Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • hbk

      Registered: August 2010
      Location: Indiana
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Wed December 26, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 6 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food is good, nice atmosphere/location
      Cons: reservation time means nothing, service, rush..rush... attitude

      This is such an overrated experience. The food is good, and the location at the Polynesian is excellent.

      However a few items that aren't so great: reservation times at least in my experiences (I do mean plural) mean absolutely nothing. I have never been seated on time, or even remotely close. 2nd, the servers rush you thru the meal unless you really make a point and tell them to slow down, which takes more than one stern request. They are in such a rush that clean plates were an inconvenience. We asked for a clean plate after our appetizers as they started bringing the main course meats, and they told us exactly this "we normally don't do that", and I said "what, bring clean plates", and that was exactly it. Are you kidding me, no clean plates?? It was an eye roll and a brief attitude, but we eventually got clean plates. I can only assume that is the direction of management.

      Again, food is really good, and a pre-drink at the outside bar on the beach is terrific, but beyond that, I would go to Kona Cafe first.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  

      Registered: December 2012
      Location: Aurora, CO
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Thu December 20, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, Wait Staff, Ambience
      Cons: Nothing

      My family of 9 just returned from our December 9-16, 2012 trip and 'Ohana was unanimously voted our favorite place to eat. That's saying a lot because we had some fantastic sit down meals.

      This was our first time at 'Ohana and now I see what the fuss is all about. We had a reservation for 6:40 pm on December 9th and were seated within 10 minutes. We got to sit nearly in the center of the restaurant so we could see the singer and had plenty of light (some of the restaurant is quite dark which we would not have enjoyed).

      The Welcome Bread, pot stickers, noodles, veggies, chicken wings and iced tea would have made a fantastic meal for all of us. But then the meat skewers came! Oh my gosh. The pork, chicken and beef were my favorite and others in our group had about 20 shrimp. The food just kept coming until my sister joked that she had to wave the white flag of surrender! Just when you are about to burst, they bring out the bananas foster dessert.

      'Ohana is now on our "must do" list. Our experience was perfect...we didn't have to wait long for our food, our glasses were always full and every time we asked for a little more of something, they would bring it out within a few minutes. My daughters could not get enough of the pot stickers and my 4 year old ate so many n noodles and veggies that she could barely eat her "make your own sundae" (and for her not to eat ice cream is a shock).
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: December 2012
      Location: Connecticut
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Wed December 19, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Variety of food
      Cons: loud, crowded

      We ate here on 12/3/12 for dinner. We had to wait about 15 minutes as the restaurant was just opening. Our server was very nice and came over a lot. The food was pleantiful but I wasn't impressed with the quality. I tried the steak which for me was a bit tough and fatty in spots. I didn't try the shrimp. I thought the pork was very good and didn't care for the chicken. The dumplings however were amazing as were the vegetables and the bread pudding. I did not like the coconut races for the children, maybe my child was too young. They took her, she is 3, and when they started the game she was quickly out of sight which made me uneasy. I got up and it took a minute for me to find her which felt like an eternity. It was too big a space for this parade and I wouldn't recommend it for small children.
      I know many people rave over this restaurant and I feel bad saying that I don't plan on returning. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't everything I expected it to be.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: December 2007
      Location: Bernville, Pennsylvania
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Tue December 18, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food
      Cons: Service

      This is a vacation tradition for my family. Went on Friday, December 14 at opening. We were seated right away and the salad, bread and appetizers came out quickly. However, it appeared they kept missing our table with the main course of skewers. We were asked if we were ready to leave before we ever saw the shrimp. I still love o'hana, but will probably schedule a little later in the night next time.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: December 2011
      Location: South Carolina
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Tue December 18, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything!
      Cons: None

      One of our favorites!
      If you're on the DDP, it's an incredible value! More food than you could ever eat, all of it delicious. Even if it's not you're fave type of food, try it for a little variety! There's almost always a wait, so definitely go with an ADR! Our server this time was Roy. He was friendly, courteous and professional, but still laid back- just like 'Ohana's atmosphere. Even with ADRs, we had to wait about 25 minutes, but it's well worth it! We even considered switching other reservations to repeat it on the same trip!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: December 2012
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Tue December 18, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): great dessert,fast service
      Cons: strange singing atmosphere, not relaxing

      We liked this ok....the food tasted pretty good, except those fake udon noodles. The servers brought plenty,and fast. Anything we asked for, they brought, it was just....odd. Not relaxing at all to have someone appear suddenly next to you and drop steak on your plate whether you want it or not. But all in all, the meats were good, the bread was ok, the salad ok, the singer was AWFUL. She was loud,and long,and very off key. We were glad when she stopped singing. Then things settled down a bit. The bread pudding is the BEST. Really good. No one in our party was overly thrilled with this place, but nothing really negative either. Just not our favorite.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Mon December 10, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): EVERYTHING!!!
      Cons: none

      The food is awesome. Our service was the best! This is our favorite and never lets us down! The dessert is to die for! We'll be back! Smile
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Wed December 5, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): great food and atmosphere
      Cons: none

      Our party of 7 ate at multiple table service locations in DW during a recent vacation and this was our unanimous favorite (children included). The food was wonderful. We did not stay at the Poly so loved being able to visit here. There is a reason reservations are hard to come by. A suggestion is to call the day of if you can't get one. We loved it so much we called 2 days later and a reservation was available though we ended up not being able to take it.

      My 7 year old daughter really enjoyed the activities for children (coconut race and hula). The activities were not intrusive during the meal as can be the case at some places at DW.

      Highly recommend...we would definitely go again (and again and again).
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: May 2010
      Posts: 20
      Review Date: Thu November 29, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food & Atmosphere
      Cons: Nothing

      Mom and I had to do some creative planning to get ADR's here. With only Disney transport it was some bus/monorail fun but worth it. We were seated almost immediately and the food came fast and nonstop with then bread/salad/potsticker/wings. Usually being wing people we were surprised that we preferred the potstickers over them all. There was quite a delay for the meats but we needed the break which actually worked out well and we enjoyed the kids games eventhough it was just us two adults. The singer even stopped to chat with us as we had a table near the kitchen in and out. We were right up front neither of us like shrimp and my mother will only eat WELL done steak, like near burnt. lol Maybe that was the delay but when it came it was great!! Like I said we can't comment on the shrimp and we actually didn't care for the pork as much as the chicken and beef. I was nervous the chicken would be dry but it was perfect as was the beef and my dear mother liked it the most of all the meats which is saying something for her. The sauces were fun to try also. I enjoyed the dessert but it's hard to pace with all that food. We will absolutely do this place again when we return with other family and I can't get over this only being 1 TS credit!! It is absolutely worth the time it took to come and if you leave hungry no one to blame but yourself. The Polynesian is fun to look around and we took a boat trip back to the MK for an evening visit in the cooler weather. Without a doubt we found this better than the Whispering Canyon.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: July 2009
      Location: Mesquite, TX
      Posts: 24
      Review Date: Sun November 25, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Friendly staff, big pineapple drink, food ok
      Cons: this trip rude waiter & dry food

      We ate here on 11/10/2012...We usually have a wonderful experience at 'Ohana but this time around, the steak & pork was dry. Figured we would wait for the next round but when they finally served us the steak & pork, it was still dry. But it took so long for our waiter to show up, who knows why. Our waiter & his helper was rude & seen far & in between, when the check came he sure tried to be nice than yea little late. Next trip passing on 'Ohana.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: November 2012
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Sat November 24, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Yummy yummy yummy
      Cons: None

      Dinner at 'Ohana is something everyone needs to experience! Delicious food and fun entertainment. The steak and shrimp are so good, and the banana bread pudding is out of this world. If you need to eat gluten free they can accommodate. The salad, shrimp and beef are already gluten free. They will make gluten free wings, rolls, pork, chicken, rice and broccoli. For dessert they can do a flour less chocolate cake with ice cream.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: December 2010
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Mon November 19, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The Food
      Cons: Very fast to get you out

      The food was fantastic. I never had bread pudding before, but after this meal I will be looking for it. They brought us so much food, and were constantly asking if we wanted more. The chefs were very accommodating to my wife who is a vegetarian, and made her a dish with tofu that she loved. The only issue is that the restaurant is so popular that everyone was rushing to get you in and out to get the next group in. But that's Disney, so I didn't count much off for that.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: November 2006
      Posts: 102
      Review Date: Sun November 18, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): great seat next to window
      Cons: everything this time

      Review submitted by ro z:

      Never had a bad meal here until Nov. 7 when everything that could go wrong did! We were seated at the windows. Nice! Great start. Then we waited and waited. Finally got the salad. We ate some but we were saving up for the real food! Again we waited. My hubby went to the restrooom warning me not to eat all the wings. Not to worry because when he came back still no wings. I went to the restroom with the same warning. Returned to the same thing! No food. We ate some more salad and bread. Finally the wings, pot stickers and noodles came. We finished them and again waited. Finally chicken. It was good however we each got 1 piece. We ate it and waited again. Next came shrimp. I don't eat seafood so our 'cousin' loaded hubby's plate. He didn't like having to peel them but.. he ate one then the next one was so salty he spit it into his napkin. He was done with shrimp. Mind you I still sat there watching him eat. Finally some pork was offered. We each got a piece. He ate it but I couldn't. It was terrible. The old pork was so much better. Again we waited. Our server comes over and asks if we are ready for dessert. WHAT... We tell her we have not had any steak. Off she goes and gets some steak. I ask for more well done and get 2 Hershey kiss size pieces and hubby gets 2. Then she brings the dessert, which was good but by that time we just wanted to get out of there. We had been seated at 8:30 and left at 10:10! What a nightmare! We have eaten here many times and while service had been slowish in the past this was unreal. And yes, I complained to Disney and 'Ohana. I would not recommend this place right now!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: November 2012
      Location: Troy, Alabama
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Thu November 15, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious
      Cons: None

      We dined here for the first time in October. I can honestly say that this is one of the best places I have ever eaten in my life. My husband agrees. The grilled shrimp were the best I ever had. I did not eat any of the other meats, but my husband said they were all delicious. We also enjoyed the side dishes and bread. We could not believe the abundance of food. As for the bread pudding, I was skeptical, but tried it anyway. WOW is all I can say! It was byfar the best dessert I've had at any Disney restaurant. I have already located the recipe online and will be attempting to make it myself very soon. My daughter loved the hula lessons. I had told her all about the coconut races, but for some reason they did not have them the night we were there. Regardless, we all loved this place and cannot wait to eat there again!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: November 2012
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Thu November 8, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros):

      My family ate dinner at 'Ohana on October 5, 2012. What a wonderful experience! Every cast member was very upbeat, friendly and outgoing. The grilled meats were moist and flavorful, with the supply never-ending. The bread pudding for dessert was one of the best desserts I have had at any Disney restaurant. We highly recommend 'Ohana to anyone visiting Disney World.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11 >

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.