Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • mbelerique19

      Registered: October 2017
      Posts: 26
      Review Date: Mon October 9, 2017 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful lobby and resort views
      Cons: Dining room can be packed

       
      We woke up extra early so we could head over and have breakfast here before Magic Kingdom opened. I had my heart set on trying the tonga toast because I had heard such great things. When it arrived, I was pretty disappointed. The banana filling was not fresh and i felt like the bread was overpowering compared to the filling. I wouldn't suggest trying the Tonga Toast from here.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      maze4

      Registered: March 2013
      Location: Pennsylvania
      Posts: 71
      Review Date: Fri October 6, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): outside eating area
      Cons: not enough choices

       
      Ate here 9/21 late night after being in parks that day. It was our first day and wanted to get something after being in the pool to relax. Food options are limited and being a deluxe you would think they would have more options. We all ordered the italian sandwich which was very good and good size proportion but if I had to eat everyday at here that would be my only option. My dd9 got the hot dog which again limited options for kids as well. The server did give her the adult size portion which I appreciated because she did eat the whole thing. we ate outside so that was nice. The kids also ate breakfast there as they wanted to try the Tonga Toast and had a meal credit available. NO one could finish it #1 it was big #2 it was too sweet for them WE are DVC & AP members and this is our home resort so will be staying here again future however, We know that I will need to have food options in room since they are so limited
      Click here to see this users profile  
      feenie20

      Registered: December 2007
      Location: New Hampshire
      Posts: 45
      Review Date: Wed April 5, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): new layout, food
      Cons: smaller seating area

       
      I love the new layout of the ordering space and that they will bring your food to the table for you.
      We ate here a few times on our last trip and really enjoyed it.
      The seating area both inside and outside is a little small, and can be very crowded at peak times.
      Their house made chips are tasty!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MinnieMouse2570

      Registered: January 2014
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sun March 19, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, cast members
      Cons: none

       
      My daughter and I ate breakfast here on our last morning 3-3-17. I got the Tonga toast, which I had never had before. It was one of the Best things I had all week! YUM! My daughter had the kids mickey waffles and the were also very good. We also bought some mickey shaped rice crispy treats to take home as gifts. The cast members were very kind and helpful.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MWS

      Registered: April 2011
      Location: Cols, OH
      Posts: 45
      Review Date: Thu March 9, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food
      Cons: Not enough seating

       
      We ate here for breakfast a few times during our last trip. Like most counter service locations, you order at the register and they bring the food to your table. The space is on the small side and very crowded, but we didn’t have to wait long on our food. I had the Mickey waffles and the Cast Member who brought them was nice enough to bring extra syrup. Cast Members do a great job keeping the area clean.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tinkiebell

      Registered: December 2006
      Location: Alexandria, VA
      Posts: 20
      Review Date: Thu December 15, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): fresh food
      Cons: food is served in boxes

       
      We normally eat breakfast here and always enjoy it, as we did this time around. The food is cooked fresh (a step up from the value resorts), served in a reasonable amount of time, and tasty. We normally sit way in the back by the water fall—this area is usually not very busy and a little quieter, save for the falling water. I found it interesting, however, that although we ordered our food to “eat in” it was still served in boxes on the tray, which kind of cheapened the feel of our experience at this deluxe resort. I don’t expect fine china but even the value resort we visited served our entrees on plates.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      featheredbuddy

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Thu September 29, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tonga toast
      Cons: none

       
      Fast service, good food and clean eating area.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mickeymom5

      Registered: September 2008
      Posts: 71
      Review Date: Thu August 4, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Love a QS at a deluxe resort
      Cons: not enough indoor seating

       
      My oldest daughter and I shared the Big Kahuna sandwich with fries. It was okay. The bread was a little dry. My youngest daughter had the kid's turkey sandwich. It was carved thick turkey slices. Her bread was also dry. One piece of the turkey could not be eaten as it had a hard piece running through it. We were disappointed, but at least we our dessert was great! We went outside and got two Dole Whips!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Warner

      Registered: May 2016
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Wed May 18, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nice food, nice dining area
      Cons: The wait

       
      Captain Cook's is a nice restaurant. It has good food and an overall good feel. I always get the grilled chicken sandwich which is great! The chicken was perfect!


      However, the wait was the only concern. It was around 8ish PM and it was pretty crowded. While waiting in line (which was pretty long) we noticed there was little-to-no seats in the place. However, we discovered there was outside seating, and that is now where we will sit every time!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      disneyhardin

      Registered: June 2010
      Posts: 78
      Review Date: Fri November 13, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      We stayed at the Polynesian, so we ate breakfast at Captain Cooks everyday. The food was always very good. We waited quite a while for our breakfast a couple mornings and I couldn't really figure out why because it wasn't very busy. We came later (about 8 AM) one morning and it was packed in there - I highly recommend going about 7 if you want to beat the crowds.


      There are two soda machines and one of them was broken the entire week and there wasn't a sign on it or anything, so there was a constant stream of people trying to use it and then not being able to get anything to come out. They really should have just put up a little "out of order" sign.


      My husband got a burger/fries one night and brought it back to the room to eat for a late night snack and he was pleased with it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      disneyhardin

      Registered: June 2010
      Posts: 78
      Review Date: Fri January 2, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quck for breakfast
      Cons:

       
      We stayed at the Polynesian the first week of November and had breakfast here every morning. It was always quick and good. I had a waffle one morning, a breakfast sandwich one day and bagels the other days. DH had the Bounty plate one day and sandwiches the other days.


      DH went and got carryout for us late one night and that wasn't as good. He had a burger and fries that was good, but he got me a grilled chicken sandwich and it was inedible. The chicken breast was paper thin and so dried out I couldn't eat it. If we had been in the restaurant I would have exchanged it for something else, but since he had brought it back to the room, I just ate the fries and cut my losses.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      CinCin

      Registered: October 2010
      Location: Texas
      Posts: 65
      Review Date: Fri November 28, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food, exclusive dishes, good variety offered
      Cons: none

       
      I had read great reviews of this quick service food court and took a trip over to The Polynesian to dine there. It is a quick ride over from the Magic Kingdom and a nice quiet break from the parks for a meal. I had lunch here and ordered the Aloha Pork sandwich. It comes with an asian slaw but I had them hold it since it had onion in it. The sandwich was tender and lean pork and was really good. I was expecting it to be on one of those King's Hawaiian rolls but it wasn't. It was something else that didn't have much flavor. This came with a side of french fries but they weren't very good. They were thinly cut and crispy but not hot and had little flavor. I would have rather had a side of raw vegetables and ranch dip or plaintains or other side more "polynesian" themed. This isn't a large place and there are not a lot of tables, but there was only 2 other tables occupied when I went for a noonich timed lunch and I had my choice of seats. There was a large floor to ceiling wall of windows looking out into a lush tropical garden. This is a really nice little place to sit and grab a quick bite. The menu offered a lot of resort specific themed dishes such as this Aloha Pork sandwich and Polynesian nachos which sounded really really good but I didn't get a chance to try them this visit. This was worth the little trip away from the parks. I was back on the monorail and back in the parks pronto and got a nice break away in a peaceful tropical setting.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dbfromcincy

      Registered: August 2008
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Fri February 28, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): dole whip and tonga toast
      Cons: crowded

       
      Trip week of Feb 17th, and had breakfast and other assorted meals/snacks here all week.


      Tonga toast and Dole whip were favorites for me. My wife thought the Tonga toast was nothing special and opted for the croisant breakfast sandwich instead.


      Went to Grand Floridian's Gasparilla Grill once and only then realized how good a system the LCD screen ordering is at the Poly. This was not working at Gasparilla and it took way longer for the food to be prepared.


      Always fairly busy but not much wait. A few tables outside were always open and it was more pleasant and scenic than the inside seating.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      disneyhardin

      Registered: June 2010
      Posts: 78
      Review Date: Tue October 29, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quick - easy to get in and out of
      Cons:

       
      We were staying at the Polynesian, so we ate breakfast here everyday and had lunch once.


      For our lunch I had the pork nachos and a cupcake and my husband had a burger, fries and a cookie. The food was really good. The only negative was that the cake part of the cupcake was really dried out.


      For our breakfasts, I tried the tonga toast one day - I didn't love it, but nothing was cooked incorrectly, I just didn't much care for it. I ordered a side of bacon one day that was WAY overcooked. My husband fell in love with the croissant breakfast sandwich and had that most every day. I had bagels/muffins the other days that were really good.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bibba410

      Registered: May 2011
      Location: Arkansas
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Sun September 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Service and Dole Whips!
      Cons: Food

       
      We took the monorail over to Poly in late August to grab a quick bite (because - Dole Whip!). I have to say, our food left a lot to be desired. The service was fast and friendly - but my flatbread was just "meh." My mom got a burger and fries - and it was a typical burger and fries (no complaints there). The Dole Whip was very good and the bonus to that was that we didn't have to wait in a crazy line for it back in MK.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.