Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • tootiee6

      Registered: July 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Fri July 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): beautiful landscaping, discounted room, friendly staff
      Cons: no drink machines or places to get drinks late late at night

       
      We got a discounted rate. We stayed in building 25. It was a little confusing to figure out the paths but I'm a good navigator so it wasn't an issue. It wasnt terribly far since we'd already been walking a lot anyways, it wasn't very noticeable to us. Either we were very lucky or there are tons of buses bc we never waited more than five mins on a bus and the west bus stop was like a minute from our room. The quiet pool was awesome and actually was quiet and wonderful after a long day in the parks. Old man island pool was very fun and the kids loved the waterslide. The boat ride to downtown disney was one of best parts. The rooms were fun and I loved the beds made out of trees. We left mousekeeping tips and they left us lots of extra soaps and shampoos! Our mousekeepers also had to deal with a wet murphy bed each night bc our 5 yr old had some drinking liquids too late and being so tired not waking up issues, so Id strip the bed and pile them up for them at least bc I felt so badly. So being as they had to deal w pee pee sheets and still left us goodies, I was very pleased!! The food at the food court , we only ate breakfast was good. All of the staff was very helpful and kind. The only issue we had was the thermostat and they sent someone up within five mins to look at it as we didn't know how to get it off the set temp. Also the drink machine at our bus stop didnt work and the food p, ace was closed and we prolly would have paid $10 for a cold refreshing beverage then!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      maze4

      Registered: March 2013
      Location: Pennsylvania
      Posts: 40
      Review Date: Sun July 13, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): moderate
      Cons: none

       
      We didn't stay here but on May 16 we were visiting downtown Disney and since we weren't visiting the parks that day we took the boat to port Orleans. We first stopped at French Quarter since this was a resort we wanted to stay at. We walked around and then decided to walk to Riverside. I read previous views about it only being a short walk. Well it took longer than anticipated. But it was a nice day,and being our first day at Disney we were excited. We walked around Riverside and decided to check out the alligator bayou area. We totally fell in love with it. My husband and I always talk about our next trips and where do we want to stay. We both agreed that this would be our next stop. We also visited the food court to get drinks. This resort even though its large seems to have such a comfy feel about it. We took the boat ride back to downtown and my husband and two teenage sons all feel asleep as the ride was so relaxing. I recommend that if you have time to visit various resorts to see what they look like. I was so for French quarter but now can't wait to visit riverside.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      emsmom64

      Registered: June 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Mon June 30, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Layout, theming
      Cons: none

       
      We Loved this resort! We have always stayed at the value resorts but now that my daughter is bigger...as in a 20 year old now..we thought we would try a "grown up" resort and boy did we love it. Very pretty grounds...we faced the river in the Acadian house and it was just beautiful. We swam in both the quiet pool and ole man island and liked both but preferred the quiet pool. The food court was good..nothing special...i felt the quality was the same as the value resorts just better theming. I would definetly stay here again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Samantha550

      Registered: June 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed June 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Decor of Room, Layout of Resort
      Cons: Construction, Pool

       
      Port Orleans Riverside is a nice place to stay. There were a few negatives about our stay. We paid for a garden view room and were place on the side wall looking at shrubs and the ac unit while the front of our building was being refurbished, I assumed a garden view meant at least a few flowering plants. Our room had a huge paint scuff on the wall that we notified the front desk about, but they did not offer to change our room. Housekeeping was slow, essentials such as shampoo and laundry bags were not replenished. The weather was great so we did not spend much time at the resort. My kids said they preferred the pool at Caribbean Beach. Having a small child I found that Caribbean's splash area was ten times better that POR. We did finally eat in the dining area our last night, we did not have dining plan this trip so there was not a daily need to visit the dining hall to refill glasses. My husband and I shared the make it yourself pasta and it was fantastic. It is such a great bargain for Disney property and the flavor was excellent. One last suggestion is if you stay at the property you must make your way over to the French Quarter for Begninets. We would stay here again but would not waste the extra dollars on the Garden View.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MVClause

      Registered: December 2009
      Location: Ocean Springs, Mississippi
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Fri June 6, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cleanliness, polite staff, proximity to resort offerings
      Cons: theming

       
      My DH and I stayed at Port Orleans Riverside from May 29-June 4, 2014. There is nothing BAD about his resort, but I have a hard time finding things where Port Orleans Riverside excels. Every encounter with staff was pleasant and helpful. We did online check-in and our room was ready. Additionally, the hotel was able to honor every request!--mansion section, corner room, away from elevator, highest floor. While the mansion section of the resort was lovely, there was something about it that didn't feel like Disney to me--maybe because we are from Mississippi and the hotel does such a great job recreating the American South.


      Several people have mentioned that they experience poor bus service. I have to say that we NEVER experience poor bus service. Every morning on the way to park, there was a cast member from transportation at the bus stop. The cast member was recording the frequency of and time between each bus. Service when we were returning to the park after our afternoon nap was not as efficient, but still not horrible my any means.


      I enjoyed my stay at Port Orleans Riverside, but i am not dying to stay there again. I prefer the vacation atmosphere of Caribbean Beach. My husband, however, says that he loved POR and would prefer staying there over any other moderate.


      I paid $61 more to stay at POR than at Carribean Beach. That was not too much to "upgrade" for me. However, if it were more than that, I would stay elsewhere.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sstotts

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sat May 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful grounds, clean and spacious rooms, comfy beds
      Cons: Organization of food court

       
      My family of 6 adults stayed at Port Orleans Riverside from May 11-18, 2014. Before this trip, we had never stayed at a Disney property. We absolutely loved the hotel! The grounds were beautiful, the room was clean and spacious for 2 adults, the staff was very friendly, and the bed was one of the most comfy hotel beds I have ever slept in (compared to both value and luxury non-Disney hotel properties). We stayed in the Magnolia Terrace building and had convenient access to the main buildings and a bus stop. The only complaint my group had was the organization of the food court - it got very crowded in the mornings (which is understandable) but there was no convenient way to just grab a cup of coffee if you didn't want to buy food. The coffee in the food court was just slightly better than the coffee in the rooms. Overall, it was a fantastic stay and I would stay there again in a heartbeat!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      BabieO

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Sun May 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Peaceful, multiple pools, extraseating area for breakfast
      Cons: none

       
      We ( 3 adults) just returned from Port Orleans riverside. We paid extra & stayed in a preferred room, which I highly recommend. We were in Bldg 18 ( alligator Bayou ) which was a short walk to the main Bldg & buses. When we got to the room it was so quiet & peaceful you would not believe you were staying at such a large resort. I loved the fact that when there was a kids party at the old man island pool, there was a quiet pool right behind our bldg. I would highly recommend this resort. We have stayed at Pop Century & port Orleans french quarter in the past
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MissWendyBird

      Registered: April 2011
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Wed May 14, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Gorgeous room, close to everything
      Cons: Buses

       
      After staying in a royal room last year, we decided to stay in another. We weren't disappointed! The room was gorgeous, as we expected with pictures of the princesses and princes along with all the little touches I spotted last year. Our housekeeper was very efficient and added a different towel animal everyday, sometimes two a day.


      The walk down to the lobby and everything else was gorgeous, as I expected. The food court was wonderful as per the norm. The only thing about the food court I didn't like, and this wasn't Dixie Landings fault, was the limit on refills. I got a two day refillable cup for the last two days of our trip and while I thought it would be okay until we left Disney, when I tried to get a refill, it wouldn't allow me. Nothing major but still.


      The buses were horrendous as usual. Whenever I wanted to go to Magic Kingdom, I usually had to wait four-five buses for other parks, sometimes two-three for the same park before one for Magic Kingdom showed. I know the buses come around every 20 minutes but one for Magic Kingdom and two for Hollywood Studios is ridiculous.


      Other than the buses, it was a fantastic trip and as always, I will forever recommend Dixie Landings.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Khoward

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun May 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): So many good things about POr
      Cons: A lot of walking

       
      My family stayed in two Royal rooms at POR from 4/13/2014 to 4/21/2014 , 8 nights. My husband's and my room was a handicap accessible room with a roll in shower. It was wonderful to be able to get in and out of the shower easily and safely! There was always an abundance of clean towels available too


      The Royal rooms are very luxurious and make everything seem just a little more special. My grandchildren loved the lighted headboards!
      Our rooms were not too near the lobby so it was somewhat of a walk to get to it. I had an electric scooter(which was great), but the rest of my family had the walk all the time. Sad


      The beds we had were Queen size -two in each room. They were comfortable and cozy. I felt the room could have been a bit bigger. It was a tight squeeze maneuvering the wheelchair around.


      The pools at POR were great fun. For anyone interested, there is a handicap lift for anyone who needs it to get in and out of the pool. I love to swim but I wouldn't have been able to get in the pools if not for these lifts.


      The only table service restaurant at POR is Boatwright's. It is relatively small, has a small menu, and only serves dinner. The food is good and the wait staff is very attentive. There is one counter service restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. It serves snacks, sandwiches, and assorted hot foods, it is usually quite busy so you get bumped and jostled a lot.


      The grounds and landscaping at POR are outstandingly beautiful. Staying here is like staying in a fine old southern mansion. If I stay again at a moderate priced resort, I will stay at Riverside once more.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      steeltowngirl

      Registered: April 2014
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Wed April 23, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): beautiful scenery, plenty of activities, excellent service
      Cons: none!

       
      My husband and I stayed at POR for our honeymoon during Christmas 2013. We were upgraded to a Royal Room (maybe for our honeymoon) with a river view and it was absolutely perfect! I loved that we had a fridge for my almond milk and leftovers. There were so many things to do that we didn't actually have time to explore as much as we wanted to - maybe one reason why when we return this year we're spending less time in the parks! I also loved returning nightly to a folded towel on our bed - perhaps another honeymoon "perk" but it was great. Can't recommend POR enough!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Heintd

      Registered: August 2010
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Sun April 6, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Grounds are beautiful, love the boat service
      Cons: Room was already occupied when we checked in, issue was never resolved by hotel staff, didn't get room requested

       
      Our flights were delayed due to weather, so we checked in around 9 pm vs. our scheduled 4 pm check-in time. They only had a standard room left, which was not what I had reserved. When we went in the room, the previous occupants had left a large amount of their things in the room. I called the front desk and was told operations would call us. 30 minutes later no one had called. I called again and was put on hold for almost 30 more minutes. Finally the previous people showed up to collect their belongings. No one could believe it had happened, but no one offered any assistance in getting it resolved. The phone message light also could not be shut off, so we had to put a towel over it every night to not seeing the endless blinking red light. Mousekeeping was very in-consistent, some days they would move things around. They never left clean towels during our entire stay of 5 nights.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      roneeh

      Registered: September 2010
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Mon March 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): beautiful layout
      Cons: food court and bus stops busy

       
      Our family of 4 stayed in a royal room which the 14 year old daughter and 10 year old son loved. The decorating was very nice and really felt "royal", they were fascinated with the lights on the headboard. The queen beds were a huge plus to kids who are used to having their own beds and now had to share. My son enjoyed swimming in the main pool but we could never seem to get in the hot tub as it was always really crowded, the quiet pool was very nice but water was cooler. The main downside we encountered was the bus stops to and from the parks always seemed to be very crowded for port Orleans and a lot of times Riverside and French Quarter shared the stop. The other problem we had was the refridgerator in the room had a broken knob and ended up freezing all the food we had delivered from garden grocer. The boat to downtown Disney was a nice change to the busses but also had a wait depending on the time of day. All in all we liked Riverside resort and especially the royal rooms and would stay again
      Click here to see this users profile  
      elsaandannasmom

      Registered: March 2014
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Mon March 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): A wonderful choice
      Cons: none

       
      We stayed here for 6 nights in January 2014, The room was nothing fancy but quite adequate. The resort is beautiful. We never had to wait long for bus service. Housekeeping could have been a tad better , a little dust here and there and there was a hole in the bathroom wall behind the door , which was quickly repaired upon a phone call. however we did ask them not to paint the area so we did not have to smell the paint. Food court was clean and there were many choices. Will stay here again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      melvin1970

      Registered: March 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed March 19, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful Resort
      Cons: Transporation

       
      We stayed at POR Royal Room Feb26-Mar4th. Our group had 10 people in it, so we had 3 rooms. We were in Oak with a river view. The location was wonderful. It was a 5 min walk to the food court and main bus stop. We had a quiet pool on the side of the building which the kids enjoyed more than the main pool. The food court had a good variety just very busy. Our main complaint was the transportation. Took forever to get anywhere. We waited for buses a lot. POR needs more buses for the amount of people staying there. This was our first moderate resort. We usually stay deluxe but we felt for the value the resort was worth it. We will probably try to continue to stay deluxe but if we had to go moderate we would stay here again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ibwalrash

      Registered: February 2014
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sun February 9, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful grounds and rooms
      Cons: Can be pretty spread out depending where you are staying

       
      This was our second time staying at a moderate resort, the first being Coronado Springs. PO Riverside is the best landscaped of all the moderate resorts. The grounds are gorgeous and the boats running down the river which runs through the middle of the resorts is really neat.


      We stayed in a royal room which can be summed up in one word, wow! The little attention to details and lushness of the decorations are overwhelming, in a good way. When checking in, we spent most of the night just checking out the room. We had heard so much about the pirate rooms at Caribbean Beach, but not much about the royal rooms. The room was relatively close to the main lobby (which the pirate rooms are not at Caribbean Beach)


      We had heard good things about the food court at PO Riverside, but honestly preferred the food court at Coronado Springs. We didn't use it that often because we were on the deluxe dining plan and didn't want to waste our credits on counter service. The table service restaurant, Boatrights, was really good. Probably one of the better restaurants we ate at during our 8 day stay.


      The only negatives we felt was the size of the resort and the lack of a table service breakfast. The ability to take a boat to Downtown Disney is nice, but really no faster than taking a bus.


      We really didn't spend as much time as we would have liked utilizing all the amenities of the resort, but there were tons to take in. The main pool looked fun, but unfortunately on our recent trip, it was too cold to use. The game room was huge compared to other resorts. There were carriage rides, boat and bicycle rentals, and even cane pole fishing available. Many things to do, if you are looking to take some time away from the parks.


      For the price, PO Riverside is a great value among the Disney resorts. Plenty to do and look at.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11 >

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.