Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • tmbcole

      Registered: November 2008
      Location: Maryland
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Fri October 12, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): MNSSHP (as a whole)
      Cons: No Headless Horseman

       
      We love the MNSSHP and try to go every year. We love how the cast members at the Haunted Mansion really get into character for the party. The entire party and how things are handled are wonderful. Disney really knows how to manage the crowds and keep people moving.


      The only negative aspect I have regarding the MNSSHP was that the Headless Horseman did not ride on October 8th. Not sure why. I think that it starts the parade off quite well and it adds something different that no other parade can. We were a little disappointed.


      In all, it was a great party and I would always recommend it to anyone who has never attended.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Amanda A

      Registered: October 2012
      Location: Chicago
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed October 10, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Hallowishes, Parade
      Cons: Crowds

       
      We were so excited for the MNSSHP this year. We went two years ago on Halloween night and it was great. We attended on Oct 8th this year (Colombus day) and it was much more crowded than I thought it would be. The fireworks were amazing and so was the parade! (We watched the second parade, but the headless horseman didn't ride) All and all we still had fun. Our 10 year old loved all the candy! I just wish it would have been less crowded (Halloween night 2 years ago was sold out and not as crowded as Colombus day was)
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wattage

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: Richmond Virginia
      Posts: 83
      Review Date: Wed October 10, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Parade, lots of Disney characters to see
      Cons: Large Crowds

       
      This was our first time attending this event. We were at the 10/5/12 party. We arrived at about 7PM without costumes. I estimate that 80% of the visitors did NOT wear costumes. The parade is the big draw and is worth the extra cost of the ticket as it was the best Disney parade I’ve seen!! Disney went all out with the lights on the parade floats and costumes. The fireworks were standard Disney fair –meaning they were worth watching. Best place to see the parade is in front of Pecos Bills – long straight away with easy sight lines to see the oncoming floats. The parades starts in Frontier land so it ends sooner at this location. The headless Horseman rides through about 10 minutes before the parade begins – a real rider on a very large horse is quite the sight.

      We are two 45yo adults without kids so I cannot mention the candy situation as we were not trick-or-treating – left the teenagers at home for this trip. Crowds were large and the park was congested – but its Disney, what else do you expect. Ride times varied – we walked right onto Pirates of the Caribbean, but had a 20 minute wait for the Haunted Mansion. Glad we went once, but I don’t think we’ll go again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jdugger2

      Registered: October 2012
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue October 9, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Meeting the Villains, the parade, and the Halloween Wishes fireworks
      Cons: Poor contingency plan for rain

       
      We were there on 10/4 and it rained and rained. It actually didn't stop until 11 PM, but we tried to make the best of it. Disney seemed to really drop the ball, though. Candy didn't come out until around 8 PM and the lines were long, but they moved fairly quickly. Since it rained, there was no Villains show at all and only one chance to see the parade. The parade was fantastic and the fireworks were amazing, but for the extra money I felt a little disappointed. After the parade, at about 11:30, ALL the villains came to the Tomorrowland Terrace and we were able to get a group pic. All in all we had a good time, but I don't think I would do it again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      iwuvdisney

      Registered: October 2012
      Location: Jacksonville, FL
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Tue October 9, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Limited crowds, and very minimal ride wait times.
      Cons: Ticket prices

       
      Attended the Halloween party on October 5. This was my 4th year attending the party, and it has always been my favorite event at the Magic Kingdom. Crowds were especially light on the night I attended due to the bad weather that had been in the area during the day and the day before. Short lines for rides, and not even the candy lines were that long. The candy distributors were great and I got lots of candy! What other place can you trick-or-treat as an adult? It's nice to be able to feel like a kid again. My only complaint are the ticket prices. I paid nearly $70 for my ticket alone. I dont see how it could be affordable for a family to be able to do such an event which only lasts for a few hours. Overall loved the party!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      HeathM714

      Registered: October 2012
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue October 9, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): seeing characters in costume, extra time in the park
      Cons: CROWDS!!

       
      I wanted to take a minute to post my review about the MNSSHP we attended on October 4. We were so excited to go and trick or treat in the park with Mickey! To begin the evening, there were huge thunderstorms and it was pouring!! Obviously, that's not something we or Disney can control, so I really tried to remain positive for the kids despite the conditions. The boats from where we stayed at Wilderness Lodge weren't operating because of the weather so we were jammed onto bus over to the MK. When we got there we were kind of surprised at the amount of people still in the park for the party. I whole-heartedly agree with the other posters who said it was overcrowded for a hard ticket event. Especially since we figured some people decided not to come because of the weather- it was even crowded despite that!! Candy was set up in places once the weather let up a little, but the amount and the quality compared to what we got 2 years ago was nothing. When we attended in '10 we got handfuls of good quality candy and our bags were heavy! This year it was some fruit snacks and some Werther's, which I wouldn't let my 6 year old suck on either. The first parade was cancelled and the 1030 went on as planned. Although, I'm not sure if we missed him or they didn't send out the Headless Horseman, the star of the evening. Totally disappointing. Overall, it wasn't a very good evening. I would have preferred to make a comparison from my first party in '10 to a dry night this year. We did get a refund for our tickets though. That definitely made me feel a little better!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      NINALINDA1023

      Registered: August 2009
      Posts: 51
      Review Date: Sun October 7, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): WONDERFUL, GREAT, FANTASTIC HALLOWEEN PARTY
      Cons: NOT A THING

       
      We loved going to the Halloween Party, it was wonderful to see all the beautiful decorations, and the kids & adults dressed up...The resturants of course were the best...Getting into the Magic Kingdom was a breeze, everyone was very helpful and sweet...as they always are...cannot wait to go to the Christmas Party....WE LOVED THE MICKEY'S NOT SO SCARY HALLOWEEN PARTY....OH AND I LOVE THE CHANGES...
      Click here to see this users profile  
      RhondaJ828

      Registered: October 2012
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed October 3, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Parade & Fireworks
      Cons: Not up to Disney standards

       
      September 28 was our 6th Not So Scary party - we look forward to it every year - but this was the worst experience we've ever had. Waited 35 minutes at the Grand Floridian for a monorail (?) then when we arrived, we were stuck standing there on the platform as cast members were ushering people out of the park. It was well past 7pm - shouldn't they have already been out? Then they had ONE security line open for a party that was SOLD OUT. Another 40 minute wait. It really was ridiculous, way too crowded, and if that had been our 1st experience we would never do it again. Very poorly executed evening!!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      SusanSV

      Registered: October 2012
      Location: United States
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue October 2, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      Very disappointing. Too many people, too many things closed or breaking down, not enough unique events to make it "special". Kind of a rip off. I would not do it again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jesster64

      Registered: November 2006
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Tue October 2, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fun
      Cons: Lines

       
      First time at Mickeys Halloween party. Entered at 4pm. Families all grown, no need to stand in line for candy or character meet and greets, those lines were crazy. No lines for rides. Walked right on to every one except Peter Pan, 5 minute wait. They seemed to seat us in front of log at splash mountain all the time. We got soaked, but its out favorite ride. Runaway train seemed slower, but Space Mountain seemed faster. Saw a little of parade, but hate crowds so we went on rides instead. Viewed fireworks from the side so did not see show on castle. A little disappointing. Loved the haunted mansion. All cast mates were over done in cobwebs. Had a great time seeing everyone in costume just having fun.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      piglet327

      Registered: October 2012
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Mon October 1, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): parade, fireworks, costumes
      Cons: crowds, long lines

       
      We attended on Tues. 9/25/12. The parade was great. We got lucky and got a prime place to watch the first one without having to wait a long time. Liked it so much we also watched the second parade, although not as good of a place to watch and harder to see with all of the people. Fireworks were wonderful. Also enjoyed the costumes that people wore. Decorations were festive. Otherwise, was very crowded with especially long lines for getting treats and going on rides. Have been to MVMCP multiple times and have never seen lines or crowds like this. Have also been to MNSSHP one other time (same time of year and during the week) and did not see crowds even close to this. Maybe Disney should add more party dates in September. Glad we went, but will probably not do it again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      pluto12

      Registered: October 2007
      Location: Denver, Colorado
      Posts: 37
      Review Date: Sun September 30, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Parade, fireworks, clever costumes
      Cons: Way too crowded!!! Only recommend to first-timers.

       
      My family and I went to MNSSHP twice during the last week of September, 2012 (9/25 and 9/28). We have been to this event many times before, and in my opinion the Party has gone way downhill. I feel like a traitor for "not recommending" this event, but the quality has been steadily declining and I feel that it's no longer worth the investment of time, money, and sanity! It used to be that you could do/see most things in the span of a single night. Despite hitting two parties, we STILL didn't get to ride half of the attractions or experience all the festivities (and we're seasoned veterans!!).


      I still think that the party is fun, in theory. I just wish Disney would limit the attendance. Seems like they used to...


      If you can at all avoid it, DO NOT go to a sold-out party. The 9/25 Party was ok, but nothing prepared us for Friday. That 9/28 Party we attended was sold out, and it was busier then than any park, any other time that whole week (including the Food & Wine Festival's opening weekend at EPCOT). The lines (for rides, for pictures, for candy, for the restrooms, etc.) were ridiculous. The crowd to watch the second parade was 10 people deep from the route's start to finish! We lined up 30 minutes early and were still so far away we couldn't see anything not on the floats. The candy distributed at the trick-or-treat stations was not worth the long wait (especially since it comes at the expense of riding rides and doing Party stuff). We had some first-timers with us and I felt bad that they didn't really enjoy themselves. Sad
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Bakerman64

      Registered: September 2012
      Location: Altoona, PA
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sat September 29, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): short lines, fireworks, boo to you parade
      Cons: long lines for candy, morecrowded than expected

       
      Overall, the experience was nice; My Daughter and I were down for a father, daughter getaway. We have done Christmas and Pirate and Princess, so we thought this was a good way to round out the experiences; I agree with previous reviews that being a hard ticket event, they should limit the number so the event is more enjoyable; little wait for rides; neat to see people dressed up in costumes; really enjoyed boo to you parade. I would recommend doing this once to experience Disney magic.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nlg0517

      Registered: September 2011
      Location: Oklahoma City
      Posts: 38
      Review Date: Tue September 25, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): short lines for rides
      Cons: too crowded

       
      We attended this Tues 9/18 making the erroneous assumption that a Tues night in Sept wouldn't be that crowded. Oh how I was wrong! The further it got into the nite, the worse the crowd got. My family doesn't want to stake out a parade & fireworks spot an hour before the event so we missed most of the parade & displays on the castle for the fireworks. Also, the lines were too long to trick or treat. I was really disappointed in the experience. I really feel like a limited ticket event should be just that, limited!


      All that being said, the decorations were great and it was nice to have little to no wait for our favorite rides. It just got to be too much as the crowds poured in. I think this is a great idea but for the money, I'll just go to MK on a not busy day.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Kpalmieri76

      Registered: September 2012
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue September 25, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Costumes, Candy & Shorter lines for rides and riding Thunder Mountain in the dark!
      Cons: not enough time to do everything!

       
      We attended the party on 9/21 (Friday) and got there at 9pm. We missed the first parade..no sweat, we will see the later one! WRONG. Both kids (ages 5 & 11) had no desire to see the fireworks or the parades. I had to BEG them to get candy and to just peek at the characters dressed up. All they were interested in were the shorter wait times and riding Thunder and Splash Mountain in the dark. It was pretty cool to see the fireworks while riding Thunder Mountain! My favorite was seeing everyone at the Haunted Mansion all dressed up.


      Speaking of shorter lines....I am 37 years old and have never been on the Astro Orbiter because the line has always been too long. No wait..We walked right on!


      The only bad part of the night was being packed like sardines while waiting in line for the monorail. But it only took 30 minutes to leave Magic Kingdom, ride the tram and get to our car. It could been worse!


      Definitely would recommend Mickey's Halloween Party...bring me some candy if you go!
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.