Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • lisakb22

      Registered: March 2014
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Tue April 1, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food and service
      Cons:

       
      Second visit to this restaurant-had the platter both times but forgot how good everything tasted! The salad was great,the meats were tasty(skip the fish,not their strong point) and the sides yummy and varied. The cornbread was so good as well. Our server,Anita Margarita(Tabitha) was kind and took care of us. We sat in one of the smaller hallways,close enough to see the fun but far enough away to be just an observer. We took our desserts to go because we were full and ate them the next day-yummy! A great way to end a fun vacation!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      slpayne

      Registered: March 2012
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Mon March 31, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food
      Cons:

       
      We've eaten at WCC every trip since we first discovered it. Love the atmosphere, but because it was just DH and myself, we enjoyed being a little removed from the main room. We were seated immediately at the table in front of the fireplace. It was a rainy evening and the perfect table. We starved ourselves all day for the all you can eat skillet. Tried the ribs, sausage, pork & beef. All were really good, especially the ribs. Huge fan of mashed potatoes so I was in heaven! This stays on our "must do" list!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Lizh1500

      Registered: March 2014
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sun March 30, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, atmosphere
      Cons: Some servers are no fun

       
      Food was great- except we never got our salad. Atmosphere was energetic, most servers were having a lot of fun with their tables. Our server was very nice and friendly but didn't "play along"-- just brought my son a bottle of ketchup, brought regular refills, etc...
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jeconk

      Registered: August 2013
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Tue March 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Choices are varied; can be fun atmosphere but depends on what server you get.
      Cons: Food Taste not that great

       
      When our large group was choosing restaurants for our week long visit, this restaurant was near the top of many of the lists. After eating here, it fell to the very bottom of almost everyone's.
      While the atmosphere can be fun at times and the server's can be fun, it all depends on how interactive and "into the part" your server is. While the host who seated us was great, our server was not very much fun compared to what we saw servers at other tables doing.
      The food is mediocre. WHile the choices are varied, the taste was not that good and quite frankly, all the different meats tasted pretty much the same. (is pork supposed to taste like chicken??...lol). The desserts also were limited in selection.
      Since this restaurant is somewhat out of the way at the Wilderness Lodge, it is one that is easily overlooked..... and that is not always a bad thing.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      pls

      Registered: November 2007
      Posts: 78
      Review Date: Wed January 22, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): good food and good selection
      Cons: can get noisy

       
      My family group of 10 selected the all you care to eat buffet which is delivered to the table. We loved everything, and the waitress was fun to interact with. Not everyone enjoyed the noise level, but for most it was fun.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      John

      Registered: December 2010
      Location: Louisiana
      Posts: 62
      Review Date: Sun December 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons: Poor service and food

       
      WE have eaten at the Whispering Canyon Cafe' several times and always found the food and service to be great. Therefore we decided to eat there for our Thanksgiving feast. We were sorely disappointed. Both the service and the food were not very good. Also when we asked for more, it took the longest time for it to come and by that time our appetites were almost gone. We will never eat Thanksgiving dinner there again. Much better to go to the Liberty Tree Tavern in Magic Kingdom or even Pecos Bills was better than this.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      annat856

      Registered: September 2006
      Posts: 116
      Review Date: Wed November 13, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wonderful food! Beautiful resort!
      Cons: LOUD!

       
      The chef and the food would get a 10. But it really gets loud when the staff starts all their crazy antics! It was fine at first but we were glad to leave cause the volume was getting crazy! The chef came out and talked to DD about dairy free menu choices. The meats were fine. He made her this incredible corn bread and roasted potatoes! And they have Tofutti for dessert. The rest of my party of 6 loved our pulled pork, strip loin ( yum!), and sausage! The ribs were ok. Mashed potatoes were so good! Glad they made the portions smaller since the last time we were here. Good filling hearty meal!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      luvwdw65

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun November 10, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): fun atmosphere
      Cons: Portions and change to the menu

       
      This used to be one of our favorite places to eat, but not after our last visit. Our waiter, Smokin Sam, was anything but on fire, he was pretty slow.


      The Dessert Sampler Platter has been removed from the "all you care to enjoy" platter and replaced with a salad. This was very disappointing. The salad was just OK but dessert is always better.


      We asked why? He said it was because they were wasting dessert because so many people would ask for and then not eat them.


      Now about the portions. We ordered Pulled Pork, Chicken and Beef Strip Loin. The pulled pork portion would have been about half of what one person would get at any real BBQ restaurant. The Chicken must have been a baby because the 2 pieces we got were very small, and we got 1 piece of beef. This is what we got for 2, not so small adults. I know we got mashed potatoes, corn and beans but we go there to eat BBQ. I also know we can order more, which we did but those portions of sausage, ribs and fish were not any better.
      And did I mention how slow our waiter was? So more than an hour later when we left, we still felt hungry and disappointed that we weren't getting dessert unless we wanted to pay for it.
      We will not be going back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Grumppy

      Registered: October 2009
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Mon September 30, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fun atmosphere
      Cons: Food, service

       
      We ate here on the last night of our recent trip, basically because we were staying at WL Villas and felt we would be able to relax, pack, etc. After checking in, was told they were "running a little behind" but actually didn't have to wait very long...it would be nice if you are staying at that resort if they could arrange it so they contacted you in your room +/- 15 mins or so before seating so you didn't have to wait in hotel lobby. Anyway, as has been mentioned in other reviews, this is NOT the place to go for a nice quiet dinner. That is OK by us, and we had an idea what we were in for since we had been by the restaurant several times during our stay and seen and heard the antics. We were greeted promptly by our server, who was very pleasant, and put in our order. The drinks (sodas and milk shake) arrived relatively quickly; the food was delivered by other servers in a timely fashion. Since we were a party of four, the sides brought were barely enough for medium servings for each of us. We wanted to ask for more sides, but our waitress was nowhere to be found. Finally, we flagged down one of the managers who happened to be passing our table and asked her, and we finally got our additional sides. For the meat, we had the beef, chicken and sausage. I wouldn't go so far as to call the beef "steak", it was more like roast beef. It was OK, but nothing to rave about. The chicken was pretty good, but I would avoid the sausage. Three out of the four of us ate it, and all three ended up becoming ill later in the evening...the one that didn't eat it was fine. The sides and the dessert assortment were good. If you have kids, no doubt they will enjoy it here; the Wilderness Lodge and the grounds surrounding it are among the most beautiful in WDW-you really DO feel that you are out in a lodge in the wilderness and not smack in the middle of Florida. The highlight of the evening was walking down to the beach after dinner and watching the Electric Water Pageant which stopped right in front.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Hamill04

      Registered: September 2013
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Tue September 24, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great opening night dinner
      Cons:

       
      We stayed at Wilderness lodge so I made ADRs for dinner here the first night to make it easy on us after a day of travel. I was a little bit nervous about the antics and my husband's sense of humor but the waitress(loopsy daisy)read him perfectly and didn't push his buttons like other servers were doing. She even gave us some really good ideas of other places to eat in the World. There was a waiter a couple tables over who was very loud and obnoxious(which I guess is part of the feel)which his table loved but which my husband probably would have just left. We ended up trying all the meats of the skillet and we finished them all-they were all very good, even the fish. The mashed potatoes are real potatoes and were the only side we requested more of-we chose to fill up on the meat but the other sides looked fine. The kids loved the pony race through the restaurant except my three year old son had a hard time giving back the pony! Dessert is a sampler and was very good. If you aren't staying at Wilderness Lodge its worth the boat ride over for dinner, but make sure you have a strong sense of humor or a server that can take one look at you and realize you don't!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      AddictedtoDisney

      Registered: January 2009
      Location: Delaware
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Fri August 16, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere loud and fun very interactive, Food
      Cons: N/A

       
      Awesome location, multiple options on how to get there we chose a boat. Very nice during the evening you get to see the fire works from the MK while waiting at the docks. The resort is full of amazing carvings all around, giving you the feeling of being warm and cozy. The service from Loopy Lisa was amazing she had us cracking up the whole time. She made everyone's night making this dinner one of our favorites. The food was amazing so delicious cooked to perfection. A must for anyone not afraid to be the center of attention!!! :D
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ginny3

      Registered: June 2012
      Location: Central Illinois
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Tue July 9, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fun but Rowdy
      Cons:

       
      If you are going out to have dinner in a quiet setting, this is not the place to choose. But if you're up for some fun and decent food you've found an enjoyable place.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      amw264

      Registered: July 2013
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sun July 7, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): fun place for the family
      Cons:

       
      Whispering Canyon has been a part of our family Disney traditions for years and years and it did not disappoint again. We had dinner here on June 16 (Father's Day) and it was fantastic. We were a party of 8 and all of us ordered the skillet dinner. Something for everyone. DS, DD and myself loved the fish, the ribs and steak were a huge hit. Yes, the atmosphere is loud and rowdy and there are kids running around the restaurant on wooden horses and people bringing ketchup to other tables. All in all it is a fun dinner, food is delicious. We will be back!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      1283alex

      Registered: May 2013
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Wed May 22, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      Food was just average - should have saved dining credits & ate somewhere better - somewhat fun to watch kids having fun, but very obnoxious to dine here as a childless couple - waitress did not take social cues from us to back off with dramatic antics - super crowded restaurant - VERY LOUD
      Click here to see this users profile  
      pkf4bucs

      Registered: March 2008
      Location: Alabama
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Sun March 31, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Party/wait staff interaction
      Cons: limited menu

       
      We have eaten here a few times but not since the menu change. That was a little disappointing. The food was good. We had a non meat eater in our party of 10 and they brought a pasta dish that they say was good. The desserts were ok. Our server was Jeffrey (from Miami) and he played the part very well.They still do the ketchup routine but unless you have kids its not needed. All in all I could skip this in the next few trips.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.