Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • nancy

      Registered: May 2012
      Location: orlando burbs
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed May 16, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): excellent food, pleasant service, good with kids
      Cons:

       
      Had dinner at 'Ohana on May 12, 2012. Our reservation was for 6:45 and they seated us a few minutes early -- at 6:45 we were already eating bread. We really enjoyed the food, the waiters were happy to bring us more of what we asked for (the chicken! outstanding!), and they are very kid-friendly. Without my asking, the waiter brought our daughter the "kid dessert" (ice cream with colored sprinkles). We also found with our 4 year old, that the promise of a monorail ride afterwards was great leverage for good behavior -- an added bonus of 'Ohana's location! Smile We will be back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      LuAnnL23

      Registered: December 2010
      Location: NY
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Mon May 14, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food was good
      Cons: Rude waitress, long long wait for service, short of help, and air conditioner was broken for the 2 hours we were there

       
      Short staffed, too hot. Rude waitress too long of wait for food. We have gone to 'Ohana every time we go to Disney which is twice a year (own DVC) and every time we go to 'Ohana, it is getting worse. We have taken this restaurant off our list.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 218
      Review Date: Sat May 12, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      My five roommates and I dined here on 5/2, with an 8:30pm ADR. They were running about 15 minutes behind the ADR times.


      I had last eaten here two years ago and I remember this meal being better than it was. This time the food was just okay and the service was average.


      The salad was very good, and the bread was fine too. We asked for butter and they said they would have to check to see if they had any left because they throw it away after 8pm.


      Chicken wings were just alright, but I enjoyed the noodles. The pot stickers were much spicier than I recall them being. The grilled chicken was excellent; I didn't try the pork or the shrimp, and I did not care for the sauce on the steak.


      I don't like bread pudding, but the scoop of ice cream with sprinkles was delicious.


      We were there for Wishes and could kind of see it, but they did not dim the lights, though the music was piped in.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      stephylynn02

      Registered: April 2012
      Location: Ohio
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Mon April 30, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything!
      Cons: Waiting

       
      This was my fav meal of our trip. The bread was amazing I ate a whole loaf myself I think. The salad and noodles were my favorites actually, one of the best dressings Ive ever had and the salad was extremely fresh. Apps. were good, meats and sauces were excellent. The dessert was a bread pudding with ice cream and a banana caramel sauce and it was to die for! You will not go hungry here Cousin I promise! Service was great. Only downside was the wait even though we had a res. but it wasnt too bad. Got done just in enough time to hit the beach to see the fireworks Smile
      Click here to see this users profile  
      allywdw

      Registered: July 2011
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Sat April 14, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): delicious food and great service
      Cons: seats by the grill station get hot!

       
      This was our second trip to 'Ohana for dinner and I was even more pleased than the first time I ate there! Patti our server was so kind and efficient. Someone addressed my shellfish allergy promptly and there were no problems with any of my food. The pork dumplings and grilled chicken with the sauces is soooo delicious. The entertainment had changed since I had been there a year and 1/2 ago. The man who performed had a nice voice, and my husband and I got called up to celebrate our 12 year anniversary with 2 other couples. After our dinner we went out to catch a boat to the Magic Kingdom and we were just in time to watch the fireworks from the dock. I know they play the firework music in the restaurant, but they even play it at the boat dock. It was a wonderful night and I highly recommend eating dinner at 'Ohana.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Robin

      Registered: July 2006
      Posts: 54
      Review Date: Fri April 13, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): lots of food and it keeps coming
      Cons: feeling like a bloated mess when we leave!

       
      We hadn't eaten here in years and started our trip with dinner here on our first night. It was me, my husband, my 17 year old daughter and my 13 year old son.
      The starters were good. I tried the salad, dumplings and one wing and liked the dumplings best (my son liked the wings). The bread was good too.
      The meats came and did not disappoint. I was worried the beef would be overcooked but it wasn't. The waiter (I wrote his name on my phone but it autocorrected to "Ton", so who knows what his name was) was good about offering us the different types and giving us a few to try.
      We all enjoyed the bread pudding although no one had tried it before!
      The only downside to this meal (besides holiday pricing, including tip it cost the four of us $191) is that you leave feeling like a stuffed pig! Good thing there is so much walking in a disney trip! We skipped the dining plan this time just so we don't eat like this every day!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ntonks

      Registered: May 2008
      Location: Wilkes Barre Pa.
      Posts: 32
      Review Date: Wed April 4, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, service, atmosphere
      Cons: none

       
      This is the best restaurant on Disney property in my families opinion. We have eaten here twice and it never disappoints. The wait staff is so attentive. The food is impeccable, and you never feel rushed. The atmosphere of 'Ohana is wonderful. There is nothing bad that I could say about this restaurant. I recommend this place to everyone that I speak too!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      LisaS321

      Registered: March 2012
      Location: United States
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed March 28, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The bread, the salad
      Cons: Rude waiter, dry meat, not a pleasant experience

       
      Wow, Seems like O'hanas is either hit or miss and if you are unlucky enough for a miss night it can be a costly mistake. Here is the review I had posted on another Disney forum, sounds surprisingly like the last review I just read on here.
      "I just returned from WDW on 2/20. I had secured one of the "coveted" dining reservations at O'hanas for the night of the 15th. I was very excited as I had never tried this restaurant before and was really looking forward to it. The food was just ok for me, I didn't realize it was mostly just meat. However, the whole experience was truly ruined for us by our waiter, who basically served us the salad and then forgot about us!!! Over 30 minutes went by while everyone around us were served. At this point they were shutting down the firepits in the middle of the restaurant and I asked a waitress if she knew who should be serving us as we had not received anything. She was very kind, seemed to be genuinely horrified that we had been there the whole time without food and she made sure we were served. When our waiter finally showed back up much later and I asked him if we had offended him in some way he laughed and explained he was busy and had a special anniversary table to attend to. When I told him that wasn't a good enough reason to ignore us and that I didn't find it amusing he just simply kept laughing. I guess it was a nervous laughter but all in all, it was an awful experience and I won't ever eat there again."
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Redheadmc

      Registered: October 2009
      Location: New York
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Wed March 28, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): So annoyed, can't think of any
      Cons: Rude staff, too expensive, horrible experience.

       
      I have eaten here a few times, but this past time was so horrible, I would never eat there again. Long story short, Waitress ingnored us, got annoyed at us because the kids were dancing with the entertainment and she could not get our drink order right away. Basically ignored us the entire time. We waited 20 minutes before we had to flag down someone to pass us any skewers of meat. I mean not one waiter or waitress came by. I finally had to flag down another waiter to get food. At this point the appetizers were cold and my kids were hungry. My husband got so mad, he had to go to the manager and tell them our waitress had not come back to our table in 20 minutes. After that, of course she came back, but we were fuming. She was somewhat more attentive. The restaurant gave us a 20% percent discount, but then added on an 18% percent tip for the worst waitress I have ever had!!! My husband wanted to complain, but to avoid anymore anxiety, I told him lets go and never go back. After dinner we went to watch the fire works in the lobby. My three young children were sitting in seats in front of the window, and two adults walked right in front of them, in front of the window, and blocked their view. I blew a gasket! Could not believe the rudeness of the waitress, and the visitors in the resort. I may not ever go back to the Polynesian Resort Again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      slpayne

      Registered: March 2012
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Wed March 28, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): plenty to eat!
      Cons: wait staff was slow at refilling our food

       
      Every time we eat here I have a different favorite of the meats, this time it was turkey. The sides were all very good. My biggest complaint is how slow the staff was at bringing the meats and refilling our drinks. We've gone here our last 5 trips, but will take a break on our next one.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DaisyMaesMom

      Registered: March 2012
      Location: Rhode Island
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Thu March 15, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food was delicious
      Cons: waitress was terrible

       
      We just ate here on March 11th. It was very tough to get a reservation in advance, even 180 days! When we arrived it was incredibly busy, loud and crowded both in and outside the restaurant. We were kind of used to this and didn't really mind, though I was sitting back to back with a child who kept her chair pushed way out so every time a waiter came by he bumped into me, rather than having her push her chair in which got annoying! Our waitress was absolutely terrible. She was friendly but rarely around! We noticed that all of the tables seated around us (and seated after us)that didn't have her were already eating while we were all still sitting waiting. The food was very good, though I personally didn't care for the dumplings or the wings, my husband did. The bread, broccoli and the noodles were excellent as were the sauces that came with the meats. The chicken was delicious as were all the other meats. Our dessert was good, but of course by the time our waitress gave it to us our sauce was room temp, and the ice cream was melted. I have no idea what she was doing with it! My children loved the coconut races and the lady with the ukelele. We would definitely go back here again, and just pray we got a different waiter/waitress as every other waiter around us seemed to be much better and more on the ball! Oh, and I would NEVER suggest you show up without reservations! There was a wait line already winding around the railing and Victorious (the host) told us most of the people waiting would never get a seat as most people making reservations keep them!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Disneylover25

      Registered: March 2012
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Mon March 5, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, Atmosphere, Veiw, Location
      Cons: Wait

       
      `Ohana is a wonderful restaurant. I've eaten here many times with my family. Everyone enjoys the food -even my younger brother who is a super picky eater. The amount of food you get is outstanding. At the end of the meal your so full you feel like your about to explode-especially if this is your first time and you want to try everything.


      The atmosphere is amazing. If you have a child, they will more than likely love the coconut race and the hula lessons that are free if you eat at the restaurant. Not only that but the kind lady (or gentleman depending on the day) will play a ukelele which just adds to the great atmosphere.


      If your lucky enough to be able to get a window seat (which a lot of the tables are) you will have a spectacular view. Sometimes you can see the magnificent pool and at other tables you can make out Cinderella's Castle.


      If you're staying at a hotel that has a monorail, `Ohana is at the perfect location. I suggest that if you are staying at a hotel that doesn't have the monorail to eat here on one of the days that you go to Magic Kingdom or Epcot so that you can go straight to the restaurant. It's a quick and easy trip from Epcot, one of the other hotels with a monorail, or Magic Kingdom.


      I've been to `Ohana many times and a lot of the time we (my family and I) have a extremely long wait. I understand why-It's a popular restaurant in Disney World but it's till quite crowded and I didn't enjoy it. That's just a warning for everyone but I think the food was well worth it.


      All in all it was a great restaurant and when I return to Disney World I will definitely be eating at `Ohana again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      d_wooden

      Registered: February 2012
      Location: Tiskilwa Illinios
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Fri February 24, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, service, atmosphere!
      Cons: dumplings

       
      Wow, what a meal. Recommended highly. All food cooked over a fire pit and what a meal. Our waiter told us from the start "look out, we'll be bringing food to you like a freight train", he wasn't kidding. All kinds of food and all of it good. The only food I didn't care for was the dumplings. I don't know what is in them but it sure didn't fit the palate of someone from the midwest. Everything else was fantastic though and the interaction with the kids of the group was 'pure Disney'!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Guelphite

      Registered: April 2010
      Location: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
      Posts: 59
      Review Date: Sun February 19, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, fun (firepit) atmosphere
      Cons:

       
      Our family of 4 ate at here on Jan 31st. It was our first time there. After checking in on time at a very busy podium, it took us about 15 minutes to get seated. We passed the time browsing at the nearby store.


      We were seated in the main room, next to a window. The fire pit was close (but not too close). We all loved the food. The pineapple/coconut bread was delicious as was the salad that came with it. Then the pot stickers, broccoli and noodles came out and were also great. At about the same time the parade of meat off the skewer started. Chicken, pork, steak and shrimp; all were great. Everything was offered more than once. I love shrimp so I made sure to skip some of the meat to leave room. Be sure to pace yourself or you will run out of steam. Dessert was a very tasty warm caramel bread pudding.


      Our 2 children (7 and 9) did the coconut broom races, learned the hula, marched in a conga-like line and played the maracas. Great fun for families but might not be quite so entertaining if your little darlings aren't part of the mayhem (...I mean fun).


      The end of our meal coincided with the Magic Kingdom fireworks. Our view was obstructed by trees and a very nice family from a nearby table invited our children to watch from their vantage point. We thanked them profusely. A little bit more magic in our day.


      This is now on our must do list for future visits.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ebemis

      Registered: February 2012
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Thu February 16, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): flavorful food, fun for the kids
      Cons: food arrives all at once

       
      We have eaten here twice. The food is excellent with lots of great flavor. The room is large and loud, but fun for the children. The courses all arrive one right after another. If your looking for a quiet relaxing meal, this would not be the best fit for you. I would highly recomend this restaurant for the quality of food, just be prepared for the atmosphere.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11 >

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.