Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • Tish

      Registered: September 2012
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sat September 15, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): transportation, cleanliness
      Cons: quality of towels/toilet paper/ noise

       
      We stayed at the Pop the last week of August and had a great stay overall. I thought the Pop was fun and iconic, we stayed in 70's bldg parking lot side and had no noise problems (except for the flushing toilets). The room was clean but the beds were small and towels/shampoo/etc were not great quality.
      Bus service was great, usually a bus within 10 minutes.
      Food Court was not crowded (maybe we were there at off times). Food was hit or miss. "Mothers Night Out" fried chick and potatoes was delicious, as was the make your own salad. Hamburger was the worst I hav ever had.
      Overall for cost benefits I would return.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bmdisney

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Fri September 14, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): price
      Cons: sound

       
      if you're staying at a Value Resort, you just have to know what you're signing up for. it's going to be a reasonable price, there are going to be a lot of children and the room isn't going to be plush. if you're looking for a quiet, calm place - look elsewhere.


      we could hear everything the family next door said as we were trying to go to sleep one night. i'm a light sleeper, so it was a long night.


      you're paying a reasonable price to get the transportation and the pools. Pop has a fun theme and it has the trump card on buses over the All Stars since they all share buses a lot of the time.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      JohnD29710

      Registered: July 2012
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Wed September 5, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Rate
      Cons: Some features below standard

       
      First let me begin by saying that I knew exactly what we were getting before we even arrived. Typically, we have stayed at the Moderate Resorts, with Port Orleans Riverside being our favorite. On occasion, we have stayed at a handful of Deluxe properties, and we absolutely love camping at Fort Wilderness. So, in a sense, we have been around the World. In choosing Pop Century, we selected the resort based on price and location. My son had a visit at a local college, so we needed quick access to I-4. That said, we wanted to enjoy a sprinkling of Disney magic during our brief stay in town.


      As expected, the resort was crowded, but our room in the 60's building was on the top floor and on the lakeside, so it was fairly quiet. This was a major plus because we had to get up early both mornings. The room was small, as expected, and the bathroom was cramped, as also expected. But overall, the room was comfortable. Where I started to notice the difference was in the quality of the towels. They were thin and skimpy, and I often needed more than one towl to completely dry off. The A/C never got exceptionally cool, but this was a minor consideration since we were not spending a lot of time in the room. The food court was jam packed at all hours and I did feel that some of the people staying at the resort lacked the consideration that we were used to at other properties. As a result, we ate on more than one occasion at Riverside. We did not need the bus transportation,but it looked like everything was running as efficiently as at the other resorts. Check in was fairly quick (for a Disney property), but the woman who checked us in was not as personable as we are used to. Overall, I didn't feel as surrounded by magic and theming as I do at other properties, but again, that was to be expected. The check-in area is vast and loud. The one feature I did not expect was the parking and the fact that we had to transport our luggage and belongings through the check-in area, past the gift shop, and out into the pool area before finding our room. While this was inconvenient for us, I couldn't help but feel badly for those staying at the resort who were having their relaxation time interupted by crowds of travelers coming and going. As mentioned, I did expect most of this. I would highly recommend Pop Century for someone on a limited budget who wants to take advantage of the benefits of staying on Disney property. It certainly beats some of the resorts on 192, International Drive, etc. But as for me, I think I will save up to stay in a Moderate Resort the next time I am in Orlando.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Helen1475

      Registered: August 2012
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sat August 25, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cost, location, grounds, good bus transportation
      Cons: busy food court

       
      We were there August 13-19, 2012. And we loved it!


      Pop is a value so rooms are small but for us, it was fine. We did bring shoe organizer for toiliries and that helped save space.


      The lake area is beautiful. Even though Pop is a value, the grounds are much prettier than the All-Stars.


      There were critters around the grounds (salamanders, frogs) but never any in our room (my kids loved seeing all the critters!).


      Rooms were clean and it was very quiet (we were in 60's building, ground floor, lakeview). Buses were great 99% of the time (had to wait long after Animal Kingdom closed otherwise was great). The only con for us was the food court. It was incredibly busy at times and often had to wait for food to be replinshed (on the plus side, food was always fresh but when we were in a time crunch, it was annoying). We had stayed at All-Star Movies before and the food court was much calmer.


      But that one thing would not deter me from staying here again. It was awesome and the perfect place to call "home" for the week.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      disneymagicmom56

      Registered: August 2012
      Location: Texas
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu August 23, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Friendly service
      Cons: none really

       
      We have stayed at Pop several times but the latest was in October 2011 for our son's wedding. We somehow got booked at the All Star Music when the rest of the party was at Pop. The staff at AS were gracious in helping us change to Pop. We had adjoining rooms to other family so it was great to visit back and forth. Yes, the rooms are smaller but it IS a value hotel. I just wish the beds were a bit larger as I have a very tall DH and the full beds are just a bit too small for us. The food court is awesome and very easy to find a place to sit even on their busiest days. We thoroughly enjoy our time at Pop Century.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      the7dwarfsandme

      Registered: August 2012
      Location: New Jersey
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Wed August 22, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): has it's own bus, access to Extra Magic Hours
      Cons: not well kept up; thin walls; decorations are obnoxious

       
      I have never had a bad experience before at Disney (and I've been there 15 times), but Pop Century was terrible. My family has stayed in Boardwalk, Port Orleans French Quarter, Caribbean Beach, and our home away from home, Port Orleans Riverside. Granted I’m used to the moderate resorts, but my brother and I were just passing through Orlando and going to be in the parks for 3 days, so we figured we’d stay in a value resort. My thinking was “it’s still a Disney hotel and we’ll have Extra Magic hours.” When I pulled into the parking lot and went into the Main Hall, I had this gut feeling I should ask if something was open at Riverside and pay the difference, but my brother and I decided we were going to give Pop a chance.


      We should have asked about Riverside. Our first interaction with the woman behind the check-in desk set the tone. She kept insisting we didn’t have a reservation, because our last name was misspelled by one letter in the computer. I had printed out my confirmation, but at first, she refused to look at it and kept referring to her computer screen. Finally, after much prompting, she took the paper from me, mumbled something, and said I was all set. The other check-in people I have dealt with over the years have been accommodating, welcoming, and cheerful. This woman was the complete opposite.


      The hotel itself is only about 13 years old, but the wear and tear on it makes it look so much older. I’m not used to seeing scuff marks on walls. At Riverside, I’ve witnessed painters and wet paint signs fixing such blemishes. The decorations on the buildings are oversized and gaudy. It’s almost as if the Imagineers ran out of ideas, so they just made everything bigger than life and called it a theme.


      The room was a little small, but there were only 2 of us, so we had plenty of room. However, had all four of my family members attended, it would have been cramped. As many have said, the walls are thin. This was not a problem for my brother, who can sleep through fire alarms and thunder storms, but for me, it really did disturb my sleep.


      My overall impression was that this was an overpriced cheap hotel. It lacked the Disney charm, and I was extremely disappointed. Next time, I’ll be back to the moderate resorts, where they understand what a Disney hotel should be. And should money be tight the next time I go, I would stay off property instead of overpaying for the so called “value” resorts.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sholloway

      Registered: August 2012
      Location: Arkansas
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue August 21, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): We loved the atmosphere
      Cons: none

       
      We had the best time while we stayed at Pop back in June. We paid for a standard room and we were expecting to get an 80's or 90's room. We called the week before we left to just to see if we could get a room request in. They told us over the phone that they could not guarantee the room request but would try their hardest to do so. We ended up in the 60's section. We were shocked when we checked in and were told where we were. We are already planning our next trip and we WILL be staying at POP again! We loved everything about it. The bus stops, the food court, the pools, the rooms were great!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Oneanne

      Registered: May 2011
      Location: Seattle WA
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Sat August 18, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location: busses
      Cons: Room noise

       
      Just got back from our 08.11-17 trip - this was our first time staying at the POP and we would stay again and would recomend it to others.


      On the positive side is the location and the bus service. We loved having one central bus stop and not sharing buses with any other resort... and we had great bus karma this trip never waiting more than 10 minutes at the hotel or any park. We also enjoyed the extra activites at the resort, like the outdoor movie in the evening. The staff was friendly and helpful.


      The rooms are small but OK: we were in the 50's section on the "quiet" side not facing the pool, which was a good thing because as is frequently mentioned, the walls are paper thin and noise from the walkways and mechanics of the building is quite loud. We were lucky to have quiet neighbors on both sides.


      Our room was clean and well cared for, except for a couple things with the bathroom. There was a sizable piece of wallpaper peeling off the wall and the toilet wasn't flushing properly: we stopped by the front desk in the morning asking to have it fixed during the day and it was, except that the broken part was left on the floor by the vanity.


      The negative points come from bell service delivery: it took 6 hours for our bags to arrive at the room from Magic Express... fortunately we knew to hand carry everything we needed for the first day, so this didn't have any negitive impact on our fun. And it took over 7 hours for bell services to deliver our groceries to the room. Lastly, my 13 year old travel companion gave the resort a negative mark because he really wanted to be able to dive in to the pool, but both the bowling ball pool and hippy dippy pool have shallow edges, so this wasn't possible.


      All in all we had a fabulous week and really enoyed the POP.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      beck73

      Registered: August 2012
      Location: Columbus, Ga
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sat August 18, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cast members were great, very clean rooms
      Cons: This is a very busy resort but still enjoyable

       
      This was my second visit to Pop Century and both have been great. This resort is very busy but my family and I had a great time.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      LeeInVA

      Registered: July 2006
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Sun August 12, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Price, Transportation, Convenience
      Cons: Size, Crowd

       
      Back from another enjoyable stay at POP. We (Me, DW, DS-15, DD-11) had a short visit July 25-28. We were in the 70's section, Building 6.


      We love the convenience of everything at POP being in Classic Hall and Classic Hall and bus stops not being too far from any one room. It's nice to stay in a resort and not have to share buses, we never had a problem or a long wait for a bus to take us anywhere. My only transportation complaint is the fact that the POP pickups at all of the parks is the furthest away, but I realize that goes with it being a value resort so I can live with it, at least we are usually dropped off closer.


      Since this wasn't our first time, we knew that the Food Court gets crazy busy in the morning and late nights, so we would just pass through at those times, getting our food in the parks instead.


      I listed size and crowd as negatives, just as a heads up to newcomers to POP. The rooms are small, but it is a value resort. If, like us, you don't spend much time in your room, then that's not too much of a problem. Speaking of size, it's also a bummer that the beds are just doubles, but for short stays we can live with that as well. Similarly, since it is a value resort, it's popular with youth teams in town for events at Wide World of Sports, so there are frequently big crowds at POP, but again if you know what you're getting into that's not enough of a reason to exclude POP from your choice of resorts.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Cehughes

      Registered: July 2012
      Location: South Carolina
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed July 18, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Had it's own bus, good room size, comfy bed, easy and quick check in,
      Cons: Walls a little thin, dining hall a little hectic

       
      We checked in on Sunday, July 8. Our check-in was extremely easy! We did online check in and all we had to do was confirm information and receive our welcome package. Our luggage was picked up from our car and delivered directly to the room. We didn't spend much time at the hotel at all. When we were there, we were very impressed with the service. We were frequently surprised with animals made from towels and other little things that made our day. The beds were very comfy, of course that could have been because we were so exhausted. We opted to have our souvenirs we bought at the parks sent to our hotel. This complimentary service was fabulous! It was so easy to walk to the gift shop at our leisure to pick them up. My only complaint was that the dining hall was a little hectic. Even after 11 PM there were a TON of people in the one and only open food line. The property was beautiful and we were so, so happy with our decision to stay there!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Patti

      Registered: July 2012
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed July 11, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Had it's own bus, friendly staff from check-in, food court, gift shop and mouse keeping!!!!!!
      Cons: Not one thing!!!

       
      Our family went in June to WDW and stayed at the POP Century Resort. The staff was soooo friendly and helpful with every little detail from helping trouble shoot a problem I was having with my camera, to helping us select a good day to visit a water park, to the towel pets from housekeeping, the grounds crew making sure everything was spic-n-span and taking the time to stop what they were doing to take a picture of our family!!! Our family enjoyed the food court, were everyone could get exactly what they wanted to eat, tables and floors were always clean. Will definitely be going back to POP Century Resort!! LOVED IT!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      OhioMom

      Registered: June 2011
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Sun July 8, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Bright, colorful rooms, nice pool, friendly staff
      Cons: Small rooms, full beds, can be loud late at night near pool

       
      We enjoyed our stay at Pop Century (June 2012). The rooms are smaller with full beds, instead of queens. It was clean and comfortable. There was a mini fridge with room for milk and various drinks. The pool was very nice and had life guards throughout the day. It appears to be open 24/7 - but no life guards are on duty late at night. It can get loud (after 11pm) at the pool so I would ask for a room on an upper floor or facing the lake. Staff was very friendly, cleaning crew did a nice job.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      GenieKy

      Registered: January 2012
      Location: Kentucky
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Sun July 8, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fun theming, fast bus service and clean rooms
      Cons: small bathrooms(but all at Disney are small)

       
      Stayed here 7/2/12-7/6/12 with my 15 yr old daughter. We really enjoyed the resort. I had asked for a ground floor room and upon checkin was given a 4th floor room which was remedied to a ground floor room. We were in the 80s section in the Roger Rabbit building. I really enjoyed the location with the biggest pool on property right around the corner from our room. All Disney room bathrooms are small. I've stayed at value-deluxe resorts. I actually prefer the atmosphere and bus service at the Pop to some of the Deulxe resorts! Manager Jessica listened to our concerns on the Magical Express service(a van...no bus) at check-in and gave us magical fast passes to make up for the experience. Great value resort. However, the beds are full size, not queen and it would be cramped for a larger family. That being said, I'd rather have 2 rooms here than a larger room at some of the Deluxe resorts. Excellent value for the money!!!!!!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      KathyL

      Registered: June 2012
      Location: Milwaukee
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Tue June 26, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): location, cost
      Cons: none

       
      We stayed at Pop June 8-15. This is our second time here and enjoyed it just as much this go around. We were in the 70's building 10. Location is superb. Close to the buses and food court. We asked for a top floor room (received) and it worked out great. Very little noise from other rooms and we had neighbors. Front desk staff was great - my only issue is that we did not receive an itemized bill. They told us that you need to have your email on file and they email the bill. As it was booked online, I'm not sure why they didn't have my email. Mousekeeping is great. No issues in or around the room. We spend so little time in the room, it's perfect for us (Mom, Dad, DS15, DD11). Bus service was great.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11 >

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.