Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • cindyfan

      Registered: April 2017
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed April 12, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): beautiful grounds, friendly staff, boat to Disney Springs
      Cons: Buses!!

       
      This March was the second time I stayed at POR and it is now my favorite moderate. The rooms were really nice and didn't look worn out like other resorts. Love the whole theme and the grounds were beautiful.
      Didn't spend much time at the food court(only to grab snacks) but did notice it was quite crowded at times.
      The worst part of this resort is the buses! Horribly crowded!!! Never really waited long but we used the East Depot which was the 3rd stop and I was lucky to get a seat! By time it made it's way to the South Depot it was PACKED and could not handle everyone waiting at South Depot. If we ever go back to POR we will NEVER use the South Depot and will always make sure to put that on our list for room locations! No matter the time of day the South Depot was crazy packed with people waiting for buses! Love the resort but they need to fix the bus problem.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      goofy12

      Registered: September 2006
      Posts: 27
      Review Date: Mon April 10, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): quiet, room close to food court
      Cons: cleanliness of room

       
      We stayed in a Royal Room from March 23rd - 26th. The room theme was lovely. My daughter loved it! The location was quiet and just a walk across the bridge was the pool and food court. Our maid service could have been better. When we checked in, there was a dirty sock left on the air conditioner. No bags in the trash cans. There was a Mickey head made from towels on the bed. We must have had a different mousekeeper the 2nd day. Our end bed covers were made into a decorative twist. Our bath mat and towels were made into a seashell. There were bags in the cans. The next day, back to how it was when we arrived. We usually stay at a Value resort, but fell in love with Port Orleans. It was quiet and felt relaxing, even though it was a busy week. We used the food court at off times and never had a problem. Food and service was great. As much as we like the Values, we have found a new Disney home!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Cjmsh12

      Registered: February 2017
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sun February 19, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Close To Disney Springs, Privacy, Quiet
      Cons: No time for Pool

       
      I stayed here with my fiancé for 9 nights, 10 days. 7 day park hopper tickets. I requested a room in Magnolia Bend or near there because of how gorgeous and magnificent the mansion buildings were overlooking the River. Check in was a breeze and our bags were already being sent to our room via Magical Express. The room was perfect. Beds super comfy, outstanding products for shower, always tip the Mousekeeper! Restaurant and shops at hotel are still one of my favorites where you don't feel like your going too far to eat and drink. River roost Lounge is great, and Bob on the Piano is unreal. I totally recommend this moderate resort to anyone looking for a couples resort, nice grounds and amenities and the best bang for your buck!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tacatcon

      Registered: February 2017
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Fri February 17, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful grounds, great pool, great food court and restaurant, friendly staff
      Cons: distance from room to food court for some, but I enjoyed the short walk. Buses can take a while especially for the park with EMH.

       
      This is my second time staying at a Disney Resort in the last 6 months. I didn't have the best experience the first time so I was very worried but had read great reviews of POR. Once we arrived, my room was already ready, but they had me in the Alligator Bayou section though I had requested the Magnolia Terrace section. I knew there were no guarantees but I went in and asked and no problem, they changed me to building 80. As we walked to our building, I saw the cool old mill wheel and the river and a great main pool. Then we got to the Magnolia Terrace buildings and I was so happy. The room itself isn't super exciting, but cute and clean and plenty of room for two. We had a garden view but honestly never spent any time looking. We were in room 8028, facing towards the fountain. This building is a great location because you are right near the bridge that gets you over to the lobby, main pool, restaurants and main bus stop (South). So the walk to get better coffee or breakfast in the a.m. was very pleasant. There was a quiet pool between our building and the one next door that we used on two occasions. Very clean and quiet. Only weird thing is there were no towels there so we had to go grab some at the main pool. Great drinks at the pool bar by the way.
      Food court is pretty much always busy. We ate there a few times. Really liked the fried green tomatoes and fried okra. My daughter liked the swamp burger and the pulled pork sandwich. Nothing we had was bad. In the restaurant we had a great meal of jambalaya and some kind of chicken.
      Everyone at this resort seemed very fr
      iendly and helpful. They made sure to greet us as we walked by which I really appreciate.
      Getting buses back from the parks was only an issue once and that was only because we left when the park closed. Leaving the resort, if you are closer to one of the satellite bus stops (north, east, west) it is quicker and a better bet to go there than walk over to south. Half the time after waiting and waiting the buses would pull up to South and be completely or near full. So it was a long wait a few times.
      Will definitely stay here again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      memakwed

      Registered: February 2009
      Posts: 89
      Review Date: Sat February 11, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): amenities
      Cons: couldn't accommodate longer stay

       
      We stayed 1/31-2/10.1/31-2/9 in a royal guest room poolview then 2/9-2/10 in a poolview in alligator bayou. The rooms on both sides are very well themed and were very clean. Each room had a towel Mickey head on the bed for arrival. Mousekeeping was great when we asked for extra pillows ,very prompt in coming to our rooom. We enjoy quiet pools so we didn't use the main pool. We had to bring towels to and from our room. There used to be blue containers to leave wet towels but not anymore. The laundry is convenient at the pool area. You need your magic band to enter and it no longer takers coins for laundry so bring your debit/credit card. The grounds were very manicured on both sides of the resort although everyday you hear blowers clearing paths and leaves ECT. It was hard to just sit in quiet but by no means a deterrent to staying. I am sound sensitive so I just am very aware of it. My family didn't notice until I pointed it out. The food court is great. We ate breakfast there every morning and used snack credits for Danish and chocolate croissants. We did get the beverage mugs with our package and are great in the morning. However, tho trip the only colors available were pink and purple which wasn't great for m son and husband. We didn't eat other meals but have in the past and it's been good for a food court. The gift shop is well stocked with various items from clothes to kitchen. We rented surrey bikes for a half hour. It was$22 and change for up to to 4. We got around twice in 20minutes. The staff said twice in a Alf hour is average so we stopped. A third time round wasn't necessary. We also fished in the morning. It was about $6.50 per person per half hour. They give you cane poles and some worms. It is catch and release but we caught nothing. Last trip my husband did catch fish but my son has never been lucky. The deepest depth us 7 1/2 feet. We used the boat to Disney springs. It's about a half hour total with a stop at French quarter. The buses were ok. We use it for Mk and AK but drive to Hs and Epcot since they are so close it's quicker than a bus. The buses were always packed with people standing and in the mornings the south depot was packed. The service is good.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cg12086

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: San Antonio
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sat December 24, 2016 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): quiet, pools, room themeing, transportation
      Cons: large and confusing

       
      Stayed here Sept 2016 for 6 nights with 4 adults and one child. The beds were comfy and fit us all and my 3 year old loved the pull down bed. The transportation was timely all except for one night we waited 30 mins for a bus to get back to the resort from Disney Springs. Probably should have taken the boat back for as long as it took.
      The size of the resort was confusing and not fun to navigate in the rain. However I knew this ahead of time and so at least it wasn't as much of a shock. If I choose to stay here again I would definitely pay the extra to have a preferred room.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Tanasigirl

      Registered: September 2016
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Tue September 27, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere, grounds, boat to Disney Springs
      Cons: Bus schedules

       
      We stayed in a king room on the top floor in the Magnolia Mansion September 12-17, 2016. The room was beautiful and we had plenty of space for myself and hubby. Our room was near the front of the building, so our first sight each morning was the river and walking trails. This is my favorite moderate resort. It feels the most laid-back to me. Especially if we are enjoying some downtime. The pools are nice and the boat to Disney Springs is very relaxing.


      My only real drawback is (as others have said) that it is a very popular resort - meaning crowded. The week we stayed was considered low crowds most places, but you wouldn't know that by the bus scheduling. We experienced very long waits at times. Others around us had not taken this into account and were missing dinner reservations. We had a car with us and we did use it a couple of times just to avoid the long lines either at the resort or at the parks to get back "home."


      Regardless, I still love the atmosphere and the background music. It is a very pretty resort.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Dis05

      Registered: September 2016
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun September 11, 2016 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Improved bus service, accomodating staff, activities
      Cons: Housekeeping, grounds, cafeteria

       
      My family of 5 have been coming to POR (since its the only Moderate resort that allows for 5 guests) for 15 years. This is the first year that I've felt the need to post concerns about the resort. Overall, its still a beautiful resort. The additional activities they've added in the last few years (outdoor movies, campfires, activities by the pool) rival the delux resort and are excellent additions. However, this resort is ALWAYS at or near full capacity, and, simply put, is not staffed to support this # of guests. Disney seriously needs to reconsider its quickservice dining. Although a moderate resort, it is in now way 'inexpensive;' and having to fight for food AND a table every morning does NOT help to start the day out on a happy, relaxed note. Every meal here is stressful and immediately puts the entire family is a negative mood. Time to upgrade/expand, Disney, and I'm not the first one to comment on this. This feedback has been coming in for years; either decrease the # of guests at a time, or expand the dining hall!
      Grounds: this is a beautifully themed resort. But outside our room, in the landscaping, the same wrappers, water bottles, and general garbage were in the bushes for our entire stay. That is simply "un-Disney" like, and I've never experienced this at this resort before.
      Housekeeping: on 2 occasions we couldn't find a table in the cafeteria, so we brought food back to our room. The garbage was left, neatly, for the housekeeping to pick up the next day, WITH a nice tip. The garbage and tray were still there when we came back. I don't think the sheets were changed during our entire stay (10 days), and the room was never vaccumed.
      Overall, the hotel was not up to its usual 'Disney' standards, and, I think, time to look for a new place to stay. Unfortunate, as we've always loved staying on Disney property, but that's a lot of $$ to spend for service I'd expect at any chain hotel that would cost 1/2 this amount.
      Signed, loyal but disappointed.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      TiggerTrigger

      Registered: December 2010
      Location: Texas
      Posts: 78
      Review Date: Sun July 31, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Price, pool, service, DS boat
      Cons: Bed quality, bus set up, carpet, size, bathroom

       
      I realize it's not a deluxe resort. The beds in our room were not good and the springs creaked every time you moved. Our family staying in the adjacent room also had bad beds. The bedding is also a far cry from the cushy comfy stuff you get at the monorail and Epcot resorts.


      I also think Disney is missing the mark on buses with the resort size. We've always stayed deluxe and only heard horror stories about overcrowded buses...until now. You've got 4 stops at PORS, 1 stop on the return journey at POFQ, more rooms than several deluxe resorts combined, etc. It's no wonder it's such a mess. They either need more buses going more frequently or a redesigned route.


      While we live along the gulf coast and the grounds look very similar to things we see at home (mansions and quiet pools look a lot like older apartment complexes in our area), I could see how this could be pretty for people who don't live in this part of the country. It has lots of pretty areas for jogging or walks.


      The pools were also great, the service was good, and we liked having the boat to Disney Springs. I've also seen complaints about it being too large and spread out. Now maybe we were in a better building (just had a standard view in Magnolia), but we thought everything was very convenient.


      We stayed here as part of a group event and were limited with resort options. It wouldn't be my first choice, but I also think it would work well for a number of people if they'd just get better beds and improve the bus situation.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      strosfan

      Registered: July 2016
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed July 27, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Theme, royal rooms, main pool
      Cons: large resort, poor bus service, food court

       
      2 adults, 2 kids. Stayed in a Royal Room with river view, July 13-19.


      Royal Rooms are spectacular and fun for everyone. Grandkids loved the "fireworks" on the headboards. River view was nice. Our room was right by the bridge leading to the main building-good location. Mousekeeping was good, until we discovered old food items under the beds. Yucky! Main pool is nicely themed.


      Riverside is a huge resort, so check your room location. You may have a long walk from transportation, problematic in the heat of summer.


      The bus service was spotty, at best. There are four bus stops, with the south depot being the main building. Routinely, the bus driver would go to the south depot last, where most people got off or on. Didn't make sense to me. Also, there are two loading areas at the main bus stop, depending on your destination. In the mornings, the first loading area would be so packed with waiting guests, it was difficult to get through to the next loading area, if you needed to. Again, poor function.


      The food court is chaotic and messy. We witnessed unfriendly food servers, what appeared to be improper food handling and a manager chastising a server, in view of guests.


      Overall, our stay was OK. Riverside is our least favorite moderate resort.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Amandaskittys

      Registered: June 2016
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun June 19, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything but the mattress
      Cons: The mattress

       
      It had been a long time since I stayed at PO Riverside as I try to get FQ or CB but I was pleasantly surprised during my Memorial Day trip to Riverside. Everything was great except the king mattress is about 10 years overdue to be replaced, nothing but squeaky bouncy springs in your back. It was awful. We wrote to Disney and they offered a free night which was more than we could ask for, we will definitely stay here again in a double queen room next time.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ljfc38linda

      Registered: September 2006
      Location: nj
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Thu June 2, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): room,quiet pool
      Cons: buses, bugs

       
      We stayed for the first time at a princess royal room. It was very nice and my daughter loved. it We arrived early and went to park. was texted when our room was ready. we were in the Oak Manor right outside the quiet pool. When we arrived we wanted to take showers, no tub in room there was no soap ,shampoo or conditioner in the room had to call main desk but was brought very quickly, went in the morning to get coffee and some snack foods, so really didn't eat at food court much now for the cons. Liked the tv with the bus arrival times but times kept on changing we went to bus stop at front of hotel and were bitten by bugs, don't think they were mosquitos more like horse flies, Had family in florida so used the car more. would have to leave so much earlier for reservations, all in all we would stay again, quieter and more relaxing
      Click here to see this users profile  
      maze4

      Registered: March 2013
      Location: Pennsylvania
      Posts: 62
      Review Date: Mon May 30, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet, pretty landscape, boats to Disney Springs
      Cons: Bus stops, mosquitoes

       
      Began trip 5/16, arrived very early room wasnt ready but was told what bldg it was in. Requested bldg 18 Alligator Bayou, connecting corner room. Was told we paid for preferred room that is only bldg 14. All info I had was bldgs 14 & 18. Received text 4pm with room #. got wwhat requested on 2nd floor room facing other bldgs not as pretty but ok. Mousekeeping awesome, took boats to Disney Springs, ate at Boatwrights, used trundle bed for dd7. My ds23 tried it he is 5'9 did not work. Also took carriage ride which was very nice.


      Now for bad: we upgraded from All stars which is where we have stayed many times, we switched because of too many teenages being left unsupervised and being out of control. Didnt experience that here but used the main pool and it was always crowded no chairs available. People would put towels to hold them and then never use them. I lost count how many times the lifeguards had to jump in to grab small children who went down the slide unattended. The force of the water would hold you under and small children needed a parent to catch them at the bottom. No parents around. Really? Tried to use hot tub but a small boy arounf 6 or 7 decuded to use it as his personal pool. He would jump in do tricks and splash everyone we were not able to just sit and relax. And again no parent to be found so we left. And finally the mosquitoes were aweful. We used bug spray and still got bit up. The worst was the busing. Apparently you pay more $ to stay at a nicer resort and you still get herded onto the buses like cattle. We used the south stop which was the last stop in the resort. I paid for preferred room for convenience and there was nothing convenient about it. Never got a seat had to stand everytime. As a family we decided this is NOT the resort for us.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MissWendyBird

      Registered: April 2011
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Mon May 16, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): price, food, service, everything!
      Cons: None this year!

       
      First day back home and I already can't wait to go back. That's the power of Disney when you have a very comfortable house with dogs, smart tvs, and amazing wi-fi and you want to go back immediately. So let me tell you why.


      We arrived last Monday, May 9. Our room was all set but when I received the email about our room, I noticed none of our requests were met. I proceeded to ask the front desk if there was anything they could do about it but unfortunately, there wasn't. I wasn't happy about it but I was resolved to enjoy myself. After all, I knew they were just requests and really, any room in Dixie Landings is fantastic.


      We were situated in room 8909 in Magnolia Terrace. It has a view of one of the quiet pools and is actually really close to the lobby. I think it was a roughly seven minute walk which was great. The streak continued this year with great rooms.


      When we weren't at the parks, Disney Springs or touring the vacation club, we were relaxing at the resort. Our quiet pool was perfect, aside from how deep it was. It was hardly ever busy and was so relaxing, it was almost criminal.


      The food court was incredibly busy but I was expecting that so I tried to avoid the busiest times. If you haven't tried the turkey with mash potatoes, gravy and corn, you are missing out! The turkey is moist and delicious and the mash potatoes! Oh, the mash potatoes! I was not expecting how delicious they were and I went back several times just for those mash potatoes. Delicious.


      Overall, you need to stay here at least once. If you don't, you are severely missing out.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dreams

      Registered: May 2010
      Location: Guilford, CT
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Sun May 15, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean resort with a lot to do
      Cons: Large resort

       
      Room: This was our 3rd time staying at Riverside. We stayed 8 nights the beginning of May in a Royal Guest Room with a Garden View in Oak Manor. The room was very magical. I loved the fireworks in the headboards and the pictures of the princesses on the walls. All the little touches of detail from the rug to the lights to the faucets were great. Wish the tub/shower room was a little bigger, even just another foot of space would have made a big difference. Liked the extra hangers in the closet area but really missed the alarm clock and wall-mounted hair dryer. Being in our 60s we requested a room on the first floor but were assigned one on the second. Every other night there were movies in our courtyard which we could hear from inside our room. They were usually over by 10:00 but some lasted a little longer. If something like this would bother you than make sure you don't get a room in the fountain courtyard at Oak Manor. Housekeeping did a great job the week we were there, they even left us 3 towel creations.


      Pools: We used the quiet pool next to our building because there was never a crowd to deal with. The main pool looks like a lot of fun for families and young people. All the kids looked like they were having a great time.


      Food: This is one of the reasons for the #8 rating. We felt the quality of the food had slipped from our previous visits. It wasn't bad but it wasn't great either, just ok and more expensive. The food court was very busy in the morning leaving no available tables to eat at several mornings so we took our food to the table-service restaurant to eat. A much quieter place to eat anyway. I love to get the Mickey waffle for breakfast every morning and I like some strawberries on it. In the past it used to come with strawberries, on our last visit they changed it to an awful banana topping but I would just ask for a small cup of strawberries and they would give them to me. This time they refused to give me any even though I was willing to pay for them except the morning that a manager was helping out. She gave me a cup of strawberries with no problem. Not a way anyone wants to start their day. I wish I could have bought a bigger container of strawberries and then I would have just brought a few with me every morning but that was not one of the fruits available for purchase.


      Staff: This is the other reason for the #8 rating. Our first day we arrived very early so we knew our room would not be ready until later. We made plans for the day and had rented a car from the Car Care Center at Disney. Our phones did not work at the resort (pay as you go phones) so I went to the desk to see if they could call the car center for the shuttle. They said they could not call, I explained that our phones were not working and we had just arrived so we didn't have a room yet, they finally directed me to a phone in the lobby. We ended up having to take a taxi to the car center (taxis from the resort start at $2.40 just getting into the car). Continuing with the phone problems I needed to make a call from our room the next day to a relative in Florida. The front desk called our room twice that day and left us a message to come to the front desk or call. When we returned to our room later and got the messages I walked to the lobby to see what the problem was. I had made a $3.00 phone call and we did not have a credit card on file. I did not want to leave a credit card and I told them that I would probably need to make a few more calls and would it be all right if I paid for all of them when we checked out. I was told that would be fine but the next morning we woke up to the same message again. We gave up and gave the front desk our debit card.


      Transportation: We used the buses for 5 days of our trip. We used the South Depot after we had breakfast to get the buses. It was crowded and we had to stand a few days but we liked the board at the bus stop that told us when the next bus would be there. We used the boat several times to go to Disney Springs. It's very relaxing and usually not too crowded. For taxis see above. We love the Magical Express. So nice just tagging our luggage when we leave home and not worrying about it again. When it was time to come home it was very easy checking our luggage at the resort and getting our boarding passes before we left for the airport.


      Entertainment: Movies and an arcade, a pirate cruise for kids, bikes and horse and carriage rides. A must see is Yee Haa Bob. A very entertaining show. He gets everyone involved.
      A lot of people complain about the walking involved at the resort but we enjoyed walking over to the lobby or to get a bus because of the picturesque views along the way.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.