Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • dbfromcincy

      Registered: August 2008
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Fri February 28, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): dole whip and tonga toast
      Cons: crowded

       
      Trip week of Feb 17th, and had breakfast and other assorted meals/snacks here all week.


      Tonga toast and Dole whip were favorites for me. My wife thought the Tonga toast was nothing special and opted for the croisant breakfast sandwich instead.


      Went to Grand Floridian's Gasparilla Grill once and only then realized how good a system the LCD screen ordering is at the Poly. This was not working at Gasparilla and it took way longer for the food to be prepared.


      Always fairly busy but not much wait. A few tables outside were always open and it was more pleasant and scenic than the inside seating.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      disneyhardin

      Registered: June 2010
      Posts: 52
      Review Date: Tue October 29, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quick - easy to get in and out of
      Cons:

       
      We were staying at the Polynesian, so we ate breakfast here everyday and had lunch once.


      For our lunch I had the pork nachos and a cupcake and my husband had a burger, fries and a cookie. The food was really good. The only negative was that the cake part of the cupcake was really dried out.


      For our breakfasts, I tried the tonga toast one day - I didn't love it, but nothing was cooked incorrectly, I just didn't much care for it. I ordered a side of bacon one day that was WAY overcooked. My husband fell in love with the croissant breakfast sandwich and had that most every day. I had bagels/muffins the other days that were really good.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bibba410

      Registered: May 2011
      Location: Arkansas
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Sun September 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Service and Dole Whips!
      Cons: Food

       
      We took the monorail over to Poly in late August to grab a quick bite (because - Dole Whip!). I have to say, our food left a lot to be desired. The service was fast and friendly - but my flatbread was just "meh." My mom got a burger and fries - and it was a typical burger and fries (no complaints there). The Dole Whip was very good and the bonus to that was that we didn't have to wait in a crazy line for it back in MK.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sabu1953

      Registered: January 2008
      Posts: 33
      Review Date: Sun September 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good food
      Cons: none

       
      Wife had the Adult Grilled Cheese...very tasty with tomato and multiple cheeses in it. Very filling and satisfying. I had the Asian Chicken with Noodles...a great tasting diversion from the usual hamburger and fries routine. Also very tasty and filling! For breakfast...you GOTTA try the Tonga Toast here....same as in the Kona Cafe, but a lot cheaper! A;ways a good stop QS stop!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      thorntda

      Registered: October 2012
      Location: Brandon, FL
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Mon August 12, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): pork sandwich, dole whip
      Cons: none

       
      I had read an article on Capt Cook's as another location then MK to get a dole whip, we were not disappointed. We had the pork sandwich, wonderful taste, slaw on top. You buy the dole whip cup and fill it up when you are ready to eat, yum!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      peytonshea02

      Registered: October 2006
      Posts: 127
      Review Date: Wed June 5, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tonga Toast!!!
      Cons:

       
      On our way to the Magic Kingdom, we decided last minute to stop by the Poly for a quick breakfast. We were considering staying here on our next trip so we decided to check out Captain Cook's. We ordered the bounty platter, Mickey Waffle and Tonga Toast (one of our favorites from Kona) - It was all fantastic! The Tonga Toast was outstanding. Super light and fluffy but filling. Sweet but not too sweet. It was heavenly! It was one of our favorite breakfasts in the World.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      thetony45

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 67
      Review Date: Thu April 18, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good Food Great Prices Great View Of Wishes And Electrical Wtaer Pagent
      Cons: Very Limited Indoor Seating

       
      On a recent trip to WDW I was touring the Polynesian resort and got hungry so i stopped by Captain Cook's.


      The ordering is done on computer screen that print a receipt you take to the cashier. The touch screen is very easy to use.


      I opted for a Hawaiian Flat-bread which was tomato sauce, pineapple, and ham on pita bread.


      After you pay for your meal you are given a pager to inform you when your food is ready. It was only a couple minutes until my pager went off so the service is extremely fast.


      There is a ton of outdoor seating that provides an excellent view of Wishes and the Electrical Water Pageant. The only downside was there was a lot of birds wanting handouts. There are many DO NOT FEED THE BIRDS signs but people feed them anyway.


      Any-who the flat bread was very good. It looked and tasted like a flat pizza.


      The major draws for Captain Cooks are the famous Tonga Toast (deep-fried battered banana-stuffed sourdough bread)served for Breakfast for people who aren't looking for a sit down meal at Kona Cafe.


      Also Captain Cook's offers the legendary Dole Whip for those not inside the Magic Kingdom.


      All in all Captain Cook's is a great place to get a quick bite while at the Poly.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      PolynesianStitch

      Registered: January 2011
      Location: Minnesota
      Posts: 23
      Review Date: Tue March 26, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): quick service, good food
      Cons:

       
      Excellent place to stop by for a quick hot breakfast before going to the Magic Kingdom.
      Tonga toast is particularly tasty and pastries and hot breakfasts are very good. Had no problem finding a table and staff was friendly and efficient.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Gadawggirl

      Registered: February 2013
      Location: Georgia
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sat February 16, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Dole Whip
      Cons:

       
      Was told that they had the Pineapple Dole Whip here and they do! Ice cream only, not the float, but it was still good! You are given a cup when you pay and then you self serve yourself. Smile So I did and got as much as I could in that cup, then enjoyed every bite! Had some fries with it and I was a happy girl.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Nurserachet

      Registered: January 2013
      Location: Oklahoma
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Wed January 16, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Hours, dole whip
      Cons:

       
      Average food. Fries were cold. Bakery items looked impressive. Dole whip!!(vanilla and pineapple). Lovely outdoor seating. Cool ordering system (if you don't need to make special requests) open 24/7. Refillable mugs (can only be refilled at this location) were over $16!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mrspierce39

      Registered: August 2008
      Location: connecticut
      Posts: 20
      Review Date: Tue January 15, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): 24 hours nice quick spot anytime tonga toast
      Cons: None

       
      Stayed at poly 1-9-13to1-12-13 used capt cooks for coffee and drink refills many times had sushi good cheesy flatbread tasty
      Nice to have 24 hours getting back late . WAs glad to have it for snacks and ooh dole whips' yummy
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bdrobinson

      Registered: October 2006
      Location: Cherry Hill, NJ
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue January 1, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good food!
      Cons: Inconsistent preparation

       
      Very good counter service with excellent pork nachos, chicken sandwiches, flat bread pizza, Poly chips, noodles, Ceasar salad, and, of course, Dole whip! Sometimes the chicken/noodles does not have a lot of chicken in it. Sometimes the Poly chips does not have a good assortment of fried noodles to potato chips. Sometimes the flat bread pizza does have enough topping.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      AundreaSmith

      Registered: December 2012
      Location: Caledonia, Michigan
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Thu December 27, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tonga Toast!
      Cons: Felt cramped

       
      My Husband and I came all the way to the Polynesian just for the Tonga Toast...and boy we were NOT disappointed!! It was absolutely delicious!!


      We liked ordering from the kiosks, made things really easy. However, the overall area is really quite small and cramped and when there is a line to check out you can barely get into the coolers for a drink.


      Seating was decent and comfortable. The service was fast and the food was hot and delicious.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      TiggerTrigger

      Registered: December 2010
      Location: Texas
      Posts: 64
      Review Date: Thu November 29, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nice Options, Dole Whips
      Cons: Setting, Fries

       
      We popped in here for a quick lunch and snacks. There were lots of nice options on here...definitely one of the better QS options we've encountered in the hotels...especially with the Dole Whip machine! YUM! My only complaints were that the seating area feels kind of cheesy and antiquated and the fries did not taste very fresh.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ER_Nurse

      Registered: March 2009
      Location: Carmel, IN
      Posts: 20
      Review Date: Fri November 2, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food was good
      Cons: Service

       
      The food at Captain Cook's was great, but we had concerns about the ordering. The computers don't prompt you if you are on the dining plan, so you have to really understand the dining plan and the menu or you will wind up having to have the staff correct your order. Also, the restaurant seems to have difficulty handling the volume of customers around meal time. Everyone is working hard, but they cannot keep up. It was easily a half hour wait or more for our food.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.