Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • WarEagleAuburn

      Registered: January 2014
      Posts: 22
      Review Date: Fri January 2, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fantastic bread
      Cons: Mediocre steaks

       
      We went to Shula's for our 20th anniversary and were very disappointed. The steaks were bland and just lukewarm. The best part about the meal was the bread...but for $350 we should have the best steaks we have ever eaten. The baked potato they show on the cart was huge, but ours was about 1/2 of that size. We were the best dressed people there (we wore slacks, collared shirts, dress) as everyone, and I mean everyone, wore shorts, tennis shoes, and t-shirts. Not one business casual group in the bunch. We saw mickey ears, yoga pants, and lots of baseball caps.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Imjustababyduck

      Registered: May 2007
      Posts: 58
      Review Date: Wed October 8, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Food and Service
      Cons: Really dark; portion size

       
      My husband and I ate here on 9/28/14. It was a fairly romantic place, but quite dark. So dark it was hard to see the menu or your food. We were very, very, very full when we went to dinner here so we kept things to a minimum, but it all was good.


      My husband had the French Onion Soup and I had a half of the heirloom tomato salad. Both were good, but not over the top good. We wouldn't be opposed to getting these apps again, but would probably try something else.


      My husband go the filet that he said was fabulous. It hands down beat the steak at the Yachtsman (but that really isn't saying much). I had what should be Steak Diane (but at Shula's is the Steak Mary Ann, after his wife). The saucing was good and not overpowering. The steak was cooked perfectly and was tender. We shared a huge baked potato that was really good.


      We finishing with the chocolate soufflé that was also very good. It was light and fluffy with just the right amount of chocolate.


      We will absolutely eat here again. We were warned going in about the portion size and ordered accordingly. Enough cannot be said about just how much food you get with the apps and the sides. It really is way too much food. They should charge less and provide smaller portions. It would make the meal much more enjoyable. Please be cognizant of this when you are ordering. My half salad was larger than most full sized salads. That is too much to eat and then expect to eat an entrée and dessert.


      My one real complaint though came at the end of the meal when our servers ganged up on us and gave us the hard sell on providing online reviews for Shula's, going so far as to name some of the sites they would like us to post a review on. WOW!!! I found this off putting. It came across as desperate. Even if they are desperate for reviews, they need to chill out and find another way. I felt like they were trying to get me to buy a time-share. It was VERY high pressure. You felt compelled to promise to write great reviews on the sites they recommended in order to be able to leave. I'm sure this isn't exactly the review they expected me to write, but I guess you should be careful what you demand from your patrons; you just might get it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      rhjohnston

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Sat September 13, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): football memorbilia, great steak
      Cons: waiter overkill

       
      I recommend signing up for the Shula birthday club on their website for a free entrée or looking for a 20% off Orlando coupon, this will help make the meal cost more appetizing! We had the filet mignon and the crab cakes. The filet was really wonderful, the crab cakes not so much. They were only slightly warm and they had a lot of fillers-- there were 2 however and they were a good size. Our side was the mashed potatoes which were delicious and my husband had a caesar salad which he said was good. There is a good dessert selection but because we were stuffed we just took a piece of their chocolate layer cake to go which was good. This was a nice choice for my husband's birthday as he grew up in Florida and new all about the Dolphin's undefeated season. It might not be as interesting to a non-football person. Several waiters serve you and it can be a bit over the top. All in all though a nice experience.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fitzboyzmom

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 142
      Review Date: Fri April 12, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      This was a a special dinner for my son's 16th birthday, who loves steak. It was very disappointing. My husband ordered the cowboy steak based on the server indicating that it was the house specialty. It was disgusting...tough and tasteless. When the steak was delivered he was asked if it was done to his liking by the server shining a flashlight on it because you could not see. Seems like a trick question when you can't really see it!


      The only reason we rated it a 5 was because my son liked his steak. Yachtsman is much better. We won't be returning.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kandyhunt

      Registered: April 2010
      Location: Florida
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Mon August 13, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): great place
      Cons: none

       
      Our meal was great. It was everything I was hoping for. It was just my hubby and me for his birthday. I would not bring small children. It is a very grown up place. Our steak was the best. My husband said he found his new favorite restuarant.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      alllie1

      Registered: October 2007
      Location: West Palm Beach, FL
      Posts: 43
      Review Date: Mon March 19, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Amazing food and service
      Cons:

       
      We dined here on March 18th for a great dinner. The service was excellent- they brought around a cart to show all the various cuts of meat and explained all the sides. They were a tad pushy when it came to upselling (really, who decides to just "add on" a lobster tail for $130) and trying to get you to preorder desserts that take a long time to prepare (souffle and lava cake). We were glad we stood firm and didn't preorder a dessert because we definitely wouldn't have been able to eat it! My husband started with French onion soup, which he declared better than Grand Floridian Cafe (his previous favorite) and I had the lobster bisque, which was excellent. We shared the 24 ounce prime rib, lobster mashed potatoes, sauteed mushrooms, and creamed spinach. Everything was phenomenal but the lobster mashed potatoes were by far the best thing we were served. I could have eaten just that and been happy! It had huge chunks of lobster on top of the creamiest mashed potatoes I've ever had, drizzled with some of the lobster bisque. Simply heavenly! We liked that they do not charge a sharing fee, since neither of us would have been able to finish a 24 ounce steak on our own. With 1 cocktail, 1 soda, 2 soups, 3 sides, and 1 steak, plus a 20% tip, the bill came to $130 which we felt was very reasonable for both the quality and amount of food we received. We will definitely be back for special occasions!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sojirofreak

      Registered: January 2011
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Mon March 19, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Best steak, wonderful service, great souffle
      Cons: Expensive

       
      My husband and I ate here for dinner as an early Valentine's Day celebration on 2/7/12. We had an ADR, showed up more than 20 minutes early and were seated right away. We both ordered the porterhouse, cooked medium, and shared the creamed spinach. We both agreed it was the best steak we'd ever had in our lives, and we've tried Yachtsman's and Le Cellier, as well as other well-known steak houses! The creamed spinach was a perfect compliment to the steak, and there was more than enough for two to share. We also shared the chocolate souffle for dessert, even though we were already stuffed (we ordered the souffle at the beginning because it takes a long time to prepare). We were glad it was small, and it was also very delicious.


      We're avid Disney fans, and we've been to several signature dining locations at WDW, but this may just be our new favorite!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      fluffy30

      Registered: September 2010
      Posts: 79
      Review Date: Sat February 4, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Steaks, Service, atmoshere
      Cons: ate too much

       
      First time dinning here and loved it all. I hadn't realized how posh the place was and although I had on slacks and a nice top and my son wore a collared shirt we still felt underdressed. It is much more upscale than Le Cellier, The Yachtsman, or Narcossees.


      The waiter was very informative and explained and showed us each steak and described all the sides. I ordered a Strip steak and my son had the Porterhouse. We shared a twice baked potato and grilled asparagus. The sides are huge and the steaks were perfect. Son had a Lava Cake which was presented beautifully. Everything was outstanding and I think this is now my favourite WDW steakhouse.
      Click here to see this users profile  

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.