Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • kbw45

      Registered: December 2007
      Location: Tallahassee, FL
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Sat January 24, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Small crowds, Jingle Cruise, Christmas parade & snow, little to no waiting for rides
      Cons: Not enough Photopass photographers

      We are Florida residents and DVC members and had already visited WDW in March and August 2014, so we were not doing regular park visits again on this visit. Instead, my husband, 15-yr-old son and I booked MVMCP so we could see the holiday decorations and "snow" in the Magic Kingdom. This was our second MVMCP - the first being in 2005.

      We attended on the final evening, Friday, 12/19. We arrived just after 6:30 p.m. and the park was pretty crowded. However, cast members began checking wristbands promptly at 7, and guests without bands were told they could not ride. I am not sure if they could still shop in the stores. In any case, the crowds thinned quickly and noticeably shortly after 7. From that time until park closing at midnight, the crowds were quite small, and we were able to walk onto most rides with no - or very little - waiting. This is impressive, since there are no Fastpasses once the party begins at 7.

      Our son has long outgrown waiting in line for character meet & greets, so we took advantage of the small crowds to ride attractions that we normally skip because of slow load times, such as the Carousel and the Astro Orbiter. The only rides with a wait all evening that we encountered were the Seven Dwarfs Mine Train and Peter Pan. Since we had just ridden the Mine Train in August, we skipped the 40 minute wait. Peter Pan had a wait of about 30 minutes. We literally walked onto everything else, including Space Mountain and Thunder Mountain.

      A real treat for MVMCP is the "Jingle Cruise." We enjoy the humor of the skippers on the Jungle Cruise, and this holiday version didn't disappoint. It does make the experience more fun if you play along with the jokes, even though they are corny.

      We did not see Elsa "freeze" the castle, but it was gorgeous. We were able to stake out wonderful parade viewing spots near the Liberty Bell about 20 minutes before the Christmas parade started, and we really enjoyed the parade - especially the wooden soldiers. The fireworks were spectacular. We ended the evening strolling on Main Street with "snow" falling on us, which was truly magical.

      Our only negative observation was the lack of Photopass photographers. Although there were the usual photographers on Main Street, there were hardly any elsewhere in the park - not even in their usual spots. It would have been nice to have had the opportunity for family pictures somewhere other than Main Street. I was glad I had not purchased Memory Maker.

      We were able to ride and experience everything we wanted to in less than 6 hours, but this was not our first trip to the MK this year, and we have come often enough that we know how to tour the park efficiently. We enjoyed being able to tour at a slower pace and just walk onto rides and attractions with no waiting. This has spoiled us, and we may choose MVMCP in the future to tour the MK just to avoid the crowds.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: June 2010
      Posts: 73
      Review Date: Fri January 2, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Lots of fun
      Cons: Long Lines for Characters

      We went to the first party in early November and really enjoyed it. This was our first Christmas Party. We arrived right at 4:00 and had some FPP to use between 4 and 7. We had dinner at Pecos Bill's about 5:00 and were ready for party events right at 7. We spent lots of the night standing in lines, but we got some great pictures. We met Minnie Mouse in her Christmas dress, Scrooge McDuck, and the Dwarves along with a ride of the 7DMT. The castle was beautiful, the special fireworks were great and the snow was mesmerizing. We really enjoyed the party and will most likely go again next year.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: October 2011
      Location: Bay Minette AL
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Tue December 23, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): parade, attraction lines
      Cons: short time in MK, kids couldn't last til midnight

      We attended our first MVMCP event Dec 7th. This was a Sunday. I will start by saying they were checking bands, and we did see people asked to leave.
      We had a great time, even if my kids couldn't last the entire time. We left after the second parade, around 11 pm.
      When we first came in we went o Jingle Cruise with a 25 min wait. We then went on Aladdin's Carpets with no wait. We got there at 4pm. After that we got Dole Whips then waited for the catle lighting show that stared at 6:15.
      The highlight for my daughter was the castle lighting show with Frozen. We waited about 45 minutes so we could have a good spot but it was so worth it. We then did several more attractions with no wait. When can you walk right onto Dumbo, The Little Mermaid, and so much more?
      We caught the pre show and holiday wishes, which were breath taking! We had no trouble finding a place to stand, and were right up front.
      When it was time for the second parade my mom and step dad rode 7DMT with hardly any wait. 20 min. We went to meet Tinkerbelle then caught the parade. This go round there were plenty of places to stand and the parade didn't disappoint. It was the highlight of my night for sure! The parade characters interacted with my children, especially my 7yo, which made her feel super special.
      We left right after bc my kids were beat and the baby had been asleep since about 9 in the stroller. We had no trouble catching the bus quickly to Pop.
      I think it was a magical night. I'd do it again, and I'd recommend it IF you have been to the MK before or you have other days to go. It shouldn't be your one and only time to go bc you will not fit everything in!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Sun December 21, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Snow on Main Street , Christmas Parade
      Cons: Crowds

      We attended on 12/16/14.
      This was out first MVMCP. My favorite part was the Christmas Parade . We attended the first parade which was very crowded and people were holding their spots on Main Street about an hour before. The parade itself was worth it. My children loved the snow on Main Street. The lighting of the castle was very pretty but we were too far back to actually see the show.
      My girls wanted to meet Mickey and were able to do that with a 30 min wait which seemed the same on any given day.
      It was very crowded. We were able to do the Seven Dwarfs Mine Train which was only a 40 min wait for Stand By which was less then what a normal day might be ( average stand by wait while we were there was 60-80mins) .
      The meet and greets were crowded and the holiday dance parties were fun and less crowded.
      I don't know if I would do it again for the price it cost it may not be worth it. Our children are 11 and 7 yrs old and couldn't stay up to midnight. I think if you do go , make sure you have a plan about what you really want to do while there.
      The cast members were checking wrist bands and there were some people we saw who tried to avoid paying and were asked to leave.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 258
      Review Date: Sat December 20, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Special characters, parade, fireworks, shows
      Cons: Main Street crowd control

      Our last time attending the party was 2012, and it was not a great experience, in part due to our own lack of planning. This year we attended on 12/18 and had a great time. The party was sold out but I didn't think the park felt crowded at all.

      We entered early and did some rides before lining up to meet the Seven Dwarfs at 5:30pm. At that time, there were three groups ahead of us (one or two people each). The Dwarfs came out by 6:50 and we were on our way before 7. By 7:45 I had also met Snow White & Snow Prince and Aurora & Prince Philip, as well as Pooh, Piglet, Tigger, and Eeyore.

      After that we headed to Main Street for the 8pm castle lighting, which we viewed from the Liberty Square side of the hub. My only complaint is that better crowd control is needed in this area to help keep walkways open. Our view of the stage was slightly obstructed but we could see the castle itself just fine.

      We proceeded to Pecos Bill for dinner around 8:15 and could see/hear much of the first parade as it passed by. Also stopped in for some cocoa (very good) and cookies (just okay) at Tortuga Tavern before heading to the Adventureland bridge to watch Celebrate the Magic and Holiday Wishes. Our view was clear, if not straight on, and the bridge remained fairly uncrowded. After the crowds dissipated we went to the stage to view Celebrate the Season at 10:05. This was a very cute show.

      Then we went on to Liberty Square for the 10:30 parade. Unfortunately, the handicapped viewing area was already full and cast members were very unhelpful in assisting us. We ended up near the rope just by the Diamond Horseshoe with a pretty good view.

      After the parade it was time for characters in Storybook Circus. I met Minnie and Santa Goofy with minimal wait and then Daisy, Donald, and Scrooge after about 20 minutes. Finally, I caught part of the Totally Tomorrowland Christmas Show, which was not that great, and met my mom on Main Street. She was disappointed that the Confectionery closed promptly at 12, and went to get a snack in the Emporium, where there were long lines and not enough cashiers. After obtaining a few photopass pictures, we left around 12:15. There was no wait for the resort monorail at that time.

      We definitely got our money's worth this time around, even with the elevated cost for this date. The only thing I wanted to do that we just didn't have time for was the Frontierland dance party. If you go in with a plan and try to avoid Main Street as much as possible, you'll have a great time!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: February 2013
      Location: Mechanicsburg PA
      Posts: 30
      Review Date: Sat December 13, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros):

      The night we went was sold out, and there were indeed a lot of people. However, that didn't mean the lines had long lines; wait times were half or less what they had been during the day. Still worth going to.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: December 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sat December 13, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons: Chaos

      So not worth the money. Ridiculously overcrowded (attended Tuesday 12/2) and couldn't enjoy anything. No one ever checked our wristbands (we had on long sleeves so they weren't visible). Clearly many people were not wearing bands but got to stay for free. It's very frustrating to spend the amount of money we did and see so many people without bands not being asked to leave. They should do it like the old days where they close the park and empty everyone out. The re-open for people with a ticket. This was defintiely a huge disappointment for us. We had much more fun during the day in the park. It was much less crowded and more enjoyable for all of us.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Disney Ranlin

      Registered: December 2014
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sat December 6, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Parade
      Cons: Crowds

      This was the first time we attended MVMCP (12/2)and I'm sad to say it will be the last. While we enjoyed the parade, the park was too crowded. We were in place to see the first parade at 6:00, before the event even started. We waited in the same spot for over 2 hours. The younger children ages 7 and 8 were unable to see the castle shows. It seemed that the Disney cast members kept filling the area in front of the castle and it was difficult to clear the area before the parade started. We did enjoy the parade. The performers were amazing and the floats were beautiful. We were all so looking forward to this event and the adults were disappointed. I feel like the event is oversold. While I will continue to love Disney and keep coming to the parks, I honestly cannot recommend this event to anyone.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: December 2012
      Location: United States
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Sun November 30, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Shorter lines
      Cons: Price

      This was our second time attending the VMMCP (11/16) and it was okay. This event is probably the best way to get on the rides in the least amount of time. Last time we came in 2012, we took time to watch the parade and see the snow on Main Street. This time we skipped all of that and did character meet and greets and as many rides as possible. One in my party did get the cocoa and cookies. Cocoa was warm at best and the cookies were so-so. Overall, I would pay again just because of the lines being shorter for attractions. Do not fret if you cannot afford to go or cannot pay the extra $$, you are not missing that much.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: November 2014
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Thu November 20, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 4 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Short lines for rides, snow on Main Street, special character meetings
      Cons: Parade VERY short

      My family and I attended the Christmas party in 2013 and it was the highlight of our Disney trip. This year, not so much. My favorite part of the party was the parade, castle show and fireworks. The parade was at least twice as long last year. Last year they had everything that was in the electrical parade in with the Christmas parade. This year none of the electrical parade floats were included. They also cut out other parts of the parade. They did add some Frozen floats but not enough to make up for all they took out! The parade lasted maybe 10 minutes long and we had to stand there for 2 hours just to hold our 2nd row spot to view the parade. Didn't even stay for the castle show as we were so tired of standing in the same spot with two small children that long. It was such a disappointment. That being said, I do think the ticket is worth it if you want short wait times on the rides. You could ride more rides during that party than you could all day long during regular park hours. The snow on Main Street is still beautiful of course but you can't really stand there and enjoy it. That street is packed. When we arrived three hours before the first parade, there wasn't anywhere to stand to view the parade from Main Street. There are some great character meetings available as well with the characters dressed in Christmas costumes. That was fun for the little ones. Hot cocoa and cookies were not as good as last year either and we had to wait in line quite a while for them. Overall, I would do it again just to ride the rides without lines. Had I known how utterly disappointing the parade was going to be, we would have used that 2 hours much more wisely. Just a few notes-I entered the price I paid for the tickets however I don't remember the cost exactly. It was in that neighborhood though. Also, we attended November 14, 2014 and last year we attended the exact same week in November but it was a Monday night instead of a Friday night.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: November 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sat November 8, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Special parades fireworks music
      Cons: Expensive CROWDED

      We went to the opening night this year. The crowds were terrible. It was like a regular park day. We have gone to the Party before and it was much less crowded.
      At the beginning of the night, every time we took a step, we were being asked to show our bracelets. After about an hour, no one asked anymore, and people clearly did not have one. I noticed many people not wearing bracelets in the lines.
      The fireworks were nice, but again, with being such a crowded night, finding a space to view was nearly impossible. We arrived at the park around 5, and people were already camped out for the night in front of the castle for the evening.
      The cookies were not very tasty, and the hot chocolate was gone in about three sips. Also, the lines were extremely long everywhere for snacks.
      The snow on Main Street was very pretty and so was the castle after Elsa "froze" it.
      I don't think I will personally return to the party due to the large crowds and the high price tag...
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: February 2013
      Location: Cincinnati OH
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Thu December 26, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): parades, short lines for rides, kids enjoyed dancing w/ Woody
      Cons: too busy - couldn't see most of characters meet-n-greet

      We attended on 12/19 - for the money paid, not sure it was worth it. The lines to see the parades, fireworks, etc were just wayyyy too crowded - felt like a sardine. Didn't get much hot chocolate or cookies (not that I need it- LOL) b/c the crowds near Main Street were just too busy. One main reason to go was to see "unique" character meet n greets - line for 7 Dwarfs was 1&1/2hrs - really- forget that... Did have a lot of short lines for rides which was nice. It was all just too much in too short of time - go to see special events or go to have short lines for the rides and skip the other offerings - but not both b/c you'll be unhappy like me.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 162
      Review Date: Tue December 17, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Snow on Main Street
      Cons: Treatment of Park Guests

      We attended the party on December 12th (second time we have attended). It was less crowded than I have seen in the past, but still pretty difficult to maneuver around. We loved the snow on main street and ended up with a very good spot for the parade (we never attempted to find a spot on main street because it was just too crowded).

      We were excited to go for 2 reasons. One, for the special sorcerer card and for the event pins. We went to the fire house with our ticket for the card. We were told that we had to have our ticket and our wrist band. We went to ask the cast members near the Christmas tree for a wrist band and were told that we had to either go to the rose garden or adventure land or go out of the park and back in...really? So, some nice cast member took pity on us and asked someone to go get us wrist bands. We got our card and headed down to find pins. There are no more individual pins...at all, anywhere. There was a set if you chose to pay that much or wait in the VERY LONG line. We did not. When I asked the cast member, he just said they were all limited editions and they are gone...sorry. That is absurd on December 14th. As an aside, I purchased the 2 pins I wanted on ebay from people who were selling multiple of the same pins...gee, wonder how they ran out so fast. Perhaps Disney should limit the number of pins you can buy. There were also monstrous lines for all the merchandise locations. Not fun.

      While we attended, we were asked many times to show our wrist bands and could not do anything, including enter a store without showing our bands. We saw some people being escorted out and thought they had stayed without a ticket and were being shown out. Not so. 3 nights later, we had a 7PM reservation at Be Our Guest. I did not even realize that it was another party night. It was our last night and we had a really lovely dinner. Totally ruined when we walked out and were not able to leave because there were about 10 cast members outside the door blocking our way. They asked us if we were going to the party. When we said no, one of them told us that they would escort us out. We felt like criminals being lead out because we had done something wrong. It was humiliating and just left such a bad taste in my mouth.

      I know that Disney has been criticized for allowing people to stay without tickets. But this time you basically could do nothing except see the parade and fireworks. Why in the world would they treat people like that? I think they should risk a handful of people maybe staying to see the parade or fireworks instead of humiliating all of them.

      I won't say I will never do something, but as a DVC member and annual pass holder who spends tons of time and money in Disney World, I am extremely disappointed. I took my step mother on this trip and was embarrassed.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: December 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Fri December 13, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): small crowds, entertainment
      Cons: nothing

      I'm not sure why the ratings are so low. This was our first trip to MVMCP, though we visit MK a few times a year, and after reading some of the reviews, I was very nervous that we'd be stuck in massive crowds and really not enjoy ourselves. But I have to say it was quite the opposite. We attended on Sun, Dec. 8. We visit MK many times a year, and at this party, we had the best position we've EVER had for fireworks, the parade, and very little wait time in lines...usually only as long as it took us to walk through the waiting area. The cookies and hot chocolate were nothing exceptional, but certainly satisfied us. I'd read that no one checked wristbands so many people were there who shouldn't be. Though I never saw anyone escorted out, I personally witnessed the cast members checking wristbands just to enter a store. And the crowds certainly thinned quickly after 7:00 pm. We all thought it was absolutely magical...one of the best days/nights we've EVER had at MK.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: December 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Mon December 9, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons: Cost/lack of crowd control

      Visit WDW often (FL resident)....This was our 4th MVMCP and probably our last until Disney can fix the crowd problem. We attended 12/5/13 (sold out). We have visited many times and know that there are always going to be crowds in the MK, but what we experienced this night was completely unacceptable. The crowd on Main St and around the castle between the parades and during the fireworks was unimaginable! Standstill is a big understatement. NO ONE was able to move. Walkways completely blocked, people pushing, yelling, and cursing. Disney can't control people's actions but they can and should create a better environment for these events, considering the cost. For a starter, reopen those two paths on each side of the castle so that there are more avenues to move people in and out of the area. Unbelievable that the management continues to disregard this matter. For this reason, we will spend our money on other things.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.