Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • IndianaHolmes

      Registered: October 2011
      Location: Southern Indiana
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Wed October 12, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): things available that typically arent
      Cons: long lines for characters

       
      We went to the Thursday 10-6-11 party.


      It was about as busy as a typical park day in my opinion. We had been in MK earlier in the week and it was about the same. After talking with another guest who went to the Halloween party on 9-30, we were told to avoid the first parade and do rides/characters/candy, then catch the fireworks and last parade.


      We were lined up for Alice by the tea cups with out realizing it, because we were waiting for 7pm and were sitting on the brick wall by the ride.


      We got through Alice pretty fast, to Donald and Daisy fast, but come to Cinderella's coach and the line didn't move (at all) for 10 minutes. In my opinion, time is precious at an event like this, so we bypassed the coach photo op and headed to the Haunted mansion. The ghost our front is AMAZING! She conversed with my husband and I a bit (in character) and was great. The ride is not different, but the attendants are spookier. Smile


      We really wanted Jack Sparrows signature, so we headed to Pirates and the line didn't seem to bad. Shortly after arriving, Jacks cast member assistant came and yelled something to the line but we couldn't hear her. we waited and waited and the line started moving again. We were almost to Jack when the cast member again yelled to the line, this time we could hear, that Jack had to go but would be back in 15 minutes. 20 minutes later he came back and we got photos and his signature.


      At this point we needed to find a spot for the fireworks, which we got on the main street side of the hub. This was an awesome place to watch because we were close enough to the castle to appreciate the lights on it but could see all the fireworks. We were needing the handicapped reserved section for the second parade, which was on the hub toward the Tomorrowland side. this was a decent place to watch the parade, but next time we'll shoot for farther down main street. It would be better to have a "long" view of the parade, for pictures and for the gravediggers!!!


      The Villains Mix and Mingle in front of the castle is cute, but ask before choosing where to watch the show from which villain will be where after the show. They don't have time to be out there long and don't do autographs, just pictures.


      We searched along the Main Street areas marked for character meets after the parade, but found none.


      I'll definitely do this again, especially now that I have a "plan". Next time I'll wear a costume too.


      My opinion... ask around as to what characters will be where during the party. Guest relations should be able to help. Hang out for the most important one before the party starts. (we were literally the 3 family to see Alice) Plan which ones are must do's and do those first. The park is packed no matter what, so be prepared. The lines for the rides were basically empty though, except for haunted mansion and pirates from what we could see. Do the frontier land character meets first, since the parade starts there and you'll get stuck.


      We didn't expect tons of candy, nor did we want tons, but the cast members gave us two big handfuls on the way out as they heard we didn't get any at the parade.


      The only thing that would make this better would be if there just a few less people.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Mama Tarheel

      Registered: October 2010
      Location: Wilmington, NC
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Wed October 12, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      Went to the event on Monday, 10 Oct. We had a great time - got in @ 5:00 and started going on the rides. At 7:00 guests without arms bands were asked to leave the park, and even though there were many people, we never waited over 15 minutes. The boys (9&10) were so excited. Some candy lines were crazy long, some were quick - we skipped the long ones and marched on. We rode everything we wanted to by midnight. Skip the early parade and wait for the 10:30 parade if you can stay up - we found a space in front 10 minutes prior to the parade. The event is what you make it so enjoy!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      KittyMama

      Registered: October 2011
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed October 12, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): short lines, plenty of candy
      Cons: rain

       
      We attended the MNSSHP on Friday, 10-7. We had a blast. We got in at 4:00pm. There was a little bit of a wait until 7:00pm then the most we waited in line for the rides was 10 mins on Peter Pan. We walk on most rides, even rode some twice without getting off or took a shortcut that got us to the front of the line. Cast members were very generous with the candy for the DH and myself, no kids this time because we were celebrating our anniversary. The cast members more than made up for the rain and we even got our kiss goodnight.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 220
      Review Date: Tue October 11, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Characters, short waits for attractions, parade & fireworks
      Cons: Long wait to get in due to computer glitch

       
      We attended yesterday's party (10/10). Taking advantage of various tips, we arrived around 3:55pm to find a large crowd waiting to get in. When we were finally let in around 4:15, Cast Members told people there was a computer glitch switching the systems over from regular tickets to event tickets.


      We should have waited until 7 to enter, because didn't accomplish much before that. Around 6:30, Haunted Mansion was a walk on, and immediately after that we were able to get a picture with Cinderella's carriage with a brief wait. Thankfully, the crowds thinned out around 7, and it seemed the CMs were diligent about checking wrist bands.


      We virtually walked on Pooh, Buzz Lightyear, Splash Mountain. Space Mountain had a 10 minute wait, but was down with technical difficulties. We did not experience long lines for candy, but some CMs were more generous than others.


      We waited for the second parade and viewed both the fireworks and parade from Main Street. I have never seen Main Street so empty during parade/fireworks. It was crazy. The fireworks were amazing, but I like the actual Wishes music better. The parade was adorable.


      I met Daisy & Donald with a 20-30 minute wait. After the second parade we met Mickey & Minnie (as a pirate and princess) with a 5-10 minute wait, and Snow White/Snow Prince, Rapunzel/Flynn Rider, and Cinderella/Prince Charming with a 20-30 minute wait.


      We took the bus back to the Beach Club around 11:50 and it was waiting for us at the stop.


      I don't know if the party was worth the extra money, but I would recommend doing it once for the experience. Plus the costumes were awesome!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Trendy2002

      Registered: October 2011
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sat October 8, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great fireworks and parade
      Cons: Too crowded, poor organizing, lack of information

       
      Though I thought the fireworks were amazing and the parade was impressive, I was very disappointed with the not so scary Halloween party! I was told characters would be handing out the candy, but it was workers and the candy lines were crazy long and very disorganized! I have never seen the park this crowded! We paid to get in and then paid for the Halloween party just to find out after the fact, we could have paid for the event only and still got in at 4 and had 8 hours in the park! We went on THURSDAY, OCT 6 and was told it would be like having the park to ourselves! Ha....not! The lines were longer than they are normally during the day and the guests were even cranky! I guess everyone was up too late! I personally didn't think it was worth the price and will never do it again. We didn't even see any characters except the meet and greets which had ridiculous lines also!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      angela923

      Registered: October 2011
      Location: United States
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Mon October 3, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Not Much, Very Disappointed
      Cons: Just about everything, too crowded

       
      Went to Mickey's Not so Scary Halloween Party on 9/27. In all the years I have gone to the Magic Kingdom I have NEVER seen the park as crowded as I did that night. While the wait for most rides was only 10 minutes, the candy lines and getting from ride to ride took time. I was actually claustrophobic in the park. To take my family of 6 adults and 2 children cost me $461.00. Money that I should have spent elsewhere. Also they told us the monorail would be closing at 10:30 pm, so to get babies (2 & 1) back to the Polynesian we left early, only to find out that now the monorail was closing at midnight. Disney employees were not even aware of this, was poor planning. Poor execution. We were told only 10,000 tickets are sold, there were more than 10,000 people in the park that night. Very disappointing!!!!! Will never do it again. Grandsons were very disappointed.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      pluto12

      Registered: October 2007
      Location: Denver, Colorado
      Posts: 37
      Review Date: Mon October 3, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): It's still fun, especially if you've never been
      Cons: SO crowded! Long lines, rude guests, nothing new.

       
      I have to start this review by saying that I absolutely adore MNSSHP and have been many times. (First-timers, you'll get a kick out of it. Repeat guests? Depends on their prior experiences.) However, the value of your $$$ is drastically less this year, compared to other years. First, it seems like the number of guests allowed in per night has increased exponentially from the past. The lines for rides were every bit as long as they were during the daytime. This was a disappointment to someone (like me!) who goes to these things principally for the ambiance, the special parade/fireworks, and, most of all, the RIDES! I used to be able to hit them all, very easily, over the course of one MNSSHP night- not nearly the case this time (and I stayed opening until closing). The lines for candy were SUPER-long and SUPER-slow. And there were bodies just everywhere- you cuoldn't get a break or space. I don't know if this can be accredited to the reduced space caused by the Fantasyland refurbishment or not. Perhaps.


      The quality of candy is about the same as recent years (i.e., "meh"). Fewer raisins this year. Still too much generic and inferior candy (hey, with what you're paying for a ticket, this matters).


      Also, I know this shouldn't count against Disney, but we had an awful experience with some real horrible people at the parade (we lined up extra-early and they tried to muscle in by basically using their stroller- with kid inside- as a weapon!) A sour note added to an already-disappointing night.


      That said: Yes, I'm going again next year. I'm giving it another chance. The party, in its heyday, was too special and too magical to just cast aside. The decorations, the cast members, the costumed guests, the atmosphere... It's worth one more shot. But if next year is anything like this year (and I was there at the end of September, on a week night), it may be my last.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      seymourmomof3

      Registered: October 2011
      Location: Seymour, TN
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Sat October 1, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Boo To You Parade, Hallowishes
      Cons: Crowd, lines for characters

       
      We went on Tuesday September 27th. Wait times for the rides were the same as they were during the regular park days. The lines for the characters were long as well. We didn't experience long wait times for the trick or treat lines however, guess everyone was doing the character meet and greets and the rides that night. We enjoyed dressing up and seeing everyone else dressed up that night. The Boo To You parade was the highlight of the night. The gravediggers really stole the show would definitely love to see them again. And the Hallowishes were fantastic. We preferred them to the regular wishes show.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Aviendha131

      Registered: October 2011
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sat October 1, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Parade, firework show, decorations
      Cons: Crowded

       
      My husband, daughter and I went on 9/30/11. Because our daughter is only 2, we knew that we'd never make it until the end of the party at midnight. As a result, I had planned our trip pretty well to make the most use of our time. The event was sold out and extremely crowded. Because of the crowds, length of the lines, and having to wait 45 minutes to secure a so-so spot for the parade, we were only able to go through 1 trick or treat station and watch the parade and fireworks. We weren't planning on waiting for any character meet and greets, thank goodness, because there is no way we would have time to fit it in. It was so crowded that moving through the park was a slow process.


      Even though it is advertised as not so scary, I was still apprehensive since my 2 year old daughter tends to scare easily. I was very relieved that there was nothing too frightening. She was fine! Even with the villains in the parade. I wouldn't hesitate to bring the youngest of children.


      Despite the crowds, we were thrilled with the parade and fireworks! Amazing! I loved the decorations on main street, too. We would definitely go again, but I have learned my lesson about going on Friday (even if it was still September).
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ky182

      Registered: September 2011
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed September 28, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Low Wait Times for Rides / good quality candy
      Cons: WAY TOO CROWDED

       
      I attended the MNSSHP on Sept 27, 2011. A Tuesday night in Sept...that is supposed to be the least crowded party nights...NOT SO!!! It was very crowded, however, the ride wait times were low or nonexistent. Another plus was that the candy is good quality (they even refrigerate the chocolate they give to you while exiting the park) but those are the only good things I can say about my family's experience. The "Villains mingling with the crowd" is a lie. They stand in front of the stage behind a rope and if you are not in the right spot at the right time, you are out of luck!! They only stand there for ten minutes and that is it. The wait times to get candy is ridiculous. Overall, this is a good time to go to the park to ride the rides, but a terrible time to do everything else due to the crowd!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dvcgirl

      Registered: March 2010
      Location: Birmingham, Alabama
      Posts: 28
      Review Date: Wed September 28, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): everything
      Cons: nothing

       
      Loved it! Loved it! Loved it! We have done Mickey's Very Merry Christmas Party twice and, it feels a little strange to say, but my whole family liked this better. (And we loved the Christmas Party!)It was so much fun to get dressed up as a family and for the kids to trick-or-treat in the Magic Kingdom. Waits were virtually non-existant. HalloWishes was fantastic! But the Boo to You parade is unbelievable!! My 6 yr old was so excited to see the Headless Horseman, and I agree that the grave diggers steal the show. It was wonderfully Disney and 'not so scary', but just right!! Do not miss this!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      shelystar

      Registered: January 2011
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Tue September 27, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): No wait times on the rides & great parade
      Cons: Printed tickets had to be manually entered.

       
      We attended the party on Sept. 13th. I bought 6 tickets online through WDW home page. The tickets would not scan & it took three people to try to figure out how to get them to go through. Each ticket had to be manually entered for all 6 which took about 20 min. We did not find out until later that there were special maps to tell you where the candy lines & meet & greet's were. The candy lines were very crowded and had long wait times. The plus side to everything was that there were no wait times for any ride, the parade was great, & the fireworks were awesome! Will do this again next year!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kizzy85

      Registered: August 2008
      Location: Washington, DC
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Mon September 26, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Minimal waits for rides, fun costumes, fun atmosphere, parade, fireworks...
      Cons: Enormous lines for candy and characters

       
      My friend and I went to MNSSHP on Tuesday September 20th. It was a last-minute decision (accompanied by a last-minute trip to World of Disney for fairy wings), and I'm so glad we made it because we had a wonderful time. We ended up passing on the majority of the insanely long lines for candy and characters in favor of going on rides and just taking in the ambiance. Loved the Haunted Mansion with the ghostly woman sitting on the front lawn and the cast members in extra-creepy mode. HalloWishes was really great too. Of course the highlight of the evening was the parade. I am definitely part of the majority in that the Haunted Mansion gravediggers segment was my favorite. The Winnie the Pooh characters in their Halloween costumes were almost too cute to handle. Be prepared to have the "Boo to You" song stuck in your head for several days! I had heard that people go all-out with their costumes, but I was still very impressed with what I saw. Will have to make more of an advance effort next time!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mmc55

      Registered: October 2008
      Location: North Reston VA
      Posts: 33
      Review Date: Thu September 15, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Parade/Great Castle Display
      Cons: Crowds/Entry Requirement Confusion

       
      Well, as usual a WDW is a victim of it's own success. I attended the first MNSSHP of 2011 (9/13). The parade was the usual great Disney event. The Castle display was wonderful. But once again the crowd level was simply too high to have real pleasure in the experience. And there were rumors if you came in before 4pm you didn't have to purchase the separate ticket but only the MK ticket or also rumored if you came in after 7p you only needed the MNSSHP ticket - so I'm not sure which was correct-of course the CM at WL said you needed both. I'm starting to wonder if I'm getting too old (65) to enjoy the MK anymore. And as usual I saw alot of people without the wristband indicating they had not paid the $56+ price for the MNSSHP ticket. I sure thought tuesday Sept 13th would have low crowd levels but there were alot of pre-school age children and I guess alot of people took their children out of school after only one week of the term or a real late school-night out. Final thought: Where's this recession I hear so much about?
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jennyc215

      Registered: January 2011
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Thu January 27, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): the headless horseman, dance parties with characters
      Cons: none

       
      We always go in September so the crowds are never an issue.The weather is perfect. The dance parties with characters scattered around the park (characters up close dancing with you!!!) are soo fun for the kids. The parade, as always, is amazing. The kids dressed up trick or treating with no lines for rides---what more could you ask for? Love it!!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.