Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • swtmelisa15

      Registered: April 2016
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue April 12, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful grounds and Friendly staff
      Cons: Food Court and Food court Employees

       
      This was our first stay at French Quarter, the grounds were beautiful, check in was fast and easy, and the kids loved the pool and slide. My only complain would be the food court, it was small and dirty and more than once the staff were rude and even after complaining in front of the manager no one apologized or seemed to care. I was very disappointed!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      BobH

      Registered: April 2016
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun April 10, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet
      Cons: Room never vacuumed

       
      I stayed alone at FQ (daughter and her family stayed at Riverside) April 2-8, 2016, in Building 6. Check in was quick and easy, staff friendly, parking close enough to be no problem for me, at age 70, to carry clothes and other items to room. FQ is beautiful, quiet, and for adults, the perfect Disney resort. Live music near the bar, outdoor movies for families, easy and pleasant walk to Riverside along the river. I've read reviews of FQ complaining mildly about the buses, the food, and some aspects of the rooms. Alone, I had no problem waiting in the Florida sunshine, seated on a bench at the bus stop. I was there during a very busy, crowded week, and the buses did have some delays, and I had to stand during a few of the rides, but unless Disney increases its bus fleet by a thousand, I don't see how it could provide more timely service. The drivers of all the buses I rode were friendly and cheerful. As for the food court, the drinks area was not dirty, but it was messy -- spilled drinks, napkin containers empty, just generally sloppy. Again, with so many people using this area, a bit of mess should be expected, unless Disney pays an employee to do nothing but stand there and clean things up as soon as they spill. As for the food, I found the pot roast, mac/cheese, and corn, with cornbread combo to be not just good but delicious. Had it three times. The pastries were outstanding. I think FQ might be more fun for adults than children, especially older adults. Evenings were calm, quiet, and sitting on the bench overlooking the river was a real pleasure. I stayed at Riverside several times over the past fifteen years and thought FQ would be a disappointment. It most definitely was not, and I will stay there again instead of Riverside.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      fluffy30

      Registered: September 2010
      Posts: 80
      Review Date: Mon March 28, 2016 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Small resort. parking
      Cons: Food court, staff

       
      Was looking forward to our three night stay here (Mar 19-22) following a week at Saratoga Springs but was sadly disappointed. We stayed in building 7 which was the furthest from the lobby, pool, food court and bus stop, but it was still only a 5-7 min. walk to the main areas.
      Liked the small size and the room was fine although the bathroom is very compact. Parking was close to each of the buildings. That's about it for pros to this resort. The food was terrible both at breakfast and the one dinner we had. Service was so slow and ordering chaotic. Had to go to different windows to order food then get a pager from each one and pay at the cashier. Our sandwiches got cold while waiting 10 min. for our kids burgers. The drink refill area was dirty and the straw dispenser just filthy. The pool area was very crowded and the kids found the slide too small. They did enjoy the water play area. I thought the children's activity leaders to be a bit snippy with the kids and the greeter at the door to the lobby was rude. He actually scolded my six year old for asking for a plastic coin. He seemed much more interested in engaging with the adult guests. This was the 15th Disney resort we have stayed at (I'm trying to get to them all) and my least favourite so far. We did go over to Riverside and enjoyed pizza for lunch one day and checked out the pool. We may try there next time. I think French Quarter may be better suited to couples and adults but for families it really misses the mark.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Alhio

      Registered: February 2016
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Thu February 18, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Intimate setting, atmosphere, manageable size
      Cons: Rooms get reserved quickly

       
      My family stayed in two rooms (grandparents in one) the week of February 7, 2016--during Mardi Gras.


      We have stayed at this resort three or four times since 2005. Our last stay at Port Orleans was at Riverside in 2013.


      We were in ground floor rooms (ours was a corner) of building 1.


      To be honest, we would always prefer to stay at this resort. It's small and lovely, with multiple mini-gardens and pathways, fountains and landscaping that make you feel like you are somewhere genteel and serene.
      The smaller resort size means you feel more like the staff there know you. The costumed greeter recognizes you and your family each day.
      Even though it was bursting with New Orleanians for Mardi Gras (the resort has its own parade, and Mardi Gras activities for all ages in the afternoon around the pool), the only place we really felt any crowd was in the morning at the pancake window.
      There is a single bus stop, and we never had any problem with arrival times. We made use of services the airline check-in, luggage storage, delivery of packages from the parks, and the Magical Express luggage delivery--all of which worked perfectly.
      Busses coming TO the resort (and sometimes having Riverside guests) always stop at French Quarter first.
      Everything is nearby your room (compared to other Disney Resorts), and the vibe is not at all frenetic (unlike the All-Stars and other Value Resorts).
      The resort is quiet, but doesn't shortchange you on the Disney touch. The pool is spectacular with its waterslide and colorful statuary. Boats travel the scenic little river to Downtown Disney/Disney Springs (it takes about 20 minutes) and up to Riverside (in case you'd like to make use of their amenities like the pool or restaurants).
      The food court is smaller (of course), but had plenty to please us the times we ate there. The laundry is now taking credit cards and its availability can be checked online.
      The staff was pleasant and knowledgeable (we used all the regular services, and also spoke several times with the concierge desk).
      When you get up in the morning you encounter staff busy at cleaning the grounds and the 'streets', which makes you feel like you're in a small little residential part of a city.
      When we requested a towel display for a special occasion from housekeeping, they handled it perfectly.
      Several times the DirectTV signal on our TV and my parents' TV next door was a bit shaky (I don't know if the high winds during our visit were to blame), but that is honestly the only negative thing I can say about the resort.
      We love it, and wish that we could find availability at it for each of our trips.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      rjdrewett

      Registered: February 2016
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sun February 7, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Smaller Size, Bus Service, Quiet
      Cons:

       
      Stayed 1/30/16 through 2/6/16. Have stayed in the past - about 7 years ago. Very nice property. Bus service to/from parks excellent. Only twice did we share buses with Port Orleans Riverside - and French Quarter was picked up and dropped off first. This was about the same as 7 years ago. In general, a quiet hotel. Food at food court was good, and didn't seem as busy as when we stayed at Pop Century (granted that was 9 years ago!). Boat service to Disney Springs is nice. Appears they are currently working on improvements to pool area (kid's play zone). Would definitely stay again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Cheyru

      Registered: December 2015
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Mon December 14, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Pool, VIP service for unscented bedding.
      Cons: Room Dirty, broken TV, customer service attitude. elevators

       
      A Motel 6 range hotel. The hotel is old and it shows. The walls were dirty and needed cleaning with soap and white vinegar. TV remote did not work, they dropped off batteries the first night, did not work, second night dropped off remote but did not come it to try to see if it worked. Finally gave up and went to bed. Last morning figured out you have to point remote at right corner to get it to work. Over all musty old smell. Elevators only one per building, had to walk to back and then front again if room was on the other end. Old also. Nothing special about the room for the price you pay. They lost my scooter and I had to wait until it just appeared in front as if by magic. With other problems in the park, regarding scooter use and other issues will never visit Disney again unless someone else pays for everything and that might make up for the money ill spent.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MemphisMickey

      Registered: October 2012
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Wed October 21, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Size of resort / Pool Staff
      Cons: Bus service to Riverside

       
      Two families and mine stayed from 10/9 thru 10/16. We each had pool view rooms. While each room truly did not have a clear view the location was worth the extra cost to be close to the pool, bus station, lobby, store and food court. Our group included four boys ranging in ages from 8 to 10. The cast members managing the hourly pool activities was a pleasure for adults to kick back while the boys had a lot of fun. For our family we have now stayed here 9 times. Other resorts (Polynesian, Caribbean Beach, Coronado, Pop Century and Wilderness Lodge, which we have stayed in the past 15 years) tend to be more crowded less laid back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sandc

      Registered: October 2006
      Posts: 66
      Review Date: Fri September 18, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful and quiet resort
      Cons:

       
      French Qtr is our go to resort. We absolutely love it there. We have stayed at other resorts but this is by far our favorite. We usually request building 4 but this trip we decided to try the pool view. We had a room on the second floor in building 5. We loved it. Our room was spotless when we arrived. Our housekeeper was great. We had the same lady almost everyday. The one day it was not her, our room was barely cleaned. The resort is quiet and small which is nice.


      The food court was good. Just wish they would change it up a bit. We were there for 2 weeks and the menu did not change. The create your own salad was our go to food choice. Every staff member we encounted were friendly and very helpful.


      For 2 weeks, we never waited more than 5 minutes for a bus leaving the resort. Not once did we pick up at Riverside either which was different from past trips. We did share with Riverside coming home which makes the busses a little more crowded but that is not a big deal. Never waited more than 10 minutes for a bus back to FQ.


      We love the pool. I am personally not a fan of the games and the host speaking loudly into the microphone for hours but the kids like it. That is the one thing I wish Disney resorts never started doing.


      We took the boat to Downtown Disney a few times. Such a nice relaxing boat ride.


      We have only been back home for 2 weeks and I am already planning our next trip for FQ. I can't wait to get back to my second home!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mawdryn

      Registered: August 2007
      Location: Oswego, Il
      Posts: 137
      Review Date: Tue June 23, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): On Line Check In and Grounds
      Cons: Rooms, Food Court and Buses

       
      My family of 4 stayed here for 5 nights, June 7th to 12th. It was me, my husband, and twin daughters, age 15.

      On line check in worked perfectly. We got a text at 1030 saying our room was ready. We were coming from a night at POR (royal room, river view), so the timing was perfect. We had a garden view on the first floor of building 4. I requested a top floor, but it turned out to be fine. It had a beautiful view and it was nice and quiet. We were close to the food court, pool, and bus stop. Mousekeeping did a nice job and we were left towel animals twice.

      Buses were horrible. We waited 40 minutes for a bus to DTD one night, and another 40 minute wait going back to the resort. We took our car to Animal Kingdom and Epcot, because the waits were awful yet again. Buses to and from Magic Kingdom were ok. Buses have always been spot on at prior visits, so I don't understand why the waits were so long...


      We ate ate the food court twice for dinner. We enjoyed the potato bar, pizzas and chicken nuggets. We also picked up a few snacks. The refillable mug station was very disappointing. It was dirty all the time.
      We swam quite a bit. There was a "code d" called one afternoon and the pool had to be cleared. Apparently, someone didn't put a swim diaper on their child.


      It pains me to give a rating of 7. This has always been my absolute favorite resort. This was my 4th stay, and I found the rooms in dire need of updating. They just seemed very blah this time. The food court was dirty, and the snack selection seemed lacking at times.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jbald

      Registered: June 2010
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Sun June 21, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): beautiful small resort
      Cons: none

       
      This is our second time staying here. We had a standard room in building one. Room and view were great. Housekeeping superb! We ate at the food court 3 times and the food was excellent. LOVE the boat ride the Down Town Disney. Used online check in and received a text while at McCoy to tell us our room number. Staff was friendly helpful and kind. No problems with bus transportation. So sad when we had to leave.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      beachpup

      Registered: July 2014
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Thu June 11, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Small and manageable, quieter
      Cons: No beaches like Coronado & Caribbean, pool needs a serious update

       
      Stayed 6-3 to 6-8-15. Our room request was delightfully met, and we had a first floor corner room on the river, it could not have been more perfect, close to the pool but was far enough removed to hear none of the noise. The last time we stayed here was actually during 9/11, and I must say the place has not changed in fourteen years, which is not a bad thing. I love the atmosphere of the 'streets', the decor, the lobby, and the small size keeps it more quiet, at least as far as a Disney resort goes. The pool really needs an update, the slide alone is old and both times I rode it I almost got stuck, it's barely worth the excitement lol. The pool is large for a small resort, a big plus, as there is no second quiet pool (which it should have) and Riverside is quite a hike to find one, we did it once but when we got there the pools had closed because of an approaching thunderstorm arrgh. If you try one thing from the food court, get the beignets, and eat them while they are still warm, we ate them three nights in a row, they are SO good. Although I absolutely love Coronado Springs, French Quarter is a great choice is you want a Disney resort that isn't overwhelming. Only thing I missed were the beaches two of the other moderates offer, but French Quarter makes up for it in charm.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      LLSS

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Thu June 11, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything Close by, not too crowded
      Cons: elevator, food court

       
      This hotel was my favorite of all the moderates I have stayed at. It is smaller than the others, which means a lot less walking to the pool, food court, or bus stop. The pool is great. The grounds are themed incredibly as well.


      I could really think of only two things to complain about (and as you can see, they weren't big enough deals for me to even dock a rating), it was the elevators and the food court. First, the elevators. There is only one set per building, and it can lead to a lot of walking (though I believe that is pretty much the case at every resort). However, the location of the elevator in our building was very inconvenient. It was near the river and pool, which meant it was as far away as can be from both the parking lot and the front entrance/bus stop. So if you are in the front of the building (near the main entrance), you need to walk all the way to the back of the building, and then all the way back towards the entrance to get to your room. Not really a big deal for us (we just use the stairs most times anyways), but something you may want to think about.


      Other minor complaint is the food court. We actually really liked the food we got there, but it is small. Now, it is to be expected that it would be small (this is a small resort after all), and the lines were never long, but there are virtually no snack options (chips etc.). However, don't forget the much bigger Riverside is like 0.25 miles away, so if you are desperate, it's a quick (beautiful) walk over to their much bigger food court. Once again, not really a big deal, but it could be good to know.


      Other than those two minor things, definitely recommend this resort, and I think it will be our go-to resort for the moderates.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jjbmtperk

      Registered: May 2015
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue May 26, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): quiet, luscious vegetation, just the right size
      Cons:

       
      Second time for 2 senior couples, could not ask for better accommodations. Great attention to detail. Upon arrival check in volunteered to find a room near our other couple, great work. Of our five trips these last 2 at POFQ have been our favorites. Definitely on our agenda for next time.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MWS

      Registered: April 2011
      Location: Cols, OH
      Posts: 36
      Review Date: Mon May 25, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Size of resort
      Cons: Food court

       
      We arrived at 9 am and our room was ready! The grounds are lovely and well kept, only a short walk to the bus stop and food court. The cast members at the front desk were very helpful and friendly. It can get very crowded in the food area during busy periods and the cast members working there don’t appear to be in any hurry. The rooms are a little on small size, but worked out well for two adults. The toilet/shower area is a tight fit but the curtain between the beds and sink area came in handy. The furniture in the room was well worn, but mousekeeping did a good job keeping the room clean. We did not have any issues with the buses or the boat to Downtown Disney.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Teamgreen711

      Registered: April 2015
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun April 26, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean , quiet, peacefull, all
      Cons: It's not Coronado springs!

       
      Hello;


      First time poster,many times to Disney . Last stay at Coronado springs 2008.Three of us went my wife and I and Grandson eight years old in tow. Dates of trip April 20 -25 2015 spring break week in the Northeast.


      Won't bore you with stats and details you can read online but here goes.....


      Port Orleans is clean quiet and all buildings close to the front desk and the restaurant . Ours was building five second floor corner room # 5241.
      Easy jaunt to Saasagoula Restaurant to pick up morning Coffee. This proved to be the best feature of this resort. We saved a ton of money by not getting the dining plan and eating at the "Sass" morning and night and at Disney food courts . Turns out with some simple math we saved $578 by not buying the dining plan and doing it this way.Not for everyone but worked for us.


      Restaurant has very good food and grandson loved the Pizza kids meal. Fare is limited and stays the same all the time so if we stayed for more than one week we would have changed that up somewhat. Resatuarant is themed with large decorative masks beads and ribbons and jazz music that was constantly playing too loud for our tastes.Beinets are terrific and grandson craved them every night. Refillable cups worked great but warning to all that apply- Orange juice is not included in that refill plan. We loved it for coffee . Staff was very helpful and bent over backwards to please us.
      Our room was tastefully decorated and was very quiet. Something I very much looked forward to at the end of a noisy and hectic day at the parks. Not enough outlets as stated by others. It would have been nice to supply a charging station with USB ports and outlets on top of the tv stand/ bureau.outdoor movies were right outside on the lawn and I thought sound level was a little high . Movies always end at 10 pm. Could hear toilets flushing but a minor inconvienence .


      Pool was excellent and slide was good despite what others have said.Grandson loved the pool and slide better than Disney ,Epcot and Seaworld combined ! Wife and I loved hot tub at the end of a long day.


      We rented a car for our entire stay as we wanted to go to universal and Seaworld. Turns out Rentalcars.com had deals that were too good to be true- but they were just that! We rented a Chevy Spark for $112 dollars for the whole week! If we would have used disneys on site rental for only two days it would have been $120! Once my wife decided to try the Disney buses . We waited for 15 minutes for one bus to come and it was already full. She looked at me and we both said let's use the rental car! We never looked back on that decision. Moral of story -rent a car you won't regret it.


      We flew on Southwest nonstop down and one stop on the way home. I checked in online 24 hours prior on the button and got on last on our connector flight home . We upgraded to priority boarding on the first leg of our flight back and that proved successful but expensive at $40. I am still working on how to get better seating. Word to the wise -book as early as you can that way you will get best pricing. We got hosed on the return flight which turned out to be double the price our our flight down there because we booked late.
      Was able to redeem credit card miles for one flight and saved by not getting dining plan so all worked out well. Still the trip was around five grand. Oh boy do I wish for the old days!


      Magic bands and online check in worked flawlessly and Disney is to be commended for this. Fast pass is terrific and we used it everyday . Some days though they had technical difficulties with site so the unused fast passes could not be redeemed for another experience .when it was working and we did not use the pass it suggested other attractions and rides that were available . Another Disney thumbs up.


      One major benefit to staying onsite is that they have baggage check right at Port Orleans so we did not have to carry heavy bulky luggage to the airport upon leaving -Just go to baggage kiosk right outside resort at least three hours to your flight and you are good to go!


      Overall excellent place to stay would come again but think that there still is something about Coronado Springs that speaks to us. Still Port Orleans has closer to travel to restaurant and better pool slide.


      My wish is to stay at Polynesian resort someday and use the monorail.


      Hope this helps.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.