Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • ncc1701

      Registered: December 2009
      Location: new jersey
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sun November 20, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location , bus service, staff at pool bar
      Cons: Need to remodel Scat Cat's and add a TS restaurant

       
      Got back a month ago from a 6 night stay. We were there during the foodcourt reno. Ate a few breakfasts there with no issues but we were the in before 8:00am. Bus service overall was very good. During rush hour there was a CM calling for extra buses when needed and letting people know what was coming next.
      Room was in building 7 which was great as we go up to POR a few times a trip.The seperate boat to DS after 4:30 has been a huge improvement (been going since 1998 and this was visit # 10) Hopefully once they are done with the foodcourt, they will consider remodeling the lounge. Staff is fine but it isn't comfortable to hang out in. Fortunately the weather was good and the pool bars at POR and POFQ were open till 9:00 or more.Otherwise we'd have gone up to POR.
      We had no issue with housekeeping but there were only 2 of us so we only needed one refill of shampoo, etc.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Deaova

      Registered: November 2016
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue November 15, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful grounds ,boat and buses, ambiance, quiet, relaxing atmosphere
      Cons: None

       
      First time here. Stayed 1st week of November. Very quiet , rooms clean, general ambiance delightful . Enjoyed taking boat to Disney Springs , also buses stopped at this resort first so always room. Would definitely stay here again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Starman1959

      Registered: November 2016
      Location: Toms River, NJ
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu November 3, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Size, Atmosphere, Beautiful Landscaping, Buses and ferries, and Cast Members
      Cons: None

       
      My wife and I just returned on 10/29/16 after a nine night stay at the POFQ. We came down to celebrate our 30th Anniversary and to meet with family and attend the parks. We stayed in building 7 with is as far north until you reach Riverside. The distance from the main building and bus courts were not a problem. Everything is relatively close in this resort. The walks were most enjoyable as we had such beautiful scenery. The resort exudes the atmosphere of old New Orleans. The substitute food court was very good, mostly breakfasts. Even though some mornings there were lines. They always would go fast and the staff was very helpful. We loved the pool area and took advantage of the hot tub to soothe our aching muscles from all the walking in the parks. The bus depot with the arrival board was most helpful and we loved taking the ferry to Disney Springs. We will be returning again soon!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jersue96

      Registered: September 2009
      Location: Woodland Washington
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Thu November 3, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful grounds and rooms
      Cons: Bus situation and mousekeeping

       
      We stayed here September 4-7. We were scheduled to remain at this resort until the 10th but we asked to be moved due to the bus stop situation and mousekeeping was severely lacking. By our 4th day the room had never been swept, and food was picked up such as cheerios and crackers after mousekeeping was here to collect a tip. We did get towels but very little shampoos. I did request a few bottles due to the fact that the 4 of us would be back to shower. I left a nice tip to let them know I appreciated their efforts and in return had to call down several times for soaps and towels once and to let them know the room had never been swept. We asked to be moved and we were moved and were able to enjoy the rest of our trip. I would love to be able to give this resort another chance but they really need to get some of these issues that have been posted time after time under control. I have no problem paying good money to stay but I expect good service not lacking service.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jjbmtperk

      Registered: May 2015
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Mon October 24, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Just right
      Cons: none

       
      Just returned from our 4th time at POFQ. Again it fit all our needs to a TEE. Even with the food court being refurbished it gave us the opportunity to explore at Riverside. Bus and boat wait times were minimal, appreciate the arrival time boards at the bus stop.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mawdryn

      Registered: August 2007
      Location: Oswego, Il
      Posts: 155
      Review Date: Thu July 14, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful Grounds and Wonderful Service
      Cons: Food Court

       
      This was my 5th stay at POFQ. The previous trip was in June of 2015 for 5 nights. We chose this resort, because it's the smallest and felt it would be a good fit for my sister's family, who also joined us and had the room next door.


      This time, we stayed for 2 nights, July 2-4. It was myself, my husband and our 16 year old, twin daughters. We had a garden view in Building 4. The location was perfect and the room was clean, but still in need of a renovation. The rooms are simply showing their age and need some sprucing. I said this last year in my review as well.


      Check in was a breeze. My sister's room was ready by 1030 am, and our room was ready by 1 pm. There was some miscommunication with the text message letting us know our room was ready, but quickly resolved.


      The pool was wonderful. We spent a lot of time there, as we didn't do any parks this trip. Seating was difficult to find, but the addition of the splash zone was nice.


      I'm glad the food court is being remodeled. The Sassagoula Floatworks and Food Factory is in dire need. It was still dirty, just like I posted in my review last year. For whatever reason, staff can't keep up with the refillable mug station. Hopefully,
      this will be part of the renovation...


      I'm gald we stayed at POFQ. It's still my favorite resort by far. It just seriously needs a little love to bring it back to its former glory...
      Click here to see this users profile  
      rsfan

      Registered: August 2007
      Posts: 38
      Review Date: Wed June 22, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautifully landscaped, quiet, friendly
      Cons: None

       
      We love staying at French Quarter and this visit reinforced that belief. We almost wish the Parks weren't so available; we would choose to spend more time at the hotel.


      We arrived at around 10 AM--certainly early for check in. A nice CM with an iPad took our info and reappeared in about 10 minutes with our room info--Bldg. 1, room 1134. We hauled all our gear there but the room would not open with our magicbands. Back to the front desk, where I was told by another CM "That's not your room!" OK, but that's what the CM gave me. Since I wasn't particular, she found us another room: Bldg. 4, room 4307. This room was great. Even though it had a view of the parking lot, the square in between was landscaped with beautiful trees and hedges. We never heard a car or truck, and only the occasional back-up beeps. Its also the closest area to the bus stops, so no complaints there.


      The room had plenty of space for 4 adults. It was cleaned daily, but only a Mickey towel on the first day (they may have sensed no little ones). They were a bit stingy with the coffee pods, but a quick stop to the front desk produced more.


      The pool was great and never overcrowded. The new kids play area seemed popular. There were lawn movies, smore's, and carriage rides. My only complaint about the store is that they have stopped carrying skim milk and on most days didn't even have low fat milk. The restaurant is totally underrated.


      The room rates here are the lowest for moderate resorts on the WDW property, making this a good value. I doubt we will ever stay at any other WDW hotel.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Feller

      Registered: August 2006
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Mon June 13, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 0 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): CM Edith
      Cons:

       
      I would like to send a thank your to CM Edith at FQ on 6/13/16 for all her help in planning my family gathering. We haven't even left and the CM Edith has made our get away magical.
      Thanks again EDITH.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      hammons16

      Registered: June 2011
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Sat April 30, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): laid back, small resort, beautiful grounds,
      Cons:

       
      I have absolutely zero complaints about the resort. Our room was perfect, updated and clean. Not dingy at all. We got the pool view and stayed in 2339. I dreaded the third floor at first but we loved having an upper level view and the walk was still not bad. The kids loved having a view of the pool and it added ot the excitement of the trip and I would book that same room again. Every CM we encountered was very friendly. I had read reviews that were contrary but this was certainly not our experience. I love the fact that the food court is small.. sure it can get cramped just a little, but it is not a loud overpowering gigantic food court like POP. When you order your food they give you a buzzer and you can go sit back down and not stand in line (like burgers, nuggets, etc). I thought this was an awesome service. Our daughter has a shellfish allergy and the chef was super friendly and did not treat our requests like a burden in the very slightest. Every CM behind the grill was friendly. Mousekeeping was the best that we had ever encountered. I think I told my husband one day that our mousekeeper was the bomb because everyday I was impressed. I could tell they went the extra mile. They even wrapped up my phone cord and set my daughter’s stuffed dinosaur up on the bed with her pillow one day, and rearranged our soaps. The pool staff was also very friendly.
      Busses were prompt and maybe 1 or 2 times we waited more than ten minutes. More often we were running after the bus that was already sitting there. On our last trip we remembered having to drive all over POR every time we went somewhere and this was seldom the case. I also loved the fact that they have the screens now with the updated bus times and now a CM frequently waits at the stops and clarifies time (once there was a wait time for DHS for 40 minutes and he checked into it). My son is begging to go back to "the same room with the same pool". We can't wait to come back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      swtmelisa15

      Registered: April 2016
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue April 12, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful grounds and Friendly staff
      Cons: Food Court and Food court Employees

       
      This was our first stay at French Quarter, the grounds were beautiful, check in was fast and easy, and the kids loved the pool and slide. My only complain would be the food court, it was small and dirty and more than once the staff were rude and even after complaining in front of the manager no one apologized or seemed to care. I was very disappointed!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      BobH

      Registered: April 2016
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun April 10, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet
      Cons: Room never vacuumed

       
      I stayed alone at FQ (daughter and her family stayed at Riverside) April 2-8, 2016, in Building 6. Check in was quick and easy, staff friendly, parking close enough to be no problem for me, at age 70, to carry clothes and other items to room. FQ is beautiful, quiet, and for adults, the perfect Disney resort. Live music near the bar, outdoor movies for families, easy and pleasant walk to Riverside along the river. I've read reviews of FQ complaining mildly about the buses, the food, and some aspects of the rooms. Alone, I had no problem waiting in the Florida sunshine, seated on a bench at the bus stop. I was there during a very busy, crowded week, and the buses did have some delays, and I had to stand during a few of the rides, but unless Disney increases its bus fleet by a thousand, I don't see how it could provide more timely service. The drivers of all the buses I rode were friendly and cheerful. As for the food court, the drinks area was not dirty, but it was messy -- spilled drinks, napkin containers empty, just generally sloppy. Again, with so many people using this area, a bit of mess should be expected, unless Disney pays an employee to do nothing but stand there and clean things up as soon as they spill. As for the food, I found the pot roast, mac/cheese, and corn, with cornbread combo to be not just good but delicious. Had it three times. The pastries were outstanding. I think FQ might be more fun for adults than children, especially older adults. Evenings were calm, quiet, and sitting on the bench overlooking the river was a real pleasure. I stayed at Riverside several times over the past fifteen years and thought FQ would be a disappointment. It most definitely was not, and I will stay there again instead of Riverside.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      fluffy30

      Registered: September 2010
      Posts: 80
      Review Date: Mon March 28, 2016 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Small resort. parking
      Cons: Food court, staff

       
      Was looking forward to our three night stay here (Mar 19-22) following a week at Saratoga Springs but was sadly disappointed. We stayed in building 7 which was the furthest from the lobby, pool, food court and bus stop, but it was still only a 5-7 min. walk to the main areas.
      Liked the small size and the room was fine although the bathroom is very compact. Parking was close to each of the buildings. That's about it for pros to this resort. The food was terrible both at breakfast and the one dinner we had. Service was so slow and ordering chaotic. Had to go to different windows to order food then get a pager from each one and pay at the cashier. Our sandwiches got cold while waiting 10 min. for our kids burgers. The drink refill area was dirty and the straw dispenser just filthy. The pool area was very crowded and the kids found the slide too small. They did enjoy the water play area. I thought the children's activity leaders to be a bit snippy with the kids and the greeter at the door to the lobby was rude. He actually scolded my six year old for asking for a plastic coin. He seemed much more interested in engaging with the adult guests. This was the 15th Disney resort we have stayed at (I'm trying to get to them all) and my least favourite so far. We did go over to Riverside and enjoyed pizza for lunch one day and checked out the pool. We may try there next time. I think French Quarter may be better suited to couples and adults but for families it really misses the mark.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Alhio

      Registered: February 2016
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Thu February 18, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Intimate setting, atmosphere, manageable size
      Cons: Rooms get reserved quickly

       
      My family stayed in two rooms (grandparents in one) the week of February 7, 2016--during Mardi Gras.


      We have stayed at this resort three or four times since 2005. Our last stay at Port Orleans was at Riverside in 2013.


      We were in ground floor rooms (ours was a corner) of building 1.


      To be honest, we would always prefer to stay at this resort. It's small and lovely, with multiple mini-gardens and pathways, fountains and landscaping that make you feel like you are somewhere genteel and serene.
      The smaller resort size means you feel more like the staff there know you. The costumed greeter recognizes you and your family each day.
      Even though it was bursting with New Orleanians for Mardi Gras (the resort has its own parade, and Mardi Gras activities for all ages in the afternoon around the pool), the only place we really felt any crowd was in the morning at the pancake window.
      There is a single bus stop, and we never had any problem with arrival times. We made use of services the airline check-in, luggage storage, delivery of packages from the parks, and the Magical Express luggage delivery--all of which worked perfectly.
      Busses coming TO the resort (and sometimes having Riverside guests) always stop at French Quarter first.
      Everything is nearby your room (compared to other Disney Resorts), and the vibe is not at all frenetic (unlike the All-Stars and other Value Resorts).
      The resort is quiet, but doesn't shortchange you on the Disney touch. The pool is spectacular with its waterslide and colorful statuary. Boats travel the scenic little river to Downtown Disney/Disney Springs (it takes about 20 minutes) and up to Riverside (in case you'd like to make use of their amenities like the pool or restaurants).
      The food court is smaller (of course), but had plenty to please us the times we ate there. The laundry is now taking credit cards and its availability can be checked online.
      The staff was pleasant and knowledgeable (we used all the regular services, and also spoke several times with the concierge desk).
      When you get up in the morning you encounter staff busy at cleaning the grounds and the 'streets', which makes you feel like you're in a small little residential part of a city.
      When we requested a towel display for a special occasion from housekeeping, they handled it perfectly.
      Several times the DirectTV signal on our TV and my parents' TV next door was a bit shaky (I don't know if the high winds during our visit were to blame), but that is honestly the only negative thing I can say about the resort.
      We love it, and wish that we could find availability at it for each of our trips.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      rjdrewett

      Registered: February 2016
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sun February 7, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Smaller Size, Bus Service, Quiet
      Cons:

       
      Stayed 1/30/16 through 2/6/16. Have stayed in the past - about 7 years ago. Very nice property. Bus service to/from parks excellent. Only twice did we share buses with Port Orleans Riverside - and French Quarter was picked up and dropped off first. This was about the same as 7 years ago. In general, a quiet hotel. Food at food court was good, and didn't seem as busy as when we stayed at Pop Century (granted that was 9 years ago!). Boat service to Disney Springs is nice. Appears they are currently working on improvements to pool area (kid's play zone). Would definitely stay again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Cheyru

      Registered: December 2015
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Mon December 14, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Pool, VIP service for unscented bedding.
      Cons: Room Dirty, broken TV, customer service attitude. elevators

       
      A Motel 6 range hotel. The hotel is old and it shows. The walls were dirty and needed cleaning with soap and white vinegar. TV remote did not work, they dropped off batteries the first night, did not work, second night dropped off remote but did not come it to try to see if it worked. Finally gave up and went to bed. Last morning figured out you have to point remote at right corner to get it to work. Over all musty old smell. Elevators only one per building, had to walk to back and then front again if room was on the other end. Old also. Nothing special about the room for the price you pay. They lost my scooter and I had to wait until it just appeared in front as if by magic. With other problems in the park, regarding scooter use and other issues will never visit Disney again unless someone else pays for everything and that might make up for the money ill spent.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.