Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • lawafamily

      Registered: January 2011
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Sun December 25, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Value, location, food court
      Cons: None

       
      Stayed at Pop Century with wife and my two kids 18 yo and 14 yo. Had a great time with excellent service. Staff at front desk and concierge were very helpful and food court had excellent selections with friendly staff members. Overall a very positive experience, like the location easily accessible to the parks.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      killnme

      Registered: March 2009
      Location: FL
      Posts: 33
      Review Date: Sun December 18, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location
      Cons: parking, hard to see food court signs

       
      My family (DH, 7yr old DD)and I stayed at the Pop the weekend of 12/9-12/11.


      We did online check in which was fast and great. Took all of 5 minutes, while there was a long line for regular check in (Even cut through the lobby 15 minutes later and saw some of the same people still waiting in the regular line).


      We love Pop for its location. Pretty much in the middle of property. We like to drive to the parks mainly so we are on our own schedule and not worried about waiting on buses. With staying at Pop (along with the other Disney hotels) you get free parking so it is a no brainer for us.


      We were in Building 3 of the 50's building great quiet spot except the parking back there was a long way from the building. Room was comfortable but I wish other guests would be more quiet walking in the middle of the night (not Disney's fault).


      Ate at the food court for breakfast on the last day and it was very crowded. That didn't both us as much as the electrical signs not working. The signs they had up were hard to see from a distance. I hope that is fixed before our next trip.


      We liked Pop so much I am about to book our Spring Break trip there today.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sjdeane

      Registered: September 2007
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Fri December 16, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): price by far
      Cons: hard beds and small beds

       
      Nov 13-21.I have to rate it a 10 for the value alone, we are ones that just sleep at the hotel. POP is a great experience and a value for the money spent. With that said, this trip we had 3 adults and the beds somehow felt small. I travel alot in my job, and most hotel chains have upgraded their mattresses and bedding to accomodate a good nights sleep. POP's mattresses were not very comfy and the linens are very hard and scratchy. We were fortunate to have a room that was away from the common areas and was fairly quiet, however if anyone came home late you can hear them running talking. We had some family screaming at their child one night. We had the 70's building I believe and it was very close to the busses by cutting through the parking lot. We opted for the stairs(3 floors) as opposed to going clear to the elevator as our room was right by the stairs. So some nights it was a challenge. I have to say since we havent had any wee ones in years. The towel animals have ceased to exist this is the 7th trip now with not a single one.I think next time I may bring a stuffed animal and little kid jamies to fool them. Gift shop is a really good one, they have most everything and package pick up is really good. Check in was easy we did it online, arrived and our room happened to be ready dropped our bags and off to the parks we went. There was a large line at check in so I am glad we did it online saved ourselves probably and hour right there. The day we left our bags will bell services, checked in in the mornign and again off we went to the parks to get every minute of our trip. Food court I believe is good for food courts. The hamburger was not very good, but all in all its ok, We basically got drinks one breakfast which was nothing special and the hamburger. Did not use the pool this time did not have the time. Busses were very good this trip no lines, never waited. Only complaint I have is it seems POP's buss stop is the furthest one at every single park. It certainly is at MK and EP adn I guess HS as well. We had an ADR at Wilderness so we didnt ride the bus home from AK we took the Wilderness bus.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Ilita

      Registered: February 2010
      Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
      Posts: 50
      Review Date: Thu December 15, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Theming
      Cons: none, its ok for that you pay

       
      Third time at Pop Century and better than the first time. We arrived early and our room was already set and some packages we ordered too. Our room was in 90´s facing the computer pool (I was in 50´s twice before) and it was clean and ok.
      we had brakfast at the food court and it was ok too (we are not big eaters at breakfast) but never was too crowded and always found a good table. we use the baggage deposit the last day and it was very good. they came to our room and pick up the luggage and helped us to put them in the car later, always with a smile. The Pop can be a value resort but has a lot of heart!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tiggersgagirl71

      Registered: December 2011
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Mon December 12, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): price
      Cons: ?

       
      DH and I stayed at Pop 11/28-12/2 for our 22nd anniversary. We did not do online check in and when we arrived at 9am, there was no wait and our room was ready. We were assigned a king room 70s preferred, handicap accessible, which included a refrigerator at no extra cost. The room was clean and no problems. The quality of this resort has drastically declined over the last 2 years. The selection in the food court is less than past visits and we had the dining plan. We usually went to other resorts to eat. The food court was often over crowded in the mornings and around dinner time. Our first 3 days we were unable to receive our refillable mugs because the resort ran out. You would think management would not allow this to happen, and since all the mugs are the same at each resort this year,you would think they would have been able to send some over(a cast member told us that the other resorts refused to share}. The gift shop was a madhouse, and one evening I was hit in the face by a 4yr old boy wielding a toy,and his mother watched and did nothing. Overall the room was clean and we didn't have to wait to long for buses, but next year we will NOT be staying at POP.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      rainman1242

      Registered: December 2011
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue December 6, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nice, updated food court. Good shopping. Enjoyed the theme and layout.
      Cons: Concierge service was not up to Disney's standards, room was not very clean, resort was almost too large compared to other value-resorts and lost some of it's family friendliness.

       
      My rating for this resort has much less to do with the resort itself as it does with the staff we came into contact with during our stay. We stayed here from 9/10-9/15 this year. My wife and I were celebrating our 5 year anniversary. This was our fourth trip to Disney together, my 7th overall. I have never had a problem in all my stays with room accommodations/requests or any resort staff up till our recent stay. We requested a king room and also had noted our anniversary on our resort confirmation information. Upon arrival we were placed in a room with two double beds. I called to ask about a room change and was treated fairly rudely by Disney standards but told they had alternative arrangements available if we could come down to the concierge office. We did. The concierge with whom we spoke once we arrived downstairs was incredibly short with us, rude, unaccommodating, and took no notice of not only the Disney way of dealing with people but also the fact that we were celebrating our anniversary. We were told we could have a handicap room but would have to be ready at any moment to give it up if it was needed. I understand this information and also understand their need to state it, but we were told this information as if (a) it was going to be a given and to not get too comfortable, and (b) like we were an irritant to this individuals day that they had no time for. It was our anniversary and this is the way we were treated by the resort staff. I was at the point of telling this lady to call another resort and move our reservations just to get away from there. I was offended. I was offended for my wife. And the tenor set for our anniversary trip that we were so excited for was completely altered in that one moment. I understand many do not have this experience and my review should not be an indictment on the whole staff of the resort, but I will not plan on staying here ever again if I have a choice due in part to the standard of customer service I have come to expect from Disney and how inadequately that standard was met here.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      SheenaXena21

      Registered: October 2006
      Posts: 83
      Review Date: Sun December 4, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great mousekeeping
      Cons: Small rooms, bus transportation

       
      We stayed in the 90's building and it was a walk to the buses and food court. The room was always clean. The buses were ok... except for the HUGE lines at closing time. They had plenty of buses running, it just took so long because of the scooters and wheelchairs. And it was an inconvenience without a fridge. I was not paying an extra $70 for it! Overall it was a nice stay.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      popdaddy

      Registered: December 2011
      Location: Jerysey Shore
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun December 4, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean rooms, great rates, good music, family activities
      Cons: na

       
      Stayed here from 11/6-20th, for 50% less than we would have paid for POR or FQ, this place was a steal of a deal. Although families may find the standard rooms somewhat small in size, it was perfect for my wife and I. Loved the convienience of more than one pool, we stayed in the 50's section right next to Lady from Lady & The Tramp, near the bowling pin pool. Consider us converts to the Pop.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MadnNOLA

      Registered: December 2011
      Location: New Orleans, LA
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Thu December 1, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean Rooms, Great Bus Service, Easy Check-In
      Cons: NA

       
      I stayed at the Pop Century November 19 - 23, 2011. I was a single traveler and had a great time at Pop Century.


      I stayed in the 70s section, and the room was always spotless. Check-In could not have been easier and the front desk staff are excellent. The property is fun and very clean. It was quiet, and nice after a long day at the parks to relax in my room before going to sleep.


      Although I did not eat in the food court, I passed through a few times, and found it well stocked and all the food looked appetizing.


      I had only a 30 second walk from my room to the bus stops, and only waited about 5 minutes at the most for any bus to arrive!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sperez

      Registered: October 2009
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Wed November 30, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      We just got back from a 1 night stay at Pop. we stayed in the 90's bldg. That was much to far a walk for us. All the bright colors were great, the kids loved that. The rooms a very small, but did the job for us, as we are in the parks all day. We loved the pool and the pool games.


      I must say that the cafeteria was the nicest I have seen in the value resorts (we have stayed at sports and music). The food selection was ok. I found that their snack section was much better than at the other value resorts as well. Overall we had a great experience here and we would go back to stay here!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      marsdnr

      Registered: November 2006
      Location: East Windsor, Ct
      Posts: 77
      Review Date: Mon November 28, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): fun to looks around at memories of our youth
      Cons: none

       
      Easy check in, special request were taken care of. We were in the 90's section near what we called the quiet pool. House keeping was great, room was always spotless. If your looking for staying on Disney property and save a little money this is the hotel for you. Also Pop's buses only pick up for your hotel. So you don't have the long waits to catch a bus.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jennsastar

      Registered: September 2007
      Location: Ft Walton Beach, Florida
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Sun November 27, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): clean rooms, easy access to everything,cute themeing, nice food court, short bus times
      Cons: rooms can be a little small with 4 adults

       
      I have to say I'm a Disney hotel snob...I've stayed at almost every deluxe and moderate resort...and I've even stayed at the All Star Music one year and vowed NEVER to stay value after that terrible experience. But in order to save money on our annual women's trip, my mom, grandma and sister and I decided to stay at Pop Century! I was pleasantly surprised! The rooms were nice. We stayed in the 70s building, short walk to the pool, buses, food court, gift shop. One of the nicest food courts and gift shops I've seen! The bus wait times weren't very long at all! It's fun to walk around the resort and take funny pictures, you could spend an hour just doing that! The only thing is with 3 women and one teenager, it got kind of cramped, but we knew that going in! This next trip, we booked 2 rooms! Hey, it's still cheaper than booking one deluxe room! Smile
      Click here to see this users profile  
      JazSpaz

      Registered: November 2011
      Location: Rhode Island
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue November 22, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Friendliness of staff, cleanliness of rooms, lifeguards, busses, food, etc.
      Cons: none

       
      DS and I visited for the first time ever Nov. 6 - 12. Got in around ten am, and our room was ready. The girl who checked us in gave us a map and drew a line so we could find our room, which turned out to be a snap as it was twenty steps from Classic Hall. By the time we checked out the room (which was spacious enough for two and sparkling clean) our luggage was being delivered by the Magical Express porters. Everyone greeted us when walking the pathways, we never had a line or crowd in the food court, and the staff in the gift shop went above and beyond to help DS find just the right pin for his lanyard. The one thing that keeps me from giving Pop a ten is really a little thing to most, but a big one for me. The coffee is fake, the coffee is weak, and the coffee is not accesible until six am. I'm an early riser (yes, even on vacation) and by the time the food court opened at six, I had a good caffeine-deprivation headache coming on.
      HOWEVER, every single thing about this resort other than coffee absolutely ROCKED. Our Mousekeeper's name was Maria and she left more towels than DS and I could possibly have used in a day, as well as towel animals nearly every day. She was amazing, and the icing on a very perfect cake. Can't wait to come back!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lfigment99

      Registered: November 2006
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Sun November 20, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Bus Service; distance to food court; check-in was exceptional; concierge was exceptional; noise from construction of Animation began at about 5:00 a.m. and trucks backing up really were irritating at that time
      Cons: Maid service was poor; breakfast food was very average

       
      Checked in on November 13th and checked out on November 19th. Had two rooms with three adults in one room and two adults in the other. On most days maid only left one wash cloth in the room with three adults which meant we had to call housekeeping and wait for a delivery. Got tired of calling each day so grabbed an extra 5 washcloths off of the cart sitting outside out room. Needless to say, a gratuity was not forthcoming and we always leave one.


      Breakfast food seems to have suffered over the past few times we have stayed at the Pop. Lots of construction going around beside the main pool but it wasn't too loud or inconvenient.


      Bus service is exceptional at this resort which is the only reason I would recommend the Pop and why it graded out as a 5. Never had to wait more than 5 or 6 minutes and almost always were able to have a seat on the bus.


      Housekeeping allowed us a late check-out of 1:00 which was perfect.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mumma2

      Registered: November 2011
      Location: Michigan
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu November 17, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): No long wait times for buses
      Cons: Small rooms!

       
      I was a bit nervous staying at POP for the first time I have stayed at the Boardwalk in the past let me tell you it much different. I will try someplace else next time but for the money its worth trying!
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  10 · 11 · 12 · 13 · 14 · 15 · 16 · 17 · 18

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.