Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • dcar6972

      Registered: February 2012
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Wed February 8, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food court, price, lake, cleanliness, buses
      Cons:

       
      We have stayed here 3 times and love it more every time. We were picked as the 'Groovy family of the day' upon arrival which was a neat experience. They had a poster with our name on it and balloons. About 10 minutes after getting into our room a manager knocked on our door and gave us a bucket with more balloons attached and filled with retro toys and candy for my kids. After we came back from the parks that night we had turndown service with 7 dwarfs chocolates on our pillows. It was a great memory for all of us! Also, we love the food there, especially the penne chicken!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dksyooper

      Registered: February 2011
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Wed February 8, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Pop icons, resort layout, convenience of bus
      Cons: Paper thin walls, small rooms, expensive food court

       
      After reading mostly positive reviews about Pop Century, I was excited to visit the resort. I traveled with my mom and sister and all three of us were disappointed and would not stay there again. I requested a 4th floor room in the 70's section which I was given. I was probably in one of the quietist sections on the property, but the walls were so paper thin, that I could easily hear my neighbors. On top of that, the plumbing was also loud and I woke up constantly during the night to the sound of flushing toilets. The food court was very expensive, though the quality and variety was good. The service is generally very good at this hotel--Disney employees will go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one. The bus service is very convenient and I liked that the lines were roped off to prevent a mass stampede to the bus. If noise is bothersome to you, make sure to request a fan brought to your room to drown out some of the noise. Overall, Pop Century is not a place I would stay at again. I would either stay in Kissimmee or go to Port Orleans Riverside--I've stayed there several times in the past and enjoyed the resort.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lizzie1974

      Registered: March 2011
      Location: Rhode Island
      Posts: 34
      Review Date: Wed February 8, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): price, theming
      Cons: very few

       
      Just got back from 8 days at POP Century. My request for 1st floor was granted. This makes a big difference. Room 6133. We've stayed on the 4th floor twice and that gets a little old, even with the elevators. Great to just roll right up to your room and walk in. We were across from hourglass lake and could see the progress they are making on Art of Animation. Not one bit of noise from construction.


      The main pool was a lot of fun & not crowded. Games all afternoon for kids. The CM's were excellent. The people at the pool are top notch.


      With 1 exception, everyone at the food court was super helpful & nice. I recognized more than one CM from past trips. That somehow makes going back there feel like home! One dude was super rude to me when I placed my food order. He actually was argumentative which was just out of line. We're all here to have a good time, not to get confrontational.


      Ok - the room. Ample space for family of 3. TV was weird for the first 2 days. It would kind of go into a sleep mode while we were watching it. That mysteriously stopped by day 3. The TVs are flat screen LG's. They do have HDMI inputs for more modern electronics. I called ahead to ask if they did and no one could answer that for me.
      The dresser was busted. Top 2 draws were broken on the right side runners. The bottom draw couldn't be opened!


      Would be nice if the bathroom door didn't hit your knees while your on the toilet. It's a big door! It just misses hitting the toilet seat!


      Bus service - Excellent. Never waited but a few minutes, coming or going to the resort. It was uncanny.


      Will be back!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      meghanp

      Registered: June 2008
      Location: Memphis
      Posts: 36
      Review Date: Thu February 2, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Affordable, Clean, Good Food
      Cons: Thin Walls and Loud Toilets, Large

       
      We have stayed here multiple times. Always a good place to lay your head at night - especially how little we are ever in the room. The food court is nice and has a great selection...food is decent, but not ever awesome. We have stayed at all levels of resorts, and we choose this one for price during quick trips.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      JJK1120

      Registered: November 2011
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Wed February 1, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great staff, interesting design
      Cons: Food court can be too crowded

       
      We stayed at POP Century on 1/13-1/22. This was our fifth time staying at this resort. Check in is a breeze. We had 5 people in our party, rooms with 2, 2 and 1. My girlfriend and I's room was ready when we arrived, the other 2 rooms shortly after. We received text messages to alert us the rooms were ready. We always have a positive experience at POP. We had some noisy neighbors for the first time ever staying here, but that's clearly not the resort's fault.
      If I ever had one complaint about POP it would be the food court. It gets VERY busy at breakfast, dinner, and late night times. It gets so busy around the drink/condiment islands that sometimes your food gets cold just waiting in line for a drink or to put ketchup on your burger. And later at night after the parks close, they close all but 1 of the drink islands and the remaining one runs out of ice, ketchup, and such.
      But food court complaints aside, we probably wouldn't stay anywhere else in Disney. It's our home away from home. We love it and will continue to visit time and again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      CinCin

      Registered: October 2010
      Location: Texas
      Posts: 64
      Review Date: Tue January 31, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fun theming, good food, larger bathrooms, comfortable beds, good customer service
      Cons: sound, sound, sound, no quiet place to be found

       
      We were there for one night only. We had a room in the building 1.


      We enjoyed the food court's food. We had dinner there as well as breakfast the following morning. The food court layout was confusing at first and hard to navigate. I didn't understand the gift shop idea in the food court. We thought that was confusing and just a bad idea on some well paid executive's part.


      The room itself was fine and we had plenty of room for 2 adults for only a short stay. We had enough dresser space but it was just barely enough for our things as the drawers are small and don't hold much.


      The dressing area was small, but functional and the bath area was large and plenty of elbow room in there. There was a curtain to close off the dressing area.


      The room decor was plain and simple and really sort of sad and lacking when compared to the usual detailing I have been used to with Disney.


      The curtains closed completely and the air conditioner seemed to be working quietly and efficiently. There was not a ceiling fan though.


      The mattresses were firm but soft, similar to the feel of a pillowtop type mattress, but I don't think it was a pillowtop.


      The room was comfortable, clean, and decent enough for our stay. I would compare to it in quality to a Motel 6, not fancy and no frills, but it has the basics and will work for a couple of nights.


      Although I would stay here again for an overnighter or weekender, I would not choose to stay here though for week's stay though as it was just a busy place with lots of activity, sound, color, and full of energy, Not restful at all but there is no doubt you are immersed in Disney there.


      If I had small children or teens, this would be a great fun place to stay, crowded, but FUN.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      thejulianos

      Registered: October 2009
      Location: Atlanta
      Posts: 43
      Review Date: Wed January 11, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean, Fun, Good food court & transportation
      Cons: HUGE! Double Beds

       
      We stayed here two nights for NYE (12/31 - 1/2) as part of a split stay that included Animal Kingdom lodge for the last 6 nights. We've stayed at PoP before, and liked it during our previous stay. It was excellent this time as well.


      I had booked a standard room but requested close to transportation if possible. When we arrived I was pleasantly surprised to find we were "upgraded" to a preferred room in the 50's section (#1413). The room was perfect when we arrived. It was on the very end of the building closest to the Classic Hall yet still secluded by the landscaping & trees.


      The resort was clearly packed because of the holiday when we arrived, but we did manage to find a parking spot fairly close.


      Despite being almost full, everything was perfect. Breakfast at the food court was a bit crowded every morning, but selections were good and the food was hot and fresh. We usually bring food back to our room to eat away from the crowd anyway. Busses were running very regularly, and I don't think we waited more than 10 minutes or so for a bus except for the night we stayed until the close of Epcot. Then they brought 2 busses at the same time and loaded everyone waiting.


      I must mention that of all our on-site stays, we've had the best mousekeeping service at PoP. It has been consistently good without a single problem. That's more than I can say for other "higher end" properties like the Contemporary or the Animal Kingdom Lodge.


      Our only real complaints about PoP are the size of the resort which could be a problem if you had a far away room, and the double beds since we like a little more space. Given the price though, it is hard to argue with these two points given how many other good points PoP has.


      We would DEFINITELY stay here again and recommend any one looking for a fun, lively place to stay.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      crystaleve89

      Registered: January 2012
      Location: Buffalo, NY
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue January 10, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): very fun!
      Cons: noisy neighbors, CM that checked us in

       
      Me, my husband, and 10 month old son at the time, stayed a week at the Pop Century resort. Overall, we loved it! However, our arrival wasn't so great.


      We arrived around noon to check in, I can't remember the guy's name but he wasn't very friendly at all. We had done the online check in, so we didn't think it would take very long. While we were standing at the counter, the guy said very few words to us, only speaking to verify details of our reservation. We had requested a room in the 50's or 60's but I understood that nothing was guaranteed, no biggie. He gave us the furthest possible room in the 80's or 90's cant remember. He also acknowledged a note on our reservation that we had just gotten married a few days prior. So he says "I see you're celebrating something" pulls out two "I'm celebrating" pins, and THROWS them on the counter. Not sure what his problem was.


      So we reach out room and discover he had assigned us a handicapped room on the top floor. I wouldn't have minded so much if it actually had a bathtub. We had a 10 month old baby, and he clearly seen that. How am I supposed to give him a bath without a bathtub? So we immediately called back down and explained our situation to another cast member who was very nice and apologized for the inconvenience. She had us come back down to the lobby where she assigned us a new room in the 70's (MUCH closer) on the first floor. We were very happy. It was pretty quiet minus our last 2 nights where a very loud family got the room next to ours, you could hear everything. & they were constantly in and out of their room, resulting in a lot of slamming doors late at night.


      Aside from that, we really enjoyed our stay, we ate at the food court almost everyday and for the most part enjoyed everything we had. The cast members were very helpful in helping us out with the dining plan since this was our first time on it. We went back to the hotel in the afternoon to rest for a bit and cool off in the pool with the baby. I thought the kiddie pool was a lot colder in temperature than the regular pools tho. Buses weren't that much of a problem, they did get crowded, but that was expected. Our next stay we're considering staying at the Caribbean beach resort, only because we want to experience something other than the value resorts. Otherwise, Pop Century would definitely be our first choice! Smile
      Click here to see this users profile  
      disney nana

      Registered: January 2009
      Location: Oklahoma
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Wed January 4, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): cost, Hourglass Lake
      Cons: neighbors noise easily heard; lots of noise from pool activities

       
      My husband and I stayed at Pop during our Dec 19-30, 2011 visit. We had previously stayed at the All Star Movies and Music and wanted to try something different. This was a last minute trip and I was really surprised we were able to find availability here. We used the on-line check-in which made that process quicker. We had requested a king-size bed but when we got to the room it was two doubles. My husband went back to the concierge and asked if it was possible to get a king. They had one king available but it was a preferred room. They ended up giving us the upgrade at no additional cost.


      We were in the 60s building on the side away from the pool. The room was nice and plenty big enough for two of us. Everything was clean and in good condition. Housekeeping service was good. We had several of the towel animals when we first arrived and we asked for another one later in our stay and was given one.


      We ate at the food court numerous times. It was busy a lot but that is to be expected for a resort that size. We never had a problem finding a place to sit. There were also chairs and tables outside so we ate outside a few times since the weather was so wonderful. Food was fairly good. Not a big selection but enough to find something.


      All of the cast members that we encountered were super nice and helpful. I especially appreciated the bus service. Having stayed in the All Stars resorts that share one bus in our previous stays it was nice to have our own. We never had to wait more than 5-10 minutes for a bus but most of the time there was less than a 5 minute wait. Occasionally on the way home from a park we had to stand but for the most part there was plenty of room to sit.


      The only issue we had was the walls seemed really then. We had a family next door to us that had a young child that screamed every night at bed time. We are used to children but I could see that it could be bothersome to some. We were expecting to hear the toilet flush because they do that at the All Stars resorts but we heard people talking and the baby crying everyday.


      The only other thing I would "complain" about is that it didn't seem like they had enough cast members on duty at the concierge desk. There was always a line and my husband stood in line for over 30 minutes one day trying to make a dining reservation. He finally had to leave without making it because we had laundry in the dryers that needed to be tended to. The laundry room that we used was adequate but there were only eight washers in the room next to Classic Hall and three of those were broken.


      I really loved the fact that this resort has the Hourglass Lake behind it. It was nice to go down and sit by the lake when you just needed to get away from the hustle and bustle of the parks and the resort. Very peaceful and quiet.


      I really enjoyed my stay at Pop. We will definitely stay here again and will recommend it to our friends.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mommyof2

      Registered: January 2012
      Location: Texas
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Tue January 3, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 0 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): will stay again
      Cons:

       
      We stayed at Pop Dec. 17-20th, not long but our stay was pleasant... rooms were clean, small but you know that if you ever stayed at a value resort with Disney, lots to see. Staff very nice. We ate in the foodcourt 2 times, it was expensive but nice and had a lot of options. Only down side, I was my son hit his head on the side table and was bleeding at 6 a.m. I called the front desk to ask if they had first aid and she was not helpful at all, went down to the front desk to find out when you press 0 for help it is a call center somewhere off property???? That really upset me.. but overall our stay was great, I would stay again!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  10 · 11 

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.