Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • JacPalPop

      Registered: February 2014
      Location: Jacksonville, FL
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Thu February 27, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean room, Check-in, Location to pool and buses
      Cons: None. Everything was perfect

       
      Everything was great. We were in building 9 with a parking lot view. Great location right buy the buses and just around the corner was the computer pool. Check in was easy, we arrived early (8am) made our room request and went to the parks. The front desk staff was great. We were told our room number would be texted to us when our room was ready, but was asked to check at the front desk again. When getting our room number my 6 year old son was asking one of the managers a question, the manager knelt down to be on his level, I love that such great care and service. Room was perfect size for the two of us but two small for when all four members of my family travel. Classic Years was nice, food was good and my son enjoyed the arcade. All in all a great trip.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      elstarrmom

      Registered: February 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun February 23, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cost
      Cons: Parking, Property Signage, lines, food court

       
      I stayed at Pop Century twice in the same week so I had 2 check ins and check outs. Even with online Check In, check in took more than 20 minutes. During my 2nd check in my room was not ready, I was given magic bands and told I'd receive a text message with my room number. When I returned to Pop Century at about 1am I was LOST trying to find parking for "the 70's" building #6. I drove the property with my daughter for 15 minutes, then went into lobby for help. With 1 agent working and a tour group just arrived I waited 30 minutes before I finally spoke up and asked if security could show me to my room. No security was available to help. I found the signage on the property to be inadequate -- even the Disney employee had trouble finding my room!
      IMHO some of the buildings are very inconvenient if you are using a car rather than Disney buses. The front desk was not staffed for the number of people checking in and out.
      The food court has begun using the "time out" features on the soda machines. If you buy a refillable mug you are limited in how often it can be refilled. If you buy a single use cup it may only be refilled 3 times and there is a 5 minute delay in between each fill.
      If you stay at Pop Century, understand it is a Value Resort with long lines, lots of tour groups, and crowded food court.
      The room was clean and adequate. The noise level is high, I could hear every time a person walked in the room above me, or when the rooms above or next to me flushed a toilet. Once mousekeeping started working at about 7am their was a constant noise of carts and vacuums. For a reasonable prince you get the extra benefits of staying on property, but there are tradeoffs. Seems best suited to people traveling without their own car.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      hello12345

      Registered: June 2010
      Posts: 70
      Review Date: Mon February 3, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Price
      Cons: Large Tourist Groups

       
      Stayed in Building 10 (70's) Jan 30-Feb 2. Arrived at about 8:15 am and they had a room ready. Check-in was quick and easy. We were using the wrist bands so everything was on them. I was able to link my annual passes, fastpass+ selections, charging, and room key all to the band.


      Our room was on the corner of the courtyard facing the foosball players and the lake. The area was quiet for the most part. However, the one day we decided to take a timeout and rest at the room for a few hours we had to listen to a South American school group sing, clap, and chant in the courtyard. Why they picked that courtyard I don't know? This brings up my major issue at value resorts. You have to put up with large groups almost anytime of the year. A big high school dance competition was going on at HS so a imagine the All-Star resorts were even worse during this weekend. I'm starting to think there is no slow time of the year at Disney anymore.


      We did not use the food court. It looked to be very busy every morning when we walked by. The gift shop is attached to the dining area. The gift shop was nicer and bigger than the All-Star Sports.


      Our room was adequate. The room is small as expected. We area family of 4, but we spend most of time at parks or pool so room size is not a huge issue. Beds were ok. I noticed mildew on the corner of the shower tiles and a layer of dust on the shelf above the mini-fridge. Our room was cleaned by 1pm.


      The main pool near Classic Hall serves the purpose. Kids were disappointed with no slide and adults wanted hot tub. Other than those differences you also have to bring towels to pool. Moderates and deluxe have towels for use at the pool area.


      The bus service was pretty good. We never waited more than 10 minutes coming or going for a Pop Century bus. Major complaint is no shade/shelter at Classic Hall bus stops. While we waited in the rain several times the bus driver took his time loading motorized scooters first. Disney should consider a system where people with motorized scooters and people with large land yacht strollers have to wait for a special bus. Anyway.....


      Overall our experience at Pop was better than All-Star Sports. I just like the feel of the Deluxe resorts better. Some of the little things make staying at a Deluxe or Moderate worth the extra cash. I have to give Pop an above average rating because it served our purpose for this trip with no major problems.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      melanieinma

      Registered: December 2012
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sun January 26, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Price
      Cons: Food court,noise

       
      I stayed Jan. 20-25. I could hear every thing that was going on in the other rooms around me. I could literally hear some one going to the bath room then flush when they were done. Disgusting to say the least. The food court the worst I have experienced at Disney. I did not get one meal for my self or for my family that we were satisfied with whether it was cold, dried out or burgers that were in steamers instead of being grilled fresh. I can not say any thing good about this place.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      thetony45

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 67
      Review Date: Sat January 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): No Shared Buses, close to Epcot and DHS, Wonderful Theming
      Cons: None

       
      I recently returned from a 6 day, 5 night stay at Pop Century resort.


      The resort is themed to Pop Culture from the 1950s-1990s with the 50s wing having massive statues of Lady the dog, Tramp the dog, and a jukebox in front of the buildings and bowling pins as stairwells. The 50's wing is also home to a bowling pin shaped pool that is quieter than the main pool.


      The 60's wing has Baloo and Moguli from The Jungle Book and a jar of Play-Doh in front and various color Yo-Yos as stairwells. This is also where the resort's main pool and kiddie pool are located, both shaped like flowers. Various activities take place here during the day and a poolside movie under the stars at night. It can be a bit noisy so if you are ;looking for peace and quiet in the middle of the day, request a different wing. Near the pool is also the poolside bar but I didn't partake in anything there.


      I was staying in the 70's wing which had a giant Big Wheel and Vintage Mickey Mouse telephone in front, 8-Trac tapes as stairwells, and a giant Foosball set between the buildings as well as 2 small areas with Twister mats painted on the ground. Between the 60s and 70s wing was a small water play area featuring Goofy holding a surfboard.


      The 80's wing had Mr. and Mrs. Potato Head nearby with a giant Walkman and Roger Rabbit out front and Rubik's Cubes in various states of being solved as stairwells.


      The 90s wing building had a laptop out front and cell phones as stairwells.


      Between the 80s buildings and in front of the 90s on was the computer shaped pool, also a quiet pool.


      Around the resort were sings telling about major events that happened during that particular decade.


      Nestled behind the Big Wheel 70s building was a small play area for children. Near all 3 pools was guest laundry facilities.


      Classic Hall was the resort's main building being the home of the main lobby with memorabilia from the years lining the walls as well as a kid's area with games and TV, the Fast Forward arcade (that I didn't visit this trip) and the Everything Pop Gift Shop and Food Court.


      The gift shop had a lot of the same merchandise you could find anywhere on property but also sold things you may need like sunscreen, moleskin pads, pain reliever, magazines, etc.


      The food court had a wide variety of options between 5 stations. I personally only had 2 meals there. 1 breakfast and 1 dinner. For breakfast I opted for biscuits and gravy. Being from the south that was a no brainier. The biscuit was light, fluffy, and flavorful and gravy was no to thick, not to thin and tasted wonderful. For dinner I had Pepperoni Pizza bread which was delicious and some of the Tye-dye cheesecake which I didn't think much of, but then again I am VERY particular when it comes to cheesecake. Also at the food court you can buy the mugs that can be refilled unlimited times during your stay. I read many people complaining about issues with the new RFID system. I personally had no issues. Set your mug on the tray, fill it up, remove mug. You have to wait 2 minutes between refills to minimize sharing.


      Pop Century is the only resort on it's bus line which was a major factor in why I opted to stay there other the lesser priced All star resorts which share a bus between the 3 resorts. Buses came regularly and I was never made to wait long nor where they ever super crowded like the All Star buses. Only once was I not able to sit during the trip.


      The room itself was very clean and was kept that way daily by Mousekeeping. In the room was 2 full beds, a nightstand with a phone and alarm clock, a small table with 2 chairs, a dresser with 3 drawers with a large flat screen TV on top and a mini fridge, a small area with a sink and mirror outside of the bathroom, and a small bathroom with a tub and toilet. Personally while at Disney all I need a room for is a bed and a shower so this fit my needs perfectly although I do see where it could be a bit cramped for a family.


      The only complaint I had was I requested a lake view so I could see the Art Of Animation resort across the hourglass lake but got a room on the opposite side of the building but since I was hardly ever in the room, that was a minor issue.


      If you want a resort with a ton of things to do outside the parks and a sit down restaurant Pop Century is not for you, but if you are a nostalgia buff like me you will love it here. Especially where they hold dance parties in the food court like when I was invited by Cast Members to do The Twist. Either it is more strenuous then it looks, or I am VERY out of shape.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jackiejzhou

      Registered: January 2014
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Mon January 20, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): location, transportation, price, food.
      Cons:

       
      Stayed there Jan 7-10, 2014. I took my 9 year old son on DW winter special. The room is clean, perfect for 2 of us. Could be too small for 4. We arrived at 5.00 am, took the DW express to the hotel, and the room was ready to move in. Maid service is prompt. Front desk is very nice. Bus is frequent. We never waited more than 5 minutes. We had room service one night with bread sticks and chicken wings. It was very good. We had a quiet room in the 70th facing the lake. The only con. is there is no sound proof between rooms. I could hear next door going to the bathroom. Fortunately, no one snored:)
      Click here to see this users profile  
      KIL2814

      Registered: January 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu January 16, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean, bus transportation was fine (no shared buses)
      Cons: food court could use some updating

       
      I wanted to post a review since I just read several somewhat negative reviews and we had a wonderful experience there and would stay there again. We stayed at Pop from 12/22 to 12/28/13. It was our first trip to Disney as a family and we had a preferred room. The room was very clean and let's face it, you are not in the room that much. I thought the bus transportation was excellent. There was no bus sharing like with the All Star Resorts. Yes it was busy because we were there at Christmas but we took advantage of the extra magic hrs. and never had to wait more than a few minutes for a bus. The kids loved the pool and didn't seem to mind the food court. We did online check-in and had magic bands and check-in/out was a breeze. We arrived an hour or so before check-in and our room was ready for us. My only complaint, and it's not Disney's fault, were the rude people (other guests) in the food court. The refillable mugs were great but it was very annoying to be standing there filling your mug and someone else just shoves theirs in front of you. By the end of the trip I was glad to get away from crowds of rude people, but unfortunately, you are going to run into them everywhere.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Mirner77

      Registered: January 2014
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Thu January 9, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, bus transportation system
      Cons: None

       
      After reading about the length of the walk to the rooms at the Art of Animation, we opted to stay at Pop Century. We truly were not disappointed. We sprung extra for a preferred room and this was really great since we got a room super close to the transportation and the food court. We requested a room on the top floor which we received. Our room was very quiet despite facing the pool. The room was kept super clean by Mousekeeping. We had two towel animals. A Mickey on arrival and a little one also mid-week. The food court was always busy, but there was always room to sit. Staff was wonderful! Friendly and helpful as can be! We had yogurt parfaits for breakfast, which were wonderful! We had burgers one night and it was all very good! No complaints and refillable cups are great! The amount of time we spent in the room was so minimal and I didn't find the size of the rooms was an issue at all for my family of 4 (2 adults, 15 year old and a 7 year old). We were only in our room to go to sleep and to get ready in the morning. I see no need to spend more on a "deluxe or moderate" accommodation when we're only there for minimal amounts. Pool area was cleaned daily. I will definitely be returning to the Pop Century!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      michelle032203

      Registered: January 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed January 8, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean resort Area, Buses weren't crowded
      Cons: Bathroom shower was horrible

       
      We stayed there from December 26-31, Check in was very easy and simple, the lobby was decorated very nicely for the them. The kids found all the objects from the different decades very interesting. Our room was a nice size room for a Value resort. The bathroom shower was the worst part of the room. We only used the pools once during our stay and they were nice. No slides or hot tubs but that is what I expect out of a value resort. The bus service was nice, the stop for the bus was in the front of the resort. We never waited to long for a bus and they weren't to crowded even though the parks were the most crowded I had ever seen them.
      The food court wasn't what I expected. We felt like it didn't have enough choices and the kids choices weren't very kid friendly. I thought for a Value resort they would have better selections since a lot of people would be eating there versus a deluxe resort. The food seemed a little fancy and expensive. We walked over to Art of Animation's food court one day to see if it was any better and it was worse on food selection. Overall we loved staying here and it has been our favorite Value Resort we have stayed at. If you are looking for one of the cheaper resorts I would recommend this over the All- Star Resorts.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bosslady79

      Registered: September 2012
      Location: Wisconsin
      Posts: 44
      Review Date: Tue January 7, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): everything
      Cons: nothing

       
      Stayed 10 nights Nov 11-20. Everything was awesome. For the amount of time spent in the parks, why pay extra for a moderate or deluxe. first time staying at this resort, will definately be back. Only minor issue, AC unit is a bit loud.
      Food court good for breakfast and lunch. Short bus line waits. Could use some minor refurbs to paint.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      annahdean

      Registered: December 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue December 24, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): clean room, friendly staff, convenient parking, etc.
      Cons: none

       
      We stayed at Pop from 12/14 – 12/20. This was my third stay and the whole experience was great. We waited maybe 2 or 3 minutes to check in (at 3:30 p.m. on a Sat.). The guy was very friendly. They had us booked in the 70s, but I asked if we could move to the 50s near Lady and the Tramp for my 4-year-old’s viewing pleasure. He made a quick call and we were allowed to move to the 50s, 1st floor, building 1, right in front of the bowling pin pool. I felt it was probably a preferred room as it was just steps from the pool and only one building was between us and the food court/main building; however, we paid for a standard room, so I was ecstatic.
      He did forget to tell us to set up a pin for our Magic Bands, so when I went to grab our mugs and a snack, I couldn’t purchase them. I had to go back to a lady with an iPad at the check-in area. It took all of 5 minutes, not a huge inconvenience. It’s human error. It could happen at a moderate or deluxe.
      Parking was very convenient just outside our building also, not to mention we needed assistance at the end of our stay to jump our car off from leaving the lights on, someone was there within minutes and took care of it.
      Our room was clean, and we had plenty of clean towels (and wash cloth animals most days) with new soap and shampoo replenished every day.
      As far as the food court goes, there’s a pretty decent selection (the brisket was actually really good). There are never enough cashiers in the food court, but hello, you’re at Disney. There is going to be some waiting in lines.
      What I did appreciate was when my 4-year-old said his hamburger tasted like smoke (flame grilled), and he wouldn’t eat it. A girl was restocking the jelly and sauces and overheard him. She asked if he would like an Uncrustable PB&J, and she immediately brought him one (no charge).
      We never waited more than 10 minutes for a bus and although at some parks the Pop bus stall is a far walk, that’s not the case for all four parks. I remember it was close at some. You have to appreciate there is no sharing buses with other resorts, whereas some of the Deluxe resorts do share.
      I read other reviews complaining of children running around and no embellishments in the room. Well, we brought our own Disney plush toys and embellished it ourselves, and my child was one running around. So whether you will like Pop or not depends on your expectations. If you want a quiet, fancy scene, it isn’t for you. It was perfect for us.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      memakwed

      Registered: February 2009
      Posts: 53
      Review Date: Sat December 21, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): clean
      Cons: check in/out

       
      We have never stayed at a value usually a moderate occasionally a deluxe. this trip we knew we would arrive in the evening before our ressies at POR so we thought we would try a value for one night. Originally I wanted All Start Movie but they couldn't accommodate so we opted for POP. The grounds were manicured and the rooms were clean. If that was all that I was evaluating I would return. It is basic, no embellishments in the room but fine if you aren't using the room a lot. My problem stems with check in and out. We checked in at 7pm and the woman who helped us kept us there for 45 minutes wheile she was on hold with mouse keeping to find out if our room was ready because we had a special VIP cleaning due to my son's health issue. We also had requested a handicap room for a wheel chair. We were a party of 2 adults and 1 child for 1 room and my parents had a separate ressie for a room as well. 45 minutes later we were sent to our room. When we arrived on the 3rd floor there were two rooms with the same number. WHAT? so we went to my parent's room and I called the front desk to find out which was ours. Turned out both. I was the handicap room with a King and 1 was 2 doubles not handicapped, the rooms connected. Didn't make sense at all. At the front desk the woman said since we were switching resorts in the morning we should come down and check out in person. So in the morning we did just that or so we thought. The woman at the desk took our names punched it in the computer and said we were all set. But we weren't. At POR we went to check in and found out that we weren't checked out at the other hotel at all. The woman at POR made it easy and took care of it. She checked us out and then checked us in.
      Oh and the running screaming kids were too much in the lobby just ridiculous. We all agreed we will not go back if there is a choice and we always have a choice. I would try a different value though based on the room and the room only. Glad we were only there for 1 night.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wdwfan6

      Registered: March 2006
      Location: MA
      Posts: 78
      Review Date: Fri December 13, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Close to EPCOT & Studios, Housekeeping
      Cons: Front desk, room, foodcourt, transportation, out of control Pop Warner kids

       
      Just returned from staying at Pop Century. Wanted to give Pop another try, but should have just spent the extra $$ and stayed somewhere else.


      Pros: My housekeeper was very good and the room was cleaned well each day. The other pro was that it is not too far from EPCOT & the Studios.


      Cons: Check-in/out is bad. Long lines, managers just standing there with clipboards reviewing the few cast members at the desk. If you see lines that long, put down the clipboard and take care of a customer. Had continuous problems getting into my room with the new Magic Band. This resort needs some serious maintenance. There was a gap along the length of the door to where you could see light coming through, as well as a draft and bugs. The towels are thin and there are none at the pools. Did not know that until I got to the pool and had to ask a cast member. The food was just ok in the foodcourt. Very little options for grab & go (2 kinds of sandwiches?). Transportation to/from this resort is the worst. This resort's bus stop is the furthest away at every park. 35 minute wait for a bus to EPCOT???? Pop Warner overflow from the All Stars were at this resort. Kids running around, screaming, etc with little to no adult supervision. Wanted to like this resort, but will stick to the French Quarter.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wattage

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: Richmond Virginia
      Posts: 70
      Review Date: Wed November 20, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Price, housekeeping, front desk staff
      Cons: Location, food court

       
      We stayed at Pop Century 11/1 – 11/5/2013. We stayed in a double room (two double beds) in the 80’s sections, building 7, on the second floor facing the pool area. Right near Roger Rabbit’s rear end!! We had a rental car for the entirety of this trip so I cannot speak to the bus situation. Our room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. We had a roll-a-way for our 14yo daughter that was brought to our room within ten minutes of our arrival.


      On our first night, my wife found a shoe print on her flat sheet. We called to have the bed remade. Housekeeping came within five minutes and removed all the bed clothes down to the bare mattress, and replaced them all in less than ten minutes – including the bed spread. This all happened after 10PM. The housekeepers apologized several times for our inconvenience – even though it was not their fault.


      The rest of our hotel related stay was great. Housekeeping helped us with our daughter when she got sick all over my bedspread and brought us extra towels to help with her illness. She was sick for two days. I can’t say enough nice things about housekeeping. I left them a big tip when we checked out!!


      Due to my daughter’s illness, we had to reschedule our FastPass + rides for two days. The front desk concierge was very helpful in getting all of them re-scheduled.


      Food court can become a real zoo, go early, or late.


      We are DCV members, and the rooms were much smaller than we are used to. If we run out of points again, all-in-all, I would stay at Pop Century again, but only if I had a rental car!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      WDWAndy

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Mon November 18, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Pool, Improved Food Court, Very Close Parking, Mousekeeping
      Cons: A bit noisy

       
      Just got home from staying 6 nights at POP. It was wonderful for our 2 young daughters (7&5). They loved the pools and activities they had each afternoon (crafts, bingo etc). The biggest surprise for my wife and I were the food selections at the food court area. Flatbreads, juicy burgers, big salads, curry shrimp, and healthier options were abundant.
      The best part for me was the convenient parking. We stayed in the 50's section and parked just outside our building. All sections have this convenient feature.
      Check-in for us was easy, we did the pre-check-in option and when we arrived the entire process took less than 10 mins.
      Drinks at the pool bar were wonderful, pricey but what to you expect? Kids enjoyed the pools staying open until 12am.
      Mousekeeping was amazing the entire trip. Rooms were cleaned very well, towel animals were made for us each day and the rooms were always done by the time we returned from the parks. Left a note asking for more towels and we had a pile of fresh towels that night when we returned and each night after as well. Rented a car so only used bus a few times, but the entire process seemed to be an efficient operation. Nice options at the gift shop as well including diapers, etc.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11 >

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.