Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • dandnmom

      Registered: February 2013
      Location: Cincinnati OH
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Thu December 26, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): parades, short lines for rides, kids enjoyed dancing w/ Woody
      Cons: too busy - couldn't see most of characters meet-n-greet

       
      We attended on 12/19 - for the money paid, not sure it was worth it. The lines to see the parades, fireworks, etc were just wayyyy too crowded - felt like a sardine. Didn't get much hot chocolate or cookies (not that I need it- LOL) b/c the crowds near Main Street were just too busy. One main reason to go was to see "unique" character meet n greets - line for 7 Dwarfs was 1&1/2hrs - really- forget that... Did have a lot of short lines for rides which was nice. It was all just too much in too short of time - go to see special events or go to have short lines for the rides and skip the other offerings - but not both b/c you'll be unhappy like me.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fitzboyzmom

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 132
      Review Date: Tue December 17, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Snow on Main Street
      Cons: Treatment of Park Guests

       
      We attended the party on December 12th (second time we have attended). It was less crowded than I have seen in the past, but still pretty difficult to maneuver around. We loved the snow on main street and ended up with a very good spot for the parade (we never attempted to find a spot on main street because it was just too crowded).


      We were excited to go for 2 reasons. One, for the special sorcerer card and for the event pins. We went to the fire house with our ticket for the card. We were told that we had to have our ticket and our wrist band. We went to ask the cast members near the Christmas tree for a wrist band and were told that we had to either go to the rose garden or adventure land or go out of the park and back in...really? So, some nice cast member took pity on us and asked someone to go get us wrist bands. We got our card and headed down to find pins. There are no more individual pins...at all, anywhere. There was a set if you chose to pay that much or wait in the VERY LONG line. We did not. When I asked the cast member, he just said they were all limited editions and they are gone...sorry. That is absurd on December 14th. As an aside, I purchased the 2 pins I wanted on ebay from people who were selling multiple of the same pins...gee, wonder how they ran out so fast. Perhaps Disney should limit the number of pins you can buy. There were also monstrous lines for all the merchandise locations. Not fun.


      While we attended, we were asked many times to show our wrist bands and could not do anything, including enter a store without showing our bands. We saw some people being escorted out and thought they had stayed without a ticket and were being shown out. Not so. 3 nights later, we had a 7PM reservation at Be Our Guest. I did not even realize that it was another party night. It was our last night and we had a really lovely dinner. Totally ruined when we walked out and were not able to leave because there were about 10 cast members outside the door blocking our way. They asked us if we were going to the party. When we said no, one of them told us that they would escort us out. We felt like criminals being lead out because we had done something wrong. It was humiliating and just left such a bad taste in my mouth.


      I know that Disney has been criticized for allowing people to stay without tickets. But this time you basically could do nothing except see the parade and fireworks. Why in the world would they treat people like that? I think they should risk a handful of people maybe staying to see the parade or fireworks instead of humiliating all of them.


      I won't say I will never do something, but as a DVC member and annual pass holder who spends tons of time and money in Disney World, I am extremely disappointed. I took my step mother on this trip and was embarrassed.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      astutoa

      Registered: December 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Fri December 13, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): small crowds, entertainment
      Cons: nothing

       
      I'm not sure why the ratings are so low. This was our first trip to MVMCP, though we visit MK a few times a year, and after reading some of the reviews, I was very nervous that we'd be stuck in massive crowds and really not enjoy ourselves. But I have to say it was quite the opposite. We attended on Sun, Dec. 8. We visit MK many times a year, and at this party, we had the best position we've EVER had for fireworks, the parade, and very little wait time in lines...usually only as long as it took us to walk through the waiting area. The cookies and hot chocolate were nothing exceptional, but certainly satisfied us. I'd read that no one checked wristbands so many people were there who shouldn't be. Though I never saw anyone escorted out, I personally witnessed the cast members checking wristbands just to enter a store. And the crowds certainly thinned quickly after 7:00 pm. We all thought it was absolutely magical...one of the best days/nights we've EVER had at MK.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Lovethesouth

      Registered: December 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Mon December 9, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons: Cost/lack of crowd control

       
      Visit WDW often (FL resident)....This was our 4th MVMCP and probably our last until Disney can fix the crowd problem. We attended 12/5/13 (sold out). We have visited many times and know that there are always going to be crowds in the MK, but what we experienced this night was completely unacceptable. The crowd on Main St and around the castle between the parades and during the fireworks was unimaginable! Standstill is a big understatement. NO ONE was able to move. Walkways completely blocked, people pushing, yelling, and cursing. Disney can't control people's actions but they can and should create a better environment for these events, considering the cost. For a starter, reopen those two paths on each side of the castle so that there are more avenues to move people in and out of the area. Unbelievable that the management continues to disregard this matter. For this reason, we will spend our money on other things.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jlk806

      Registered: February 2009
      Location: Lancaster, NY
      Posts: 23
      Review Date: Sun December 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Parade, Castle Stage Show
      Cons: Beyond Packed

       
      We were very excited to get to go to Disney in December, we attended the MVMCP this past Thursday, December 5th. If we were not AP holders, and had to buy tickets for the visit we may not have sprung for the extra money for the party, but we got the DVC discount so I believe it was about $180 for the 3 of us with tax (me, DH, and our 5 year old son). Ordered the tickets a month in advance so I cant remember exactly.


      Anyhow, we entered the park a little after 4 and got our wristbands, we had fastpass + lined up for 3 rides so we went to do that and a couple other rides until it was time for the party. At just after 7, we went to Tomorrowland Terrace (one of the complimentary treat locations) and there was no line. My son has nut allergies, so he was given a special package of chocolate chip cookies, as the snickerdoodle cookies are made in a facility with nuts. He enjoyed it, and my husband tried the regular cookies and said they were good.


      The castle show was a nice show, but we just had a bad spot to watch, off to the side by the walkway to adventureland, where everyone was walking in front of us. There was no where else to move to, but we still got to see the show and it was nice. We then moved and managed to get a semi-decent spot in the crowd about 1/2 way down Main Street for the parade. They brought out some street entertainment, got the kids involved in dancing and stuff in the street to music to keep them busy while we waited for the parade to make its way down (the parade starts at the end of frontierland). The parade was truly magical and we loved it. My son was singing along and so excited. It was great. After the parade I made the mistake of deciding to run to Cosmic Rays to get an order of chicken nuggets for all of us to share as we had dinner at about 3. My husband stopped with our son by the Plaza restaurant to watch the Castle dream light show (which he apparently loved) and I ran to Cosmic to get the nuggets, but by the time we got back we were trapped in that spot to watch the fireworks. It wasn't a bad spot to watch but we usually like to watch from the end of Main street where its less packed. We had planned to leave after the 9:30 fireworks, as those were the things we wanted to see, and our son wanted to head back to the hotel. After the fireworks was a disaster, it was so jammed on that walkway in front of the plaza restauarant no one could move or breathe. Some people were shoving to get over to Tomorrowland and others shoving to get the other way to Main street. It was a disaster this one woman kept ramming my husband with her scooter. One cast member tried to jump in and direct traffic but it was no use. It took a good 20 minutes to get out of that mess.


      - All in all, everything we saw we enjoyed, but was it worth $180? Not sure. The same stuff we paid big bucks to see many others were enjoying for free, as we saw several people without wristbands walking around. There is no good way to enforce it, I saw a couple cast members checking but I also saw one group get asked if they had wristbands and when they didn't were pointed to the exit but the second the CM turned around they ran off the other way into the crowd. Its just not fair they need to develop a better way to clear the park out of non-ticketed guests, they really do.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nursenita

      Registered: February 2008
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Fri November 29, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): snow on main street, smaller crowds
      Cons: no diferent then a regular night at christmas time

       
      I was disappointed, the night was no different then a regular night at Christmas time. You can only eat so many cookies and it was the same cookie at every location. Also it only limited the people without bands to the rides, other then that everyone just walked around freely. I saw no one ask anyone to leave or attempt to ask.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      fireman

      Registered: July 2013
      Location: KY
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sun November 24, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): free hot chocolate
      Cons: no differnet than any other day

       
      We went on Nov. 21, not really crowded but the park was actually less crowded before party. I won't waste my money on this again. The fireworks were ok and parade was same ol same ol. I'd rather save my money next time and do something less crowed and more fun.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Ohiost13

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Wed November 20, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): None
      Cons: No snow and cancelled Christmas parade

       
      We didn't feel the wristbands were policed very well. The character lines were long and most times were closed. The stage in Tomorrowland needs to be higher so everyone, especially children can see without looking at the back of heads. The projection show on the castle was not different than the night before. It did NOT snow on Main St. And, the 2nd parade was delayed twice and then CANCELLED! Then our daughter cried the rest of the night and never got to see Santa. It was a very light rain, but stopped by 11 p.m., so they should've gone through with the parade. It didn't rain hard, it didn't pour, lightning or thunder. We, Disney customers, were out in the elements, the Disney cast members should've been too. Including the photo pass photographers with tripods. They could've held an umbrella or clipped an umbrella to their tripod, but they all went indoors. This party did not deliver on their promise. We are very disappointed. We could've added an extra day to our passes a lot cheaper and stayed in the park and watched the parade, the projection show on the castle and the fireworks, just like a lot of people did, without having to spend the extra money for the party.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Bailey

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun November 17, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): decorations
      Cons: crowds

       
      We had a wonderful vacation at Disney this year with the exception of MVMCP. We attended this event on 11-14-13, the last day of our trip. Crowds are awful. It is our opinion that asking guests without the special bands to leave is simply not working. It seems the only thing it truly keeps them restricted from is riding rides. We noticed many there without bands. I am also handicapped and we were unable to even move thru crowds because walkways were not kept clear. Putting masking tape on the sidewalk to keep the paths clear wasn't helpful. The cast members trying to help just seemed to give up at some point. It was just too much for them to handle effectively. My husband at one point was both verbally and physically assaulted by another guest for doing nothing more than trying to move us thru the crowd. People thought we were trying to steal their spot. While Disney can't control rude behavior of guests we did feel they had a responsibility to at least keep the walkways open for safety reasons at best. We love Disney and will recover from this unpleasant experience to vacation there again but will not buy tickets for special ticketed events again until Disney can figure out a better way to clear the park of those who didn't pay to stay. One last note, we did talk to Guest Relations. Their attitude is pretty much we already have your money stay, don't stay...whatever. We didn't stay. Upon returning to our hotel we spoke with other guests who also chose not to stay. Terrible waste of our money.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Kbdurr12

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sat November 9, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything!
      Cons: None

       
      Before going to my first MVMCP I read all of the reviews. Many reviews complained either about how packed the park was or people that didn't buy special tickets being able to enjoy the party anyways. Well let me tell you! We went last night for the first party if the season, which has been sold out for over a week. It wasn't packed full of people at all. We were able to get right onto rides, got to have a front row seat and sit for the parade by the castle, enjoyed the fireworks in peace, also we walked right up and got cookies and hot chocolate with little to no waiting at all. It was amazing. Also, we saw many, many, many people getting escorted out by cast members when they did not have a bracelet. We saw a couple trying to enjoy the splendor for free and a cast member came up and told them to leave, the people wouldn't leave and kept yelling at the cast member. Ten minutes later, security came and took them out. Cast members are not playing around, if you didn't pay to enjoy the party then you are gone. They had cast members spread out every couple of feet checking for bands and security near by to escort people. I'm sure some people do get by, but disney is taking the measures needed to ensure it is a private event. It was a very awesome night and I would recommend it for everyone to try at least once.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      caleal

      Registered: March 2013
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Tue March 26, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): decorations around the park, special shows, few crowds
      Cons: None!

       
      I loved attending MVMCP. I plan to return to the park for the holidays and Christmas party as much as I can in the future.
      I was a little unsure about only entering the park starting at 4 PM, but there's much fewer people than normal and I still got to do all the rides and attractions that I wanted to. I actually got off the Buzz Lightyear Space Ranger Spin only to get right back on with no line- three times in a row. (What can I say, I love that ride.)
      The park is absolutely beatiful all done up for Christmas, both during the day and at night with the lights. The cocoa and cookies are a nice touch.
      The best part is obviously all the special shows and parades - this year they did a wonderful show projected against the castle, followed by fireworks which were amazing. The parade down Main Street was fun, with all the floats and characters dressed up for the holidays. They even make it "snow" with a type of foam. I can't wait to go back!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      annat856

      Registered: September 2006
      Posts: 116
      Review Date: Mon February 18, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): MK open late! Fireworks, parade and dance parties!
      Cons: it's florida so it might still be hot and or sticky out

       
      We attended the Christmas party 12/11/12. It was still sticky out and my hubby thought we were all crazy for drinking hot cocoa but we loved it anyhow! We didn't go to a park earlier in the day but stayed "home" at Bay Lake Tower. Then arrived at 4 pm for the party. Started things right with a trip around on the railroad. We went on the newly redone Dumbo rides. Space Mtn and other attractions in Tomorrowland. We ate dinner at Liberty Tree Tavern, a favorite of my family's. Saw the parade, dance party and fireworks and then off to Adventureland. We went on Pirates multiple times ( my boys love it) Magic Carpet at least 3 times in a row! Wonderful time & great memories! Oh and we got some very nice pics of the kids with photopass.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MWS

      Registered: April 2011
      Location: Cols, OH
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Sun December 30, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Short wait time for rides
      Cons: Long lines for cookies and hot chocolate

       
      We always enjoy attending the MVMCP, however the lines for the hot chocolate and cookies were way too long to wait in. It was very crowded but cast members did a great job ensuring everyone in the park had a wristband. There were several checkpoints and every ride had a cast member checking for the wristband. The parade was awesome and so was the snow on Main Street. Most of the rides had a short wait time since most folks were waiting for the parade. The new castle show is amazing and not to be missed along with the fireworks.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ilovepiglet

      Registered: December 2012
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sat December 29, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      I am a cast member at WDW for 18 years, and decided to try out MVMCP for the first time on December 2nd. I was glad for the reviews from others, and wanted to share mine - just a few observations:


      1) Very annoying that nobody was checking the "wristbands" which accounted for the "wall to wall" overcrowd-kill so to speak. This is rather unfair being that people pay a lot of money for six hours in the park for the Party.


      I personally feel that day ticketholders absolutely need to be out of the park by 5pm to enable the hard-ticket event ticketholders to enjoy the exclusive event.


      2) The Christmas parade was adorable though rather "dark" as in the lack of lighted floats. While the fireworks were the same repeat of the season, it would have been nice if they had an "exclusive" touch since it is an exclusive hard-ticket event.


      3) Due to the overcrowdedness, it was difficult to get to the stage shows in time for the scheduled performances.


      4) The dinner meal at Crystal Palace we had was not hot enough (I understand that it is a buffet but maybe there could be flame-warmers under each tray? Maybe there were? I have no idea). We did really like how much time Pooh and friends spent mingling and cuddling with us to share *their* warmth!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nybella17girl

      Registered: December 2006
      Location: Jacksonville, FL
      Posts: 59
      Review Date: Wed December 26, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Too crowded
      Cons:

       
      Unfortunately, I must say that I have done this party 3 times now and it is worse and worse every time. Went on Tues, Dec. 4th. The crowds are out of control. Cast members do a good job of checking wristbands to make sure everyone who doesn't have one must leave the park, but they are located every few feet and it gets really annoying to continuously show your wristbands every few minutes.


      If I am spending extra money for this, they should really reduce the amount of people they allow into the park. Did this in 2006 for the first time and everything was a walk on. It was super easy to get a spot for the 10:30 parade. This time, even 30 minutes in advance, it was hard to find a spot. Same for the fireworks. Many rides were open. We did get to do the Buzz ride in Tomorrowland 3 times without a long wait and the parade is exceptional. My favorite parade at Disney and the reason why I usually go to MVMCP at all. I liked the fireworks but have always preferred regular Wishes over Holiday Wishes, but still pretty good. Lines for cookies and cocoa and characters as well were outrageous. Got to meet Captain Jack Sparrow which was amazing. Loved him! Snow fall on Main Street was magical as well. Not sure if I will return unless Disney puts a better crowd limit on this. It would be much more enjoyable.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.