Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • lfigment99

      Registered: November 2006
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Sun November 15, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Bus service to parks; food court;Magic Express service
      Cons: Bus service from parks-pickups almost always farthest from gate; shower head was awful; rooms are showing wear, especially bathroom; drawer broken; chair squeaked.

      Room was no better than a Motel 6 or Days Inn. I will admit we are somewhat spoiled from staying at the Moderates or Deluxe hotels the last few trips so maybe I am expecting too much from a Value hotel.

      It has been several trips since we last stayed at Pop. It is doubtful we will ever book there again.

      Bus service is exceptional from the hotel to the parks though.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: April 2008
      Location: Toms River New Jersey
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Thu November 12, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean comfortable rooms Quiet
      Cons: the distance from main gate to bus stop at MK,HS Epcot

      I stayed one night here before moving to SSR then Vero Beach PC provides an value for the money. The food at the food court was good. A special thank you to Anthony at the food court for calling Vero Beach resort and finding out If I could continue to use our rapid fill mugs there. BTW the answer was yes.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2006
      Location: Vinton, VA
      Posts: 20
      Review Date: Tue October 27, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Buses, Location, Pools
      Cons: Pillows

      We stayed at Pop Century Resort from 10/16 through 10/24. We had adjoining rooms for our party of 6. We have stayed at Pop and are very pleased with the upkeep and cleanliness of the property. We stayed in the 50's building on the first floor and it was very quiet there. We enjoyed the food court (especially the tie dyed cheesecake), the pools, and our rooms. We also loved the dedicated buses to our resort so that only one stop has to be made after a long day in the parks. The only con was that the pillows were incredibly flat. By the third night we took extra bath towels and stacked them under our pillows for extra support.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: October 2012
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Wed August 12, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): much better than I thought
      Cons: Need to cover where people wait for the bus

      We were there from June 24th - June 28th...sorry for the last posting.
      This was my very first time at a 'value' resort and I will tell you I was very surprised. I thought I would hate it but I didn't. There were some things I missed like the 'welcome' home when you come back from the parks; the elevator must have been 200 degrees; and they really need to cover where the people are waiting for the buses. They do have coverage where the benches are but if you wait there you will never get on the bus.

      Again I was pleasantly surprised. However, I am a moderate girl as I like the little perks that a moderate gives you.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: March 2013
      Location: Washington Court House, Ohio
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Thu July 23, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Own bus route between parks and resort
      Cons: Can be a bit noisy at night

      We stayed 1 night this time at Pop Century on 7/14, and as usual we were quite happy! We got to the resort at about 7:45a that morning so that we can park there at the resort and just hop on the bus up to the Magic Kingdom, so I went to check in to get the parking pass for my car, and the CM at the front desk told me my room was already ready, and we can take our stuff up to the room, and we did exactly that! We were in the 60's section (went with the preferred room), and we were on the 4th floor facing the pool. That night after we got back from the Magic Kingdom, it was nice with the quick walk to our room, but well past 10p it was still fairly noisy outside around the pool, which I didn't like a lot. The next morning it was quiet, and we checked out, but still kept the car there and got on the bus to Downtown Disney/Disney Springs to do some shopping before we left. We'll be staying there again, just not with the pool view.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: July 2015
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Tue July 21, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Price, dedicated bus, & theme
      Cons: Food court this trip

      We had stayed at Pop century when the kids were 5 & 7 and loved it so we knew we should stay here again. Kids are now 12 & 15. We stayed 7/7-7/14. We like the theme it seems like you are in disney. We visited the Plonesian and yes it was nice but didn't seem like you are at Disney. We reserved a preferred room and were in room 437 in the 70s section. At first I thought it was not close to the busses but you could go around by the parking lot and the busses were right there. We could even see DHS fireworks on the walkway outside of our room. The room had a mini fridge (able to fit 2 half gallons of milk, 8 waters, grapes and a box of breakfast sandwiches). It also had a full size hair dryer with high/low setting, An ironing board and iron, flat screen tv with remote & alarm clock.there is a small table with 2 chairs. There is not enough drawer space for 4 people but we made due. The sink/mirror is outside of the bathroom which was nice. Also a curtain separated the sink area from the bed area. You don't even go to the front desk to check in. If you completed the online info before, they just text you when your room is ready with your room number and you use your magic bands to get in. Same with check out-no need to go to the desk. The kids can get in with their magic bands too which is nice.

      They gave 3 pools, no slides but good size. We used the 90's area computer pool since it was close to our room and less busy. I did use washer & dryers one day while we were at the pool. It's right near the pool area.$2.50 each for wash & dry. You need your magic band to get in.

      You could also walk over to the Art of animation across the bridge. We used their bus one night coming back after fireworks since it was a shorter line and came quicker than ours. It was a short walk.
      I stil loved it but this time the food court was horrible. It was slow, food was cold, small portions and expensive. I wasn't expecting a gourmet meal. It wasn't that bad the first time we stayed there but this time we did not want to eat there. I hope they try to make it better.
      I would love to stay here again; price, bus service, theming are all great but they need to fix the food court.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: May 2011
      Location: Seattle WA
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Fri May 29, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, Bus Service, Price

      Just returned from my 05.16 - 23 trip and 5th stay at POP. Had requested upper level lake view (my favorite) and this is the first time that request wasn't fulfilled... they didn't even get close as the assigned room was on the ground floor/pool view. As a single traveler ground floor is not desirable, so I asked if they could at least change this and they did give me an upper level/pool view. This is the first time I've done advance on-line check-in, and I don't know if that made a difference or not: I take a red eye from the west coast and always arrive early. If I check in at the front desk they do try to see if they can assign at room at that time but trip I got lumped in to the mass room assignments at 3pm, and I don't think they even saw the special request. Pool view is definately louder - the happy voices are enjoyable but the cleaning and maintenance noises in early morning not so much. I was also in the 70's building for the first time, somehow in the past I have always been in 50's or 60's. Cutting thru the parking lot makes the walk to the bus stop pretty quick, but I would much rather walk thru the resort... just a personal preference.

      Only got a few things at the food court... can't say I loved any of the food items but the Brownie Sundae was devine - and huge. Food court cast members seemed friendlier and more up beat than in the past.

      Room was fine, in good shape and clean. The bus service was great, even though the POP buses are always at the very last bus stop - at every park Smile.

      For the price this is a great option due to location and dedicated bus service - and only one bus stop for the resort.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: August 2011
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Sun May 24, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cost, Dedicated bus, Theming
      Cons: Limited food selection, Motel feel

      A family with small kids, adults only, or those folks on a budget should give the POP serious consideration. It is a Value resort so expectations should not be high. However, if you want a clean, relatively comfy bed, and pools then this is for you. Keep in mind it only has twin (not queen) size beds so a family of four with older kids may want to upgrade to a Moderate or check out the suites at AoA.

      I have stayed at the POP before and it is consistently good. The cast members are helpful and during this stay some of the cast members danced to "Do the Hustle" which immediately told us we were on vacation! The dedicated bus service is a big plus, but if you opt to visit Downtown Disney in the morning know that the bus service is probably a 20-30 min wait. The food is typical food court offerings - not bad, but not great either. Depending on which building you have been assigned it can be a "long" walk to the lobby, bus, food court. By long I mean a few minutes, but in the Orlando heat it can make a difference. In addition, during this stay it was just my wife and me. If you have little ones, disabled folks, or elderly folks the walking distance can be prohibitive.

      Bottom line, if you view a resort as a place to sleep and you spend most of your time elsewhere, then the POP is the resort of choice.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Fri January 30, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): price, amentities
      Cons: Pool is a bit boring

      For the money, I think this is the best of the Value hotels. You have easy access to the Art of Animation to go look around/eat at if you want to be a little adventurous, nice grounds, and a decent food court. The pools are a bit of a bore, but no more so than the other Values (need to go moderate if you are planning on spending days at the hotel swimming). Overall if your main goal is strictly parks/downtown with just very little time looking for things to do around the hotel, this a great hotel for you.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: June 2010
      Posts: 73
      Review Date: Tue January 20, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Afforable
      Cons: A few

      What a difference one year can make! First, we had to book our rooms through a travel provider due to staying for a sports event at ESPN WWS. Disney would not let us book directly. The travel provider messed up who was in each room, which screwed up some of the magic bands. One family in our party spent 45 min at check-in fixing the problem. Second, we wanted the 70's building, but we were forced into the 50's since we were there on a group reservation for a sporting event.

      The bus service was the one bright spot on this stay. The bus to and from the MK and Downtown Disney were quick with a very small wait time.

      The main pool in the 60's building did not have heat. It was ice cold! That is unacceptable in January. Everyone crammed into the other pool areas at the 50's and 90's buildings. Only a handful of people were at the main pool (resort was packed) and they were still doing the pool activities there instead of moving to where all the kids were. If you wanted a drink from the pool bar you had to walk from one of the other pools.

      The food court was crazy busy in the morning, but I expected that and warned the rest of our party. Some chose to find out for themselves on Day 2 and were almost late for the sports event at the WWS.

      I remembered the beds in the 70's building were very comfortable last year. All the beds in our group section in the 50's building were sagging in the middle and you could feel the springs. One television did not work either.

      My rating for Pop Century went down from a 7 to a 4 this time.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: July 2006
      Posts: 37
      Review Date: Thu January 1, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything...
      Cons: Nothing

      My mom and I have been staying at Pop Century since 2007 and we LOVE it.

      We love the layout of the hotel. There are not LONG walks from any of the buildings to the main building, in my opinion.

      The food is great at Pop Century, although we have only eaten breakfast there. I would recommend it for first timers on a budget.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: October 2011
      Location: Bay Minette AL
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Tue December 23, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): CMs, theming, kids area
      Cons: none

      This was our first stay at Pop. We had a wonderful time here.
      Check in was a breeze, only took a few minutes. We were super early and room wasn't ready, but I got a text by 9am saying it was ready. We were already in Down Town Disney by then!
      Our room was comfortable and clean. Mousekeeping was sufficient, but didn't go above and beyond. We asked for extra soap and tipped but none were left. It didn't bother us too much, though!
      The kids enjoyed the activities and the arcade. The shopping and food court were great as well. We ate there many times. The pizza was surprisingly good. We came in late one night and got delivery. We are a family of 5 with the 5th being a baby and we were comfortable in the room. We didn't spend a great deal of time in there though!
      The theming was great. My one year old son loved the Mickey phone and the potato heads.
      While my husband was loading our car to leave I took the kids to the small children's area. What a great treasure that little area was! There were Disney shows playing, video games, little comfy chairs, and best of all the most wonderful CM we have ever met. She sat in the floor and played potato heads with my son (his favorite). She was silly and he instantly loved her. After they played she played a board game with my 7 yo daughter. She was wonderful!
      I would not hesitate to stay at Pop again!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: July 2006
      Posts: 37
      Review Date: Wed November 26, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): EVERYTHING.
      Cons: Some Cast Members...

      We LOVE Pop Century. Love EVERYTHING about it. We usually get a great room in a great section, without paying the $11.00 extra.

      This trip (nov 15-20th) we loved most cast members, except a few who didn't do their jobs right. One cast member in food court only took 1 side when she was supposed to work both sides.

      Other than that, normal expectations from friendly cast members.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: November 2014
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sat November 22, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything,Staff ,Clean
      Cons: Bus Lines were ATROCIOUS!!!!!

      1 hour wait to get to a bus to get to a park in the AM. Need more buses!!! Besides that it was great!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: November 2014
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Fri November 21, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very clean rooms! 90's area quiet and close to parking lot. Food allergy friendly.
      Cons: Crowded dining. Some Concierge not so magical.

      We loved this resort from day one. Our first concierge was friendly and welcoming. We weren't sure about the long walk to the 90's building at the back. But we discovered we could shortcut through the parking lot direct to the buses. It was so quiet back there and so close to the computer pool which was never busy. Great spot!
      Had some nice meals at the food court. A notch above fast food chains for sure. The best part was eating gluten free and knowing I was SAFE. The chefs were very kind and extremely accommodating. They take food allergy seriously.

      We liked the food court....until we went next door to Art of Animation. In comparison Pop was very crowded and difficult to do in a scooter/wheelchair. We liked the menu better at Pop. So I guess there's always pros and cons and trade offs.

      Was surprised to get a couple of unsmiling unmagical Concierge later in week. Almost Grumpy. Not up to normal Disney standard. I guess everyone has a bad day. Even Disney cast members!

      Our visit was Nov 14 to 20, 2014
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11 >

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.