Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • Disney Ranlin

      Registered: December 2014
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sun December 7, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Theme, decorations, busses and restaurants
      Cons: None

       
      This was our first stay at Riverside (11/30/14-12/6/14) and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Our extended family of 8 went. We were able to get 3 rooms all in a row. We stayed in the Royal Guest rooms and even my 17 year old son enjoyed it. The building we were in was a short walk to the main lobby, bus stops and restaurants. We never had to wait long for a bus and it seemed that the rides to the parks were never more than 10-15 minutes. My parents were able to eat at Boatwrights with out a reservation and said the food was delicious. We ate dinner a few times at Riverside Mill, the make your own pasta station was a hit!!! Breakfast was typical food court fare but the grits were excellent. We have stayed both off and on property in deluxe and value resorts and this was by far the best vacation we have ever had. The Christmas decorations in the lobby were lovely and the towel animals in the rooms were a big hit every day the them younger children ( and the rest of us as well). The check in process was easy and the questions we had for the front desk were quickly answered. I would say to anyone asking that this has to be the best resort at Disney. We are already planning our next vacation there.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Conte

      Registered: December 2014
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Thu December 4, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food court, restaurant, General store, Beautiful grounds
      Cons: Not enough dresser drawers

       
      This was our 2nd stay at POR. We are a family of 5 and this is one of the few resorts at WDW that can accommodate us without upgrading to a suite. The family suites are too childish for my teens. We had no problems at check in we utilized the early check in online. No problems with our bands either. The one thing I noticed was the cast members were not as friendly as last time which was 5 years ago. They were nice enough but not as friendly, in fact I was surprised since I know Disney prides itself on this. For example when I walked up to the front desk there was no smile just a what can I help you with in a bored voice, it was not crowded at all. Even the cast member who helped us with the refillable mugs seemed bored, no smile or enthusiasm. I guess I was expecting more since I work in retail and we are constantly reviewed for our customer service. The room itself was nice the only problem was there wasn't anywhere to put our clothes. Just 3 small drawers under the pull down bed and about 8 hangers to hang stuff. As I said we are 5 people so we had to leave everything in our suitcase which we had all over the floor since there wasn't anywhere to put them. It worked out fine but as my kids get older we will not be able to fit in this room since the pull out bed is for a person under 5ft. All in all I would recommend staying at POR.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cop447

      Registered: December 2006
      Location: Spartanburg, SC
      Posts: 30
      Review Date: Sat November 29, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Landscaping is amazing
      Cons: maintenance issue with room

       
      We stayed in a princess room for this stay 11-16-14 to 11-23-14. My daughters loved the room and the attention to detail made us feel the Disney experience our entire trip. The landscaping on property is so good we liked just walking the grounds. We enjoy the food court, lobby and staff as well.


      The only negatives I had is that a knob was off the dresser and a light was out. A call to maintenance had the problems fixed the next day. Also the wrist band didn't want to sync to open our room door which was a pain. This to was resolved.


      I would recommend the resort and would return.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      racerx14

      Registered: November 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu November 6, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): love the quietness and layout of resort
      Cons: maitainence issue with room

       
      We have stayed @ POR before and loved it so we decided to stay here again on our august visit unfortunately we had two issues with our room, one being handle in tub not staying on and the air conditioning not keeping room cool for duration of stay I notified the front desk of the issues but neither problems were addressed during our stay. Which is unfortunate because we really like this resort
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kmark2

      Registered: February 2012
      Location: New Jersey
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Fri October 10, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): beautiful theme, polite staff, main pool, boat to Downtown Disney
      Cons: large and slightly confusing layout

       
      My family (me, my husband, my two sons, 7 & 5, and my infant daughter) stayed here from Sept. 20-27th. This was our second stay at this resort. We loved it the first time and we still love it! We stayed in building 35 at Alligator Bayou. This was pretty far away from the main area but none of us really minded the walk and we had a bus stop fairly close. We also had a quiet pool right next to us so that was really convenient.


      Our room was nice and clean. My 7 year old loved the pull down bed in the room and slept there every night.


      The kids loved the main pool and went there just about every afternoon for a break from the parks and then they went in the quiet pool next to our room after we got back from the parks for the day.


      The Riverside Mill is a great place to get something quick to eat. We did have to wait 15 minutes one night for a kids pizza but we weren't in any hurry so there was no worries. We didn't eat at Boatwright's this time around but it's nice that there is a sit-down restaurant at the resort.


      The boat to Downtown Disney was very convenient too. Our first night we had reservations in Downtown Disney and we just hopped on the boat and took a nice, peaceful trip. That was a great way to get the kids acquainted with Disney.


      The only complaint that I had was that we had requested a crib and when we got there we didn't have one. I called to request one and within an hour one was brought to us.


      This is a great resort and we will probably stay here again in the future!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      peachmermaid

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Thu September 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet, spacious, theming
      Cons:

       
      Our stay in a royal princess room was a good one. I loved all the little details & the headboard of course. The room isn't huge by any means but it was enough for us. The quick service on site was always busy it seemed but we always managed to get our food & pay rather quickly. Try the red velvet cake, so good! It's a bit of a trek to the rooms but the walk is just so pretty & serene, you probably won't mind, been after a long day at the park.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wattage

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: Richmond Virginia
      Posts: 83
      Review Date: Mon September 8, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Theming, Location
      Cons: Large, but not to bad

       
      This was our first time staying at PO-Riverside – and we loved it. We only stayed one night while we waited to go on our cruise. Check-in was easy as we had checked-in online. If we had not, the regular line had 30+ people.


      Our room was in building 95 on the ground level. It had two queen beds and a comfortable sitting area with a round table. The room is immaculately themed! This room was based on all the Disney Princesses, yet did not feel un-masculine. The headboards were animated with a fireworks show when you pushed a button on the side of the headboard. The lightshow was very cool; little kids would love it, as two 47 year olds did.


      The grounds are beautiful, well maintained, and have lots of walking and biking trails. The main pool is large and well themed with a “Bayou” theme. There are several smaller “quiet” pools scattered around the property.


      We’d love to come back to this lovely resort. It has become my wife’s favorite. It’s a great place for adults without kids, or families with several.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mhw

      Registered: August 2010
      Location: Niantic, Conecticut
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Thu August 28, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful, well-themed resort.
      Cons: None

       
      This resort is my family's favorite resort. We have also stayed at the Contemporary, Beach Club and Art of Animation Lion King Suite resorts. However, when we stay at PO Riverside, it is like coming home again. The theme at this resort is by far the best of the other resorts we have stayed at and the staff and Mousekeeping (thank you Desrenee) are wonderful. We can't wait to come back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      esilvestre

      Registered: July 2009
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Fri July 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): front desk , maid service, buses,food court
      Cons: None

       
      This was our 4th stay at this resort. We were there from June 28 through July 8th. On line check in was great. Only 1 problem. We needed a handicapped accessible room and we were not assigned one. I called front desk and we had a new room in one hour.
      Our buses were always available. We never waited more than 10 minutes. Television screen with bus times was a great new edition.
      The room was spotless. Everyday we had extra towels and plenty of soaps and shampoos.
      The food court was a little busy in the morning,but at least we knew the food was always fresh. I have stayed at deluxe, moderate , and value resorts. This is by far our favorite Disney Hotel. Trust me we have stayed at many different hotels in Disney, this was our 22 visit. We love the Port Orleans Riverside.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      StacyLovesDisney

      Registered: September 2012
      Location: Virginia
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Sat July 19, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): beautiful, quiet room, food court
      Cons: reservation /check-in staff, bus service

       
      I stay at Port Orleans with my family every time we come to WDW. After our last stay, we thought we might try a different resort, but we decided for this trip, the first part of May, 2014, we'd try it again.


      Once again, our reservations were completely messed-up! We need 3 rooms because we come in two groups. Last Sept. PO had my parents across the resort from us. It took over an hour to get us checked in.


      This year I had the foresight to call before arriving to make sure we were all together. Glad I did!!!! They had me and my two children in a connecting room with a man I DID NOT KNOW!!! I kept telling the cast member on the phone that was NOT my husband's name! They couldn't seem to understand that the man whose last name was Hispanic, our last name is clearly American, was not my husband. They had to pass me to a manager. I had to explain the whole story over. She put me on hold for 10 minutes, but luckily came back on the phone and told me the problem was all straight and we were all together! Super!


      We arrived and check-in went quickly and smoothly!


      Unfortunately, I became sick with the flu two days later. I needed new sheets/pillowcases/towels. I called Mousekeeping. 40 minutes go by, no supplies. I called again. They said they had sent someone. 20 more minutes and no one. My husband left to go find someone with a cleaning cart (it was 8AM when all of this was happening.) He found our Mousekeeper who we had the previous 2 days. I think his name was Jonathan. He came to see what I needed. When he saw me in bed he asked if I was sick. When I told him yes, he had the most sincere look of concern on his face and said he was sorry. He then came back with a stack of everything I needed---extra blankets, sheets, towels, wash cloths, soap, and wished me well. On the days I let him come into the room--when we were all healthy--I didn't want him to get sick when I went down----he took such pride in his work. Each day my kids came back to their stuffed animals arranged so nicely on their beds and everything in place.


      The food court is great. However, it was so crowded in the AM we didn't even try to order. My daughter used her refillable mug we bought her to get hot chocolate each morning. She said it was creamy and yummy.


      Both kids love the swimming pool slide. My parents love the boat to Downtown Disney.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tootiee6

      Registered: July 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Fri July 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): beautiful landscaping, discounted room, friendly staff
      Cons: no drink machines or places to get drinks late late at night

       
      We got a discounted rate. We stayed in building 25. It was a little confusing to figure out the paths but I'm a good navigator so it wasn't an issue. It wasnt terribly far since we'd already been walking a lot anyways, it wasn't very noticeable to us. Either we were very lucky or there are tons of buses bc we never waited more than five mins on a bus and the west bus stop was like a minute from our room. The quiet pool was awesome and actually was quiet and wonderful after a long day in the parks. Old man island pool was very fun and the kids loved the waterslide. The boat ride to downtown disney was one of best parts. The rooms were fun and I loved the beds made out of trees. We left mousekeeping tips and they left us lots of extra soaps and shampoos! Our mousekeepers also had to deal with a wet murphy bed each night bc our 5 yr old had some drinking liquids too late and being so tired not waking up issues, so Id strip the bed and pile them up for them at least bc I felt so badly. So being as they had to deal w pee pee sheets and still left us goodies, I was very pleased!! The food at the food court , we only ate breakfast was good. All of the staff was very helpful and kind. The only issue we had was the thermostat and they sent someone up within five mins to look at it as we didn't know how to get it off the set temp. Also the drink machine at our bus stop didnt work and the food p, ace was closed and we prolly would have paid $10 for a cold refreshing beverage then!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      maze4

      Registered: March 2013
      Location: Pennsylvania
      Posts: 40
      Review Date: Sun July 13, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): moderate
      Cons: none

       
      We didn't stay here but on May 16 we were visiting downtown Disney and since we weren't visiting the parks that day we took the boat to port Orleans. We first stopped at French Quarter since this was a resort we wanted to stay at. We walked around and then decided to walk to Riverside. I read previous views about it only being a short walk. Well it took longer than anticipated. But it was a nice day,and being our first day at Disney we were excited. We walked around Riverside and decided to check out the alligator bayou area. We totally fell in love with it. My husband and I always talk about our next trips and where do we want to stay. We both agreed that this would be our next stop. We also visited the food court to get drinks. This resort even though its large seems to have such a comfy feel about it. We took the boat ride back to downtown and my husband and two teenage sons all feel asleep as the ride was so relaxing. I recommend that if you have time to visit various resorts to see what they look like. I was so for French quarter but now can't wait to visit riverside.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      emsmom64

      Registered: June 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Mon June 30, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Layout, theming
      Cons: none

       
      We Loved this resort! We have always stayed at the value resorts but now that my daughter is bigger...as in a 20 year old now..we thought we would try a "grown up" resort and boy did we love it. Very pretty grounds...we faced the river in the Acadian house and it was just beautiful. We swam in both the quiet pool and ole man island and liked both but preferred the quiet pool. The food court was good..nothing special...i felt the quality was the same as the value resorts just better theming. I would definetly stay here again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Samantha550

      Registered: June 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed June 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Decor of Room, Layout of Resort
      Cons: Construction, Pool

       
      Port Orleans Riverside is a nice place to stay. There were a few negatives about our stay. We paid for a garden view room and were place on the side wall looking at shrubs and the ac unit while the front of our building was being refurbished, I assumed a garden view meant at least a few flowering plants. Our room had a huge paint scuff on the wall that we notified the front desk about, but they did not offer to change our room. Housekeeping was slow, essentials such as shampoo and laundry bags were not replenished. The weather was great so we did not spend much time at the resort. My kids said they preferred the pool at Caribbean Beach. Having a small child I found that Caribbean's splash area was ten times better that POR. We did finally eat in the dining area our last night, we did not have dining plan this trip so there was not a daily need to visit the dining hall to refill glasses. My husband and I shared the make it yourself pasta and it was fantastic. It is such a great bargain for Disney property and the flavor was excellent. One last suggestion is if you stay at the property you must make your way over to the French Quarter for Begninets. We would stay here again but would not waste the extra dollars on the Garden View.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MVClause

      Registered: December 2009
      Location: Ocean Springs, Mississippi
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Fri June 6, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cleanliness, polite staff, proximity to resort offerings
      Cons: theming

       
      My DH and I stayed at Port Orleans Riverside from May 29-June 4, 2014. There is nothing BAD about his resort, but I have a hard time finding things where Port Orleans Riverside excels. Every encounter with staff was pleasant and helpful. We did online check-in and our room was ready. Additionally, the hotel was able to honor every request!--mansion section, corner room, away from elevator, highest floor. While the mansion section of the resort was lovely, there was something about it that didn't feel like Disney to me--maybe because we are from Mississippi and the hotel does such a great job recreating the American South.


      Several people have mentioned that they experience poor bus service. I have to say that we NEVER experience poor bus service. Every morning on the way to park, there was a cast member from transportation at the bus stop. The cast member was recording the frequency of and time between each bus. Service when we were returning to the park after our afternoon nap was not as efficient, but still not horrible my any means.


      I enjoyed my stay at Port Orleans Riverside, but i am not dying to stay there again. I prefer the vacation atmosphere of Caribbean Beach. My husband, however, says that he loved POR and would prefer staying there over any other moderate.


      I paid $61 more to stay at POR than at Carribean Beach. That was not too much to "upgrade" for me. However, if it were more than that, I would stay elsewhere.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11 >

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.