Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • Carol Martin

      Registered: September 2012
      Location: Atlanta, GA
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Tue November 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Overall Resort, Size, Staff
      Cons: None

       
      I stayed at the FQ for my recent trip 11/15 to 11/22. I last stayed there a couple of years ago.


      The front desk staff was very nice and helpful. When I arrived via the Magical Express, I was greeted outside and given my room information (which was ready early and fulfilled my special requests).


      I had a nice garden view room in Building 3 on the 3rd Floor. It was very quiet and I loved that. Mousekeeping was fantastic. I went out each morning and no matter whether I returned at lunch or later in the afternoon, the room had been cleaned.


      I found the food to be good and thought it was improved from my last visit 2 years ago.


      The bus and boat transportation worked well during my trip and I didn't have significant wait times. The resort is convenient to a lot of things and I think that helps as well.


      The size of this resort is what makes me select it over Riverside (which I really like as well). It is just nice to be able to get to the food and transportation quickly and without having to walk a long way.


      I was sick the entire week. I had some medicine with me but needed additional items from the gift shop. When items were not stocked on the shelf, the staff were great about getting me what I needed quickly. Based on how I saw the medicine area change during my visit, I suspect I wasn't the only guest that was fighting some kind of illness! We kept them busy getting medications.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jaymie

      Registered: September 2006
      Location: Essex, ON
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Tue November 4, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Small Size, Quick & uncrowded bus service
      Cons: No table service

       
      This was our second stay at POFQ from Oct 22-29. Everything was great, room location was fabulous, Bldg 3 on main floor near food court. Movie Night was a great way for the kids to relax before bed and they had a blast in the pool every evening. It was never crowded.


      Only hiccup was forgetting my bathing suit in the room. Working with lost & found now to see if they can track it down, but that was obviously my fault.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dano010

      Registered: November 2007
      Location: Bristol
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue October 28, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Intimate, cast member service, ambiance, pool
      Cons: no table service restaurant

       
      My family and I stayed at POFQ from Oct 13th to the 23rd. The room was ready when we arrived. Souzana kept our room very clean and always brought extra towels. We were in building 6 with a nice view of the Sassagoula river and the boats plying it. The resort is centrally located making trips to the parks easier. The boats to downtown Disney are great except during busy times where the wait can get a bit long. We enjoyed a carriage ride and walks along the river path to PORS. The pool is fun for adults and kids. The slide is fun and I saw kids and adults using it (including us). They have movies every night in one of the courtyards. My wife stopped to watch the end of Cinderella on our way back to our room from getting hot chocolate. The jazz playing in the background enhances the laid back relaxed atmosphere of the resort. The food court is serviceable and the table outside add a cafe feel to the experience. For value and quality this has become our favorite resort.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      megla791

      Registered: October 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu October 16, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): pool, size
      Cons: buses

       
      My husband and I stayed at the French quarter for our honeymoon on 10\12 to 10/16. When we arrived on the magical express, we were surprised to see a hotel staff holding an iPad with our names on it. She checked us in and everything was very quick. She gave us the happily ever after pin. Our room was in building 6, ground floor, corner room, facing the river. It was beautiful. Mickey and Minnie even left us a message saying congrats on getting married.


      This is where everything started going down hill. We left the hotel to go to Hollywood studios. The lady never activated our park tickets so we had to wait in a long line at guest services. Their systems were down, so things took forever but it was finally fixed. Until we went to use the meal plan. The lady never had us set up a pin number. We had to pay for food and were told the hotel would pay us back. When we left the park and went to get everything solved we were told the computers were down we would have to wait for our money, but they could set up our pin number. We then received a credit on our account for all our problems.


      Thought things couldn't go worse, but once we got to our room, we had another family's luggage and ours weren't there. We had to go back to guest services. They gave us another credit. So even though there were a lot of problems, the hotel did try to fix things for us.


      The buses here are horrible. We waited over an hour one night for a down town Disney bus and half an hour another night for Epcot. Also, because they also service river side, it gets crowded.


      Aside from all of that, we had a wonderful stay. The pool was great and unlike other Disney hotels I've stayed at, it wasn't over crowded. The people were friendly and the food court had good selections. The store was limited in the souvenir department, but that isn't a big deal. Everything was very clean, and we loved the marshmallows they have at the fire every night!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mmfan

      Registered: February 2007
      Posts: 80
      Review Date: Fri October 10, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): small size, great transportation
      Cons: food court

       
      We have stayed at POFQ several times before, and chose it this time due to its smaller size as my DH has mobility issues. When we arrived, I again reminded the cast members of my request for a room that would require the least amount of walking. We were given a room in building 3 that technically is close to the food court, but the room was remotely located on the parking lot side and was a longer walk than we wanted and not very convenient. We returned to the check in desk to see if there was anything closer to busses and food court. The cast member checking us in seemed put off by our request, and said this room WAS close to everything. Other cast members manning the doors saw us struggling to get to our room, and said we needed to be closer. Eventually the cast member who checked us in called a supervisor and we were put in a well located room in building 4. The magic just was not there during our stay this time. The grounds were not as well kept as previously, our room was showing signs of wear and tear, and the selection of food in the food court was limited. The bus service turned out to be very efficient and we rarely had a long wait. Although the small size is good for choosing this resort, we may continue to try other resorts for our next visit.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      summerlady

      Registered: November 2010
      Location: New Jersey
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Sun September 21, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Love Our POFQ!
      Cons: None!

       
      We just completed our 9th stay at POFQ and it was as fabulous as ever. Can't wait to get back next September with our Free Dining Bounceback. We almost stayed at Coronado Springs Resort since free dining wasn't offered at French Quarter, but lucky for us we got a PIN code and FQ was included.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sandc

      Registered: October 2006
      Posts: 55
      Review Date: Tue September 2, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything
      Cons: None

       
      POFQ is our favorite Disney resort! It is small and quiet. Everything is close no matter what building you are in. Staff was always friendly and great with kids. We love the pool and spent many days there during our 2 week stay. It is also close to the parks which we love. Our maid, Violet was great. She left little towel animals for our kids which they loved. The boat to Downtown Disney is a nice break from the busses. We are always sad when we have to leave our "2nd home".
      Click here to see this users profile  
      GinaDD

      Registered: September 2007
      Location: Clarksboro, NJ
      Posts: 33
      Review Date: Tue August 26, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Size
      Cons: None

       
      Once again, FQ was a great choice for our Disney stay. Comfy bed and pillows. Great housekeeping. Very nice reception. The room refrigerator did not seem super cold so we were afraid to keep milk. Otherwise, great stay. Also love that the thick, germ magnet comforters are gone.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      klp1015

      Registered: September 2008
      Location: Connecticut
      Posts: 22
      Review Date: Sun August 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything!
      Cons:

       
      Stayed here with my daughter and DGD 14 and 12 from 7/30-8/6.I have lost count of how many times I have stayed here over the years (since it was just Port Orleans and the sister resort was Dixie Landings). The size of the resort, the pool, the grounds and the boat to DTD are just some of the reasons we keep coming back. And of course there's Arneel, the greeter! So cheerful! Looking forward to seeing him again in October.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bemm2005

      Registered: July 2013
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sun July 6, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Size, theming, rooms, pool, DTD boats, quiet
      Cons:

       
      We returned a few weeks ago from another great trip to Disney with our family of 4 (2 adults, 2 kids aged 2 & 5). We've stayed at ASM, Pop, Fort Wilderness Campground, and Caribbean Beach in the past (and occasionally we rent a house). This was our favorite resort stay by far! We loved Pop last year, but the size of this resort and the beautiful grounds and theming are pretty hard to beat. Our days in the park were somewhat stressful at times with the crowds (especially MK). However, you'd never know how busy the parks are based on the feel of this resort. It is just so calm and relaxed. No big tour groups or anything like that. It was just perfect for us. The kids loved the pool and playground--we were in building 2 overlooking them both, so that was really nice. The boats to DTD are so convenient--especially with all the construction there and lack of parking. Food court was good, staff friendly, mousekeeping great, and room very comfortable. We would definitely return here in the future!! Highly recommend!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Feller

      Registered: August 2006
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Wed July 2, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Size
      Cons: None at all!!!

       
      Our last visit was 6/21/14 thru 6/27/14. Family of 3 this year, our son opted out. We have stayed at FQ so many time and its just like home to us. Everything was great at resort. Check in was so easy. Magic Bands are a plus!!
      Compared to other resorts we stayed at, it is just the right size. Life guard at the pool are great. They never seem to stop scanning the pool area.
      The greater at the door is always nice & polite.
      Check in was the best so far. Sorry I forgot her name but she is from New Jersey. Very nice young lady.


      Only negative outside resort was Downtown Disney. There is a lot of construction going on and areas are closed of so it made it so crowded. I suggest you go in the morning or during the daytime hours. Beware the nighttime visits, its sooooo crowded!!!
      Mouse keeping at the parks seem to be a little on the downside this year. Also you can tell when your not in a true Disney owned restaurant, (on property) not the same service with a smile that you expect. Getting too many outsider company's. But that's business I guess.
      As for the Resort again, best on property. You wont be disappointed.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MinnieMouseMama

      Registered: March 2009
      Location: Princeton, IL
      Posts: 56
      Review Date: Tue June 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): smaller resort
      Cons: busy food court

       
      After 20+ trips to Disney, it has become official. FQ is the best. We have stayed at all the value resorts, all the moderate resorts and two of the deluxe resorts and keep coming back to FQ. The rooms have queen beds, which is a plus for families. There is only one bus stop location, so there is little transportation confusion. While the bus sometimes shares with Riverside, this does not bother us. The boat ride to DTD is charming and efficient and we used it more than once. This resort is small compared to other Disney locations and this a a huge plus when traveling with older grandparents. Our room was ready early and featured some towel art, which pleased the kiddos. The pool is fun and had free life jackets for little ones or non-swimmers. The slide is just fast enough to keep older kids happy. We liked pin trading in the gift shop where the CM are always friendly. The food court is not large, and can be crowded in the morning. A quick fix is picking up fruit and yogurt and goodies the night before and using the in room fridge rather than facing the early crowd. This is our Disney home!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      hebspanteach

      Registered: June 2006
      Location: Dallas, TX
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Thu June 19, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): EVERYTHING!
      Cons: NONE this time!

       
      Just returned from my 13th visit to the WDW resort! I have stayed at other moderates and value resorts before, but this was by far the best on property experience I have had! I love POFQ and I have stayed here 5 times before and this is why I keep coming back: 1. Size. At the end of the long day touring the parks, the last thing you want is a long hike back to your room. This time we were in building 4 (right next to the bus stop as requested!), the perfect location! 2. Service. The cast members here were so friendly and helpful. My sister kept having issues with her magic band because it would not open the door to her room... No worries (her husband's band would still open the door) because they couldn't get her band to open the room, they gave us ALL 3 extra fast passes to anything at any time (THAT was like GOLD!) Talk about awesome! 3. Cleanliness. Everything was manicured to perfection and maid service this time was great! 4. Busses. Never had to wait more than 15 minutes for a bus to anything and they were always quiet...even when the bus was full at the end of the day (standing room only) it was still quiet. I have stayed at the value resorts before and believe me THOSE busses are full of student groups and are VERY LOUD and ANNOYING! (not what you want at the end of a long and exhausting day).
      LOVE for POFQ!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      taracollison

      Registered: April 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed April 30, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Small size
      Cons: None

       
      We stayed at the POFQ from 1/26-2/1. We had 2 adjoining rooms. Our party consisted of myself, husband, 4 kids and my parents. My room requests were all met. We had a major flight delay and the hotel kindly held our rooms until we got there the next morning. Our rooms were updated and clean. I researched a long time before deciding on which resort would be best. We had last been at Disney nearly 5 years ago and stayed in the All Star Family Suites and wanted to try a Moderate this time around. My dad has bad knees so what appealed to me about this resort was the small size, very easy to get around. We were about a 5 minute walk to the main lobby and bus stop. My kids were able to find the room by themselves when they ran ahead of us from getting off the bus. The boat ride to Downtown Disney was also great. We never really knew about the busses though. Sometimes we'd go straight from the resort to the park or sometimes we stop at the POR. Even when we did, it wasn't a problem, it didn't take too long. This resort was exactly what I thought it would be from reading all of the reviews, no disappointments at all. I knew that it didn't have an over the top Disney theming but that was alright with me, knowing that beforehand. It was cold and rainy practically the whole week we were there so some disappointments in the weather department. That being said, no disappointments at all at the resort. Trying to decide now about the next trip, definitely would stay here again but also thinking about trying a deluxe.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Ladies4Disney

      Registered: May 2012
      Location: Pennsylvania
      Posts: 20
      Review Date: Wed April 16, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Size of Resort
      Cons: Transportation, Loud Toilets

       
      We stayed at this resort the week of 4/6/14. The resort is not too large and it was a close walk to the food court, pool, and the bus stops, which were near the main entrance. Housekeeping was spotty during the week. Some of the time the room was cleaned and at other times the floor wasn't vacuumed and there was dust on the dresser at the end of the week. We did have towel animals during our stay. The only noise we heard from the other rooms was the loud toilets flushing.


      The grounds are pretty and the boat ride to Riverside/Downtown Disney was a nice change from the buses. We had to take a taxi one evening to get to our dinner reservation, because the bus we needed to take hadn't arrived after a 30 minute wait. That was the only time we had a problem with the bus transportation.


      The food court was just OK. It was very crowded at times and although most of the staff were pleasant, there were some that were not.


      Overall, we would recommend this resort. We did save some money by staying at this moderate resort, and we did enjoy our stay, but we missed the transportation options and extras that the deluxe resorts offer.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11 >

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.