Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • enjrob

      Registered: January 2013
      Location: Illinois
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Tue January 15, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): bread, dessert, wings
      Cons: service

       
      We won't be back. We got there early (which was our fault) but still waited 25 mins past our ADR time b4 we got a table. We had the opposite experience here than what some people have had. Our server never came back. We waited forever for the next round of food to come and for drinks to be refilled. Overheard someone complaining to the manager about the same thing but at least we eventually got our food, they didn't. Service was ridiculously SLOWWWWWW! In our opinion this place is way over rated. 1/2 the food was really good, the other 1/2 was alright but not worth the price or the head ache. When our server was at our table he was nice. They played games w/the kids but mine weren't interested in playing--they were too hungry and tired of waiting for food. In defense of the restaurant, the other person complaining to the manager said this is the 1st time service has been so awful and he has eaten there b4. At least we were on the dining plan so that took a little bit of the sting out of this bad experience.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tigregk

      Registered: January 2009
      Location: Michigan
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Tue January 15, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere, food, service
      Cons: none

       
      Enjoyed dinner here with group of 17 during the first week of December 2012.


      Check in was seamless & they were able to accommodate the whole group together since there were long tables in the center of the restaurant.


      Others in the group had been there before, while it was the first visit for a few of us. We felt well prepared for the onslaught of food to come. Needless to say, its difficult to pace yourself.
      Salad & bread were tasty & well dressed. Noodles, broccoli, chicken wings and pot stickers were all excellent. The skewered meats were fantastic as well. I particularly enjoyed the shrimp & chicken.


      We had a couple of young & picky eaters in our group. Our server noticed, and asked the two young boys if they would like some chicken nuggets & fries. You should have seen the platter that he produced! Probably 50 chicken nuggets and the equivalent of 10 regular orders of fries. Piping hot with sauces and ketchup!


      I would recommend this as a must eat destination. But be forewarned... plan you days eating accordingly.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nybella17girl

      Registered: December 2006
      Location: Jacksonville, FL
      Posts: 59
      Review Date: Wed December 26, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food
      Cons:

       
      Ate here for dinner on Dec 7th with my two children. Checked in and buzzer went off in 10 minutes. There was some kind of mix up with our table because the man who was trying to seat us had to bring us back to the check in area because there was a family already sitting at our table. They took care of this fast and we were immediately seated. I didn't care for my table. It was in the middle of other tables where servers were everywhere and kids running around and I would have preferred sitting off to the side by a wall or a window rather than the middle, but I didn't request this, so I cannot blame the restaurant for anything.


      Once seated, the food started coming. First, salad and bread. I didn't want any bread so I didn't even try it. Salad was good, could of used a bit more dressing. Next came the broccoli, lo mein noodles, and chicken wings. This is the third time I ate at 'Ohana and the noodles and wings are my favorite part of the meal. I could easily get full on these alone and they keep bringing more until you tell them to stop. My toddler loved the noodles. Very tasty. Broccoli was good too. My kids saw those little umbrellas they put into the drinks at other tables. I asked the server if my kids could have umbrellas and she quickly brought them to make them happy.


      Next, they bring the skewers of meats. Chicken, steak, pork and shrimp. All pretty good. I thought some of them were a bit dry, but still had good flavor. You get very full at this place and they will not stop coming to your table with food unless you tell them no more. Servers call you cousins and make you feel comfortable. The theming is pretty good, and goes well with the resort. It took about an hour and 15 minutes to eat here.


      I asked the server to skip dessert and bring our check. I have tried the dessert before and I don't really care for it and we were very full anyway. This is one of my favorite restaurants in Disney and I make it a priority to go once every trip.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      hbk

      Registered: August 2010
      Location: Indiana
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Wed December 26, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food is good, nice atmosphere/location
      Cons: reservation time means nothing, service, rush..rush... attitude

       
      This is such an overrated experience. The food is good, and the location at the Polynesian is excellent.


      However a few items that aren't so great: reservation times at least in my experiences (I do mean plural) mean absolutely nothing. I have never been seated on time, or even remotely close. 2nd, the servers rush you thru the meal unless you really make a point and tell them to slow down, which takes more than one stern request. They are in such a rush that clean plates were an inconvenience. We asked for a clean plate after our appetizers as they started bringing the main course meats, and they told us exactly this "we normally don't do that", and I said "what, bring clean plates", and that was exactly it. Are you kidding me, no clean plates?? It was an eye roll and a brief attitude, but we eventually got clean plates. I can only assume that is the direction of management.


      Again, food is really good, and a pre-drink at the outside bar on the beach is terrific, but beyond that, I would go to Kona Cafe first.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      the4Ds

      Registered: December 2012
      Location: Aurora, CO
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Thu December 20, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, Wait Staff, Ambience
      Cons: Nothing

       
      My family of 9 just returned from our December 9-16, 2012 trip and 'Ohana was unanimously voted our favorite place to eat. That's saying a lot because we had some fantastic sit down meals.


      This was our first time at 'Ohana and now I see what the fuss is all about. We had a reservation for 6:40 pm on December 9th and were seated within 10 minutes. We got to sit nearly in the center of the restaurant so we could see the singer and had plenty of light (some of the restaurant is quite dark which we would not have enjoyed).


      The Welcome Bread, pot stickers, noodles, veggies, chicken wings and iced tea would have made a fantastic meal for all of us. But then the meat skewers came! Oh my gosh. The pork, chicken and beef were my favorite and others in our group had about 20 shrimp. The food just kept coming until my sister joked that she had to wave the white flag of surrender! Just when you are about to burst, they bring out the bananas foster dessert.


      'Ohana is now on our "must do" list. Our experience was perfect...we didn't have to wait long for our food, our glasses were always full and every time we asked for a little more of something, they would bring it out within a few minutes. My daughters could not get enough of the pot stickers and my 4 year old ate so many n noodles and veggies that she could barely eat her "make your own sundae" (and for her not to eat ice cream is a shock).
      Click here to see this users profile  
      annarose09

      Registered: December 2012
      Location: Connecticut
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Wed December 19, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Variety of food
      Cons: loud, crowded

       
      We ate here on 12/3/12 for dinner. We had to wait about 15 minutes as the restaurant was just opening. Our server was very nice and came over a lot. The food was pleantiful but I wasn't impressed with the quality. I tried the steak which for me was a bit tough and fatty in spots. I didn't try the shrimp. I thought the pork was very good and didn't care for the chicken. The dumplings however were amazing as were the vegetables and the bread pudding. I did not like the coconut races for the children, maybe my child was too young. They took her, she is 3, and when they started the game she was quickly out of sight which made me uneasy. I got up and it took a minute for me to find her which felt like an eternity. It was too big a space for this parade and I wouldn't recommend it for small children.
      I know many people rave over this restaurant and I feel bad saying that I don't plan on returning. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't everything I expected it to be.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      disneyfan1970

      Registered: December 2007
      Location: Bernville, Pennsylvania
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Tue December 18, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food
      Cons: Service

       
      This is a vacation tradition for my family. Went on Friday, December 14 at opening. We were seated right away and the salad, bread and appetizers came out quickly. However, it appeared they kept missing our table with the main course of skewers. We were asked if we were ready to leave before we ever saw the shrimp. I still love o'hana, but will probably schedule a little later in the night next time.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ellebright714

      Registered: December 2011
      Location: South Carolina
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Tue December 18, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything!
      Cons: None

       
      One of our favorites!
      If you're on the DDP, it's an incredible value! More food than you could ever eat, all of it delicious. Even if it's not you're fave type of food, try it for a little variety! There's almost always a wait, so definitely go with an ADR! Our server this time was Roy. He was friendly, courteous and professional, but still laid back- just like 'Ohana's atmosphere. Even with ADRs, we had to wait about 25 minutes, but it's well worth it! We even considered switching other reservations to repeat it on the same trip!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      hsmamato2

      Registered: December 2012
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Tue December 18, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): great dessert,fast service
      Cons: strange singing atmosphere, not relaxing

       
      We liked this ok....the food tasted pretty good, except those fake udon noodles. The servers brought plenty,and fast. Anything we asked for, they brought, it was just....odd. Not relaxing at all to have someone appear suddenly next to you and drop steak on your plate whether you want it or not. But all in all, the meats were good, the bread was ok, the salad ok, the singer was AWFUL. She was loud,and long,and very off key. We were glad when she stopped singing. Then things settled down a bit. The bread pudding is the BEST. Really good. No one in our party was overly thrilled with this place, but nothing really negative either. Just not our favorite.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      hairangel21

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Mon December 10, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): EVERYTHING!!!
      Cons: none

       
      The food is awesome. Our service was the best! This is our favorite and never lets us down! The dessert is to die for! We'll be back! Smile
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bmdisney

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Wed December 5, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): great food and atmosphere
      Cons: none

       
      Our party of 7 ate at multiple table service locations in DW during a recent vacation and this was our unanimous favorite (children included). The food was wonderful. We did not stay at the Poly so loved being able to visit here. There is a reason reservations are hard to come by. A suggestion is to call the day of if you can't get one. We loved it so much we called 2 days later and a reservation was available though we ended up not being able to take it.


      My 7 year old daughter really enjoyed the activities for children (coconut race and hula). The activities were not intrusive during the meal as can be the case at some places at DW.


      Highly recommend...we would definitely go again (and again and again).
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mlw17mi

      Registered: May 2010
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Thu November 29, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food & Atmosphere
      Cons: Nothing

       
      Mom and I had to do some creative planning to get ADR's here. With only Disney transport it was some bus/monorail fun but worth it. We were seated almost immediately and the food came fast and nonstop with then bread/salad/potsticker/wings. Usually being wing people we were surprised that we preferred the potstickers over them all. There was quite a delay for the meats but we needed the break which actually worked out well and we enjoyed the kids games eventhough it was just us two adults. The singer even stopped to chat with us as we had a table near the kitchen in and out. We were right up front neither of us like shrimp and my mother will only eat WELL done steak, like near burnt. lol Maybe that was the delay but when it came it was great!! Like I said we can't comment on the shrimp and we actually didn't care for the pork as much as the chicken and beef. I was nervous the chicken would be dry but it was perfect as was the beef and my dear mother liked it the most of all the meats which is saying something for her. The sauces were fun to try also. I enjoyed the dessert but it's hard to pace with all that food. We will absolutely do this place again when we return with other family and I can't get over this only being 1 TS credit!! It is absolutely worth the time it took to come and if you leave hungry no one to blame but yourself. The Polynesian is fun to look around and we took a boat trip back to the MK for an evening visit in the cooler weather. Without a doubt we found this better than the Whispering Canyon.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mizlou

      Registered: July 2009
      Location: Mesquite, TX
      Posts: 24
      Review Date: Sun November 25, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Friendly staff, big pineapple drink, food ok
      Cons: this trip rude waiter & dry food

       
      We ate here on 11/10/2012...We usually have a wonderful experience at 'Ohana but this time around, the steak & pork was dry. Figured we would wait for the next round but when they finally served us the steak & pork, it was still dry. But it took so long for our waiter to show up, who knows why. Our waiter & his helper was rude & seen far & in between, when the check came he sure tried to be nice than yea little late. Next trip passing on 'Ohana.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Oliv2b

      Registered: November 2012
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Sat November 24, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Yummy yummy yummy
      Cons: None

       
      Dinner at 'Ohana is something everyone needs to experience! Delicious food and fun entertainment. The steak and shrimp are so good, and the banana bread pudding is out of this world. If you need to eat gluten free they can accommodate. The salad, shrimp and beef are already gluten free. They will make gluten free wings, rolls, pork, chicken, rice and broccoli. For dessert they can do a flour less chocolate cake with ice cream.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bolter

      Registered: December 2010
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Mon November 19, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The Food
      Cons: Very fast to get you out

       
      The food was fantastic. I never had bread pudding before, but after this meal I will be looking for it. They brought us so much food, and were constantly asking if we wanted more. The chefs were very accommodating to my wife who is a vegetarian, and made her a dish with tofu that she loved. The only issue is that the restaurant is so popular that everyone was rushing to get you in and out to get the next group in. But that's Disney, so I didn't count much off for that.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11 >

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.