Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • Cehughes

      Registered: July 2012
      Location: South Carolina
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed July 18, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Had it's own bus, good room size, comfy bed, easy and quick check in,
      Cons: Walls a little thin, dining hall a little hectic

       
      We checked in on Sunday, July 8. Our check-in was extremely easy! We did online check in and all we had to do was confirm information and receive our welcome package. Our luggage was picked up from our car and delivered directly to the room. We didn't spend much time at the hotel at all. When we were there, we were very impressed with the service. We were frequently surprised with animals made from towels and other little things that made our day. The beds were very comfy, of course that could have been because we were so exhausted. We opted to have our souvenirs we bought at the parks sent to our hotel. This complimentary service was fabulous! It was so easy to walk to the gift shop at our leisure to pick them up. My only complaint was that the dining hall was a little hectic. Even after 11 PM there were a TON of people in the one and only open food line. The property was beautiful and we were so, so happy with our decision to stay there!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Patti

      Registered: July 2012
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed July 11, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Had it's own bus, friendly staff from check-in, food court, gift shop and mouse keeping!!!!!!
      Cons: Not one thing!!!

       
      Our family went in June to WDW and stayed at the POP Century Resort. The staff was soooo friendly and helpful with every little detail from helping trouble shoot a problem I was having with my camera, to helping us select a good day to visit a water park, to the towel pets from housekeeping, the grounds crew making sure everything was spic-n-span and taking the time to stop what they were doing to take a picture of our family!!! Our family enjoyed the food court, were everyone could get exactly what they wanted to eat, tables and floors were always clean. Will definitely be going back to POP Century Resort!! LOVED IT!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      OhioMom

      Registered: June 2011
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Sun July 8, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Bright, colorful rooms, nice pool, friendly staff
      Cons: Small rooms, full beds, can be loud late at night near pool

       
      We enjoyed our stay at Pop Century (June 2012). The rooms are smaller with full beds, instead of queens. It was clean and comfortable. There was a mini fridge with room for milk and various drinks. The pool was very nice and had life guards throughout the day. It appears to be open 24/7 - but no life guards are on duty late at night. It can get loud (after 11pm) at the pool so I would ask for a room on an upper floor or facing the lake. Staff was very friendly, cleaning crew did a nice job.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      GenieKy

      Registered: January 2012
      Location: Kentucky
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Sun July 8, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fun theming, fast bus service and clean rooms
      Cons: small bathrooms(but all at Disney are small)

       
      Stayed here 7/2/12-7/6/12 with my 15 yr old daughter. We really enjoyed the resort. I had asked for a ground floor room and upon checkin was given a 4th floor room which was remedied to a ground floor room. We were in the 80s section in the Roger Rabbit building. I really enjoyed the location with the biggest pool on property right around the corner from our room. All Disney room bathrooms are small. I've stayed at value-deluxe resorts. I actually prefer the atmosphere and bus service at the Pop to some of the Deulxe resorts! Manager Jessica listened to our concerns on the Magical Express service(a van...no bus) at check-in and gave us magical fast passes to make up for the experience. Great value resort. However, the beds are full size, not queen and it would be cramped for a larger family. That being said, I'd rather have 2 rooms here than a larger room at some of the Deluxe resorts. Excellent value for the money!!!!!!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      KathyL

      Registered: June 2012
      Location: Milwaukee
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Tue June 26, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): location, cost
      Cons: none

       
      We stayed at Pop June 8-15. This is our second time here and enjoyed it just as much this go around. We were in the 70's building 10. Location is superb. Close to the buses and food court. We asked for a top floor room (received) and it worked out great. Very little noise from other rooms and we had neighbors. Front desk staff was great - my only issue is that we did not receive an itemized bill. They told us that you need to have your email on file and they email the bill. As it was booked online, I'm not sure why they didn't have my email. Mousekeeping is great. No issues in or around the room. We spend so little time in the room, it's perfect for us (Mom, Dad, DS15, DD11). Bus service was great.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Digrins

      Registered: May 2009
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Mon June 25, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      My family of 3 stayed here for the second time from April 13 to Apr 22 and Pop did not disappoint! We arrived close to midnight, tired, but excited and were happy that check in was quick and easy. Our Garden Grocer order was in our room when we arrived which made settling in easier. Rooms have been spruced up since our visit in 2009. Mini fridge and free wifi were nice extras. Room may be small, but we only use it for a base to sleep/shower and to hit between parks, so it is fine. When we did hang out, we were at one of the pools which were all clean and fun! Grounds were kept up and there was work going on everywhere. Started each day early by going to get coffee, tea and juice before the crowds, so it was never a problem. Ate lunch and dinner there a couple of times and always enjoyed our meals. Lots of choices, plenty of food and the quality was good. We always went an hour or so before or after typical meal times so never had a problem with crowds. The bus situation was great and we never waited longer than 5 minutes out and maybe once waited 20 minutes on the way back from AK. Long walk to/from bus stops in parks, but we paid for a value, so no complaints here. Front desk was very helpful when we had to cancel an ADR, make a tee-time and arrange transportation to Universal to spend a day in the WW of Harry Potter. If I had the extra money, I wouldn't mind trying a mod and dream of staying in a deluxe, but have absolutley no problem staying here again and am sure that we will!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Polypop

      Registered: June 2012
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun June 17, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great castmembers
      Cons: Bus stop

       
      Stayed 6/10 thru 6/17, it was me and my sister. Did online check in so I was able to bypass the long line for regular check in. Got a room in the 50's building even though we had selected a standard room. We were close to both the main building and the parking lot. A couple of times we crossed the bridge to the Art of Animation resort which was sooo cool. Had the tandoori chicken (not my favorite but wasn't bad), and had the build your own burger twice. They let you put a fried green tomato on the burger which was very yummy. The food court at pop got very busy and noisy at peak times. The selection gets old after a few days, but my favorite was the mom's turkey dinner. Mousekeeping was great. Now to the buses. The bus service was actually pretty good. The longest we waited was maybe 20 minutes. The only negative is at every park the bus stop for Pop was always the very last one. That being said I would definitely stay at Pop again. It's just too good a value. Granted the rooms are a bit small but all we really needed was a place to rest in between parks.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      KuyaJeff

      Registered: June 2012
      Location: Los Angeles, CA
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu June 7, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Values at Everything POP!, Great Front Desk Resources
      Cons: Distance of Bus Stops from Park Entrances

       
      This was my first ever trip to WDW...so part of my first impression of WDW would be partially based on my first hotel of choice. As a first resort stay, things are definitely off to a great start.


      I arrived at Pop Century via Magical Express. It was a pretty quick trip and the only other stop was Caribbean Beach. The first approach to the resort was exciting and anticipation was building with the little signs saying things like "Are we there yet?" on the main driveway. When I got my first glimpse of the Bowling Pin staircases of the 50s sections from the bus, I knew I made a great selection for a resort. Pulling up to the lobby just gave me goosebumps.


      I opted not to do the online check-in for the sake of having an opportunity to chat up with whoever was at the front desk. I also wanted to attempt to get as close to my room location preferences as possible(1- 60s buildings, 2- Upper Floor, 3- Lake View . The cast member was very friendly, a lovely woman from England, and she told me that all my requests had been met! I took the short walk to Building 4 and up the elevator to my room (#4459). It was literally the second to the last room in the hallway...as close to the lake as you could get.


      The room was very clean and I found the beds comfortable. So much so, that I spent most of the last two full days of my stay just napping in there. The room was so quiet being out of the way of most of the resort's foot traffic. Not that it matters now, but I didn't hear any Art of Animation construction noise during my stay. Perhaps it's because I'm a heavy sleeper.


      Mousekeeping was very good about replenishing towels and toiletries, they replaced the soaps and shampoos everyday to the point that I got to do the (family tradition) of bringing some home...without asking. :P One day I had left the "Do Not Disturb" card on the door. They left a bag with all the toiletries and more than enough towels hanging on the door, waiting for me until I arrived later that night. I was however, disappointed at the lack of towel animals, but I guess my belongings looked too much like "a single adult" was in the room.


      I went during the "Free Dining" promo. I was entitled to the Quick Service Dining plan, but decided to go all out and upgrade to a Regular Dining Plan. Coming late from the parks, it was nice to use the refillable mug. There wasn't much effort needed to just walk out of my building and refill on my beverage of choice. I was amazed at the selections at Everything POP. It seemed like there was something for everyone. The shrimp chow mein was a great deal for the number of shrimp in the dish. I myself would have been more than willing to pay out of pocket for the value. (The local Chinese restaurant here in Los Angeles goes out of their way to count each shrimp up to 6...no more, no less.) I tried the epic Tie-Dye cheesecake, but my stomach didn't totally agree with all the coloring.


      I enabled charges made to my Key to the World card. It was very easy to just walk up to the front desk to check out the current balance on my card, trying to avoid the original $500 limit. It really helped with budgeting the funds. There was no hesitation from the cast members and they were more than willing to print it out. I also used the front desk to get show information and pick up me Hoop-Dee-Doo-Musical review tickets. The cast members were very good at providing the information I needed from park show times to restaurant reservations.


      The bus service was great to the parks. I never really needed to wait more than 10 minutes to head to the parks. I was disappointed at how far the bus stops at the parks were from each entrance...it was a hike at Epcot. In most cases, transportation went pretty well back to Pop Century, except one night leaving Disney's Hollywood Studios. The line clearly looked like it would take a minimum of 5 buses to come through before I would be able to get back "home." For that one instance, I went out of my way to ask for advice and one cast member suggested that I transfer to Saratoga Springs, then stop at Downtown Disney and then arrive at Pop Century. It didn't take long at all.


      One final service I used was the luggage service. Checkout was at 11, but my flight didn't leave until 6, so my Magical Express bus wouldn't pick me up until 3. The night before I asked a front desk cast member what someone like me should do with this situation and no place to put my bags. She offered me late check out of 1:00PM free of charge. If I had decided to check out at 3, I would have been charged an additional $25. I did leave my room before 1 and left my bags with luggage services at around 10-ish and hit up Animal Kingdom until my Magical Express came to Pop. When I arrived back at Pop, it was refreshing to have the Cast Member who took in my bags greet with my last name and promptly got my bags. He even offered to weigh it to make sure I made my Virgin America baggage allowances. I made a quick stop at Everything Pop to grab last minute goodies for family and friends, and before I knew it, I was back on my way home.


      Overall, I enjoyed my stay at Pop Century. I can't see how people could compare it to a Motel 6 when it has so many friendly people and rooms cleaner than some of the best ones in Vegas. I would definitely refer this resort to friends and family and of course come back here. Throughout my stay, I wandered through other resorts which included Moderates and Deluxes. The charm of Pop Century seemed unmatched in overall atmosphere to even the Deluxe resorts in my eyes. People actually spent their day at the pool or walking the grounds at Pop, it's a destination in itself.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      arearamsey

      Registered: January 2011
      Location: Huntsville, Alabama
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Wed May 30, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): large food court
      Cons: noise, small rooms, difficult to find laundry

       
      We stayed at POP from May 4th-May 11th. This was our first time at a value resort, so I may be a bit biased. My husband did not like the theme, and felt it was too "cartoon-ey". The rooms are much smaller than we are used to, and the bathrooms needed a good scrubbing. Also, we had a first floor room and could hear the kids running around above us on the balcony. The leaf blowers started around 8:30am, and for those of us who stay out late and don't get up early, this was a definite problem. The food court had really good food options with HUGE portions. The laundry area is not clearly marked, and NONE of the lifeguards knew where it was, so I had to ask another guest staying there since I coudln't find any other cast members. Once we found it however, we did like that it was located next to the pool so we could enjoy a swim/nap while the laundry was going. Overall not a bad experience, but for us we will not come back again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      happygrumpy

      Registered: January 2009
      Location: Chesapeake, Virginia
      Posts: 36
      Review Date: Tue May 29, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Don't Share Bus Stops
      Cons: AC in Rooms and Mattress

       
      Let me preface this by saying we have stayed at the POP 2 times in the past year and we really like it.


      However each time we have stayed there the AC does not run cold enough for us. My husband and I need a cold room... like Polar Bear cold. That is not going to happen here.


      Also the mattresses are hard core springs that are not very forgiving. We are used to sleeping on a Select comfort bed and the only thing that comes close to that are the beds in the deluxe resorts and on the new cruise ships.


      We love POP it is very fun and when your on a budget its the best out of all the Values but I think we are going to have to save our pennies to make sure we get to do at least the FQ or Wilderness Lodge.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      emilyrose0507

      Registered: November 2008
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Fri May 25, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, help in food court,
      Cons: Non

       
      We stayed at Pop May 16th-21. There were four adults and we had two rooms. 2452 and 2453. We liked the location, there was only one night that we were woken up to kids screaming coming back from the pool. We drove from CT and with the drive being 22 plus hours due to traffic and rain, we were very tired when we got there around 8am. I did the online check in a few days before but the lobby was empty. I was shocked to see that our rooms were ready. I had put 8 am for the check in time on the online check in. We were using the Deluxe dining plan for the first time. The gentlemen checking us in said it might be too much food. But he had not seen how much our two friends could eat. It was the best idea that we had. I had booked a buffet most mornings and then a nice dinner later that night and we did quick service during the day. One thing that I was worried about was the quick service with our one friend. He is allergic to Whey and I was not sure how well it would work out. The first day we were there we went to the room and dropped off our stuff then went to the food court. I found a manager right away and she called over a chief. In no time at all my friend was told what he could eat and then the chief went and fixed it for him. It was like this at every quick service place we went to. And the table service was the same. My friend has not been able to eat like that in a long time. He was spoiled. We only had snack credits the last day and were still able to have breakfast. You can get a snack size of eggs bacon and a danish and a juice. It was a good size meal and only four credits. We had four each left over too. We brought in our own water to the parks in a brita water bottles and had to buy the R2D2 buckets for a few friends so we snacked that way. This was my second time at Pop and we stay there again with no problem.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      vava2543

      Registered: February 2006
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Mon May 21, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): value, convenience
      Cons: Bus service

       
      We stayed at Pop May 6-10 2012. We had a great time and would highly recommend Pop Century to anyone looking for a Disney Experience on a budget. We used online checkin and Magical Express and both were fantastic! Very little waiting. We were in room 9109 which was ground floor facing the computer pool. Great location, go out the back of the building, cross the parking lot and you are at the bus stop. Very quiet, did not hear alot of noise from pool area or walkways and I am a light sleeper. Rooms are small but well laid out, sink is outside the shower/toilet room. Flat screen TV, a mini-fridge, dresser and table / 2 chairs and 2 double beds. Carpet was a little dingy but it really wasn't an issue.


      Cons:
      Bus service was an issue. Not that we ever had to wait for long except once at Animal Kingdom - it was the time spent loading scooters. If there are that many scooters requiring transport, run more buses!


      Food Court: decent food but always very crowded and disorganized. We only used the food court for snacks after the parks closed. Even with all check out lines open it still took 15 minutes to pay cash for a bottle of pop and there were only 2 people in line. Hard to navigate because of unsupervised children running wild throughout the place- which is typical Disney but it is a very small area.


      Overall, the Pop suited us just fine, we had a great time and will definitely return!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      block138

      Registered: May 2012
      Location: new mexico
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Mon May 21, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very green, tranquil and relaxing.
      Cons: It was very large and that meant it was alot of walking around and travelling when your tired.

       
      If you know you're going to be fine at the end of a long park day, then you're OK here. I was really tired at the end of my park days because I have to keep up with 3 kids not to mention I'm one of those fast walkers so I was really tired and the bus station and boats are far from most rooms and this resort feels like its far off the beaten trail. Plus sides - the pool is great, the cast members were friendly and it's so lush and green that it smells and looks awesome. We also spotted a lot of wildlife like snakes, birds, and fish.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Mrs Disneynut68

      Registered: May 2010
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Mon May 21, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Lobby area, Decor.
      Cons: Small rooms, not enough draw space, and Mousekeeping

       
      My husband and I recently returned from our 9th wedding anniversary trip to WDW. We stated at the Pop Century from May 11-19th. We love the Pop Century, and have stated there 4 times now. The only complaints that we have is Mousekeeping. The room always seemed to be dirty to me. The glass in the room (on the mirrors) were not cleaned once. We also found the room to be very dusty. The rooms at Pop are small, but adequate. My only other complaint is that there is no enough draw space. Overall our experience with Pop was great. Bus system is excellent, food court, Everything Pop, and Decor is great.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      BabieO

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Sat May 19, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Buses to parks
      Cons: needs to be updated again

       
      I just got back from pop century & I will say we always loved this resort, but this time I was a little disillusioned with it. The carpet was worn & tearing by the door, the air conditioning didn't work that great. My husband & I were both waking up sweating at night even with it turned down to the lowest setting (68). It looked as if someone had been painting outside (purple)& came into the room tan & touched the brush to the walls in two places 7 never bothered to clean it up. On 3 occasions on our 7 day stay the automatic door on one side were broken & the dryers took two cycles to dry the clothes. I have stayed here 3 times & once at port Orleans. I won't be staying at Pop again
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11 >

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.