee Matlin did a great job - she was very expressive. The choirs were great and the Voices of Liberty and orchestra were too. My advice is to make your reservations EARLY, get in line EARLY, and enjoy the show. The reserved area for Illuminations was a nice bonus although it was like being in a stampede trying to get out of the park afterwards.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wdwamanda

      Registered: August 2009
      Location: MA
      Posts: 65
      Review Date: Mon January 2, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Edward James Olmos, pretty much everything
      Cons: Dining package not necessary for our show

       
      Even though we have been to WDW many times over Christmas, for whatever reason we've never seen the Candlelight Processional. This year I decided to surprise my mom with the dining package, and while we both really enjoyed it, it's now one of her all-time favorite things she's done in Disney.


      We had lunch reservations at Via Napoli. We decided to get in line for the Processional about 45 minutes before our reserved show time (5 PM show on December 5). I was surprised to see that they were already letting people into the theater, and about 2 minutes after we were seated, they let everyone in the standby line in. People with the dining package were coming in to find few seats available as everyone in the standby line had already been seated. Oh well. Luckily we got a pretty good seat in the center of the theater.


      The show was fantastic. I'm sure it would be even more effective while watching the whole thing in the dark (it was sunny for the first half of ours), but I couldn't justify paying out of pocket for the more expensive dinner. Edward James Olmos was our narrator, and he was absolutely incredible. It was clear that he really believed what he was talking about, and he cried at one point. He's been doing the Candlelight Processional for years and you can tell he loves it. That made a huge difference for us!


      Admittedly, I was a little nervous that we had spent so much money on the dining package and it hadn't been worth it (even though we loved the show, we could have easily walked in and gotten a decent seat from the standby line). I'm sure it would be worth every penny during a busier time of year. I was SO pleasantly surprised by the Illuminations section, though! We got there an hour early because I wanted to see if it would even be worth staying. I love Illuminations, and I have seen it many (many) times, but I've never seen it from this angle. We were front and center, directly in front of the globe, and my jaw was dropped through the whole thing. You can only get into this VIP area with the dining package, and it was easily worth the price tag. I would do it again in a heartbeat! Amazing.


      I'd rate the Processional as a 9...definitely great. But the Illuminations VIP viewing area is a 10. One of my favorite things I've ever done in WDW.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      thingirl

      Registered: December 2011
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue December 27, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Touching
      Cons: none

       
      This was wonderful. Went on Christmas Day after going to Germany for Dinner. Had the package and I was surprised they included special viewing of Illuminations at the showcase plaza. We have been to 3 shows and it gets better each time. Blair Underwood was the narrator and I enjoyed his reading of the birth of Jesus. This is a must-do at Christmastime.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      gadabout

      Registered: December 2011
      Location: Australia
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Tue December 27, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): A wonderful experience
      Cons: no under cover seating

       
      We had a Candlelight Processional Dinner Package on Sunday December 11. Our dinner reservation at Teppan Edo was for 5.30pm to be ready for the 8.15pm show.


      As soon as we got out of the resturant at 7.00pm, we joined the line of ticket holders which stretched as far back as the Japan Pavillion.


      We were informed almost immediately that there would be no undercover seating for any of us. It was a really wet night and continued to rain on and off through the performance.


      Neil Patrick Harris, who was our fabulous narrator, quipped that it was like looking out on a slow line for the Kali River Rapids. The seats were wet and many people were drenched. Had we not paid for the dinner package I am not sure that we would have waited in line in the rain for an hour for reserved seating.


      However, the show was wonderful and well worth the effort. The music was inspirational, the narration moving and the sign language interpreter a performing artist mesmerizing to watch.


      More undercover seating would be appreciated, like the tent structure for the Beauty and Beast Show at DHS. The weather was the only negative of a really magical experience.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.