Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • DePasquale

      Registered: July 2016
      Posts: 22
      Review Date: Wed July 6, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Round tables for 6
      Cons: Didn't love my Kansas City

      I know it's hard to not give a 10 to this famous steak house but I was a bit disappointed with my Kansas City Strip. The service was great, the round table for our party of six was perfect but still, a 10 is a 10.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: May 2008
      Location: Norton, MA
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Mon May 9, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, service, location
      Cons: None

      The best rib eye this steak lover has ever had. I even tried the marrow - surprisingly good. Pricey, but worth it. So convenient to our Beach Club villa.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2006
      Location: Kansas City
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Wed April 20, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Service, ambiance, food
      Cons: None

      My wife and I eat here at least once a year when we come to WDW. We always ask for Oscar to wait on us. He really takes care of us. Yes the food is good, particularly the steaks. But we can get pretty good steaks in Kansas City too. So, what makes this place special is the service in general, and Oscar in particular. Our last visit was on 4/16/2016. My wife and I could not find the tomato and mozzarella appetizer on the menu that we have enjoyed so much in the past. We asked Oscar if we could get that appetizer even thought it was not on the menu. Oscar said let me check. After a while, he came back to us and said the chef could make one up for each of us. When Oscar brought them out to us he told us the chef had to send a person to another kitchen to get the mozzarella cheese and tomato, because, since this item is not on the menu, they don't keep them in their kitchen. This is an example of the kind of excellent service this restaurant, and Oscar, provide.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: February 2016
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue February 23, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): EVERYTHING
      Cons: NONE

      Everything about this place is amazing we come every year and every time we come down we have to eat there at least once or twice. It is our favorite fine dinning restaurant here
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: Spearfish, SD
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Mon February 15, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): everything
      Cons: zero

      Impeccable as always. I'm not sure how they manage to get better every single time we visit! this rating would go to 11!

      Our party of 10 ordered a lot of food back in December 2015. Everything was marvelous. Besides amazing steaks (and I live in cattle country), the sides, sauces, and desserts are crazy good too. The service is always outstanding, as is the wine list. Scotch lovers will appreciate the scotch flight on the drink menu. It's the details that make this place truly special - simple things like warming the coffee cups before bringing them to your table with your French press pot of coffee and pouring tableside; roasted garlic served along with the butter and bread service; asking the parents how many refills to allow your kids who were treated to soda that evening. Superb.
      Best yet, Tables in Wonderland is accepted here which makes it an amazing value. We love to splurge on a very nice evening here nearly every time we visit Disney.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: Richmond Virginia
      Posts: 91
      Review Date: Mon February 1, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Service, Great Food
      Cons: none

      This was our third time eating at Yachtsman, and it was the best of the three experiences! We ate here on November 9, 2015. Our ADR was at 5:20pm and we arrived at 5:15 and were seated almost immediately. Our table was in the section with vaulted ceilings and surround windows. We were seated next to a window with great views of the water (lake – not the pool). Our server was Susan who was excellent throughout our meal.

      We got the Porterhouse for two with Trio of Steakhouse Sides. My only small complaint is that the steak came out already cut from the bone and cut up into slices. I would have preferred cutting it up myself, but it was cooked perfectly. Both of us thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The steak and the sides were excellent and very tasty. Next time we go, we’ve agreed to get this cut again, but tell them not to cut it up for us. We would also sit in Susan’s section again. The meal was one of the best I’ve ever had!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: November 2008
      Location: New Jersey
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Thu January 15, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): service and steak quality
      Cons: other patrons

      Wife and I had dinner here on Tuesday 1/13 night. We were staying off property for other obligations, but made the effort and reservations for dinner here. This has always been one of our favorite restaurants. The food was excellent. My wife had the 8 oz filet and I had the KC strip and both were cooked as expected. We did not order appetizer as the desserts looked scrumptious. We had the chocolate peanut butter cake which was excellent. The main issue was that a large party sat next to us as we were ordering our main courses. This party may have been the rudest and most obnoxious I have ever seen in a restaurant. The manager did move us into the VIP alcove to alleviate our frustration and the rest of the dinner passed without event. Lulu was our server and did her best to make the rest of the evening enjoyable. We will come back to the Yachtsman, but we will also be on the watch for this type of behavior. Oh as an aside, all of the staff was great and apologetic but like everywhere else in Orlando people apologize for these types of inconveniences, but there is NEVER any type of reimbursement.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2012
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Sun January 11, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious steakhouse experience
      Cons: Hostess was a little rude

      The last time we ate here was 10/1998. We wanted a nice steakhouse experience and really wanted to return to the Yachtsman. We had ADR but waited about 15 minutes. The hostess seemed a little rude and had me worried at first. Once we were seated, it was nothing but a positive experience. Steakhouses in general have a slower, relaxed ambiance and this is what you get at The Yachtsman. Our server was very friendly and professional. The food was way beyond great. We had previously done a tour at Epcot through the greenhouse and a salad was featured on the menu from there. Everything we had was delicious. Get the truffle mac & cheese...you won't regret it.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2014
      Posts: 22
      Review Date: Fri January 2, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fantastic food
      Cons: None

      After a disappointing meal at Shula's, we were so happy to have a fantastic experience at Yachtsman. We started off with a cheese board appetizer and lobster bisque...both were delicious. We then moved on to our perfectly cooked filet mignon meals--perfection. They serve the best onion rolls on the planet. Great service, best meal during our vacation. Will be back!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: November 2014
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Sun November 30, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good Service, Great Steaks
      Cons: None

      We had Thanksgiving dinner during our Disney Honeymoon at the Yacht Club Steakhouse. Although they offered a nice Thanksgiving meal on the menu (turkey and fixings) we opted to get steaks and were very happy we did! We started with the shrimp cocktail and the charcuterie board, which were both excellent (I had to take a picture of the charcuterie, it was so amazing) and then he had the filet and I had the NY 8 oz. Strip steak. We also ordered truffle macaroni and cheese and caramelized onions as sides. Everything was excellent. They also give you warm rolls with butter and a whole soft head of garlic to spread on it. The service was attentive but not overbearing. We were so full, we could not order dessert, but our waiter gave us a beautiful little plate with tiny chocolates and macarons to celebrate our honeymoon. Wonderful experience. I Could NOT believe how casually people were dressed in there! We happily dressed nicely (I wore a black dress and my husband wore a dress shirt and pants) and we had a very nice romantic evening together at the Yachtsman Steakhouse. We will go back!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: May 2007
      Posts: 58
      Review Date: Wed October 8, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): It was in our hotel
      Cons: Everything else

      We ate here on 9/24/14. My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary. We were seated within 10 minutes of arriving, but after that everything went downhill. We had spent the day drinking in Epcot and did not order alcohol so maybe that had something to do with our supremely crappy service that was only surpassed in its crappiness by the quality of the food we were served.

      We shared the lobster bisque that was thin and fishy -- just not good at all. We powered through it telling ourselves this was a steakhouse and we shouldn't expect to the seafood to be fantastic (even if it was a waiter recommendation).

      My husband got the dry aged Kansas City Strip Steak (that was, once again, recommended by the server as "the best and most flavorful steak on the menu -- as well as one of the most expensive at $55.00 for just the steak). It was by far the worst steak he has ever eaten, A steak at Western Sizzler would have been better. It was tough and lacked the succulence of a great steak. Without a great steak flavor you would think they would at least season it to give it some flavor, but nope. I'm not sure that they even used any salt or pepper to season the steak. I'm sure your wondering why we didn't send it back for another steak. The reason is simple: it was late, we were tired, and it took 2-25 minutes for our soup and OVER 45 minutes between our soup and entrée. We didn't feel like waiting another hour for another steak.

      I ordered the filet and it was fine. Not great, but fine. I certainly had much better filets and I have had worse. I must admit I did have a sour taste in my mouth for this place by this point in the evening. My husband ate from my plate and left his steak uneaten. When the server (finally) came to take the plates he never even commented on my husband's uneaten steak.

      We had ordered dessert already and dreaded having to wait for it. Again, an extremely long wait. The dessert was the crème brulee' which I love. This was not good. Not even ok. We shared this and again left the majority of it in the plate.

      We received no apologies for the long waits, nor did the server check on us during those times. No water refresh, no anything. We watched him wait on other tables and found him to be somewhat more attentive to them than to us. We saw people (and larger groups than 2) seated after us and finish well before us.

      We generally will give a place at least 2 tries before we say we are not going back. Not this time. The Yachtsman managed to fully hit each and every thing you can do wrong during what should be a signature dining experience. We will not ever be back. I'm not sure I would go back if I was eating a fully reimbursed meal. It really was that bad.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: February 2009
      Posts: 75
      Review Date: Sun August 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): difficult situation handled reasonably

      Ok so I have to confess it is a little difficult to be objective about this meal as during the ordering process our server was sadly taken ill. Thankfully it appeared to be nothing serious but following an ambulance being called we were very shocked and the atmosphere was dreadful. Our new server tried very hard to keep us informed and to lighten the atmosphere and for that she should be applauded, however, despite being compensated with a complimentary truffle mac n cheese the entire meal left a bad taste in the mouth and we should in hindsight have bitten the bullet and left.
      We all ordered the Kansas strip and I believe we had no complaints but it didn't taste as good as last trip. The truffle mac n cheese is an amazing side and worth a visit alone.
      The desserts weren't brilliant choices for our picky 12 year old so she was able to order the white chocolate puzzle off the kids menu which she enjoyed.
      Our original drinks order we did not re-order because of the situation so we stuck with soft drinks.
      It would be unfair for me to give the mark of 2/3 which we all agree we feel as I am sure our loathing of the meal was not the restaurants fault.
      Hopefully our server is now fit and well but we probably will not return. Sorry!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: August 2006
      Location: NJ
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Thu June 12, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food and atmosphere
      Cons: none

      The best meal I've eaten in my 11 trips to Disney World. Our waiter Oscar was the best!! Worth the money!!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: October 2009
      Location: Massachusetts
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Thu May 8, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Top Quality steak
      Cons: none

      We arrived 2 hours before our reservation and they took us in immediately. Steak was cooked to perfection and sides were delicious. Had a lovely atmosphere and our server was very pleasant. Would definitely go again.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: May 2012
      Location: Pennsylvania
      Posts: 20
      Review Date: Wed April 16, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Steaks
      Cons: None

      This restaurant is a great place to get a really good steak. We ordered the filet and NY strip steaks. Both were cooked exactly to our order. The steaks were very tender and everything was delicious. The service was excellent. All of our questions were answered and our waiter made good suggestions for dessert. We highly recommend this restaurant!
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.