Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • MellieBeans

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: FL Panhandle
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Sat March 17, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Price, Location, Service, Food Court
      Cons: Beds Are Extremely Uncomfortable, Lot's of confusion at front desk

      First I'd like to say we ALWAYS stay in value resorts. We stayed at POP from 3-10-12 through 3-15-12. It was not our first time staying here, we stayed here in 06', also.

      I do not remember the beds being so uncomfortable! They were rock hard, no joke. My back and hips ached so much during our trip.
      However, I love the fact that when we made our reservations, and asked for a room close to the front because of my boyfriend's disability, they obliged us. We were on the ground floor in the 50's, room 1137. Right on the corner, close to the lobby, and buses. We were also provided with a mini-fridge, much to our surprise! I also love the addition of the privacy curtain in the sink area of the bathroom. It made getting dressed easier, in the mornings. The TV was a nice surprise as well, very large and modern flat panel.

      There are many excellent food choices in the food court as well. Something for everyone. I had a beef and blue sandwich with tangy onion relish that was very delicious! My son and boyfriend were always pleased, as well, with the choices that were offered. Upon our departure, we had 3 remaining meals left on the dining plan and we used them for our breakfast. The potatoes were awesome! The eggs? Not so much. I imagine they are powdered eggs and I don't really care for eggs anyway. Everything else was great.

      The staff, as usual, went above and beyond for us. The only problem that we had was, they seemed to have us confused with other guests a few times. One time, we got a checkout hanger on our door, the morning after we arrived. The next night or two after, we got the usual voice-mail checkout notice from them. I was starting to think they wanted to get rid of us!

      I just wish they'd consider purchasing more comfortable beds for people who are very tired after long day's in the parks. I personally feel that it's the least they can do!
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  

      Registered: June 2006
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Wed March 14, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean, Fun
      Cons: None

      We stayed here March 7-13. I did the Online Check-in, so we didn't have to wait in a long line to get our keys to the room and to the Kingdom. Even though our room wasn't ready, we dropped our bags off and ate some lunch in the food court and then explored the resort. Our room was ready by 2PM. It was fairly close to transportation and just around the corner to the main pool. It was a short walk to the bowling pin pool, which we visited as well. I like this one because it wasn't nearly as crowded as the main pool.

      Our room was always clean and our maid provided us with plenty of towels and soap. We also had a mini-fridge in the room as well, without additional charge. I believe all value resort rooms will have mini-fridges free of charge soon. I like the shelf above the sink and the privacy curtain.

      We never waited very long for the buses. The longest wait was 15 minutes to go to Downtown Disney, otherwise wait times were around 5-10 minutes for the other parks.

      The food was ok. I didn't like the scrambled eggs very much but I did like the omelets and the breakfast potatoes. The turkey ciabatta sandwich and chips were very good as well. We only had three meals at this resort.

      I also used the laundry facilities. It takes $2.00 in quarters for both the washer and the dryer. I brought my own detergent and fabric sheets, so I don't know how much they cost. There is a change machine in the laundry room. It takes about 30 minutes each load to wash and to dry each load.

      Check-out was a breeze. Everyone was very nice and we really enjoyed our stay at POP. I hope to go back again.

      Oh, there is one negative thing that I have report. Beware of cutters. Never stand single line but stand two-by-two to block the cutters. This is not just for this resort but everywhere!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: June 2009
      Location: Huntsville, AL
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Tue February 28, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): BEautiful landscaping and maintenance
      Cons: small beds

      As the mom and trip planner in a family of 5, I have only ever stayed in deluxes and mods but for my mommy and daughter trip I thought a value would be good. As the trip neared, I grew nervous that I would long for the niceties of a mod or deluxe. Boy was I wrong. Pop was fantastic. We stayed there Feb 15-20. We paid for a preferred room and just requested being close to transportation. Boy did we get it. We were in room 1114 in the 50s. One door away from the main building. I basically just threw my bags out the door to the ME guys on our last day. Everything was bright and fresh and not garish at all. Cast members were far and away more friendly than those at Wilderness Lodge. We met nice families on buses and at the pool. I pictured large groups and did not see any. We never waited long for a bus except right after Wishes one night and even then there were many buses pulling up there were just a ton of people. Food court was fresh and yummy and the pool was really pretty. Only ever did Hippy Dippy. I would totally get two rooms here for my family of 5. Glad I tried it out.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: June 2007
      Location: Massachusetts
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Sun February 26, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): clean, friendly, great customer service
      Cons: had to ask for additional towels and toilet paper

      This is a great place to stay if you want the Disney experience for your children. You don't have to worry about transportation, free buses every where.

      I was a little nervous about the food court. All reviews I had read were that they were extremely busy. We went on February Vacation, busy time. The food court always have people in it, but very good experience. My daughter has a gluten sensitivity. If you ask to speak to the chef, they will make anything for you. My daughter got gluten free chicken tenders, french fries and burgers. The best thing is that it is fresh when you get the food. Wait time was 5 to 10 minutes. Just put the allergy order in first and then select the non food allergy food while you wait.

      Pool has great activities during the afternoon and outdoor movies for the kids at night. Over all great experience. You get the Disney name and great safe hotel.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: February 2012
      Location: United States
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Wed February 22, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Lovely grounds, Counter service
      Cons: Location

      Seriously this is the Best Resort in Disney. From the great staff, upbeat spirit,yummy meals, wonderful pools & even the bus service seems quicker than other resorts. Having the counter service restaurant makes quite the difference in the early morning. My DH and I have celebrated a few birthdays here and the staff always goes above and beyond. After trying the Beach Club I cannot wait to go back to the Pop!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2009
      Location: Virginia
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Tue February 21, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean, not overly spread out, fun atmosphere
      Cons: crowded buses, loud toilet

      We just returned from POP after staying for a week. The room was clean and maid service did a great job each day. I had concerns regarding the noise factor, but we never did hear anyone which says something because the place was packed!I didn't even realize we had people on each side of us. We stayed in the preferred section, not pool side. The main pool area was quite loud, but we did not hear it in our room. The buses were generally packed, but many times a second bus would arrive while the first was still boarding. Only once did we opt to wait for a third bus. The only disadvantage of the room is the bed location by the doors. So every time one of us came in while the other was sleeping you would feel the cool air come across the bed, then hear the door shut. Not sure why the beds are on the side by the door instead of the opposite wall, but a pillow over the head sufficed. Also, the toilet in the bathroom had a loud, odd sound when you would flush it, and it seemed to be the same in the other rooms. That was the only time I ever heard any noise from any room, but it was the same way at Caribbean Beach too. You would hear toilets or water there too. No big deal, it didn't wake us up, only realized it if we were awake already. Food Court was ok, but I did miss the vegetable plate from Caribbean Beach. Pretty good selections, but was usually filled with people no matter what time of day you went. All in all I highly recommend POP if you don't mind chaos at times, but a really great atmosphere. I look forward to going back next year.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  

      Registered: February 2007
      Posts: 54
      Review Date: Mon February 20, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Price , Theme , Dedicated Bus Service
      Cons: SMALL uncomfortable beds, thin walls, crowded food court

      This was my first stay at a Value Resort. I usually stay at moderates so take that into consideration when reading my review.

      If you are interested in staying on property but price is a concern and you aren't too picky, Pop Century is for you!

      Despite the large size of the hotel, I found it was a much shorter walk to the main building than at the far more spread out Moderate Resorts. Unlike the All-Stars, Pop has its own buses. You get on your park bus in front of the main building (only bus stop on property) and next stop is your destination! Bus service was generally good but "Your mileage may vary" depending on crowds. The pools were nice despite no added features such as slides or jacuzzis, the music throughout the resort was a cool touch. Food court food was surprisingly good.

      For the downside: Rooms were rather Motel 6-ish other than a few Disney touches. Beds were VERY small, mattresses hard and sheets (and towels for that matter) thin. Two average size adults would have a hard time sleeping in one bed comfortably. The walls are ridiculously thin. A light sleeper would have a real problem with hearing toilets flushing all night. The food court (Only dining option other than pizza delivery)is waaaay to small to accommodate the onslaught of people during breakfast. Coffee and creamers constantly need replenishing and guests are bumping into each other everywhere. At Moderate Resorts, one of my favorite routines was to take a morning stroll, have my first cup of coffee at the food court and then fill mugs and bring breakfast back to the room for my wife and daughter. At Pop, I dreaded going into the food court and couldn't wait to get out because of the chaos.

      With all that said... Would I stay at Pop again? If I wanted a Value Resort...Absolutely! Despite the negatives, it is a good "Value". Sure you could stay in a much nicer OFF-property hotel for the same price or less. However - if you want to be immersed in Disney 24/7, if you want free airport transportation and luggage handling and free, regularly scheduled park shuttles and price is a factor, go with Pop Century.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: February 2012
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue February 14, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): transportation, scenery, value
      Cons: food court can get very busy at times

      My husband, daughter and I stayed at Pop 1/21-27 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay! We were greeted with "Happy Birthday and Happy Anniversary!" at checkin, which was a BREEZE thanks to online check-in. We got a room on the 4th floor of the 70s building, facing the giant Mickey - my daughter was thrilled. It was not a preferred room, but still just a short walk to the main hall and the buses. The food court got VERY busy around 8:30am, but if you're up early to get to the parks then you won't have a problem. We never had a long wait for buses to the parks. Concierge was very helpful, as well. I was hesitant to stay at a "value" resort, but I was beyond pleased with our stay. We are looking forward to our next stay!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: September 2010
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Mon February 13, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): clean and quiet

      My husband and I stayed here in Feb. 2012. Stayed last year with my sister. Our room was a 3rd floor in the 50's section. Requested away from elevator, which was granted. Occasional noise of showers or toilets, but we used the "noise" feature on the clock radio, so not an issue. Room cleaned fairly well each day. It is a value resort, but we don't spend much time in the room. It's worth the price to be on site. I would return again.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: February 2012
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Wed February 8, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food court, price, lake, cleanliness, buses

      We have stayed here 3 times and love it more every time. We were picked as the 'Groovy family of the day' upon arrival which was a neat experience. They had a poster with our name on it and balloons. About 10 minutes after getting into our room a manager knocked on our door and gave us a bucket with more balloons attached and filled with retro toys and candy for my kids. After we came back from the parks that night we had turndown service with 7 dwarfs chocolates on our pillows. It was a great memory for all of us! Also, we love the food there, especially the penne chicken!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: February 2011
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Wed February 8, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Pop icons, resort layout, convenience of bus
      Cons: Paper thin walls, small rooms, expensive food court

      After reading mostly positive reviews about Pop Century, I was excited to visit the resort. I traveled with my mom and sister and all three of us were disappointed and would not stay there again. I requested a 4th floor room in the 70's section which I was given. I was probably in one of the quietist sections on the property, but the walls were so paper thin, that I could easily hear my neighbors. On top of that, the plumbing was also loud and I woke up constantly during the night to the sound of flushing toilets. The food court was very expensive, though the quality and variety was good. The service is generally very good at this hotel--Disney employees will go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one. The bus service is very convenient and I liked that the lines were roped off to prevent a mass stampede to the bus. If noise is bothersome to you, make sure to request a fan brought to your room to drown out some of the noise. Overall, Pop Century is not a place I would stay at again. I would either stay in Kissimmee or go to Port Orleans Riverside--I've stayed there several times in the past and enjoyed the resort.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: March 2011
      Location: Rhode Island
      Posts: 39
      Review Date: Wed February 8, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): price, theming
      Cons: very few

      Just got back from 8 days at POP Century. My request for 1st floor was granted. This makes a big difference. Room 6133. We've stayed on the 4th floor twice and that gets a little old, even with the elevators. Great to just roll right up to your room and walk in. We were across from hourglass lake and could see the progress they are making on Art of Animation. Not one bit of noise from construction.

      The main pool was a lot of fun & not crowded. Games all afternoon for kids. The CM's were excellent. The people at the pool are top notch.

      With 1 exception, everyone at the food court was super helpful & nice. I recognized more than one CM from past trips. That somehow makes going back there feel like home! One dude was super rude to me when I placed my food order. He actually was argumentative which was just out of line. We're all here to have a good time, not to get confrontational.

      Ok - the room. Ample space for family of 3. TV was weird for the first 2 days. It would kind of go into a sleep mode while we were watching it. That mysteriously stopped by day 3. The TVs are flat screen LG's. They do have HDMI inputs for more modern electronics. I called ahead to ask if they did and no one could answer that for me.
      The dresser was busted. Top 2 draws were broken on the right side runners. The bottom draw couldn't be opened!

      Would be nice if the bathroom door didn't hit your knees while your on the toilet. It's a big door! It just misses hitting the toilet seat!

      Bus service - Excellent. Never waited but a few minutes, coming or going to the resort. It was uncanny.

      Will be back!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: June 2008
      Location: Memphis
      Posts: 36
      Review Date: Thu February 2, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Affordable, Clean, Good Food
      Cons: Thin Walls and Loud Toilets, Large

      We have stayed here multiple times. Always a good place to lay your head at night - especially how little we are ever in the room. The food court is nice and has a great selection...food is decent, but not ever awesome. We have stayed at all levels of resorts, and we choose this one for price during quick trips.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: November 2011
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Wed February 1, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great staff, interesting design
      Cons: Food court can be too crowded

      We stayed at POP Century on 1/13-1/22. This was our fifth time staying at this resort. Check in is a breeze. We had 5 people in our party, rooms with 2, 2 and 1. My girlfriend and I's room was ready when we arrived, the other 2 rooms shortly after. We received text messages to alert us the rooms were ready. We always have a positive experience at POP. We had some noisy neighbors for the first time ever staying here, but that's clearly not the resort's fault.
      If I ever had one complaint about POP it would be the food court. It gets VERY busy at breakfast, dinner, and late night times. It gets so busy around the drink/condiment islands that sometimes your food gets cold just waiting in line for a drink or to put ketchup on your burger. And later at night after the parks close, they close all but 1 of the drink islands and the remaining one runs out of ice, ketchup, and such.
      But food court complaints aside, we probably wouldn't stay anywhere else in Disney. It's our home away from home. We love it and will continue to visit time and again.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: October 2010
      Location: Texas
      Posts: 64
      Review Date: Tue January 31, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fun theming, good food, larger bathrooms, comfortable beds, good customer service
      Cons: sound, sound, sound, no quiet place to be found

      We were there for one night only. We had a room in the building 1.

      We enjoyed the food court's food. We had dinner there as well as breakfast the following morning. The food court layout was confusing at first and hard to navigate. I didn't understand the gift shop idea in the food court. We thought that was confusing and just a bad idea on some well paid executive's part.

      The room itself was fine and we had plenty of room for 2 adults for only a short stay. We had enough dresser space but it was just barely enough for our things as the drawers are small and don't hold much.

      The dressing area was small, but functional and the bath area was large and plenty of elbow room in there. There was a curtain to close off the dressing area.

      The room decor was plain and simple and really sort of sad and lacking when compared to the usual detailing I have been used to with Disney.

      The curtains closed completely and the air conditioner seemed to be working quietly and efficiently. There was not a ceiling fan though.

      The mattresses were firm but soft, similar to the feel of a pillowtop type mattress, but I don't think it was a pillowtop.

      The room was comfortable, clean, and decent enough for our stay. I would compare to it in quality to a Motel 6, not fancy and no frills, but it has the basics and will work for a couple of nights.

      Although I would stay here again for an overnighter or weekender, I would not choose to stay here though for week's stay though as it was just a busy place with lots of activity, sound, color, and full of energy, Not restful at all but there is no doubt you are immersed in Disney there.

      If I had small children or teens, this would be a great fun place to stay, crowded, but FUN.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  10 · 11 · 12

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.