Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • jkkd

      Registered: December 2009
      Location: Birmingham
      Posts: 47
      Review Date: Mon May 2, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): CUTE!
      Cons: No frills

       
      We've stayed at Pop Century in the past, but it has been quite a while. Frankly, I do not think you can go wrong with any of the value resorts. They are all clean, cutely decorated and fun! We stayed at Pop for 3 nights in April 2016. Absolutely no issue with our room. It was very clean and neat. Service was great. We had a good check in experience. We went to concierge desk a couple of times for questions and we were also served well there. The resort is lovely and so cute. The food court is great - plenty of choices. The shop was also cute and good. We utilized both the shop and the food court.
      Bus stop often would lend to extra waiting and/or full bus with the need to stand. That can happen at any resort, yet it does seem that the value resorts are where you'll find the most crowded bus. Maybe just perception. Anyway, not a huge problem.


      The only slight issue we had with this resort was pertaining to our transfer to the Beach Club Resort. We have never moved from one resort to another - this was the first time. We were told that Pop would transport our luggage from there to the Beach Club. They told us a time frame of 1-3 pm. However, at 4:00 then 5:00 no luggage was received at the Beach Club. The Beach Club told us that the bags hadn't yet arrived at the resort, so obviously they couldn't deliver what they didn't have.
      I am just not sure what happened or why our luggage was not transported when they said it would be, but we did eventually get it later on that night. In the future, I may consider just bringing my own bags should we change resorts mid-trip.
      Otherwise -the POP century is a great resort. We love it and would return.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      schmamm

      Registered: October 2011
      Location: United States
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Tue April 5, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean room, close to Classic Hall
      Cons: Food and noisy neighbors

       
      We stayed at Pop Century 4/2-4/5 for our anniversary. We previously stayed there Thanksgiving of 2012. Our previous trip there was wonderful, no complaints. This trip we had noisy neighbors 2 different nights. Not the hotel's fault, but the sound travels well through the resort. The room itself was great, I requested a king room in the 50's and that's exactly what we got. The room was clean and taken care of every day.


      Our only other complaint was the food our last day. We ate lunch the first day it was great. Our second day we did the make your own omelette station and it was delicious. We did not eat breakfast our 3rd morning. Today, we had breakfast and it was mediocre at best. We both had the bounty platter with French Toast. The eggs were not thoroughly cooked, the french toast was soggy, the sausage was inedible. We were disappointed. All in all if the price is right we will stay here again, but if we can find a moderate for a good price we will probably pay more to stay there.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      shellbates

      Registered: October 2015
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Wed March 23, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): cheap, great gift shop and food court
      Cons: loud

       
      We stayed the first week of February, which I thought was supposed to be lower crowd levels. This resort was pretty busy with cheerleading and dance groups, so was pretty loud in the food court most evenings. Room was pretty small, but worked for my sister and I, especially when we weren't in the room much. The atmosphere is good and definitely a good themed hotel for families. I would probably bump up to a moderate if I had the choice to do over, but it served its purpose for this trip.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      antsassey

      Registered: May 2008
      Location: Buffalo,NY
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Tue March 15, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Price
      Cons: Smokers, lack of cell service in room

       
      The resort was decorated nicely. Food court a little crazy in the morning which was expected. Large groups of people as it was the princess marathon weekend. Not a lot of noise in room from the groups. Only draw back to resort was where the smoking section was located near our room. We had to walk through a hazy of smoke to get into our room. We were in building 10 of the 70s section. Bus service was good. Didn't wait long at the end of the day.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      colemamma

      Registered: March 2016
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun March 13, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): buses, cast members, food court
      Cons: small rooms

       
      We stayed at Pop in December 2015 for 4 nights. Two adults and 12 and 17 yr old. This was our first stay at a value resort, having previously stayed at PO Riverside (moderate). We were expecting to be disappointed but were thrilled with Pop. We were in the 70s section (by the giant Mickey phone) and it was ideal- very close to the main pool, food court/gift shop, laundry and the bus stops. The bus system at Pop was a million times better than at Riverside. We had a surprise of welcome balloons in our room the and staff were very knowledgeable and helpful. Food court was always clean and there was a big variety. Yes, the rooms are small and without any frills, but we spent most of our time in the parks anyway. I would choose Pop again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bosslady79

      Registered: September 2012
      Location: Wisconsin
      Posts: 60
      Review Date: Fri March 11, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great place to sleep
      Cons: Preferred room was a long walk from the buses

       
      The room was clean over all. However the wear is showing. Stayed 2-1 thru 2-11
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mishawnam

      Registered: September 2010
      Location: Dansville, NY
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Sun February 14, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Theme, food court,
      Cons: Bed

       
      Our group of 3 stayed here 1/24-29. Our check in was quick. Love the play area for the kiddos in the lobby. Our room was in the 50's section. The only con for us was one bed in our room was horrible. The springs were shot. Literally every time you moved it sounded like it was going to fall apart and it was soooooo uncomfortable. Other than that no complaints.


      We ate at the food court several times for dinner. My daughter loved the pizza. Once I had the sesame chicken, it was just okay. We love being able to get ice cream cones there. We came back one afternoon for a treat and we had the place to ourselves. Nice treat.


      We thought that the buses were great. One morning the line to Magic Kingdom was all the way to the lobby. We were on the fifth bus and we only waited about 20 minutes. Other than that we didn't ever wait more than 10 minutes to or from POP.


      Make sure to check out the store. I love shopping here. I always check out the store before heading to the parks. A lot of times you can find the same merchandise right there at the resort. Big time saver.


      If you had any free time take a walk over to the art of animation. It is worth it.


      All in all we love the POP resort. This was our third time staying here and it is still our favorite. Great for those on a budget or looking to save some money.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      alwill

      Registered: December 2006
      Location: Gainesville, FL
      Posts: 25
      Review Date: Sat February 6, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 0 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Costs
      Cons: Over-capacity buses

       
      We just spent a couple of days in early February 2016 at POP. While we usually stay at Moderate WDW resorts, we opted for POP because of our short stay and an incredibly low price per a FL Resident Special Rate. We knew the Value resorts tend to be busier because we've stayed at others in the past. However, we had no idea it would be as busy as it was during this typically slow time at the World.


      POP was hopping, the buses were packed going to-and-from the parks and the food court looked to be jamming (although we didn't eat there.)


      The room was pretty small but comfortable, and relatively close to the bus/parking lot. The only negative aspect was how packed the buses were going anywhere (well, except to Epcot) as we saw buses from other resorts hardly near capacity. We were able to take a double-length bus to MK which was interesting. If you do ride one and end up standing within the hinge between the two sections, note there is a small disk that will rotate when the bus makes its turn. The lady standing on it during our ride was a bit unnerved when she found herself moving from side to side. like she was on a Lazy Susan.


      Overall, it was about what you'd expect from a Value resort. We were just surprised it occurred during what is usually a slow time at Disney.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      SCOTTMOP

      Registered: January 2006
      Location: WESTMISNTER,MARYLAND
      Posts: 86
      Review Date: Thu February 4, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Price, Bus stop , Food court
      Cons: very youth themed and used by big groups

       
      we stayed 4 nights at Pop from 1-26 thru 1-30. Loved it. We got 2 rooms as fitting 4 would be tough with one bathroom especially when travelling with 2 teen age girls. The food court offered many good options at decent price (for disney) . It has its own bus stop so you dont have to share with other hotels. Though the bus stops at the parks were usually the last ones which makes it a bit of a walk after a long day at the parks. I was shocked by the number of groups staying there. The parks were filled with groups too, mostly from over seas. Made wait times rediculous at the parks. I would definately stay here again. Can be loud at times due to the groups and young kids but still not much of a bother.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      GSHROUT

      Registered: January 2016
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Thu January 7, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean Comfortable Affordable
      Cons: No Hot Water until 7:30 AM and bus always at max capacity

       
      We choose the preferred rooms and we were placed in the 70's, Very convenient to the bus stop, which is nice when your traveling with small children.


      Food court is adequate with a limited selection. Open late which is really nice for a late night snack. Oh and they have energy drinks (my personal addiction)


      We were there in Dec. and pool was cool not warm, but it was tolerable.


      Bus rides were long and uncomfortable because of the crowds. Unfortunately able bodied men who could stand did not. I witnessed many women holding their small child having to stand on the bus. Sad...


      The Arcade has two massage chairs that are wonderful. I highly recommend them.


      The laundry machines were very efficient and worked great.


      Hot Water! Apparently in an effort to conserve electricity the hot water is turned of nightly and not turned back on until around 7:30 AM. I like to get up early some days to beat the crowds to the Parks and cold showers feel awful.


      Beds are small, full sized at best. So if your planning on two people per bed, well....good luck with that.


      Overall it's a nice place and I'd recommend it to anyone who would like to save some money.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      EeyoreLove

      Registered: January 2016
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Fri January 1, 2016 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Close to Art, Mousekeeping
      Cons: LOUD inside the rooms, no bed choice

       
      I was recommended this resort by Passholders who love it. We hated it! I couldn't request a king bed. This absolutely baffled me as it's the main thing you reserve at any other property. I was able to request a "lake view" and we were placed in the 50s, with two double beds. The lake room was quieter until everyone was ready for bed. We could hear everything! I knew what show the neighbors were watching and that the other side were arguing about what park to visit! The beds were iffy, but the pillows were so bad we both had neckaches the whole trip. The toilet became an ongoing joke because it flushes so hard, it moves the air nearby. Of course this means you can hear every toilet nearby and the showers too. Even my white noise app couldn't drown it out. The positives: Mousekeeping was excellent (much better than the moderate resorts!) and being near Art of Animation meant we always had another choice for meals (which were surprisingly tasty) and transportation. Will NOT stay again, would rather travel less often, but actually get some sleep!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lfigment99

      Registered: November 2006
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Sun November 15, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Bus service to parks; food court;Magic Express service
      Cons: Bus service from parks-pickups almost always farthest from gate; shower head was awful; rooms are showing wear, especially bathroom; drawer broken; chair squeaked.

       
      Room was no better than a Motel 6 or Days Inn. I will admit we are somewhat spoiled from staying at the Moderates or Deluxe hotels the last few trips so maybe I am expecting too much from a Value hotel.


      It has been several trips since we last stayed at Pop. It is doubtful we will ever book there again.


      Bus service is exceptional from the hotel to the parks though.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      toolmanjan

      Registered: April 2008
      Location: Toms River New Jersey
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Thu November 12, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean comfortable rooms Quiet
      Cons: the distance from main gate to bus stop at MK,HS Epcot

       
      I stayed one night here before moving to SSR then Vero Beach PC provides an value for the money. The food at the food court was good. A special thank you to Anthony at the food court for calling Vero Beach resort and finding out If I could continue to use our rapid fill mugs there. BTW the answer was yes.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      OTEYS

      Registered: January 2006
      Location: Vinton, VA
      Posts: 20
      Review Date: Tue October 27, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Buses, Location, Pools
      Cons: Pillows

       
      We stayed at Pop Century Resort from 10/16 through 10/24. We had adjoining rooms for our party of 6. We have stayed at Pop and are very pleased with the upkeep and cleanliness of the property. We stayed in the 50's building on the first floor and it was very quiet there. We enjoyed the food court (especially the tie dyed cheesecake), the pools, and our rooms. We also loved the dedicated buses to our resort so that only one stop has to be made after a long day in the parks. The only con was that the pillows were incredibly flat. By the third night we took extra bath towels and stacked them under our pillows for extra support.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ksimas

      Registered: October 2012
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Wed August 12, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): much better than I thought
      Cons: Need to cover where people wait for the bus

       
      We were there from June 24th - June 28th...sorry for the last posting.
      This was my very first time at a 'value' resort and I will tell you I was very surprised. I thought I would hate it but I didn't. There were some things I missed like the 'welcome' home when you come back from the parks; the elevator must have been 200 degrees; and they really need to cover where the people are waiting for the buses. They do have coverage where the benches are but if you wait there you will never get on the bus.


      Again I was pleasantly surprised. However, I am a moderate girl as I like the little perks that a moderate gives you.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.