Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • the7dwarfsandme

      Registered: August 2012
      Location: New Jersey
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Wed August 22, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): has it's own bus, access to Extra Magic Hours
      Cons: not well kept up; thin walls; decorations are obnoxious

       
      I have never had a bad experience before at Disney (and I've been there 15 times), but Pop Century was terrible. My family has stayed in Boardwalk, Port Orleans French Quarter, Caribbean Beach, and our home away from home, Port Orleans Riverside. Granted I’m used to the moderate resorts, but my brother and I were just passing through Orlando and going to be in the parks for 3 days, so we figured we’d stay in a value resort. My thinking was “it’s still a Disney hotel and we’ll have Extra Magic hours.” When I pulled into the parking lot and went into the Main Hall, I had this gut feeling I should ask if something was open at Riverside and pay the difference, but my brother and I decided we were going to give Pop a chance.


      We should have asked about Riverside. Our first interaction with the woman behind the check-in desk set the tone. She kept insisting we didn’t have a reservation, because our last name was misspelled by one letter in the computer. I had printed out my confirmation, but at first, she refused to look at it and kept referring to her computer screen. Finally, after much prompting, she took the paper from me, mumbled something, and said I was all set. The other check-in people I have dealt with over the years have been accommodating, welcoming, and cheerful. This woman was the complete opposite.


      The hotel itself is only about 13 years old, but the wear and tear on it makes it look so much older. I’m not used to seeing scuff marks on walls. At Riverside, I’ve witnessed painters and wet paint signs fixing such blemishes. The decorations on the buildings are oversized and gaudy. It’s almost as if the Imagineers ran out of ideas, so they just made everything bigger than life and called it a theme.


      The room was a little small, but there were only 2 of us, so we had plenty of room. However, had all four of my family members attended, it would have been cramped. As many have said, the walls are thin. This was not a problem for my brother, who can sleep through fire alarms and thunder storms, but for me, it really did disturb my sleep.


      My overall impression was that this was an overpriced cheap hotel. It lacked the Disney charm, and I was extremely disappointed. Next time, I’ll be back to the moderate resorts, where they understand what a Disney hotel should be. And should money be tight the next time I go, I would stay off property instead of overpaying for the so called “value” resorts.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sholloway

      Registered: August 2012
      Location: Arkansas
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue August 21, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): We loved the atmosphere
      Cons: none

       
      We had the best time while we stayed at Pop back in June. We paid for a standard room and we were expecting to get an 80's or 90's room. We called the week before we left to just to see if we could get a room request in. They told us over the phone that they could not guarantee the room request but would try their hardest to do so. We ended up in the 60's section. We were shocked when we checked in and were told where we were. We are already planning our next trip and we WILL be staying at POP again! We loved everything about it. The bus stops, the food court, the pools, the rooms were great!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Oneanne

      Registered: May 2011
      Location: Seattle WA
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Sat August 18, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location: busses
      Cons: Room noise

       
      Just got back from our 08.11-17 trip - this was our first time staying at the POP and we would stay again and would recomend it to others.


      On the positive side is the location and the bus service. We loved having one central bus stop and not sharing buses with any other resort... and we had great bus karma this trip never waiting more than 10 minutes at the hotel or any park. We also enjoyed the extra activites at the resort, like the outdoor movie in the evening. The staff was friendly and helpful.


      The rooms are small but OK: we were in the 50's section on the "quiet" side not facing the pool, which was a good thing because as is frequently mentioned, the walls are paper thin and noise from the walkways and mechanics of the building is quite loud. We were lucky to have quiet neighbors on both sides.


      Our room was clean and well cared for, except for a couple things with the bathroom. There was a sizable piece of wallpaper peeling off the wall and the toilet wasn't flushing properly: we stopped by the front desk in the morning asking to have it fixed during the day and it was, except that the broken part was left on the floor by the vanity.


      The negative points come from bell service delivery: it took 6 hours for our bags to arrive at the room from Magic Express... fortunately we knew to hand carry everything we needed for the first day, so this didn't have any negitive impact on our fun. And it took over 7 hours for bell services to deliver our groceries to the room. Lastly, my 13 year old travel companion gave the resort a negative mark because he really wanted to be able to dive in to the pool, but both the bowling ball pool and hippy dippy pool have shallow edges, so this wasn't possible.


      All in all we had a fabulous week and really enoyed the POP.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      beck73

      Registered: August 2012
      Location: Columbus, Ga
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sat August 18, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cast members were great, very clean rooms
      Cons: This is a very busy resort but still enjoyable

       
      This was my second visit to Pop Century and both have been great. This resort is very busy but my family and I had a great time.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      LeeInVA

      Registered: July 2006
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Sun August 12, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Price, Transportation, Convenience
      Cons: Size, Crowd

       
      Back from another enjoyable stay at POP. We (Me, DW, DS-15, DD-11) had a short visit July 25-28. We were in the 70's section, Building 6.


      We love the convenience of everything at POP being in Classic Hall and Classic Hall and bus stops not being too far from any one room. It's nice to stay in a resort and not have to share buses, we never had a problem or a long wait for a bus to take us anywhere. My only transportation complaint is the fact that the POP pickups at all of the parks is the furthest away, but I realize that goes with it being a value resort so I can live with it, at least we are usually dropped off closer.


      Since this wasn't our first time, we knew that the Food Court gets crazy busy in the morning and late nights, so we would just pass through at those times, getting our food in the parks instead.


      I listed size and crowd as negatives, just as a heads up to newcomers to POP. The rooms are small, but it is a value resort. If, like us, you don't spend much time in your room, then that's not too much of a problem. Speaking of size, it's also a bummer that the beds are just doubles, but for short stays we can live with that as well. Similarly, since it is a value resort, it's popular with youth teams in town for events at Wide World of Sports, so there are frequently big crowds at POP, but again if you know what you're getting into that's not enough of a reason to exclude POP from your choice of resorts.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Cehughes

      Registered: July 2012
      Location: South Carolina
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed July 18, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Had it's own bus, good room size, comfy bed, easy and quick check in,
      Cons: Walls a little thin, dining hall a little hectic

       
      We checked in on Sunday, July 8. Our check-in was extremely easy! We did online check in and all we had to do was confirm information and receive our welcome package. Our luggage was picked up from our car and delivered directly to the room. We didn't spend much time at the hotel at all. When we were there, we were very impressed with the service. We were frequently surprised with animals made from towels and other little things that made our day. The beds were very comfy, of course that could have been because we were so exhausted. We opted to have our souvenirs we bought at the parks sent to our hotel. This complimentary service was fabulous! It was so easy to walk to the gift shop at our leisure to pick them up. My only complaint was that the dining hall was a little hectic. Even after 11 PM there were a TON of people in the one and only open food line. The property was beautiful and we were so, so happy with our decision to stay there!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Patti

      Registered: July 2012
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed July 11, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Had it's own bus, friendly staff from check-in, food court, gift shop and mouse keeping!!!!!!
      Cons: Not one thing!!!

       
      Our family went in June to WDW and stayed at the POP Century Resort. The staff was soooo friendly and helpful with every little detail from helping trouble shoot a problem I was having with my camera, to helping us select a good day to visit a water park, to the towel pets from housekeeping, the grounds crew making sure everything was spic-n-span and taking the time to stop what they were doing to take a picture of our family!!! Our family enjoyed the food court, were everyone could get exactly what they wanted to eat, tables and floors were always clean. Will definitely be going back to POP Century Resort!! LOVED IT!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      OhioMom

      Registered: June 2011
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Sun July 8, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Bright, colorful rooms, nice pool, friendly staff
      Cons: Small rooms, full beds, can be loud late at night near pool

       
      We enjoyed our stay at Pop Century (June 2012). The rooms are smaller with full beds, instead of queens. It was clean and comfortable. There was a mini fridge with room for milk and various drinks. The pool was very nice and had life guards throughout the day. It appears to be open 24/7 - but no life guards are on duty late at night. It can get loud (after 11pm) at the pool so I would ask for a room on an upper floor or facing the lake. Staff was very friendly, cleaning crew did a nice job.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      GenieKy

      Registered: January 2012
      Location: Kentucky
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Sun July 8, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fun theming, fast bus service and clean rooms
      Cons: small bathrooms(but all at Disney are small)

       
      Stayed here 7/2/12-7/6/12 with my 15 yr old daughter. We really enjoyed the resort. I had asked for a ground floor room and upon checkin was given a 4th floor room which was remedied to a ground floor room. We were in the 80s section in the Roger Rabbit building. I really enjoyed the location with the biggest pool on property right around the corner from our room. All Disney room bathrooms are small. I've stayed at value-deluxe resorts. I actually prefer the atmosphere and bus service at the Pop to some of the Deulxe resorts! Manager Jessica listened to our concerns on the Magical Express service(a van...no bus) at check-in and gave us magical fast passes to make up for the experience. Great value resort. However, the beds are full size, not queen and it would be cramped for a larger family. That being said, I'd rather have 2 rooms here than a larger room at some of the Deluxe resorts. Excellent value for the money!!!!!!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      KathyL

      Registered: June 2012
      Location: Milwaukee
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Tue June 26, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): location, cost
      Cons: none

       
      We stayed at Pop June 8-15. This is our second time here and enjoyed it just as much this go around. We were in the 70's building 10. Location is superb. Close to the buses and food court. We asked for a top floor room (received) and it worked out great. Very little noise from other rooms and we had neighbors. Front desk staff was great - my only issue is that we did not receive an itemized bill. They told us that you need to have your email on file and they email the bill. As it was booked online, I'm not sure why they didn't have my email. Mousekeeping is great. No issues in or around the room. We spend so little time in the room, it's perfect for us (Mom, Dad, DS15, DD11). Bus service was great.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Digrins

      Registered: May 2009
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Mon June 25, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      My family of 3 stayed here for the second time from April 13 to Apr 22 and Pop did not disappoint! We arrived close to midnight, tired, but excited and were happy that check in was quick and easy. Our Garden Grocer order was in our room when we arrived which made settling in easier. Rooms have been spruced up since our visit in 2009. Mini fridge and free wifi were nice extras. Room may be small, but we only use it for a base to sleep/shower and to hit between parks, so it is fine. When we did hang out, we were at one of the pools which were all clean and fun! Grounds were kept up and there was work going on everywhere. Started each day early by going to get coffee, tea and juice before the crowds, so it was never a problem. Ate lunch and dinner there a couple of times and always enjoyed our meals. Lots of choices, plenty of food and the quality was good. We always went an hour or so before or after typical meal times so never had a problem with crowds. The bus situation was great and we never waited longer than 5 minutes out and maybe once waited 20 minutes on the way back from AK. Long walk to/from bus stops in parks, but we paid for a value, so no complaints here. Front desk was very helpful when we had to cancel an ADR, make a tee-time and arrange transportation to Universal to spend a day in the WW of Harry Potter. If I had the extra money, I wouldn't mind trying a mod and dream of staying in a deluxe, but have absolutley no problem staying here again and am sure that we will!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Polypop

      Registered: June 2012
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun June 17, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great castmembers
      Cons: Bus stop

       
      Stayed 6/10 thru 6/17, it was me and my sister. Did online check in so I was able to bypass the long line for regular check in. Got a room in the 50's building even though we had selected a standard room. We were close to both the main building and the parking lot. A couple of times we crossed the bridge to the Art of Animation resort which was sooo cool. Had the tandoori chicken (not my favorite but wasn't bad), and had the build your own burger twice. They let you put a fried green tomato on the burger which was very yummy. The food court at pop got very busy and noisy at peak times. The selection gets old after a few days, but my favorite was the mom's turkey dinner. Mousekeeping was great. Now to the buses. The bus service was actually pretty good. The longest we waited was maybe 20 minutes. The only negative is at every park the bus stop for Pop was always the very last one. That being said I would definitely stay at Pop again. It's just too good a value. Granted the rooms are a bit small but all we really needed was a place to rest in between parks.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      KuyaJeff

      Registered: June 2012
      Location: Los Angeles, CA
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu June 7, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Values at Everything POP!, Great Front Desk Resources
      Cons: Distance of Bus Stops from Park Entrances

       
      This was my first ever trip to WDW...so part of my first impression of WDW would be partially based on my first hotel of choice. As a first resort stay, things are definitely off to a great start.


      I arrived at Pop Century via Magical Express. It was a pretty quick trip and the only other stop was Caribbean Beach. The first approach to the resort was exciting and anticipation was building with the little signs saying things like "Are we there yet?" on the main driveway. When I got my first glimpse of the Bowling Pin staircases of the 50s sections from the bus, I knew I made a great selection for a resort. Pulling up to the lobby just gave me goosebumps.


      I opted not to do the online check-in for the sake of having an opportunity to chat up with whoever was at the front desk. I also wanted to attempt to get as close to my room location preferences as possible(1- 60s buildings, 2- Upper Floor, 3- Lake View . The cast member was very friendly, a lovely woman from England, and she told me that all my requests had been met! I took the short walk to Building 4 and up the elevator to my room (#4459). It was literally the second to the last room in the hallway...as close to the lake as you could get.


      The room was very clean and I found the beds comfortable. So much so, that I spent most of the last two full days of my stay just napping in there. The room was so quiet being out of the way of most of the resort's foot traffic. Not that it matters now, but I didn't hear any Art of Animation construction noise during my stay. Perhaps it's because I'm a heavy sleeper.


      Mousekeeping was very good about replenishing towels and toiletries, they replaced the soaps and shampoos everyday to the point that I got to do the (family tradition) of bringing some home...without asking. :P One day I had left the "Do Not Disturb" card on the door. They left a bag with all the toiletries and more than enough towels hanging on the door, waiting for me until I arrived later that night. I was however, disappointed at the lack of towel animals, but I guess my belongings looked too much like "a single adult" was in the room.


      I went during the "Free Dining" promo. I was entitled to the Quick Service Dining plan, but decided to go all out and upgrade to a Regular Dining Plan. Coming late from the parks, it was nice to use the refillable mug. There wasn't much effort needed to just walk out of my building and refill on my beverage of choice. I was amazed at the selections at Everything POP. It seemed like there was something for everyone. The shrimp chow mein was a great deal for the number of shrimp in the dish. I myself would have been more than willing to pay out of pocket for the value. (The local Chinese restaurant here in Los Angeles goes out of their way to count each shrimp up to 6...no more, no less.) I tried the epic Tie-Dye cheesecake, but my stomach didn't totally agree with all the coloring.


      I enabled charges made to my Key to the World card. It was very easy to just walk up to the front desk to check out the current balance on my card, trying to avoid the original $500 limit. It really helped with budgeting the funds. There was no hesitation from the cast members and they were more than willing to print it out. I also used the front desk to get show information and pick up me Hoop-Dee-Doo-Musical review tickets. The cast members were very good at providing the information I needed from park show times to restaurant reservations.


      The bus service was great to the parks. I never really needed to wait more than 10 minutes to head to the parks. I was disappointed at how far the bus stops at the parks were from each entrance...it was a hike at Epcot. In most cases, transportation went pretty well back to Pop Century, except one night leaving Disney's Hollywood Studios. The line clearly looked like it would take a minimum of 5 buses to come through before I would be able to get back "home." For that one instance, I went out of my way to ask for advice and one cast member suggested that I transfer to Saratoga Springs, then stop at Downtown Disney and then arrive at Pop Century. It didn't take long at all.


      One final service I used was the luggage service. Checkout was at 11, but my flight didn't leave until 6, so my Magical Express bus wouldn't pick me up until 3. The night before I asked a front desk cast member what someone like me should do with this situation and no place to put my bags. She offered me late check out of 1:00PM free of charge. If I had decided to check out at 3, I would have been charged an additional $25. I did leave my room before 1 and left my bags with luggage services at around 10-ish and hit up Animal Kingdom until my Magical Express came to Pop. When I arrived back at Pop, it was refreshing to have the Cast Member who took in my bags greet with my last name and promptly got my bags. He even offered to weigh it to make sure I made my Virgin America baggage allowances. I made a quick stop at Everything Pop to grab last minute goodies for family and friends, and before I knew it, I was back on my way home.


      Overall, I enjoyed my stay at Pop Century. I can't see how people could compare it to a Motel 6 when it has so many friendly people and rooms cleaner than some of the best ones in Vegas. I would definitely refer this resort to friends and family and of course come back here. Throughout my stay, I wandered through other resorts which included Moderates and Deluxes. The charm of Pop Century seemed unmatched in overall atmosphere to even the Deluxe resorts in my eyes. People actually spent their day at the pool or walking the grounds at Pop, it's a destination in itself.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      arearamsey

      Registered: January 2011
      Location: Huntsville, Alabama
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Wed May 30, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): large food court
      Cons: noise, small rooms, difficult to find laundry

       
      We stayed at POP from May 4th-May 11th. This was our first time at a value resort, so I may be a bit biased. My husband did not like the theme, and felt it was too "cartoon-ey". The rooms are much smaller than we are used to, and the bathrooms needed a good scrubbing. Also, we had a first floor room and could hear the kids running around above us on the balcony. The leaf blowers started around 8:30am, and for those of us who stay out late and don't get up early, this was a definite problem. The food court had really good food options with HUGE portions. The laundry area is not clearly marked, and NONE of the lifeguards knew where it was, so I had to ask another guest staying there since I coudln't find any other cast members. Once we found it however, we did like that it was located next to the pool so we could enjoy a swim/nap while the laundry was going. Overall not a bad experience, but for us we will not come back again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      happygrumpy

      Registered: January 2009
      Location: Chesapeake, Virginia
      Posts: 36
      Review Date: Tue May 29, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Don't Share Bus Stops
      Cons: AC in Rooms and Mattress

       
      Let me preface this by saying we have stayed at the POP 2 times in the past year and we really like it.


      However each time we have stayed there the AC does not run cold enough for us. My husband and I need a cold room... like Polar Bear cold. That is not going to happen here.


      Also the mattresses are hard core springs that are not very forgiving. We are used to sleeping on a Select comfort bed and the only thing that comes close to that are the beds in the deluxe resorts and on the new cruise ships.


      We love POP it is very fun and when your on a budget its the best out of all the Values but I think we are going to have to save our pennies to make sure we get to do at least the FQ or Wilderness Lodge.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11 >

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.