Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • SheenaXena21

      Registered: October 2006
      Posts: 83
      Review Date: Mon October 29, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cheap
      Cons: Small rooms, busy food court, thin walls

      This was the 3rd time staying here. We were in the 70's section, and had a good location. The bad thing is, we heard EVERYTHING!!! Every time someone got up upstairs, or in the rooms on either side of us. Also, I've come to realize, it's not worth staying if you're not next to the MK or EP.
      I love paying the cheap price of staying value, but not anymore.
      Plus, they need to do something about the MK buses when it closes at night. It really stinks waiting a hour or more for a bus, especially when yout tired. Other than that, the bus service was fine, never waited more than 10 minutes.
      Gotta warn you though, if you are a light sleeper, bring something for white noise. I had to download an app, just so I could sleep a little.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: October 2012
      Location: Buzzards Bay, MA
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sat October 27, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great space in rooms, buses always on time and available, food is delicious,clean rooms/areas.
      Cons: More healthier options available (or at least promoted more), can be a bit loud at times.

      This was my Mother and I's first time staying in the park (I'm 26, she is 56), and it was such a blast staying at the Pop Century! First off, the front desk staff was always helpful with explaining issues such as dining meals, ticketing, travel time on the buses, and getting us in and out of our room quickly.
      While most of the time we ate in our room, there was plenty of seating available at the food court, but the shopping area was slightly smaller than other hotels we visited (such as the Animal Lodge). Food was great, and we especially loved the 50's themed tv dinners (must try the roast turkey-REAL TURKEY!), though we didn't realize until after a few days that fresh fruit could be used in place of desserts (would have be nice to have been told that or even a simple sign to let us know).
      The rooms were large for the two of us, plenty of space to keep both sets of luggage, and plenty of trinkets that we bought. The beds were extremely comfortable and the room/bathroom were impeccably clean. Mini refrigerators were installed for free for the room (used to charge $10/daily I believe), it was great for keeping our water bottles cold in preparation for the next days adventure, and wine that was purchased at the food court was able to be chilled without the use of an ice bucket.
      Buses were always available, and thankfully because they were only going to Pop Century, there was never a long wait to get back to our room. We stayed in the 50's section of the hotel, which I must say was a great deal quieter than the rest of the resort, and the bowling pin pool wasn't used as much as the other pools (quiet and nice for those who are adults visiting, especially at night, very relaxing).
      Also to note, the laundry mat the resort had was great, easy to use, and provided me with clean clothes when coming home!

      I know I wrote a lot, but all I had to say was I would go back to Pop without a doubt!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: November 2010
      Location: New Jersey
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Thu October 25, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean, Quiet, good theming
      Cons: far from main building

      DH and I stayed here 10/19-10/22. We were in the 80's building furthest from the main hub. Room was clean and well taken care of. We recieved a heart towel decoration on our last night there. Pop is always our fall back resort for short trips.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: October 2012
      Location: WISCONSIN
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed October 10, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Service, Rooms, Price
      Cons: Don't have any

      I stayed at the Pop from Aug 26th to Sept 1. This was my first time that I even booked a stay at WDW. The times before were just a one day visit to the Magic Kingdom. I used the Magic Express Service from the airport to the Pop, would recommend that. Check in was really really easy, and the staff was great,the lines were small so the wait was like a couple of minutes. Read others saying the rooms are too small, they are nice rooms and I thought they were very adequate. I stayed in the 50's section in Building 1 facing the parking lot on the second floor. Noise was not a problem. The food court area was nice. The theme was good and cute,and it is worth a trip over to AOA and check out their theming. Bus Service for the Pop was good. I will be staying here again the next time I go to WDW. I highly recommend the Pop Century.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: October 2012
      Location: Ohio
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Fri October 5, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): room location, buses, food
      Cons: very crowded

      This was our second stay here. We had a split stay 5 nights at AOA and 2 nights here. We were here 9/28-9/30. Noticed that things looked a bit run down since our last stay 3 years ago but, all was good. It seemed alot more crowded than AOA but, we did pay for a preferred room & requested the 60's floor ground floor so, that could be why. Busing here was much better than AOA. We never waited more than 10 min. for a bus here & at AOA it was ALWAYS a 20-25 min. wait!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: September 2009
      Location: Prince Edward Island
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Thu September 20, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Price
      Cons: Size, Room noise level, Location of Smoking areas

      Stayed for the 2nd time at POP Sept 7-17 2012, had not been there since Sept 2009.
      Staff for the most part was very good, but a few of the restaurant staff's English was a little poor which made ordering food at times difficult.

      We where on the ground floor of the 50's building 2, room 2136. There was nothing after our room if you went through the bushes outside our door you where basically of the resort. It was a 5 min walk to the main building and you got to pass the smoking area located in the center of main walkway to it every time unless you went along building 1's ground floor. As we experienced before at POP the paper thin walls allow you to become very familiar with your neighbors and their bathroom habits. Room was clean as long as you don't look too close, our toilet required you to jiggle the handle after ever use to keep it from running.

      The food was fair at best quite possible the greasiest cheese burger I've ever eat was here. Baked good where quite good. The beverage area was always dirty, and I know they have a cast member clean here almost constantly, but the fruit flies where everywhere.

      Buses where not as bad as I remembered at POP on par with my last few stays at POFQ. where very good if you started a little early.

      All in all it's just a Disney low end resort better than no Disney if it's all your budget will allow.I doubt we would stay again, but if someone was going to I would recommend spending a little extra and get the preferred room away from the pools, guest are in them quite late a can be really loud.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: March 2009
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Sat September 15, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Theme

      I should point out that I like to stay at Value resorts for a one/two nighter due to past experiences (too many people). When friends ask me about these resorts, I do offer the advice to take their own car. Now with that said ... I was pleasantly surprised on the lack of crowd this past trip.

      Check-in: Easy breezy. OH!! And when we pulled up on the Disney Express, they had a red carpet laid out for us as well as blowing bubbles!!!! What a GREAT entrance to start the vacation!!!

      Grounds: My kids (6/8)LOVE the over-sized Disney characters. The pool activities were excellent. I sat and had a drink while they enjoy the festivities (and there was always something going on in the afternoon at the big pool). Need something quieter, just head to the other pools on property. We also enjoyed walking around and checking out all the cool character props. Fun.

      Rooms: Small rooms, typcial size for a motel room, I would say. Kids don't care though. Your 'theme section' continues into your room. We didn't have an issue with noise aside from someone running by the room.

      Food: Food court type setting. Food was average but good. Lots of choices for even the pickiest of eaters.

      Bus: We didn't use the bus BUT I would say that one of the nicest things about this Value resort is that it doesn't share its bus with the other Values. I've stayed at Movies, Sports, and Music before and there were LINES to just get on the bus. I never saw this at Pop Century.

      Overall: I like to stay at the Values due to simply the grounds (and to save a buck or two). My youngest recently 'discovered' the "Lady and The Tramp" movie so I knew we had to make a stop at the Pop, and it paid off. Smile
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: September 2012
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sat September 15, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): transportation, cleanliness
      Cons: quality of towels/toilet paper/ noise

      We stayed at the Pop the last week of August and had a great stay overall. I thought the Pop was fun and iconic, we stayed in 70's bldg parking lot side and had no noise problems (except for the flushing toilets). The room was clean but the beds were small and towels/shampoo/etc were not great quality.
      Bus service was great, usually a bus within 10 minutes.
      Food Court was not crowded (maybe we were there at off times). Food was hit or miss. "Mothers Night Out" fried chick and potatoes was delicious, as was the make your own salad. Hamburger was the worst I hav ever had.
      Overall for cost benefits I would return.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Fri September 14, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): price
      Cons: sound

      if you're staying at a Value Resort, you just have to know what you're signing up for. it's going to be a reasonable price, there are going to be a lot of children and the room isn't going to be plush. if you're looking for a quiet, calm place - look elsewhere.

      we could hear everything the family next door said as we were trying to go to sleep one night. i'm a light sleeper, so it was a long night.

      you're paying a reasonable price to get the transportation and the pools. Pop has a fun theme and it has the trump card on buses over the All Stars since they all share buses a lot of the time.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: July 2012
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Wed September 5, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Rate
      Cons: Some features below standard

      First let me begin by saying that I knew exactly what we were getting before we even arrived. Typically, we have stayed at the Moderate Resorts, with Port Orleans Riverside being our favorite. On occasion, we have stayed at a handful of Deluxe properties, and we absolutely love camping at Fort Wilderness. So, in a sense, we have been around the World. In choosing Pop Century, we selected the resort based on price and location. My son had a visit at a local college, so we needed quick access to I-4. That said, we wanted to enjoy a sprinkling of Disney magic during our brief stay in town.

      As expected, the resort was crowded, but our room in the 60's building was on the top floor and on the lakeside, so it was fairly quiet. This was a major plus because we had to get up early both mornings. The room was small, as expected, and the bathroom was cramped, as also expected. But overall, the room was comfortable. Where I started to notice the difference was in the quality of the towels. They were thin and skimpy, and I often needed more than one towl to completely dry off. The A/C never got exceptionally cool, but this was a minor consideration since we were not spending a lot of time in the room. The food court was jam packed at all hours and I did feel that some of the people staying at the resort lacked the consideration that we were used to at other properties. As a result, we ate on more than one occasion at Riverside. We did not need the bus transportation,but it looked like everything was running as efficiently as at the other resorts. Check in was fairly quick (for a Disney property), but the woman who checked us in was not as personable as we are used to. Overall, I didn't feel as surrounded by magic and theming as I do at other properties, but again, that was to be expected. The check-in area is vast and loud. The one feature I did not expect was the parking and the fact that we had to transport our luggage and belongings through the check-in area, past the gift shop, and out into the pool area before finding our room. While this was inconvenient for us, I couldn't help but feel badly for those staying at the resort who were having their relaxation time interupted by crowds of travelers coming and going. As mentioned, I did expect most of this. I would highly recommend Pop Century for someone on a limited budget who wants to take advantage of the benefits of staying on Disney property. It certainly beats some of the resorts on 192, International Drive, etc. But as for me, I think I will save up to stay in a Moderate Resort the next time I am in Orlando.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: August 2012
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sat August 25, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cost, location, grounds, good bus transportation
      Cons: busy food court

      We were there August 13-19, 2012. And we loved it!

      Pop is a value so rooms are small but for us, it was fine. We did bring shoe organizer for toiliries and that helped save space.

      The lake area is beautiful. Even though Pop is a value, the grounds are much prettier than the All-Stars.

      There were critters around the grounds (salamanders, frogs) but never any in our room (my kids loved seeing all the critters!).

      Rooms were clean and it was very quiet (we were in 60's building, ground floor, lakeview). Buses were great 99% of the time (had to wait long after Animal Kingdom closed otherwise was great). The only con for us was the food court. It was incredibly busy at times and often had to wait for food to be replinshed (on the plus side, food was always fresh but when we were in a time crunch, it was annoying). We had stayed at All-Star Movies before and the food court was much calmer.

      But that one thing would not deter me from staying here again. It was awesome and the perfect place to call "home" for the week.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: August 2012
      Location: Texas
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu August 23, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Friendly service
      Cons: none really

      We have stayed at Pop several times but the latest was in October 2011 for our son's wedding. We somehow got booked at the All Star Music when the rest of the party was at Pop. The staff at AS were gracious in helping us change to Pop. We had adjoining rooms to other family so it was great to visit back and forth. Yes, the rooms are smaller but it IS a value hotel. I just wish the beds were a bit larger as I have a very tall DH and the full beds are just a bit too small for us. The food court is awesome and very easy to find a place to sit even on their busiest days. We thoroughly enjoy our time at Pop Century.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: August 2012
      Location: New Jersey
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Wed August 22, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): has it's own bus, access to Extra Magic Hours
      Cons: not well kept up; thin walls; decorations are obnoxious

      I have never had a bad experience before at Disney (and I've been there 15 times), but Pop Century was terrible. My family has stayed in Boardwalk, Port Orleans French Quarter, Caribbean Beach, and our home away from home, Port Orleans Riverside. Granted I’m used to the moderate resorts, but my brother and I were just passing through Orlando and going to be in the parks for 3 days, so we figured we’d stay in a value resort. My thinking was “it’s still a Disney hotel and we’ll have Extra Magic hours.” When I pulled into the parking lot and went into the Main Hall, I had this gut feeling I should ask if something was open at Riverside and pay the difference, but my brother and I decided we were going to give Pop a chance.

      We should have asked about Riverside. Our first interaction with the woman behind the check-in desk set the tone. She kept insisting we didn’t have a reservation, because our last name was misspelled by one letter in the computer. I had printed out my confirmation, but at first, she refused to look at it and kept referring to her computer screen. Finally, after much prompting, she took the paper from me, mumbled something, and said I was all set. The other check-in people I have dealt with over the years have been accommodating, welcoming, and cheerful. This woman was the complete opposite.

      The hotel itself is only about 13 years old, but the wear and tear on it makes it look so much older. I’m not used to seeing scuff marks on walls. At Riverside, I’ve witnessed painters and wet paint signs fixing such blemishes. The decorations on the buildings are oversized and gaudy. It’s almost as if the Imagineers ran out of ideas, so they just made everything bigger than life and called it a theme.

      The room was a little small, but there were only 2 of us, so we had plenty of room. However, had all four of my family members attended, it would have been cramped. As many have said, the walls are thin. This was not a problem for my brother, who can sleep through fire alarms and thunder storms, but for me, it really did disturb my sleep.

      My overall impression was that this was an overpriced cheap hotel. It lacked the Disney charm, and I was extremely disappointed. Next time, I’ll be back to the moderate resorts, where they understand what a Disney hotel should be. And should money be tight the next time I go, I would stay off property instead of overpaying for the so called “value” resorts.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: August 2012
      Location: Arkansas
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue August 21, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): We loved the atmosphere
      Cons: none

      We had the best time while we stayed at Pop back in June. We paid for a standard room and we were expecting to get an 80's or 90's room. We called the week before we left to just to see if we could get a room request in. They told us over the phone that they could not guarantee the room request but would try their hardest to do so. We ended up in the 60's section. We were shocked when we checked in and were told where we were. We are already planning our next trip and we WILL be staying at POP again! We loved everything about it. The bus stops, the food court, the pools, the rooms were great!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: May 2011
      Location: Seattle WA
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Sat August 18, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location: busses
      Cons: Room noise

      Just got back from our 08.11-17 trip - this was our first time staying at the POP and we would stay again and would recomend it to others.

      On the positive side is the location and the bus service. We loved having one central bus stop and not sharing buses with any other resort... and we had great bus karma this trip never waiting more than 10 minutes at the hotel or any park. We also enjoyed the extra activites at the resort, like the outdoor movie in the evening. The staff was friendly and helpful.

      The rooms are small but OK: we were in the 50's section on the "quiet" side not facing the pool, which was a good thing because as is frequently mentioned, the walls are paper thin and noise from the walkways and mechanics of the building is quite loud. We were lucky to have quiet neighbors on both sides.

      Our room was clean and well cared for, except for a couple things with the bathroom. There was a sizable piece of wallpaper peeling off the wall and the toilet wasn't flushing properly: we stopped by the front desk in the morning asking to have it fixed during the day and it was, except that the broken part was left on the floor by the vanity.

      The negative points come from bell service delivery: it took 6 hours for our bags to arrive at the room from Magic Express... fortunately we knew to hand carry everything we needed for the first day, so this didn't have any negitive impact on our fun. And it took over 7 hours for bell services to deliver our groceries to the room. Lastly, my 13 year old travel companion gave the resort a negative mark because he really wanted to be able to dive in to the pool, but both the bowling ball pool and hippy dippy pool have shallow edges, so this wasn't possible.

      All in all we had a fabulous week and really enoyed the POP.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11 >

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.