Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • disneydiner

      Registered: February 2015
      Posts: 27
      Review Date: Wed November 22, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): nice room
      Cons: very confusing building layout

       
      On my recent November visit I stayed at Riverside in Magnolia Bend in Acadian House. I found the layout confusing, especially coming from the North Depot bus stop. I had a corner room on the second floor and it was lovely. It's been awhile since I stayed at Riverside and though my visit was short, it was a nice stay. I like the location of the Port Orleans resorts, especially in regard to Epcot where I spend the most time.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tinks trio

      Registered: September 2006
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Thu September 7, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Room view, room cleanliness, wonderful staff
      Cons: lines and wait times for the bus

       
      We visited this resort August 27th through September 3, 2017. It was a great visit. We had a beautiful room with double windows and a very large bathroom/dressing area combo. We were steps away from the river and the view was magnificent. The check in process was smooth and our hostess Alex was pleasant and friendly. The food court was busy but the food was decent. The only downside was the wait for the bus every night. The lines were super long and one night we took the bus for the french quarter because the wait time for Riverside was extra long. This bus then picked up the guests waiting at the Riverside queue. One morning we took uber for $10 and it was worth every penny. I'm planning a return trip!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      GinaDD

      Registered: September 2007
      Location: Clarksboro, NJ
      Posts: 37
      Review Date: Fri August 25, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Shady, quiet, clean
      Cons:

       
      We loved our second story rooms at the Alligator Bijou. We tried using the online check-in which worked well for one room, but not the other. Not sure I'm a fan, because if you have questions, etc. you will wind up at the desk anyway. Most of the requests we had were not met, but as it turned out, we were extremely satisfied. Our rooms were clean and very secluded feeling. We never heard any resort noise. We stayed in building 27 facing the river. Nice location to the food court. The food court could be busy, but we spent most of our eating time at the parks. Incidentally, LOVED the chocolate cake at the food court. Loved having the refillable mugs. Cast members were great. Bus service ran well. We've stayed at French Quarter and the mansions before, so we knew what to expect from busing. Each morning a transportation coordinator was at our depot making sure things ran well. We really enjoyed our stay.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ruthann

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Mon August 21, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): beautiful grounds, friendly staff, great food
      Cons: problems with housekeeping, wrong room this time

       
      This is our 6th stay at POR, and is definitely our home away from home resort! We love the AB area and stay close to preferred as we can. We have mobility issues, so this is always the case. We requested our usual AB location, and upon check in we were assigned the Mansions. This happened despite our TA confirming our requests a week before we left. They did find us a room in AB which worked out just fine. Probably just a glitch in the system? Then we requested housekeeping come between 7:30am and 12 noon, as we have medical issues that need to be taken care of in the early afternoon. This has never been an issue before this visit. We had repeated calls to HK about this and it was never taken care of. Had to go to the front desk, get a manager who called HK manager, and it was all straightened out. Never had to do that before; a simple phone call usually took care of it. Besides those 2 things,all was well and we enjoyed the great food in the Mill, the staff, the ambience, the carriage ride = All of it is why we love POR and (despite a few glitches this time) why we will always stay at POR.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      GoofyDerd

      Registered: August 2017
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue August 8, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful landscaping and buildings; adequate sized rooms; comfy beds; 2 sinks; privacy curtain
      Cons: bus service; sheer size and layout of the property; room access

       
      First time staying at POR. We had adjoining Royal rooms for our party of 6 in Parterre Place-building 95. We checked in and were told our rooms were ready. When we got to the rooms only one of them was ready. So we were upgraded to river-view rooms. Apparently, because we accessed one room with 3 of our magic bands their computer could not be changed to allow us to access the upgraded room with those 3 magic bands - even after 4 phone calls and 4 visits back to the concierge desk to get it fixed over the next 4 days. Renee at the concierge desk(she was very helpful) did give us 3 fastpasses for our trouble the 2nd day, but even regular key cards would not open our door. We had to access our room through the adjoining room for our entire stay! The river that runs through the middle of this resort is pretty but it makes the resort bigger. And because you have to walk to a bridge and cross the river to get to the foodcourt, store, lobby, and south depot(closest) bus stop, it feels even bigger. Our family has stayed on WDW property 15 times and this was the first time we have ever had to use any non-Disney transportation. We had no issues with the buses the first day. The 2nd afternoon going to AK we had waited for 40 minutes. The TV screen posts times for the next bus to each park and the time kept getting posted later & later until it was going to be 70 minutes or more waiting causing us to miss our FP time for Pandora, so we bailed and got a Mears taxi. This was at the South depot which is the 4th stop inside Riverside. We walked down to the French Quarter bus stop for all but one other trip in or out of the parks for the remainder of our trip. None of these incidents by themselves were horrible, but when taken together, this trip was tarnished compared to the sparkling experiences on all our other Disney trips. TTFN
      Click here to see this users profile  
      clyde0523

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 22
      Review Date: Thu May 18, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): moderate resort, larger room and beds than value, both quick service and table service restaurants
      Cons: overall size, BUSES!!!

       
      This was our second trip to Disney as a family of 4 and while we enjoyed our stay at Pop Century we decided to upgrade hotels this time to a moderate resort. I did a lot of research into the moderate resorts and was torn between Coronado Springs and POR, we obviously went with POR and I don't believe we will stay there again. We had requested to be in the Alligator Bayou section, but because of cheer competitions in the area those rooms were booked. We ended up in Acadian House in the Magnolia Bend section, which was fine but not really as kid friendly as Alligator Bayou. The room was simple and comfortable, but didn't really have those Disney decor aspects that we were used to and was basically boring for our kids.


      The quick service restaurant and the table service were both fine. There was nothing glaringly great or disappointing about either. Mousekeeping was wonderful and I took a hint from Pinterest and created little cards for each night we stayed with a tip already inside to leave for each Mousekeeper. The room was always neat and they created scenes with the kids stuffed animals which gave them something to look forward to each day when we came back to the room.


      POR is huge! Pop Century may have been as large but it didn't feel that way because there was fun stuff to look at and play with as we walked around the resort. POR felt very spread out and uncomfortable. I felt like the kids had to be silent as we made our way back and forth to the room and other parents that we met along the way felt the same.


      I would recommend this resort to couples that have older children (teens), honeymooners or couples without children. I don't think we will be staying here again, but thats the beautiful thing about Disney, there are always other options!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cindyfan

      Registered: April 2017
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed April 12, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): beautiful grounds, friendly staff, boat to Disney Springs
      Cons: Buses!!

       
      This March was the second time I stayed at POR and it is now my favorite moderate. The rooms were really nice and didn't look worn out like other resorts. Love the whole theme and the grounds were beautiful.
      Didn't spend much time at the food court(only to grab snacks) but did notice it was quite crowded at times.
      The worst part of this resort is the buses! Horribly crowded!!! Never really waited long but we used the East Depot which was the 3rd stop and I was lucky to get a seat! By time it made it's way to the South Depot it was PACKED and could not handle everyone waiting at South Depot. If we ever go back to POR we will NEVER use the South Depot and will always make sure to put that on our list for room locations! No matter the time of day the South Depot was crazy packed with people waiting for buses! Love the resort but they need to fix the bus problem.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      goofy12

      Registered: September 2006
      Posts: 27
      Review Date: Mon April 10, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): quiet, room close to food court
      Cons: cleanliness of room

       
      We stayed in a Royal Room from March 23rd - 26th. The room theme was lovely. My daughter loved it! The location was quiet and just a walk across the bridge was the pool and food court. Our maid service could have been better. When we checked in, there was a dirty sock left on the air conditioner. No bags in the trash cans. There was a Mickey head made from towels on the bed. We must have had a different mousekeeper the 2nd day. Our end bed covers were made into a decorative twist. Our bath mat and towels were made into a seashell. There were bags in the cans. The next day, back to how it was when we arrived. We usually stay at a Value resort, but fell in love with Port Orleans. It was quiet and felt relaxing, even though it was a busy week. We used the food court at off times and never had a problem. Food and service was great. As much as we like the Values, we have found a new Disney home!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Cjmsh12

      Registered: February 2017
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sun February 19, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Close To Disney Springs, Privacy, Quiet
      Cons: No time for Pool

       
      I stayed here with my fiancé for 9 nights, 10 days. 7 day park hopper tickets. I requested a room in Magnolia Bend or near there because of how gorgeous and magnificent the mansion buildings were overlooking the River. Check in was a breeze and our bags were already being sent to our room via Magical Express. The room was perfect. Beds super comfy, outstanding products for shower, always tip the Mousekeeper! Restaurant and shops at hotel are still one of my favorites where you don't feel like your going too far to eat and drink. River roost Lounge is great, and Bob on the Piano is unreal. I totally recommend this moderate resort to anyone looking for a couples resort, nice grounds and amenities and the best bang for your buck!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tacatcon

      Registered: February 2017
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Fri February 17, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful grounds, great pool, great food court and restaurant, friendly staff
      Cons: distance from room to food court for some, but I enjoyed the short walk. Buses can take a while especially for the park with EMH.

       
      This is my second time staying at a Disney Resort in the last 6 months. I didn't have the best experience the first time so I was very worried but had read great reviews of POR. Once we arrived, my room was already ready, but they had me in the Alligator Bayou section though I had requested the Magnolia Terrace section. I knew there were no guarantees but I went in and asked and no problem, they changed me to building 80. As we walked to our building, I saw the cool old mill wheel and the river and a great main pool. Then we got to the Magnolia Terrace buildings and I was so happy. The room itself isn't super exciting, but cute and clean and plenty of room for two. We had a garden view but honestly never spent any time looking. We were in room 8028, facing towards the fountain. This building is a great location because you are right near the bridge that gets you over to the lobby, main pool, restaurants and main bus stop (South). So the walk to get better coffee or breakfast in the a.m. was very pleasant. There was a quiet pool between our building and the one next door that we used on two occasions. Very clean and quiet. Only weird thing is there were no towels there so we had to go grab some at the main pool. Great drinks at the pool bar by the way.
      Food court is pretty much always busy. We ate there a few times. Really liked the fried green tomatoes and fried okra. My daughter liked the swamp burger and the pulled pork sandwich. Nothing we had was bad. In the restaurant we had a great meal of jambalaya and some kind of chicken.
      Everyone at this resort seemed very fr
      iendly and helpful. They made sure to greet us as we walked by which I really appreciate.
      Getting buses back from the parks was only an issue once and that was only because we left when the park closed. Leaving the resort, if you are closer to one of the satellite bus stops (north, east, west) it is quicker and a better bet to go there than walk over to south. Half the time after waiting and waiting the buses would pull up to South and be completely or near full. So it was a long wait a few times.
      Will definitely stay here again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      memakwed

      Registered: February 2009
      Posts: 89
      Review Date: Sat February 11, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): amenities
      Cons: couldn't accommodate longer stay

       
      We stayed 1/31-2/10.1/31-2/9 in a royal guest room poolview then 2/9-2/10 in a poolview in alligator bayou. The rooms on both sides are very well themed and were very clean. Each room had a towel Mickey head on the bed for arrival. Mousekeeping was great when we asked for extra pillows ,very prompt in coming to our rooom. We enjoy quiet pools so we didn't use the main pool. We had to bring towels to and from our room. There used to be blue containers to leave wet towels but not anymore. The laundry is convenient at the pool area. You need your magic band to enter and it no longer takers coins for laundry so bring your debit/credit card. The grounds were very manicured on both sides of the resort although everyday you hear blowers clearing paths and leaves ECT. It was hard to just sit in quiet but by no means a deterrent to staying. I am sound sensitive so I just am very aware of it. My family didn't notice until I pointed it out. The food court is great. We ate breakfast there every morning and used snack credits for Danish and chocolate croissants. We did get the beverage mugs with our package and are great in the morning. However, tho trip the only colors available were pink and purple which wasn't great for m son and husband. We didn't eat other meals but have in the past and it's been good for a food court. The gift shop is well stocked with various items from clothes to kitchen. We rented surrey bikes for a half hour. It was$22 and change for up to to 4. We got around twice in 20minutes. The staff said twice in a Alf hour is average so we stopped. A third time round wasn't necessary. We also fished in the morning. It was about $6.50 per person per half hour. They give you cane poles and some worms. It is catch and release but we caught nothing. Last trip my husband did catch fish but my son has never been lucky. The deepest depth us 7 1/2 feet. We used the boat to Disney springs. It's about a half hour total with a stop at French quarter. The buses were ok. We use it for Mk and AK but drive to Hs and Epcot since they are so close it's quicker than a bus. The buses were always packed with people standing and in the mornings the south depot was packed. The service is good.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cg12086

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: San Antonio
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sat December 24, 2016 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): quiet, pools, room themeing, transportation
      Cons: large and confusing

       
      Stayed here Sept 2016 for 6 nights with 4 adults and one child. The beds were comfy and fit us all and my 3 year old loved the pull down bed. The transportation was timely all except for one night we waited 30 mins for a bus to get back to the resort from Disney Springs. Probably should have taken the boat back for as long as it took.
      The size of the resort was confusing and not fun to navigate in the rain. However I knew this ahead of time and so at least it wasn't as much of a shock. If I choose to stay here again I would definitely pay the extra to have a preferred room.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Tanasigirl

      Registered: September 2016
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Tue September 27, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere, grounds, boat to Disney Springs
      Cons: Bus schedules

       
      We stayed in a king room on the top floor in the Magnolia Mansion September 12-17, 2016. The room was beautiful and we had plenty of space for myself and hubby. Our room was near the front of the building, so our first sight each morning was the river and walking trails. This is my favorite moderate resort. It feels the most laid-back to me. Especially if we are enjoying some downtime. The pools are nice and the boat to Disney Springs is very relaxing.


      My only real drawback is (as others have said) that it is a very popular resort - meaning crowded. The week we stayed was considered low crowds most places, but you wouldn't know that by the bus scheduling. We experienced very long waits at times. Others around us had not taken this into account and were missing dinner reservations. We had a car with us and we did use it a couple of times just to avoid the long lines either at the resort or at the parks to get back "home."


      Regardless, I still love the atmosphere and the background music. It is a very pretty resort.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Dis05

      Registered: September 2016
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun September 11, 2016 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Improved bus service, accomodating staff, activities
      Cons: Housekeeping, grounds, cafeteria

       
      My family of 5 have been coming to POR (since its the only Moderate resort that allows for 5 guests) for 15 years. This is the first year that I've felt the need to post concerns about the resort. Overall, its still a beautiful resort. The additional activities they've added in the last few years (outdoor movies, campfires, activities by the pool) rival the delux resort and are excellent additions. However, this resort is ALWAYS at or near full capacity, and, simply put, is not staffed to support this # of guests. Disney seriously needs to reconsider its quickservice dining. Although a moderate resort, it is in now way 'inexpensive;' and having to fight for food AND a table every morning does NOT help to start the day out on a happy, relaxed note. Every meal here is stressful and immediately puts the entire family is a negative mood. Time to upgrade/expand, Disney, and I'm not the first one to comment on this. This feedback has been coming in for years; either decrease the # of guests at a time, or expand the dining hall!
      Grounds: this is a beautifully themed resort. But outside our room, in the landscaping, the same wrappers, water bottles, and general garbage were in the bushes for our entire stay. That is simply "un-Disney" like, and I've never experienced this at this resort before.
      Housekeeping: on 2 occasions we couldn't find a table in the cafeteria, so we brought food back to our room. The garbage was left, neatly, for the housekeeping to pick up the next day, WITH a nice tip. The garbage and tray were still there when we came back. I don't think the sheets were changed during our entire stay (10 days), and the room was never vaccumed.
      Overall, the hotel was not up to its usual 'Disney' standards, and, I think, time to look for a new place to stay. Unfortunate, as we've always loved staying on Disney property, but that's a lot of $$ to spend for service I'd expect at any chain hotel that would cost 1/2 this amount.
      Signed, loyal but disappointed.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      TiggerTrigger

      Registered: December 2010
      Location: Texas
      Posts: 78
      Review Date: Sun July 31, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Price, pool, service, DS boat
      Cons: Bed quality, bus set up, carpet, size, bathroom

       
      I realize it's not a deluxe resort. The beds in our room were not good and the springs creaked every time you moved. Our family staying in the adjacent room also had bad beds. The bedding is also a far cry from the cushy comfy stuff you get at the monorail and Epcot resorts.


      I also think Disney is missing the mark on buses with the resort size. We've always stayed deluxe and only heard horror stories about overcrowded buses...until now. You've got 4 stops at PORS, 1 stop on the return journey at POFQ, more rooms than several deluxe resorts combined, etc. It's no wonder it's such a mess. They either need more buses going more frequently or a redesigned route.


      While we live along the gulf coast and the grounds look very similar to things we see at home (mansions and quiet pools look a lot like older apartment complexes in our area), I could see how this could be pretty for people who don't live in this part of the country. It has lots of pretty areas for jogging or walks.


      The pools were also great, the service was good, and we liked having the boat to Disney Springs. I've also seen complaints about it being too large and spread out. Now maybe we were in a better building (just had a standard view in Magnolia), but we thought everything was very convenient.


      We stayed here as part of a group event and were limited with resort options. It wouldn't be my first choice, but I also think it would work well for a number of people if they'd just get better beds and improve the bus situation.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.