Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • honestabe

      Registered: April 2012
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Mon April 30, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): pool
      Cons:

       
      The hotels appears to be a nice hotel when you first arrive but as time goes on, it begins to unravel. I will start with check in, check in was quick and painless but having 2 small children holding hands and carrying 5 bags with one literally dragging behind me across lobby outside across pool area two stories down two hallways past about 5 employees with no offer of help. But i should take some blame on that for not asking for help.


      Rooms are small, can get there real fast especially with 2 kids. Food is horrible, do not waste your money, its super expensive and tastes like high school cafeteria food. Good luck buying anything from the dessert area, the line is very long and 1 person makes all orders.


      They have 1 ping pong table in our area and 100 people want to use it. The pool is occupied well into the early morning hours with screaming kids or by one of the 30 schools that are there, which one group made cat call and made indecent gestures to my wife while my kids where present. Don't complain to the manager, she literally blew my wife off.


      The place has garbage all over the place and employees walk by it like it suppose to be there, I saw the same pieces of garbage in the same place for 5 days. One women I saw twice washed 10 feet of side walk for 2 hours just making herself look busy but a pile of garbage under a bush not 10 feet from her lay in waiting.


      If you are going to come to Disney, stay at a upgraded hotel, we only had 1 other hotel we visited and it was a different world.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      gizzmo

      Registered: April 2012
      Location: Stewartstown, PA
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Fri April 27, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): ALMOST EVERYTHING
      Cons: TOO MANY FRENCH FRIES ON MEAL PLAN!

       
      My wife and I recently returned from a nine-day stay at Walt Disney World’s Pop Century Resort. If you’ve never been to WDW, you really should try it.


      Disney’s accommodations (even at the least expensive resorts) are delightful, the staff members everywhere within WDW are exceptional, and the Family Dining Plans (there are two different plans) offer an amazing assortment of food choices and more food than anyone should ever eat in any given day. The only reservation we had about our Dining Plans was the overuse of French fries. We really would have preferred a wider range of “side” dishes.


      All-in-all, this was probably our best trip ever to WDW. Somehow, I think the Mouse knew we were coming from cold and snowy weather because he even arranged near perfect weather. With only half a day of sprinkles and temperatures between 74 and 85 degrees, it certainly was “shorts and tee shirt” time for our entire stay!


      Gizz
      Click here to see this users profile  
      famlovesdisney

      Registered: April 2012
      Location: Chicago, Illinois
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun April 22, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): activities for kids, bus service to parks, variety of food in food court
      Cons: constantly running out of things in food court

       
      We (DH, DS6, DD5) just got back from a four night stay at Pop Century. Overall we were very pleased with our stay. Rooms are small but very clean and definitely good for sleeping after a long day in the parks. We were in the 50s section facing Hourglass Lake. It was a nice surprise since we didn't request a water view. Bowling pin pool was just on the other side of our building and my kids made good use of it! On our Magic Kingdom day my son even wanted to skip the rides to go back to the pool! Tons of activities for kids. The movies at night were a big hit with both my kids. They even gave up Fantasmic in favor of returning to the hotel for the night time movie!


      The food court was great. Plenty of selections. The gentlemen in the bakery even sold me a whole loaf of bread so my kids could take peanut butter and jellies to the parks for lunch. At only $4 for the loaf it saved us a ton of money at lunch! The only negative is that they couldn't seem to keep the soda stations stocked. The soda ran out a ton, many times there were no straws, and ice was nowhere to be found. It wasn't busy at all so I would hesitate to eat at the food court if we ever stayed there at a busier time. Not because of the quality of food but rather the inability of the staff to keep up with the stocking of the self service stations.


      The staff were all very friendly and welcoming. Mousekeeping was fine the whole time we were there although usually did not get to our room until mid afternoon at the earliest.


      Bus service was awesome! Never waited more than 10 minutes for a bus and that was when we walked up as a bus to our destination was pulling out. I loved not having to stop at several stops before leaving the resort for our destination and not having to share with another resort.


      We would definitely stay here again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ekruboyznme

      Registered: February 2008
      Location: Chicago
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Mon April 16, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): rec staff, food court
      Cons: mousekeeping

       
      5 of us(DS 13,13,10 DH & me)stayed 3/26-3/31 in 2 rooms.

      DS10 had a great time with pool activities in the afternoons, didn't want to leave and go back to the parks!

      DS 13&13 could have stayed in the arcade all day, gave them a break form the crowds at the parks.


      Food court had a great variety, even my DH on wacky "caveman" diet could always find something to eat. Chocolate Oreo Mickey cupcake is awesome!


      Mousekeeping left ALOT to be desired. We left early in morning, coming back in the afternoon about 3ish. Not once was our room cleaned before that. Was a put off that we had to stay out of the room when we just need a little quiet time. Had to change in the pool bathroom just to go swimming.


      Front desk staff was great. Even found me a last minute dinner reservation at Chef Mickey!


      Mostly like would stay here again, 3 teenage boyz require more space than the average human being and the price is less for more space then most other resorts.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      rhiannonsmum

      Registered: September 2007
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Thu April 12, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Extremely friendly and helpful staff that go that extra mile for you
      Cons: N/a

       
      I LOVE this hotel! I have stayed at other Disney resorts but I always come back to "home". Everyone is helpful and they make everyday magical. I love the rec staff they had in the pool area on my visit ( April 4-11) always fun for the kids an afternoon of more than just swimming. My DD9 loves POP and we are already planning our next vacation
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ntonks

      Registered: May 2008
      Location: Wilkes Barre Pa.
      Posts: 32
      Review Date: Wed April 4, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): price, friendliness, decor
      Cons: none

       
      We have stayed at other Disney resorts, but Pop Century is our favorite! During our last stay, my 6yr old daughter lost her tooth. My DH & DS went to the Pop shop & told the cast member that our daughter lost her tooth. The cast member excused herself and came back with a complimentary tooth holder filled with Mickey confetti, and a palm tree stamper. My DH picked out a Tinkerbell towel and pin to put under her pillow that night in exchange for the tooth. When he went up to pay, the cast member insisted that she pay for the towel!! She went more than the extra mile!! My daughter's smile was so big when she woke up in the morn! She thinks that Tink is now her personal tooth fairy!! What Disney Magic!!! The rooms as always were clean and comfy, & we can't wait to go back!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DisneyGirl4802

      Registered: November 2010
      Location: New Jersey
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Wed April 4, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Theming and staff
      Cons: Construction

       
      We stayed here March 18-March 26. We stayed in the 60's section with a lake view. This is our second stay here and just as before, loved it. The staff, as normal, was friendly and helpful. They had activites for kids going on all day by the pool. We had the free wifi and fridge in the room. The room was clean and with no issues. We stayed at the room most of the day one day and didn't have them clean the room for us but they did leave extra towels on the door for us.


      The only con was the construction going on across the lake at Art of Animation. It was nice to see the progress that was going on, but some mornings it was loud. It wasn't that much of a bother since we were up early every morning. We will stay here again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      eNs

      Registered: March 2012
      Location: Apopka, FL
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Sun March 25, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Love the low cost, fun pool, great food court
      Cons: None

       
      For a family that wants to have fun, but not spend a fortune, this is the place. We have stayed in so many other Disney hotels, from the deluxe villas down, but we all agree, Pop Century is super. The rooms are a little small and the beds are not the best, but they are fine. They are 2 double beds, but have room for a roll a way ($15/night). The main pool area is great. There is also a kiddie pool right behind the main pool that is a large, zero-entry that our little kids LOVE. The hotel theme is fun, the arcade is great (video games give tickets that can be used for prizes), our older kids love it and the food court has good food choices for everyone. Try the pizza! Fantastic value for your money!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kbw45

      Registered: December 2007
      Location: Tallahassee, FL
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Sun March 25, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Price, theming, location, transportation, staff, food court
      Cons: Could use better room lighting options, such as reading lamps by the beds

       
      Our family of four stayed at POP Century from March 17-21. This was our ninth trip to WDW but our first staying at POP, having previously stayed at Wilderness Lodge, Port Orleans French Quarter, and All Star Movies and Music. We are pleased to say that POP exceeded our expectations in every respect!


      We used the online check-in service the day before our arrival, and check-in took less than 10 minutes and was painless. The lobby was not crowded at all when we arrived at 4:00pm, and there were numerous cast members at the registration and concierge stations to serve guests. No more than two guests waited in any line at any time while we were in the lobby. The cast members were pleasant and helpful, which is what we expect from WDW.


      We requested a ground floor preferred room (without pool view) and were given room 1135 in the 50's building. The location was perfect -- just a short walk to the guest services and food court in Classic Hall and near parking so that loading and unloading the car was effortless. We were only a short walk from the bowling pin pool but yet far enough from the main walkway so as not to have to deal with other guests walking past the room. It was very quiet, and we had a view of the beautifully landscaped grounds. I requested a deep cleaning for medical reasons and the room was spotless with no chemical smell. Mousekeeping left towel animals upon our arrival, which was a first in all of our trips to WDW.


      We found the room size to be fine for our needs. We knew we would be spending all day in the parks and only needed a clean room for sleeping, and POP more than fit the bill. We found the beds to be comfortable and not hard as other reviewers have noted. However, we sleep on regular mattresses at home (no pillowtops or memory foam), so that may influence our expectations. We had a free mini-fridge and free WIFI/internet, which the staff said had just been added to the resort within the past few weeks. The mini-fridge is a huge plus for us. We had considered staying at a moderate just for the mini-fridge, and it's great that we'll now find them in the value resorts without charge as well. Our 21-yo DD and 13-yo DS appreciated the free internet. We all appreciated the privacy curtain between the sink/vanity area and the sleeping area. The bathroom was spotless and the shower hot with excellent water pressure. We like that POP has individual soaps and shampoos and not the liquid dispensers found at the All Star resorts. The toilets do flush loudly -- they are low water usage toilets and high pressure flushing is part of how they work. This did not bother us, and we really did not notice the sound of toilets from neighboring rooms.


      The room was bright but not garish. We had a new flat panel TV, and the furnishings are tastefully done in warm wood tones. There are only three drawers for clothes storage, but between the drawers and hanging our clothes in the closet area we had plenty of storage space. Our only wish for the room would be to have reading lamps/lighting so that one could read in bed without bothering sleeping family members by lighting up the room, but this is a problem throughout WDW resorts, not just at POP.


      We thought the food court/gift shop combination worked well. Despite reviews in guide books and in this forum complaining of crowds at the food court, we found plenty of seating and short to nonexistent lines each morning of our stay (between 7:30-8:30am). The food was good and decently priced for Disney. We came back for a midday break from Hollywood Studios and found the best lunch bargain of the trip was to order a large pizza for $15. This fed all four of us, and we were able to have a late lunch as our main meal for less than $30, including drinks and side items -- a steal compared to spending $40 to $60 or more for lunch in the parks.


      The pools were clean and not crowded at all. Our son enjoyed the afternoon pool games at the Hippy Dippy pool. We all loved the theming and larger than life icons from our childhoods.


      Bus transportation to and from POP was the best we have experienced, aside from POFQ. We never waited more than 15 minutes for a bus, and often waited much less. When cast members at Hollywood Studios saw the large queue of people waiting to return to POP after Extra Magic Hours, they had a second bus ready to transport us even as the first was still loading. Bus transportation from the Magic Kingdom at night was by extra large motor coaches. Transportation cast members seemed particularly aware of ensuring that guests did not have to wait for buses. POP's central location made trips from the resort to the parks fairly short in comparison to other resorts where we have stayed.


      We were more than pleased with our stay at POP and will definitely return!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      toomiguci

      Registered: January 2009
      Location: Chandler, AZ
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Tue March 20, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The staff, the room
      Cons:

       
      My family & I stayed here for our daughter's spring break March 10-16th. We originally planned on doing Disney Land since we live in Arizona, but after research...we realized it would be cheaper for Walt Disney World by going a value resort.


      And boy, were we pleased! I noticed by reading reviews, people said the rooms were small. I was very pleased by the room as well as the size. The beds were comfy & our room was always clean!


      We were placed in the 50's wing & were very pleased with the walk to the transportation. Yes, there was a couple of times we had to wait longer then expected, but I don't blame the hotel at all.


      We ate a few times at the cafe in the hotel for snacks, breakfast, & lunches & were pleased with everything. It may have looked crowded, but the lines all went by fast.


      And to top things off, while staying there, I personally had medical issues that involved calling 911 & having to be transported to the hospital. As we waited for the paramedics in our room, the hotel staff was there by our side, asking if they could do anything to help or if we needed anything. Mind you, this was a medical issue they were not at fault, as it was chest pains. The night manager even informed my wife that since we had no mode of transportation, the hotel would compensate us for a taxi back from the hospital to the hotel. To me, that was above & beyond what was expected.


      I would definitely stay here again! Even with rooms occupied by hordes of cheerleaders for a competition at Wide World of Sports, as well as Spring Breakers, the hotel was very quiet, the staff was very friendly & helpful, & I was by far pleased with everything!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MellieBeans

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: FL Panhandle
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Sat March 17, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Price, Location, Service, Food Court
      Cons: Beds Are Extremely Uncomfortable, Lot's of confusion at front desk

       
      First I'd like to say we ALWAYS stay in value resorts. We stayed at POP from 3-10-12 through 3-15-12. It was not our first time staying here, we stayed here in 06', also.


      I do not remember the beds being so uncomfortable! They were rock hard, no joke. My back and hips ached so much during our trip.
      However, I love the fact that when we made our reservations, and asked for a room close to the front because of my boyfriend's disability, they obliged us. We were on the ground floor in the 50's, room 1137. Right on the corner, close to the lobby, and buses. We were also provided with a mini-fridge, much to our surprise! I also love the addition of the privacy curtain in the sink area of the bathroom. It made getting dressed easier, in the mornings. The TV was a nice surprise as well, very large and modern flat panel.


      There are many excellent food choices in the food court as well. Something for everyone. I had a beef and blue sandwich with tangy onion relish that was very delicious! My son and boyfriend were always pleased, as well, with the choices that were offered. Upon our departure, we had 3 remaining meals left on the dining plan and we used them for our breakfast. The potatoes were awesome! The eggs? Not so much. I imagine they are powdered eggs and I don't really care for eggs anyway. Everything else was great.


      The staff, as usual, went above and beyond for us. The only problem that we had was, they seemed to have us confused with other guests a few times. One time, we got a checkout hanger on our door, the morning after we arrived. The next night or two after, we got the usual voice-mail checkout notice from them. I was starting to think they wanted to get rid of us!


      I just wish they'd consider purchasing more comfortable beds for people who are very tired after long day's in the parks. I personally feel that it's the least they can do!
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      Mom4Disney

      Registered: June 2006
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Wed March 14, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean, Fun
      Cons: None

       
      We stayed here March 7-13. I did the Online Check-in, so we didn't have to wait in a long line to get our keys to the room and to the Kingdom. Even though our room wasn't ready, we dropped our bags off and ate some lunch in the food court and then explored the resort. Our room was ready by 2PM. It was fairly close to transportation and just around the corner to the main pool. It was a short walk to the bowling pin pool, which we visited as well. I like this one because it wasn't nearly as crowded as the main pool.


      Our room was always clean and our maid provided us with plenty of towels and soap. We also had a mini-fridge in the room as well, without additional charge. I believe all value resort rooms will have mini-fridges free of charge soon. I like the shelf above the sink and the privacy curtain.


      We never waited very long for the buses. The longest wait was 15 minutes to go to Downtown Disney, otherwise wait times were around 5-10 minutes for the other parks.


      The food was ok. I didn't like the scrambled eggs very much but I did like the omelets and the breakfast potatoes. The turkey ciabatta sandwich and chips were very good as well. We only had three meals at this resort.


      I also used the laundry facilities. It takes $2.00 in quarters for both the washer and the dryer. I brought my own detergent and fabric sheets, so I don't know how much they cost. There is a change machine in the laundry room. It takes about 30 minutes each load to wash and to dry each load.


      Check-out was a breeze. Everyone was very nice and we really enjoyed our stay at POP. I hope to go back again.


      Oh, there is one negative thing that I have report. Beware of cutters. Never stand single line but stand two-by-two to block the cutters. This is not just for this resort but everywhere!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      erinbeth_ny

      Registered: June 2009
      Location: Huntsville, AL
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Tue February 28, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): BEautiful landscaping and maintenance
      Cons: small beds

       
      As the mom and trip planner in a family of 5, I have only ever stayed in deluxes and mods but for my mommy and daughter trip I thought a value would be good. As the trip neared, I grew nervous that I would long for the niceties of a mod or deluxe. Boy was I wrong. Pop was fantastic. We stayed there Feb 15-20. We paid for a preferred room and just requested being close to transportation. Boy did we get it. We were in room 1114 in the 50s. One door away from the main building. I basically just threw my bags out the door to the ME guys on our last day. Everything was bright and fresh and not garish at all. Cast members were far and away more friendly than those at Wilderness Lodge. We met nice families on buses and at the pool. I pictured large groups and did not see any. We never waited long for a bus except right after Wishes one night and even then there were many buses pulling up there were just a ton of people. Food court was fresh and yummy and the pool was really pretty. Only ever did Hippy Dippy. I would totally get two rooms here for my family of 5. Glad I tried it out.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      danielle

      Registered: June 2007
      Location: Massachusetts
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Sun February 26, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): clean, friendly, great customer service
      Cons: had to ask for additional towels and toilet paper

       
      This is a great place to stay if you want the Disney experience for your children. You don't have to worry about transportation, free buses every where.


      I was a little nervous about the food court. All reviews I had read were that they were extremely busy. We went on February Vacation, busy time. The food court always have people in it, but very good experience. My daughter has a gluten sensitivity. If you ask to speak to the chef, they will make anything for you. My daughter got gluten free chicken tenders, french fries and burgers. The best thing is that it is fresh when you get the food. Wait time was 5 to 10 minutes. Just put the allergy order in first and then select the non food allergy food while you wait.


      Pool has great activities during the afternoon and outdoor movies for the kids at night. Over all great experience. You get the Disney name and great safe hotel.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      daisylady

      Registered: February 2012
      Location: United States
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Wed February 22, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Lovely grounds, Counter service
      Cons: Location

       
      Seriously this is the Best Resort in Disney. From the great staff, upbeat spirit,yummy meals, wonderful pools & even the bus service seems quicker than other resorts. Having the counter service restaurant makes quite the difference in the early morning. My DH and I have celebrated a few birthdays here and the staff always goes above and beyond. After trying the Beach Club I cannot wait to go back to the Pop!
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11 >

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.