Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • ruthann

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Tue November 24, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): beautiful grounds, friendly staff, good food
      Cons: that we had to leave in 10 days

      This was our 4th visit to POR, our home resort. I always feel like I'm finally at WDW when I walk into registration and get our packet. I can finally relax:O) Our room was clean and neat. The grounds are always beautifully kept. It is a pleasure to walk the paths of AB; always feels so tropical and secluded.
      The food court was excellent, esp the make your own pasta and salad stations. The huge ice cream sundaes were a treat.
      The buses were efficient and we only waited 10 minutes or so tops. However, they did tend to get a little overcrowded at times. The wait times to get back to the resort were a little long at times. We used the south depot with no problems.
      It was a lot warmer than usual and humid, and the parks were more crowded than we are used to, but the resort was a wonderful refuge to come back to. It's our favorite and we will continue to come back for as long as we are able.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2013
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Sun November 22, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nice theming, lots of pools, good food on site
      Cons: Huge (so hard to get around), and no backup power

      Riverside is a pleasant place to be. The transportation options were good, and quick, and in general I was happy with our stay.

      Two negatives. First, the place is really big, spread out. I had read about this, so I was prepared for that fact, but still, at the end of a long day, making our way back to our room was a trek.

      More importantly, there was a resort-wide power outage the day we left. Things happen, and I understand that, but what really surprised me was that there were neither backup generators nor contingency plans for what to do if and when the power went out. The food court, for instance, was running out of food and coffee because they couldn't make any more.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: February 2015
      Location: Cincinnati
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Thu November 12, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Incredible value, Yehaa Bob Jackson, outstanding service, great rooms
      Cons: Walk to main building depending on location

      Experienced our first visit to Port Orleans Riverside from Sunday November 1 to Saturday November 8. I’ll attempt to break down our visit to the resort point by point.

      We completed online check in and faxed in our room request 5 days prior to our arrival. We had booked a Royal Room with a Standard View for the length of our stay but we had requested a move to a Standard Room if it was possible. The POR staff was able to fulfill our request for all nights except the first one. Our Royal Room (9029) was very nice but we actually preferred the Standard Room that we were moved to (8590). For two adults with no children the extra theming of the Royal Room wasn’t worth the extra money. Our Standard Room felt a bit larger and had a ceiling fan which, given the very hot and humid temperatures during our stay, was much appreciated. We lost nothing in terms of amenities in the room just a little less theming. We gained a ceiling fan and our new room (8590) was much closer to the East Depot bus stop! The folks at POR gave us rooms that were exactly what I had requested, and thanks to the folks on this site I was able to really do my homework and understand what I believed would work best for us. Best of all was a nice refund we got for our room downgrade at the end of our stay.

      We never waited more than 10 minutes or so for a bus which was a concern of ours. Originally I thought we would be walking to the South Depot most mornings but our room was so ridiculously close to the East Depot we took full advantage of it. East Depot was usually the last stop when coming back to the resort in the evenings other than coming back from Magic Kingdom which went on the outside loop then South Depot last.

      Took Uber to go to and from POR to Animal Kingdom Lodge for dinner one night and it couldn’t have been easier. Driver picked us up right from the parking lot near our room and I’m sure would have done the same on the return trip. Both our drivers said that WDW really is friendly to Uber riders and drivers so if you need to go from resort to resort or just need something a bit off property consider using Uber.

      Make time for the boat ride to/from Disney Springs! It offered some great views of the Treehouse Villas that are available at Saratoga Springs and was a nice way to see some different areas of the Disney property. Disney Springs is still heavily under construction but it’s worth checking out if you have the time.

      Our housekeeping was excellent. Didn’t get any towel designs but we did get fresh shampoo, conditioner and soaps every day. Room was cleaned and straightened daily plus fresh linens.

      Riverside Mill Food Court Breakfast:
      See review in separate area.

      Riverside Mill Food Court Lunch/Dinner:
      See review in separate area.

      No matter what meal you are getting remember your Rapid Refill mugs, if you have them, so you can grab a Powerade or other bottled drink for your DDP drink credit.

      We didn’t do the best job of planning time to hit up the pools but we did finally make a short trip to the feature pool on Ol’ Man Island on Friday evening. The pool was still crowded even as it closed at 10:00pm but there was still plenty of room for people to move about comfortably. The water slide was a bit longer than I imagined for a resort pool and was a lot of fun. Regrettably we did not have time for the hot tub or Muddy Waters bar. We did not make it to the quiet pool in between Buildings 80 and 85 but we did use the laundry facility over there. It was a little inconvenient from room 8590 but it got the job done and the pool did look well maintained and spacious. If it was closer to our room I’m sure I would have gone often but we were so exhausted after long days at the parks we just wanted to sleep.

      If you are going ANYWHERE at WDW for more than a couple days, you MUST go see Bob Jackson’s show at the River Roost! I cannot state this enough. Bob has a gift for putting on a show that gets young and old, men and women, boys and girls of every demographic out of their chairs, singing and clapping along to a wide variety of music. It wasn’t just Disney songs, although many were peppered throughout the set list, but it was non-stop fun! At least until he needed to take a break where he takes pictures for his Facebook page and signs autographs for anyone who wants one. Bob’s passion for making people feel good is incredibly evident and it makes its way into every part of his shows. I can’t imagine returning to WDW and not going to see Yehaa Bob at least once (we went twice this time). Seriously, go see Bob!

      See horse drawn carriage review in separate area.

      Fulton’s General Store:
      Fulton’s was much larger than I anticipated and had plenty of souvenirs and small grocery items to keep you satisfied while at the resort. There wasn’t a great selection of resort-specific merchandise but that may have been due to holiday-themed merchandise and ornaments taking up a large area of the store during the holiday season. This is also where you pick up packages that have been sent back from the parks. They definitely have plenty of choices for a last minute purchase or to pick something up if you are just visiting the resort.

      All areas of the resort were very well maintained and beautifully landscaped. We didn’t venture outside of the main building, Ol’ Man Island or Magnolia Bend but it looked great as we passed on our bus trips around the resort.

      As you would come to expect from Disney the staff was courteous, pleasant and did everything possible to make sure we had a magical stay. Everyone from the front desk, housekeeping, food court and anyone in between was so friendly. We truly felt like we were at home! Even the CM from bell services who came to pick up our bags as we left gave us a ride on his golf cart over to the main building. Talk about first class service!

      Overall, the value that you receive at Port Orleans Riverside cannot be beat. Having previously stayed at Caribbean Beach I can say that POR is light years ahead of the experience I had at CB. POR will definitely be at the top of my list for future WDW visits (unless we can find an incredible deal for Wilderness Lodge or Animal Kingdom Lodge). All things considered, POR far exceeded our high expectations and we would strongly recommend anyone stay here for their next WDW vacation!

      I would rate this resort higher than a 10 if I could!
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  

      Registered: January 2013
      Location: Massachusetts
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Fri October 23, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Lovely, clean room, great staff
      Cons: large

      We planned our 48th anniv. celebration around being healthy, but my husband injured his knee the day we left. So, the first 3 days of our 7 day vacation he spent in bed with ice on his knee. Fortunately the room was lovely, quiet and very clean. EVERYONE we dealt with, from Annette at the check-in desk, to the folks at concierges services who helped me cancel fast passes and rearrange reservations, to the very efficient MouseKeepping staff was WONDERFUL. I spent a lot of time going back and forth between the Riverside Mill and our room in Bldg. 85. This meant I got to enjoy the lovely scenery and watch some of the constant maintenance that keeps the grounds so beautiful and the pools so clean. The entire resort is quite large, but all things considered, that is a good thing as it helps you walk off all that great food! Don't forget to try Boatwright's Dining Hall - The food is excellent, and the atmosphere is relaxing after a day at the hectic parks.
      While the resort itself is large, we never had to wait very long for a bus or a boat. I highly recommend this resort.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: September 2008
      Posts: 67
      Review Date: Wed October 21, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): princess theming
      Cons: noise in room

      We stayed in a Princess room October 8-10, 2015. We were in Oak Manor Room 9090 on the 1st floor. The princess rooms are beautiful! We loved the theming. The fireworks in the headboard are such a magical touch. We felt that our room was rather noisy. We could hear every toilet that was flushed, mechanical noises in the wall, etc. That is why I am giving it an 8. We liked that at the main bus stop there is a monitor to let you know the arrival time of the next bus and where it is going. The buses were timely. The food court is okay. It seems louder than other resort food courts. We found that most people were annoyed with the "musical parade" that the CM's started with just a few young children...very loud! We walked over to POFQ to enjoy their quieter food court and beignets. We also enjoyed the chicken gumbo there. We rode the boat back to POR...that is always fun! Overall, I would recommend staying at this resort!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: October 2015
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sun October 18, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful resort and grounds, princess Tiana room was awesome
      Cons: Resort is big, some rooms far away from lobby and food.

      Splurged on our summer visit for the Princess Tiana rooms and the dining plan. Room was awesome, decorations were amazing. Gardens at each building were great. Plenty of parking for each building. Each group of buildings had a quiet pool in addition to Old Man Island in the center. Close to Port Orleans French Quarter, plus the water taxi to Downtown Disney (now Disney Springs) is a great option (but due to weather we never got to use it). Would definitely stay here again.

      I'm not a big Disney transportation person, so I can't say how well the buses work. I do know that it makes several stops around the resort so it might be full, before you get on.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: May 2011
      Location: Connecticut
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Sun September 13, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): room, mousekeeping, staff, gardens, boat to downtown disney
      Cons: buses at times,

      We just returned from a fabulous stay at Riverside. It was our first time and we had a Royal room which was absolutely beautiful. The staff was friendly and helpful. We had an issue with not getting extra towels. It was resolved quickly. Our room was so clean and lovely. We had a fun and relaxing time! I hope we can go back soon!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: August 2010
      Location: Niantic, Conecticut
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Fri August 21, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautifully themed resort; Royal Rooms, Fabulous Pool, Landscaping and Customer Service
      Cons: None

      My family stayed at Port Orleans in August 2015. We have stayed on WDW property for the past nine years and have tried many different resorts including the Contemporary, Beach Club and Art of Animation Family Suites, but this place is truly our home away from home. From Boatwrights, to the food court, to the Boat rides to Downtown Disney, this resort is truly Disney's hidden treasure.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: July 2015
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed July 8, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Theme, Boats to Downtown Disney
      Cons: Crowded Food Court

      My husband and I had our second visit July 3-5, 2015. We used online check in and our room was ready when we arrived. We skipped check in all together; which was mostly good, but we didn't get any resort activity pages or a map in our room (avail at gues services). My only issue was the room we were assigned. While it was ready for us upon arrival; it turned out to be an ADA room. We didn't have a double sink nor a split toilet and not much storage space for toiletries. I wish Disney would reserve these rooms for those who truly need them. We were happy to have a room ready upon arrival and this trumped our need for the 'right' room, but I will be noting going forward to NOT be given an ADA room. Disney, please don't issue these rooms unless they are requested or required by those who need them.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: July 2015
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sun July 5, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): We stand 6/27/2015 - 6/3/2015. We had 4 rooms in the Magnolia Bend Acadian House. We could not have been more pleased with the location of the rooms. Just steps away from a pool and laundry room. Very close to the main pool and the food court. Very clos
      Cons: Food Court was a mess. They just did not have enough help for the volume. The resort was 'sold out' which may have been part of the problem. By the time you got through the register line the hot food was cold and the ice-cream was melted. Transportati

      Overall a great vacation!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: June 2015
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sat June 27, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nice Theming
      Cons: Buses, crowds, large resort

      We stayed 6/19-6/28 in Bldg. 27, second floor, River View. Our 3rd trip to POR.

      First, the resort is large. If you want to be near the food court you will need to make that request when you make your initial reservation.

      Second, be prepared for lines for everything from food, check-in, DVC, restaurants and BUSES. The food court was unbearably loud this trip. Every single time we were there, we found that only 1/2 the ice machines were working, rarely had iced tea available and lines, lines, lines. The only time we had quick service was at 6:40 am during a rain shower. Probably the time of year but we've always gone in June and this was awful!

      The buses - I just don't understand the Disney system. One evening we waited 40 minutes for a bus. There were many people who were waiting just as long and were starting to get very frustrated when an ECV drove down the street - (yes, the street), cut in front of the bus and managed to be first in line on an already busy bus. None of us who had been waiting were allowed to board and had to wait for the next bus. The CM who was working the bus stops that evening got an earful from a couple of people. I understand the need to accommodate the ECV's but really? They should wait with the rest of us instead of blatanly cutting the line and taking their entire party with them.

      Be prepared for large lines waiting for buses at almost all times of the day - so many people going the same place.

      Our room was clean, everything in working order and the CM's were friendly. This is a great resort but bring your patience and your walking shoes.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: August 2007
      Location: Oswego, Il
      Posts: 135
      Review Date: Mon June 22, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Royal Rooms, Landscaping and Customer Service
      Cons: NONE

      My family of 4 arrived on June 6th for one night before heading off to POFQ for the next 5 nights. My party consisted of me, my husband and our 15 year old twin daughters.
      We had a Royal Room with a river view, and it couldn't have been more perfect. The location was in close proximity to the main building, shopping, food court and pool. The view was amazing, and it was very quiet. Our room was extremely clean, and decorated to perfection. It was worth every penny for the upgrade.
      We got a text at 930 am saying our room wasn't ready (we were on the road and not planning to arrive until 11 anyway). At 10 am, we got a text asking us to come to the front desk, because there was an issue with our room. We arrived at 11, and went straight to online check in. To make a long story short, there was a problem with our new magic bands linking a past resort stay. So, all 4 bands had to be reprogrammed. The front desk cast member asked us to come back after lunch and said they would have everything sorted out then. She was very apologetic and handled the entire situation kindly. We had already waited close to a half hour at this point. To us, it was no big deal, because we had no plans until dinner in Downtown Disney later that night.
      We came back after lunch at the resort to find the problem was fixed and we were given 2 extra fast passes to use at Magic Kingdom the next Monday. Bonus for us!!!!
      Lunch consisted of make your own salads for me and my husband. They were delicious. The girls had chicken nuggets with fries and an individual pizza. The cafeteria was clean and finding seating wasn't a problem.
      Next, we went to our room, changed and went down to the pool. We ordered a few cocktails at the bar. My only complaint was there was only 1 bartender, and there was a loooong line of guests waiting for drinks. We found seats, the girls went swimming, and my husband and I relaxed in the sun.
      The boat ride back from DTD was smooth, and much better than taking a bus. We were unable to take a boat to DTD for dinner , because there was lightening in the area.
      We had a carriage ride reserved at 9 pm. It was the 3rd time we had done this and it was yet again, a perfect way to end our first day in WDW. The carriage picked us up right outside the main building, close to the boat docks.
      I have now stayed at POR twice, and would only stay in a Royal Room, due to location and decorum of room. This is a beautiful resort, with lots to offer. I wish I would have stayed here the entire trip.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: February 2009
      Posts: 79
      Review Date: Wed June 17, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): rooms, food court, quiet pools, surrey bikes, fishing
      Cons: table service restaurant

      This is our 4th visit to POR. We have done a variety of levels of rooms and locations. This is the first time we have done Alligator Bayou building 16. There were three of us. Our DS 11 slept in the murphy bed. I wasn't sure it would be big enough but he is about 5 ft and fit just fine. He really liked it. The room was comfy. We were located by the quiet pool. The laundry at the pool now takes debit cards and is 2.50 a load now compared to cash and $2.00 last trip. The food court was yummy as always but had different options than in previous trips. Finally we fished this trip with the cane poles. the kiddo wasn't successful but DH caught 5 tiny fish. LAst day we rented a surrey bike for a half hour. Roughly that's two times around but we only went once because it was about DS having the experience now that he's tall enough not doing it for half hour. I found we used the south depot. It is closer than the West depot. You can walk through the parking lot and follow a path to the buses or go through the food court ect. I feel in the past we have been in a more direct path to the buses. Check in was so easy this trip. I room was not ready when we arrived. They sent us a text but gave us the wrong room number. When checking in the told us the building number and we've stayed enough times for me to know the # didn't match the building. My husband went back to clear the matter up and was called Mr. Martinez and told he has a daughter. Once they realized he wasn't that person they gave us the correct room number and all was good. We drove so we used the buses about 75% of the time and drove the other 25%. We always had a good parking spot in the evening when coming back. maintenance was great while mousekeeping not so much. The family before us must have had active children. The smoke detector was hanging off the wall but maintenance immediately fixed it. Mouse keeping left behind a roll of plastic bags and didn't clean something I asked at first but she probably didn't understand. She was very pleasant and friendly when we saw her at other times. We got one towel animal the whole trip which is much les than in the past. While we would definitely stay here again after 4 trips we feel we've accomplished it all and are ready to move on to new resort. I think for the amenities and price it is a great moderate choice. We've stayed at values and deluxe but really enjoy this one.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: June 2007
      Location: SOUTH CAROLINA
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Thu June 11, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): room theme,pretty grounds,clean room
      Cons: room storage,food court selections,cheap sheets and toilet paper

      this is my honest opinion from annual passholder that has been to value and deluxe resorts as well.
      Checkin in:fast and easy after doing online check in.never got the text to tell me room was ready though.
      Rooms:nicely themed alligator bayou 5 person garden view.not too much bigger than value rooms,no storage for clothing or suitcase rack to lay suitcases on.Fridge but no microwave.Sheets on bed felt like those rough ones at the hospital very stiff and the toilet paper was very cheap see through stuff.
      Grounds and pool:well kept and pool was nice,but very cold even in june.lifeguards were doing great job keeping people safe.
      Foodcourt:not as good as the value ones,not much to choose from for a late night snack unless you wanted a full entree meal.chips and fruit and a few others items for small stuff.also one night they were out of ice for drinks and were not refilling it.The pizza was pretty good.

      i'd say i was a little disappointed after reading all the great reviews.it was just ok for our family.paying more at the modearte doesn't seem to have much of a value over the cheaper resorts.you get them same things at value resorts.it wasn't a bad experience here at all,and i will still try all of the resorts.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: Richmond Virginia
      Posts: 89
      Review Date: Thu April 30, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful Grounds, Great pools, location
      Cons: limited food options

      We stayed one night at PO Riverside on April 18, 2015. We were in building 85 in a first floor room with two queen beds. Check in was very fast as we had used the On-Line Check-In service. We had arrived at 10:30am so our room was not ready. However, 15 minutes after leaving the check in counter, we received a text message stating that our room was ready and what our room number was.

      Our room was very clean, and decorated with aspects of swamp life and scenes from “Frog and the Princess.” There was a small murphy bed that opened up with a large picture of Louis the alligator. Any kid under the age of 12 would love sleeping in this bed.

      The grounds of the resort and well maintained and add a sense of tranquility to the area. I highly recommend PO Riverside to anyone. It’s become one of our favorite resorts.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11 >

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.