Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • Fitzboyzmom

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 162
      Review Date: Wed November 18, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros):

      I was hesitant about going to the party because we had had a terrible experience at the Christmas party a few years ago. We really enjoyed this. They allow party goers with their bands to purchase event merchandise starting at 4PM. That was awesome for us because you ended up spending a lot of time in lines at 7 or after (they could not start selling until non party goers left).

      The cast members were beyond helpful and pleasant all night. The candy lines were long, bit moved really fast.

      The fireworks were beyond awesome. The only thing I thought was not that great was how long it took the parade to get going. The headless horseman came out, but then we waited and waited and waited for the rest of the parade to start. It was well beyond the published time.

      We attended on October 29th and the event was sold out. It was crowded, but not unmanageable. I look forward to going again in the future.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: April 2011
      Location: Cols, OH
      Posts: 36
      Review Date: Fri November 13, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Candy, short wait time for rides
      Cons: Over crowded

      After attending a couple of the MVMCP, I was very excited to attend the MNSSHP and score a poison apple mug. I know Disney can’t control the weather, but it rained all night and it definitely put a damper on the evening. Because of the rain there was no Headless Horseman, no Carlotta at the Haunted Mansion, no Hocus Pocus Villain show (after waiting 20 minutes for it to start) and no getting in line to see characters. According to a very nice cast member, the poison apple mugs were sold out weeks ago, so no mug either. However there were tons of people and large crowds in the stores and for both parades and the fireworks making it difficult to get around and see the parade. The candy lines were long, but moved quickly and most of the rides had short wait times. Next time I’ll skip the party and instead use the ticket money to buy the poison apple mug on eBay.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: March 2009
      Location: Myrtle Beach SC
      Posts: 20
      Review Date: Fri October 30, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): atmosphere
      Cons: The huge crowd takes away from the event

      This was my first Halloween party and unfortunately I wouldn't choose to do it again. We were at the party on Thursday night 10/22 and I'm not sure but I would guess it was sold out. We were there specifically to hit the short ride lines. No such luck at any point during the night. I was shocked that the crowd was so very light, maybe the lightest I've ever seen during the regular day hours around 5pm. I thought that was a good sign of things to come but boy was I wrong. It was packed and the lines for rides never thinned out. Peter Pan stayed at a good 40 minutes all night and we never got on the Mine Train because it ran anywhere between 30 to 60 minutes all night. We kept putting it off hoping that the later it got the shorter the lines, but it just seemed to get more and more crowded as the night went on. We did enjoy the fireworks and the parade but we waited for the second parade hoping for a good spot but that didn't work out either. I have been to the Christmas party 4 times and the first 2 felt like we had rented out the parks for ourselves, but as the years have gone on it seems that they are letting more and more people in and it defeats the whole idea of the party if you ask me. I prefer the Christmas party over Halloween but special fireworks and a parade are not worth it for me. The low crowds were what I always went for and if they do away with that, I might as well just go to the MK on a regular day. Disney has gotten so bad about making that dollar that they are starting to price me right out of my yearly vacations.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: October 2015
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu October 22, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything
      Cons: None

      A group of 9 of us went on Oct. 20th ranging in age from 30-71. We had no trouble getting a table for 9 at Harbour House to eat, no trouble getting 9 on a ride, no trouble finding 9 spaces to watch parade! Our longest wait for a ride was 20 minutes for Peter Pan which, as you know, is not long at all!! I notice some people complain about crowds--well, it is a theme park and especially after a parade or fireworks there will be crowds, but all-in-all not that bad. We had no small children so therefore no waiting in line to see a character which, from what I read, can be long. We had our picture taken at Haunted Mansion, the photographer clicked the wristbands and voila! Great photos! (also had photos taken at other places) but Haunted Mansion photos have ghosts hitching along Smile The weather was wonderful which, of course, adds to the fun so I totally understand my friend who went on a day with downpours was not happy! But, I told her, there is always next year!! Go! Enjoy!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2007
      Posts: 103
      Review Date: Fri October 9, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Amazing parade, terrific Cast Members, polite guests
      Cons: None!

      I attended last night (it was my 3rd time, my 23 y/o son's 1st) and had a blast. Since I live really close by, I am able to go to the parks very often. The Halloween party crowds are the most polite I ever encounter! Everyone is happy, the costumes are great and the cast members are really into the fun. The Headless Horseman and fantastic parade are worth the entry price alone.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Tue September 29, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Characters you don't normally see, lines for rides
      Cons: Price, lines for special characters

      This was our first time attending. I had read the earlier you go in the season, the less crowded, but as we pulled in, there were signs of the party being sold out for the night.

      We arrived early (make sure you get there by 4 to get maximum time). By 5:30, we were in line for Jack and Sally. We met them at 8:30. The line was just absolutely insane. Not sure if there is much they could do for that, but man it was insane.

      For this day, we had a nasty thunderstorm roll through at about 7. Because of this, it took them a REALLY long time to get set up with the outside characters, candy stations, etc. I heard complaints at around 745 (15 minutes after the storms) that the only candy place open was at the Circus, and the line went to the Ariel meet and greet (which has to be hundreds of people long). Of course the storms are not their fault, but you would think they would be ready as soon as the storms ended to get things up and running (obviously they weren't still waiting as there was at least one station open).

      Aside from that, the parade was pretty interesting, the show was very cool, and the fireworks were great. However, I think the top thing for us was the lack of lines for everything the parks. We had a 15 minute wait for Anna/Elsa. We were 5 minutes for Rapunzel/Cinderella. We walked onto Buzz Lightyear and walked in to meet Tinker Bell. Even the mine train only had a 20 minute wait. So an interesting aside at this is to take advantage of getting to ride all of those rides you don't normally get to.

      All that said, I'm just not sure it's worth it. I'm glad we did it once, but for $70 each, we essentially got a different set of fireworks, a different stage show, a different parade, and a couple different meet and greets.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: April 2013
      Location: Braselton, Ga
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Thu September 24, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): short lines for rides
      Cons: none

      Attended the party on Tuesday September 22, 2015. Arrived at 5pm because we dinner ran a little later than planned. Was able to use 2 of our 3 FP reservations made before 7pm. Many of the rides were a walk on: Splash Mountain, Big Thunder Mountain, Space Mountian were all under 5 minutes. Peter Pan and 7 Dwarfs were the longest lines but we FP Peter Pan and rode 7 Dwarfs twice, waited 25 min then 10 min even though posted times were double the actual wait. Rode every thing we wanted. Only went through 3 Trick or Treat lines. Those got much longer and we were too excited about the rides. Stopped to watch the Headless Horseman and the Fireworks and just a few minutes of the Hocus Pocus show. Really an enjoyable night. No FP options for the party really levels the playing field and I really like it! Saw several of the characters that only show up during the party from afar. Very fun atmosphere!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: October 2010
      Location: Texas
      Posts: 64
      Review Date: Sat November 15, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): character meet and greets, special parade, hallowishes fireworks, Carlotta at the Haunted Mansion, headless horseman!
      Cons: crowds, long lines for attractions,

      I loved the party! This was my first ever year and although it was a bit crowded on a sold out night, I still had a wonderful time and plan on doing it again. There was so much going on that I didn't have time to do and see it all. The whole park atmosphere was party ready with the lighting and the music, The castle was lit up in eerie shades of green and purple and there were bats on it. The whole place was themed well. It was fun seeing other guests dressed up and their fun Halloween costumes. These people (guests) plan this thing for months ahead and the costumes are really well thought out and executioned. I met some fun people waiting in line and made some new friends as we waited for the Seven Dwarfs meet and greet/photo shoot. I lined up at 6 pm for a 7 pm meet and the line was already well formed even an hour ahead. The parade was a huge highlight and the headless horseman was the star to be sure. The crowds were thin enough that I had a decent view even without staking out a spot for the parade, but ride lines which I heard were short to none in years past were long and I only rode one, The Haunted Mansion. Carlotta was out entertaining guests in the que at the Haunted Mansion and she is side splitting funny! Definitely a must see for the party. I wish I had attended a second party during my trip as I didn't get to any of the dance parties and didn't get to shop for any event specific merchandise and missed the event cupcakes and candy corn cotton candy too. I did get some trick or treating done and came home with a sack of candy. A nice variety of treats too from yogurt covered craisins and M&M's to Snickers, Butterfingers, candy corn and marshmallow peeps for the peep lovers. It was sold out on the night I attended and the next time I go I am definitely booking 2 parties! I loved it. I was able to see characters that are rarely out and get some great photos. The fireworks were amazing as was the show on the castle beforehand. All in all, I had an amazing time and it was worth what I paid to get in. It is advertised that it starts at 7pm but you can enter with your hard ticket as early as 4 pm through a special que and get your wrist band. The bands are different colors every night so you can't re-use them for another party.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: May 2007
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sun November 2, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): All the great costumes!
      Cons: Extreme crowds, rising costs

      This was our 6th MNSSHP in the past 10 years. PROS: We love thinking up family Disney-related costumes & all dressing up. We also enjoy seeing others' costumes, & encourage everyone who goes to dress up because it adds to the fun. We noticed this year that more of the restaurants were staying open for the party, which is nice. The main advantage of the party is shorter lines on the bigger rides. We have enthusiastically endorsed MNSSHP to our friends & family for years; however, the cons now outweigh the pros for us & we will no longer be recommending it. CONS: The crowds are now extreme. WDW simply allows too many people in at the same time to the point it is bumper to bumper people, making it very difficult to get around. We had read that the crowds were less during the weeknights as opposed to weekends, so we went on Tuesday, Oct 21st. It was still outrageously crowded. The fireworks are wonderful, but there were so many people packed in to the park, we could not even see the fireworks except through the trees. We had looked forward to seeing the light show on the castle before the fireworks, but could not get anywhere near the castle to see the show. The ticket price continues to rise. We are huge Disney fans & it pains us to have to write a negative review, but I do think others need to know so they can be prepared for the crowds.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: November 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sat November 1, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good parade and fireworks
      Cons: TOO CROWDED

      We went on Tues 10/21 and it was just too crowded to enjoy anything. Rides lines were long, the character lines were long, even the candy lines were long. Parade route was crowded, fireworks were crowded. If you wanted to do anything you had to stand in line or spend your time staking out a spot. This was not worth the price in my opinion. The few things we wanted to do we didn't get to do, it ended up being a very frustrating night with disappointed kids. To top it off the monorail was down at the end of the night and it was chaos getting on the ferry.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2007
      Posts: 103
      Review Date: Wed October 29, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Don't miss this parade!

      My first WDW trip was in 1974, I am a DVC member since 1996 and I have been to WDW more times than I could ever count. I now live close enough to hear fireworks every night! Last night, I went to MNSSHP for the first time. I am in awe of the amazing cast members and creativity! Go, go now, go again and love it all over again. The Headless Horseman is stellar, the parade is fantastic and the cast goes over the top to ensure a good time. Go, now.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: October 2011
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Wed October 22, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Shorter Wait Times and Candy!

      We attended MNSSHP on Sunday September 28th and Sunday October 5th. This party is our all time favorite party. Dispite all the rain at the party on September 28th we were able to ride all our favorite attractions (Space Mountain, Peter Pan's Flight, Haunted Mansion, Pirates of the Caribbean, Small World) and when I say we rode them, we rode most of them 3 times or more. In between the showers we were able to ride Big Thunder Mountain. We had the candy corn ice cream, collected 4 bags of candy (2 bags each night we attended). I will be handing out MNSSHP candy this Halloween. We also attended the Villains Sinister Soiree at the October 5th party. We had a wonder full time. The MNSSHP is a must do every year.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: May 2007
      Posts: 39
      Review Date: Sat October 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Short lines, candy, characters.
      Cons: Cost....

      Awesome time, truly awesome time. The lines for the rides are short, the characters are awesome, the candy is great.
      HOWEVER......it gets annoying that disney keeps raising the price year after year.

      If you've never done it give it a try, if you have they added nothing new, reduced the length of the parade and shortened the fireworks and they raised the price.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: February 2007
      Posts: 82
      Review Date: Sun October 5, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): lots of fun, everyone in costume
      Cons: difficult to do it all in one night!

      We attended the Halloween party 10/02/14. We had attended the party several years ago, and again were pleased with our experience! We feel it is imperative that you get to the park early. Although the party starts at 7 PM, entrance to the Magic Kingdom is allowed at 4PM for those with party tickets. It was a warm night, but thankfully no rain! So many people were dressed in costumes, making the atmosphere very festive. We had planned an early dinner at 4 PM as we did not want to take party time to eat a meal. The case members were very diligent this year about making sure guests had wrist bands, they even checked for them when we entered the restrooms! We saw several groups of people without tickets being escorted out, It was a busy night but not overally crowded. It was congested at parade and fireworks time, but the crowds dispersed quickly afterwards. The parade and fireworks are not to be missed. Lines looked very short for rides, we made a special effort to visit the Haunted Mansion because what is a Halloween party if you don't visit the ghosts! Madame Leota sitting outside the Mansion was amazing, the cast members went above and beyond to portray their roles that night - so much fun! We did not spend time riding other rides as we wanted to focus on the Halloween offerings. Trick or treat lines were short and fun, the character greeting lines looked manageable except for the Seven Dwarves, that looked very long all night. We also enjoyed special pumpkin waffles and candy corn ice cream-yum! The lighting was great, the music fun. A very festive atmosphere throughout the park! It just seemed to go too fast though, so much to do in one night! We thoroughly enjoyed our night.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MM from Connecticut

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Thu October 2, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Festive! Everyone was dressed up!
      Cons: Needs more "special effects" and villains need to be more visible/mingle

      The party officially begins at 7 pm, which means the regular day crowd is still there, plus the Halloween party guests who arrive anytime after 4 pm, so there are A LOT of people in the MK until about 8 pm (closes at 11 pm). I did not see many special "villains" except 1 in line for photos. Main Street is festive and lit up with glowing lights in the windows that fade in/out, and Halloween music is playing throughout the park. The fireworks were special and festive, but I'm pretty sure the pre-fireworks show was the same ol' Celebrations. There are 2 parades offered, but the later parade was canceled due to impending rain, so we missed it. Also, I wish we would have received a whole packet of Halloween Sorcerer Cards, but only 1 was given out. Trick or Treating was fun and plentiful, but it would be more fun if the CMs were dressed up, or better yet, the villains should hand out candy! Worth checking out at least once, but maybe that's it ...
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.