Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • jatbj

      Registered: November 2010
      Location: Massapequa NY
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Mon March 23, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): A great resort
      Cons: none

       
      We just returned from another great time at Port Orleans Riverside. It is such a pretty resort. We were in Building 17 near a pool and the walk from the food court was not bad. We also had a shortcut to the South bus depot which was great. The food in the food court was again very good for the price. This was our 10th time at POR and it is like our home away from home. We really enjoyed using our Magicbands to open our rooms, much easier than getting a keycard out each time, also great getting into the parks. We are looking forward to our next visit to Disneyworld and POR.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mindylee847

      Registered: April 2012
      Location: Wisconsin
      Posts: 32
      Review Date: Mon March 2, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful Grounds, Good Theming
      Cons: Lots of Walking, 4 Bus Stops

       
      We stayed in Room 2829 from February 21st through February 28th, 2015. It was a bit of a hike from the main lobby and even the West Bus Depot. It didn't bother us as we were three adults with nothing to carry around (including kiddos). The grounds are absolutely gorgeous. I was unsure of the Alligator Bayou side but couldn't have been more pleased with our "garden" view. 2829 is also a corner room which let in a ton more light and the room felt much more spacious than expected. The food court was delicious and quick with friendly service.


      I would be worried about staying here in the hotter, more humid months as we did come across a few mosquitoes and I don't doubt that there are more in summer.


      The ferry was great to DTD but did take a while to go back and forth. Make sure to allow more than enough time to get to DTD if you have a dinner reservation!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ruthann

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Mon December 22, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): beautiful grounds, clean, quiet
      Cons: none

       
      My husband and I stayed at POR on 11/18/14 to 11/26/14, leaving just before Thanksgiving. Even though that was a crowded time to visit WDW, the resort was always serene and peaceful. We love the Bayou area and stayed in building 26 this time. We usually stay closer to the Mill, but booked later and got 26. At first we were apprehensive about the distance to the Mill, and the West depot. We both have mobility issues. However, I think bldg. 26 was closer and a more direct route to the main bldg. We also liked the West depot. It wasn't as crowded as South, and we had no problem with the buses at all. Most of them were within 10 minutes wait. The Mill had great food, esp the make your own salad and pasta bowl! I had a wonderful ice cream sundae which was huge! Everyone from the front desk to housekeeping were friendly and helpful. We have never been disappointed at this resort and love the paths, tropical setting, and feeling of isolation. We are going back next year around this time too and can't wait!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      PolynesianStitch

      Registered: January 2011
      Location: Minnesota
      Posts: 26
      Review Date: Sat December 20, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): extremely nice rooms
      Cons: long walks to bus stop, food court

       
      We were a party of four in two connecting Royal rooms recently. The rooms are gorgeous and quiet, housekeeping was immaculate. It was a fairly long walk to the bus stops, particularly at the end of the day, as this is a huge resort. Also the food court was always frantically busy. We never did find the hot tub and it wasn't listed on the resort map which would have been nice to have after a long day of walking.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ajrob

      Registered: April 2010
      Posts: 37
      Review Date: Fri December 19, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): pretty resort
      Cons: too large

       
      Stayed in a royal guest room 11/28-12/8. I payed for a river view room to be closer to the lobby and restaurants. Upon check-in at 1pm, I was assigned a room in Oak Manor the room was located underneath a staircase? Some view? Most expensive river view room with no view? I called to complain and was accommodated, why wasn't I just assigned the second room in the first place? The grounds are beautiful, but the resort is just too large. Even with a preferred room, the walk to parking lot, bus stop or restaurants is just too long after walking all day in the parks. This was my second time at Riverside but I will not stay here again. French Quarter is smaller and just as pretty. Staff was helpful and friendly. Mousekeeping was just ok. The royal guest room was very pretty with special furniture and fixtures which my daughter loved.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Disney Ranlin

      Registered: December 2014
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sun December 7, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Theme, decorations, busses and restaurants
      Cons: None

       
      This was our first stay at Riverside (11/30/14-12/6/14) and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Our extended family of 8 went. We were able to get 3 rooms all in a row. We stayed in the Royal Guest rooms and even my 17 year old son enjoyed it. The building we were in was a short walk to the main lobby, bus stops and restaurants. We never had to wait long for a bus and it seemed that the rides to the parks were never more than 10-15 minutes. My parents were able to eat at Boatwrights with out a reservation and said the food was delicious. We ate dinner a few times at Riverside Mill, the make your own pasta station was a hit!!! Breakfast was typical food court fare but the grits were excellent. We have stayed both off and on property in deluxe and value resorts and this was by far the best vacation we have ever had. The Christmas decorations in the lobby were lovely and the towel animals in the rooms were a big hit every day the them younger children ( and the rest of us as well). The check in process was easy and the questions we had for the front desk were quickly answered. I would say to anyone asking that this has to be the best resort at Disney. We are already planning our next vacation there.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Conte

      Registered: December 2014
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Thu December 4, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food court, restaurant, General store, Beautiful grounds
      Cons: Not enough dresser drawers

       
      This was our 2nd stay at POR. We are a family of 5 and this is one of the few resorts at WDW that can accommodate us without upgrading to a suite. The family suites are too childish for my teens. We had no problems at check in we utilized the early check in online. No problems with our bands either. The one thing I noticed was the cast members were not as friendly as last time which was 5 years ago. They were nice enough but not as friendly, in fact I was surprised since I know Disney prides itself on this. For example when I walked up to the front desk there was no smile just a what can I help you with in a bored voice, it was not crowded at all. Even the cast member who helped us with the refillable mugs seemed bored, no smile or enthusiasm. I guess I was expecting more since I work in retail and we are constantly reviewed for our customer service. The room itself was nice the only problem was there wasn't anywhere to put our clothes. Just 3 small drawers under the pull down bed and about 8 hangers to hang stuff. As I said we are 5 people so we had to leave everything in our suitcase which we had all over the floor since there wasn't anywhere to put them. It worked out fine but as my kids get older we will not be able to fit in this room since the pull out bed is for a person under 5ft. All in all I would recommend staying at POR.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cop447

      Registered: December 2006
      Location: Spartanburg, SC
      Posts: 30
      Review Date: Sat November 29, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Landscaping is amazing
      Cons: maintenance issue with room

       
      We stayed in a princess room for this stay 11-16-14 to 11-23-14. My daughters loved the room and the attention to detail made us feel the Disney experience our entire trip. The landscaping on property is so good we liked just walking the grounds. We enjoy the food court, lobby and staff as well.


      The only negatives I had is that a knob was off the dresser and a light was out. A call to maintenance had the problems fixed the next day. Also the wrist band didn't want to sync to open our room door which was a pain. This to was resolved.


      I would recommend the resort and would return.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      racerx14

      Registered: November 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu November 6, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): love the quietness and layout of resort
      Cons: maitainence issue with room

       
      We have stayed @ POR before and loved it so we decided to stay here again on our august visit unfortunately we had two issues with our room, one being handle in tub not staying on and the air conditioning not keeping room cool for duration of stay I notified the front desk of the issues but neither problems were addressed during our stay. Which is unfortunate because we really like this resort
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kmark2

      Registered: February 2012
      Location: New Jersey
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Fri October 10, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): beautiful theme, polite staff, main pool, boat to Downtown Disney
      Cons: large and slightly confusing layout

       
      My family (me, my husband, my two sons, 7 & 5, and my infant daughter) stayed here from Sept. 20-27th. This was our second stay at this resort. We loved it the first time and we still love it! We stayed in building 35 at Alligator Bayou. This was pretty far away from the main area but none of us really minded the walk and we had a bus stop fairly close. We also had a quiet pool right next to us so that was really convenient.


      Our room was nice and clean. My 7 year old loved the pull down bed in the room and slept there every night.


      The kids loved the main pool and went there just about every afternoon for a break from the parks and then they went in the quiet pool next to our room after we got back from the parks for the day.


      The Riverside Mill is a great place to get something quick to eat. We did have to wait 15 minutes one night for a kids pizza but we weren't in any hurry so there was no worries. We didn't eat at Boatwright's this time around but it's nice that there is a sit-down restaurant at the resort.


      The boat to Downtown Disney was very convenient too. Our first night we had reservations in Downtown Disney and we just hopped on the boat and took a nice, peaceful trip. That was a great way to get the kids acquainted with Disney.


      The only complaint that I had was that we had requested a crib and when we got there we didn't have one. I called to request one and within an hour one was brought to us.


      This is a great resort and we will probably stay here again in the future!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      peachmermaid

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Thu September 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet, spacious, theming
      Cons:

       
      Our stay in a royal princess room was a good one. I loved all the little details & the headboard of course. The room isn't huge by any means but it was enough for us. The quick service on site was always busy it seemed but we always managed to get our food & pay rather quickly. Try the red velvet cake, so good! It's a bit of a trek to the rooms but the walk is just so pretty & serene, you probably won't mind, been after a long day at the park.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wattage

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: Richmond Virginia
      Posts: 83
      Review Date: Mon September 8, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Theming, Location
      Cons: Large, but not to bad

       
      This was our first time staying at PO-Riverside – and we loved it. We only stayed one night while we waited to go on our cruise. Check-in was easy as we had checked-in online. If we had not, the regular line had 30+ people.


      Our room was in building 95 on the ground level. It had two queen beds and a comfortable sitting area with a round table. The room is immaculately themed! This room was based on all the Disney Princesses, yet did not feel un-masculine. The headboards were animated with a fireworks show when you pushed a button on the side of the headboard. The lightshow was very cool; little kids would love it, as two 47 year olds did.


      The grounds are beautiful, well maintained, and have lots of walking and biking trails. The main pool is large and well themed with a “Bayou” theme. There are several smaller “quiet” pools scattered around the property.


      We’d love to come back to this lovely resort. It has become my wife’s favorite. It’s a great place for adults without kids, or families with several.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mhw

      Registered: August 2010
      Location: Niantic, Conecticut
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Thu August 28, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful, well-themed resort.
      Cons: None

       
      This resort is my family's favorite resort. We have also stayed at the Contemporary, Beach Club and Art of Animation Lion King Suite resorts. However, when we stay at PO Riverside, it is like coming home again. The theme at this resort is by far the best of the other resorts we have stayed at and the staff and Mousekeeping (thank you Desrenee) are wonderful. We can't wait to come back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      esilvestre

      Registered: July 2009
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Fri July 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): front desk , maid service, buses,food court
      Cons: None

       
      This was our 4th stay at this resort. We were there from June 28 through July 8th. On line check in was great. Only 1 problem. We needed a handicapped accessible room and we were not assigned one. I called front desk and we had a new room in one hour.
      Our buses were always available. We never waited more than 10 minutes. Television screen with bus times was a great new edition.
      The room was spotless. Everyday we had extra towels and plenty of soaps and shampoos.
      The food court was a little busy in the morning,but at least we knew the food was always fresh. I have stayed at deluxe, moderate , and value resorts. This is by far our favorite Disney Hotel. Trust me we have stayed at many different hotels in Disney, this was our 22 visit. We love the Port Orleans Riverside.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      StacyLovesDisney

      Registered: September 2012
      Location: Virginia
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Sat July 19, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): beautiful, quiet room, food court
      Cons: reservation /check-in staff, bus service

       
      I stay at Port Orleans with my family every time we come to WDW. After our last stay, we thought we might try a different resort, but we decided for this trip, the first part of May, 2014, we'd try it again.


      Once again, our reservations were completely messed-up! We need 3 rooms because we come in two groups. Last Sept. PO had my parents across the resort from us. It took over an hour to get us checked in.


      This year I had the foresight to call before arriving to make sure we were all together. Glad I did!!!! They had me and my two children in a connecting room with a man I DID NOT KNOW!!! I kept telling the cast member on the phone that was NOT my husband's name! They couldn't seem to understand that the man whose last name was Hispanic, our last name is clearly American, was not my husband. They had to pass me to a manager. I had to explain the whole story over. She put me on hold for 10 minutes, but luckily came back on the phone and told me the problem was all straight and we were all together! Super!


      We arrived and check-in went quickly and smoothly!


      Unfortunately, I became sick with the flu two days later. I needed new sheets/pillowcases/towels. I called Mousekeeping. 40 minutes go by, no supplies. I called again. They said they had sent someone. 20 more minutes and no one. My husband left to go find someone with a cleaning cart (it was 8AM when all of this was happening.) He found our Mousekeeper who we had the previous 2 days. I think his name was Jonathan. He came to see what I needed. When he saw me in bed he asked if I was sick. When I told him yes, he had the most sincere look of concern on his face and said he was sorry. He then came back with a stack of everything I needed---extra blankets, sheets, towels, wash cloths, soap, and wished me well. On the days I let him come into the room--when we were all healthy--I didn't want him to get sick when I went down----he took such pride in his work. Each day my kids came back to their stuffed animals arranged so nicely on their beds and everything in place.


      The food court is great. However, it was so crowded in the AM we didn't even try to order. My daughter used her refillable mug we bought her to get hot chocolate each morning. She said it was creamy and yummy.


      Both kids love the swimming pool slide. My parents love the boat to Downtown Disney.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.