Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • HOBBES

      Registered: December 2007
      Location: UK
      Posts: 63
      Review Date: Thu November 23, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Small
      Cons: Food court, buses

       
      Before I start, let me say POFQ is far and away our favourite resort. This is our 3rd stay and we wouldn't stay anywhere else now BUT...
      Our room absolutley stank of sweaty feet-and not ours! It was noticeable from the moment we opened the door on arrival and was still noticeable 2 weeks later when we left. I understand the planned refurb is doing away with carpets and this must be the reason why!
      The beds both sagged-one had a definite slant to the left and one to the right! It rteally felt like the springs had gone.
      Bus service was erratic. Why on earth POFQ has to share AK buses at all times of the day with POR is anyone's guess. One day we left our room at 5pm for a fastpass at AK which expired at 6.10. No bus arrived until 5.30 and it then took nearly 20 minutes to go round POR, so we did not even arrive at AK until 6.05. Needless to say we missed our Fastpass (didn't help that the CMs had roped off the pathway to EE for ROL standby!) Even at park closing the AK bus was picking up for both resorts, so you had a packed bus, only half of whom were getting off at FQ, trying to climb over people standing on the bus-very poor. (AK was the only park that ever seemd to share a bus but it was ALL the time!)
      We were offered cash if we turned down Mousekeeping but I like having someone else make my bed for me so we refused-plus it keeps jobs open for them. Mousekeeping did a good job and common areas of the resort-food court, pool, etc was alway clean.
      I feel guilty moaning about POFQ but the rooms are looking tired currently
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Dizwiz328

      Registered: November 2017
      Location: Salem MA
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun November 19, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Size,Pool,Food Court, Transportation, and Cast Members
      Cons: House Keeping

       
      First time stay at POR- FQ - Week of 11/13 - 11/18 2017
      We loved this place. We have stayed at several other Disney Resorts over the many years that we have been going to WDW. The compact size of POR - FQ made it easy to get to all this resort has to offer. The pool area was fun and my granddaughter (12) was very impressed. The food court can get very busy at times but for the most part was manageable. Never waited more than 10 min for any bus or boat. Every cast member we met was friendly, helpful and very easy to talk to.
      Housekeeping was very poor. Our room was never really cleaned up to the standards we have come to expect from Disney. Items like tissues and toiletries were not replenished.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mbelerique19

      Registered: October 2017
      Posts: 26
      Review Date: Mon October 9, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful lobby, great rooms, fabulous theming
      Cons: NONE

       
      My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon and absolutely loved it. This will be our favorite moderate resort every time. The gift shop features authentic Southern flare and the food doesn't disappoint either. There is no need to pay for a preferred room here since the layout is more compact. I would say it is definitely a more mature resort than others. Everything about this resort is perfect! We made two trips back here on our most recent visit just because we loved the hotel so much!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      disneydiner

      Registered: February 2015
      Posts: 27
      Review Date: Sat September 2, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): My favorite Disney resort!
      Cons: never passholder discounts

       
      French Quarter is my favorite WDW resort. An unexpected visit in mid-August to celebrate my birthday was a gift from my sister. She knows how much I love this resort. I sometimes travel alone and have always felt safe and secure here, The resort is small and compact compared to others and the staff is always friendly. I have been disappointed my last few trips that I have been unable to book a room here with a passholder
      discount. FQ is always my first choice. I love the
      boat service to Disney Springs. Come on Mickey, open up some rooms to passholders!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      minniemouse50

      Registered: July 2017
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Thu July 20, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location and cleanliness
      Cons: None

       
      Stayed at this hotel from July 1st to the 9th. This is a great hotel because no matter which building you are in you are close to the lobby and food. I found our room to be clean and neat everyday. Loved that you could take a boat to Disney Springs. We will definitely stay here again
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mandaep

      Registered: May 2015
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun May 28, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): small size, 1 bus stop, beautiful grounds, boat to POR and disney springs, fun pool
      Cons: food court design, need more staff at stations in morning

       
      This is our 3rd stay here, 2nd with our children. Paid for the garden view hoping to get a close building but I knew it wasn't guaranteed. Received a text that we were placed in a building 7 garden view room. I was hoping we wouldn't be that far away! (I placed preferences for particular closer buildings). We called from the airport asking for a closer room just to take a chance, and they were so friendly. They placed us in building #2, which was so much closer. This is a small resort, yes, and the buildings are all very reasonably located but we love being close to the food court. The next time we will pay for the pool view.


      The grounds are always so quiet and I feel at home here. You frequently see the horse making rounds in the evening with the carriage. I got to visit the original french quarter in NOLA this year and I have to say I LOVE the architecture at POFQ. It really did feel like the original, I especially love the horse head hitching posts.


      The pool is nice. I have two small kids who are still learning to swim and we use the life jackets that are provided every time. ** I wish they had more extra or small vests available because I'd say 50% of the time we had to search for one that was not being used. The lifeguards are diligent and I am always impressed with their attention.


      I hate to hear that some people don't like the busses because the last two trips we have been here we have had an exceptional experience with them (the first time was 2009 and it wasn't so great, long waits and drives to riverside).
      There is only 1 bus stop but its never really bad. We leave in the morning at "busy times" too. I would say 90% of the time we waited less than 10 minutes. In the morning when it is busier, there is a cast member assisting with lines. One time we waited maybe 20 minutes for a bus and they gave us a fast pass for whatever we wanted (except froze of course) at epcot. I couldn't have asked for better service.


      The food court, I miss the floats! I was excited about the renovation and I was okay with letting them go. I loved the decorations above BUT I felt like the fluer de lis that were spray painted on the floors made the floor look dirty especially near the garbage cans. I liked the nicer dishes used, and the fact that they are cutting down on waste by having them returned and washed. And there is a section for food to be composted. The mickey waffles were always soft and fresh. The section for the french toast and oatmeal, I just couldn't believe that there was only one person operation that section because there are a lot of duties involved with making the baguette french toast, etc. I think it would be better for the employee that does that section to have a little extra help.


      The bus to disney springs and POR were very frequent.. my daughter and I rode to POR to check it out because I haven't been to it before. Very close and quick!


      We will be back next year. I can't imagine staying anywhere else, even over the deluxes.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Jchuges7

      Registered: February 2015
      Location: Cincinnati
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Fri May 19, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Theming, small size, atmosphere
      Cons: None

       
      We LOVED our experience at POFQ. We were in room 4130 which was 4 doors down from the food court. This made getting drinks from the Coke Freestyle machines very easy. Despite being so close to the food court and main buildings our room was extremely quiet. We also loved being very close to the bus stop which made our tired legs happy at the end of a long day at the parks. Mousekeeping was great. Short walk to POR provided great views of the river as we went to see Yee-Haw Bob's show. We would highly recommend POFQ to anyone.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      Deaova

      Registered: November 2016
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Wed May 17, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Relaxing atmosphere ; beautiful grounds; clean rooms and great staff
      Cons: None

       
      This is my 2nd stay at this resort and was not disappointed. Even though it was more crowded than my 1st time it didn't seem that way. After a hectic day at the parks it was a pleasure to return for a little downtime. Busses were plentiful and boat ride to Disney Springs was a great way to unwind. Any issues we had were nicely addressed by the staff. I will certainly be returning.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cinderlisa

      Registered: August 2010
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Wed April 26, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): River boat to Disney Springs, small size, decor and theming
      Cons: Long waits at foodcourt

       
      We've stayed at POFQ about 10 times now and we love it. From the moment we enter the port cochere, and then hear the lobby fountain, we feel welcomed and at home.


      This time, I was thrilled to receive my "room ready" text at 7AM while on the Magical Express after an overnight flight from Seattle. It was so great to be able to skip the front desk and go right to the room to get changed and ready for Magic Kingdom.


      My only complaint about the resort is the food court. I have always loved the food court and the new renovations look great. But, the wait for food was consistenly lengthy. Over 20 minutes for pasta, pizza, and a chicken sandwich-on 3 separate occasions. There is nowhere to wait in the small area, especially with the new drink coolers in there. Perhaps more of the stations could use the "buzzers" so we would not have to wait and cluster around the windows to hear our names. I also noticed changes to some of my favorite items: the po'boys have a different sauce and the bread is harder. The jambalaya isn't as tasty, and the whole wheat croissant on the breakfast sandwich was not good.


      One more small complaint-Riverside's cheesecake is far superior!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Meyer4

      Registered: December 2011
      Location: Pensacola, FL
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Tue April 25, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet little place
      Cons: Bus service

       
      This is my wife's fav. We like to take the boat to Disney Springs. The bus service is very slow here. The resort is a great little gem. Hope it stays that way. Try to get room with water view.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      steelers_fan

      Registered: October 2012
      Location: Ohio
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Fri March 31, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): size, character, staff, location
      Cons: beds

       
      We stayed for a week, the first week of March 2017. We loved it!! I only have one complaint: the bed was not very confortable. I don't know if they havent been updated in a while or what, but both beds were hard.


      The food court was good. We were pleased with the options, and we had family from age 1 to age 50. We stayed in building 1 which was a short walk to the food court, pool, bus stop, pretty much everything. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and kept very clean. There are benches along the river to sit and relax and watch the boats go by. Good spots to have your morning coffee!


      The pool is very nice. The kids loved the water slide. it would have been better if the pool stayed open later though. There IS only one hot tub at this resort, they should add another as it got to be a bit busy and crowded at the hot tub sometimes. The pool bar closed rather early as well, like 6pm. Maybe that was a seasonal thing.


      Bus service everywhere was fine. We only had one morning where we waited 20+ minutes for a bus, most waits were less than 10 minutes.


      Riverside is a short 10 minute walk up the river. If you stay here or at Riverside I recommend the carriage ride (it departs from Riverside). It gave us a nice tour of the resort.


      I am certain we will stay here again in the future. The only reason i didnt rate it a 10 is because of the bed.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      alerner3410

      Registered: February 2017
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed February 15, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): rooms are nice great silde
      Cons:

       
      Its a great place for the rooms and sides I have been to three different hotels the French Quarter is my favorite the slide its a dragon slide its in the top five best resorts in Disney.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      teller7

      Registered: April 2009
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Sat December 17, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Small resort
      Cons: Food court

       
      Just got back this was our third trip to French quarter. Love the resort it small,clean, and staff friendly. Not so fond of new food court smaller and food selection was not so good... Not sure why they made the change. Would recommend this resort to anyone.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      aclay

      Registered: December 2016
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue December 13, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Moderate Price,Helpful Cast Members, Good Location,Not so many children!
      Cons: Restaurant is congested! Garbage disposal is more than I want to think about on vacation!

       
      Love this resorts location to parks. Nice Cast Members. Good price! Fewer children at this resort. When you are visiting Disney without children,this is nice. We made a request that was granted! Thank you! Food is just average(was better a few years back). If we are able to visit next year, more than likely we will be staying here!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      carsmom

      Registered: July 2008
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Wed December 7, 2016 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): quiet, clean
      Cons: rooms, food court, bus service

       
      My family stayed at POFQ at the end of November. I have stayed at value, moderates and deluxe levels. This was the first time at French Quarter and my last. The rooms are in sad need of repair. Furniture is old and worn. Rooms are outdated. We arrived the evening of the re-opening of the food court. What a disappointment. It is small with very limited choices. I kept wishing we were at Pop Century over this place. The Front Desk staff was not helpful and disinterested. The boat to Disney Springs was great but the boat captain was rude and hateful. We had to wait over 45 minutes for a bus to Epcot one morning. The line stretched all the way to the main building. The trip itself was great but the resort was not. Will not be returning.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.