Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • CinCin

      Registered: October 2010
      Location: Texas
      Posts: 49
      Review Date: Tue January 31, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fun theming, good food, larger bathrooms, comfortable beds, good customer service
      Cons: sound, sound, sound, no quiet place to be found

       
      We were there for one night only. We had a room in the building 1.


      We enjoyed the food court's food. We had dinner there as well as breakfast the following morning. The food court layout was confusing at first and hard to navigate. I didn't understand the gift shop idea in the food court. We thought that was confusing and just a bad idea on some well paid executive's part.


      The room itself was fine and we had plenty of room for 2 adults for only a short stay. We had enough dresser space but it was just barely enough for our things as the drawers are small and don't hold much.


      The dressing area was small, but functional and the bath area was large and plenty of elbow room in there. There was a curtain to close off the dressing area.


      The room decor was plain and simple and really sort of sad and lacking when compared to the usual detailing I have been used to with Disney.


      The curtains closed completely and the air conditioner seemed to be working quietly and efficiently. There was not a ceiling fan though.


      The mattresses were firm but soft, similar to the feel of a pillowtop type mattress, but I don't think it was a pillowtop.


      The room was comfortable, clean, and decent enough for our stay. I would compare to it in quality to a Motel 6, not fancy and no frills, but it has the basics and will work for a couple of nights.


      Although I would stay here again for an overnighter or weekender, I would not choose to stay here though for week's stay though as it was just a busy place with lots of activity, sound, color, and full of energy, Not restful at all but there is no doubt you are immersed in Disney there.


      If I had small children or teens, this would be a great fun place to stay, crowded, but FUN.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      thejulianos

      Registered: October 2009
      Location: Atlanta
      Posts: 43
      Review Date: Wed January 11, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean, Fun, Good food court & transportation
      Cons: HUGE! Double Beds

       
      We stayed here two nights for NYE (12/31 - 1/2) as part of a split stay that included Animal Kingdom lodge for the last 6 nights. We've stayed at PoP before, and liked it during our previous stay. It was excellent this time as well.


      I had booked a standard room but requested close to transportation if possible. When we arrived I was pleasantly surprised to find we were "upgraded" to a preferred room in the 50's section (#1413). The room was perfect when we arrived. It was on the very end of the building closest to the Classic Hall yet still secluded by the landscaping & trees.


      The resort was clearly packed because of the holiday when we arrived, but we did manage to find a parking spot fairly close.


      Despite being almost full, everything was perfect. Breakfast at the food court was a bit crowded every morning, but selections were good and the food was hot and fresh. We usually bring food back to our room to eat away from the crowd anyway. Busses were running very regularly, and I don't think we waited more than 10 minutes or so for a bus except for the night we stayed until the close of Epcot. Then they brought 2 busses at the same time and loaded everyone waiting.


      I must mention that of all our on-site stays, we've had the best mousekeeping service at PoP. It has been consistently good without a single problem. That's more than I can say for other "higher end" properties like the Contemporary or the Animal Kingdom Lodge.


      Our only real complaints about PoP are the size of the resort which could be a problem if you had a far away room, and the double beds since we like a little more space. Given the price though, it is hard to argue with these two points given how many other good points PoP has.


      We would DEFINITELY stay here again and recommend any one looking for a fun, lively place to stay.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      crystaleve89

      Registered: January 2012
      Location: Buffalo, NY
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue January 10, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): very fun!
      Cons: noisy neighbors, CM that checked us in

       
      Me, my husband, and 10 month old son at the time, stayed a week at the Pop Century resort. Overall, we loved it! However, our arrival wasn't so great.


      We arrived around noon to check in, I can't remember the guy's name but he wasn't very friendly at all. We had done the online check in, so we didn't think it would take very long. While we were standing at the counter, the guy said very few words to us, only speaking to verify details of our reservation. We had requested a room in the 50's or 60's but I understood that nothing was guaranteed, no biggie. He gave us the furthest possible room in the 80's or 90's cant remember. He also acknowledged a note on our reservation that we had just gotten married a few days prior. So he says "I see you're celebrating something" pulls out two "I'm celebrating" pins, and THROWS them on the counter. Not sure what his problem was.


      So we reach out room and discover he had assigned us a handicapped room on the top floor. I wouldn't have minded so much if it actually had a bathtub. We had a 10 month old baby, and he clearly seen that. How am I supposed to give him a bath without a bathtub? So we immediately called back down and explained our situation to another cast member who was very nice and apologized for the inconvenience. She had us come back down to the lobby where she assigned us a new room in the 70's (MUCH closer) on the first floor. We were very happy. It was pretty quiet minus our last 2 nights where a very loud family got the room next to ours, you could hear everything. & they were constantly in and out of their room, resulting in a lot of slamming doors late at night.


      Aside from that, we really enjoyed our stay, we ate at the food court almost everyday and for the most part enjoyed everything we had. The cast members were very helpful in helping us out with the dining plan since this was our first time on it. We went back to the hotel in the afternoon to rest for a bit and cool off in the pool with the baby. I thought the kiddie pool was a lot colder in temperature than the regular pools tho. Buses weren't that much of a problem, they did get crowded, but that was expected. Our next stay we're considering staying at the Caribbean beach resort, only because we want to experience something other than the value resorts. Otherwise, Pop Century would definitely be our first choice! Smile
      Click here to see this users profile  
      disney nana

      Registered: January 2009
      Location: Oklahoma
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Wed January 4, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): cost, Hourglass Lake
      Cons: neighbors noise easily heard; lots of noise from pool activities

       
      My husband and I stayed at Pop during our Dec 19-30, 2011 visit. We had previously stayed at the All Star Movies and Music and wanted to try something different. This was a last minute trip and I was really surprised we were able to find availability here. We used the on-line check-in which made that process quicker. We had requested a king-size bed but when we got to the room it was two doubles. My husband went back to the concierge and asked if it was possible to get a king. They had one king available but it was a preferred room. They ended up giving us the upgrade at no additional cost.


      We were in the 60s building on the side away from the pool. The room was nice and plenty big enough for two of us. Everything was clean and in good condition. Housekeeping service was good. We had several of the towel animals when we first arrived and we asked for another one later in our stay and was given one.


      We ate at the food court numerous times. It was busy a lot but that is to be expected for a resort that size. We never had a problem finding a place to sit. There were also chairs and tables outside so we ate outside a few times since the weather was so wonderful. Food was fairly good. Not a big selection but enough to find something.


      All of the cast members that we encountered were super nice and helpful. I especially appreciated the bus service. Having stayed in the All Stars resorts that share one bus in our previous stays it was nice to have our own. We never had to wait more than 5-10 minutes for a bus but most of the time there was less than a 5 minute wait. Occasionally on the way home from a park we had to stand but for the most part there was plenty of room to sit.


      The only issue we had was the walls seemed really then. We had a family next door to us that had a young child that screamed every night at bed time. We are used to children but I could see that it could be bothersome to some. We were expecting to hear the toilet flush because they do that at the All Stars resorts but we heard people talking and the baby crying everyday.


      The only other thing I would "complain" about is that it didn't seem like they had enough cast members on duty at the concierge desk. There was always a line and my husband stood in line for over 30 minutes one day trying to make a dining reservation. He finally had to leave without making it because we had laundry in the dryers that needed to be tended to. The laundry room that we used was adequate but there were only eight washers in the room next to Classic Hall and three of those were broken.


      I really loved the fact that this resort has the Hourglass Lake behind it. It was nice to go down and sit by the lake when you just needed to get away from the hustle and bustle of the parks and the resort. Very peaceful and quiet.


      I really enjoyed my stay at Pop. We will definitely stay here again and will recommend it to our friends.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mommyof2

      Registered: January 2012
      Location: Texas
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Tue January 3, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 0 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): will stay again
      Cons:

       
      We stayed at Pop Dec. 17-20th, not long but our stay was pleasant... rooms were clean, small but you know that if you ever stayed at a value resort with Disney, lots to see. Staff very nice. We ate in the foodcourt 2 times, it was expensive but nice and had a lot of options. Only down side, I was my son hit his head on the side table and was bleeding at 6 a.m. I called the front desk to ask if they had first aid and she was not helpful at all, went down to the front desk to find out when you press 0 for help it is a call center somewhere off property???? That really upset me.. but overall our stay was great, I would stay again!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mycadoo

      Registered: November 2008
      Location: new jersey
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Tue December 27, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): room clean .check in staff very friendly.
      Cons: food court cast members were very rude

       
      We have stayed here numerous times and it is always very good. The food court people, however, left a lot to be desired. They were downright rude.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lawafamily

      Registered: January 2011
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Sun December 25, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Value, location, food court
      Cons: None

       
      Stayed at Pop Century with wife and my two kids 18 yo and 14 yo. Had a great time with excellent service. Staff at front desk and concierge were very helpful and food court had excellent selections with friendly staff members. Overall a very positive experience, like the location easily accessible to the parks.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      killnme

      Registered: March 2009
      Location: FL
      Posts: 33
      Review Date: Sun December 18, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location
      Cons: parking, hard to see food court signs

       
      My family (DH, 7yr old DD)and I stayed at the Pop the weekend of 12/9-12/11.


      We did online check in which was fast and great. Took all of 5 minutes, while there was a long line for regular check in (Even cut through the lobby 15 minutes later and saw some of the same people still waiting in the regular line).


      We love Pop for its location. Pretty much in the middle of property. We like to drive to the parks mainly so we are on our own schedule and not worried about waiting on buses. With staying at Pop (along with the other Disney hotels) you get free parking so it is a no brainer for us.


      We were in Building 3 of the 50's building great quiet spot except the parking back there was a long way from the building. Room was comfortable but I wish other guests would be more quiet walking in the middle of the night (not Disney's fault).


      Ate at the food court for breakfast on the last day and it was very crowded. That didn't both us as much as the electrical signs not working. The signs they had up were hard to see from a distance. I hope that is fixed before our next trip.


      We liked Pop so much I am about to book our Spring Break trip there today.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sjdeane

      Registered: September 2007
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Fri December 16, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): price by far
      Cons: hard beds and small beds

       
      Nov 13-21.I have to rate it a 10 for the value alone, we are ones that just sleep at the hotel. POP is a great experience and a value for the money spent. With that said, this trip we had 3 adults and the beds somehow felt small. I travel alot in my job, and most hotel chains have upgraded their mattresses and bedding to accomodate a good nights sleep. POP's mattresses were not very comfy and the linens are very hard and scratchy. We were fortunate to have a room that was away from the common areas and was fairly quiet, however if anyone came home late you can hear them running talking. We had some family screaming at their child one night. We had the 70's building I believe and it was very close to the busses by cutting through the parking lot. We opted for the stairs(3 floors) as opposed to going clear to the elevator as our room was right by the stairs. So some nights it was a challenge. I have to say since we havent had any wee ones in years. The towel animals have ceased to exist this is the 7th trip now with not a single one.I think next time I may bring a stuffed animal and little kid jamies to fool them. Gift shop is a really good one, they have most everything and package pick up is really good. Check in was easy we did it online, arrived and our room happened to be ready dropped our bags and off to the parks we went. There was a large line at check in so I am glad we did it online saved ourselves probably and hour right there. The day we left our bags will bell services, checked in in the mornign and again off we went to the parks to get every minute of our trip. Food court I believe is good for food courts. The hamburger was not very good, but all in all its ok, We basically got drinks one breakfast which was nothing special and the hamburger. Did not use the pool this time did not have the time. Busses were very good this trip no lines, never waited. Only complaint I have is it seems POP's buss stop is the furthest one at every single park. It certainly is at MK and EP adn I guess HS as well. We had an ADR at Wilderness so we didnt ride the bus home from AK we took the Wilderness bus.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Ilita

      Registered: February 2010
      Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
      Posts: 50
      Review Date: Thu December 15, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Theming
      Cons: none, its ok for that you pay

       
      Third time at Pop Century and better than the first time. We arrived early and our room was already set and some packages we ordered too. Our room was in 90´s facing the computer pool (I was in 50´s twice before) and it was clean and ok.
      we had brakfast at the food court and it was ok too (we are not big eaters at breakfast) but never was too crowded and always found a good table. we use the baggage deposit the last day and it was very good. they came to our room and pick up the luggage and helped us to put them in the car later, always with a smile. The Pop can be a value resort but has a lot of heart!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tiggersgagirl71

      Registered: December 2011
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Mon December 12, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): price
      Cons: ?

       
      DH and I stayed at Pop 11/28-12/2 for our 22nd anniversary. We did not do online check in and when we arrived at 9am, there was no wait and our room was ready. We were assigned a king room 70s preferred, handicap accessible, which included a refrigerator at no extra cost. The room was clean and no problems. The quality of this resort has drastically declined over the last 2 years. The selection in the food court is less than past visits and we had the dining plan. We usually went to other resorts to eat. The food court was often over crowded in the mornings and around dinner time. Our first 3 days we were unable to receive our refillable mugs because the resort ran out. You would think management would not allow this to happen, and since all the mugs are the same at each resort this year,you would think they would have been able to send some over(a cast member told us that the other resorts refused to share}. The gift shop was a madhouse, and one evening I was hit in the face by a 4yr old boy wielding a toy,and his mother watched and did nothing. Overall the room was clean and we didn't have to wait to long for buses, but next year we will NOT be staying at POP.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      rainman1242

      Registered: December 2011
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue December 6, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nice, updated food court. Good shopping. Enjoyed the theme and layout.
      Cons: Concierge service was not up to Disney's standards, room was not very clean, resort was almost too large compared to other value-resorts and lost some of it's family friendliness.

       
      My rating for this resort has much less to do with the resort itself as it does with the staff we came into contact with during our stay. We stayed here from 9/10-9/15 this year. My wife and I were celebrating our 5 year anniversary. This was our fourth trip to Disney together, my 7th overall. I have never had a problem in all my stays with room accommodations/requests or any resort staff up till our recent stay. We requested a king room and also had noted our anniversary on our resort confirmation information. Upon arrival we were placed in a room with two double beds. I called to ask about a room change and was treated fairly rudely by Disney standards but told they had alternative arrangements available if we could come down to the concierge office. We did. The concierge with whom we spoke once we arrived downstairs was incredibly short with us, rude, unaccommodating, and took no notice of not only the Disney way of dealing with people but also the fact that we were celebrating our anniversary. We were told we could have a handicap room but would have to be ready at any moment to give it up if it was needed. I understand this information and also understand their need to state it, but we were told this information as if (a) it was going to be a given and to not get too comfortable, and (b) like we were an irritant to this individuals day that they had no time for. It was our anniversary and this is the way we were treated by the resort staff. I was at the point of telling this lady to call another resort and move our reservations just to get away from there. I was offended. I was offended for my wife. And the tenor set for our anniversary trip that we were so excited for was completely altered in that one moment. I understand many do not have this experience and my review should not be an indictment on the whole staff of the resort, but I will not plan on staying here ever again if I have a choice due in part to the standard of customer service I have come to expect from Disney and how inadequately that standard was met here.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      SheenaXena21

      Registered: October 2006
      Posts: 83
      Review Date: Sun December 4, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great mousekeeping
      Cons: Small rooms, bus transportation

       
      We stayed in the 90's building and it was a walk to the buses and food court. The room was always clean. The buses were ok... except for the HUGE lines at closing time. They had plenty of buses running, it just took so long because of the scooters and wheelchairs. And it was an inconvenience without a fridge. I was not paying an extra $70 for it! Overall it was a nice stay.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      popdaddy

      Registered: December 2011
      Location: Jerysey Shore
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun December 4, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean rooms, great rates, good music, family activities
      Cons: na

       
      Stayed here from 11/6-20th, for 50% less than we would have paid for POR or FQ, this place was a steal of a deal. Although families may find the standard rooms somewhat small in size, it was perfect for my wife and I. Loved the convienience of more than one pool, we stayed in the 50's section right next to Lady from Lady & The Tramp, near the bowling pin pool. Consider us converts to the Pop.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MadnNOLA

      Registered: December 2011
      Location: New Orleans, LA
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Thu December 1, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean Rooms, Great Bus Service, Easy Check-In
      Cons: NA

       
      I stayed at the Pop Century November 19 - 23, 2011. I was a single traveler and had a great time at Pop Century.


      I stayed in the 70s section, and the room was always spotless. Check-In could not have been easier and the front desk staff are excellent. The property is fun and very clean. It was quiet, and nice after a long day at the parks to relax in my room before going to sleep.


      Although I did not eat in the food court, I passed through a few times, and found it well stocked and all the food looked appetizing.


      I had only a 30 second walk from my room to the bus stops, and only waited about 5 minutes at the most for any bus to arrive!
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  10 · 11 · 12 · 13 · 14 · 15 · 16 · 17 · 18 · 19

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.