Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • RSZB

      Registered: August 2006
      Location: Allentown, PA
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sun June 29, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): price
      Cons: lack of ceiling fan

       
      This was my first stay at the Pop Century resort for one night – June 20th. We checked into our preferred room (6408) at 10:30am. It overlooked the foosball game in the courtyard. We were only there for one night, but it was quiet and close to the main building. The room size was adequate for the 2 of us on a girls’ trip, but would be a challenge for my family of 4. The bedding was comfortable and we were greeted with towels shaped into a Mickey head. I missed not having a ceiling fan and second sink.


      Even though we didn’t have a chance to eat there, the food court seemed to have many options. (As a side note, my family loves the Riverside food court.) I strolled through the gift shop which was well stocked with a large variety of merchandise. Take the time to view the shadow boxes on the wall across from the check-in desk. They were definitely a “blast from the past!” We passed by the large pool area, which was very sunny and not crowded.

      The bus service was just okay – maybe it was our timing. During our short stay, we took the bus from the resort to Downtown Disney and back and then to Hollywood studios and back. Each bus had 2-4 wheel chairs and/or scooters to load. Each trip took 30-35 minutes from the time we arrived at the bus stop to when we left.


      We took a walk across the bridge to visit the Art of Animation resort at night. The short walk across the bridge and on the main pathways are very well lit. The pool area was gated and required a room key to access. The main building is similar in design to Pop. Each section is themed to a movie and is very fun!


      The cast members at Pop were very friendly, attentive, and interacted with all age levels. I’ve stayed at all resort levels and felt there was no difference in service between this value and moderate or deluxe.

      I would recommend the Pop for those who spend the majority of their time in the parks.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Time2Talk

      Registered: June 2014
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sat June 14, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Pricing and location to Magic Kingdom
      Cons: Pool closes at 11 p.m.; no cover over lines for transportation; and no table service dining

       
      My hotel room was neat and clean. The beds were comfortable. The rides to and from the parks were very quick.


      I was disappointed that the pools closed at 11 p.m. I wish there was at least one quiet pool that remained open, especially after the parks closed later.


      I've stayed at different hotels at Disney World. I find that I'm only in the hotel for sleeping. The price makes the Pop Century very attractive. I would stay at Pop Century again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      peytonshea02

      Registered: October 2006
      Posts: 127
      Review Date: Sun June 1, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): theming, rooms, food court options
      Cons:

       
      We are back from our 4th stay at POP. We stayed 5/20-5/28. We requested 60's lake view when we made our reservation. We did online check in and selected 60's lake view. We arrived around noon on the 20th - Our room was ready and guess what we got for a room?.....YES! 60's lake view! We were in building 4, on the fourth floor. Room 4456 to be specific. It was PERFECT. Super close to the main pool but facing the lake so it was super quiet. We never heard a sound from the pool activities or nightly movies. We had a breathtaking view of AOA. And I mention the specific room number because the nights we were in our room at 9:00 (which were far and few between) we could open our door and see Illuminations from Epcot.
      The room was immaculate when we arrived. We loved the new bedding. Simple white bedding with just the runner of the previous bed spread. Much less tacky. Wink They also added a nice 4 peg rack to the room which was a great help with our pool towels. The last 2 trips we stayed at AKL and the 1 thing I really missed? No ceiling fan. I really missed that! I hate no air in the room.
      The food court has undergone some menu changes since our last visit. We ate quite a few meals there this stay and enjoyed it very much. I will post the specifics on the dining review board. Smile Is it crazy during peak dining hours? Yup. It's a food court at Disney. That being said, we never had a problem finding a clean table. The service was excellent. The only pain in the tail issue we had was the Diet Coke was flat more times than not. That makes me cranky. But I move on quickly.
      The pool was a lovely, much needed break, during the crazy heat of the week. I will say this..if you want quiet..the main pool is not the place to be in the afternoon or evening. They had dance parties and pool activities all afternoon and the nightly movie is at 9:00. Our kids and the gajillions of other kids loved it. But if you are looking for some quiet time, go to one of the other 2 pools.
      We always always rent a car when we go to the World - so no comments on the bus system.
      This trip was all about being in the Parks, so POP was a great fit for us! If you have reasonable expectations, you will have a fabulous stay! We loved everything about our stay. Smile
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Angelc1420

      Registered: March 2009
      Location: Tennessee
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Fri May 30, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere!
      Cons: Food Court Choices

       
      This was our 4th stay at Pop - we love it! I did the online check in and our room was ready when we arrived at 9:30. The food court choices had changed since our last visit and we weren't quite as impressed, but the breakfast was always great. Never had to wait more than 10 minutes for a bus which was great because it was really hot this trip. Can't wait to stay here again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      clyde0523

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Sun May 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): price, theming, restaurant
      Cons: size of rooms

       
      Pop Century is a great value resort as long as you keep in mind that you will be sleeping and showering here only. The rooms and bathrooms are on the small side and I'm not sure who decided the beds were queen size, but they are more like full or double beds.
      The theming is excellent and fun! There are lots of photo opportunities around the resort. There are 3 heated pool options with lifeguards on duty at all three. The pools have plenty of seating and options for families.
      The on site restaurant is really good and offers multiple options for breakfast, lunch and supper. The staff is very friendly and willing to help with questions about dining plans. The gift shop is also excellent and carries a variety of Disney items. Express check in/check out is wonderful and I highly recommend using the online options!
      The resort over all is great for the price, just don't go in expecting the luxury you will get from more expensive Disney hotels.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DisneyStrong86

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Thu May 15, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Friendly, Attractive, Least Amount of Walking
      Cons: None

       
      We call Pop Century our "Disney Home."
      We just love everything there is to love about Pop Century, like the atmosphere theme of all the different centuries. We have always encountered friendly cast members who are always ready to help.


      The food court at Pop is WONDERFUL although there is always a line somewhere. The hotel has a wonderful lay out where you will do the least amount of walking compared to other hotels.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      maearly
      MAEARLY

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sun May 4, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Buses, Bar, Food
      Cons: A little noisy

       
      My wife and I generally stayed at POR & POFQ. We wanted to save a little money for a quick trip from 4/28-5/2 so we stayed at POP. It was my first time to stay there. We chose it because of the dedicated bus system and it lived up. We never waited long at all for a bus.
      Food court was good and we also made a trip to AOA's food court just across the bridge to try the "create your own pasta" which was convenient and the pasta was great. The Petals bar was great and the folks were friendly and the drinks were very good.
      We stayed in a room close to the pool so that may have contributed to the noise con. But there was also a TON of middle school and high school students there on band and senior trips, so that was a lot of the noise.
      The room was OK. The bed was surprisingly comfortable. The room and the bathroom was small but we were fine with that seeing as we spent just enough time in there to sleep and bathe.
      Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be going back.

      ------------------------------
      Michael
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tink

      Registered: April 2006
      Location: new york
      Posts: 22
      Review Date: Thu April 3, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): decoration of the resort & buses came quickly&lake
      Cons: no hot tub

       
      I stayed here 2/23-3/2. Stayed in the 70's building, top floor. I did on-line check in. When I arrived about noon, I was given my welcome packet. The room was ready by 1 pm. I didn't hear the plumbing as loudly as previous posts have said previously. Maybe because of the location of the room (there was a hall way next to it) and it was on the top floor? The longest I waited for a bus was 16min for extra magic hour to DHS. For MK, a couple of buses came at once. I didn't leave MK right after the fire works, but at Epcot after Illuminations, they sent buses one after the other. I also took the Art of Animation bus once because it was already there. It is an 8-10 min walk from the main building for AoA resort to the main building of Pop century. I ate breakfast here twice. At 7.30, was not crowded, by 8:00 it was. Mickey waffles are only on a kids meal, but I ordered them anyway. It was relaxing walking and sitting by the lake.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Kg25

      Registered: March 2014
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sun March 16, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great clean room...lots to do
      Cons: Bus during extra magic hours

       
      Nice clean place to stay. Service is great. Food at the food court does not offer much variety and the quality is slightly below average. The buses were great, never waited more than15 minutes except during extra magic morning hours....I think there should be multiple buses for the park that is open early...by the time a bus comes for the early morning hours, you really don't get to the park early enough to enjoy that extra time.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      JacPalPop

      Registered: February 2014
      Location: Jacksonville, FL
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Thu February 27, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean room, Check-in, Location to pool and buses
      Cons: None. Everything was perfect

       
      Everything was great. We were in building 9 with a parking lot view. Great location right buy the buses and just around the corner was the computer pool. Check in was easy, we arrived early (8am) made our room request and went to the parks. The front desk staff was great. We were told our room number would be texted to us when our room was ready, but was asked to check at the front desk again. When getting our room number my 6 year old son was asking one of the managers a question, the manager knelt down to be on his level, I love that such great care and service. Room was perfect size for the two of us but two small for when all four members of my family travel. Classic Years was nice, food was good and my son enjoyed the arcade. All in all a great trip.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      elstarrmom

      Registered: February 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun February 23, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cost
      Cons: Parking, Property Signage, lines, food court

       
      I stayed at Pop Century twice in the same week so I had 2 check ins and check outs. Even with online Check In, check in took more than 20 minutes. During my 2nd check in my room was not ready, I was given magic bands and told I'd receive a text message with my room number. When I returned to Pop Century at about 1am I was LOST trying to find parking for "the 70's" building #6. I drove the property with my daughter for 15 minutes, then went into lobby for help. With 1 agent working and a tour group just arrived I waited 30 minutes before I finally spoke up and asked if security could show me to my room. No security was available to help. I found the signage on the property to be inadequate -- even the Disney employee had trouble finding my room!
      IMHO some of the buildings are very inconvenient if you are using a car rather than Disney buses. The front desk was not staffed for the number of people checking in and out.
      The food court has begun using the "time out" features on the soda machines. If you buy a refillable mug you are limited in how often it can be refilled. If you buy a single use cup it may only be refilled 3 times and there is a 5 minute delay in between each fill.
      If you stay at Pop Century, understand it is a Value Resort with long lines, lots of tour groups, and crowded food court.
      The room was clean and adequate. The noise level is high, I could hear every time a person walked in the room above me, or when the rooms above or next to me flushed a toilet. Once mousekeeping started working at about 7am their was a constant noise of carts and vacuums. For a reasonable prince you get the extra benefits of staying on property, but there are tradeoffs. Seems best suited to people traveling without their own car.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      hello12345

      Registered: June 2010
      Posts: 70
      Review Date: Mon February 3, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Price
      Cons: Large Tourist Groups

       
      Stayed in Building 10 (70's) Jan 30-Feb 2. Arrived at about 8:15 am and they had a room ready. Check-in was quick and easy. We were using the wrist bands so everything was on them. I was able to link my annual passes, fastpass+ selections, charging, and room key all to the band.


      Our room was on the corner of the courtyard facing the foosball players and the lake. The area was quiet for the most part. However, the one day we decided to take a timeout and rest at the room for a few hours we had to listen to a South American school group sing, clap, and chant in the courtyard. Why they picked that courtyard I don't know? This brings up my major issue at value resorts. You have to put up with large groups almost anytime of the year. A big high school dance competition was going on at HS so a imagine the All-Star resorts were even worse during this weekend. I'm starting to think there is no slow time of the year at Disney anymore.


      We did not use the food court. It looked to be very busy every morning when we walked by. The gift shop is attached to the dining area. The gift shop was nicer and bigger than the All-Star Sports.


      Our room was adequate. The room is small as expected. We area family of 4, but we spend most of time at parks or pool so room size is not a huge issue. Beds were ok. I noticed mildew on the corner of the shower tiles and a layer of dust on the shelf above the mini-fridge. Our room was cleaned by 1pm.


      The main pool near Classic Hall serves the purpose. Kids were disappointed with no slide and adults wanted hot tub. Other than those differences you also have to bring towels to pool. Moderates and deluxe have towels for use at the pool area.


      The bus service was pretty good. We never waited more than 10 minutes coming or going for a Pop Century bus. Major complaint is no shade/shelter at Classic Hall bus stops. While we waited in the rain several times the bus driver took his time loading motorized scooters first. Disney should consider a system where people with motorized scooters and people with large land yacht strollers have to wait for a special bus. Anyway.....


      Overall our experience at Pop was better than All-Star Sports. I just like the feel of the Deluxe resorts better. Some of the little things make staying at a Deluxe or Moderate worth the extra cash. I have to give Pop an above average rating because it served our purpose for this trip with no major problems.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      melanieinma

      Registered: December 2012
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sun January 26, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Price
      Cons: Food court,noise

       
      I stayed Jan. 20-25. I could hear every thing that was going on in the other rooms around me. I could literally hear some one going to the bath room then flush when they were done. Disgusting to say the least. The food court the worst I have experienced at Disney. I did not get one meal for my self or for my family that we were satisfied with whether it was cold, dried out or burgers that were in steamers instead of being grilled fresh. I can not say any thing good about this place.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      thetony45

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 67
      Review Date: Sat January 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): No Shared Buses, close to Epcot and DHS, Wonderful Theming
      Cons: None

       
      I recently returned from a 6 day, 5 night stay at Pop Century resort.


      The resort is themed to Pop Culture from the 1950s-1990s with the 50s wing having massive statues of Lady the dog, Tramp the dog, and a jukebox in front of the buildings and bowling pins as stairwells. The 50's wing is also home to a bowling pin shaped pool that is quieter than the main pool.


      The 60's wing has Baloo and Moguli from The Jungle Book and a jar of Play-Doh in front and various color Yo-Yos as stairwells. This is also where the resort's main pool and kiddie pool are located, both shaped like flowers. Various activities take place here during the day and a poolside movie under the stars at night. It can be a bit noisy so if you are ;looking for peace and quiet in the middle of the day, request a different wing. Near the pool is also the poolside bar but I didn't partake in anything there.


      I was staying in the 70's wing which had a giant Big Wheel and Vintage Mickey Mouse telephone in front, 8-Trac tapes as stairwells, and a giant Foosball set between the buildings as well as 2 small areas with Twister mats painted on the ground. Between the 60s and 70s wing was a small water play area featuring Goofy holding a surfboard.


      The 80's wing had Mr. and Mrs. Potato Head nearby with a giant Walkman and Roger Rabbit out front and Rubik's Cubes in various states of being solved as stairwells.


      The 90s wing building had a laptop out front and cell phones as stairwells.


      Between the 80s buildings and in front of the 90s on was the computer shaped pool, also a quiet pool.


      Around the resort were sings telling about major events that happened during that particular decade.


      Nestled behind the Big Wheel 70s building was a small play area for children. Near all 3 pools was guest laundry facilities.


      Classic Hall was the resort's main building being the home of the main lobby with memorabilia from the years lining the walls as well as a kid's area with games and TV, the Fast Forward arcade (that I didn't visit this trip) and the Everything Pop Gift Shop and Food Court.


      The gift shop had a lot of the same merchandise you could find anywhere on property but also sold things you may need like sunscreen, moleskin pads, pain reliever, magazines, etc.


      The food court had a wide variety of options between 5 stations. I personally only had 2 meals there. 1 breakfast and 1 dinner. For breakfast I opted for biscuits and gravy. Being from the south that was a no brainier. The biscuit was light, fluffy, and flavorful and gravy was no to thick, not to thin and tasted wonderful. For dinner I had Pepperoni Pizza bread which was delicious and some of the Tye-dye cheesecake which I didn't think much of, but then again I am VERY particular when it comes to cheesecake. Also at the food court you can buy the mugs that can be refilled unlimited times during your stay. I read many people complaining about issues with the new RFID system. I personally had no issues. Set your mug on the tray, fill it up, remove mug. You have to wait 2 minutes between refills to minimize sharing.


      Pop Century is the only resort on it's bus line which was a major factor in why I opted to stay there other the lesser priced All star resorts which share a bus between the 3 resorts. Buses came regularly and I was never made to wait long nor where they ever super crowded like the All Star buses. Only once was I not able to sit during the trip.


      The room itself was very clean and was kept that way daily by Mousekeeping. In the room was 2 full beds, a nightstand with a phone and alarm clock, a small table with 2 chairs, a dresser with 3 drawers with a large flat screen TV on top and a mini fridge, a small area with a sink and mirror outside of the bathroom, and a small bathroom with a tub and toilet. Personally while at Disney all I need a room for is a bed and a shower so this fit my needs perfectly although I do see where it could be a bit cramped for a family.


      The only complaint I had was I requested a lake view so I could see the Art Of Animation resort across the hourglass lake but got a room on the opposite side of the building but since I was hardly ever in the room, that was a minor issue.


      If you want a resort with a ton of things to do outside the parks and a sit down restaurant Pop Century is not for you, but if you are a nostalgia buff like me you will love it here. Especially where they hold dance parties in the food court like when I was invited by Cast Members to do The Twist. Either it is more strenuous then it looks, or I am VERY out of shape.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jackiejzhou

      Registered: January 2014
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Mon January 20, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): location, transportation, price, food.
      Cons:

       
      Stayed there Jan 7-10, 2014. I took my 9 year old son on DW winter special. The room is clean, perfect for 2 of us. Could be too small for 4. We arrived at 5.00 am, took the DW express to the hotel, and the room was ready to move in. Maid service is prompt. Front desk is very nice. Bus is frequent. We never waited more than 5 minutes. We had room service one night with bread sticks and chicken wings. It was very good. We had a quiet room in the 70th facing the lake. The only con. is there is no sound proof between rooms. I could hear next door going to the bathroom. Fortunately, no one snored:)
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11 >

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.