Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • Tanasigirl

      Registered: September 2016
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Tue September 27, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere, grounds, boat to Disney Springs
      Cons: Bus schedules

       
      We stayed in a king room on the top floor in the Magnolia Mansion September 12-17, 2016. The room was beautiful and we had plenty of space for myself and hubby. Our room was near the front of the building, so our first sight each morning was the river and walking trails. This is my favorite moderate resort. It feels the most laid-back to me. Especially if we are enjoying some downtime. The pools are nice and the boat to Disney Springs is very relaxing.


      My only real drawback is (as others have said) that it is a very popular resort - meaning crowded. The week we stayed was considered low crowds most places, but you wouldn't know that by the bus scheduling. We experienced very long waits at times. Others around us had not taken this into account and were missing dinner reservations. We had a car with us and we did use it a couple of times just to avoid the long lines either at the resort or at the parks to get back "home."


      Regardless, I still love the atmosphere and the background music. It is a very pretty resort.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Dis05

      Registered: September 2016
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun September 11, 2016 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Improved bus service, accomodating staff, activities
      Cons: Housekeeping, grounds, cafeteria

       
      My family of 5 have been coming to POR (since its the only Moderate resort that allows for 5 guests) for 15 years. This is the first year that I've felt the need to post concerns about the resort. Overall, its still a beautiful resort. The additional activities they've added in the last few years (outdoor movies, campfires, activities by the pool) rival the delux resort and are excellent additions. However, this resort is ALWAYS at or near full capacity, and, simply put, is not staffed to support this # of guests. Disney seriously needs to reconsider its quickservice dining. Although a moderate resort, it is in now way 'inexpensive;' and having to fight for food AND a table every morning does NOT help to start the day out on a happy, relaxed note. Every meal here is stressful and immediately puts the entire family is a negative mood. Time to upgrade/expand, Disney, and I'm not the first one to comment on this. This feedback has been coming in for years; either decrease the # of guests at a time, or expand the dining hall!
      Grounds: this is a beautifully themed resort. But outside our room, in the landscaping, the same wrappers, water bottles, and general garbage were in the bushes for our entire stay. That is simply "un-Disney" like, and I've never experienced this at this resort before.
      Housekeeping: on 2 occasions we couldn't find a table in the cafeteria, so we brought food back to our room. The garbage was left, neatly, for the housekeeping to pick up the next day, WITH a nice tip. The garbage and tray were still there when we came back. I don't think the sheets were changed during our entire stay (10 days), and the room was never vaccumed.
      Overall, the hotel was not up to its usual 'Disney' standards, and, I think, time to look for a new place to stay. Unfortunate, as we've always loved staying on Disney property, but that's a lot of $$ to spend for service I'd expect at any chain hotel that would cost 1/2 this amount.
      Signed, loyal but disappointed.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      TiggerTrigger

      Registered: December 2010
      Location: Texas
      Posts: 78
      Review Date: Sun July 31, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Price, pool, service, DS boat
      Cons: Bed quality, bus set up, carpet, size, bathroom

       
      I realize it's not a deluxe resort. The beds in our room were not good and the springs creaked every time you moved. Our family staying in the adjacent room also had bad beds. The bedding is also a far cry from the cushy comfy stuff you get at the monorail and Epcot resorts.


      I also think Disney is missing the mark on buses with the resort size. We've always stayed deluxe and only heard horror stories about overcrowded buses...until now. You've got 4 stops at PORS, 1 stop on the return journey at POFQ, more rooms than several deluxe resorts combined, etc. It's no wonder it's such a mess. They either need more buses going more frequently or a redesigned route.


      While we live along the gulf coast and the grounds look very similar to things we see at home (mansions and quiet pools look a lot like older apartment complexes in our area), I could see how this could be pretty for people who don't live in this part of the country. It has lots of pretty areas for jogging or walks.


      The pools were also great, the service was good, and we liked having the boat to Disney Springs. I've also seen complaints about it being too large and spread out. Now maybe we were in a better building (just had a standard view in Magnolia), but we thought everything was very convenient.


      We stayed here as part of a group event and were limited with resort options. It wouldn't be my first choice, but I also think it would work well for a number of people if they'd just get better beds and improve the bus situation.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      strosfan

      Registered: July 2016
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed July 27, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Theme, royal rooms, main pool
      Cons: large resort, poor bus service, food court

       
      2 adults, 2 kids. Stayed in a Royal Room with river view, July 13-19.


      Royal Rooms are spectacular and fun for everyone. Grandkids loved the "fireworks" on the headboards. River view was nice. Our room was right by the bridge leading to the main building-good location. Mousekeeping was good, until we discovered old food items under the beds. Yucky! Main pool is nicely themed.


      Riverside is a huge resort, so check your room location. You may have a long walk from transportation, problematic in the heat of summer.


      The bus service was spotty, at best. There are four bus stops, with the south depot being the main building. Routinely, the bus driver would go to the south depot last, where most people got off or on. Didn't make sense to me. Also, there are two loading areas at the main bus stop, depending on your destination. In the mornings, the first loading area would be so packed with waiting guests, it was difficult to get through to the next loading area, if you needed to. Again, poor function.


      The food court is chaotic and messy. We witnessed unfriendly food servers, what appeared to be improper food handling and a manager chastising a server, in view of guests.


      Overall, our stay was OK. Riverside is our least favorite moderate resort.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Amandaskittys

      Registered: June 2016
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun June 19, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything but the mattress
      Cons: The mattress

       
      It had been a long time since I stayed at PO Riverside as I try to get FQ or CB but I was pleasantly surprised during my Memorial Day trip to Riverside. Everything was great except the king mattress is about 10 years overdue to be replaced, nothing but squeaky bouncy springs in your back. It was awful. We wrote to Disney and they offered a free night which was more than we could ask for, we will definitely stay here again in a double queen room next time.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ljfc38linda

      Registered: September 2006
      Location: nj
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Thu June 2, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): room,quiet pool
      Cons: buses, bugs

       
      We stayed for the first time at a princess royal room. It was very nice and my daughter loved. it We arrived early and went to park. was texted when our room was ready. we were in the Oak Manor right outside the quiet pool. When we arrived we wanted to take showers, no tub in room there was no soap ,shampoo or conditioner in the room had to call main desk but was brought very quickly, went in the morning to get coffee and some snack foods, so really didn't eat at food court much now for the cons. Liked the tv with the bus arrival times but times kept on changing we went to bus stop at front of hotel and were bitten by bugs, don't think they were mosquitos more like horse flies, Had family in florida so used the car more. would have to leave so much earlier for reservations, all in all we would stay again, quieter and more relaxing
      Click here to see this users profile  
      maze4

      Registered: March 2013
      Location: Pennsylvania
      Posts: 56
      Review Date: Mon May 30, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet, pretty landscape, boats to Disney Springs
      Cons: Bus stops, mosquitoes

       
      Began trip 5/16, arrived very early room wasnt ready but was told what bldg it was in. Requested bldg 18 Alligator Bayou, connecting corner room. Was told we paid for preferred room that is only bldg 14. All info I had was bldgs 14 & 18. Received text 4pm with room #. got wwhat requested on 2nd floor room facing other bldgs not as pretty but ok. Mousekeeping awesome, took boats to Disney Springs, ate at Boatwrights, used trundle bed for dd7. My ds23 tried it he is 5'9 did not work. Also took carriage ride which was very nice.


      Now for bad: we upgraded from All stars which is where we have stayed many times, we switched because of too many teenages being left unsupervised and being out of control. Didnt experience that here but used the main pool and it was always crowded no chairs available. People would put towels to hold them and then never use them. I lost count how many times the lifeguards had to jump in to grab small children who went down the slide unattended. The force of the water would hold you under and small children needed a parent to catch them at the bottom. No parents around. Really? Tried to use hot tub but a small boy arounf 6 or 7 decuded to use it as his personal pool. He would jump in do tricks and splash everyone we were not able to just sit and relax. And again no parent to be found so we left. And finally the mosquitoes were aweful. We used bug spray and still got bit up. The worst was the busing. Apparently you pay more $ to stay at a nicer resort and you still get herded onto the buses like cattle. We used the south stop which was the last stop in the resort. I paid for preferred room for convenience and there was nothing convenient about it. Never got a seat had to stand everytime. As a family we decided this is NOT the resort for us.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MissWendyBird

      Registered: April 2011
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Mon May 16, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): price, food, service, everything!
      Cons: None this year!

       
      First day back home and I already can't wait to go back. That's the power of Disney when you have a very comfortable house with dogs, smart tvs, and amazing wi-fi and you want to go back immediately. So let me tell you why.


      We arrived last Monday, May 9. Our room was all set but when I received the email about our room, I noticed none of our requests were met. I proceeded to ask the front desk if there was anything they could do about it but unfortunately, there wasn't. I wasn't happy about it but I was resolved to enjoy myself. After all, I knew they were just requests and really, any room in Dixie Landings is fantastic.


      We were situated in room 8909 in Magnolia Terrace. It has a view of one of the quiet pools and is actually really close to the lobby. I think it was a roughly seven minute walk which was great. The streak continued this year with great rooms.


      When we weren't at the parks, Disney Springs or touring the vacation club, we were relaxing at the resort. Our quiet pool was perfect, aside from how deep it was. It was hardly ever busy and was so relaxing, it was almost criminal.


      The food court was incredibly busy but I was expecting that so I tried to avoid the busiest times. If you haven't tried the turkey with mash potatoes, gravy and corn, you are missing out! The turkey is moist and delicious and the mash potatoes! Oh, the mash potatoes! I was not expecting how delicious they were and I went back several times just for those mash potatoes. Delicious.


      Overall, you need to stay here at least once. If you don't, you are severely missing out.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dreams

      Registered: May 2010
      Location: Guilford, CT
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Sun May 15, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean resort with a lot to do
      Cons: Large resort

       
      Room: This was our 3rd time staying at Riverside. We stayed 8 nights the beginning of May in a Royal Guest Room with a Garden View in Oak Manor. The room was very magical. I loved the fireworks in the headboards and the pictures of the princesses on the walls. All the little touches of detail from the rug to the lights to the faucets were great. Wish the tub/shower room was a little bigger, even just another foot of space would have made a big difference. Liked the extra hangers in the closet area but really missed the alarm clock and wall-mounted hair dryer. Being in our 60s we requested a room on the first floor but were assigned one on the second. Every other night there were movies in our courtyard which we could hear from inside our room. They were usually over by 10:00 but some lasted a little longer. If something like this would bother you than make sure you don't get a room in the fountain courtyard at Oak Manor. Housekeeping did a great job the week we were there, they even left us 3 towel creations.


      Pools: We used the quiet pool next to our building because there was never a crowd to deal with. The main pool looks like a lot of fun for families and young people. All the kids looked like they were having a great time.


      Food: This is one of the reasons for the #8 rating. We felt the quality of the food had slipped from our previous visits. It wasn't bad but it wasn't great either, just ok and more expensive. The food court was very busy in the morning leaving no available tables to eat at several mornings so we took our food to the table-service restaurant to eat. A much quieter place to eat anyway. I love to get the Mickey waffle for breakfast every morning and I like some strawberries on it. In the past it used to come with strawberries, on our last visit they changed it to an awful banana topping but I would just ask for a small cup of strawberries and they would give them to me. This time they refused to give me any even though I was willing to pay for them except the morning that a manager was helping out. She gave me a cup of strawberries with no problem. Not a way anyone wants to start their day. I wish I could have bought a bigger container of strawberries and then I would have just brought a few with me every morning but that was not one of the fruits available for purchase.


      Staff: This is the other reason for the #8 rating. Our first day we arrived very early so we knew our room would not be ready until later. We made plans for the day and had rented a car from the Car Care Center at Disney. Our phones did not work at the resort (pay as you go phones) so I went to the desk to see if they could call the car center for the shuttle. They said they could not call, I explained that our phones were not working and we had just arrived so we didn't have a room yet, they finally directed me to a phone in the lobby. We ended up having to take a taxi to the car center (taxis from the resort start at $2.40 just getting into the car). Continuing with the phone problems I needed to make a call from our room the next day to a relative in Florida. The front desk called our room twice that day and left us a message to come to the front desk or call. When we returned to our room later and got the messages I walked to the lobby to see what the problem was. I had made a $3.00 phone call and we did not have a credit card on file. I did not want to leave a credit card and I told them that I would probably need to make a few more calls and would it be all right if I paid for all of them when we checked out. I was told that would be fine but the next morning we woke up to the same message again. We gave up and gave the front desk our debit card.


      Transportation: We used the buses for 5 days of our trip. We used the South Depot after we had breakfast to get the buses. It was crowded and we had to stand a few days but we liked the board at the bus stop that told us when the next bus would be there. We used the boat several times to go to Disney Springs. It's very relaxing and usually not too crowded. For taxis see above. We love the Magical Express. So nice just tagging our luggage when we leave home and not worrying about it again. When it was time to come home it was very easy checking our luggage at the resort and getting our boarding passes before we left for the airport.


      Entertainment: Movies and an arcade, a pirate cruise for kids, bikes and horse and carriage rides. A must see is Yee Haa Bob. A very entertaining show. He gets everyone involved.
      A lot of people complain about the walking involved at the resort but we enjoyed walking over to the lobby or to get a bus because of the picturesque views along the way.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      shell65

      Registered: May 2011
      Location: Connecticut
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Mon May 2, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Lovely landscaping, friendly staff, excellent bus service
      Cons: mousekeeping not as good as the past but not horrible

       
      We spent our 25th anniversary there in a Royal room from April 22nd to April 28th. Our room was on the second floor as requested but next to the ice machine and mouse keeping closet so we heard the carts go by every morning early. They also did not leave new cups every day and one day left a bag of garbage by mistake. The room was very clean and they left towel animals 2 times! I think they are understaffed since last time we stayed.
      We had a great time. The resort was clean and lovely. We road the bikes and had excellent bus service.
      I loved the theming of the Royal room and the beds very comfy.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kekmouse

      Registered: April 2016
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Fri April 29, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful grounds, wonderful food court, great bus service, and awesome pool areas
      Cons: Housekeeeping

       
      This is the perfect resort for families. There's plenty of activities for kids, large grounds for them to run around and be loud after a long day at the parks, and a number of different pools that never felt crowded. Here are a list of my overall experiences.


      Rooms: We were 2 adults and three children staying in Alligator Bayou so we had two queen beds and a pull down. All of the beds were comfortable. The fridge had room for all our snacks and leftovers. The bathroom was slightly smaller than we expected, but there was a lot of space in the area with the sinks for changing. Outside noise was never an issue, even with a pool nearby. If I had one issue with the room, it was that there wasn't much storage space. Only three drawers with the pull down bed, but we were also provided with a large clothing rack and hangers so it evened out pretty well.


      Transportation: We relied entirely on the bus/boat service for transportation and I was having anxiety about that before we left. Thankfully, it was unfounded. By using the smaller depots as opposed to the main hub (South Depot) near the lobby, we were always able to get a seat going to the parks and the only day we waited more than ten minutes was the one time we used the South Depot. If you can get to the West. North, or East easily from your room, use those. Be warned though, because Riverside is so large the buses were always crowded on the trip back to the park.


      For travel to Disney Springs, we opted to take the ferry in. While they do have buses to take you there in what may be a shorter amount of time (The boat trip was about fifteen to twenty minutes), the boat ride is so relaxing and lacking in crowds that I recommend that. It will drop you off at the Market Side dock though, so be prepared to either walk or take a second ferry if you're trying to get to the other side of the area.


      Food: To be honest, we had a lot of our meals planned for off property so we only ended up eating at the food court twice. However both experiences were great. There's a large variety for breakfast and lunch/dinner and some great options for kids. I highly recommend the pasta bar, very delicious and filling. It will get very crowded in the hall, but they provide an area with to-go containers so you can pack up your food and bring it back to your room if you'd like. We did not eat at the table service restaurant so I could not review that.


      Recreation: There are five pools at Riverside. One is the large pool with the slide and bar. We never went there, but it always looked fun. There were lots of pool games and trivia so the kids were never bored, as well as several lifeguards patrolling at all times. We opted to use the "quiet" pool that was located near our room. There are four of them on property. There were no lifeguards, but the largest depth was just over four feet, I believe. As long as you're there to supervise them, your kids will be safe. Only the main pool provides towels so if you're going to the smaller ones, bring your own.


      For other activities, there are horse-drawn carriage rides around the grounds, movie night for kids, bbq and campfire experiences, pole fishing early in the morning, and bicycles. We liked the carriage ride a lot. There's so much of Riverside to see and all of the grounds are amazing well kept. There's also a large gift shop and arcade. Fair warning, no prizes for the arcade. My munchkins found that out the hard way.


      Staff: This was our one negative experience with the hotel. We had issues with housekeeping from the start. We had to leave extremely detailed instructions for what we wanted, (Extra pillows and blanket for the pull-down, more soap, etc) and even with that, we still had to contact guests services twice to get things we needed; basic things, like dirty towels being taken out of the room. Tables were never cleared off, even when what was on it was clearly debris, like leftover forks, and the beds were turned down so tightly we had to pull really hard to get the sheets loose. Every other member of the staff we met with was polite, smiling, and always ready to help. I hope our issues with housekeeping were just an anomaly.


      Overall, our vacation experience was made more complete by how much we loved Riverside. All of things my niece and nephews said they'd miss most was at the hotel. If you're looking to spend a lot of time at your hotel property, go with Port Orleans Riverside. You won't regret it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tdischer

      Registered: April 2016
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Tue April 5, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): theme, room, grounds, quietness
      Cons: long walk to places

       
      First time staying here or at any moderate resort. Chose it because we had 5 people and absolutely loved it! I can see the differences in amenities between value and moderates. Loved having the Sassagoula River right there. Great theming. The pull down bed was perfect for my 10 year old and the room was great. We requested a first floor, corner room in Aligator Bayou and we got our requests. Long walk to island and food court, but we knew that going in. Took a couple of days to figure out the paths and which bus stop was the closest to us. Getting off at the wrong stop was not a welcomed thing at the end of the day! The parks were packed over Easter week and the buses ran pretty well. Only one day did we wait about 20 minutes for a bus to AK as every other park seemed to have multiple buses come. Loved the quiet area around us, we never heard anyone else. Food court was good, especially the pasta bar choices. The rest was average, but good. As it always seems to be, only about 1 out of 4 ice machines worked well at the beverage station, but that was just a very minor thing. My 10 year old loved the fishing and the old man island pool was a lot of fun for all of us. We were so sad to leave and we will definitely be back there again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Rlcrawford4

      Registered: April 2016
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sun April 3, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Peaceful, spacious
      Cons: Long walk to pool from Alligator Bayou

       
      This is our third trip to WDW and our first stay at Riverside. Previously we have stayed at the French Quarter and Beach Club. I truly think this resort has been our favorite. One of the few resorts that could accommodate our family of five for a great price. The pull down "Murphy Bed" was perfect for my 9 year old son. The room was spacious and we never felt like we were on top of one another. We requested a room near the West Depot bus stop. We were right next to the "quiet" pool and just a 4-5 minute walk to the bus stop. It was so peaceful and quiet...sometimes I wondered if there were any other guests! The only downside was that our lodge was quite a long walk from the main lobby and boat dock. We didn't mind the walk. We ate at the Food Court one night for dinner and it was just ok but we weren't expecting anything gourmet. "Mousekeeping" was adequate. Room was always well cleaned, but there were no special touches as we have seen in the past. Not too important as we weren't in our room that much. We will definitely stay here again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wrgates

      Registered: January 2016
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Mon January 25, 2016 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Pools, Quiteness
      Cons: The size, the number of bus stops, distance to the food court and lobby

       
      The resort is huge, it is a long walk anywhere you go. There are not any lines for the buses and no designated pick up spot. So when the bus pulls up it is just a free for all. We were in a preferred room, wasn't worth the extra money we paid. Was still a long walk to the front.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bmdisney

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Mon January 25, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): beautiful resort!
      Cons: does require a good bit of walking

       
      We stayed in the Alligator Bayou section mid December 2015. All my interactions with front desk staff, gift shop, food court were excellent. The walk from room to the main lobby was long for us (but we didn't mind). The Alligator Bayou section has winding paths - you won't always be able to take the most "direct" route. The boat to Disney Springs is a relaxing ride. I would most definitely stay at Riverside again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.