Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • Ilita

      Registered: February 2010
      Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
      Posts: 50
      Review Date: Thu December 15, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Theming
      Cons: none, its ok for that you pay

       
      Third time at Pop Century and better than the first time. We arrived early and our room was already set and some packages we ordered too. Our room was in 90´s facing the computer pool (I was in 50´s twice before) and it was clean and ok.
      we had brakfast at the food court and it was ok too (we are not big eaters at breakfast) but never was too crowded and always found a good table. we use the baggage deposit the last day and it was very good. they came to our room and pick up the luggage and helped us to put them in the car later, always with a smile. The Pop can be a value resort but has a lot of heart!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tiggersgagirl71

      Registered: December 2011
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Mon December 12, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): price
      Cons: ?

       
      DH and I stayed at Pop 11/28-12/2 for our 22nd anniversary. We did not do online check in and when we arrived at 9am, there was no wait and our room was ready. We were assigned a king room 70s preferred, handicap accessible, which included a refrigerator at no extra cost. The room was clean and no problems. The quality of this resort has drastically declined over the last 2 years. The selection in the food court is less than past visits and we had the dining plan. We usually went to other resorts to eat. The food court was often over crowded in the mornings and around dinner time. Our first 3 days we were unable to receive our refillable mugs because the resort ran out. You would think management would not allow this to happen, and since all the mugs are the same at each resort this year,you would think they would have been able to send some over(a cast member told us that the other resorts refused to share}. The gift shop was a madhouse, and one evening I was hit in the face by a 4yr old boy wielding a toy,and his mother watched and did nothing. Overall the room was clean and we didn't have to wait to long for buses, but next year we will NOT be staying at POP.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      rainman1242

      Registered: December 2011
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue December 6, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nice, updated food court. Good shopping. Enjoyed the theme and layout.
      Cons: Concierge service was not up to Disney's standards, room was not very clean, resort was almost too large compared to other value-resorts and lost some of it's family friendliness.

       
      My rating for this resort has much less to do with the resort itself as it does with the staff we came into contact with during our stay. We stayed here from 9/10-9/15 this year. My wife and I were celebrating our 5 year anniversary. This was our fourth trip to Disney together, my 7th overall. I have never had a problem in all my stays with room accommodations/requests or any resort staff up till our recent stay. We requested a king room and also had noted our anniversary on our resort confirmation information. Upon arrival we were placed in a room with two double beds. I called to ask about a room change and was treated fairly rudely by Disney standards but told they had alternative arrangements available if we could come down to the concierge office. We did. The concierge with whom we spoke once we arrived downstairs was incredibly short with us, rude, unaccommodating, and took no notice of not only the Disney way of dealing with people but also the fact that we were celebrating our anniversary. We were told we could have a handicap room but would have to be ready at any moment to give it up if it was needed. I understand this information and also understand their need to state it, but we were told this information as if (a) it was going to be a given and to not get too comfortable, and (b) like we were an irritant to this individuals day that they had no time for. It was our anniversary and this is the way we were treated by the resort staff. I was at the point of telling this lady to call another resort and move our reservations just to get away from there. I was offended. I was offended for my wife. And the tenor set for our anniversary trip that we were so excited for was completely altered in that one moment. I understand many do not have this experience and my review should not be an indictment on the whole staff of the resort, but I will not plan on staying here ever again if I have a choice due in part to the standard of customer service I have come to expect from Disney and how inadequately that standard was met here.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      SheenaXena21

      Registered: October 2006
      Posts: 83
      Review Date: Sun December 4, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great mousekeeping
      Cons: Small rooms, bus transportation

       
      We stayed in the 90's building and it was a walk to the buses and food court. The room was always clean. The buses were ok... except for the HUGE lines at closing time. They had plenty of buses running, it just took so long because of the scooters and wheelchairs. And it was an inconvenience without a fridge. I was not paying an extra $70 for it! Overall it was a nice stay.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      popdaddy

      Registered: December 2011
      Location: Jerysey Shore
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun December 4, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean rooms, great rates, good music, family activities
      Cons: na

       
      Stayed here from 11/6-20th, for 50% less than we would have paid for POR or FQ, this place was a steal of a deal. Although families may find the standard rooms somewhat small in size, it was perfect for my wife and I. Loved the convienience of more than one pool, we stayed in the 50's section right next to Lady from Lady & The Tramp, near the bowling pin pool. Consider us converts to the Pop.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MadnNOLA

      Registered: December 2011
      Location: New Orleans, LA
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Thu December 1, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean Rooms, Great Bus Service, Easy Check-In
      Cons: NA

       
      I stayed at the Pop Century November 19 - 23, 2011. I was a single traveler and had a great time at Pop Century.


      I stayed in the 70s section, and the room was always spotless. Check-In could not have been easier and the front desk staff are excellent. The property is fun and very clean. It was quiet, and nice after a long day at the parks to relax in my room before going to sleep.


      Although I did not eat in the food court, I passed through a few times, and found it well stocked and all the food looked appetizing.


      I had only a 30 second walk from my room to the bus stops, and only waited about 5 minutes at the most for any bus to arrive!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sperez

      Registered: October 2009
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Wed November 30, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      We just got back from a 1 night stay at Pop. we stayed in the 90's bldg. That was much to far a walk for us. All the bright colors were great, the kids loved that. The rooms a very small, but did the job for us, as we are in the parks all day. We loved the pool and the pool games.


      I must say that the cafeteria was the nicest I have seen in the value resorts (we have stayed at sports and music). The food selection was ok. I found that their snack section was much better than at the other value resorts as well. Overall we had a great experience here and we would go back to stay here!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      marsdnr

      Registered: November 2006
      Location: East Windsor, Ct
      Posts: 77
      Review Date: Mon November 28, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): fun to looks around at memories of our youth
      Cons: none

       
      Easy check in, special request were taken care of. We were in the 90's section near what we called the quiet pool. House keeping was great, room was always spotless. If your looking for staying on Disney property and save a little money this is the hotel for you. Also Pop's buses only pick up for your hotel. So you don't have the long waits to catch a bus.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jennsastar

      Registered: September 2007
      Location: Ft Walton Beach, Florida
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Sun November 27, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): clean rooms, easy access to everything,cute themeing, nice food court, short bus times
      Cons: rooms can be a little small with 4 adults

       
      I have to say I'm a Disney hotel snob...I've stayed at almost every deluxe and moderate resort...and I've even stayed at the All Star Music one year and vowed NEVER to stay value after that terrible experience. But in order to save money on our annual women's trip, my mom, grandma and sister and I decided to stay at Pop Century! I was pleasantly surprised! The rooms were nice. We stayed in the 70s building, short walk to the pool, buses, food court, gift shop. One of the nicest food courts and gift shops I've seen! The bus wait times weren't very long at all! It's fun to walk around the resort and take funny pictures, you could spend an hour just doing that! The only thing is with 3 women and one teenager, it got kind of cramped, but we knew that going in! This next trip, we booked 2 rooms! Hey, it's still cheaper than booking one deluxe room! Smile
      Click here to see this users profile  
      JazSpaz

      Registered: November 2011
      Location: Rhode Island
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue November 22, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Friendliness of staff, cleanliness of rooms, lifeguards, busses, food, etc.
      Cons: none

       
      DS and I visited for the first time ever Nov. 6 - 12. Got in around ten am, and our room was ready. The girl who checked us in gave us a map and drew a line so we could find our room, which turned out to be a snap as it was twenty steps from Classic Hall. By the time we checked out the room (which was spacious enough for two and sparkling clean) our luggage was being delivered by the Magical Express porters. Everyone greeted us when walking the pathways, we never had a line or crowd in the food court, and the staff in the gift shop went above and beyond to help DS find just the right pin for his lanyard. The one thing that keeps me from giving Pop a ten is really a little thing to most, but a big one for me. The coffee is fake, the coffee is weak, and the coffee is not accesible until six am. I'm an early riser (yes, even on vacation) and by the time the food court opened at six, I had a good caffeine-deprivation headache coming on.
      HOWEVER, every single thing about this resort other than coffee absolutely ROCKED. Our Mousekeeper's name was Maria and she left more towels than DS and I could possibly have used in a day, as well as towel animals nearly every day. She was amazing, and the icing on a very perfect cake. Can't wait to come back!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lfigment99

      Registered: November 2006
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Sun November 20, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Bus Service; distance to food court; check-in was exceptional; concierge was exceptional; noise from construction of Animation began at about 5:00 a.m. and trucks backing up really were irritating at that time
      Cons: Maid service was poor; breakfast food was very average

       
      Checked in on November 13th and checked out on November 19th. Had two rooms with three adults in one room and two adults in the other. On most days maid only left one wash cloth in the room with three adults which meant we had to call housekeeping and wait for a delivery. Got tired of calling each day so grabbed an extra 5 washcloths off of the cart sitting outside out room. Needless to say, a gratuity was not forthcoming and we always leave one.


      Breakfast food seems to have suffered over the past few times we have stayed at the Pop. Lots of construction going around beside the main pool but it wasn't too loud or inconvenient.


      Bus service is exceptional at this resort which is the only reason I would recommend the Pop and why it graded out as a 5. Never had to wait more than 5 or 6 minutes and almost always were able to have a seat on the bus.


      Housekeeping allowed us a late check-out of 1:00 which was perfect.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mumma2

      Registered: November 2011
      Location: Michigan
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu November 17, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): No long wait times for buses
      Cons: Small rooms!

       
      I was a bit nervous staying at POP for the first time I have stayed at the Boardwalk in the past let me tell you it much different. I will try someplace else next time but for the money its worth trying!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      buntingd

      Registered: July 2010
      Location: FL
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Sun November 13, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): fun activities for the kids, very friendly and helpful
      Cons: small rooms

       
      We checked in on11-11 to 11-13 and were in room 5268. I had already did online checkin so checkin was a breeze. One of the cast members asked if I Had did online checkin and sent us right to the desk. In just a couple of minutes we were off to our room which was ready. It was about 1:30. After putting our things in the room we went and had a snack - I had to try the tie dye cheesecake I had heard so much about. It was yummy. Our DGD loved the colors it made her tongue. Even DH enjoyed it. We were then off to check out the icons around the resort. Our DGD wanted pictures with all the different icons. She then spend 1 1/2 hours playing games at the Pool party while we waited for her parents to get there.
      We never waited more than 10 minutes for a bus either at the resort or at the parks. Saturday when we went to Epcot there were 4 buses in less than 2 minutes.
      Yes the rooms are small and need some updating but if you are spending most of your time at the parks this is a great family friendly resort. Spending that time on Friday afternoon sitting by the pool watching our DGD enjoy herself with the other kids was a great way to relax and start our weekend vacation.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tgaudet

      Registered: November 2011
      Location: louisiana
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Wed November 9, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): great price,big bright colorful themes
      Cons: housekeeping!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

       
      Family of four myself, DH, DS6, DD3 visited 10-26-11 to 10-31-11. Had two connecting rooms double beds in each with one room being handicap accessible/rails in bathroom for DD3 also for the space it provided. Four people, stroller/wheelchair and suitcases and etc just not happening in one room (at least not for us).


      Arrived by plane, took Magical Express from airport to hotel without a hitch. Had done online check-in and within 15 minutes of arrival, rooms were ready (2:00PM) and off we went. Requests were granted for 50's preferred rooms, ground floor facing pool. Rooms appeared clean and refurbished, fridge (free for medical purposes) were delivered within 10 min of getting to room. Kids' room had a smell to it (kind of like damp towels that needed washing) so I lowered the air and sprayed Lysol and it got little better. We were in the middle of freshening up to go eat in food ct when my DDS6 yells bug in the bathroom!!! DH to the rescue killed the caterpillar thing and saved the day or so we thought.


      Food ct was busy but no overly long waits, food was typical fast style food but was hot and edible. Bought refillable mugs, they paid for themselves after 1st day.


      Rented a car with Alamo/Car Care Center and shuttle picked us up and we got our car and were off to explore. (tip: book ahead of arrival it saves loads of time, you sign some papers exchange dl, insurance, and cc info and your off) We rented a car because of dining reservations and wanted to do off property experiences and shopping and after the car rental I will not be partaking in Disney transportation to the parks. I loved the freedom of having a car!!!!


      We had dining reservations at Akershus (royal princess breakfast) at Epcot on day two and arrived 10 min early, checked in and waited 15min to be seated but had a wonderful experience with the princesses; the food was hot and fresh but only had two bites before princesses started arriving at table by the time it took to see them all (5 of them) my food was cold and I had lost appetite and DD3 was to excited to eat a thing. DH said for $120.00 plus $20 tip he didn't get to eat and enjoy because of the hoopla and excitement but was happy DD3 was pleased. As far as Epcot, the food and wine festival was going on and we hung around till noon but kids were bored after breakfast so we did a couple of attractions but DD3 was scared of everything (dark interiors of attractions at entrance) and we left to rest, eat lunch and had tickets for MNSHP that evening.


      Arrived at MK at 6PM 10-27-11 for the party and was quickly turned off and disappointed by the sheer amount of people but I guess being so close to Halloween I should have expected it. Kids were happy to be in costume (Minnie and Batman) but were a little put off by the volume of peeps and the dark and spooky announcements every so often announcing the party about to start. We did a few rides and tried to trick or treat but the lines were reallyyyyyyy longggggg!!! The parade sounded nice but was too far back to see anything, kids cried the whole time, DH was aggravated and I was flustered, needless to say we got 7 pieces of what appeared to be dollar/generic foiled wrapped candy as we were leaving the party after 2 hours of a horrible time and sad to say we will not be spending the extra $200 plus for this special occasion again.


      After all this, we just wanted to go to bed and start the next day but once back at the hotel there was another bug in the bathroom on the shower curtain, the kids room still had that not right smell and pull back the covers on one of the kids bed and to my shock and horror dirty sheets. Called housekeeping and they said you want a linen change now? and I'm like heck yea!!!!
      The lady that came was very nice and I tipped $2 which I don't know why I did but it seemed like I was feeling guilty bout the dirty sheets when it should've been clean to begin with.


      Next few days were fine, we visited the parks, ate at the food ct at the hotel and used the heck out of our rental car but not once did housekeeping vacuum, and I'm sorry with kids in the room the crumbs or unbelievable I picked up what I could but a vacuum was needed and also we had a bug or two a day in the bathroom.


      On the last day, we enjoyed the parks, returned our rental car and shuttled back to Pop, ate at the food ct and packed up. Caught the ME to the airport early the next morning (the A/C on the bus was broken and a kid got sick all over her/his mother). Sad to say, Pop has changed, we stayed here last year (summer 2010) and enjoyed and rated this hotel as one of the best, but if all rooms had issues with smell and bugs like ours did than many others like me will be staying at another Disney resort (I'm already planing our next stay at the new Art of Animation resort).
      Click here to see this users profile  
      PeaJay18

      Registered: November 2011
      Location: United Kingdom
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed November 2, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cleanliness, transportation
      Cons: Some construction noise from across the lake

       
      We had our second stay at Pop for 7 day beginning Oct 17th.
      We requested (through Travelocity) a lake view, top floor room in the 50s section and we were given a pool-view, third floor room.
      When we've requested a room direct with Disney we've always got what we requested, but this room was still pretty great.


      We overlooked the bowling pin pool and the noise from it was minimal - unlike if you overlook the 60s pool.


      Transportation was a good as ever - never waited more than 10mins for bus either too or from the resort.
      Mousekeeping was fine and our refrigerator request was delivered with 15mins and was free!


      Pop is easily our favourite value resort and we won't hesitate to stay again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  10 · 11 · 12 · 13 · 14 · 15 · 16 · 17 · 18

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.