Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • block138

      Registered: May 2012
      Location: new mexico
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Mon May 21, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very green, tranquil and relaxing.
      Cons: It was very large and that meant it was alot of walking around and travelling when your tired.

       
      If you know you're going to be fine at the end of a long park day, then you're OK here. I was really tired at the end of my park days because I have to keep up with 3 kids not to mention I'm one of those fast walkers so I was really tired and the bus station and boats are far from most rooms and this resort feels like its far off the beaten trail. Plus sides - the pool is great, the cast members were friendly and it's so lush and green that it smells and looks awesome. We also spotted a lot of wildlife like snakes, birds, and fish.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Mrs Disneynut68

      Registered: May 2010
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Mon May 21, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Lobby area, Decor.
      Cons: Small rooms, not enough draw space, and Mousekeeping

       
      My husband and I recently returned from our 9th wedding anniversary trip to WDW. We stated at the Pop Century from May 11-19th. We love the Pop Century, and have stated there 4 times now. The only complaints that we have is Mousekeeping. The room always seemed to be dirty to me. The glass in the room (on the mirrors) were not cleaned once. We also found the room to be very dusty. The rooms at Pop are small, but adequate. My only other complaint is that there is no enough draw space. Overall our experience with Pop was great. Bus system is excellent, food court, Everything Pop, and Decor is great.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      BabieO

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Sat May 19, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Buses to parks
      Cons: needs to be updated again

       
      I just got back from pop century & I will say we always loved this resort, but this time I was a little disillusioned with it. The carpet was worn & tearing by the door, the air conditioning didn't work that great. My husband & I were both waking up sweating at night even with it turned down to the lowest setting (68). It looked as if someone had been painting outside (purple)& came into the room tan & touched the brush to the walls in two places 7 never bothered to clean it up. On 3 occasions on our 7 day stay the automatic door on one side were broken & the dryers took two cycles to dry the clothes. I have stayed here 3 times & once at port Orleans. I won't be staying at Pop again
      Click here to see this users profile  
      PAgirllovindisney

      Registered: May 2012
      Location: Philadelphia, PA
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sat May 19, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): affordable, clean, theme, fast bus service
      Cons:

       
      I stayed at Pop Century April 15 to April 20, 2012. This was my very first time staying at Pop actually staying on Disney property period. I stayed in the 50's building. The only issue that I had during the whole trip was they didn't have my room ready when I came to check in even though I did online check in. I requested a king bed room but one wasn't available which I understood because we checked in around 10am. I didn't stay in the room for an extended period of time but the time that I did it was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. The food court had a nice selection of food and I loved the cheesesteak wrap and cheese fries. Breakfast was also good from what I heard, I never ate breakfast because I brought my own from home but my friend enjoyed the waffles and sausage. The bus service is wonderful. We never really had to wait more than 5 minutes for a bus to the parks or a bus back from the parks. The bus was only crowded once but not so that there were a bunch of people standing. The CM that I passed walking around always greeted me and asked me how I was enjoying my stay. I enjoyed my stay so much that I will be staying at Pop when I take my son in August and then again when I go for Food and Wine Festival in October.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      pookab

      Registered: November 2006
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Thu May 17, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): everything
      Cons: lots of kids

       
      We love, love, love Pop! We always stay here, and it feels like home to us.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      squigpig10

      Registered: May 2012
      Location: New York
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue May 8, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good value, fun
      Cons: Housekeeping leaves something to be desired

       
      We stayed at the Pop Century in the first week in May. Had read great reviews and had high expectations. The POP is interesting and has great displays of things past. The colors are fun and the store carries a good variety of Disney souvenirs.


      The rooms are small but adequate for sleeping and going to the parks. If you plan a lot of down time, the POP was noisy and crowded all of the time. The food court food was not as good as described in the reviews and the food court is always crowded and people are not so polite.


      The staff was Disney friendly but not particularly helpful. We added an extra day to our Park Hopper tickets and the person who helped us screwed the tickets up and took away our Park Hopper option and added water parks. Luckily, a great Cast Member at Hollywood Studios fixed the tickets but the fix was to print us new tickets so we had new park tickets and the dining plan credits on our old tickets so we had to keep track of both and keep both with us at all times.


      The room was clean but we also returned to our room two days just after 2pm to find that the room had not been cleaned yet. If we left wet towels to dry on the shower rail (instead of putting wet towels on the floor), those towels were not replaced. After two days, the room was cleaned but the huge pile of wet towels was left on the floor and I had to call Housekeeping to pick them up. This was added stress. Just wanted to return from the parks and relax in a clean, made-up room!


      Overall, the experience was adequate. The Wi-Fi was spotty by the bed but I appreciated free Wi-Fi. You get what you pay for at the POP. It is a good value but we will spend the money next time to get better service and a more relaxing atmosphere.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      honestabe

      Registered: April 2012
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Mon April 30, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): pool
      Cons:

       
      The hotels appears to be a nice hotel when you first arrive but as time goes on, it begins to unravel. I will start with check in, check in was quick and painless but having 2 small children holding hands and carrying 5 bags with one literally dragging behind me across lobby outside across pool area two stories down two hallways past about 5 employees with no offer of help. But i should take some blame on that for not asking for help.


      Rooms are small, can get there real fast especially with 2 kids. Food is horrible, do not waste your money, its super expensive and tastes like high school cafeteria food. Good luck buying anything from the dessert area, the line is very long and 1 person makes all orders.


      They have 1 ping pong table in our area and 100 people want to use it. The pool is occupied well into the early morning hours with screaming kids or by one of the 30 schools that are there, which one group made cat call and made indecent gestures to my wife while my kids where present. Don't complain to the manager, she literally blew my wife off.


      The place has garbage all over the place and employees walk by it like it suppose to be there, I saw the same pieces of garbage in the same place for 5 days. One women I saw twice washed 10 feet of side walk for 2 hours just making herself look busy but a pile of garbage under a bush not 10 feet from her lay in waiting.


      If you are going to come to Disney, stay at a upgraded hotel, we only had 1 other hotel we visited and it was a different world.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      gizzmo

      Registered: April 2012
      Location: Stewartstown, PA
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Fri April 27, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): ALMOST EVERYTHING
      Cons: TOO MANY FRENCH FRIES ON MEAL PLAN!

       
      My wife and I recently returned from a nine-day stay at Walt Disney World’s Pop Century Resort. If you’ve never been to WDW, you really should try it.


      Disney’s accommodations (even at the least expensive resorts) are delightful, the staff members everywhere within WDW are exceptional, and the Family Dining Plans (there are two different plans) offer an amazing assortment of food choices and more food than anyone should ever eat in any given day. The only reservation we had about our Dining Plans was the overuse of French fries. We really would have preferred a wider range of “side” dishes.


      All-in-all, this was probably our best trip ever to WDW. Somehow, I think the Mouse knew we were coming from cold and snowy weather because he even arranged near perfect weather. With only half a day of sprinkles and temperatures between 74 and 85 degrees, it certainly was “shorts and tee shirt” time for our entire stay!


      Gizz
      Click here to see this users profile  
      famlovesdisney

      Registered: April 2012
      Location: Chicago, Illinois
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun April 22, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): activities for kids, bus service to parks, variety of food in food court
      Cons: constantly running out of things in food court

       
      We (DH, DS6, DD5) just got back from a four night stay at Pop Century. Overall we were very pleased with our stay. Rooms are small but very clean and definitely good for sleeping after a long day in the parks. We were in the 50s section facing Hourglass Lake. It was a nice surprise since we didn't request a water view. Bowling pin pool was just on the other side of our building and my kids made good use of it! On our Magic Kingdom day my son even wanted to skip the rides to go back to the pool! Tons of activities for kids. The movies at night were a big hit with both my kids. They even gave up Fantasmic in favor of returning to the hotel for the night time movie!


      The food court was great. Plenty of selections. The gentlemen in the bakery even sold me a whole loaf of bread so my kids could take peanut butter and jellies to the parks for lunch. At only $4 for the loaf it saved us a ton of money at lunch! The only negative is that they couldn't seem to keep the soda stations stocked. The soda ran out a ton, many times there were no straws, and ice was nowhere to be found. It wasn't busy at all so I would hesitate to eat at the food court if we ever stayed there at a busier time. Not because of the quality of food but rather the inability of the staff to keep up with the stocking of the self service stations.


      The staff were all very friendly and welcoming. Mousekeeping was fine the whole time we were there although usually did not get to our room until mid afternoon at the earliest.


      Bus service was awesome! Never waited more than 10 minutes for a bus and that was when we walked up as a bus to our destination was pulling out. I loved not having to stop at several stops before leaving the resort for our destination and not having to share with another resort.


      We would definitely stay here again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ekruboyznme

      Registered: February 2008
      Location: Chicago
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Mon April 16, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): rec staff, food court
      Cons: mousekeeping

       
      5 of us(DS 13,13,10 DH & me)stayed 3/26-3/31 in 2 rooms.

      DS10 had a great time with pool activities in the afternoons, didn't want to leave and go back to the parks!

      DS 13&13 could have stayed in the arcade all day, gave them a break form the crowds at the parks.


      Food court had a great variety, even my DH on wacky "caveman" diet could always find something to eat. Chocolate Oreo Mickey cupcake is awesome!


      Mousekeeping left ALOT to be desired. We left early in morning, coming back in the afternoon about 3ish. Not once was our room cleaned before that. Was a put off that we had to stay out of the room when we just need a little quiet time. Had to change in the pool bathroom just to go swimming.


      Front desk staff was great. Even found me a last minute dinner reservation at Chef Mickey!


      Mostly like would stay here again, 3 teenage boyz require more space than the average human being and the price is less for more space then most other resorts.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      rhiannonsmum

      Registered: September 2007
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Thu April 12, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Extremely friendly and helpful staff that go that extra mile for you
      Cons: N/a

       
      I LOVE this hotel! I have stayed at other Disney resorts but I always come back to "home". Everyone is helpful and they make everyday magical. I love the rec staff they had in the pool area on my visit ( April 4-11) always fun for the kids an afternoon of more than just swimming. My DD9 loves POP and we are already planning our next vacation
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ntonks

      Registered: May 2008
      Location: Wilkes Barre Pa.
      Posts: 32
      Review Date: Wed April 4, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): price, friendliness, decor
      Cons: none

       
      We have stayed at other Disney resorts, but Pop Century is our favorite! During our last stay, my 6yr old daughter lost her tooth. My DH & DS went to the Pop shop & told the cast member that our daughter lost her tooth. The cast member excused herself and came back with a complimentary tooth holder filled with Mickey confetti, and a palm tree stamper. My DH picked out a Tinkerbell towel and pin to put under her pillow that night in exchange for the tooth. When he went up to pay, the cast member insisted that she pay for the towel!! She went more than the extra mile!! My daughter's smile was so big when she woke up in the morn! She thinks that Tink is now her personal tooth fairy!! What Disney Magic!!! The rooms as always were clean and comfy, & we can't wait to go back!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DisneyGirl4802

      Registered: November 2010
      Location: New Jersey
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Wed April 4, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Theming and staff
      Cons: Construction

       
      We stayed here March 18-March 26. We stayed in the 60's section with a lake view. This is our second stay here and just as before, loved it. The staff, as normal, was friendly and helpful. They had activites for kids going on all day by the pool. We had the free wifi and fridge in the room. The room was clean and with no issues. We stayed at the room most of the day one day and didn't have them clean the room for us but they did leave extra towels on the door for us.


      The only con was the construction going on across the lake at Art of Animation. It was nice to see the progress that was going on, but some mornings it was loud. It wasn't that much of a bother since we were up early every morning. We will stay here again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      eNs

      Registered: March 2012
      Location: Apopka, FL
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Sun March 25, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Love the low cost, fun pool, great food court
      Cons: None

       
      For a family that wants to have fun, but not spend a fortune, this is the place. We have stayed in so many other Disney hotels, from the deluxe villas down, but we all agree, Pop Century is super. The rooms are a little small and the beds are not the best, but they are fine. They are 2 double beds, but have room for a roll a way ($15/night). The main pool area is great. There is also a kiddie pool right behind the main pool that is a large, zero-entry that our little kids LOVE. The hotel theme is fun, the arcade is great (video games give tickets that can be used for prizes), our older kids love it and the food court has good food choices for everyone. Try the pizza! Fantastic value for your money!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kbw45

      Registered: December 2007
      Location: Tallahassee, FL
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Sun March 25, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Price, theming, location, transportation, staff, food court
      Cons: Could use better room lighting options, such as reading lamps by the beds

       
      Our family of four stayed at POP Century from March 17-21. This was our ninth trip to WDW but our first staying at POP, having previously stayed at Wilderness Lodge, Port Orleans French Quarter, and All Star Movies and Music. We are pleased to say that POP exceeded our expectations in every respect!


      We used the online check-in service the day before our arrival, and check-in took less than 10 minutes and was painless. The lobby was not crowded at all when we arrived at 4:00pm, and there were numerous cast members at the registration and concierge stations to serve guests. No more than two guests waited in any line at any time while we were in the lobby. The cast members were pleasant and helpful, which is what we expect from WDW.


      We requested a ground floor preferred room (without pool view) and were given room 1135 in the 50's building. The location was perfect -- just a short walk to the guest services and food court in Classic Hall and near parking so that loading and unloading the car was effortless. We were only a short walk from the bowling pin pool but yet far enough from the main walkway so as not to have to deal with other guests walking past the room. It was very quiet, and we had a view of the beautifully landscaped grounds. I requested a deep cleaning for medical reasons and the room was spotless with no chemical smell. Mousekeeping left towel animals upon our arrival, which was a first in all of our trips to WDW.


      We found the room size to be fine for our needs. We knew we would be spending all day in the parks and only needed a clean room for sleeping, and POP more than fit the bill. We found the beds to be comfortable and not hard as other reviewers have noted. However, we sleep on regular mattresses at home (no pillowtops or memory foam), so that may influence our expectations. We had a free mini-fridge and free WIFI/internet, which the staff said had just been added to the resort within the past few weeks. The mini-fridge is a huge plus for us. We had considered staying at a moderate just for the mini-fridge, and it's great that we'll now find them in the value resorts without charge as well. Our 21-yo DD and 13-yo DS appreciated the free internet. We all appreciated the privacy curtain between the sink/vanity area and the sleeping area. The bathroom was spotless and the shower hot with excellent water pressure. We like that POP has individual soaps and shampoos and not the liquid dispensers found at the All Star resorts. The toilets do flush loudly -- they are low water usage toilets and high pressure flushing is part of how they work. This did not bother us, and we really did not notice the sound of toilets from neighboring rooms.


      The room was bright but not garish. We had a new flat panel TV, and the furnishings are tastefully done in warm wood tones. There are only three drawers for clothes storage, but between the drawers and hanging our clothes in the closet area we had plenty of storage space. Our only wish for the room would be to have reading lamps/lighting so that one could read in bed without bothering sleeping family members by lighting up the room, but this is a problem throughout WDW resorts, not just at POP.


      We thought the food court/gift shop combination worked well. Despite reviews in guide books and in this forum complaining of crowds at the food court, we found plenty of seating and short to nonexistent lines each morning of our stay (between 7:30-8:30am). The food was good and decently priced for Disney. We came back for a midday break from Hollywood Studios and found the best lunch bargain of the trip was to order a large pizza for $15. This fed all four of us, and we were able to have a late lunch as our main meal for less than $30, including drinks and side items -- a steal compared to spending $40 to $60 or more for lunch in the parks.


      The pools were clean and not crowded at all. Our son enjoyed the afternoon pool games at the Hippy Dippy pool. We all loved the theming and larger than life icons from our childhoods.


      Bus transportation to and from POP was the best we have experienced, aside from POFQ. We never waited more than 15 minutes for a bus, and often waited much less. When cast members at Hollywood Studios saw the large queue of people waiting to return to POP after Extra Magic Hours, they had a second bus ready to transport us even as the first was still loading. Bus transportation from the Magic Kingdom at night was by extra large motor coaches. Transportation cast members seemed particularly aware of ensuring that guests did not have to wait for buses. POP's central location made trips from the resort to the parks fairly short in comparison to other resorts where we have stayed.


      We were more than pleased with our stay at POP and will definitely return!
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11 >

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.