Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • caleal

      Registered: March 2013
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sat April 20, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): theme, bus system
      Cons: thin walls, smaller rooms

       
      I stayed at the Pop recently (4/12 to 4/14). I had a wonderful time here! I don't know if we just lucked out on the perfect weekend to go, or if the opening of Art of Animation has lessened crowds, but I did not find the resort crowded at all like mentioned in a lot of previous reviews. I never had to wait too long for anything - no lines for check in, food court, shopping, etc.


      We did eat at the food court twice, once for breakfast and once for dinner. It's standard food court fare - nothing to write home about, but it gets the job done when you need a quick meal.


      The bus system is very efficent, we never had to wait too long going to or trying to come back from resorts, and we were always able to get a seat.


      It was a lot of fun just hanging around the resort. They have the three pools (I would recommend avoiding the Hippy Dippy Pool if you're wanting something quieter - it was always crawling with kids) and tons of space. The bar off of the main pool, Petals, is awesome and has tons of fun drinks. I also liked just walking around and seeing all of the themeing for the different buildings, and reading all of the yearly facts they have placed around. I also loved the wall of memorabilia in the lobby - it was tons of fun to walk down it and point out the things we remembered/recognized.


      The rooms themselves are fine. They're sort of small, but clean and neat. The walls are pretty thin- in certain areas of our room I was able to hear people in other rooms talking very clearly.


      While missing some of the amenities of the higher classes of resorts (room size, coffee makers, room service) this place is so much fun, we'll definitely be back!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      thetony45

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 67
      Review Date: Thu April 18, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wonderful Themeing Value Prices
      Cons: Can't think of any

       
      Recently returned from a quick WDW vacation and decided to try something new and stay at Pop Century. They have a red carpet rolled out to greet you as you exit the bus and Cast Members are there to greet you with a big smile. The lobby walls are lined with all sorts of memorabilia from the 50s-the 90s. they even have an alcove for kids with a flat screen and 2 arcade game cabinets


      Classic Hall (the main building) is home to the Everything Pop gift shop and Food Court. The gift shop is just your run of the mill shop with items like pins, plushes, shirts, and all other little things to buy if you forgot to in the parks. It also has the pick up station should you have any items shipped back to the resort.


      The Food Court had 5 different stations each offering something different. I ate 4 of the 5 meals I had during my stay here. 2 breakfasts 1 lunch and 1 dinner. For Breakfast one morning I went with a Western Omelet. It tasted ok. Not great but still good. The other morning I opted for French Toast and sausage. The French Toast was nice and thick with a lot of powdered sugar. The sausage pattys were very flavorful. For lunch I went with a grilled chicken sandwich. The chicken was a bit dry but then again breast meat always is. It came on a huge bun with spinach and tomatoes and tasted great. For dinner I went with an individual sized pepperoni pizza and 2 bread-sticks. People keep saying Disney can't make good pizza but I loved it. The pizza was very flavorful. The bread-sticks were soft and full of garlic flavor which I love. The dipping sauce was a but runny but that my only complaint.


      Now on to the Decor. The resort has 10 different buildings (minus Classic Hall) themed to various decades. The 1950s had 3 buildings with The Tramp, Lady, and a jukebox in front and Bowling pins as stairwells. In the middle of the 3 buildings was a bowling pin shaped pool. The 1960s had 2 buildings with Baloo and Mowgli from The Jungle Book in front of one and a giant jar of Play-Doh in front of the other with yo-yos as stairwells. Between the 2 buildings was the resorts main pool shaped like a flower and were various resort activities were held and the resort's poolside bar. There was also a smaller kiddie pool but it was closed for refurbishment at the time. Next to the 60s wing was a small water play area featuring Goofy holding a surfboard.


      The 1970's wing had 2 buildings with a giant Big Wheel and a vintage Mickey Mouse phone in front and giant 8 Track tapes as stairwells. There were two small areas with Twister mats painted on the ground and a giant Foosball set in between.


      Between the 70s and 80s wing was a giant Mr. and Mrs. Potato Head.


      The 1980s wing had 2 buildings with a giant Walkman and Roger Rabbit in front with Rubik's Cubes as stairwells. Each cube was in a different stage of being solved ranging from not solved at all to fully solved.


      The 1990s only had one building with a Computer in front and Cell Phones as Stairwells. In front of the building and between the 80s buildings was a pool shaped like a computer. Along the walkway all over the resort were signs saying various historical events that happened in each of the years in the wing's decade.


      My room was in the 80s wing. The room was kinda small with 2 double beds, a table with 2 chairs, a nightstand with a phone and alarm clock a dresser with 3 drawers, a mini fridge, and a flat screen TV a wall safe an iron and ironing board and a tiny bathroom. The sink was outside the bathroom and had a separate privacy screen if needed. The Bathroom was a small room with just a toilet and bathtub but i love love LOVE the shower heads Disney has.


      Like I said the room is kinda small but I travel alone and typically only need a room for a shower and a bed so it fit my needs perfectly.


      I opted to hang around the resort and was gonna catch the poolside movie. Halfway through Ratatouille the project died and wasn't fixable so the rest of the showing was canceled. I'm not holding that against Disney though. I work with electronics every day and know for a fact they are very temperamental and unpredictable.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Rfren

      Registered: April 2013
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Tue April 9, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Compact, not far to walk to bus and food court
      Cons: Small rooms

       
      We stayed at Pop the week of March 25, 2013 for the first time. Comparing to the moderate resorts where we stayed before, Pop is more compact, not far to walk from room to bus and food court. The rooms are very small with 2 double beds . We are used to sleeping in a king bed, so that was hard to do for 8 nights. There is no coffee maker in the room either. The pools were very basic, no bells or whistles, however my young children enjoyed swimming just as well. The food was okay. Overall, we stayed there for the price but would not stay there again due to the cramped space.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mmfan

      Registered: February 2007
      Posts: 75
      Review Date: Wed March 27, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): value for your dollar
      Cons: food court

       
      We moved to this resort from the Caribbean Beach when our stay was extended due to a snowstorm in the Midwest. The extra stay was an unexpected and unbudgeted expense so we moved to this value resort. We have stayed at the Pop before, and knew it was the best of the value resorts. The bell staff at CB came exactly at the time requested to move our luggage for us, and it was promptly brought to our room after check in at the PC.


      We were in a king bed room as requested, though we were told that the only king beds left were accessible rooms, no tub. But our room had rails for the toilet and a showerhead on a hose, that was the only difference, we had a tub and the room looked the same as any other room. We were in the 900 building, so a far walk to the food court but not that bad to the buses.


      Our room was clean and well maintained, though we laughed at the difference in towels and toilet tissue between the moderate and value resorts.. We found the bed very comfortable. At times you could hear noise from other rooms, nothing that kept us from resting. One advantage in being farther away from the food court/check in is that the area is quieter.


      As we just needed a room to sleep and shower, a value resort is fine. Bus service was very good, only had a long wait once.


      The main problem with the Pop is the food court. We tend to eat most meals in the parks or other resorts, but the one AM we tried to have breakfast was a nightmare. Way too busy, kids running around, confusion about the dining plan all added to the chaos. Food selection is extensive, but our food got cold waiting to pay and finding a table.


      We personally do not care for the atmosphere of the Pop, preferring a more "adult" feel but for families or those looking to maximize their dollars, the Pop is great. The convenience of staying on Disney property is undeniable, and staying in the magic is so much fun!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mgilmore

      Registered: January 2013
      Location: Pittsburgh, PA
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Thu March 21, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Love the decor
      Cons: Hard beds

       
      I have stayed at POP 5 times, and really love the theming here. I also love the fact that they have their own dedicated buses that serve this resort alone, and don't share with the All Stars.


      I recently spent a week at WDW from March 6-12 2013, for my birthday.


      My only complaint is as others have said...the beds are a bit hard. I prefer a softer mattress.
      Honestly, I spend all day at the parks, morning till night. All I do in my room is sleep and shower. It was a little too cool during this trip to swim.


      Mousekeeping this trip was the best ever! She left me messages every day along with a towel animal or she did amazing designs with the towels near the sink area. I was very pleased.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lcarry

      Registered: March 2013
      Location: Ontario, Canada
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue March 19, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Bus service, mousekeeping
      Cons: Food court

       
      We stayed at Pop for 7 days this December/January. This was our first trip to Disney World. The rooms were clean and sufficient, nothing too fancy but it did feel like Disney. We had a room with a view of the pool which was really nice. Mousekeeping was excellent and my DD (5) really enjoyed coming back to see what had been done with all her toys. Our main complaint was the food court. We were there at a very busy time and so the food court was usually full. I found that the staff were not friendly. We were on a ddp and were not sure of our selections with the plan and when asking the staff they were not very helpful. Overall our stay at Pop was nice and I would stay again hoping that at a quieter time the staff in the food court might not be so overwhelmed and unfriendly.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MellieBeans

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: FL Panhandle
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Sun March 17, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Bus system, service, location
      Cons: Beds

       
      We have really grown to love Pop Century. It's location, it's service (Disneyesque)and their bus system are enough to keep us coming back every time. My ONLY complain, my chief complaint, stay after stay, is their beds. They're not comfortable, they're not soft, they're not even close. The bedspreads are so heavy that I can barely move it. My single wish is that they would update to more comfortable beds, something to look forward to after long day's in and out of the parks!
      We love Pop, and will probably stay here again and again.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      pkf4bucs

      Registered: March 2008
      Location: Alabama
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Wed March 6, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Best value
      Cons: None

       
      We stayed for Marathon weekend and this was our first stay at Pop. Other then missing the mod and deluxe perks there is nothing bad I can say about this resort. We are staying here when we return to Disney in March. Having a dedicated bus system is wonderful under like the All Stars.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bjpatton

      Registered: March 2013
      Location: Washington Court House, Ohio
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun March 3, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Short bus rides to most of the property
      Cons:

       
      We just got back from a week at the Pop Century Resort, and we think it's much better than the All-Stars. This one is more centrally located (so shorter bus rides time), seem to have better upkeep, the food was better, and it was quieter than the All-Stars. The only downfall is trying to get from one resort to another for a character breakfast, so we had to go Hollywood Studios to catch the boat over to Beach Club for breakfast, but we did make it in time! We are definitely staying here again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mdelnero

      Registered: February 2013
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Thu February 21, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): colorful and fun, bus service
      Cons: nothing really

       
      I was a little nervous staying here at a value resort. We've been to Caribbean Beach, Wilderness Lodge and Polynesian. We enjoyed this resort so much. This was a trip with our foster children, they just loved the pool in January. The resort is just so colorful and fun! The bus service was not only excellent, we met so many nice families, it was really good socialization for our kids. I would wholeheartedly recommend this resort to families looking for all the perks of staying at a Disney Resort. The only negative was a girls sports group of some kind, they were a little loud, especially in the food court, but nothing that we were bothered by too much.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      momof3inMadisonAL

      Registered: December 2009
      Location: Niceville, FL
      Posts: 80
      Review Date: Wed February 13, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): cost
      Cons: small

       
      We stayed at POP after hearing how everyone loved it over All Stars. Honestly, don't see what all the hype was about. Nor do I see why it costs more than All Stars. It is the same layout as All Stars. We stayed in a nonpreferred room - got the 50s section which was far from the food court. At least at ASMovies, the standard rooms are right next to the food court for ASMusic. I requested a ground floor room. We got the 4th floor. There were a lot of high school groups so in retrospect, I'm glad they didn't put me on the ground floor with them.


      When we checked in, my DH room key did not work for charging. After several trips to the front desk trying to sort it out (they had to cancel and rebook the room for some reason and ended up giving us extra meals on our DDP), we got his to work, but then my and 3 kid keys didn't open the doors. We gave up and just dealt with it.


      It was fine. Small. Nothing special. We don't spend much time in our room.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tkatgh

      Registered: May 2008
      Location: Dallas, Texas
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Tue February 12, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): price, fun atmosphere
      Cons: tiny rooms

       
      This was our first time to stay at a value resort and our 5th time to WDW. We were here Feb. 4-9, 2013. We have stayed at the Boardwalk 3 times and at POFQ once. My husband like the POP better than POFQ. It is very clean and very large. We were in the 80s area. It was quite a hike to the food court but it is fun to go different ways and see the things such as the 8 track tapes, mickey phone, twister games, etc. My children enjoyed the playground and the pool in the 80s area.


      The rooms are very small...I was actually able to open the door to the room while lying in bed. If you aren't spending much time in your room it is a fine place to stay. You can hear the toilets flush in other rooms and you can hear outside noise.


      Housekeeping was excellent.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      brittniqueen

      Registered: February 2013
      Location: Georgia
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Fri February 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): bus system, food court
      Cons: mousekeeping

       
      Pop Century is normally where we stay and love. So we decided to stay here again. Check in was easy and we had a room only and a package. They kept us in the same room so we didn't have to move and we got the 60's building like I requested. The backside of 60's is not preferred!


      Bus system was good like normal. The food court is one of my favorites very easy to navigate and many great options. Did have one issue with pizza not being fully cooked but that was fixed.


      Mousekeeping was not as good as normal. No towel animals, we kept things mostly clean but they didn't do anything at all except make the beds. Im so used to them being really great with the kids stuffed animals and they didn't do anything which was a let down cause it was a birthday trip for my daughter. But they left food in our room, I'm always used to mousekeeping taking trays from the room, normal, but now they do not and I did not know that. Now they want you to put the food on the tray outside your room. OK, I guess until we were woke up by at least 20 crows outside our room going crazy over our neighbors pizza! Not cool!


      But all in all, it was good normal. I would recommend but I might not be back there for a while.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mycadoo

      Registered: November 2008
      Location: new jersey
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Fri February 1, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): None
      Cons: Noisy over crowded and management doesnt address issues

       
      Hotel was over booked with tour groups it clearly cannot handle. Apparently individual families don't matter, only the money they get from these groups. Food court is overrun, yelling screaming, stomping, it's a nightmare.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      KrazeeK120

      Registered: August 2009
      Location: Bloomington, IL
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Tue January 29, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean, friendly, good food court & shopping
      Cons: Beds were hard

       
      Stayed here 1/17-1/20.


      Checked in around 10 PM. We had requested a king room in the '50s section, which we got. We ate at the food court the first night and the food was good. My husband ate breakfast all 3 days and said it was good.


      The room was clean and well-lit. The bed was a little hard for my taste, as were the pillows.


      The parking lot was pretty close to our room.


      The entire resort was lively and fun to be at. The store in the main building was great - had a large selection of items.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11 >

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.