Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • peachmermaid

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Thu September 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet, spacious, theming
      Cons:

       
      Our stay in a royal princess room was a good one. I loved all the little details & the headboard of course. The room isn't huge by any means but it was enough for us. The quick service on site was always busy it seemed but we always managed to get our food & pay rather quickly. Try the red velvet cake, so good! It's a bit of a trek to the rooms but the walk is just so pretty & serene, you probably won't mind, been after a long day at the park.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wattage

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: Richmond Virginia
      Posts: 83
      Review Date: Mon September 8, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Theming, Location
      Cons: Large, but not to bad

       
      This was our first time staying at PO-Riverside – and we loved it. We only stayed one night while we waited to go on our cruise. Check-in was easy as we had checked-in online. If we had not, the regular line had 30+ people.


      Our room was in building 95 on the ground level. It had two queen beds and a comfortable sitting area with a round table. The room is immaculately themed! This room was based on all the Disney Princesses, yet did not feel un-masculine. The headboards were animated with a fireworks show when you pushed a button on the side of the headboard. The lightshow was very cool; little kids would love it, as two 47 year olds did.


      The grounds are beautiful, well maintained, and have lots of walking and biking trails. The main pool is large and well themed with a “Bayou” theme. There are several smaller “quiet” pools scattered around the property.


      We’d love to come back to this lovely resort. It has become my wife’s favorite. It’s a great place for adults without kids, or families with several.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mhw

      Registered: August 2010
      Location: Niantic, Conecticut
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Thu August 28, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful, well-themed resort.
      Cons: None

       
      This resort is my family's favorite resort. We have also stayed at the Contemporary, Beach Club and Art of Animation Lion King Suite resorts. However, when we stay at PO Riverside, it is like coming home again. The theme at this resort is by far the best of the other resorts we have stayed at and the staff and Mousekeeping (thank you Desrenee) are wonderful. We can't wait to come back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      esilvestre

      Registered: July 2009
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Fri July 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): front desk , maid service, buses,food court
      Cons: None

       
      This was our 4th stay at this resort. We were there from June 28 through July 8th. On line check in was great. Only 1 problem. We needed a handicapped accessible room and we were not assigned one. I called front desk and we had a new room in one hour.
      Our buses were always available. We never waited more than 10 minutes. Television screen with bus times was a great new edition.
      The room was spotless. Everyday we had extra towels and plenty of soaps and shampoos.
      The food court was a little busy in the morning,but at least we knew the food was always fresh. I have stayed at deluxe, moderate , and value resorts. This is by far our favorite Disney Hotel. Trust me we have stayed at many different hotels in Disney, this was our 22 visit. We love the Port Orleans Riverside.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      StacyLovesDisney

      Registered: September 2012
      Location: Virginia
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Sat July 19, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): beautiful, quiet room, food court
      Cons: reservation /check-in staff, bus service

       
      I stay at Port Orleans with my family every time we come to WDW. After our last stay, we thought we might try a different resort, but we decided for this trip, the first part of May, 2014, we'd try it again.


      Once again, our reservations were completely messed-up! We need 3 rooms because we come in two groups. Last Sept. PO had my parents across the resort from us. It took over an hour to get us checked in.


      This year I had the foresight to call before arriving to make sure we were all together. Glad I did!!!! They had me and my two children in a connecting room with a man I DID NOT KNOW!!! I kept telling the cast member on the phone that was NOT my husband's name! They couldn't seem to understand that the man whose last name was Hispanic, our last name is clearly American, was not my husband. They had to pass me to a manager. I had to explain the whole story over. She put me on hold for 10 minutes, but luckily came back on the phone and told me the problem was all straight and we were all together! Super!


      We arrived and check-in went quickly and smoothly!


      Unfortunately, I became sick with the flu two days later. I needed new sheets/pillowcases/towels. I called Mousekeeping. 40 minutes go by, no supplies. I called again. They said they had sent someone. 20 more minutes and no one. My husband left to go find someone with a cleaning cart (it was 8AM when all of this was happening.) He found our Mousekeeper who we had the previous 2 days. I think his name was Jonathan. He came to see what I needed. When he saw me in bed he asked if I was sick. When I told him yes, he had the most sincere look of concern on his face and said he was sorry. He then came back with a stack of everything I needed---extra blankets, sheets, towels, wash cloths, soap, and wished me well. On the days I let him come into the room--when we were all healthy--I didn't want him to get sick when I went down----he took such pride in his work. Each day my kids came back to their stuffed animals arranged so nicely on their beds and everything in place.


      The food court is great. However, it was so crowded in the AM we didn't even try to order. My daughter used her refillable mug we bought her to get hot chocolate each morning. She said it was creamy and yummy.


      Both kids love the swimming pool slide. My parents love the boat to Downtown Disney.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tootiee6

      Registered: July 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Fri July 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): beautiful landscaping, discounted room, friendly staff
      Cons: no drink machines or places to get drinks late late at night

       
      We got a discounted rate. We stayed in building 25. It was a little confusing to figure out the paths but I'm a good navigator so it wasn't an issue. It wasnt terribly far since we'd already been walking a lot anyways, it wasn't very noticeable to us. Either we were very lucky or there are tons of buses bc we never waited more than five mins on a bus and the west bus stop was like a minute from our room. The quiet pool was awesome and actually was quiet and wonderful after a long day in the parks. Old man island pool was very fun and the kids loved the waterslide. The boat ride to downtown disney was one of best parts. The rooms were fun and I loved the beds made out of trees. We left mousekeeping tips and they left us lots of extra soaps and shampoos! Our mousekeepers also had to deal with a wet murphy bed each night bc our 5 yr old had some drinking liquids too late and being so tired not waking up issues, so Id strip the bed and pile them up for them at least bc I felt so badly. So being as they had to deal w pee pee sheets and still left us goodies, I was very pleased!! The food at the food court , we only ate breakfast was good. All of the staff was very helpful and kind. The only issue we had was the thermostat and they sent someone up within five mins to look at it as we didn't know how to get it off the set temp. Also the drink machine at our bus stop didnt work and the food p, ace was closed and we prolly would have paid $10 for a cold refreshing beverage then!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      maze4

      Registered: March 2013
      Location: Pennsylvania
      Posts: 40
      Review Date: Sun July 13, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): moderate
      Cons: none

       
      We didn't stay here but on May 16 we were visiting downtown Disney and since we weren't visiting the parks that day we took the boat to port Orleans. We first stopped at French Quarter since this was a resort we wanted to stay at. We walked around and then decided to walk to Riverside. I read previous views about it only being a short walk. Well it took longer than anticipated. But it was a nice day,and being our first day at Disney we were excited. We walked around Riverside and decided to check out the alligator bayou area. We totally fell in love with it. My husband and I always talk about our next trips and where do we want to stay. We both agreed that this would be our next stop. We also visited the food court to get drinks. This resort even though its large seems to have such a comfy feel about it. We took the boat ride back to downtown and my husband and two teenage sons all feel asleep as the ride was so relaxing. I recommend that if you have time to visit various resorts to see what they look like. I was so for French quarter but now can't wait to visit riverside.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      emsmom64

      Registered: June 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Mon June 30, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Layout, theming
      Cons: none

       
      We Loved this resort! We have always stayed at the value resorts but now that my daughter is bigger...as in a 20 year old now..we thought we would try a "grown up" resort and boy did we love it. Very pretty grounds...we faced the river in the Acadian house and it was just beautiful. We swam in both the quiet pool and ole man island and liked both but preferred the quiet pool. The food court was good..nothing special...i felt the quality was the same as the value resorts just better theming. I would definetly stay here again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Samantha550

      Registered: June 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed June 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Decor of Room, Layout of Resort
      Cons: Construction, Pool

       
      Port Orleans Riverside is a nice place to stay. There were a few negatives about our stay. We paid for a garden view room and were place on the side wall looking at shrubs and the ac unit while the front of our building was being refurbished, I assumed a garden view meant at least a few flowering plants. Our room had a huge paint scuff on the wall that we notified the front desk about, but they did not offer to change our room. Housekeeping was slow, essentials such as shampoo and laundry bags were not replenished. The weather was great so we did not spend much time at the resort. My kids said they preferred the pool at Caribbean Beach. Having a small child I found that Caribbean's splash area was ten times better that POR. We did finally eat in the dining area our last night, we did not have dining plan this trip so there was not a daily need to visit the dining hall to refill glasses. My husband and I shared the make it yourself pasta and it was fantastic. It is such a great bargain for Disney property and the flavor was excellent. One last suggestion is if you stay at the property you must make your way over to the French Quarter for Begninets. We would stay here again but would not waste the extra dollars on the Garden View.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MVClause

      Registered: December 2009
      Location: Ocean Springs, Mississippi
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Fri June 6, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cleanliness, polite staff, proximity to resort offerings
      Cons: theming

       
      My DH and I stayed at Port Orleans Riverside from May 29-June 4, 2014. There is nothing BAD about his resort, but I have a hard time finding things where Port Orleans Riverside excels. Every encounter with staff was pleasant and helpful. We did online check-in and our room was ready. Additionally, the hotel was able to honor every request!--mansion section, corner room, away from elevator, highest floor. While the mansion section of the resort was lovely, there was something about it that didn't feel like Disney to me--maybe because we are from Mississippi and the hotel does such a great job recreating the American South.


      Several people have mentioned that they experience poor bus service. I have to say that we NEVER experience poor bus service. Every morning on the way to park, there was a cast member from transportation at the bus stop. The cast member was recording the frequency of and time between each bus. Service when we were returning to the park after our afternoon nap was not as efficient, but still not horrible my any means.


      I enjoyed my stay at Port Orleans Riverside, but i am not dying to stay there again. I prefer the vacation atmosphere of Caribbean Beach. My husband, however, says that he loved POR and would prefer staying there over any other moderate.


      I paid $61 more to stay at POR than at Carribean Beach. That was not too much to "upgrade" for me. However, if it were more than that, I would stay elsewhere.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sstotts

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sat May 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful grounds, clean and spacious rooms, comfy beds
      Cons: Organization of food court

       
      My family of 6 adults stayed at Port Orleans Riverside from May 11-18, 2014. Before this trip, we had never stayed at a Disney property. We absolutely loved the hotel! The grounds were beautiful, the room was clean and spacious for 2 adults, the staff was very friendly, and the bed was one of the most comfy hotel beds I have ever slept in (compared to both value and luxury non-Disney hotel properties). We stayed in the Magnolia Terrace building and had convenient access to the main buildings and a bus stop. The only complaint my group had was the organization of the food court - it got very crowded in the mornings (which is understandable) but there was no convenient way to just grab a cup of coffee if you didn't want to buy food. The coffee in the food court was just slightly better than the coffee in the rooms. Overall, it was a fantastic stay and I would stay there again in a heartbeat!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      BabieO

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Sun May 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Peaceful, multiple pools, extraseating area for breakfast
      Cons: none

       
      We ( 3 adults) just returned from Port Orleans riverside. We paid extra & stayed in a preferred room, which I highly recommend. We were in Bldg 18 ( alligator Bayou ) which was a short walk to the main Bldg & buses. When we got to the room it was so quiet & peaceful you would not believe you were staying at such a large resort. I loved the fact that when there was a kids party at the old man island pool, there was a quiet pool right behind our bldg. I would highly recommend this resort. We have stayed at Pop Century & port Orleans french quarter in the past
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MissWendyBird

      Registered: April 2011
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Wed May 14, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Gorgeous room, close to everything
      Cons: Buses

       
      After staying in a royal room last year, we decided to stay in another. We weren't disappointed! The room was gorgeous, as we expected with pictures of the princesses and princes along with all the little touches I spotted last year. Our housekeeper was very efficient and added a different towel animal everyday, sometimes two a day.


      The walk down to the lobby and everything else was gorgeous, as I expected. The food court was wonderful as per the norm. The only thing about the food court I didn't like, and this wasn't Dixie Landings fault, was the limit on refills. I got a two day refillable cup for the last two days of our trip and while I thought it would be okay until we left Disney, when I tried to get a refill, it wouldn't allow me. Nothing major but still.


      The buses were horrendous as usual. Whenever I wanted to go to Magic Kingdom, I usually had to wait four-five buses for other parks, sometimes two-three for the same park before one for Magic Kingdom showed. I know the buses come around every 20 minutes but one for Magic Kingdom and two for Hollywood Studios is ridiculous.


      Other than the buses, it was a fantastic trip and as always, I will forever recommend Dixie Landings.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Khoward

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun May 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): So many good things about POr
      Cons: A lot of walking

       
      My family stayed in two Royal rooms at POR from 4/13/2014 to 4/21/2014 , 8 nights. My husband's and my room was a handicap accessible room with a roll in shower. It was wonderful to be able to get in and out of the shower easily and safely! There was always an abundance of clean towels available too


      The Royal rooms are very luxurious and make everything seem just a little more special. My grandchildren loved the lighted headboards!
      Our rooms were not too near the lobby so it was somewhat of a walk to get to it. I had an electric scooter(which was great), but the rest of my family had the walk all the time. Sad


      The beds we had were Queen size -two in each room. They were comfortable and cozy. I felt the room could have been a bit bigger. It was a tight squeeze maneuvering the wheelchair around.


      The pools at POR were great fun. For anyone interested, there is a handicap lift for anyone who needs it to get in and out of the pool. I love to swim but I wouldn't have been able to get in the pools if not for these lifts.


      The only table service restaurant at POR is Boatwright's. It is relatively small, has a small menu, and only serves dinner. The food is good and the wait staff is very attentive. There is one counter service restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. It serves snacks, sandwiches, and assorted hot foods, it is usually quite busy so you get bumped and jostled a lot.


      The grounds and landscaping at POR are outstandingly beautiful. Staying here is like staying in a fine old southern mansion. If I stay again at a moderate priced resort, I will stay at Riverside once more.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      steeltowngirl

      Registered: April 2014
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Wed April 23, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): beautiful scenery, plenty of activities, excellent service
      Cons: none!

       
      My husband and I stayed at POR for our honeymoon during Christmas 2013. We were upgraded to a Royal Room (maybe for our honeymoon) with a river view and it was absolutely perfect! I loved that we had a fridge for my almond milk and leftovers. There were so many things to do that we didn't actually have time to explore as much as we wanted to - maybe one reason why when we return this year we're spending less time in the parks! I also loved returning nightly to a folded towel on our bed - perhaps another honeymoon "perk" but it was great. Can't recommend POR enough!
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11 >

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.