Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • sandc

      Registered: October 2006
      Posts: 66
      Review Date: Fri September 18, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful and quiet resort

      French Qtr is our go to resort. We absolutely love it there. We have stayed at other resorts but this is by far our favorite. We usually request building 4 but this trip we decided to try the pool view. We had a room on the second floor in building 5. We loved it. Our room was spotless when we arrived. Our housekeeper was great. We had the same lady almost everyday. The one day it was not her, our room was barely cleaned. The resort is quiet and small which is nice.

      The food court was good. Just wish they would change it up a bit. We were there for 2 weeks and the menu did not change. The create your own salad was our go to food choice. Every staff member we encounted were friendly and very helpful.

      For 2 weeks, we never waited more than 5 minutes for a bus leaving the resort. Not once did we pick up at Riverside either which was different from past trips. We did share with Riverside coming home which makes the busses a little more crowded but that is not a big deal. Never waited more than 10 minutes for a bus back to FQ.

      We love the pool. I am personally not a fan of the games and the host speaking loudly into the microphone for hours but the kids like it. That is the one thing I wish Disney resorts never started doing.

      We took the boat to Downtown Disney a few times. Such a nice relaxing boat ride.

      We have only been back home for 2 weeks and I am already planning our next trip for FQ. I can't wait to get back to my second home!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: August 2007
      Location: Oswego, Il
      Posts: 135
      Review Date: Tue June 23, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): On Line Check In and Grounds
      Cons: Rooms, Food Court and Buses

      My family of 4 stayed here for 5 nights, June 7th to 12th. It was me, my husband, and twin daughters, age 15.

      On line check in worked perfectly. We got a text at 1030 saying our room was ready. We were coming from a night at POR (royal room, river view), so the timing was perfect. We had a garden view on the first floor of building 4. I requested a top floor, but it turned out to be fine. It had a beautiful view and it was nice and quiet. We were close to the food court, pool, and bus stop. Mousekeeping did a nice job and we were left towel animals twice.

      Buses were horrible. We waited 40 minutes for a bus to DTD one night, and another 40 minute wait going back to the resort. We took our car to Animal Kingdom and Epcot, because the waits were awful yet again. Buses to and from Magic Kingdom were ok. Buses have always been spot on at prior visits, so I don't understand why the waits were so long...

      We ate ate the food court twice for dinner. We enjoyed the potato bar, pizzas and chicken nuggets. We also picked up a few snacks. The refillable mug station was very disappointing. It was dirty all the time.
      We swam quite a bit. There was a "code d" called one afternoon and the pool had to be cleared. Apparently, someone didn't put a swim diaper on their child.

      It pains me to give a rating of 7. This has always been my absolute favorite resort. This was my 4th stay, and I found the rooms in dire need of updating. They just seemed very blah this time. The food court was dirty, and the snack selection seemed lacking at times.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: June 2010
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Sun June 21, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): beautiful small resort
      Cons: none

      This is our second time staying here. We had a standard room in building one. Room and view were great. Housekeeping superb! We ate at the food court 3 times and the food was excellent. LOVE the boat ride the Down Town Disney. Used online check in and received a text while at McCoy to tell us our room number. Staff was friendly helpful and kind. No problems with bus transportation. So sad when we had to leave.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: July 2014
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Thu June 11, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Small and manageable, quieter
      Cons: No beaches like Coronado & Caribbean, pool needs a serious update

      Stayed 6-3 to 6-8-15. Our room request was delightfully met, and we had a first floor corner room on the river, it could not have been more perfect, close to the pool but was far enough removed to hear none of the noise. The last time we stayed here was actually during 9/11, and I must say the place has not changed in fourteen years, which is not a bad thing. I love the atmosphere of the 'streets', the decor, the lobby, and the small size keeps it more quiet, at least as far as a Disney resort goes. The pool really needs an update, the slide alone is old and both times I rode it I almost got stuck, it's barely worth the excitement lol. The pool is large for a small resort, a big plus, as there is no second quiet pool (which it should have) and Riverside is quite a hike to find one, we did it once but when we got there the pools had closed because of an approaching thunderstorm arrgh. If you try one thing from the food court, get the beignets, and eat them while they are still warm, we ate them three nights in a row, they are SO good. Although I absolutely love Coronado Springs, French Quarter is a great choice is you want a Disney resort that isn't overwhelming. Only thing I missed were the beaches two of the other moderates offer, but French Quarter makes up for it in charm.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Thu June 11, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything Close by, not too crowded
      Cons: elevator, food court

      This hotel was my favorite of all the moderates I have stayed at. It is smaller than the others, which means a lot less walking to the pool, food court, or bus stop. The pool is great. The grounds are themed incredibly as well.

      I could really think of only two things to complain about (and as you can see, they weren't big enough deals for me to even dock a rating), it was the elevators and the food court. First, the elevators. There is only one set per building, and it can lead to a lot of walking (though I believe that is pretty much the case at every resort). However, the location of the elevator in our building was very inconvenient. It was near the river and pool, which meant it was as far away as can be from both the parking lot and the front entrance/bus stop. So if you are in the front of the building (near the main entrance), you need to walk all the way to the back of the building, and then all the way back towards the entrance to get to your room. Not really a big deal for us (we just use the stairs most times anyways), but something you may want to think about.

      Other minor complaint is the food court. We actually really liked the food we got there, but it is small. Now, it is to be expected that it would be small (this is a small resort after all), and the lines were never long, but there are virtually no snack options (chips etc.). However, don't forget the much bigger Riverside is like 0.25 miles away, so if you are desperate, it's a quick (beautiful) walk over to their much bigger food court. Once again, not really a big deal, but it could be good to know.

      Other than those two minor things, definitely recommend this resort, and I think it will be our go-to resort for the moderates.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: May 2015
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue May 26, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): quiet, luscious vegetation, just the right size

      Second time for 2 senior couples, could not ask for better accommodations. Great attention to detail. Upon arrival check in volunteered to find a room near our other couple, great work. Of our five trips these last 2 at POFQ have been our favorites. Definitely on our agenda for next time.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: April 2011
      Location: Cols, OH
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Mon May 25, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Size of resort
      Cons: Food court

      We arrived at 9 am and our room was ready! The grounds are lovely and well kept, only a short walk to the bus stop and food court. The cast members at the front desk were very helpful and friendly. It can get very crowded in the food area during busy periods and the cast members working there don’t appear to be in any hurry. The rooms are a little on small size, but worked out well for two adults. The toilet/shower area is a tight fit but the curtain between the beds and sink area came in handy. The furniture in the room was well worn, but mousekeeping did a good job keeping the room clean. We did not have any issues with the buses or the boat to Downtown Disney.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: April 2015
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun April 26, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean , quiet, peacefull, all
      Cons: It's not Coronado springs!


      First time poster,many times to Disney . Last stay at Coronado springs 2008.Three of us went my wife and I and Grandson eight years old in tow. Dates of trip April 20 -25 2015 spring break week in the Northeast.

      Won't bore you with stats and details you can read online but here goes.....

      Port Orleans is clean quiet and all buildings close to the front desk and the restaurant . Ours was building five second floor corner room # 5241.
      Easy jaunt to Saasagoula Restaurant to pick up morning Coffee. This proved to be the best feature of this resort. We saved a ton of money by not getting the dining plan and eating at the "Sass" morning and night and at Disney food courts . Turns out with some simple math we saved $578 by not buying the dining plan and doing it this way.Not for everyone but worked for us.

      Restaurant has very good food and grandson loved the Pizza kids meal. Fare is limited and stays the same all the time so if we stayed for more than one week we would have changed that up somewhat. Resatuarant is themed with large decorative masks beads and ribbons and jazz music that was constantly playing too loud for our tastes.Beinets are terrific and grandson craved them every night. Refillable cups worked great but warning to all that apply- Orange juice is not included in that refill plan. We loved it for coffee . Staff was very helpful and bent over backwards to please us.
      Our room was tastefully decorated and was very quiet. Something I very much looked forward to at the end of a noisy and hectic day at the parks. Not enough outlets as stated by others. It would have been nice to supply a charging station with USB ports and outlets on top of the tv stand/ bureau.outdoor movies were right outside on the lawn and I thought sound level was a little high . Movies always end at 10 pm. Could hear toilets flushing but a minor inconvienence .

      Pool was excellent and slide was good despite what others have said.Grandson loved the pool and slide better than Disney ,Epcot and Seaworld combined ! Wife and I loved hot tub at the end of a long day.

      We rented a car for our entire stay as we wanted to go to universal and Seaworld. Turns out Rentalcars.com had deals that were too good to be true- but they were just that! We rented a Chevy Spark for $112 dollars for the whole week! If we would have used disneys on site rental for only two days it would have been $120! Once my wife decided to try the Disney buses . We waited for 15 minutes for one bus to come and it was already full. She looked at me and we both said let's use the rental car! We never looked back on that decision. Moral of story -rent a car you won't regret it.

      We flew on Southwest nonstop down and one stop on the way home. I checked in online 24 hours prior on the button and got on last on our connector flight home . We upgraded to priority boarding on the first leg of our flight back and that proved successful but expensive at $40. I am still working on how to get better seating. Word to the wise -book as early as you can that way you will get best pricing. We got hosed on the return flight which turned out to be double the price our our flight down there because we booked late.
      Was able to redeem credit card miles for one flight and saved by not getting dining plan so all worked out well. Still the trip was around five grand. Oh boy do I wish for the old days!

      Magic bands and online check in worked flawlessly and Disney is to be commended for this. Fast pass is terrific and we used it everyday . Some days though they had technical difficulties with site so the unused fast passes could not be redeemed for another experience .when it was working and we did not use the pass it suggested other attractions and rides that were available . Another Disney thumbs up.

      One major benefit to staying onsite is that they have baggage check right at Port Orleans so we did not have to carry heavy bulky luggage to the airport upon leaving -Just go to baggage kiosk right outside resort at least three hours to your flight and you are good to go!

      Overall excellent place to stay would come again but think that there still is something about Coronado Springs that speaks to us. Still Port Orleans has closer to travel to restaurant and better pool slide.

      My wish is to stay at Polynesian resort someday and use the monorail.

      Hope this helps.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: October 2010
      Location: Massachusetts
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Mon April 20, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Layout, Beautiful landscaping, Boat to Downtown

      POFQ has been a resort that I have wanted to stay in for a long time and I am so happy that I got the chance. The resort is beautiful with lots of details everywhere you look. The staff was very helpful and made a point to go out of their way to make our stay even better. I liked the one bus stop and found that it was never crazy crowded and that he cast member, who was almost always there, kept everyone waiting in their appropriate lines. The room was clean, but it was starting to show some wear around the edges (spots on the carpet, pulls on the curtains) and Mousekeeping was superb. We liked the selection at the food court, especially the baked potato bar, but did walk over to Riverside a couple of enjoy the bigger selection there. My kids LOVED the pool and slide and it was never crowded. We also took advantage of roasting marshmallows our first night there, what a special experience! Overall I think this was a wonderful resort, but given the choice I think I would chose Riverside over French Quarter because it has slightly more to offer.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: April 2015
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun April 5, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Size, theming, buses
      Cons: None

      I really can't think of any negative aspects of Port Orleans French Quarter. I guess I'm biased because it's the only resort I've stayed at (I will be there for a third time this Fall), but it truly is a great place.
      One thing that many like about this resort is how compact it is. No matter what building you're in, you're close to pretty much everything. Even if you're in the building furthest from the pool, quick service restaurant, store, etc. you're really not that far. It's only a pleasant walk away.
      The theming is also wonderful. The street lamps and gates definitely add a nice touch. It's right on the Sassagoula River and you can take a very pleasant boat ride to Downtown Disney. If you can afford more than a Standard View room, try to get the River View.
      The food court isn't bad, but it's not wonderful. It's quick service and they have the usual Disney fare...they DO have beignets, which are a tasty treat if you have a sweet tooth. If you want a sit-down meal but don't feel like traveling far, you can stroll over the Port Orleans Riverside and dine at Boatwright's.
      Bus transportation to the parks is good. I think the longest I waited for a bus was maybe 8 minutes. French Quarter guests are picked up before Riverside guests, so you do have a few stops before you get to the parks. In my experience, the buses I've been on have never stopped at Riverside because there were no guests there waiting. I guess it was just the time of day, though.
      Overall, this is a wonderful little resort. I highly recommend it if you want to stay somewhere that feels a little more intimate than some of the other more spread-out resorts.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: February 2015
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue February 24, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Room size, accommodations for toddler, ease of check in, awesome decor, small size, ease of buses
      Cons: SLIPPERY STAIRS!!!

      We stayed at POFQ in from 9/14/14 to 9/20/14. My husband and I, our 2 year old son, and my father in law were in a double queen room together. The room was plenty large for all 4 of us. I had checked in online prior to our arrival and as we got off DME, someone was waiting for us with our name on an iPad. The check in process was very smooth and was done in the lobby on a bench so we could relax after a long morning of traveling. The gentleman handing out Mardi Gras beads helped to keep my son entertained while I checked in.

      We were in the 4th building, second floor, as requested. The only request that was not granted was a corner room (not a deal breaker). There was a pack and play in the room with sheets available. It fit easily between the bed and the front wall and my son did not have a problem sleeping in it at all. The curtain between the sink area and the room allowed more than enough privacy so that I didn't feel uncomfortable changing with my FIL in the room. The only thing that would have made it better is if the door to the commode/tub was outside the curtain so that someone else could shower or use the facilities while someone else is changing.

      We did not have any issues with the MagicBand throughout the week (with the exception of some operator errors!). We ate in the food court for breakfast most days and the food was pretty good. Would have liked more variety, but again, not a deal breaker. It was nice to have the TV in the dining room playing classic Fab Five cartoons because it helped to keep my son still in his seat while we got things ready for the day.

      Building 4 was really close to the bus stop and we never had a long wait for the buses. On more crowded days with EMH, 2 buses would come back to back for MK and EP, which was really nice.

      One snag in the trip, which I don't think went anywhere when I called and I will probably make a follow up call soon - I wear Toms shoes in the parks often - cute, easy, comfortable. It was raining on the morning we were leaving and I was walking down the steps with my son on my hip and my feet slipped on the steps I ended up with some pretty gnarly bruises on my hip and leg. Considering how often it rains, they should definitely consider adding some anti slip strips on the stairs.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: April 2010
      Posts: 20
      Review Date: Fri February 20, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Another Wonderful Stay
      Cons: None

      Just got back from a quick 3 night/4 day visit. This was our 2nd stay at POFQ and, as with the first visit, the room was wonderful -- beautiful, clean, ready upon arrival (which was 3 p.m.). We were in building 7 on the ground floor. Our room faced a nicely landscaped courtyard and the walk to the main building/food court/bus stop was pleasant. We were able to park nearby in the lot just opposite our building.
      Staff at the resort were all helpful and friendly -- every one of them! (Previously, we've run into a few grumpy Disney employees, but this trip everyone seemed not just helpful, but happy to be helpful. The one exception being the parade crowd control staff in the Magic Kingdom. We were a teensy bit afraid of them Smile
      Our room was well cleaned each day and plentiful soap/shampoo refills and towels were left for us. The beds were very comfortable.
      We were there over the President's Day holiday weekend, but did not wait more than 10 minutes for a bus our entire stay. We only had to stand on the bus once. A wonderful visit!
      One caution: The bathroom floor tile was very slippery in sock feet. My 17 yr. old daughter was the first one to discover this -- we were in the room all of 2 minutes when she kicked off her shoes and hurried to the bathroom -- not running, just rushing. Her feet went out from under her and she fell hard on one hip. She laughed about it and was OK, but we were very cautious about the tile floor after that.
      Also be aware: The boats to Downtown Disney will not be running if it is too windy. We were disappointed on our last day to find they were shut down because of wind. We rode the bus instead, which was fine.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 252
      Review Date: Tue January 20, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 0 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nice theme, friendly cast members, compact resort, close to almost everything
      Cons: Requests not met, not enough outlets, dirty windows, Magicband problem

      I had previously stayed at POFQ for one night in May 2012, so my experience was pretty limited. Both my mom and I had come to walk around the resort during other trips, and she really, really wanted to stay here. After many changes to our dates, room types, and discount codes, I was able to snag exactly what we wanted: a garden view room for 5 nights, 12/14-12/19/14. I had done online check-in and faxed in some general location requests.

      We arrived by car just before 3pm on the 14th, so our room was ready. The check in process took very little time and we were in our room, #4106, by 3:10. We had gotten a first floor room, as requested, but not the location I wanted. As it turned out, that was fine. This room was 1 minute and 20 seconds from the food court, next to the parking lot, overlooked a nice courtyard (smoking) area, and if we stood outside and looked directly west, we saw the higher bursts from IllumiNations!

      The room was plenty big enough for the two of us and pretty clean overall, but we did have some complaints. There just were not enough outlets, and the ones that did exist were inconvenient. We had an ECV for my mom and it would have fit perfectly between the bed and the front wall, but there was no outlet. Instead, we parked it near the bathroom and stretched the cord across the vanity entrance. To do this though, we had to move the bench under the coatrack.

      Additionally, we wanted to decorate our window for the holiday season but the glass was just so dirty that nothing would stick! We eventually were able to make do by wiping it down with some napkins, and using a lot of medical tape in addition to our command strips and gel clings.

      Our last minor complaint: Our Magicbands worked for everything EXCEPT letting us into the resort when we returned from the parks. We always had to stop at the guard station and show them our parking pass or have them scan one of the bands. The sensor at the gate just would not work.

      We spent a lot of time in the room because I was very, very ill during the trip. As such, not a lot of time was spent exploring the resort. On our last day I was feeling better, so we rested by the hot tub in the morning. It was very quiet and empty. We also went for a walk around the grounds. Mom said she didn't like it there as much as she hoped, and she liked the theme and feel of the front building more than that of the resort as a whole.

      The cast members were always friendly, even when they had difficulties with their computer systems. The lobby concierge desk was able to print my Hoop dee Doo tickets, and I stopped by the front desk several times to pay off my room charges with gift cards. My mom was able to get AAA batteries in the gift shop when her insulin pump unexpectedly went dead, but she was very letdown by the store as a whole. Other resorts have better ones.

      We did use the food court nearly every day and had no problems. I saved the Mardi Gras beads we were given on our first day, that was a nice little touch. Had every intention of going to Riverside to see Yee Ha Bob but my illness took precedent and a trip to CentraCare was necessary instead.

      Did not use the pool or any resort transportation. There were always handicapped parking spots available no matter how late at night we returned, which was great. POFQ is just a quick drive to all of the parks, except possibly Animal Kingdom, which we didn't visit this time.

      I would stay here again but would like to give Riverside a first try before that happens.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2015
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu January 15, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very nice accommodations/not super large property
      Cons: None

      My husband and I stayed at the Port Orleans French Quarter from Jan. 9 – Jan. 14th. We usually stay at an “off-site” hotel when visiting Walt Disney World but my husband had signed up to participate in the Disney Marathon so we decided to stay onsite. We absolutely LOVED this resort! The rooms were very nice and clean. I had requested a specific room in a specific building for our stay so we could be close to the bus transportation. We drove to Orlando (12 hour drive) and checked in at 9:00pm. While they could not accommodate my EXACT room request, they did give me the room I had requested – just one floor down. It was perfect! The beds were more comfortable than I had expected too which is always a plus. Everything was in close proximity to our room – the pool, the food court, ice/vending on each floor, the gift shop and the bus stop! I had read the food court at this resort was very bad but we had no complaints! We ate there for dinner the night of our arrival (9:00pm) and the food was just fine. We also ate breakfast there two mornings and really enjoyed it. Don’t miss the beignets! In the evenings, the restaurant has live music which we enjoyed. The staff was always friendly and ready to assist us with any requests we had. We also loved the boat transportation to Downtown Disney – what a fun experience! I would definitely stay at the resort again…in fact, I am not sure I would want to stay anywhere else – we LOOOOVED it!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2015
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed January 7, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean, food court options, smallest mod
      Cons: Limited food court space, pool could use an update

      I stayed at FQ in 91 the first year it opened. It has aged well. Resort is beautiful. The size is a real highlight. We were in building 7, very far away from food court, but still not bad. I enjoyed my walk every morning to get coffee.
      Kids loved the pool, although it is the only thing that is showing that it is close to 25 years old.
      You can see why they are not offering discount on this resort, it sells itself for sure. Loved our stay there.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.