Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • Heintd

      Registered: August 2010
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Sun April 6, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Grounds are beautiful, love the boat service
      Cons: Room was already occupied when we checked in, issue was never resolved by hotel staff, didn't get room requested

       
      Our flights were delayed due to weather, so we checked in around 9 pm vs. our scheduled 4 pm check-in time. They only had a standard room left, which was not what I had reserved. When we went in the room, the previous occupants had left a large amount of their things in the room. I called the front desk and was told operations would call us. 30 minutes later no one had called. I called again and was put on hold for almost 30 more minutes. Finally the previous people showed up to collect their belongings. No one could believe it had happened, but no one offered any assistance in getting it resolved. The phone message light also could not be shut off, so we had to put a towel over it every night to not seeing the endless blinking red light. Mousekeeping was very in-consistent, some days they would move things around. They never left clean towels during our entire stay of 5 nights.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      roneeh

      Registered: September 2010
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Mon March 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): beautiful layout
      Cons: food court and bus stops busy

       
      Our family of 4 stayed in a royal room which the 14 year old daughter and 10 year old son loved. The decorating was very nice and really felt "royal", they were fascinated with the lights on the headboard. The queen beds were a huge plus to kids who are used to having their own beds and now had to share. My son enjoyed swimming in the main pool but we could never seem to get in the hot tub as it was always really crowded, the quiet pool was very nice but water was cooler. The main downside we encountered was the bus stops to and from the parks always seemed to be very crowded for port Orleans and a lot of times Riverside and French Quarter shared the stop. The other problem we had was the refridgerator in the room had a broken knob and ended up freezing all the food we had delivered from garden grocer. The boat to downtown Disney was a nice change to the busses but also had a wait depending on the time of day. All in all we liked Riverside resort and especially the royal rooms and would stay again
      Click here to see this users profile  
      elsaandannasmom

      Registered: March 2014
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Mon March 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): A wonderful choice
      Cons: none

       
      We stayed here for 6 nights in January 2014, The room was nothing fancy but quite adequate. The resort is beautiful. We never had to wait long for bus service. Housekeeping could have been a tad better , a little dust here and there and there was a hole in the bathroom wall behind the door , which was quickly repaired upon a phone call. however we did ask them not to paint the area so we did not have to smell the paint. Food court was clean and there were many choices. Will stay here again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      melvin1970

      Registered: March 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed March 19, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful Resort
      Cons: Transporation

       
      We stayed at POR Royal Room Feb26-Mar4th. Our group had 10 people in it, so we had 3 rooms. We were in Oak with a river view. The location was wonderful. It was a 5 min walk to the food court and main bus stop. We had a quiet pool on the side of the building which the kids enjoyed more than the main pool. The food court had a good variety just very busy. Our main complaint was the transportation. Took forever to get anywhere. We waited for buses a lot. POR needs more buses for the amount of people staying there. This was our first moderate resort. We usually stay deluxe but we felt for the value the resort was worth it. We will probably try to continue to stay deluxe but if we had to go moderate we would stay here again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ibwalrash

      Registered: February 2014
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sun February 9, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful grounds and rooms
      Cons: Can be pretty spread out depending where you are staying

       
      This was our second time staying at a moderate resort, the first being Coronado Springs. PO Riverside is the best landscaped of all the moderate resorts. The grounds are gorgeous and the boats running down the river which runs through the middle of the resorts is really neat.


      We stayed in a royal room which can be summed up in one word, wow! The little attention to details and lushness of the decorations are overwhelming, in a good way. When checking in, we spent most of the night just checking out the room. We had heard so much about the pirate rooms at Caribbean Beach, but not much about the royal rooms. The room was relatively close to the main lobby (which the pirate rooms are not at Caribbean Beach)


      We had heard good things about the food court at PO Riverside, but honestly preferred the food court at Coronado Springs. We didn't use it that often because we were on the deluxe dining plan and didn't want to waste our credits on counter service. The table service restaurant, Boatrights, was really good. Probably one of the better restaurants we ate at during our 8 day stay.


      The only negatives we felt was the size of the resort and the lack of a table service breakfast. The ability to take a boat to Downtown Disney is nice, but really no faster than taking a bus.


      We really didn't spend as much time as we would have liked utilizing all the amenities of the resort, but there were tons to take in. The main pool looked fun, but unfortunately on our recent trip, it was too cold to use. The game room was huge compared to other resorts. There were carriage rides, boat and bicycle rentals, and even cane pole fishing available. Many things to do, if you are looking to take some time away from the parks.


      For the price, PO Riverside is a great value among the Disney resorts. Plenty to do and look at.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Nurseaudreyk

      Registered: February 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Fri February 7, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful grounds, great theming, Pontoon boats
      Cons: Distance from parks, lack of dining options

       
      There were some really great aspects of this resort, but some not-so-great. I am a bit spoiled due to only having stayed at Deluxe resorts previously.


      Check-in - smooth and seamless. We checked in online so it was pretty easy. We arrived at 1pm, and was surprised there was no line. We walked around the grounds and played in the arcade while we waited for the text that our room was ready. That was pretty awesome--the room number was texted to me and we entered with our magic bands. We also took advantage of the Pontoon boats that were available for rent. It was SO relaxing after a day of travel. We went all the way around to Downtown Disney and really enjoyed the boat. The grounds are absolutely breathtaking.


      Room - the entrance to the room opens to the outside (different from the deluxe resorts I have stayed --Animal Kingdom and Polynesian open inside a building). It wasn't bad, just different. The room was nice but small. We paid a bit extra for the Royal Room which was a great addition. It just reminded me of a nicely decorated Holiday Inn room from the 80s. That is where I am spoiled. If I hadn't experienced Deluxe rooms this would have been wonderful. We could hear our neighbors and toilets beside and above us flushing but it wasn't so terrible that it fully awakened me every time. It was just noticeable. Beds are terribly uncomfortable, but this was also an issue when I stayed at the Deluxe resorts.


      Busses - There are 4 bus stops at Port Orleans Riverside: West, North, East and South. We were in the Royal Rooms at Parterre Place so we were dropped off at the South Depot. Oh my. Every time we left the resort or returning, we stopped what seemed like 100 times. Not a biggie unless one gets motion-sick. I get motion-sick. Bleh. Boats to Downtown Disney were ok but didn't save any time. Not fabulous for the motion-sick traveler, either.


      Dining - There are very few options for dining. The food court (B, L, D) is adequate with options but is absolutely crazy. There is a lot of pushing and shoving, and it would be easy to lose a limb, much less a child in the process of getting a meal -kidding- but you get my point. We had to break up the family and meet up after the meal so as to not lose each other. Boatwright's is the only table-service option and is only open for dinner (5pm). Food was good but nothing fabulous.


      I would have to say that I missed the option of a buffet that the Deluxe resorts offer. Also, there is nothing nearby to enrich the dining options.


      So, all-in-all, it was a good trip, but since I do enjoy the luxuries of the Deluxe resorts, I will likely stay at a Deluxe resort on the monorail system.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mickeymom5

      Registered: September 2008
      Posts: 54
      Review Date: Sun January 19, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): boat ride to DtD, great food court, great theming
      Cons: none

       
      This was our second stay at this resort. We really enjoy this resort. We are a family of five so we have to stay in the Alligator Bayou buildings. I would like the option to stay in the other buildings as they really look nice. My daughter really liked the pull-down bed. She liked the Louis mural and the fireflies. We rented a surrey bike one day. It was a lot of fun. The food court is yummy for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We thought Boatwright's was okay, but not great. We like the boat ride to POFQ and DtD.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      oliviaxoxo9

      Registered: January 2014
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sun January 12, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good food,good location
      Cons: the shower

       
      The quick service food was good and the resort was close to all the parks and the rooms were nice since we had connecting rooms with people we went with. The shower had bad water pressure. It took me 20 minutes to get the shampoo out of my hair in the morning because the water came out slow. Other than that the resort was really good and I would recommend this resort to other families.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      memakwed

      Registered: February 2009
      Posts: 53
      Review Date: Sat December 21, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): room, grounds, food court, quiet pools
      Cons: walking

       
      This was our 3rd stay at POR. We stayed Dec4-14 with the 3rd being at POP. We will never do POP again and there was such a difference in checkin, and children. POP checkin and out was one issue after another but at POR they were prepared, efficient and even fixed the fact the pop didn't check us out even thought we went to the desk and checked out in person based on what POP suggested.
      We had a royal quest room facing the quiet pool in Oak Manor. The room was so awesome compared POP. The fireworks head board the genie lamp faucet all the little details were great. We had a handicap room while my parent's had a regular room. The bathroom in our room had one sink while theirs had two. They had a a drape separating the bathroom from the beds while we had a wall and pocket door. The beds were queen and comfy. Mousekeeping was good my son wrote a thank you note for towel animals and a towel cake and they left him another. We ate at the food court more than ever before and we had no complaints. The food was always fresh and ample especially the make your own pasta.
      Occasionally the buses seemed long and we had to stand often which is hard at times with two senior parent's and a child with health issues. A lot of times we would get our son seated and my husband would stand in front of him and we would separate and stand in the back. The pool was quiet and we enjoyed swimming every morning and breakfast by the pool. This is my parent's favorite resort. I'm glad we stayed here for the trip and POP only 1 night. Oh and the boat to DTD is always peaceful and never a long wait and you always get a seat. While next trip we'll probably try something different it is just because we want to go to AKL not because we don't like it here and I'm sure we'll be back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ruthann

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Fri November 29, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): beautiful grounds, excellent staff, quiet, exotic
      Cons: none whatsoever

       
      We stayed at Riverside from 11/12/13 to 11/20/13, our 3rd time to return to our "home away from home". The grounds were lush, exotic, quiet and peaceful. The newly furnished rooms were great. The only thing we noticed was the small fridge would not stay cold unless the cabinet door was left open, which was not a problem for us. Everything about the room from the new coffee pot to the beds, etc was excellent. Our mousekeeper was fabulous leaving an intricate bunny one time! That made our day:) The food court was great, wonderful selection and food. The bus service was not a problem. The longest we waited was 15 minutes. The buses are much maligned in the reviews, but we have been here 3 times and most waits were 5 minutes or so. We only had to stand once, which was our fault for cutting the time too close to a reservation; otherwise, we would have waited for the next one. Overall, our experience was great. We went to DTD twice via the boat and both rides were calming, beautiful scenery, no problems. This has been our best visit yet. Our room request was honored, as was our time to have the room cleaned. We won't change our home base at WDW anymore,and look forward to returning next year:)
      Click here to see this users profile  
      fireman

      Registered: July 2013
      Location: KY
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sun November 24, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful grounds
      Cons: alot of walking

       
      Loved POR! It was beautiful. The room was nice and loved the murphy bed for our 9 year old. We went to smaller pool by building 35 by laundry much more quiet than main pool. Bed was super comfy and housekeeping always did a great job! Will def be back here!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jessm11

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue November 19, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): dark rooms in am, clean
      Cons: very noisy

       
      Things I wish I'd known when booking my room reservation at Disney. We picked Port Orleans Riverside over Art of Animation because of reviews that said AofA was noisy in regards to toilets flushing and that the moderate resorts
      provide refrigerators.


      Well one of our beds in Alligator Bayou was positioned directly under the toilet in the room above and all night long we could hear every single time someone upstairs peed or flushed - not cool at all! We would have asked to change rooms but I injured myself right before we went and needed a ground floor and were told when we checked in that there were no other ground floor rooms so we kept it (this was before we knew about the toilets and was based on distance to the lobby). In addition the walls between the rooms were thin and
      we heard the nightly 10/11 pm tantrum of the tired kiddo next door clearly. It was also noisy with the staff carts motoring around the pathway outside beginning very early in the morning. Lawn mowing also starts early.


      The second primary reason we picked Riverside was because we knew we'd be eating breakfast in our rooms every day and wanted to be able to keep juice, yogurt, and cream cheese there. Unfortunately there was a recall on all units before our trip and refrigerators
      were scarce. I did call and request one and was told they'd do their best to accommodate the request. When we got there we found out it was for medical need only; information that would have been helpful to have been given prior to our arrival.


      The rooms were clean and adequate but much smaller than a regular hotel room and the bathroom was tiny.


      If you are going to really be spending time at your resort then Port Orleans is certainly lovely and offers beautiful outdoor play spaces and
      activities. The rooms stayed nice and dark on the mornings we chose to sleep in after late nights and the staff were all friendly.


      Given that we focused on spending time in the parks we would have been much better served by a value resort as we saw NO added value in staying at a moderate resort versus value. I think if I hadn't read so many glowing reviews about how quiet and great a value Port Orleans was I might not have been as disappointed but I went with expectations of a quiet, decent sized room with a refrigerator and none of that proved to be true.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      meeskamooska

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun November 10, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere, activities, rooms, mousekeeping.
      Cons:

       
      I have stayed at this resort every time I have gone to DisneyWorld and I would never want to go anywhere else. We have recommended it to many of our friends and quite a few have returned. People who have stayed at many resorts have said that the amazing thing about Port Orleans Riverside is that it is the one resort where you feel like you have actually left Disney and entered a whole new world. We stay in a regular room in the Alligator Bayou, and it's perfect for my family of three. Here's a tip, request Alligator Bayou, riverview, building 14 to get the best experience. You will be literally twenty steps away from the food court, which then attaches to the rest of the main building, and is very close to the main pool. The food court is amazing, the smell when you walk in there feels like home to me. It can get a little hectic in the morning, but we always manage to find a seat. Try to get a seat next to the water wheel! There are lots of activities going on at POR. For example, in the afternoon, at the pool, they are always playing games that children can participate in. The ferry transportation to Downtown Disney is very convenient. Finally, the people who work there are great and always smiling! Mousekeeping always does a fantastic job in our room. We love Port Orleans Riverside and would recommend it to anyone.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      goofy31

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sat November 2, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): pretty grounds
      Cons: confusing layout and no refrigerator

       
      Our family vacation was much less than anticipated for staying on Disney Property. We will never spend that kind of money again for such low standards. We had a wheel chair which we had to leave in the car because the access to the room was impossible. There was no refrigerator in the room. When I called housekeeping they informed me all the refrigerators had been removed because people were using them for too much food. She told me to use my ice bucket ! I was told we were informed but as yet I have never received a letter or email informing me of this. Because I insisted over and over again she finally got me a refrigerator. Not a very magical way to start the vacation. There also needs to be better marking to the building, everyone there just wanders until they get lucky and find their place. You can do better Disney...... We will never stay on Disney property again. Oct 13 to Oct 19
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Mouse fan 1967

      Registered: October 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sat October 26, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nice rooms, good housekeeping, nice landscaping, design
      Cons: Busses, no refrigerators, too spread out

       
      First stay at Riverside. October 21-25. It was a lovely resort.
      Upon checking into our room we found out that we would not have a refrigerator. When I inquired at the front desk, I was told I should have received a letter notifying us of this. Yet we didn't.
      The busses were overcrowded and would arrive infrequently.


      We have been visiting Disney regularly for the past 19 years. This was by far our worst experience at a resort. We have stayed at the luxury resorts in the past, I guess you get what you pay for.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11 >

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.