Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • jesster64

      Registered: November 2006
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Tue October 2, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fun
      Cons: Lines

       
      First time at Mickeys Halloween party. Entered at 4pm. Families all grown, no need to stand in line for candy or character meet and greets, those lines were crazy. No lines for rides. Walked right on to every one except Peter Pan, 5 minute wait. They seemed to seat us in front of log at splash mountain all the time. We got soaked, but its out favorite ride. Runaway train seemed slower, but Space Mountain seemed faster. Saw a little of parade, but hate crowds so we went on rides instead. Viewed fireworks from the side so did not see show on castle. A little disappointing. Loved the haunted mansion. All cast mates were over done in cobwebs. Had a great time seeing everyone in costume just having fun.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      piglet327

      Registered: October 2012
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Mon October 1, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): parade, fireworks, costumes
      Cons: crowds, long lines

       
      We attended on Tues. 9/25/12. The parade was great. We got lucky and got a prime place to watch the first one without having to wait a long time. Liked it so much we also watched the second parade, although not as good of a place to watch and harder to see with all of the people. Fireworks were wonderful. Also enjoyed the costumes that people wore. Decorations were festive. Otherwise, was very crowded with especially long lines for getting treats and going on rides. Have been to MVMCP multiple times and have never seen lines or crowds like this. Have also been to MNSSHP one other time (same time of year and during the week) and did not see crowds even close to this. Maybe Disney should add more party dates in September. Glad we went, but will probably not do it again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      pluto12

      Registered: October 2007
      Location: Denver, Colorado
      Posts: 37
      Review Date: Sun September 30, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Parade, fireworks, clever costumes
      Cons: Way too crowded!!! Only recommend to first-timers.

       
      My family and I went to MNSSHP twice during the last week of September, 2012 (9/25 and 9/28). We have been to this event many times before, and in my opinion the Party has gone way downhill. I feel like a traitor for "not recommending" this event, but the quality has been steadily declining and I feel that it's no longer worth the investment of time, money, and sanity! It used to be that you could do/see most things in the span of a single night. Despite hitting two parties, we STILL didn't get to ride half of the attractions or experience all the festivities (and we're seasoned veterans!!).


      I still think that the party is fun, in theory. I just wish Disney would limit the attendance. Seems like they used to...


      If you can at all avoid it, DO NOT go to a sold-out party. The 9/25 Party was ok, but nothing prepared us for Friday. That 9/28 Party we attended was sold out, and it was busier then than any park, any other time that whole week (including the Food & Wine Festival's opening weekend at EPCOT). The lines (for rides, for pictures, for candy, for the restrooms, etc.) were ridiculous. The crowd to watch the second parade was 10 people deep from the route's start to finish! We lined up 30 minutes early and were still so far away we couldn't see anything not on the floats. The candy distributed at the trick-or-treat stations was not worth the long wait (especially since it comes at the expense of riding rides and doing Party stuff). We had some first-timers with us and I felt bad that they didn't really enjoy themselves. Sad
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Bakerman64

      Registered: September 2012
      Location: Altoona, PA
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sat September 29, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): short lines, fireworks, boo to you parade
      Cons: long lines for candy, morecrowded than expected

       
      Overall, the experience was nice; My Daughter and I were down for a father, daughter getaway. We have done Christmas and Pirate and Princess, so we thought this was a good way to round out the experiences; I agree with previous reviews that being a hard ticket event, they should limit the number so the event is more enjoyable; little wait for rides; neat to see people dressed up in costumes; really enjoyed boo to you parade. I would recommend doing this once to experience Disney magic.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nlg0517

      Registered: September 2011
      Location: Oklahoma City
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Tue September 25, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): short lines for rides
      Cons: too crowded

       
      We attended this Tues 9/18 making the erroneous assumption that a Tues night in Sept wouldn't be that crowded. Oh how I was wrong! The further it got into the nite, the worse the crowd got. My family doesn't want to stake out a parade & fireworks spot an hour before the event so we missed most of the parade & displays on the castle for the fireworks. Also, the lines were too long to trick or treat. I was really disappointed in the experience. I really feel like a limited ticket event should be just that, limited!


      All that being said, the decorations were great and it was nice to have little to no wait for our favorite rides. It just got to be too much as the crowds poured in. I think this is a great idea but for the money, I'll just go to MK on a not busy day.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Kpalmieri76

      Registered: September 2012
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue September 25, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Costumes, Candy & Shorter lines for rides and riding Thunder Mountain in the dark!
      Cons: not enough time to do everything!

       
      We attended the party on 9/21 (Friday) and got there at 9pm. We missed the first parade..no sweat, we will see the later one! WRONG. Both kids (ages 5 & 11) had no desire to see the fireworks or the parades. I had to BEG them to get candy and to just peek at the characters dressed up. All they were interested in were the shorter wait times and riding Thunder and Splash Mountain in the dark. It was pretty cool to see the fireworks while riding Thunder Mountain! My favorite was seeing everyone at the Haunted Mansion all dressed up.


      Speaking of shorter lines....I am 37 years old and have never been on the Astro Orbiter because the line has always been too long. No wait..We walked right on!


      The only bad part of the night was being packed like sardines while waiting in line for the monorail. But it only took 30 minutes to leave Magic Kingdom, ride the tram and get to our car. It could been worse!


      Definitely would recommend Mickey's Halloween Party...bring me some candy if you go!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      thetony45

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 67
      Review Date: Mon September 24, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Hallowishes, Boo To You Paradge
      Cons: Villians aren't out long, Crowded

       
      I spent all that day at the Magic Kingdom and it was more crowded after the party started then before. That struck me as odd since MNSSHP is a hard ticket event.


      Any-who the Villains Mix and Mingle was an entertaining show that took place 4 times during the course of the night. Afterwards the Villains would take pictures with the guests but they were only out for about 10 minutes.


      The Headless Horseman riding doing Main Street was a perfect pre-show for the parade. The Boo To You parade itself was the best parade at Disney. Especially the Haunted mansion gravediggers dancing with shovels.


      Speaking of the Haunted mansion, it is extra creepy on party nights. The CMs add cobwebs to there costumes to increase the experience.


      Happy Hallowishes was an AWESOME fireworks display. At one point the fireworks surround you a 270 degree arc.


      There are many Trick Or Treating locations around the park. The one near Splash Mountain actually has 3 candy stations. At the end of the night the CMs are literally shoveling candy in your bag.


      There are also great opportunities for meet and greets with hard to find characters such as Tarzan and Jane, The villains, and the 7 dwarfs.


      I was wearing my custom made Backside Of Water shirt and felt VERY under-dressed once the party started. the costumes guests made were amazing!


      Well worth the extra ticket to get into the party.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tjm6515

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: Jax, FL
      Posts: 41
      Review Date: Mon September 24, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): short ride waits, 'free' candy, special parades
      Cons: more crowded than years past, nothing new 2 years later

       
      Second time to MNSSHP, last time was 2010. It didn't seem much different this year than the last time other than fewer characters out and about. It is definitely a 'do it at least once' event, but for a second time, probably not. We went at the end of September this year, last time it was two days before Halloween so the crowds were more into the Halloween mood the closer to Halloween. It also seemed as if the crowd was larger this year, there were a lot of people, but still the rides were nearly all 'walk on'. I think this is mainly due to the Fast Pass system being turned off more than the volume of individuals in the park.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fitzboyzmom

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 132
      Review Date: Sun September 23, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fireworks, Headless Horseman
      Cons: Crowded

       
      On the positive side, my son loved the event and had a great time. I liked this better than the Christmas party, but was still much too crowded. While the party is 5 hours long, it is not long enough to do everything you want because it is just too crowded. I was really surprised how long it took to get people out of the park who were not staying for the party. It seemed like people were just pouring out until well past 7:30. And people just pouring in at the same time.


      I think the party is a great idea and they do a nice job on it, but you just cannot enjoy it to its potential because there are too many people. You have to wait for everything for so long...the line for the seven dwarfs was just too long to stand in. We would have wasted at least an hour there. Disney really needs to look at reducing the number of tickets sold or offering more parties.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      megs319

      Registered: September 2012
      Location: Tavernier, FL
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sun September 23, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): trick-or-treating, fireworks, short lines
      Cons: long lines for character meet ups, not long enough

       
      This we be our second year in row going to MNSSHP, & it is AWESOME! What's not to love? Short lines for rides, cheaper tickets, candy, dressing in costume, & not to mention the cool fireworks, parade, & dance parties. It's pretty much what we look forward to all year long. Character meet ups are long though, I recommend coming early (attendees can enter as early as 4pm) & getting that out of the way, so you have the rest of the times to enjoy the party's cool happenings. & did I mention short lines??!! we waited 10 minutes for peter pan's flight, when can you ever say that? & we walked right on to space mountain. It is an overall great event for families, couples, young at heart, & well everyone! I am 21 & I throughly enjoy myself at this event!
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      slamborne

      Registered: October 2011
      Location: Rockledge, FL
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Fri September 21, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): the Parade, rides, and fireworks
      Cons: Long lines for characters. They leave well before midnight.

       
      There is just not enough time to do and see everything in one night...so don't try..you'll be disappointed...Decide ahead of time what you want to do. It is possible to view the parade, fireworks, Villian Mix and Mingle, and get some candy. But if you also want to ride the rides and a chance to meet the characters that only come out for the party, you can't do it. So plan accordingly.
      This year we went for Gaston, Captain Hook, Captain Jack Sparrow, Donald and Daisy in their Halloween outfits and Pooh and friends in their outfits. We also wasted time waiting for Phineas and Ferb because a cast member said they were wearing Halloween outfits...they weren't.
      On the candy note. Unless you want a handfull of skittles or nerds, you should just ask for chocolate. The cast members will dig for it. The Werther's carmel apple..given out behind the castle..were awesome. Thank goodness the line wasn't long because we kept going back for more while we were waiting for photos with Donald and Daisy.
      We didn't realize Dr. Facilier came down after the Villians show so we missed him. it was so crowded after the show that i couldn't see anything. There is so much to do that I guess i have to go back again next year
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      momof3inMadisonAL

      Registered: December 2009
      Location: Niceville, FL
      Posts: 80
      Review Date: Sun September 16, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): parade, fireworks, villains
      Cons: not long enough

       
      Went to the first MNSSHP on 9/11. It was my first and it was fantastic!!! (Didn't have such a positive experience at another unmentioned party). CMs were clearing the park of day guests, although it was a light attendance day anyway.


      GOt in line about 6pm for the 7 Dwarves and so when the party started at 7pm, we only waited about 15 mins to see them. Met Tarzan, Jane, Abu and Genie all by 8:30. Kids did some rides, went to dance party, did some trick or treating.


      The trick or treating isn't a big deal to me, but the kids loved it. They hit all the spots and got varied name brand candies - goofy lollipops, reeses peanut butter cups, skittles, starburts, sour patch, chocolate, etc. There were no waits on the rides. In fact, the rides that I saw were running more than 1/2 empty.


      Can.not. emphasize enough how the best advice is to go to the 2nd parade. During the 1st parade, my husband took the kids to Woody's dance party (yes, the dance parties go on during the parade). There were only 5 kids there. They got lots of time with the characters.


      We watched the fireworks from the Tomorrowland Terrace (where the dessert party was). Walked up 5 mins before the fireworks started and found a table. Some of the view was obstructed but were happy that we had room for our party of 11. Fireworks were super!


      After fireworks, 3 of the adults went to stake out parade spot in front of castle. I took kids closer in to see Villans Mix N Mingle. Loved the little show and then the Villains came down in front of castle for about 15 mins to take photos. (no autographs). We got Snow White Queen Grimhilde, Cruella, and Frollo. Wanted to get Shadowman but his line was too long. Would have liked to stay for 1115 show to get the additional characters but that is just too late for my 6,7,8 year olds.


      We didn't have the most ideal parade spot, but we could all see. Parade was fantastic!


      My only complaint is that we didn't get to meet all the characters that only come out for the party. My kids are already asking to go back next year.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wdwfan6

      Registered: March 2006
      Location: MA
      Posts: 78
      Review Date: Fri May 4, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fun Party, Awesome Fireworks, Great Ghost @ Haunted Mansion
      Cons: REALLY Long lines for characters & bus waits back to resort

       
      I went in early November 2011 and had fun. The parade is fun to watch and the fireworks are AWESOME!!! Seeing the Haunted Mansion all covered with smoke, dark colored lights and the lady ghost talking to people while they waited in line was great!! I did not do much trick or treating for candy, as there seemed to be long lines for those.


      I would say one of the biggest cons were ridiculously long lines for meet & greets with characters. The wait for Captain Jack was over an hour alone, and the one's for the villians in front of the castle was too short of time to get to everyone in line. Alot of the characters did not give signatures.


      The other con would be the buses back to the resorts. The deluxe resorts had buses one after the other, while the waits for the moderates and values were way too long. You would see 5 buses for the Boardwalk for one bus for a moderate. Several complaints were made to staff that was there, but seemed to fall on deaf ears as yet another deluxe bus rolled in.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cloppe

      Registered: May 2012
      Location: Toronto, ON
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed May 2, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Parade
      Cons: Crowd. CM not helpful.

       
      We went to the party on Sept 23, 2011. My son's birthday was on that date. We stayed in MK for the full day. By 5-ish, we started asking CMs where we can get our wristband. We were pointed to multiple wrong locations. When we got to the front gate, the CM there told us to get out of the park and line up with the crowd to get back in. The crowd during the party was way bigger than during the day. The line ups were way longer for all the rides. We only got on two or three rides. The only good thing was the parade which was fantastic.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tgaudet

      Registered: November 2011
      Location: louisiana
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Thu December 8, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nice decorations
      Cons: Crowds,long wait for candy,cheap candy

       
      Wanted to visit during the fall and heard about the MNSSHP and thought we'd try it. Bought tickets for the party for the night of 10-27-11. When we arrived at MK and saw the enormous crowds we knew it was the wrong idea to come to this event. The lines were OMG!!!! Words can't explain it. The parade I guess was nice but because of the crowds we couldn't see anything but we heard the music. The haunted mansion had an alternate entrance for the event and it was nice but nothing to special to brag about. It was however very nice to see all the people and kids dressed in costumes. That's the only part of this night that made my DD3 and DS6 happy as they were miserable about all the people (scared of large crowds and loud noises)and not understanding why the lines for candy and characters were soooooo long. They did get to ride a few rides with out waiting to long but after 2 hours of this madness we called it QUITS! The only reason my kids got any candy was because on the way out there was a candy station as you walked out of gate but it was 7 pieces of generic foil papered no name candy and from Disney! I'm still confused about that! Needless to say we will go again in the fall as the weather was beautiful, but will enjoy the decorations during the day and kids can where costumes because its that time of year but no MNSSHP for us especially not at the $200 plus we spent for this disappointment....
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.