Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • lisakb22

      Registered: March 2014
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Tue April 1, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food and service
      Cons: crabcake

       
      Great place! Good service and the crab legs amazing and plentiful! Weird crab cake, no breading and not fried, more like warm crab salad.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mawdryn

      Registered: August 2007
      Location: Oswego, Il
      Posts: 114
      Review Date: Tue March 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Menu Offerings, and Service
      Cons: NONE

       
      My husband and I ate here on March 8th for his birthday lunch. We were on the deluxe dining plan, so I had the crab cake appetizer and he had the soup special. My entree was the lobster roll and it was overflowing with lobster meat. It was delicious. My husband had the fish and chips, which were equally yummy. For dessert, I had the Braeburn apple buckle, and my husband had the chocolate cake. We were also presented with a complimentary glass of champagne to celebrate my husband's birthday, and the waitress brought him a balloon with Mickey weights. This place is a hidden gem, and I highly recommend it. I have now dined her for lunch and dinner.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      rebelbuddhist

      Registered: December 2009
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Sun January 5, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good food and friendly service
      Cons:

       
      We were sad that the crab cakes were off the menu when we were there in December after Christmas. But the other seafood appetizers, scallops, clam chowder, were good. The steak entree was surprisingly enjoyable since this is not a steak house. Our steaks were prepared well just as we ordered. This is a less expensive alternative to the signature restaurants that offers a fine meal for the price. The atmosphere is peaceful and the service was excellent from the sign-in podium to the servers.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nursenita

      Registered: February 2008
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Fri November 29, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): good drinks
      Cons: limited menu

       
      Just not our type of food, limited menu, limited sides.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mawdryn

      Registered: August 2007
      Location: Oswego, Il
      Posts: 114
      Review Date: Tue July 9, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food and Service
      Cons: None

       
      My family of 6 enjoyed dinner here on July 2. I was very hesitant after some of the negative reviews, but I have to say this was probably my favorite meal of the entire 6 day trip.
      We were seated promptly at our 6 o'clock reservation time and the service was excellent. Our waiter, Matt was wonderful. Ask for him if you dine here. He made sure all of our needs were met. He was also very friendly and chatted up my entire family.
      We enjoyed crab cakes, clam chowder (best I have EVER had), crab legs, NY strips, fish of the day and pasta.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nrymut

      Registered: July 2006
      Posts: 100
      Review Date: Sun June 16, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, service
      Cons: none

       
      Had a great dinner here in June. Flavors were well developed in both of our dishes. Service was nicely done. Restaurant was not crowded and tables are well spaced.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Lighthouse

      Registered: May 2013
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Thu June 13, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Convenient location Yacht & Beach Club
      Cons: Limited menu

       
      We ate here for dinner on a recent stay at Beach Club.
      Friendly staff, comfortable seating
      Menu limited in choices. Two of us at table ordered steak. Steak was tasty but tough and hard to cut.. We had not been given steak knives so asked for sharper knives. Ten minutes later waiter brought steak knives explaining that he had to go to Yachtsman's Steakhouse to "borrow knives" from them. By that time we were done eating rest of meal. Perhaps the restaurant should invest in new utensils!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dsnyak5

      Registered: September 2008
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Tue May 21, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      My husband and I dined here twice during our recent stay May 9-14. We were staying at the Beach Club, so it was very convenient.


      Lunch. Never again. Poor service, and the food was just awful. Husband got the burger and clam chowder. I got the tuna sandwich and clam chowder combo. I got my meal, and was half way through it before his meal came, and we had to flag down the waitress to ask for it. Let me warn you against the clam chowder. The worst we have ever experienced. We both regretted it all day and into the evening.


      Breakfast. We both had the buffet. A wide assortment of choices, all seemed fresh, we made only a couple of disappointing choices. However, there were no plain bread/toast choices. No white, no wheat, no bagels, no English muffins. (The husband likes toast with his eggs). I would go back for breakfast, but for the money, I think I will skip the buffet and just order something from the menu.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Jrbc1976

      Registered: December 2012
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Fri December 21, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food/waitstaff
      Cons: none

       
      We had reservations on 11/29/12. I was scared because feedback is not the best but we had an excellent dinner and our waitress was on top of it. There were four adults and one child. We all had different things and we all liked our food. There was a decent amoutn of crab legs and the crab cakes were amazing. Can not wait to go back there.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      blazersgt

      Registered: November 2012
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sun November 4, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food
      Cons: Service

       
      We were initially greeted by two hostesses that took us to a table in a timely fashion. That is where it went downhill from there. Our waiter arrived and greeted us by telling us that he has been a waiter on the resort for years. He appeared to be nervous and got stuck on what to say to go over the menu. He was continuously shaking and wrote down our drink orders which were (a Coke, two unsweet teas, and a Diet Coke). He returned with water and three unsweet teas. We were his only table at that time. We tasted the tea and it was awful so we asked just to get Cokes. So that would mean a Diet Coke and two Cokes back to the table. He came back with a Coke and Diet Coke and water. He was shaking so much we had to grab the drinks from him in the air because we were scared he would pour the drinks on us. He finally got our order which was the Chef Selection. One party member that I was with did not want fingerling potatoes so we asked for mashed potatoes. He stated that he would check with the Chef. I ordered the Pork Tenderloin which he advised was good. Once I ordered the Tenderloin he took my knife away. He said that I would not need that because it was tender. I have never been to a place that took my knife away before I got the salad or even ate the meal, by doing this I did not have a knife for my bread. We all commented that he was nervous and it was unbelievable that he has been a waiter for years. The drinks were all empty and I had finished drinking the extra water that he mistakenly brought to the table. He came back to the table and said that they could not do mashed potatoes but could do a baked potato, which was fine. The server brought us our food and the baked potato was not cut and no fixings were provided. We had to wait to get the waiter to bring fixings for potato (only needed butter and sour cream). We finished the dinner which the food was great the service was awful. We got our desserts with no problem. We left and I spoke to the Manager and told him that the waiter needs help. The manager asked me to come back inside to comp our meal but it would do me no good do to us be on our last night and on the dining plan. We spent over 136 dollars at this restaurant and we thought that service would be good.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      worco

      Registered: January 2011
      Posts: 35
      Review Date: Sun October 28, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great atmosphere and a great meal
      Cons: None

       
      This restaurant truly is a hidden gem. The Yachtsman Steakhouse get most of the attention, but we have eaten at Captain's Grill twice and both times had a great meal. The staff is friendly and waits on you hand and foot. The food is excellent and well worth a try.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      xrayvision

      Registered: August 2009
      Posts: 24
      Review Date: Sun October 28, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Have ALWAYS been able to get a reservation here.
      Cons: Menu changes

       
      We ate here on October 1, 2012 for dinner. Had a reservation and arrived about 15 min early and we were seated immediately. We are DVC members and have eaten here for years. We have our favorite items on the menu and usually have the Disney Dining Plan. Much to our surprise, the menu changed slightly, and was even different than the one posted on the Disney Dining website. The ribeye steak is no longer on the menu, much to our dismay. The waitress stated that the menu had changed about 1 1/2 weeks prior. Disappointed, as this was on the menu for years! Other than that, the food was great.Glad the crab legs are still on the menu! Waitress not very friendly.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      colinlyoung

      Registered: February 2007
      Location: Nottingham, England
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Mon October 1, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): None.
      Cons: Poor slow service, cold food.

       
      We have just spent a week at Disney World and are DVC members. We always treat ourselves to at least 1 fine dining meal during our stays. We chose Captains Grille after a great experience their in February this year. Unfortunately this time our experience was so disappointing.
      We had a reservation for 7.30pm on 27th Sept. We arrived early and were told they were running late due to an early evening influx of customers because of a storm.


      No major problem, we weren't in a rush. We were finally seated at 7.50pm. Our server came over and after an initial introduction we ordered drinks. Water and bread arrived, and we told there was a delay at the bar. 15 mins later our drinks (2 beers) finally arrived. We had ordered crab cakes and Scallops for appetisers, both were slow to arrive, and were cold. We daren't turn them away as we both very hungry. I had by now finished my drink, and was looking forward to another 1, but she never came back to check. She was friendly but her service was severely lacking.


      For my entree I chose the Pasta special which was shrimp and pesto on a fusili pasta. I love pasta, but this was awful. So much pesto had been used in the sauce that's all I could taste. My wife's pork was o.k., but again cold.


      A massive disappointment. The next night we ate at a very busy Olive Garden, which was so much better. We won't be back to Captains Grille any time soon.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      beans0418

      Registered: September 2012
      Location: United States
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Wed September 5, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet, great food and service
      Cons: None

       
      We chose to eat here on our first night at the Beach Club. Compared to other Disney restaurants it is quieter and set off of the Yacht Club Lobby. The server was friendly and the only difficult task was the servers thick accent. The food portions were acceptable - not too large and not too small. No one left hungry. All at the table (7) enjoyed their meal and would definitely return. They have ala carte and pre fixed meals. Since we made our reservation late on the same day they were still very accommodating. Great way to end our first day at the Beach Club.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lauriemacneil

      Registered: August 2009
      Location: Nova Scotia
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Tue September 4, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): everything
      Cons:

       
      We arrived an hour and a half early for our reservation, but they were happy to seat us right away (which we really appreciated). From that point on, it just got better and better! Our server was Alfredo and he was training a server named Barry...they were both AMAZING! They made a few recommendations and my husband took them up on the Market Fish (which was cod), but my son and I went there specifically for the snow crab. The food was fabulous! We were so impressed with this restaurant that we HIGHLY recommend it!
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.