Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • momof3inMadisonAL

      Registered: December 2009
      Location: Niceville, FL
      Posts: 80
      Review Date: Thu February 14, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food, coconut race, hula & lei, alternate kid meals
      Cons: SO MUCH food

       
      Tried 'Ohana after hearing so much about it. Loved the salad, bread, and wings. It was hard to save room for entree. Server brought pork, chicken, shrimp & steak. Steak was by far the favorite. We forgot about the dip on the table. Noodles were yummy too. Loved the bread pudding for dessert but barely had room for it.


      Our server noticed DS6 not eating and offered him several options. We were grateful. We don't like having to fight food battle away from home but also don't want to limit where we eat to appease DS6.


      Kids did coconut races, hula and got a lei. They enjoyed the entertainment. Nice change from character meals.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mackfamily

      Registered: February 2013
      Location: Georgia
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Mon February 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Lots of great food!
      Cons: Absolutely Nothing!

       
      Love this place! We've eaten here twice, last time in December 2012. Be sure to call for reservations ASAP as they seem to fill up. The food is fabulous!!! And there is so much. They bring everything to your table, and as much as you want. Grilled chicken, pork, beef, shrimp, with tasty sides...loved the noodles. The bread they bring to the table is amazing. My son talked about it for days. Never seem to have room for the dessert, but teenagers said it was great. Our kids are teenagers +, but I love how they get the younger kids involved in the little music parade. Not too loud, just really cute. Wait staff very attentive. Hope to never miss this place on future trips.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      oravets4

      Registered: December 2010
      Location: New Jersey
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Sat February 9, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, atmosphere
      Cons: server

       
      Love, love, love 'Ohana! Best dinner of our trip. Even my picky eaters love the food at 'Ohana. All the meat was extremely tender and cooked to perfection. The dumplings, wings, salad, noodles and bread are amazing. The dessert is out of this world! Server was so-so. He wasn't very attentive and didn't have a good personality but the food and atmosphere totally made up for it! Can't wait to eat here again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      brittniqueen

      Registered: February 2013
      Location: Georgia
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Fri February 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, atmosphere and drinks
      Cons: nothing

       
      This is by far mine and my DH favorite place to eat anywhere not just Disney included. Our meal is always amazing we walk out full and happy! We ate here on January 29, 2013 and we had a 7:50 reservation. There is 2 adults and DS 21 months and DD 6 years. DD is picky so they brought her some mac and cheese. We had devoured the bread and the salad was amazing along with the noodles pot stickers veggies and then my fav part of the whole meal, the chicken wings. Me and my DH did not eat the chicken or pork but the steak was perfect and the shrimp is always amazing. The dessert is so good also. We tried not to eat to much that day so we knew we would have room for this meal. We also had some drinks from the bar that were always amazing! We will never miss a chance to eat at 'Ohana.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Dsnygrl

      Registered: September 2006
      Location: Aiken, SC
      Posts: 37
      Review Date: Sun February 3, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): atmosphere, view of Wishes, variety of food offered
      Cons: service was not up to Disney standards

       
      We ate here on January 5th, 2013. We ate here on our last trip (May 2012)and I chose it to celebrate my birthday specifically because of the great experience we had the last time. Unfortunately, our experience this time was not quite as good. When we checked in 20 minutes early, we had to wait 10 minutes till past our reserved seating time for a table. OK, that doesn't bother me too much because I would not want to be rushed if it was me sitting there eating. When we were seated, our hostess brought a loaf of bread. That was the end of the great service. Our server took a good 10 minutes to take our drink orders and then another 5 to get them to us. Our salad came shortly after the drinks but then we did not see a server for a good half hour. When she did come back they had already cleared the salad and so she said of I'll bring you your salad. I then told her that we had already had our salad and was waiting for our pot stickers and wings. She obviously was not listening because she brought back another salad bowl. At that point I was getting a little angry and so flagged down another server who sent her back with the pot stickers and wings, exactly 2 of each for the table of three people. My son asked them to bring another platter of pot stickers which they eventually did, but only after I again flagged someone down. It was obvious to me that our server was looking for a larger tip because we saw she was very attentive to the tables near us that were drinking cocktails and wine (we do not drink and so stuck to the soda that came with the meal.) The meat service was better, probably because separate servers brought it. The steak was cooked perfectly and except for the end pieces was tender. Last time we ate here, the chicken was overdone, but this time it was juicy and delicious. The pork was not to my liking (I don't like the seasoning they use), but my husband loved it. I loved the shrimp. When I said so to the server who brought it he said Happy Birthday! (I was wearing my pin) and then emptied his entire skewer onto my plate. Needless to say I feasted on that shrimp as you can;t take it home with you. Overall, I have no complaints with the food and we will be returning here for my son's birthday in May 2013 at his request. I hope the service problems we had were an isolated incident as the last time we were here we had some of the best service I've ever seen at Disney world (Thanks to Larry!)
      Click here to see this users profile  
      slapps

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 30
      Review Date: Thu January 24, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great show and seats.
      Cons: Food for the price.

       
      I can't describe how disappointed I was with our meal. We had an ADR for 5:15 pm on New years Day. I picked this restaurant because it was my birthday and the last time we dined here it was great,(two years ago). We were seated right away and our waitress was wonderful. The appetizers were great as was the dessert, or my rating would be lower. The biggest disappointment was the meat. My wife ordered the steak medium and it was all so rare even I would not eat it. The steak was also very fatty. The pork had a funny taste as did the white meat. I love grilled meat but, this was not good. I usually like most Disney food but, this time I was so disappointed. I had read other posts where it had been mentioned that the quality of the meat had declined. As much as I love the eatery I must totally agree. I don't think we will dine here again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cholmberg

      Registered: November 2011
      Posts: 28
      Review Date: Mon January 21, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): everything
      Cons: none

       
      We ate here on the evening of the 12th. It was outstanding. Our server was Trevor, and he was wonderful. The food was very good, and there was far more of it than we could eat. Wonderful atmosphere. We will DEFINITELY eat here again!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      peters

      Registered: January 2006
      Posts: 83
      Review Date: Sun January 20, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food and atmosphere
      Cons: Service

       
      This was our first visit to Ohana and it was a so-so experience. Although I'm not a big meat eater, I found plenty I liked and I gave the food much bigger marks than I expected I would. The service is a different story. Although our main server was pleasant enough, she got very little help from the assistant. Not only did he do very little other than deliver salads and clear plates, he was actually pretty testy. Our drinks were empty most of the meal and the assistant threw a tray down at one point and bellowed, "are you through yet?". He then proceeded to clear plates without waiting for a response. Believe me, this was the carefree, fun brashness you find at the 50's Prime Time Cafe, this was very rude.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Victoria

      Registered: January 2013
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Tue January 15, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): all
      Cons: none

       
      We had a table for 15 and a fantastic experience. We all loved the food, the atmosphere, music, games, etc. Our waiter was excellent--the kind found on cruise ships that want the diner to be happy. He even noticed one of the children was not eating and offered to bring him a plate of chicken nuggets and fries, which he quickly did and a huge plate at that, which was enjoyed by all the children. He kept the food coming from beginning to end. We were at a long table in the middle of the room with windows. We liked the party atmosphere. We felt like we blended in well with all our children and we all 15 of us had a great time. We will make 'Ohana a must do destination from now on. I think the bigger your party the more fun it is.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      enjrob

      Registered: January 2013
      Location: Illinois
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Tue January 15, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): bread, dessert, wings
      Cons: service

       
      We won't be back. We got there early (which was our fault) but still waited 25 mins past our ADR time b4 we got a table. We had the opposite experience here than what some people have had. Our server never came back. We waited forever for the next round of food to come and for drinks to be refilled. Overheard someone complaining to the manager about the same thing but at least we eventually got our food, they didn't. Service was ridiculously SLOWWWWWW! In our opinion this place is way over rated. 1/2 the food was really good, the other 1/2 was alright but not worth the price or the head ache. When our server was at our table he was nice. They played games w/the kids but mine weren't interested in playing--they were too hungry and tired of waiting for food. In defense of the restaurant, the other person complaining to the manager said this is the 1st time service has been so awful and he has eaten there b4. At least we were on the dining plan so that took a little bit of the sting out of this bad experience.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tigregk

      Registered: January 2009
      Location: Michigan
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Tue January 15, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere, food, service
      Cons: none

       
      Enjoyed dinner here with group of 17 during the first week of December 2012.


      Check in was seamless & they were able to accommodate the whole group together since there were long tables in the center of the restaurant.


      Others in the group had been there before, while it was the first visit for a few of us. We felt well prepared for the onslaught of food to come. Needless to say, its difficult to pace yourself.
      Salad & bread were tasty & well dressed. Noodles, broccoli, chicken wings and pot stickers were all excellent. The skewered meats were fantastic as well. I particularly enjoyed the shrimp & chicken.


      We had a couple of young & picky eaters in our group. Our server noticed, and asked the two young boys if they would like some chicken nuggets & fries. You should have seen the platter that he produced! Probably 50 chicken nuggets and the equivalent of 10 regular orders of fries. Piping hot with sauces and ketchup!


      I would recommend this as a must eat destination. But be forewarned... plan you days eating accordingly.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nybella17girl

      Registered: December 2006
      Location: Jacksonville, FL
      Posts: 59
      Review Date: Wed December 26, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food
      Cons:

       
      Ate here for dinner on Dec 7th with my two children. Checked in and buzzer went off in 10 minutes. There was some kind of mix up with our table because the man who was trying to seat us had to bring us back to the check in area because there was a family already sitting at our table. They took care of this fast and we were immediately seated. I didn't care for my table. It was in the middle of other tables where servers were everywhere and kids running around and I would have preferred sitting off to the side by a wall or a window rather than the middle, but I didn't request this, so I cannot blame the restaurant for anything.


      Once seated, the food started coming. First, salad and bread. I didn't want any bread so I didn't even try it. Salad was good, could of used a bit more dressing. Next came the broccoli, lo mein noodles, and chicken wings. This is the third time I ate at 'Ohana and the noodles and wings are my favorite part of the meal. I could easily get full on these alone and they keep bringing more until you tell them to stop. My toddler loved the noodles. Very tasty. Broccoli was good too. My kids saw those little umbrellas they put into the drinks at other tables. I asked the server if my kids could have umbrellas and she quickly brought them to make them happy.


      Next, they bring the skewers of meats. Chicken, steak, pork and shrimp. All pretty good. I thought some of them were a bit dry, but still had good flavor. You get very full at this place and they will not stop coming to your table with food unless you tell them no more. Servers call you cousins and make you feel comfortable. The theming is pretty good, and goes well with the resort. It took about an hour and 15 minutes to eat here.


      I asked the server to skip dessert and bring our check. I have tried the dessert before and I don't really care for it and we were very full anyway. This is one of my favorite restaurants in Disney and I make it a priority to go once every trip.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      hbk

      Registered: August 2010
      Location: Indiana
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Wed December 26, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food is good, nice atmosphere/location
      Cons: reservation time means nothing, service, rush..rush... attitude

       
      This is such an overrated experience. The food is good, and the location at the Polynesian is excellent.


      However a few items that aren't so great: reservation times at least in my experiences (I do mean plural) mean absolutely nothing. I have never been seated on time, or even remotely close. 2nd, the servers rush you thru the meal unless you really make a point and tell them to slow down, which takes more than one stern request. They are in such a rush that clean plates were an inconvenience. We asked for a clean plate after our appetizers as they started bringing the main course meats, and they told us exactly this "we normally don't do that", and I said "what, bring clean plates", and that was exactly it. Are you kidding me, no clean plates?? It was an eye roll and a brief attitude, but we eventually got clean plates. I can only assume that is the direction of management.


      Again, food is really good, and a pre-drink at the outside bar on the beach is terrific, but beyond that, I would go to Kona Cafe first.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      the4Ds

      Registered: December 2012
      Location: Aurora, CO
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Thu December 20, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, Wait Staff, Ambience
      Cons: Nothing

       
      My family of 9 just returned from our December 9-16, 2012 trip and 'Ohana was unanimously voted our favorite place to eat. That's saying a lot because we had some fantastic sit down meals.


      This was our first time at 'Ohana and now I see what the fuss is all about. We had a reservation for 6:40 pm on December 9th and were seated within 10 minutes. We got to sit nearly in the center of the restaurant so we could see the singer and had plenty of light (some of the restaurant is quite dark which we would not have enjoyed).


      The Welcome Bread, pot stickers, noodles, veggies, chicken wings and iced tea would have made a fantastic meal for all of us. But then the meat skewers came! Oh my gosh. The pork, chicken and beef were my favorite and others in our group had about 20 shrimp. The food just kept coming until my sister joked that she had to wave the white flag of surrender! Just when you are about to burst, they bring out the bananas foster dessert.


      'Ohana is now on our "must do" list. Our experience was perfect...we didn't have to wait long for our food, our glasses were always full and every time we asked for a little more of something, they would bring it out within a few minutes. My daughters could not get enough of the pot stickers and my 4 year old ate so many n noodles and veggies that she could barely eat her "make your own sundae" (and for her not to eat ice cream is a shock).
      Click here to see this users profile  
      annarose09

      Registered: December 2012
      Location: Connecticut
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Wed December 19, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Variety of food
      Cons: loud, crowded

       
      We ate here on 12/3/12 for dinner. We had to wait about 15 minutes as the restaurant was just opening. Our server was very nice and came over a lot. The food was pleantiful but I wasn't impressed with the quality. I tried the steak which for me was a bit tough and fatty in spots. I didn't try the shrimp. I thought the pork was very good and didn't care for the chicken. The dumplings however were amazing as were the vegetables and the bread pudding. I did not like the coconut races for the children, maybe my child was too young. They took her, she is 3, and when they started the game she was quickly out of sight which made me uneasy. I got up and it took a minute for me to find her which felt like an eternity. It was too big a space for this parade and I wouldn't recommend it for small children.
      I know many people rave over this restaurant and I feel bad saying that I don't plan on returning. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't everything I expected it to be.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11 >

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.