Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • mhw

      Registered: August 2010
      Location: Niantic, Conecticut
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Fri August 21, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautifully themed resort; Royal Rooms, Fabulous Pool, Landscaping and Customer Service
      Cons: None

       
      My family stayed at Port Orleans in August 2015. We have stayed on WDW property for the past nine years and have tried many different resorts including the Contemporary, Beach Club and Art of Animation Family Suites, but this place is truly our home away from home. From Boatwrights, to the food court, to the Boat rides to Downtown Disney, this resort is truly Disney's hidden treasure.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jmiruzzi

      Registered: July 2015
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed July 8, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Theme, Boats to Downtown Disney
      Cons: Crowded Food Court

       
      My husband and I had our second visit July 3-5, 2015. We used online check in and our room was ready when we arrived. We skipped check in all together; which was mostly good, but we didn't get any resort activity pages or a map in our room (avail at gues services). My only issue was the room we were assigned. While it was ready for us upon arrival; it turned out to be an ADA room. We didn't have a double sink nor a split toilet and not much storage space for toiletries. I wish Disney would reserve these rooms for those who truly need them. We were happy to have a room ready upon arrival and this trumped our need for the 'right' room, but I will be noting going forward to NOT be given an ADA room. Disney, please don't issue these rooms unless they are requested or required by those who need them.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Freespirit

      Registered: July 2015
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sun July 5, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): We stand 6/27/2015 - 6/3/2015. We had 4 rooms in the Magnolia Bend Acadian House. We could not have been more pleased with the location of the rooms. Just steps away from a pool and laundry room. Very close to the main pool and the food court. Very clos
      Cons: Food Court was a mess. They just did not have enough help for the volume. The resort was 'sold out' which may have been part of the problem. By the time you got through the register line the hot food was cold and the ice-cream was melted. Transportati

       
      Overall a great vacation!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      luv2tenor

      Registered: June 2015
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sat June 27, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nice Theming
      Cons: Buses, crowds, large resort

       
      We stayed 6/19-6/28 in Bldg. 27, second floor, River View. Our 3rd trip to POR.


      First, the resort is large. If you want to be near the food court you will need to make that request when you make your initial reservation.


      Second, be prepared for lines for everything from food, check-in, DVC, restaurants and BUSES. The food court was unbearably loud this trip. Every single time we were there, we found that only 1/2 the ice machines were working, rarely had iced tea available and lines, lines, lines. The only time we had quick service was at 6:40 am during a rain shower. Probably the time of year but we've always gone in June and this was awful!


      The buses - I just don't understand the Disney system. One evening we waited 40 minutes for a bus. There were many people who were waiting just as long and were starting to get very frustrated when an ECV drove down the street - (yes, the street), cut in front of the bus and managed to be first in line on an already busy bus. None of us who had been waiting were allowed to board and had to wait for the next bus. The CM who was working the bus stops that evening got an earful from a couple of people. I understand the need to accommodate the ECV's but really? They should wait with the rest of us instead of blatanly cutting the line and taking their entire party with them.


      Be prepared for large lines waiting for buses at almost all times of the day - so many people going the same place.


      Our room was clean, everything in working order and the CM's were friendly. This is a great resort but bring your patience and your walking shoes.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mawdryn

      Registered: August 2007
      Location: Oswego, Il
      Posts: 135
      Review Date: Mon June 22, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Royal Rooms, Landscaping and Customer Service
      Cons: NONE

       
      My family of 4 arrived on June 6th for one night before heading off to POFQ for the next 5 nights. My party consisted of me, my husband and our 15 year old twin daughters.
      We had a Royal Room with a river view, and it couldn't have been more perfect. The location was in close proximity to the main building, shopping, food court and pool. The view was amazing, and it was very quiet. Our room was extremely clean, and decorated to perfection. It was worth every penny for the upgrade.
      We got a text at 930 am saying our room wasn't ready (we were on the road and not planning to arrive until 11 anyway). At 10 am, we got a text asking us to come to the front desk, because there was an issue with our room. We arrived at 11, and went straight to online check in. To make a long story short, there was a problem with our new magic bands linking a past resort stay. So, all 4 bands had to be reprogrammed. The front desk cast member asked us to come back after lunch and said they would have everything sorted out then. She was very apologetic and handled the entire situation kindly. We had already waited close to a half hour at this point. To us, it was no big deal, because we had no plans until dinner in Downtown Disney later that night.
      We came back after lunch at the resort to find the problem was fixed and we were given 2 extra fast passes to use at Magic Kingdom the next Monday. Bonus for us!!!!
      Lunch consisted of make your own salads for me and my husband. They were delicious. The girls had chicken nuggets with fries and an individual pizza. The cafeteria was clean and finding seating wasn't a problem.
      Next, we went to our room, changed and went down to the pool. We ordered a few cocktails at the bar. My only complaint was there was only 1 bartender, and there was a loooong line of guests waiting for drinks. We found seats, the girls went swimming, and my husband and I relaxed in the sun.
      The boat ride back from DTD was smooth, and much better than taking a bus. We were unable to take a boat to DTD for dinner , because there was lightening in the area.
      We had a carriage ride reserved at 9 pm. It was the 3rd time we had done this and it was yet again, a perfect way to end our first day in WDW. The carriage picked us up right outside the main building, close to the boat docks.
      I have now stayed at POR twice, and would only stay in a Royal Room, due to location and decorum of room. This is a beautiful resort, with lots to offer. I wish I would have stayed here the entire trip.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      memakwed

      Registered: February 2009
      Posts: 75
      Review Date: Wed June 17, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): rooms, food court, quiet pools, surrey bikes, fishing
      Cons: table service restaurant

       
      This is our 4th visit to POR. We have done a variety of levels of rooms and locations. This is the first time we have done Alligator Bayou building 16. There were three of us. Our DS 11 slept in the murphy bed. I wasn't sure it would be big enough but he is about 5 ft and fit just fine. He really liked it. The room was comfy. We were located by the quiet pool. The laundry at the pool now takes debit cards and is 2.50 a load now compared to cash and $2.00 last trip. The food court was yummy as always but had different options than in previous trips. Finally we fished this trip with the cane poles. the kiddo wasn't successful but DH caught 5 tiny fish. LAst day we rented a surrey bike for a half hour. Roughly that's two times around but we only went once because it was about DS having the experience now that he's tall enough not doing it for half hour. I found we used the south depot. It is closer than the West depot. You can walk through the parking lot and follow a path to the buses or go through the food court ect. I feel in the past we have been in a more direct path to the buses. Check in was so easy this trip. I room was not ready when we arrived. They sent us a text but gave us the wrong room number. When checking in the told us the building number and we've stayed enough times for me to know the # didn't match the building. My husband went back to clear the matter up and was called Mr. Martinez and told he has a daughter. Once they realized he wasn't that person they gave us the correct room number and all was good. We drove so we used the buses about 75% of the time and drove the other 25%. We always had a good parking spot in the evening when coming back. maintenance was great while mousekeeping not so much. The family before us must have had active children. The smoke detector was hanging off the wall but maintenance immediately fixed it. Mouse keeping left behind a roll of plastic bags and didn't clean something I asked at first but she probably didn't understand. She was very pleasant and friendly when we saw her at other times. We got one towel animal the whole trip which is much les than in the past. While we would definitely stay here again after 4 trips we feel we've accomplished it all and are ready to move on to new resort. I think for the amenities and price it is a great moderate choice. We've stayed at values and deluxe but really enjoy this one.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cundifffamily

      Registered: June 2007
      Location: SOUTH CAROLINA
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Thu June 11, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): room theme,pretty grounds,clean room
      Cons: room storage,food court selections,cheap sheets and toilet paper

       
      this is my honest opinion from annual passholder that has been to value and deluxe resorts as well.
      Checkin in:fast and easy after doing online check in.never got the text to tell me room was ready though.
      Rooms:nicely themed alligator bayou 5 person garden view.not too much bigger than value rooms,no storage for clothing or suitcase rack to lay suitcases on.Fridge but no microwave.Sheets on bed felt like those rough ones at the hospital very stiff and the toilet paper was very cheap see through stuff.
      Grounds and pool:well kept and pool was nice,but very cold even in june.lifeguards were doing great job keeping people safe.
      Foodcourt:not as good as the value ones,not much to choose from for a late night snack unless you wanted a full entree meal.chips and fruit and a few others items for small stuff.also one night they were out of ice for drinks and were not refilling it.The pizza was pretty good.


      i'd say i was a little disappointed after reading all the great reviews.it was just ok for our family.paying more at the modearte doesn't seem to have much of a value over the cheaper resorts.you get them same things at value resorts.it wasn't a bad experience here at all,and i will still try all of the resorts.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wattage

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: Richmond Virginia
      Posts: 89
      Review Date: Thu April 30, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful Grounds, Great pools, location
      Cons: limited food options

       
      We stayed one night at PO Riverside on April 18, 2015. We were in building 85 in a first floor room with two queen beds. Check in was very fast as we had used the On-Line Check-In service. We had arrived at 10:30am so our room was not ready. However, 15 minutes after leaving the check in counter, we received a text message stating that our room was ready and what our room number was.


      Our room was very clean, and decorated with aspects of swamp life and scenes from “Frog and the Princess.” There was a small murphy bed that opened up with a large picture of Louis the alligator. Any kid under the age of 12 would love sleeping in this bed.


      The grounds of the resort and well maintained and add a sense of tranquility to the area. I highly recommend PO Riverside to anyone. It’s become one of our favorite resorts.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      disneybride

      Registered: March 2010
      Location: Brunswick GA
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Sat March 28, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Lovely quiet
      Cons:

       
      My Aunt and I stayed here for a Girls' Weekend March 6-8. It was the first time both of us ever stayed here. It's beautiful and quiet, but pretty large. We stayed in the Alligator Bayou Building 26. Our room was pretty far away but still nice. We drove over to the main building for Breakfast and then just took the bus to the parks. It's very pretty and we were surprised by how quiet it was. The beds were comfy but the tub/toilet area is small. All in all it's a great place.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jatbj

      Registered: November 2010
      Location: Massapequa NY
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Mon March 23, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): A great resort
      Cons: none

       
      We just returned from another great time at Port Orleans Riverside. It is such a pretty resort. We were in Building 17 near a pool and the walk from the food court was not bad. We also had a shortcut to the South bus depot which was great. The food in the food court was again very good for the price. This was our 10th time at POR and it is like our home away from home. We really enjoyed using our Magicbands to open our rooms, much easier than getting a keycard out each time, also great getting into the parks. We are looking forward to our next visit to Disneyworld and POR.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mindylee847

      Registered: April 2012
      Location: Wisconsin
      Posts: 32
      Review Date: Mon March 2, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful Grounds, Good Theming
      Cons: Lots of Walking, 4 Bus Stops

       
      We stayed in Room 2829 from February 21st through February 28th, 2015. It was a bit of a hike from the main lobby and even the West Bus Depot. It didn't bother us as we were three adults with nothing to carry around (including kiddos). The grounds are absolutely gorgeous. I was unsure of the Alligator Bayou side but couldn't have been more pleased with our "garden" view. 2829 is also a corner room which let in a ton more light and the room felt much more spacious than expected. The food court was delicious and quick with friendly service.


      I would be worried about staying here in the hotter, more humid months as we did come across a few mosquitoes and I don't doubt that there are more in summer.


      The ferry was great to DTD but did take a while to go back and forth. Make sure to allow more than enough time to get to DTD if you have a dinner reservation!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ruthann

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Mon December 22, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): beautiful grounds, clean, quiet
      Cons: none

       
      My husband and I stayed at POR on 11/18/14 to 11/26/14, leaving just before Thanksgiving. Even though that was a crowded time to visit WDW, the resort was always serene and peaceful. We love the Bayou area and stayed in building 26 this time. We usually stay closer to the Mill, but booked later and got 26. At first we were apprehensive about the distance to the Mill, and the West depot. We both have mobility issues. However, I think bldg. 26 was closer and a more direct route to the main bldg. We also liked the West depot. It wasn't as crowded as South, and we had no problem with the buses at all. Most of them were within 10 minutes wait. The Mill had great food, esp the make your own salad and pasta bowl! I had a wonderful ice cream sundae which was huge! Everyone from the front desk to housekeeping were friendly and helpful. We have never been disappointed at this resort and love the paths, tropical setting, and feeling of isolation. We are going back next year around this time too and can't wait!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      PolynesianStitch

      Registered: January 2011
      Location: Minnesota
      Posts: 28
      Review Date: Sat December 20, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): extremely nice rooms
      Cons: long walks to bus stop, food court

       
      We were a party of four in two connecting Royal rooms recently. The rooms are gorgeous and quiet, housekeeping was immaculate. It was a fairly long walk to the bus stops, particularly at the end of the day, as this is a huge resort. Also the food court was always frantically busy. We never did find the hot tub and it wasn't listed on the resort map which would have been nice to have after a long day of walking.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ajrob

      Registered: April 2010
      Posts: 37
      Review Date: Fri December 19, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): pretty resort
      Cons: too large

       
      Stayed in a royal guest room 11/28-12/8. I payed for a river view room to be closer to the lobby and restaurants. Upon check-in at 1pm, I was assigned a room in Oak Manor the room was located underneath a staircase? Some view? Most expensive river view room with no view? I called to complain and was accommodated, why wasn't I just assigned the second room in the first place? The grounds are beautiful, but the resort is just too large. Even with a preferred room, the walk to parking lot, bus stop or restaurants is just too long after walking all day in the parks. This was my second time at Riverside but I will not stay here again. French Quarter is smaller and just as pretty. Staff was helpful and friendly. Mousekeeping was just ok. The royal guest room was very pretty with special furniture and fixtures which my daughter loved.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Disney Ranlin

      Registered: December 2014
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sun December 7, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Theme, decorations, busses and restaurants
      Cons: None

       
      This was our first stay at Riverside (11/30/14-12/6/14) and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Our extended family of 8 went. We were able to get 3 rooms all in a row. We stayed in the Royal Guest rooms and even my 17 year old son enjoyed it. The building we were in was a short walk to the main lobby, bus stops and restaurants. We never had to wait long for a bus and it seemed that the rides to the parks were never more than 10-15 minutes. My parents were able to eat at Boatwrights with out a reservation and said the food was delicious. We ate dinner a few times at Riverside Mill, the make your own pasta station was a hit!!! Breakfast was typical food court fare but the grits were excellent. We have stayed both off and on property in deluxe and value resorts and this was by far the best vacation we have ever had. The Christmas decorations in the lobby were lovely and the towel animals in the rooms were a big hit every day the them younger children ( and the rest of us as well). The check in process was easy and the questions we had for the front desk were quickly answered. I would say to anyone asking that this has to be the best resort at Disney. We are already planning our next vacation there.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11 >

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.