Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • jasmine0201

      Registered: October 2006
      Location: Bel Air, Maryland
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Mon February 3, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quite and clean
      Cons: Each time we had sat down on the coach. We sank about 6 inche or more.

       
      The room we had stayed at was clean and the bed was comfortable. This is a nice room, except for the coach. The resort is huge. Disney does everything on a large scale. The parks are spread out, so as to handle the crowds and the many different forms of entertainment.
      I enjoy the walks from our room to the main house. In the parks, the I enjoy walks from one ride to another ride. The employees are pretty good at there jobs. We had always been treated well. Will be going back to Disney for many years.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      Fishfamily

      Registered: February 2012
      Location: Massachusetts
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Fri January 31, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Got a great location for our family
      Cons: Theming is not very exciting

       
      We went from Jan 4th to Jan 11th. All the Disney hotels are nice. What I enjoy about staying at a Disney resort is being in the Disney bubble all week and having everything function perfectly. All I have to do is get my kids moving in the morning and the Mouse does the rest. That was the case at Saratoga. We decided being close to the bus stop was better than being close to the restaurants. We got a room in The Grandstand which was one minute from the bus stop (and the first one on the line in the morning, first stop on the way back) and about five minutes from the main building/restaurants.


      That location was perfect. It was early January and we get moving early with a 4 and 2 year old, two mornings we had our own bus. On the return trip we only waited more than 10 minutes twice. One night there was a big crowd but clearly Disney ordered more buses because they just kept coming one after the other.


      Saratoga has the boat to Downtown Disney, that's nice.


      We only ate at the quick service restaurant which is pricey for what you get, Disney has gotten very greedy about it's food pricing. The soda refill policy is annoying as well, I mean, soda is pure profit.


      The location is only okay, long bus ride to MK, medium bus ride to Epcot and Hollywood Studios.


      This is the least appealing deluxe resort in my view. A late 1800s horse race theme isn't very exciting to me, my kids were completely indifferent.


      If you get over the lack of appeal everything else is nice, several pools, clean and so on. We have other resorts we want to try so we probably won't be back to Saratoga soon but we enjoyed our stay there.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MouseDaddy

      Registered: April 2008
      Location: Darien, Il
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Sat January 4, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Proximity to Downtown Disney
      Cons: Large resort

       
      We stayed here for 5 nights just prior to Thanksgiving, 11/22-11/27. Myself, DW, twin 12 yo DD & DS and both grandmas shared a 2 bedroom villa at Congress Park. Room was awesome...clean, great theming, with plenty of space for all. View of Downtown Disney, Characters in Flight, Cirque etc.


      Bit of a hike from our room to the Artist's Palette or High Rock Spring pool... it's a really large resort that takes up a huge amount of acreage. But a pleasant stretch of the legs in nice weather and we had a car so I'd drive over to pick up coffee & danish on more inclement mornings. And hey, it's Disney, so how bad can it be to have to walk around a little?


      The pool area is impressive with a nice bar area and the arcade right there. Lots of activities around the resort and we participated in a few poolside games and had a great time at the nightly marshmallow roast/smores campfire.


      While we loved Artist's Palette and ate several meals there, a bit disappointing that AP & The Turf Club are the only dining options on property. Especially with a resort of this size and the TC's restricted hours it would seem another casual sit down/counter option or two might be appropriate.


      We really enjoyed the equestrian theming of this resort and found it to be very relaxed & restful. We've stayed previously at GF and our fav the Beach Club and found Saratoga to compare favorably. Great attention to detail as with all WDW resorts.


      Circumstances dictated we drive to the parks so can't comment on resort bus transportation. The pedestrian walkway/boat dock near our building was closed due to the construction on the new Disney Springs so we had to grab a boat from the dock near the golf course. We did use the boats several times over our stay and encountered no issues.


      Overall it was a great trip and all agreed it was a very nice resort that we'd be happy to stay at again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Keelie

      Registered: September 2006
      Posts: 55
      Review Date: Mon December 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location near Downtown Disney, beautiful room
      Cons: bus transportation

       
      We stayed here for one night before transferring to the Grand Floridian Villas and we were pleasantly surprise with how much we liked the place! It was beautiful and bell services was quick to load us into a golf cart and get us to our room. We were right near the walkway to Downtown Disney (which was closed) and could see the balloon and Fulton's boat from our porch. The room itself was really nice and spacious and we were close to a quiet pool, bus stop, and had a short walk to the main building.


      The one time we did take the bus it took forever though. There are 4 or 5 stops at this vast resort and it does eat up some time. We figured out the fastest way was getting off at another stop and just walking back to ours, but had we stayed there longer I think this would have put a damper on the trip. This is definitely a resort designed around you having a car!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Siage77

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Thu November 14, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great pool/lots of events
      Cons: Room was far from main area

       
      We stayed only one night on 10/31/13. The check in was fast. Our magic bands gave us trouble but i realize they re still in the testing phase. The room was very nice. Bed and sofa bed were comfortable.Main pool area was beautiful. Nice slides and tons of activities for kids for Halloween. At night there was a halloween party with contests and characters. Food court and restaurant were delicious!!Our hotel was a little far from main area. There was a closer pool that was quieter however
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Mich97

      Registered: January 2011
      Location: Boston, MA
      Posts: 54
      Review Date: Fri August 30, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      This is our home resort and we usually love it. It nice and clean. We usually don't have problems with bus service either. We did have one problem this trip. Usually our room is ready for us when we check in - be it at 11am or 4pm. And while I realize that officially check-in time is 4pm, they actually did not release that room to us till almost 4pm (we had checked in about 12pm). Although I found the wait inconvenient we did make use of the pool. And considering the location of the room that we got, I'd say it was worth the wait.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      michaeltigue

      Registered: July 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Fri July 19, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): clean, beautiful, patios, kitchenette, golf course, water, boat ride, basketball, pools
      Cons: large layout, not close to parks

       
      Had an amazing stay at Saratoga Springs. We've stayed there many times actually. Paid $162 using www.saratooga.com, which specializes in arranging DVC rentals for Saratoga Springs. Amazing pricing.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      wattage

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: Richmond Virginia
      Posts: 70
      Review Date: Thu April 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Grounds, staff, pools
      Cons: Location

       
      We stayed four nights at Disney’s Saratoga Springs Resort (3/31 – 4/4/13). Me, My wife and daughter stayed in a deluxe studio in the Paddock area of the resort – one building over from the new pool area. We were close to the back exit of the resort which was convenient for us as we had a car. I highly recommend having a car if staying at Saratoga as the busses take a long time to get to the parks and you are forced to waste a great deal of time waiting for the busses to pick you up.


      Our studio was on the second floor directly across from the front stairwell. The room was quiet and clean. The beds were very comfortable and the towels were nice and thick. We stayed using our DVC points so we received towel and trash service only on day three. We had no mechanical issues like our last stay in October 2012. The resort has new locks that only require you to touch your card-key to the lock for it to open your room. We packed thinking we had a washer and dryer in our room, but a studio does not come with that luxury. So we had to utilize the guess laundry on two occasions. The laundry areas were free to use, and had enough washer and dryers that we never had to wait to use either.


      The grounds and building of the resort are beautiful and well maintained. I’ll still only stay at Saratoga Springs ONLY if I cannot get in at any other resort, but this trip it was not a bad place for our four nights.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kermike

      Registered: October 2010
      Location: Grand Island NY
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Tue April 9, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cleanliness, Staff and Transportation
      Cons: Evil Black snake I ran into..

       
      We had the pleasure of staying from 5/30-4/6, I had checked-in online so I could request the Grandstand area since this is first on the bus stops. Staying at Grandstand, we were close by to a smaller pool which was not busy and nice because no chaos. We where traveling with friends and had the 2 bedroom Villa that fit the 8 of us very well. Having onsite laundry made the packing easier.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bill_p

      Registered: March 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Mon March 25, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet, very peaceful setting
      Cons: Maybe a bit spread out

       
      My family of 4 stayed in a studio for a week, and had a great time. We were in Carousel, close to the buses (and also fairly close to the Paddock pool). The room was a good size for a week's worth of clothes and supplies, and the fold-out bed was very comfortable for our kids (12 and 8). The older daughter is approaching that "teen angst" phase, and probably would have preferred a hotel with a Haunted Mansion theme, but by our 2nd morning there was talking about how much she loved the setting.


      The staff was friendly. Service at the Turf Club was wonderful (Rob was our server). Buses were almost always quick to arrive.


      Yes, the sections are spread out, so until you learn your way around, it can be a bit of a hike, but overall, we very much enjoyed our stay here and are looking forward to coming back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      WingsAt46

      Registered: March 2013
      Location: Michigan
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Fri March 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): beautiful grounds, near Downtown Disney,
      Cons: not enough storage space for clothing or groceries, too much noise from buses and vans

       
      Cons:
      Our room, #3334, was overlooking an intersection and across from the Disney Vacation Club van parking. Every morning we could hear the back-up beeping of the vans, and all day the traffic of buses constantly decelerating and accelerating at the corner. Much too loud to sit on and enjoy the balcony.

      The thermostat would (we discovered 2 days/nights into our stay) have to be set at 80°F to keep the place from getting below 72° - according to the dial. However, 72°should feel a LOT warmer than THAT 72°! It was freezing in our villa but we couldn't open the door wall for some warmth because of the bus noise outside. Still, I'd need to get up during the night to re-set the thermostat back up to 80° because it would not warm up the rooms until the temp hit 72°. There was just one extra blanket.


      The couch really needed to be replaced. Just sitting on it (I weigh 144#) would leave a deep fold in the cushion and when my husband sat on it (200#), it almost folded in half. We simply could not be comfortable on it for long.


      Now for a vacation club suite, I would think storage space would have been of greater importance. In the bedroom, there were 2 small drawers for each my husband and for me. A Hope Chest type piece had a broken drawer so we couldn't use that. There was another in the living room but we stored extra sheets and pillows in that for the pull-out bed.


      The SPA portion of the resort was down for refurbishing but we were not notified of that until we read through the Welcome Packet at check-in. The Spa was one of the reasons we chose Saratoga.


      Pros:
      The bed was comfortable, the room darkening curtains kept the room dark, the H2O hair products were great and we had plenty of sheets and towels, coffee, shampoo (dropped off in a basket at our door each morning).


      I was SO glad that we didn't buy into the Vacation Club as we had been considering!


      We will not be returning to Saratoga. Every year we stay on Disney Property and have never had a complaint. Until now. It was an expensive lesson.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      toolmanjan

      Registered: April 2008
      Location: Toms River New Jersey
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Sun January 20, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean & freindly resort
      Cons: Transportation to parks

       
      We stayed (myself DW DD & DS) at SSR 1/13 to 1/20. Springs Section southern most building. Our room (2br dedicated) was in excellent condition. We disagree with the previous poster that said SSR was like a moderate resort (far from it).


      The only issue we had was with bus transportation. Bus rides to and from the parks are lengthy because of the resorts size. There are 5 bus stops total. The boat service to DTD was great.


      My wife was in a walking cast so we asked the front desk for a loaner wheel chair. This worked out great.


      The food at Artist Palette (CS) was good. The Caprese flat bread was really good.


      One of the highlights of our stay was dinner at the Turf Club B&G. Excellent food & great staff


      I won’t say this resort is my favorite however we wouldn’t hesitate staying here again. We would like to try staying in the Congress Park section when we do.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      peters

      Registered: January 2006
      Posts: 83
      Review Date: Sun January 20, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Rooms, swimming pool, staff
      Cons: Large resort, bus stops

       
      I've avoided Saratoga for years based on many reviews I've read here and other sites. Thankfully, I was able to see first hand how beautiful this resort is during a 2 night stay in January 2013.
      The rooms are spacious and nicely appointed. Cast members were very friendly & helpful, even by Disney standards and the main pool area is wonderful!
      The only reason I didn't give the resort a 10 was due to the bus service. As others have stated, there are 5 stops and it takes a long time to go around that resort. While I understand why Disney has it set up this way, it definitely makes the resort seem more like a moderate. If you have a car, I would highly recommend Saratoga!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      quintenglish

      Registered: January 2013
      Location: Northampton, UK
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Mon January 7, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet, beautiful, fantastically welcoming
      Cons: A bit far from the parks

       
      I've visited Disney World countless times as this is by far my favourite place to stay. The staff here are friendlier than anywhere else I've been, the area is gorgeous and the facilities are great. Of all the Disney resorts, this is probably the best value for money you will find.


      This place is huge though - everything is very spread out, but I don't think this is a bad thing. After all, who wants to be crammed in like sardines?


      The only downside is that it feels a little remote in relation to the parks, so unless you have your own car, you will be very dependent on the shuttle buses.


      However, Downtown Disney is very accessible by footpath, which can be a near-perfect evening stroll if you can summon the energy.


      I would absolutely recommend this hotel 100%. It's far from the most expensive Disney resort, but it's among the best.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Andybren01

      Registered: January 2006
      Location: Illinois
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Sun January 6, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean room, friendly staff
      Cons: huge resort

       
      We stayed here on 11-29-12, our first villa experience. While over all it was ok, I don't know how much I would want to stay here again. Our sliding doors in our villa didn't work, the sofa was hard, the resort itself is huge. Not bad, very friendly castmembers, but just missing that extra touch.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.