Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • LLSS

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Tue September 29, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Characters you don't normally see, lines for rides
      Cons: Price, lines for special characters

      This was our first time attending. I had read the earlier you go in the season, the less crowded, but as we pulled in, there were signs of the party being sold out for the night.

      We arrived early (make sure you get there by 4 to get maximum time). By 5:30, we were in line for Jack and Sally. We met them at 8:30. The line was just absolutely insane. Not sure if there is much they could do for that, but man it was insane.

      For this day, we had a nasty thunderstorm roll through at about 7. Because of this, it took them a REALLY long time to get set up with the outside characters, candy stations, etc. I heard complaints at around 745 (15 minutes after the storms) that the only candy place open was at the Circus, and the line went to the Ariel meet and greet (which has to be hundreds of people long). Of course the storms are not their fault, but you would think they would be ready as soon as the storms ended to get things up and running (obviously they weren't still waiting as there was at least one station open).

      Aside from that, the parade was pretty interesting, the show was very cool, and the fireworks were great. However, I think the top thing for us was the lack of lines for everything the parks. We had a 15 minute wait for Anna/Elsa. We were 5 minutes for Rapunzel/Cinderella. We walked onto Buzz Lightyear and walked in to meet Tinker Bell. Even the mine train only had a 20 minute wait. So an interesting aside at this is to take advantage of getting to ride all of those rides you don't normally get to.

      All that said, I'm just not sure it's worth it. I'm glad we did it once, but for $70 each, we essentially got a different set of fireworks, a different stage show, a different parade, and a couple different meet and greets.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: April 2013
      Location: Braselton, Ga
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Thu September 24, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): short lines for rides
      Cons: none

      Attended the party on Tuesday September 22, 2015. Arrived at 5pm because we dinner ran a little later than planned. Was able to use 2 of our 3 FP reservations made before 7pm. Many of the rides were a walk on: Splash Mountain, Big Thunder Mountain, Space Mountian were all under 5 minutes. Peter Pan and 7 Dwarfs were the longest lines but we FP Peter Pan and rode 7 Dwarfs twice, waited 25 min then 10 min even though posted times were double the actual wait. Rode every thing we wanted. Only went through 3 Trick or Treat lines. Those got much longer and we were too excited about the rides. Stopped to watch the Headless Horseman and the Fireworks and just a few minutes of the Hocus Pocus show. Really an enjoyable night. No FP options for the party really levels the playing field and I really like it! Saw several of the characters that only show up during the party from afar. Very fun atmosphere!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: October 2010
      Location: Texas
      Posts: 64
      Review Date: Sat November 15, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): character meet and greets, special parade, hallowishes fireworks, Carlotta at the Haunted Mansion, headless horseman!
      Cons: crowds, long lines for attractions,

      I loved the party! This was my first ever year and although it was a bit crowded on a sold out night, I still had a wonderful time and plan on doing it again. There was so much going on that I didn't have time to do and see it all. The whole park atmosphere was party ready with the lighting and the music, The castle was lit up in eerie shades of green and purple and there were bats on it. The whole place was themed well. It was fun seeing other guests dressed up and their fun Halloween costumes. These people (guests) plan this thing for months ahead and the costumes are really well thought out and executioned. I met some fun people waiting in line and made some new friends as we waited for the Seven Dwarfs meet and greet/photo shoot. I lined up at 6 pm for a 7 pm meet and the line was already well formed even an hour ahead. The parade was a huge highlight and the headless horseman was the star to be sure. The crowds were thin enough that I had a decent view even without staking out a spot for the parade, but ride lines which I heard were short to none in years past were long and I only rode one, The Haunted Mansion. Carlotta was out entertaining guests in the que at the Haunted Mansion and she is side splitting funny! Definitely a must see for the party. I wish I had attended a second party during my trip as I didn't get to any of the dance parties and didn't get to shop for any event specific merchandise and missed the event cupcakes and candy corn cotton candy too. I did get some trick or treating done and came home with a sack of candy. A nice variety of treats too from yogurt covered craisins and M&M's to Snickers, Butterfingers, candy corn and marshmallow peeps for the peep lovers. It was sold out on the night I attended and the next time I go I am definitely booking 2 parties! I loved it. I was able to see characters that are rarely out and get some great photos. The fireworks were amazing as was the show on the castle beforehand. All in all, I had an amazing time and it was worth what I paid to get in. It is advertised that it starts at 7pm but you can enter with your hard ticket as early as 4 pm through a special que and get your wrist band. The bands are different colors every night so you can't re-use them for another party.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: May 2007
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sun November 2, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): All the great costumes!
      Cons: Extreme crowds, rising costs

      This was our 6th MNSSHP in the past 10 years. PROS: We love thinking up family Disney-related costumes & all dressing up. We also enjoy seeing others' costumes, & encourage everyone who goes to dress up because it adds to the fun. We noticed this year that more of the restaurants were staying open for the party, which is nice. The main advantage of the party is shorter lines on the bigger rides. We have enthusiastically endorsed MNSSHP to our friends & family for years; however, the cons now outweigh the pros for us & we will no longer be recommending it. CONS: The crowds are now extreme. WDW simply allows too many people in at the same time to the point it is bumper to bumper people, making it very difficult to get around. We had read that the crowds were less during the weeknights as opposed to weekends, so we went on Tuesday, Oct 21st. It was still outrageously crowded. The fireworks are wonderful, but there were so many people packed in to the park, we could not even see the fireworks except through the trees. We had looked forward to seeing the light show on the castle before the fireworks, but could not get anywhere near the castle to see the show. The ticket price continues to rise. We are huge Disney fans & it pains us to have to write a negative review, but I do think others need to know so they can be prepared for the crowds.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: November 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sat November 1, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good parade and fireworks
      Cons: TOO CROWDED

      We went on Tues 10/21 and it was just too crowded to enjoy anything. Rides lines were long, the character lines were long, even the candy lines were long. Parade route was crowded, fireworks were crowded. If you wanted to do anything you had to stand in line or spend your time staking out a spot. This was not worth the price in my opinion. The few things we wanted to do we didn't get to do, it ended up being a very frustrating night with disappointed kids. To top it off the monorail was down at the end of the night and it was chaos getting on the ferry.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2007
      Posts: 103
      Review Date: Wed October 29, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Don't miss this parade!

      My first WDW trip was in 1974, I am a DVC member since 1996 and I have been to WDW more times than I could ever count. I now live close enough to hear fireworks every night! Last night, I went to MNSSHP for the first time. I am in awe of the amazing cast members and creativity! Go, go now, go again and love it all over again. The Headless Horseman is stellar, the parade is fantastic and the cast goes over the top to ensure a good time. Go, now.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: October 2011
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Wed October 22, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Shorter Wait Times and Candy!

      We attended MNSSHP on Sunday September 28th and Sunday October 5th. This party is our all time favorite party. Dispite all the rain at the party on September 28th we were able to ride all our favorite attractions (Space Mountain, Peter Pan's Flight, Haunted Mansion, Pirates of the Caribbean, Small World) and when I say we rode them, we rode most of them 3 times or more. In between the showers we were able to ride Big Thunder Mountain. We had the candy corn ice cream, collected 4 bags of candy (2 bags each night we attended). I will be handing out MNSSHP candy this Halloween. We also attended the Villains Sinister Soiree at the October 5th party. We had a wonder full time. The MNSSHP is a must do every year.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: May 2007
      Posts: 39
      Review Date: Sat October 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Short lines, candy, characters.
      Cons: Cost....

      Awesome time, truly awesome time. The lines for the rides are short, the characters are awesome, the candy is great.
      HOWEVER......it gets annoying that disney keeps raising the price year after year.

      If you've never done it give it a try, if you have they added nothing new, reduced the length of the parade and shortened the fireworks and they raised the price.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: February 2007
      Posts: 82
      Review Date: Sun October 5, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): lots of fun, everyone in costume
      Cons: difficult to do it all in one night!

      We attended the Halloween party 10/02/14. We had attended the party several years ago, and again were pleased with our experience! We feel it is imperative that you get to the park early. Although the party starts at 7 PM, entrance to the Magic Kingdom is allowed at 4PM for those with party tickets. It was a warm night, but thankfully no rain! So many people were dressed in costumes, making the atmosphere very festive. We had planned an early dinner at 4 PM as we did not want to take party time to eat a meal. The case members were very diligent this year about making sure guests had wrist bands, they even checked for them when we entered the restrooms! We saw several groups of people without tickets being escorted out, It was a busy night but not overally crowded. It was congested at parade and fireworks time, but the crowds dispersed quickly afterwards. The parade and fireworks are not to be missed. Lines looked very short for rides, we made a special effort to visit the Haunted Mansion because what is a Halloween party if you don't visit the ghosts! Madame Leota sitting outside the Mansion was amazing, the cast members went above and beyond to portray their roles that night - so much fun! We did not spend time riding other rides as we wanted to focus on the Halloween offerings. Trick or treat lines were short and fun, the character greeting lines looked manageable except for the Seven Dwarves, that looked very long all night. We also enjoyed special pumpkin waffles and candy corn ice cream-yum! The lighting was great, the music fun. A very festive atmosphere throughout the park! It just seemed to go too fast though, so much to do in one night! We thoroughly enjoyed our night.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MM from Connecticut

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Thu October 2, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Festive! Everyone was dressed up!
      Cons: Needs more "special effects" and villains need to be more visible/mingle

      The party officially begins at 7 pm, which means the regular day crowd is still there, plus the Halloween party guests who arrive anytime after 4 pm, so there are A LOT of people in the MK until about 8 pm (closes at 11 pm). I did not see many special "villains" except 1 in line for photos. Main Street is festive and lit up with glowing lights in the windows that fade in/out, and Halloween music is playing throughout the park. The fireworks were special and festive, but I'm pretty sure the pre-fireworks show was the same ol' Celebrations. There are 2 parades offered, but the later parade was canceled due to impending rain, so we missed it. Also, I wish we would have received a whole packet of Halloween Sorcerer Cards, but only 1 was given out. Trick or Treating was fun and plentiful, but it would be more fun if the CMs were dressed up, or better yet, the villains should hand out candy! Worth checking out at least once, but maybe that's it ...
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: Richmond Virginia
      Posts: 89
      Review Date: Thu September 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Parade
      Cons: Weather, crowds

      We attended the September 21, 2014 MNSSH Party. This was our third time in three years. In past years we’ve attended later in October, or last year we attended the last party on November 1. The big difference was weather – it was a lot hotter, and it rained just before the parade started this year. The crowds were a lot lighter in September. We’d been in the part since 1PM, so we left shortly after the parade. We were lucky and got a prime spot up on the second level of the railway station overlooking Main Street. After going three years in a row, my wife and I have agreed that we need not come again for a while.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: April 2007
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Tue September 16, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): short lines, beautiful decorations, fireworks

      We attended the event on the first night - September 1st, 2014. Great evening - no rain and short lineups but it was hot. We were able to get unto the rides under less than 5 minutes - even Peter Pan. The longest wait was for Mine Train which was 20 minutes. The cost of the admission to this event was well worth it. We did see a number of Villains. We didn't attend Villain's Sinister Soiree as we felt the price was too steep. Parade did seem a bit short, but its been few years since we last attended this event. We did notice that the candy was scarce this time around even when we left the park at the end of the night. Last time they stuffed our bags. This time I believe we each received couple of lolly pops.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: October 2007
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Sat September 13, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): No wait for most rides, beautiful decorations, fireworks
      Cons: Is the parade shorter this year?

      We go every other year to the Halloween party and stay on property to avoid the late drive home with kids. Usually, we attend in mid Sept. to avoid crowds. This year Columbia House remained open so we could have their phenomenal tuna sandwich, truly the best. We had no wait for anything except the new Snow White Mine Train ( good but too short). Everything else was walk on. Villians show in front of the castle was a 10 minute disappointment. Fireworks were amazing as always, but be aware you cannot hear the audio if you are not on Main St. or in front of the castle. We chose to sit off to the left and couldn't hear the music or speaking...but still amazing show. Parade, as usual was excellent. No candy at the end like in years past, and seemed to us to be a little shorter. Headless horseman walked the route ( no rain ) this year. Absolutely worth it for the cost for 4-midnight in the park without the heat and crowds. Plus candy, special fireworks & special parade. Will go again.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Wed September 10, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nonexistent wait lines for rids

      We had previously attended MVMCP, which was much more crowded - but much more worthwhile. This felt very "thrown together". We did trick or treat, although most of the cast members were very crabby and scolded the kids if they returned for more candy (especially in the Werther's line). The best part was virtually no lines for any of the rids including Seven Dwarfs Mine ride. The fireworks, though, were phenomenal - no one quite knows how to do fireworks like Disney! We experienced it, but I can't say I would highly recommend and we definitely would not do it again.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Thu November 14, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): All
      Cons: None!

      Party was sold out but didnt feel overly crowded. Trick or treat areas gave loads of candy. Worth the money
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.