Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • DisneyGrandma68

      Registered: February 2008
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Fri October 28, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): parade and shows
      Cons: rides breaking down too often and rides closed

       
      We tried Monsters Inc. twice and it was broken, second time we had been in line for 15 or 20 minutes and were asked to leave, something about the doors not opening. Went across to Stitch's Great Escape and it was down, also Space Mountain was down earlier and we got halted in the Haunted Mansion, however, the audio kept going, so that sort of spoiled the mood on that one. I also would love for the over 5'10" guests to stop standing in front of small children for the parade, seems like something the kids should be in the front row for, don't you think?
      All in all I think the MNSSHP is lots of fun, but needs to be tweaked so that a lot of expensive time is not wasted waiting for broken down rides. There were just so many this year, we even stopped for a short time in the middle of Winnie the Pooh. We went on Sunday 10/23 with 4 adults and 2 children 6 and 8 years old.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      chshal

      Registered: April 2008
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Thu October 27, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): short lines, awesome parade, festive music
      Cons: NONE

       
      We attended on 10/23 and it could not have been better. This was our third year in a row on the same night of the season. There were crowds, but there are so many activities that there was no wait for just about anything. We walked on most rides with little to no wait. The candy lines seemed long, but did move quite quickly. The mixture of candy given was just perfect. People of all ages got into the spirit.(including several older trick or treaters in scooters who almost ran us over for candy:-) Our party consisted of 4 adults (40,39,39,&19) and 3 children (16,15 and 9). Each of us trick or treated and had a blast!! We caught the second parade and found a great spot in Frontierland as close as 15 minutes before it began. We missed the fireworks this year as we were just getting on Haunted Mansion. The best place for catching the fireworks is actually ON Thunder mountain if you can time it right. We would definately do this again, and recommend to anyone who truly loves Halloween!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dvcmilwaukee

      Registered: March 2011
      Location: Milwaukee, WI, US
      Posts: 23
      Review Date: Wed October 26, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): great fireworks show
      Cons: long lines for candy

       
      After going to Mickey's Very Merry last year, had high hopes for Not So Scary this year. Unfortunately, my hopes were not lived up to. The Boo to You parade was cute, and the fireworks were great; but, the candy lines were long everywhere and the dance parties were packed. Also, aside from MK, none of the other parks or resorts were really decked out for Halloween.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      OkieDisney

      Registered: October 2011
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Wed October 26, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Villians show, parade, characters
      Cons: A little crowded

       
      This separate ticketed event was great. We brougt our daughter's costume and let her dress up for it. The Disney Villians show was amazing! We really enjoyed the parade too. We got to see all seven dwarfs at a character spot which was cool. I guess they don't make many appearances as a group. The fireworks were a great way to end the night for us. Certainly worth the extra price to do this at least once.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      traci26

      Registered: June 2006
      Location: Ft. Lauderdale,FL
      Posts: 39
      Review Date: Tue October 25, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons: Too many people

       
      We attended the Thursday, Oct. 20th MNSSHP. Our first time at this party although we have been to the Christmas party before. From what I understand, this was a sold out event if not really close to and it showed. The park was busier that evening than it was during the day. Huge lines for everything. The food carts ran out of food items? That one was surprising. The candy lines did move quickly though. The parade was cute, I did miss the headless horseman both times though. Bummer. The fireworks were great. We were able to see them from Thunder Mountain. We didn't even ride that many things and we didn't get to do the character parties and we didn't hit all the candy spots. I have no idea what we were doing but we do have 3 small children. I didn't think the stores had a big selections on Halloween items either. Lots of families dressed up as we were. I would encourage everyone to do the same it makes it more fun. I would give this party another chance but now that I know what to expect I will need a plan for sure.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      smallworld4x

      Registered: February 2007
      Location: raleigh, nc
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Mon October 24, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Different way to do MK, parade, lack of lines for rides
      Cons:

       
      Our family had a ball at the MNSSHP on 10/21! The only issue we had was that we did not arrive until 6:00 (meant to be there earlier). Everything we did had a less than 5 minute line (except the Haunted Mansion, but it may have been because it broke down a couple of times while we waited). We loved the parade and the dance party in Tomorrowland. Did not get a full perspective on the fireworks because we were in Fantasyland at that point on the wrong side of the castle. Still enjoyed them, but I think there was something projected onto the castle we could not see. We did not do much of the trick-or-treating since we were mainly there for rides and parade. Really a special night for us, especially since we had been to MK before and wanted something a little different. We got it!


      Still singing the "Boo to you" song in our heads...
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dopey2

      Registered: October 2011
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Mon October 24, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): No lines for the rides
      Cons: Too crowded and long lines to see the characters and to get candy

       
      We attended MNSSHP on 10/22/2011 and was surprised with the number of people there. The fireworks were nice as was the parade but the lines for the characters were very long and the characters would leave for 15 to 20 minutes every hour or so making the lines that much longer. The candy lines were long but did move rather quickly. I am glad I did the party but would not do it again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      auntie3187

      Registered: December 2010
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Mon October 24, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Costumed characters and candy
      Cons:

       
      Went to MNSSHP on 10/10/11 and had a blast (left a little early as my friend was getting tired). Very small lines for rides, didn't see the parade and left before the second parade. The candy handed out was a mixture of inexpensive non brand candy and Milky Way, etc.


      Found that the people who dressed for the party for the most part looked fantastic and realistic as ghost, ghouls and Disney characters.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Disney Mags

      Registered: December 2010
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Mon October 24, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Parade, fireworks, Haunted Mansion
      Cons: Crowded

       
      This was the first time we have ever attended MNSSHP. We usually always go the first week of December and attend MVMCP. We love that party and thought this would be the same. While I didn't like this one as much, it still was really great! I think I'm more of a Christmas gal and that's why I like that party a little more. We went on Thursday, Oct. 6th for my son's 7th birthday. Lines were crazy for candy. However, the lines for the rides were really short. Walked right on a lot of them. The Haunted Mansion was great! The cast members were really in character and the ghost lady out front was wonderful. She was interacting with the guests and was a hoot! We didn't want to leave the mansion as it was the highlight of the evening.We caught the second parade and sat on a bench on Main Street and watched the whole thing with unobstructed views. It was great! Definitely catch the second parade with the smaller crowds. If we go down again at this time of year, we will definitely do this party again as you only get to see the Halloween parade during the party.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      thejinglebell

      Registered: May 2010
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Sat October 22, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): decorations
      Cons: price

       
      We were so happy with Mickey's Christmas Party that we had to try the Halloween event. My kids (16 & 13) were a little too old to truly enjoy this event. Fireworks were nice - diff't color than you see at Magic Kingdom with the regular park ticket. The parade was nice - but again MK always has a great parade each day. I was told the headless horseman was going to be the best site to see -- and it was for the 2 seconds he rode on by. Trick or treating was probably good for younger kids, if you had patience to find a candy station and then wait in line. Honestly, for the most part - MK has festive decorations for this time of year; and if you attend evening magic hours you can see the fireworks, enjoy the rides. Hey, if you have extra money to burn - give it a try. The Christmas Party is SOOOOO much better and truly worth the extra ticket!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      JoanneS

      Registered: April 2007
      Location: Peterborough, NH
      Posts: 70
      Review Date: Sat October 22, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Parade, Fireworks
      Cons: Too crowded

       
      I expected the party time to be less crowded than the day time, but I was wrong! They need to limit the number of tickets they sell so everyone can enjoy themselves. The parade was nice and so were the fireworks, but honestly, I've seen better fireworks. I had a great viewing spot on the bridge to tomorrowland. If you do the candy stations, don't be afraid of the long lines, they move quickly, but the line at the tomorrowland terrace gives you only ONE piece of candy unlike the others which give you a handful. Not much chocolate in the mix, either. The lines for the meet and greets were very long and the dance parties were mobbed. But, the lines for the rides weren't that bad. I was also disappointed that they started closing things at 11:30 when the party was supposed to go until 12:00. That doesn't seem right. I wouldn't pay the money again to attend.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      psubelle

      Registered: October 2011
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Tue October 18, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Woody, Jessie and Bullseye @ Diamond Horseshoe
      Cons: CROWDED

       
      Attended 9/30 - Son was Buzz and mom and dad dressed as Jessie and Woody. Since we hadn't seen Woody yet on our vacation, we headed right to the Diamond Horseshoe Dance Party. There were only 15 kids there so they all received special attention from Woody, Jessie and Bullseye. We tried to come back later and it was a mob scene. If there is a special character on a busy night, go there first. Saw Buzz in Tomorrowland with minimal wait. Candy lines were long but we didn't care. Parade and Fireworks were outstanding. Wish we wouldn't have gone on a Friday night because it was exceptionally crowded for a September party. Everyone dresses up - and not just in Disney costumes. A lot of creativity and a lot to see. In 90 degree weather, there were a lot of dedicated people wearing elaborate costumes. Will attended again but will be a little more selective on the date.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Crash5

      Registered: October 2011
      Location: St. Louis, MO
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Mon October 17, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere, Music, Crowd Level Less, Disney Villains
      Cons: Keeping the kids up late for Fireworks, etc.

       
      We attended the Halloween Party on Thursday 10/13/2011. We ate dinner at the Liberty Inn, and then were right in the heart of the Halloween Fest when we came out of the restaurant. The only ride that was remotely busy was the Haunted Mansion, but in reality it was only about a 35 minute wait. All of the other rides we walked right on with little to no wait at all. The music changed throughout the park, as well as the overall lighting. We actually got on the People Mover Tour ride in Tommorrowland, just to take a break, and watch all of the activity. My daughter which is almost 6 and my son which is 7, both had a great time. We got our pictures taken with a few of the Villains after the Mix & Mingle Show. If you want your picture taken with Maleficient, line up on the extreme left-hand side of the stage, when facing the Castle while standing on the ramp which leads up to the Castle, and you will be in the right spot to wait for Maleficient. The only area which I felt was really busy, was in the Castle area during the parade and Villains show. All in all a lot of fun, especially if you are big fans of Halloween like us.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      joelsmom

      Registered: August 2010
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sun October 16, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): great atmosphere, cast members
      Cons: none

       
      Just got back from MNSSHP on October 13, and it couldn't have been more wonderful. I had worried about a big crowd...not at all. In fact, we waited no time at all for rides, candy stations, and had an outstanding view of the second parade. My son (15 yeas old and mild autism) met several characters and all of them were just wonderful to him. Halloween has bothered him a bit over the years, but he was so happy with the party that he dropped a not so subtle hint that we should go back next year and then told me this was his best Halloween ever. It really was a wonderful night and worth the 700 mile trip to see my kid so happy. Thanks Disney!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      IndianaHolmes

      Registered: October 2011
      Location: Southern Indiana
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Wed October 12, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): things available that typically arent
      Cons: long lines for characters

       
      We went to the Thursday 10-6-11 party.


      It was about as busy as a typical park day in my opinion. We had been in MK earlier in the week and it was about the same. After talking with another guest who went to the Halloween party on 9-30, we were told to avoid the first parade and do rides/characters/candy, then catch the fireworks and last parade.


      We were lined up for Alice by the tea cups with out realizing it, because we were waiting for 7pm and were sitting on the brick wall by the ride.


      We got through Alice pretty fast, to Donald and Daisy fast, but come to Cinderella's coach and the line didn't move (at all) for 10 minutes. In my opinion, time is precious at an event like this, so we bypassed the coach photo op and headed to the Haunted mansion. The ghost our front is AMAZING! She conversed with my husband and I a bit (in character) and was great. The ride is not different, but the attendants are spookier. Smile


      We really wanted Jack Sparrows signature, so we headed to Pirates and the line didn't seem to bad. Shortly after arriving, Jacks cast member assistant came and yelled something to the line but we couldn't hear her. we waited and waited and the line started moving again. We were almost to Jack when the cast member again yelled to the line, this time we could hear, that Jack had to go but would be back in 15 minutes. 20 minutes later he came back and we got photos and his signature.


      At this point we needed to find a spot for the fireworks, which we got on the main street side of the hub. This was an awesome place to watch because we were close enough to the castle to appreciate the lights on it but could see all the fireworks. We were needing the handicapped reserved section for the second parade, which was on the hub toward the Tomorrowland side. this was a decent place to watch the parade, but next time we'll shoot for farther down main street. It would be better to have a "long" view of the parade, for pictures and for the gravediggers!!!


      The Villains Mix and Mingle in front of the castle is cute, but ask before choosing where to watch the show from which villain will be where after the show. They don't have time to be out there long and don't do autographs, just pictures.


      We searched along the Main Street areas marked for character meets after the parade, but found none.


      I'll definitely do this again, especially now that I have a "plan". Next time I'll wear a costume too.


      My opinion... ask around as to what characters will be where during the party. Guest relations should be able to help. Hang out for the most important one before the party starts. (we were literally the 3 family to see Alice) Plan which ones are must do's and do those first. The park is packed no matter what, so be prepared. The lines for the rides were basically empty though, except for haunted mansion and pirates from what we could see. Do the frontier land character meets first, since the parade starts there and you'll get stuck.


      We didn't expect tons of candy, nor did we want tons, but the cast members gave us two big handfuls on the way out as they heard we didn't get any at the parade.


      The only thing that would make this better would be if there just a few less people.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.